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STATE OF NEW YORK
 
COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE
 

ADVISORY OPINION PETITION NO.S030110A 

On January 10, 2003, the Department of Taxation and Finance received a Petition for 
Advisory Opinion from ELRAC, Inc., 1550 Route 23 North, Wayne, New Jersey 07470. 

The issue raised by Petitioner, ELRAC, Inc., is whether its separate charges for supplemental 
insurance and fuel in conjunction with the charges for the rental of automobiles are subject to sales 
tax imposed by section 1105 of the Tax Law and the special tax on passenger car rentals imposed 
by section 1160 of the Tax Law. 

Petitioner submitted the following facts as the basis for this Advisory Opinion. 

Petitioner is in the business of renting motor vehicles on a short-term basis of 30 days or less 
without a driver to customers in New York.  In addition to the standard time and mileage rental 
charges Petitioner separately charges for optional items. These optional charges include: 

Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) 
When a renter purchases CDW, Petitioner agrees, subject to terms, conditions and 
limitations contained in the rental contract, to not pursue the renter for reimbursement of the 
costs of physical damage to the rental vehicle. There is no insurance carrier involved. 

Personal Accident Insurance (PAI) 
PAI provides the renter and any passengers with accidental death and accidental medical 
expense benefits subject to the terms, conditions and limitations contained in the rental 
contract and insurance policy. The renter is covered for accidents during the rental period 
whether or not the renter is actually in the rental vehicle.  The passengers are covered only 
for accidents occurring while they occupy the rental vehicle. Under this option, the renter 
is an insured under an insurance policy with a licensed insurance carrier. 

Personal Effects Coverage (PEC) 
PEC is offered only in certain branches. When offered, it is sold in combination with PAI. 
It provides protection against risk of loss or damage to the personal effects of the renter and 
the renter’s immediate family traveling with the renter subject to the terms, conditions and 
limitations contained in the rental contract and insurance policy. Loss or damage to personal 
effects during the rental period is covered, whether or not the personal effects are in the 
rental vehicle. Under this option, the renter is an insured under an insurance policy with a 
licensed insurance carrier. 
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Supplemental Liability Protection (SLP) 
SLP provides the renter with liability protection against claims by a third party as a result 
of bodily injury and property damage arising out of the use of the rental vehicle subject to 
the terms, conditions and limitations contained in the rental contract and insurance policy. 
The liability protection provided is equal to a combined single limit per accident equal to the 
difference between the minimum financial responsibility set forth by New York State Law 
and $1,000,000. Under this option, the renter is an insured under an insurance policy with 
a licensed insurance carrier. 

Fuel Charge 
If the rental vehicle is returned with less gas than it had when it left, a fuel charge of $4.75 
per 1/8th of a tank is charged. There is no fuel charge if the rental vehicle is returned with 
the same amount or more gas. The fuel charge amount is determined consistent with 
industry guidelines issued by the National Association of Attorneys General.  The charge 
represents the estimated cost of the gasoline plus a markup of approximately 33% for 
refueling services. The amount charged fluctuates at times as the price of fuel fluctuates. 

Applicable Law and Regulations 

Section 1101(b)(5) of the Tax Law defines “sale, selling or purchase” as: 

Any transfer of title or possession or both, exchange or barter, rental, lease 
or license to use or consume (including, with respect to computer software, merely 
the right to reproduce), conditional or otherwise, in any manner or by any means 
whatsoever for a consideration, or any agreement therefor, including the rendering 
of any service, taxable under this article, for a consideration or any agreement 
therefor. 

Section 1105 of the Tax Law provides, in part: 

Imposition of sales tax.-On and after June first, nineteen hundred 
seventy-one, there is hereby imposed and there shall be paid a tax of four percent 
upon: 

(a) The receipts from every retail sale of tangible personal property, 
except as otherwise provided in this article. 

Section 1105(c) of the Tax Law imposes tax upon the receipts from every sale, except 
for resale, of certain enumerated services. 

Section 1132(a)(1) of the Tax Law provides that: 
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Every person required to collect the tax shall collect the tax from the 
customer when collecting the price, amusement charge or rent to which it applies. 
If the customer is given any sales slip, invoice, receipt or other statement or 
memorandum of the price, amusement charge or rent paid or payable, the tax shall 
be stated, charged and shown separately on the first of such documents given to him. 
The tax shall be paid to the person required to collect it as trustee for and on account 
of the state. 

Section 1160(a)(1) of the Tax Law provides: 

On and after June first, nineteen hundred ninety, in addition to any tax 
imposed under any other article of this chapter, there is hereby imposed and there 
shall be paid a tax of five percent upon the receipts from every rental of a passenger 
car which is a retail sale of such passenger car. 

Section 526.7(b) of the Sales and Use Tax Regulations provides, in part: 

Consideration. The term consideration includes monetary consideration, 
exchange, barter, the rendering of any service, or any agreement therefor. Monetary 
consideration includes assumption of liabilities, fees, rentals, royalties or any other 
charge that a purchaser, lessee or licensee is required to pay. 

Opinion 

Petitioner is in the business of renting motor vehicles on a short-term basis without a driver 
to customers in New York. In addition to the standard time and mileage rental charges Petitioner 
separately charges for optional items. The optional charges for Personal Accident Insurance (PAI), 
Personal Effects Coverage (PEC) and Supplemental Liability Protection (SLP), pursuant to which 
the customer is issued coverage under a policy with a licensed insurance carrier, are charges for 
insurance which are not subject to State and local sales and use taxes.  The optional charge for 
Collision Damage Waiver (CDW), though similar in substance to insurance, is not provided to 
customers under an insurance policy with a licensed insurance carrier, and in fact is not insurance. 
However, the charge for CDW is not a charge for the purchase of tangible personal property and is 
not a charge for any of the enumerated services subject to tax pursuant to section 1105 of the Tax 
Law, and therefore is not subject to State and local sales and use taxes. Provided Petitioner 
separately states the charges for PAI, PEC, SLP and CDW when billed to the customer, there will 
be no sales tax due on these charges. See Alamo Rent A Car, Inc., Adv Op Comm T&F, April 15, 
1991, TSB-A-91(33)S. 

The customer rental agreement provides that if a rental vehicle is returned to Petitioner with 
less gas than was provided when the customer rented the vehicle a fuel charge of $4.75 per 1/8th of 
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a tank is charged. The definition of consideration in section 526.7(b) of the Sales and Use Tax 
Regulations includes fees or any other charge that a purchaser is required to pay. When renting a 
vehicle from Petitioner customers agree to the terms included in the rental agreement. The fuel 
charge of $4.75 per 1/8th of a tank which is required for a rental vehicle that is returned with less 
gas than was provided at the inception of the rental is one of the terms of the rental agreement with 
the customers. This fee is not an optional purchase similar to the optional fees for additional 
insurance discussed above but is similar in nature to additional mileage charges computed and 
imposed upon the return of the vehicle.  If the vehicle is returned having used more mileage than 
allotted or with less fuel than provided, an additional charge is assessed.  As such, the charge is a 
part of the consideration for the rental of the vehicle, just as additional charges at the inception of 
the lease for vehicle rentals with unlimited mileage or for return of the vehicle without a fueling 
adjustment would be a part of the taxable receipt for the vehicle’s rental.  The fuel charge, therefore, 
is subject to State and local sales and use taxes and the 5% special tax on passenger car rentals. 

DATED: June 12, 2003	 /s/ 
Jonathan Pessen 
Tax Regulations Specialist IV 
Technical Services Division 

NOTE:	 The opinions expressed in Advisory Opinions are
 
limited to the facts set forth therein.
 


