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Instructions for Form IT-636
Alcoholic Beverage Production Credit

General information
The New York State Tax Law provides a credit to taxpayers 
who meet certain requirements and are subject to tax under 
Articles 9-A and 22. Individuals (including sole proprietors), 
estates and trusts, shareholders of an S corporation, partners in 
a partnership (including a member of a limited liability company 
(LLC) that is treated as a partnership for federal income tax 
purposes), and beneficiaries of an estate or trust may claim the 
credit on Form IT-636.

Eligibility
To be eligible for this credit, you must meet all of the following 
requirements:
•	 you are subject to tax under Article 9-A or 22	
•	 you are registered as a distributor under Article 18 (Taxes on 

Alcoholic Beverages)
•	 you produce 60 million gallons or less of beer or cider, 

20 million gallons or less of wine, or 800,000 gallons or less of 
liquor in New York State during the tax year

A registered distributor that produces more than one type of 
alcoholic beverage in New York State in the same tax year 
qualifies for the credit for each alcoholic beverage produced 
within the production limits stated above. If the production 
limitation is exceeded for an alcoholic beverage, no credit is 
allowed for that beverage. 

Example: A registered distributor that produced 50 million 
gallons of cider and 100 million gallons of beer in New York 
State in the same tax year qualifies to claim the credit for the 
cider production. The registered distributor would not qualify to 
claim a credit for the beer production since it produced greater 
than 60 million gallons of beer in New York State in the tax year. 

Credit information
The amount of credit per tax year for the first 500,000 gallons  
produced in New York State is:
•	 14 cents (.14) per gallon of beer or cider, 
•	 30 cents (.30) per gallon of wine,
•	 $2.54 per gallon of liquor with more than 2% but not more than 

24% alcohol by volume (ABV), and 
•	 $6.44 per gallon of liquor with more than 24% ABV.

In excess of 500,000 gallons, the credit is 4.5 cents (.045) per 
gallon up to 15 million additional gallons for beer, cider, or wine, 
and up to 300,000 additional gallons for liquor.

However, no credit is allowed for any beer, cider, or wine 
produced in excess of 15.5 million gallons, or liquor produced in 
excess of 800,000 gallons during the tax year.

Any unused amount of credit for the current tax year will 
be treated as a refund or overpayment of tax to be credited 
to next year’s tax. Interest will not be paid on the refund or 
overpayment.

How to claim the credit
File Form IT-636 if you are an individual, a beneficiary or 
fiduciary of an estate or trust, a partner in a partnership, or 
a shareholder of an S corporation, and you are claiming the 
alcoholic beverage production credit.

An estate or trust that divides the credit among itself and its 
beneficiaries must submit Form IT-636 with Form IT-205, 
Fiduciary Income Tax Return, showing each beneficiary’s share 
of the credit.

A partnership must submit Form IT-636 with Form IT-204, 
Partnership Return, showing the total credit.

An S corporation does not file Form IT-636; it must file 
Form CT-636. If you are a shareholder of a New York 
S corporation, obtain your share of the S corporation’s credit 
from the S corporation and follow the instructions on this form for 
claiming your credit on your personal income tax return.

Line instructions
Complete a separate Form IT-636 for each registered distributor.

Line A – Mark an X in the appropriate box to determine the 
parts of this form you need to complete. If you are claiming this 
credit both as an entity that earned the credit and as a partner, 
shareholder, or beneficiary receiving a share of the credit, mark 
an X in the Yes box and complete all appropriate schedules on 
one Form IT-636.

Individual (sole proprietor): Complete line A, Schedule A, 
Schedules B, C, D, and/or E, as applicable, and Schedules F 
and I.

A married couple in a business enterprise that made an 
IRC 761(f) election to file two federal Schedule C forms 
instead of a partnership return: If you file jointly, compute 
your credit as if you were filing one federal Schedule C for 
the business (enter the total of all applicable amounts from 
both federal Schedule C forms). Complete line A, Schedule A, 
Schedules B, C, D, and/or E, as applicable, and Schedules F 
and I.

Fiduciaries: Complete line A, Schedule A, Schedules B, C, D, 
and/or E, as applicable, and Schedules H and I.

Partners in a partnership, shareholders of a New York 
S corporation, and beneficiaries of an estate or trust: 
Complete line A, Schedules G and I.

Partnership: Complete line A, Schedule A, and Schedules B, C, 
D, and/or E as applicable.

Note: If more than one of the above applies to you, complete all 
appropriate parts of the form on one Form IT-636.

Schedules B through E – Individual (including 
sole proprietor), partnership, and fiduciary
Complete the applicable Schedules (B, C, D, and/or E) for the 
type of alcoholic beverage that was produced in New York State 
in this tax year.

Schedule B – Credit for beer produced in New 
York State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city 
in New York State where the beer is produced. Do not enter a 
PO Box, or the mailing address of the company if it differs from 
the physical location where the beer is produced.

Column B – How you enter the total gallons depends on 
whether you file on an annual (calendar-year) or monthly basis.



Annual filers: Enter the amount produced from Form MT-456, 
line 3, column D, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File 
return, for the tax year for which you file your income tax return.

If you file your income tax return on a fiscal-year basis, do 
not enter the amount from Form MT-456 or your Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax Web File return. Instead, compute your gallons 
produced in New York State during the tax year for which you file 
your income tax return, and enter that amount.

Monthly filers: Enter the sum of the amounts produced, 
entered on all Forms MT-456, line 3, column D, or your Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax Web File return, for the tax year for which you file 
your income tax return.

Line 3 – Claim the credit for any gallons produced in New York 
State in excess of 500,000 gallons in Part 2. If there were no 
gallons produced in New York State in excess of 500,000, leave 
Part 2 blank and enter the amount from line 3 on line 8.

Line 6 – No credit is allowed for any beer produced in excess of 
15,500,000 gallons (500,000 gallons in Part 1 plus 15,000,000 
gallons in Part 2).

Schedule C – Credit for cider produced in New 
York State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city 
in New York State where the cider is produced. Do not enter a 
PO Box, or the mailing address of the company if it differs from 
the physical location where the cider is produced.

Column B – Enter the amount from Form MT-456, line 3, 
column E, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return, for 
the tax year for which you file your income tax return.

Fiscal-year filers: Do not enter the amount from Form MT-456 
or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return, if you file your 
income tax return on a fiscal-year basis. Instead, compute your 
gallons produced in New York State during the tax year for which 
you file your income tax return, and enter that amount.

Line 11 – Claim the credit for any cider produced in New York 
State in excess of 500,000 gallons in Part 2. If there were no 
gallons produced in New York State in excess of 500,000, leave 
Part 2 blank and enter the amount from line 11 on line 16.

Line 14 – No credit is allowed for any cider produced in excess 
of 15,500,000 gallons (500,000 gallons in Part 1 plus 15,000,000 
gallons in Part 2).

Schedule D – Credit for wine produced in New 
York State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2 
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city 
in New York State where the wine is produced. Do not enter a 
PO Box, or the mailing address of the company if it differs from 
the physical location where the wine is produced.

Column B – How you enter the total gallons depends on 
whether you file on an annual (calendar-year) or monthly basis.

Annual filers: Enter the amount produced from Form MT-456, 
line 3, column C, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File 
return.

If you file your income tax return on a fiscal-year basis, do 
not enter the amount from Form MT-456 or your Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax Web File return. Instead, compute your gallons 
produced in New York State during the tax year for which you file 
your income tax return, and enter that amount in column B.

Monthly filers: Enter the sum of the amounts produced, 
entered on all Forms MT-456, line 3, column C, or your Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax Web File returns, for the tax year for which you 
file your income tax return.

Line 19 – Claim the credit for any wine produced in New York 
State in excess of 500,000 gallons in Part 2. If there were no 
gallons produced in New York State in excess of 500,000, leave 
Part 2 blank and enter the amount from line 19 on line 24.

Line 22 – No credit is allowed for any wine produced in excess 
of 15,500,000 gallons (500,000 gallons in Part 1 plus 15,000,000 
gallons in Part 2).

Schedule E – Credit for liquor produced in New 
York State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2 
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city in 
New York State where the liquor is produced. Do not enter a 
PO Box, or the mailing address of the company if it differs from 
the physical location where the liquor is produced.

Columns B and C – How you enter the total liters depends on 
whether you file on an annual (calendar-year) or monthly basis. 

Annual filers: Enter the amount produced from                    
Form MT-456, line 3, columns A and B, respectively, or your 
Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return. 

If you file your income tax return on a fiscal-year basis, do not 
enter the amount produced from Form MT-456 or your Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax Web File return. Instead, compute the liters 
produced in New York State during the tax year for which you file 
your income tax return. 

Monthly filers: Enter the sum of the amounts produced, entered 
on all Forms MT-456, line 3, columns A and B, respectively, or 
your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return for the tax year for 
which you file your income tax return. 

Instructions for Liquor worksheet
Line 3 – If the total of columns A and B on line 3 is more than 
800,000, stop; you are not eligible for this credit.

Line 5 – Enter the line 5, column A and B amounts from the 
Liquor worksheet on Form IT-636, Schedule E, line 26, columns 
B and C, respectively and complete the rest of Part 1.

Line 6 – If the line 6 amount is greater than zero, continue with 
Part 2 and enter the line 6 amount on Form IT-636, Schedule E, 

A
More than 2% 
but not more 

than 24% ABV

B
More than 24% 

ABV

	1	 Liters of liquor produced 
in NYS from Schedule E, 
line 25, columns B and C

	2	 Conversion factor .2642 .2642
	3	 Gallons of liquor 

produced in NYS 
(multiply line 1 by line 2)

	4	 Limitation 500,000 500,000
	5	 Enter the lesser of line 3 or 

line 4
	6	 Subtract line 5 from line 3

Liquor worksheet
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line 29, columns B and C, respectively. Otherwise, enter the 
amount from Form IT-636, line 27a on line 32.

Schedule G – Partner’s, shareholder’s or 
beneficiary’s share of credit
Partners, S corporation shareholders, and beneficiaries: 
Enter the appropriate information for each partnership, New 
York S corporation, or estate or trust from which you received 
a share of the credit. You may obtain this information from the 
partnership, New York S corporation, or estate or trust. If you 
need more space, submit a separate schedule (be sure to 
include your name and taxpayer identification number). 

Schedule H – Beneficiary’s and fiduciary’s share 
of credit
An estate or trust must complete this schedule. If an estate or 
trust allocates or assigns the credits to its beneficiaries, it must 
base the division on each beneficiary’s proportionate share of 
the income of the estate or trust. Provide any amounts allocated 
or assigned to the beneficiaries to claim on their own income tax 
returns.

Line 35 – Include the amounts from lines 8, 16, 24, 32,   
columns B and C, and 34 in the corresponding columns. 

Schedule I – Computation of credit 
Fiduciaries: Do not enter any amounts on lines 38 or 39. Enter 
the amount from Schedule H, line 37, column H, on line 40.

Line 41 – Enter this amount and code 636 on Form IT-201-ATT, 
line 12, or on Form IT-203-ATT, line 12, or include it on 
Form IT-205, line 33.


