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General information
The New York State Tax Law provides a credit to taxpayers who 
meet the eligibility requirements.

Eligibility
To be eligible for this credit, you must meet all of the following 
requirements: 
•	 you are subject to tax under Article 9-A or 22,
•	 you are registered as a distributor under Article 18 (Taxes on 

Alcoholic Beverages), and
•	 you produce 60 million gallons or less of beer or cider, 20 million 

gallons or less of wine, or 800,000 gallons or less of liquor in 
New York State during the tax year.

A registered distributor that produces more than one type of 
alcoholic beverage in New York State in the same tax year 
qualifies for the credit for each alcoholic beverage produced within 
the production limits stated above. If the production limitation is 
exceeded for an alcoholic beverage, no credit is allowed for that 
beverage.

Example: A registered distributor that produced 50 million gallons of 
cider and 100 million gallons of beer in New York State in the same 
tax year qualifies to claim the credit for the cider production. The 
registered distributor would not qualify to claim a credit for the beer 
production since it produced greater than 60 million gallons of beer 
in New York State in the tax year.

Credit information
The amount of credit per tax year for the first 500,000 gallons 
produced in New York State is:
•	 14 cents (.14) per gallon of beer or cider,
•	 30 cents (.30) per gallon of wine,
•	 $2.54 per gallon of liquor with more than 2% but not more than 

24% alcohol by volume (ABV), and
•	 $6.44 per gallon of liquor with more than 24% ABV.

In excess of 500,000 gallons, the credit is 4.5 cents (.045) per 
gallon up to 15 million additional gallons for beer, cider, or wine, and 
up to 300,000 additional gallons for liquor.

However, no credit is allowed for any beer, cider, or wine produced 
in excess of 15.5 million gallons, or liquor produced in excess of 
800,000 gallons during the tax year.

The credit is not allowed against the metropolitan transportation 
business tax (MTA surcharge) under Article 9-A.

The credit may not reduce the tax due below the fixed dollar 
minimum tax. Any unused amount of credit for the current tax 
year will be treated as a refund or overpayment of tax to be 
credited to next year’s tax. Interest will not be paid on the refund or 
overpayment.

Line instructions
Complete a separate Form CT-636 for each registered distributor.

Line A – Mark an X in the appropriate box to determine the parts 
of this form you need to complete. If you are claiming this credit 
both as a corporation that earned the credit and as a corporate 
partner receiving a share of the credit, mark an X in the Yes box and 
complete all appropriate schedules on one Form CT-636.

Schedules B through E – Computation of credit
Complete the applicable Schedules (B,C,D, and/or E) for the type of 
alcoholic beverage that was produced in New York State in this tax 
year.

New York S corporations
Transfer the amounts from lines 8, 16, 24, 32 (columns B and 
C) and 45 (columns C through G) to the applicable lines on 
Form CT-34-SH, New York S Corporation Shareholders’ Information 
Schedule, and provide your shareholders with their pro rata share of 
credit. The shareholders will file their own Form IT-636 to claim the 
credit on their New York State personal income tax returns.

Schedule B – Credit for beer produced in New York 
State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city in New 
York State where the beer is produced. Do not enter a PO Box, or 
the mailing address of the company if it differs from the physical 
location where the beer is produced.

Column B – How you enter the total gallons depends on whether 
you file on an annual (calendar-year) or monthly basis.

Annual filers: Enter the amount produced from Form MT-456, 
line 3, column D, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return, 
for the tax year for which you file your corporation tax return. 

If you file your corporation tax return on a fiscal-year basis, do not 
enter the amount from Form MT-456, or your Alcoholic Beverages 
Tax Web File return. Instead, compute your gallons produced in New 
York State during the tax year for which you file your corporation tax 
return, and enter that amount.

Monthly filers: Enter the sum of the amounts produced, entered on 
all Forms MT-456, line 3, column D, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax 
Web File returns, for the tax year for which you file your corporation 
tax return.

Line 3 – Claim the credit for any beer produced in New York 
State in excess of 500,000 gallons in Part 2. If there were 
no gallons produced in NYS in excess of 500,000, leave 
Part 2 blank and enter the amount from line 3 on line 8.

Line 6 – No credit is allowed for any beer produced in excess of 
15,500,000 gallons (500,000 gallons in Part 1 plus 15,000,000 
gallons in Part 2).

Schedule C – Credit for cider produced in New York 
State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2 
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city in New 
York State where the cider is produced. Do not enter a PO Box, 
or the mailing address of the company if it differs from the physical 
location where the cider is produced.

Column B – Enter the amount produced from Form MT-456, line 3, 
column E, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return, for the 
tax year for which you file your corporation tax return.

Fiscal-year filers: Do not enter the amount produced from 
Form MT-456 or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return if 
you file your corporation tax return on a fiscal-year basis. Instead, 
compute your gallons produced in New York State during the tax 
year for which you file your corporation tax return, and enter that 
amount. 

Line 11 – Claim the credit for any cider produced in New York State 
in excess of 500,000 gallons in Part 2. If there were no gallons 
produced in New York State in excess of 500,000, leave Part 2 blank 
and enter the amount from line 11 on line 16.



Line 14 – No credit is allowed for any cider produced in excess 
of 15,500,000 gallons (500,000 gallons in Part 1 plus 15,000,000 
gallons in Part 2).

Schedule D – Credit for wine produced in New York 
State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2 
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city in New 
York State where the wine is produced. Do not enter a PO Box, or 
the mailing address of the company if it differs from the physical 
location where the wine is produced.

Column B – How you enter the total gallons depends on whether 
you file on an annual (calendar-year) or monthly basis.

Annual filers: Enter the amount produced from Form MT-456, 
line 3, column C, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return.

If you file your corporation tax return on a fiscal-year basis, do not 
enter the amount produced from Form MT-456 or your Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax Web File return. Instead, compute your gallons 
produced in New York State during the tax year for which you file 
your corporation tax return, and enter that amount in column B. 

Monthly filers: Enter the sum of the amounts produced, entered on 
all Forms MT-456 line 3, column C, or your Alcoholic Beverages Tax 
Web File returns, for the tax year for which you file your corporate 
tax return.

Line 19 – Claim the credit for any wine produced in New York State 
in excess of 500,000 gallons in Part 2. If there were no gallons 
produced in New York State in excess of 500,000, leave Part 2 blank 
and enter the amount from line 19 on line 24.

Line 22 – No credit is allowed for any wine produced in excess 
of 15,500,000 gallons (500,000 gallons in Part 1 plus 15,000,000 
gallons in Part 2).

Schedule E – Credit for liquor produced in New 
York State in this tax year
Parts 1 and 2 
Column A – Enter the street number and name, and the city in New 
York State where the liquor is produced. Do not enter a PO Box, 
or the mailing address of the company if it differs from the physical 
location where the liquor is produced.

Columns B and C – How you enter the total liters depends on 
whether you file on an annual (calendar-year) or monthly basis. 

Annual filers: Enter the amount produced from Form MT-456, 
line 3, columns A and B, respectively, or your Alcoholic Beverages 
Tax Web File return.

If you file your corporation tax return on a fiscal-year basis, do not 
enter the amount from Form MT-456 or your Alcoholic Beverages 
Tax Web File return. Instead, compute your liters produced in New 
York State during the tax year for which you file your corporation tax 
return.
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Monthly filers: Enter the sum of the amounts produced, entered 
on all Forms MT-456, line 3, columns A and B, respectively, or your 
Alcoholic Beverages Tax Web File return, for the tax year for which 
you file your corporate tax return.

Instructions for Liquor worksheet
Line 3 – If the total of columns A and B on line 3 is more than 
800,000, stop; you are not eligible for this credit.

Line 5 – Enter the line 5, column A and B amounts from the Liquor 
worksheet on Form CT-636, Schedule E, line 26, columns B and C, 
respectively and complete the rest of Part 1.

Line 6 – If the line 6 amount is greater than zero, continue with 
Part 2 and enter the line 6 amount on Form CT-636, Schedule E, 
line 29, columns B and C, respectively. Otherwise, enter the amount 
from Form CT-636, line 27a, on line 32.

A
More than 2% 
but not more 

than 24% ABV

B
More than 24% 

ABV

	1	 Liters of liquor produced 
in NYS from Schedule E, 
line 25, columns B and C

	2	 Conversion factor .2642 .2642
	3	 Gallons of liquor produced in 

NYS (multiply line 1 by line 2)

	4	 Limitation 500,000 500,000
	5	 Enter the lesser of line 3 or 

line 4
	6	 Subtract line 5 from line 3

Liquor worksheet

(continued)
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Schedule G – Computation of tax credit used, 
refunded, or credited as an overpayment to the next 
year (New York S corporations do not complete this 
schedule.)

Line 36 – Enter your tax due before credits using the Lines 36 and 
39 entries table above. 

Line 37 – If you are claiming more than one tax credit for this year, 
enter the total amount of credits claimed before applying this credit. 
Otherwise, enter 0. You must apply certain credits before this credit. 
See the instructions for your franchise tax return or Form CT-600-I, 
Instructions for Form CT-600, Ordering of Corporation Tax Credits, 
for the correct order of credits.

If you are included in a combined return, include any amount of tax 
credit(s) being claimed by other members of the combined group, 
including the alcoholic beverage production credit, that you want to 
apply before the credit claimed on this form. 

Line 39 – Enter your minimum tax using the Lines 36 and 39 entries 
table above.

Lines 41, 43, and 44 – On line 41, enter the lesser of line 35 or 
line 40. Transfer the amounts from lines 41, 43, and 44 to your 
franchise tax return.

Schedule H – Partnership information
Complete this schedule only if you were a partner in a partnership 
and received a share of the alcoholic beverage production credit 
from that entity. Enter the name, employer identification number 
(EIN), and credit amount for each type of alcoholic beverage passed 
through to you from each partnership. If you need more space, 
attach a separate schedule. Include your name and identification 
number on any separate sheets you file with your return. Obtain this 
information from the partnership(s) allocating the credit to you.

	Form CT-3	 Part 2, line 2	 Part 2, line 1c amount
	Form CT-3-A	 Part 2, line 2	 Part 2, line 1c amount

	 If you filed	 Enter on line 36 any	 Enter on line 39 the
		  net recapture of other 	 minimum tax below
		  tax credits plus
		  the amount from

Lines 36 and 39 entries table


