
General information 
All business corporations (including S corporations), insurance, 
utilities (including providers of telecommunication services), and 
transportation and transmission corporations whose applicable tax 
for the current tax year can reasonably be expected to be more 
than $1,000 after credits must file a declaration of estimated tax 
and make quarterly installment payments. For more information 
concerning making estimated tax payments, see Forms CT-300-I, 
Instructions for Form CT-300, and CT-400-I, Instructions for  
Form CT-400.

Any corporation doing business in the Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District (MCTD) that is required to make a 
declaration of estimated tax must also make a declaration of 
estimated metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) 
and make quarterly installment payments.

If you do not pay the required installment payments on time and in 
the correct amounts, you will have to pay an underpayment penalty 
for the period of underpayment pursuant to Tax Law, Article 27, 
section 1085(c).

The penalty is figured separately for each installment due date. 
Therefore, you may owe a penalty for an earlier due date even 
if you paid enough tax later to make up the underpayment. This 
is true even if you are due a refund when your tax return is filed. 
However, the penalty may be reduced or eliminated if you qualify 
for an exception pursuant to Tax Law sections 1085(d) and (e). The 
penalty is computed for the period of underpayment at a rate set by 
Tax Law section 1096(e). Daily compounding of interest does not 
apply.

All partnerships, limited liability companies (LLCs) that are treated 
as partnerships for federal purposes, and New York S corporations 
that had income from New York sources are required to pay 
estimated taxes on behalf of nonresident individuals and 
C corporation partners, members, or shareholders on their 
distributive or pro-rata share of the respective entity’s income. See 
Form IT-2659, Estimated Tax Penalties for Partnerships and New 
York S Corporations, to determine if you underpaid estimated tax 
and, if so, to compute the penalty due.

Who must file
Generally, you do not have to file this form with your applicable tax 
return because New York State will compute the amount of any 
penalty and notify you of any amount due. However, if the line 1 
amount exceeds $1,000, and any of the following exceptions apply 
to reduce or eliminate your penalty, you must complete this form 
and attach it to your tax return (note that no exceptions may be 
applied to the mandatory first installment):

1. the adjusted seasonal installment method (this exception only 
applies when the highest tax base, before credits, for the tax 
year for which the penalty is being computed is the business 
income base or one of the following bases:
• fixed dollar minimum tax (Article 9-A)
• entire net income (ENI) (Article 33)
• tax on premiums (Article 33)
• alternative tax (Article 33)
• gross earnings or gross income (Article 9));

2. the annualized income installment method (this exception only 
applies when the highest tax base, before credits, for the tax 
year for which the penalty is being computed is one of the bases 
specified for the adjusted seasonal method above);

3. you are not a large corporation and you are computing your 
estimated tax based on the prior year’s tax, provided that the 
prior year consisted of 12 months and your return showed a tax 
liability (also referred to as  the line 8 exception );
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4. you are not a large corporation and you are computing your 
estimated tax by applying to the tax base on which your current 
year’s tax was paid, the facts shown on your return for, and the 
law applicable to, the preceding tax year, but using the rates 
applicable to the current year (also referred to as the line 9 
exception ).

A large corporation is one that had, or whose predecessor had, 
business income or allocated business income (if an Article 9-A 
taxpayer) or ENI or allocated ENI of at least $1 million for any of 
the three tax years immediately preceding the tax year involved. 
A corporation filing its first return would be deemed to be a small 
corporation.

Article 33 filers: For a non-life insurance corporation subject 
to tax under Tax Law section 1502-a, a large corporation is one 
that had direct premiums, subject to the premiums tax under Tax 
Law section 1502-a, exceeding $3.75 million for any of the three 
preceding tax years.

Note: Article 9 filers are never considered large corporations.

Payment of estimated tax
MFI – Corporations subject to tax under Article 9 §§ 184, 186-a, 
and 186-e, Article 9-A, or Article 33: To avoid an underpayment 
of estimated tax penalty, with regard to the MFI, if your second 
preceding year’s franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax after 
credits exceeds $1,000, you must have paid 25%, or 40% (as 
applicable), of that tax using Form CT-300. If your corporation is 
subject to the MTA surcharge, an MFI of estimated MTA surcharge 
is also required. The MFI is due on or before the 15th day of the 
third month following the close of each tax year. When you meet 
the above requirement you must file Form CT-300. However, if you 
do not have a second preceding tax year because a return was 
not required to be filed, you are not required to file Form CT-300. 
You must still make a declaration of estimated tax, and pay the 
remaining installments of estimated tax using Form CT-400, 
Estimated Tax for Corporations, when the requirement to do so is 
met.

If you are a domestic, foreign, or life insurance corporation subject 
to tax under Article 33 §1510(b)(1), and the tax after credits 
exceeds $1,000 the percentage is 40%.

New York S corporations and Article 9, former §186 filers: To 
avoid an underpayment of estimated tax penalty, with regard to the 
MFI, for either:
• A tax year for which you did not file for the preceding tax year a 

request for extension of time for filing – If your franchise, excise, 
or gross receipts tax after credits is more than $1,000 on the 
return for the tax year preceding the year for which the MFI is 
required, you must have paid 25% or 40% (as applicable) of that 
tax with that return; or

• A tax year for which you did file for the preceding tax year 
a request for extension of time for filing – If the lesser of the 
following two amounts is more than $1,000, you must have 
paid 25% or 40% (as applicable) of such lesser amount with the 
request for extension:
– not less than 90% of the tax after credits as finally determined 

for the year for which the extension of time for filing was 
requested; or

– not less than 100% of the tax shown, after credits, on the 
return for the year preceding the year for which the extension 
of time for filing was requested, if such preceding year was a 
tax year of 12 months.

When liable for the MTA surcharge, to avoid an underpayment of 
estimated tax penalty, an MFI for the MTA surcharge is required 
when an MFI is required for your franchise, excise, or gross 
receipts tax. The required MFI for the MTA surcharge for a tax year 
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for which you did not file for the preceding tax year a request for 
extension of time for filing is 25% or 40% of the MTA surcharge 
reported on the MTA return for such preceding year.

The required MFI for the MTA surcharge for a tax year for which 
you did file for the preceding tax year a request for extension 
of time for filing is 25% or 40% of the lesser of the following two 
amounts:
• not less than 90% of the MTA surcharge as finally determined for 

the year for which the extension of time for filing was requested; 
or

• not less than 100% of the MTA surcharge on the MTA return for 
the year preceding the year for which the extension of time for 
filing was requested, if such preceding year was a tax year of 
12 months.

Second, third, and fourth installments of estimated tax and 
estimated MTA surcharge: Due on the fifteenth day of the sixth, 
ninth, and twelfth months of your tax year. The amount of each 
installment is 33⅓% of the estimated tax less the MFI. However, 
corporations that are not large corporations are allowed to make 
second, third, and fourth installments so that each of those 
installments is 33⅓% of 91% of the estimated tax less the MFI. 
The estimated tax is the tax, less allowable credits, shown on the 
return for the year for which the estimated tax payments were made 
(or if no return was filed, the tax for that year) unless an exception 
applies. This amount is referred to in this form as the current year 
amount.

If you use either exception number 1 or 2 under Who must file 
to reduce the amount of a second, third, or fourth installment 
that would otherwise be due, the reduction must be recaptured 
by increasing the amount of the next installment by the amount 
of the reduction when the next installment is either an amount 
determined without using any exception, or an amount determined 
using exception number 3 or 4 under Who must file. Subsequent 
installments must be increased to the extent that the reduction has 
not previously been recaptured. Schedule A, Part 3 will compute 
this recapture for you.

How to use Form CT-222
Complete Part 1 to determine the annual payment. Part 1 
determines the least of the following annual payment amounts: the 
current year amount from line 2; the line 8 exception amount from 
line 3; or the line 9 exception amount from line 4. 

Part 2 is used to inform the Tax Department which exception(s) you 
are using to reduce or eliminate the underpayment penalty.

The remainder of the form is used to make the actual determination 
as to which, if any, exceptions apply, and to compute the amount of 
any penalty on an underpayment of an installment amount.

If an exception(s) applies, mark an X in the applicable box(es) in 
Part 2. If any box in Part 2 is marked, attach Form CT-222 to your 
tax return. Also mark the box on the appropriate line on your tax 
return to inform us you are filing Form CT-222.

Complete Schedule A, Parts 1 and 3 if only the box on line 6 is 
marked. Complete Schedule A, Parts 2 and 3 if only the box on 
line 7 is marked. Complete Schedule A, Parts 1, 2, and 3 if both 
boxes on lines 6 and 7 are marked. Complete Schedule B if the box 
on line 9 is marked.

Line instructions
Part 2 – Reasons for filing
Lines 6 and 7 – Adjusted seasonal installment method and 
annualized income installment method – If your income varied 
during the year because, for example, you operated your business 
on a seasonal basis, you may be able to reduce or eliminate the 
amount of one or more required installments by using either the 
adjusted seasonal installment method or the annualized income 
installment method, as applicable for each installment. The 

adjusted seasonal method does not apply when you have less than 
three tax years filed with New York State.

Example: A ski shop, which receives most of its income during 
the winter months, may benefit from using one or both of these 
methods to figure its required installments. The annualized income 
installment or adjusted seasonal installment may be less than 
the installment under the least of the current year amount, line 8 
exception, or line 9 exception.

Note: See Who must file for when these methods may be used.

Part 3 – Computing the underpayment
For lines 11 through 19, complete one column before going to the 
next column.

Line 10 – You are generally required to enter the 15th day of the 3rd, 
6th, 9th and 12th months of your tax year.

Line 11 – For column A:
Corporations subject to tax under Article 9 §§ 184, 186-a, 
and 186-e, Article 9-A, or Article 33: If computing penalty for 
corporation franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax, enter the 
amount from the Form CT-300, line 2, column A, that was used to 
satisfy the MFI for the tax year for which you are computing penalty.

If computing penalty for MTA surcharge, enter the amount from the 
Form CT-300, line 4, column B, that was used to satisfy the MFI for 
the tax year for which you are computing penalty.

New York S corporations and Article 9, former §186 filers:
• If you did not file a request for extension of time for filing for the 

tax year preceding the tax year for which the penalty is being 
computed, then multiply line 3 by 25% (.25) or 40% (.40), as 
applicable. Use 25% if line 3 is more than $1,000, but does not 
exceed $100,000. Use 40% if line 3 exceeds $100,000 or if 
line 3 exceeds $1,000, and you are subject to tax under Tax Law 
section 1510(b)(1). If you are a large corporation and line 3 is 
not completed, multiply the applicable percentage by the amount 
that would have been entered on line 3. If your tax due for the 
previous tax year was less than $1,000, enter 0.

• If you did file a request for extension of time for filing for the tax 
year preceding the tax year for which the MFI is required, enter 
from that extension request the amount reported as the first 
installment of estimated tax for the next tax year. If no MFI was 
required on such extension request, enter 0.

If the box on line 8 or 9, but not line 6 or 7, is marked, subtract 
column A from line 5 and divide by three. Enter this result in 
columns B, C, and D. If either of the boxes on line 6 or line 7 is 
marked, complete the applicable parts of Schedule A and enter the 
amounts from line 93 in columns B, C, and D.

For the exceptions on lines 6, 7, and 9, the installments should be 
computed without regard to any increase in the rates applicable to 
the tax year that may have become effective after the first day of 
the seventh month of that year.

Line 12 – Enter the estimated tax payments made by you for your 
tax year as indicated in the Column A and Columns B, C, and D 
instructions. Include any amounts paid on time on your behalf by a 
partnership. If an installment is due on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, payments made on the next day that is not a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday are considered made on the due date to 
the extent the payment is applied against that required installment.

Column A – Enter payments made or credited, by the due date 
shown on line 10, column A. Also enter this amount on line 16, 
column A.

Columns B, C, and D – Enter payments made by the due date 
shown on line 10 for that column and after the due date shown on 
line 10 of the preceding column. Do not include overpayments of 
tax from prior installment periods. 



A payment of estimated tax is applied against underpayments 
or required installments in the order which the installments are 
required to be paid, regardless of the installment to which the 
payment pertains.

Example: Calendar-year taxpayer

 First Second Third Fourth
Due date 3/15 6/15 9/15 12/15 
25% of prior year tax or MTA surcharge 2,000 
Installment amount due 2,000 1,000 1,000 1,000
Paid on time or credited 2,000 0 500* 1,000**
Underpayment 0 1,000 500 0

*Paid $1,500 on 9/15; $1,000 applied to 6/15 installment; $500 applied to 
9/15 installment. Therefore, penalty is due on $1,000 from 6/15 to 9/15.

**Paid $1,500 on 12/15; $500 applied to 9/15 installment; $1,000 applied to 
12/15 installment. Therefore, penalty is due on $500 from 9/15 to 12/15.

Line 18 – Complete lines 20 through 45 to determine the amount of 
the penalty on any underpayments shown.

Part 4 – Computation of the underpayment penalty
The penalty is computed for the period of underpayment using the 
underpayment rate determined under Tax Law section 1096(e). The 
period of underpayment runs from the installment due date to the 
earlier of the date the underpayment is actually paid in full or the 
15th day of the 4th month after the close of the tax year.

Example: A corporation underpaid the 3/15 installment by $1,000. 
The 6/15 installment requires a payment of $2,500. On 6/10, the 
corporation deposits $2,500 to cover the 6/15 installment. However, 
$1,000 of this payment is applied against the 3/15 installment. 
The penalty for the 3/15 installment is figured from 3/15 to 6/10 
(88 days). Therefore, 6/10 would be entered in line 20, column A. 
The remaining $1,500 is applied to the 6/15 installment as if it were 
made on 6/15.

If you have made more than one payment for a required 
installment, attach a separate computation for each payment.

Line 41 – In each of columns B, C, and D, add the amount on 
line 12 to the amount on line 13. If the resulting sum for a column 
equals or exceeds the amount computed on line 45, multiply line 40 
by 75% (.75), and enter the result. If the resulting sum does not 
exceed the amount on line 45, enter the amount from line 40. Note 
that the 75% provision does not apply to the MFI (column A).

Schedule A
See Who must file for when the adjusted seasonal installment 
method or the annualized income installment method may be used. 
The same requirements apply for using either method for MTA 
surcharge purposes.

Use Schedule A to figure one or more required installments when 
the adjusted seasonal installment or annualized income installment 
method is used. If Schedule A is used for any payment due date, 
it must be completed for all payment due dates. To arrive at the 
amount of each required installment, Schedule A automatically 
selects the smallest of:
• the adjusted seasonal installment (if applicable);
• the annualized income installment (if applicable);
• the installment under the least of the current year, line 8 

exception, or line 9 exception (increased by any recapture of a 
reduction in a required installment, when applicable).

Follow the steps below to determine which parts of Schedule A 
have to be completed:
• If you are using only the adjusted seasonal installment method, 

mark an X in the box on line 6 and complete Schedule A, Parts 1 
and 3.

• If you are using only the annualized income installment method, 
mark an X in the box on line 7 and complete Schedule A, Parts 2 
and 3.

• If you are using both methods, mark an X in the boxes on lines 6 
and 7 and complete all three parts in Schedule A.

Schedule A, Part 1 – Adjusted seasonal installment 
method
You can use the adjusted seasonal installment method only if your 
base period percentage for any six consecutive months is 70% 
or more. When the base period percentage is 70% or more, you 
may also use the adjusted seasonal installment method for MTA 
surcharge purposes. The base period percentage for any period 
of six consecutive months is the average of the three percentages 
computed by dividing business income, for the corresponding 
six consecutive month period in each of the three preceding tax 
years, by the total business income for each of the three preceding 
tax years. Note that, for purposes of computing the base period 
percentage, in lieu of business income, you must use one of the 
tax bases set forth in Item 1 under Who must file, when such other 
base is the highest tax base, before credits, for the tax year for 
which the penalty is being computed. Compute the base period 
percentage using the 6-month period in which you normally receive 
the largest part of your taxable income.

Example: An amusement park with a 2023 calendar tax year is 
taxed on the business income base and receives the largest part 
of its taxable income during the 6-month period from May through 
October. To compute its base period percentage for this 6-month 
period in 2023, the amusement park figures its business income for 
each May through October period in 2020, 2021, and 2022. It then 
divides the business income for each May through October period 
by the total business income for that particular tax year. Assume 
the resulting percentages are: 69% for May through October 2020, 
74% for May through October 2021, and 67% for May through 
October 2022. Because the average of 69%, 74%, and 67% is 
70%, the base period percentage for May through October is 70%. 
Therefore the amusement park qualifies for the adjusted seasonal 
installment method.

Line 61 – For MTA surcharge purposes, you must first figure the 
franchise, gross receipts, or excise tax on the line 60 amount. 
The result is multiplied by the MCTD allocation percentage, then 
multiplied by the applicable MTA surcharge tax rate.

Certain Article 9 and Article 33 filers: When appropriate, apply 
the worksheet from your MTA surcharge return to the line 60 tax 
amount before multiplying by the MCTD allocation percentage. 
Line 68 – Enter any other tax amounts that are part of the 
computation of the total tax amount on line 1. Examples include, 
but are not limited to, the tax on subsidiary capital and the tax on 
premiums for Form CT-33 or CT-33-A filers.

Schedule A, Part 2 – Annualized income installment 
method
Line 74 – Annualized periods – Enter in columns B, C, and D, 
respectively, the annualization periods for the option shown in 
the tables below. For example, if you elected option 1, enter 
the annualization periods 4, 7, and 10, in columns B, C, and D, 
respectively.

 2nd installment 3rd installment 4th installment
Standard option 3 6 9
Option 1 4 7 10
Option 2 5 8 11

Use option 1 or option 2 only if you elected to do so by filing 
Form CT-222.1, Election to Use Different Annualization Periods for 
Corporate Estimated Tax, by the due date of your declaration of 
estimated tax. Once made, the election is irrevocable for that tax year.
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Line 75 – Enter all items of receipts, income, and expenses that 
were included in your computation of tax that you received for the 
months entered for each annualization period in columns B, C, 
and D on line 74.

Line 76 – Enter in columns B, C, and D, respectively, the 
annualization amounts shown in the table below for the option 
used for line 74. For example, if you elected option 1, enter the 
annualization amounts 3, 1.71429, and 1.2, in columns B, C, and D, 
respectively.

 2nd installment 3rd installment 4th installment
Standard option 4 2 1.33333
Option 1 3 1.71429 1.2
Option 2 2.4 1.5 1.09091

Line 78 – For MTA surcharge purposes, you must first figure the 
franchise, gross receipts, or excise tax on the line 77 amount. 
The result is multiplied by the MCTD allocation percentage, then 
multiplied by the applicable MTA surcharge tax rate.

Certain Article 9 and Article 33 filers: When appropriate, apply 
the worksheet from your MTA surcharge return to the line 77 tax 
amount before multiplying by the MCTD allocation percentage. 
Line 79 – Enter any other tax amounts that are part of the 
computation of the total tax amount on line 1. Examples include, 
but are not limited to, the tax on subsidiary capital and the tax on 
premiums for Form CT-33 or CT-33-A filers.

Line 81 – Enter the credits you are entitled to for the months 
shown in each column on line 74. Do not annualize any credit. 
However, when figuring the credits, annualize any item of income or 
deduction used to figure the credit.

Schedule B – Line 9 exception
Compute this exception using only the tax base that was used to 
compute the current year’s tax. For example, if the highest liability 
before credits for 2023 is the business income base, then complete 
line 94 and skip line 95. Article 9 and 33 filers make substitutions 
where necessary (for example, to include the correct applicable tax 
base).

Certain Article 9 and Article 33 filers: When using this exception 
for MTA surcharge purposes for lines 94 and 95, when appropriate, 
instead of multiplying the applicable 2022 tax base by the 
applicable 2023 rate, apply the appropriate MTA surcharge return 
worksheet to the applicable 2022 tax base.

Line 98 – Enter any other tax amounts that are part of the 
computation of the total tax amount on line 1; for example, the tax 
on premiums for Form CT-33 or CT-33-A filers.

Need help? and Privacy notification
See Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions.
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