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WCS-21-1 
 

     Important Notice May 5, 2021 
 
 
Columbia County Imposes Wireless Communications Surcharge Rate 

Effective June 1, 2021 
  

The Tax Law imposes a public safety communications surcharge on postpaid and 
prepaid wireless communications services. New York City and counties outside New York City 
may also impose a local surcharge on postpaid and prepaid wireless communications services.  
 

Beginning June 1, 2021, Columbia County is imposing a local surcharge rate of $.30 on 
wireless communications services. 

 
• Postpaid: WCS-1, Postpaid Wireless Communications Surcharge Return  
 
  The combined state and local surcharge rate will increase from $1.20 to $1.50. When 

you Web File, use the Columbia County $1.50 entry line to report the surcharge on all 
devices in service during any part of a month for every customer whose place of 
primary use is in Columbia County.  

 
• Prepaid: WCS-2-PRE, Prepaid Wireless Communications Surcharge Return 
 
  The combined state and local surcharge rate will increase from $.90 to $1.20. When 

you Web File, use the Columbia County $1.20 entry line to report retail sales of prepaid 
wireless communications services in Columbia County. 

 
 

 


