
The third and fourth installments are due on the 15th day of the ninth 
and twelfth months of the current tax year.

Where to file
File and pay through Online Services at www.tax.ny.gov or mail 
Form CT-400 and payment to:

NYS ESTIMATED CORPORATION TAX
PO BOX 15200
ALBANY NY 12212-5200

Private delivery services – See Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services.

Amended declaration of estimated tax 
If you determine that the estimated tax for the current year differs from 
your most recent declaration, an amendment to the declaration may be 
made. This should be done on Form CT-400 and only on the installment 
due dates. For further information on declarations of estimated tax, see 
20 NYCRR sections 7-2 and 7-3.

Payment of estimated tax 
Mandatory first installment (MFI) – If the franchise, excise, or gross 
receipts tax for your second preceding year exceeds $1,000, but 
does not exceed $100,000, you must pay 25% (.25) of such tax with 
Form CT-300, Mandatory First Installment (MFI) of Estimated Tax for 
Corporations. If the second preceding year’s tax exceeds $100,000, 
you must pay 40% (.40) of such tax with Form CT-300. Do not use 
Form CT-400 to make your MFI payment.

New York S corporations: If your preceding year’s franchise tax 
under Article 9-A exceeds $1,000, but does not exceed $100,000, 
you must pay 25% (.25) of such tax with your Form CT-3-S, New York 
S Corporation Franchise Tax Return, or Form CT-5.4, Request for 
Six-Month Extension to File New York S Corporation Franchise Tax 
Return, for such preceding tax year. If your preceding year’s franchise 
tax under Article 9-A exceeds $100,000, you must pay 40% (.4) of such 
tax with your Form CT-3-S, or Form CT-5.4, for such preceding tax year.

Life insurance companies: If the franchise tax for your second 
preceding year exceeds $1,000, you must pay 40% of such tax with 
Form CT-300.

Tax Law section 186 filers: If your preceding year’s franchise tax 
under Article 9 exceeds $1,000, you must pay 25% (.25) of such tax 
with your Form CT-186, Utility Corporation Franchise Tax Return, or 
Form CT-5.6, Request for Three-Month Extension to File Form CT-186, 
for such preceding tax year.

MTA surcharge: A 25% (40% for life insurance companies) first 
installment of the MTA surcharge is also required if your franchise, 
excise, or gross receipts tax is more than $1,000 and you are subject 
to the MTA surcharge. A 40% first installment of the MTA surcharge 
is required if your franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax exceeds 
$100,000. Form CT-186-M filers always use 25%.

Second, third, and fourth installments – To determine the estimated 
tax amount due in these installments, subtract the amount of the MFI 
payment made, as described above, from the estimated tax due and 
divide the result by three.

Corporate partners: Reduce the amount of each installment due 
by the amount of estimated tax that was paid on your behalf by a 
partnership on or before the installment due date.

Penalties for underpayment of estimated tax 
We will impose a penalty on you if you do not file a declaration of 
estimated tax or do not timely pay the entire amount of an installment 
payment that is due. To avoid this penalty, the estimated tax is the tax, 
less allowable credits, shown on the return for the year for which the 
estimated tax payments were made (or if no return was filed, the tax 
for that year), unless one of the exceptions under Exceptions to the 
underpayment penalty applies. For complete details, see Form CT-222, 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation.

Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax 
Instructions
See Form CT-1 for the following topics:
•	 Changes for the current tax year (general and by Tax Law Article)
•	 Business information (how to enter and update)
•	 Entry formats

–  Dates
–  Negative amounts
–  Percentages
–  Whole dollar amounts

•	 Are you claiming an overpayment?
•	 NAICS business code number and NYS principal business activity
•	 Limitation on tax credit eligibility
•	 Third-party designee
•	 Paid preparer identification numbers
•	 Is your return in processible form?
•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate
•	 Online services
•	 Web File
•	 Form CT-200-V
•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
•	 Fee for payments returned by banks
•	 Reporting requirements for tax shelters
•	 Tax shelter penalties
•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
•	 Your rights under the Tax Law
•	 Need help?
•	 Privacy notification

General information
Who must file a declaration of estimated tax and 
make quarterly installment payments
Corporations subject to tax under Articles 9, 9-A, and 33 whose 
franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax can reasonably be expected 
to exceed $1,000 for the current tax year must file a declaration of 
estimated franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax and make installment 
payments.

Any corporation subject to the metropolitan transportation business tax 
(MTA surcharge) that is required to make a declaration of estimated 
franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax must also make a declaration of 
estimated MTA surcharge and make installment payments.

Estimated tax is the amount estimated to be the franchise, excise, or 
gross receipts tax and MTA surcharge for the current tax year minus the 
amount of estimated allowable tax credits for the current tax year.

Form CT-186-E filers: See Installments of estimated tax in 
Form CT-186-E-I, Instructions for Form CT-186-E, for specific 
information about completing Form CT-400.

When to file a declaration of estimated tax 
If you determine that the estimated franchise, excise, or gross receipts 
tax will exceed $1,000 in the current tax year, file a declaration of 
estimated franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax and MTA surcharge 
on or before the 15th day of the sixth month of your current tax year. If 
you determine, after that filing deadline, that you will have a tax liability 
of more than $1,000, see Tax Law section 213-a.

Note: See the Payment due dates for Articles 9 (sections 184, 186, 
186-a, and 186-e), 9-A, and 33 taxpayers chart if you need to determine 
your declaration of estimated tax and installment payment due dates. 

Department of Taxation and Finance
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Exceptions to the underpayment penalty 
You will not have to pay a penalty if you made all tax payments on time 
and each installment equals or exceeds the amount that would have 
been required to be paid by each installment date if the estimated tax 
were an amount determined under any of the exceptions listed below.

Exceptions 3 and 4 do not apply to large corporations. A large 
corporation is one that had, or whose predecessor had, business 
income or allocated business income of at least $1 million for any of the 
three tax years immediately preceding the tax year involved.

Note: Article 9 taxpayers are never considered large corporations.

A large corporation, for a non-life insurance corporation subject to 
tax under Tax Law, Article 33, section 1502-a, is one that had direct 
premiums subject to the premiums tax under Tax Law, Article 33, 
section 1502-a exceeding $3.75 million for any of the three immediately 
preceding tax years.

A large corporation, for a life insurance corporation subject to tax 
under Article 33, is one that had, or whose predecessor had, entire net 
income (ENI), or allocated ENI, of at least $1 million for any of the three 
tax years immediately preceding the tax year involved.

Exception 1: This exception applies if you have recurring seasonal 
income. For additional information about computing seasonal income, 
see Article 27 section 1085(d)(4).

Exception 2: This exception applies if the estimated tax you paid 
was equal to or more than 91% (or 100% for large corporations) of 
the amount you would owe if your estimated tax were computed on 
annualized taxable income for the months preceding an installment 
date.

You may annualize income as follows:
a.	 for the first 3, 4, or 5 months of the tax year, in the case of the 	

installment required to be paid in the sixth month	
b.	 for the first 6, 7, or 8 months of the tax year, in the case of the 	

installment required to be paid in the ninth month	
c.	 for the first 9, 10, or 11 months of the tax year, in the case of 		

the installment required to be paid in the twelfth month

Note: The use of 4, 7, and 10 months or 5, 8, and 11 months requires 
an election to be filed by the due date of the declaration of estimated 
tax. For more information, see Form CT-222.1, Election to Use Different 
Annualization Periods for Corporate Estimated Tax.

To annualize, multiply taxable income for the period by 12 and divide 
the result by the number of months in the period (3, 4, 5, 6, 7, etc.).

Exception 3 (not to be used by large corporations): This exception 
applies if the amount you paid is equal to or more than the tax reported 
on your prior year’s return. You must have filed a franchise, excise, or 
gross receipts tax return showing a tax liability for the preceding tax 
year, and that year must have consisted of 12 months.

Exception 4 (not to be used by large corporations): This exception 
applies if the amount you paid is equal to or more than the tax computed 
by using the current year’s rate, but based on the facts shown on the 
prior year’s return and the law that applies to the prior year.

To avoid underpayment penalties, you must make up a reduction in 
estimated taxes resulting from using annualized income or seasonal 
income by increasing the amount of the next installment determined 
under any method, other than the annualized income or seasonal 
income method, by the amount of such reduction.

Specific instructions
You can Web File Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations, at 
www.tax.ny.gov. You’ll need to create an Online Services account or 
log into your existing one, and select the corporation tax estimated 
payment option. For more information on our website, select the 
corporation tax Web File option.

Benefits of Web Filing include:
•	 direct payment from your bank account or by ACH credit
•	 instant confirmation

In the appropriate spaces provided on the form, enter your business 
information. You may obtain the file number and return type (form 
number) from your last New York State franchise, excise, or gross 
receipts tax return, or enter the state franchise, excise, or gross 
receipts tax return form number you expect to file, if different. Do not 
enter slashes or dashes when entering the form number in the Return 
type box. Use the Tax sub type chart to determine the two-digit code, 
based on your return type, to enter in that box. Enter the month and 
year (in mm-yy format) that your tax year begins and ends in the 
Tax year beginning and ending box. Use the Payment due dates for 
Articles 9 (sections 184, 186, 186-a, and 186-e), 9-A, and 33 taxpayers 
chart to determine your installment due date and enter it in the box.

Note: To avoid delays in processing your estimated tax, you must enter 
a form number in the Return type box and a Tax sub type in that box.

Line instructions
Line A – Add the amounts on lines 1 and 2 and enter the result. Make 
your check or money order for this amount payable in U.S. funds. We 
will accept a foreign check or money order only if payable through a 
United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Installment payment amount
Line 1 – Enter the amount of your installment payment for your 
franchise, excise, or gross receipts tax.

Line 2 – Enter the amount of your installment payment for your MTA
surcharge, if applicable.

Declaration of estimated tax
Line 3 – Enter the amount of your estimated franchise, excise, or
gross receipts tax for the current tax year. 

Line 4 – Enter the amount of your estimated MTA surcharge for the
current tax year.

	 Return type	 Tax sub type code
CT183	 05
CT183M	 06
CT184	 07
CT184M	 08
CT186	 10
CT186M	 11
CT186P	 12
CT186PM	 13
CT186E	 16
CT3, CT3S	 23
CT3M	 24
CT3A 	 25
CT3ABC	 25
CT13	 26
CT33	 31
CT33M	 32
CT33NL	 33
CT33A	 34
CT33C	 36

Tax sub type



Record of estimated tax payments
	Installment	 Date	 Check	 A	 B	 C		
	 payment		  number	 Amount	 Overpayment	 Total		
	 number				    from last year	 (column A + column B)		

	 1*							     
	 2 							     
	 3 							     
	 4						    
  Total ......................................................................................................................................................................			 
* Paid with Form CT-300 (except for Form CT-186 and Form CT-3-S filers who pay with the prior year tax return or extension)

Payment due dates for Articles 9 (sections 184, 186, 186-a, and 186-e), 9-A, and 33 taxpayers
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the payment is due on the next business day.

Note: 	All Article 9 (sections 184, 186, 186-a, and 186-e) taxpayers file on a calendar-year basis and must file tax returns and declarations of 
estimated tax based on the calendar year, regardless of their federal tax filing period.

	 If your year	 Your MFI is	
	 ends on:	 due on:

Subsequent payments and installment payments are due on:
	 Second installment	 Third installment	 Fourth installment

	 January 31	 April 15	 July 15	 October 15	 January 15		
	 February 28/29	 May 15	 August 15	 November 15	 February 15		
	 March 31	 June 15	 September 15	 December 15	 March 15		
	 April 30	 July 15	 October 15	 January 15	 April 15		
	 May 31	 August 15	 November 15	 February 15	 May 15		
	 June 30	 September 15	 December 15	 March 15	 June 15		
	 July 31	 October 15	 January 15	 April 15	 July 15		
	 August 31	 November 15	 February 15	 May 15	 August 15		
	 September 30	 December 15	 March 15	 June 15	 September 15		
	 October 31	 January 15	 April 15	 July 15	 October 15		
	 November 30	 February 15	 May 15	 August 15	 November 15		
	 December 31	 March 15	 June 15	 September 15	 December 15	
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