
Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax 
Instructions
See Form CT-1 for the following topics:
•	 Changes for the current tax year (general and by Tax Law Article)
•	 Business information (how to enter and update)
•	 Entry formats

–	 Dates
–	 Negative amounts
–	 Percentages
–	 Whole dollar amounts

•	 Are you claiming an overpayment?
•	 NAICS business code number and NYS principal business activity
•	 Limitation on tax credit eligibility
•	 Third-party designee
•	 Paid preparer identification numbers
•	 Is your return in processible form?
•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Online services
•	 Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate
•	 Web File
•	 Form CT-200-V
•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
•	 Fee for payments returned by banks
•	 Reporting requirements for tax shelters
•	 Tax shelter penalties
•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
•	 Your rights under the Tax Law
•	 Need help?
•	 Privacy notification

General information
Who must file
Every provider of telecommunication services must file Form CT‑186-E 
to report the tax due under section 186-e. In addition to your 
telecommunications activity, if you are a utility supervised by the 
Department of Public Service, you must use Form CT-186-E to report 
the tax imposed by section 186-a.

Provider of telecommunication services means any person, 
corporation, or other entity who furnishes or sells telecommunication 
services, regardless of whether these activities are the main business 
of the person, corporation, or other entity, or are only incidental. 
(Any reference to a utility, regarding the tax imposed by section 
186-e or 186-a, is deemed to include a reference to a provider of 
telecommunication services.)

Providers of telecommunication services compute their tax by 
completing Schedule A and, if applicable, Schedule B.

Providers of telecommunication services that sell mobile 
telecommunication services compute their tax on such sales by 
completing Schedule E and, if applicable, Schedule F, when such 
mobile service was provided on or after May 1, 2015, and the receipt 
related to such service was received by the provider on or after 
May 1, 2015. Otherwise, the tax on such mobile service is paid using 
Schedules A and B.

Utilities that are subject to the supervision of the Department of Public 
Service compute their section 186-a tax by completing Schedule C and, 
if applicable, Schedule D. 

Utilities that are not subject to the supervision of the Department of 
Public Service do not need to complete Schedule C or Schedule D.

Exempt sellers 
The following, if selling telecommunication services, are exempt 
from tax under both sections 186-e and 186-a: New York State, 
municipalities, political and civil subdivisions of New York State or a 
municipality, public districts, not-for-profit corporations, and associations 
organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, or 
educational purposes.

In addition, the following exemptions apply to section 186-a: any 
corporation leasing from a city in New York State a water works system 
to supply water at cost to relieve water pollution in a river within that 
city, limited dividend housing corporations organized under the Private 
Housing Finance Law, and motor carriers and brokers.

If your gross income is $500 or less, you are exempt from tax 
under section 186-a, but you are still required to complete 
Schedule C. This $500 limitation does not apply to the tax imposed 
under section 186-e (Schedules A and E), or the related MTA 
surcharge (Schedules B and F).

When to file 
You must report on a calendar year basis to New York State, even if 
you maintain your records and report to the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) using a fiscal accounting period.

This return is due on April 15 following the close of the calendar tax 
year. If April 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday in any year, 
the return is due on the next business day.

Where to file
Mail your return to:	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PO BOX 15181
	 ALBANY NY 12212-5181

Private delivery services – See Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services.

Extension of time for filing tax return
If you cannot meet the filing deadline, you may request an extension 
of time by filing Form CT-5.9-E, Request for Three‑Month Extension to 
File Form CT-186-E, on or before the original due date. An extension of 
time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax return does not extend the 
due date for filing Form CT‑186-E. 

Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA 
surcharge) 
You must also use this form to compute and report the MTA surcharge 
imposed by section 186-c on business done in the Metropolitan 
Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The MCTD includes the 
counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, 
Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

Other forms you may need to file
Utility services tax – If you have no receipts from telecommunication 
services, but have receipts from the furnishing of utility services subject 
to tax under section 186-a, use Form CT-186-P, Utility Services Tax 
Return – Gross Income, to report your taxes under section 186-a. Use 
Form CT-186-P/M, Utility Services MTA Surcharge Return, to report 
your MTA surcharge.

Installments of estimated tax – You may be required to make 
installments of estimated tax. Form CT-300, Mandatory First Installment 
(MFI) of Estimated Tax for Corporations, is used to make the mandatory 
first installment (MFI) when an MFI is required. Form CT-400, Estimated 
Tax for Corporations, is used to make any additional estimated tax 
payments as required. 

Specific instructions
Amended return – If you are filing an amended return, mark an X in 
the Amended return box on page 1.

Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-186-E
Telecommunications Tax Return and Utility Services Tax Return
Tax Law – Article 9, Sections 186-e, 186-a, and 186-c

CT-186-E-I



Page 2 of 8  CT-186-E-I (2021)
An amended New York State return requesting a credit or refund must 
be filed within three years of the time the original return was filed or 
within two years of the time the tax was paid, whichever is later; or, if 
no return was filed, within two years of the time the tax was paid. For 
additional limitations on credits or refunds, see Tax Law, Article 27, 
section 1087.

Final return – Mark an X in this box if it is the last return you intend to 
file because you have ceased doing business.

Employer identification number, file number, and other identifying 
information – Enter your employer identification number and file 
number. If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure 
they use your complete and accurate identifying information when 
completing all forms. Keep a record of your identifying information for 
future use.

Line instructions
Line A – Make your check or money order payable in United States 
funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if 
payable through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. 
funds.

Before completing lines 1 through 22b, you must complete any of the 
following schedules that apply to you.

Schedule A –	New York State excise tax on telecommunication 	
services

Schedule B – MTA surcharge related to those telecommunication 		
services reported on Schedule A

Schedule C – Utility services tax
Schedule D – MTA surcharge on gross income for utility services
Schedule E – New York State excise tax on mobile telecommunication 	
	 services subject to 2.9% tax rate
Schedule F – MTA surcharge related to mobile telecommunication 		
	 	 services subject to 0.721% tax rate

Computation of tax
Lines 2 and 5 – A utility subject to tax under section 186‑a that has 
gross income of less than $500 is exempt from the payment of the tax 
under this section. However, you are required to complete Schedule C. 
Enter 0 on lines 2 and 5, and file this form.

Lines 11 and 12 – If line 11 in either column A or column B is greater 
than or equal to line 12, you potentially have an underpayment for 
that column. Proceed to line 13a for that column.

If line 11 in either column A or column B is less than line 12, you 
potentially have an overpayment for that column. Proceed to line 13d 
for that column.

Line 13a – For the column(s) for which line 11 is greater than or equal 
to line 12, subtract line 12 from line 11.

Line 13b – For column A, if on Form CT-300 you did not apply an 
anticipated overpayment amount of excise tax on telecommunication 
services plus tax on gross income (if applicable) from this period to your 
next tax period(s) for those tax(es), enter 0 and proceed to line 13c. 
Note: For calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 
2022.

For column A, if on Form CT-300 you did apply an anticipated 
overpayment amount of excise tax on telecommunication services plus 
tax on gross income (if applicable) from this period to your next tax 
period(s) for those tax(es), enter the amount from line 5, column A of 
such Form CT-300 that represents such anticipated overpayment. Note: 
For calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 2022.

For column B, if on Form CT-300 you did not apply an anticipated 
overpayment amount of MTA surcharge for the excise tax on 
telecommunication services plus MTA surcharge for the tax on gross 
income (if applicable) from this period to your next tax period(s) for 
those MTA surcharges, enter 0 and proceed to line 13c. Note: For 
calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 2022.

For column B, if on Form CT-300 you did apply an anticipated 
overpayment amount of MTA surcharge for the excise tax on 
telecommunication services plus MTA surcharge for the tax on gross 
income (if applicable) from this period to your next tax period(s) for 

those MTA surcharges, enter the amount from line 5, column B of such 
Form CT-300 that represents such anticipated overpayment. Note: For 
calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 2022.

If either column A or B of line 13c shows a balance due, you may use 
lines 14a and 14b to transfer any overpayment from line 13f to pay the 
balance due. If both columns show a balance due, enter the amounts 
on line 14c, columns A and B.

Line 13d – For the column(s) for which line 11 is less than line 12, 
subtract line 11 from line 12.

Line 13e – For column A, if on Form CT-300 you did not apply an 
anticipated overpayment amount of excise tax on telecommunication 
services plus tax on gross income (if applicable) from this period to your 
next tax period(s) for those tax(es), enter 0 and proceed to line 13f. 
Note: For calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 
2022.

For column A, if on Form CT-300 you did apply an anticipated 
overpayment amount of excise tax on telecommunication services 
plus tax on gross income (if applicable) from this period to your next 
tax period(s) for those tax(es), enter the amount from line 5, column A 
of such Form CT-300 that represents such anticipated overpayment. 
Note: For calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 
2022. If line 13e is less than or equal to line 13d, column A, proceed 
to line 13f. If line 13e is greater than line 13d, column A, subtract 
line 13d from line 13e and enter the result on line 13c. 

For column B, if on Form CT-300 you did not apply an anticipated 
overpayment amount of MTA surcharge for the excise tax on 
telecommunication services plus MTA surcharge for the tax on gross 
income (if applicable) from this period to your next tax period(s) for 
those MTA surcharges, enter 0 and proceed to line 13f. Note: For 
calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 2022.

For column B, if on Form CT-300 you did apply an anticipated 
overpayment amount of MTA surcharge for the excise tax on 
telecommunication services plus MTA surcharge for the tax on gross 
income (if applicable) from this period to your next tax period(s) for 
those MTA surcharges, enter the amount from line 5, column B of such 
Form CT-300 that represents such anticipated overpayment. Note: 
For calendar-year filers, such Form CT-300 was due March 15, 2022. 
If line 13e is less than or equal to line 13d, column B, proceed to 
line 13f. If line 13e is greater than line 13d, column B, subtract line 13d 
from line 13e and enter the result on line 13c.

If either column A or B shows an overpayment, you may use lines 14a 
and 14b to transfer the overpayment to pay a balance due. If both 
columns show overpayments, you may use lines 14a and 14b to 
transfer the amounts to be applied as overpayments to next year’s tax 
or you may transfer the overpayments to line 19, columns A and B.

Line 14a – Use this line to transfer any MTA surcharge overpayment 
to the New York State (NYS) tax due. Enter the amount you want to 
transfer in both column A and column B.

Line 14b – Use this line to transfer any NYS tax overpayment to the 
MTA surcharge due. Enter the amounts you want to transfer in both 
column A and column B.

Line 14c – If there is a balance due for NYS tax (line 13c, column A) 
and an overpayment for MTA surcharge (line 13f, column B), subtract 
the amount transferred on line 14a, column A from line 13c, column A. 
If the difference is zero or a positive amount, enter the difference on 
line 14c, column A. If the difference is a negative amount, enter the 
difference as a positive number on line 19, column A. Subtract the 
amount transferred on line 14a, column B, from line 13f, column B, and 
enter the difference on line 19, column B.

If there is a balance due for MTA surcharge (line 13c, column B) and 
an overpayment for NYS tax (line 13f, column A), subtract the amount 
transferred on line 14b, column A from line 13f, column A and enter 
the difference on line 19, column A. Subtract the transfer amount on 
line 14b, column B from line 13c, column B. If the difference is zero 
or a positive amount, enter the difference on line 14c, column B. If 
the difference is a negative amount, enter the difference as a positive 
number on line 19, column B.

Line 15 – Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a 
Corporation, is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax Department that 
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the corporation meets one of the exceptions to reduce or eliminate the 
underpayment of estimated tax penalty pursuant to Tax Law, Article 27, 
section 1085(d). 

Interest and penalties for late payment
Line 16 – If you do not pay the taxes and MTA surcharges on or before 
the original due date (without regard to any extension of time), you 
must pay interest on the amount of the underpayment from the original 
due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest computation any 
amounts paid timely.

Line 17 – Compute additional charges for late filing and late payment 
on the amount of taxes and MTA surcharges, minus any payment made 
on or before the due date (with regard to any extension of time for 
filing). 
A.	 If you do not file a return when due, or if the request for extension is 

invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(1)
(A)).

B.	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the addition 
to tax cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or 100% of the 
amount required to be shown as tax (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.	 If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax ½% per 
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	The total of the additional charges in items A and C may not exceed 
5% for any one month, except as provided for in item B above 
(section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining any delay in filing, payment, or both 
(section 1085).

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing 
our website, or you may call and we will compute the penalty and 
interest for you (see Need help?).

Overpayments and credits
Line 19 – If there are amounts listed in both columns of line 13f and 
you want to transfer the overpayment from one column to the other, see 
the instructions for lines 13c through 14c.

You may elect to apply all or part of the overpayment on line 19 to your 
next year’s taxes and surcharges to be reported on Form CT-186-E 
or have it refunded. Unless you request a refund, we will apply your 
overpayment to the next year’s tax. We will notify you when the 
overpayment has been credited and explain how to request a refund. 
You must claim the requested refund before the original due date of 
next year’s tax return. To apply overpayments to next year’s tax return 
or MTA surcharge, use lines 20a and 20b. To request a refund, use 
line 21.

Line 20a – Enter the amount from line 19, column A, to be credited to 
next year’s NYS tax (section 186-e).

Line 20b – Enter the amount from line 19, column B, to be credited to 
next year’s MTA surcharge.

Lines 22a and 22b – You may request a refund or credit of the resale 
credit or the multijurisdictional credit on lines 22a and 22b, instead of 
applying the credits against your tax liabilities on lines 40a, 40b, 61, 
and 62. Therefore, you may not request a refund or a credit of any 
amounts you have entered on lines 40a, 40b, 61, and 62.

For the security officer training tax credit, you must first apply it against 
the tax liabilities on lines 41 and 91. However, the utility COVID-19 debt 
relief credit is only available to taxpayers that are subject to Tax Law 
section 186-a and you must first apply it against the tax liability on line 
91. For both credits, any excess credit may be refunded or credited 
on lines 22a and 22b. No interest is payable on any refund or credit 
allowed.

Note: The long-term care insurance credit is not refundable. Do not 
enter any amount of this credit on lines 22a and 22b.

Ordering of tax credits
When claiming more than one credit, you must apply them against your 
tax in the following order:
1.	 Noncarryover credits that are not refundable
2.	 Carryover credits that are of limited duration
3.	 Carryover credits that are of unlimited duration
4.	 Refundable credits

The following credits are carryover credits of unlimited duration: 
long-term care insurance and temporary deferral nonrefundable payout.

The security officer training tax credit and the utility COVID-19 debt 
relief credit are refundable.

Schedule A – New York State excise tax on 
telecommunication services (Tax Law section 186-e)
Part 1 – Computation of gross charges 
Section 186-e imposes an excise tax on each charge from:
1) 	any intrastate telecommunication services;
2) 	any interstate or international telecommunication services that 

originate or terminate in New York State and are charged to a 
service address in New York State (regardless of where the amounts 
charged are actually billed or ultimately paid);

3)	 private telecommunication services attributable to New York State; 
and

4)	 mobile telecommunication services provided by a home service 
provider where the mobile telecommunications customer’s place of 
primary use is in New York State. 

Note: When the mobile service was provided on or after May 1, 2015, 
and the receipt related to such service was received by the provider 
on or after May 1, 2015, include charges from item 4 above on 
Schedules E and F. Where mobile services are reported on Schedule E, 
they should not be reported on either Schedule A or Schedule B.

The charge for each telecommunication service is determined 
on the basis of each transaction. Providers of telecommunication 
services are required to file Form CT-186-E for each calendar year, 
summarizing the charges accrued and the tax liability to be paid.

Gross charge means the amount charged for each telecommunication 
service provided with no deductions, and is expressed in money, 
whether paid in cash, credit, or property of any kind or nature. A 
deduction is allowed for bad debts incurred on charges subjected to tax 
under section 186-e, when the debt becomes worthless in accordance 
with consistently applied generally accepted accounting principles 
(GAAP).

Telecommunication services means telephony or telegraphy, or 
telephone or telegraph service of any nature including, but not limited 
to, any transmission of the following: voice, image, data, information, 
and paging, through the use of wire, cable, fiber optics, laser, 
microwave, radio wave, satellite or similar media, or any combination 
thereof. Telecommunication services also include services that are not 
telecommunication services as such, but are:
•	 ancillary to the provision of telephone service (for example, directory 
information, call forwarding, caller identification, call waiting, and 
supplementary services); and

•	 services (of whatever nature) which are provided with 
telecommunication services.

The charges from equipment provided in connection with any 
telecommunication service (such as beepers, telephones, fax 
machines, or modems) are also subject to tax under section 186-e. The 
term telecommunication services does not apply to separately stated 
charges for a service that alters the substantive (information) content of 
the message received from that sent.

Example: The character sequence 1, 2, 3, 4 is sent and the recipient 
receives only the summary number 10. The charge for this data 
processing service is separately billed. Because arithmetic processing 
has substantively changed the information content of the message 
sent and the data processing service is separately billed, this is not 
considered a telecommunication service.
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Telecommunication services do not include:
•	 Television or radio programming transmitted to subscribers by cable 
television service.

•	 Internet access services (see TSB-M-97(1.1)C, Internet Access 
Charges Not Subject to Sales Tax and Telecommunications Excise 
Tax; TSB-M-08(4)C, (2)S, The Federal Internet Tax Freedom Act 
Amendments Act of 2007 and its Effect on the New York Sales Tax 
and Telecommunications Excise Tax; and TSB-M-08(4.1)C, (2.1)S, 
Revised Information Regarding the Telecommunications Excise Tax 
Based on the Federal Internet Tax Freedom Act Amendments Act 
of 2007).

Examples of telecommunication services charges reported on 
Form CT-186-E include:
•	 Local telephone services.
•	 Toll services.
•	 Long distance telephone services.
•	 Carrier access services.
•	 Private telecommunication services.
•	 Pay telephone services.
•	 Paging services.
•	 Mobile telecommunication services.
•	 Facsimile and data transmission services.
•	 Prepaid telecommunication services.
•	 All other telecommunication services transmitted by any means 
whatsoever.

Line 23 – Enter 100% of your charges from intrastate 
telecommunication services. Do not include private intrastate 
telecommunication services to be reported on line 29.

Line 24 – Enter 100% of your charges from interstate and international 
services that originate or terminate in New York State and have a 
service address in New York State.

Service address means the location of the equipment from which the 
telecommunication originated or at which the telecommunication is 
received by the purchaser from the provider of telecommunication 
services. Special rules define the service address in instances where 
the telecommunication service is obtained through a credit or payment 
mechanism (such as a credit, calling card, or third-party billing), and 
where the service address is not a defined location (such as a mobile 
telephone, paging system, maritime system, or air‑to‑ground system). 
In instances where more than one rule may apply, use the first rule that 
applies from the list below to determine the service address. 
1.	 If the telecommunication originates or terminates in New York State 

and is charged to telecommunication equipment that is not 
associated with the origination or termination of the telecommunication 
(for example, by the use of a calling card or third-party billing), and 
the location of the equipment charged is in New York State, the 
service address will be deemed to be in New York State.

2.	 If the service is obtained through a credit or payment mechanism 
such as a bank, travel, credit, or debit card; or if the service 
is obtained by charging telecommunication equipment that 
is not associated with the origination or termination of the 
telecommunication (for example, by the use of a calling card or 
third-party billing), and the equipment is not located in the state of 
origination or termination, then the service address is deemed to be 
the location of the origination of the telecommunication.

3.	 If the service address is not a defined location, as in the case of 
mobile telephones, paging systems, maritime systems, air‑to‑ground 
systems, and the like, service address means the location of the 
subscriber’s primary use of the telecommunication equipment 
as defined by telephone number, authorization code, or location 
where bills are sent. However, the location of the mobile telephone 
switching office or similar facility that receives and transmits the 
signals of the telecommunication is deemed the service address 
when the mobile telephone switching office or similar facility is 
outside the subscriber’s assigned service area. 

Note: Include on line 24 only those charges for mobile 
telecommunication services that are not associated with a New York 
place of primary use. Enter on line 25, or on line 104, as applicable, any 

charges for mobile telecommunication services that are associated with 
a New York place of primary use.

Line 25 – Enter 100% of your charges for mobile telecommunication 
services provided to customers whose place of primary use is in New 
York State, when such charges are not required to be reported on 
Schedule E. For more information, see Schedule E – New York State 
excise tax on mobile telecommunication services subject to 2.9% tax 
rate.

Place of primary use means the street address that represents a 
customer’s primary use of the mobile telecommunication services. That 
address must be the residential street address or the primary business 
street address of the mobile telecommunication customer, and must be 
within the licensed service area of the home service provider.

A home service provider may treat the address it uses for a customer 
under a service contract that was in effect on July 28, 2002, as that 
customer’s place of primary use for the remaining term of the contract 
(excluding extensions or renewals) in order to determine the proper 
taxing jurisdiction for section 186-e taxes.

Lines 26, 27, and 28 – Enter 100% of your charges from 
ancillary services (such as directory information, call forwarding, 
caller identification, or call waiting) or services provided with 
telecommunication service or from equipment provided in connection 
with telecommunication services (such as beepers and telephones). 
Include miscellaneous charges from commissions and fees earned that 
are directly related to telecommunication services reported on lines 23, 
24, and 25. Do not include receipts from services or equipment that 
are separately billed and that are not provided directly in connection 
with telecommunication services.

Lines 29, 30, and 31 – Private telecommunication services 
Private telecommunication service means any dedicated 
telecommunication service that entitles the user or users to the 
exclusive or priority use of a communications channel or group of 
channels from one or more locations to one or more locations. 
In this context, exclusive means that the user-subscriber has use 
of a communications channel to the exclusion of all others who are 
not authorized to use the channel (but not joint authorized users). 
Priority means that only authorized user-subscribers, as opposed to 
unauthorized persons, receive preferential use of a communications 
channel, but not necessarily a preference with respect to each other.

Line 29 – Enter 100% of the charges from private telecommunication 
services that are located entirely within New York State (intrastate services).

Line 30 – When the charge for each channel segment is separately 
stated and the amount fairly reflects traffic originating or terminating in 
New York State, the charge allocated to New York State is made up as 
follows:
•	 100% of the charges imposed at each Channel Termination 

Point (CTP) within New York State;
•	 100% of the charges imposed for the use of each channel segment 

between CTPs within New York State; and
•	 50% of the charges imposed for the use of any channel segment 

between a CTP in New York State and a CTP outside New York 
State.

Example: Charges for an interstate private telecommunications 
channel connecting Buffalo, Albany, and Boston consist of the following: 
$10 charged at each CTP, $100 charged for the use of the channel 
between Buffalo and Albany, and $150 between Albany and Boston. 
The charges fairly reflect New York State origination and termination 
traffic. The charge allocated to New York State is illustrated below:
	 Actual	 Allocation		  Allocated to
	 charges	 computation		  New York State	
$10 x 3 CTPs	 $ 30	 $10 x 2 CTPs in NYS	 =	 $ 20
Buffalo‑Albany	 $100	 $100 x 100%	 =	 $100
Albany‑Boston	 $150	 $150 x 50%*	 =	 $ 75	
Charges (unallocated)....... $280			 
Charges allocated
 	 to New York State.............................................................................. 	$195

* The separately-stated charge for any channel segment between a 
CTP in New York State and a CTP outside New York State must be 
allocated at 50%.
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Part 3 – Computation of tax due
Lines 40a, 40b, and 41 – Any tax credit amounts claimed on these 
lines may not be claimed in Schedule E.

Line 40a – If you are a reseller of telecommunication services but did 
not present the provider with a valid Form CT-120, you are allowed a 
credit for tax paid when you resell the services as telecommunication 
services. The credit operates so that the tax on the resale is applied 
only to the difference between the gross charge imposed on resale and 
the amount paid to acquire the service resold. Compute the amount 
of the credit by multiplying your cost to purchase the service by the 
applicable tax rate.

Example: (Note: For this example, the 2.5% rate is used.) A telephone 
company sells a telecommunication service to a reseller for $2 for 
resale. The reseller resells the service for $6. The reseller owes a tax 
on the difference of $4, or $.10 ($4 × 2.5%). When reporting on the 
resold service, the reseller includes the gross charge of $6 on line 37, 
the excise tax of $.15 ($6 × 2.5%) on line 39, and the credit of $.05 
($2 × 2.5%) on line 40a.

Note: You may request a refund or credit in lieu of applying this credit 
against your tax liability. See the instructions for lines 22a and 22b.

Line 40b – To prevent multijurisdictional taxation, you are allowed a 
credit on any interstate or international telecommunication service upon 
proof that you paid a tax to another state or country. The amount of the 
credit is the amount lawfully due and paid to the other state or country, 
but it may not reduce the tax due to less than zero.

Note: You may request a refund or credit in lieu of applying this credit 
against your tax liability. See the instructions for lines 22a and 22b.

Line 41
Enter the total of any credits claimed from these forms: Form CT-249, 
Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit, and Form CT-631, Claim 
for Security Officer Training Tax Credit. Mark an X in the appropriate 
box(es). For other credits not specified, enter the name of the credit(s) 
being claimed on the Other credits line and mark an X in the box. 
Attach the appropriate credit forms to your return. Refer to instructions 
for lines 22a and 22b.

Generally, the Other credits line will be used only when a credit claim 
form for a newly-enacted tax credit was not developed in time to appear 
on Form CT-186-E.

Schedule B – MTA surcharge related to those 
telecommunication services reported on Schedule A 
(Tax Law section 186-c.1(b)(1)) 
The MTA surcharge is imposed on charges derived from the 
MCTD. The rate is 17% of the state tax rate as was in effect 
on September 30, 1998. Therefore, the MTA rate is 0.595% 
(0.17 × 0.035 = 0.00595 = 0.595%).

All of the definitions and instructions in Schedule A apply to the MTA 
surcharge computed in Schedule B, with any necessary modifications 
and limitations, including substituting MCTD for New York State where 
appropriate. Accordingly, the tax applies to gross charges from:
•	 any intra-MCTD telecommunication services;
•	 any inter-MCTD telecommunication services that originate or 

terminate in the MCTD and are charged to a service address 
in the MCTD (including intrastate, interstate, and international 
telecommunication services);

•	 private telecommunication services attributable to the MCTD; and
•	 mobile telecommunication services provided by a home service 

provider where the place of primary use is in the MCTD, and the 
gross charge for the service was reported on Schedule A.

Lines 61 and 62 – For instructions about computing these credits, 
see the instructions for lines 40a and 40b. Any credit claimed on these 
lines may not be claimed in Schedule F.

Schedule C – Utility services tax (Tax Law section 186-a) 
General information 
Utilities include every person, subject to the supervision of the 
New York State Department of Public Service or Department of 

Line 31 – When the charge for each channel segment is 
not separately stated or the charge does not fairly reflect traffic 
originating or terminating in New York State, the charge allocated to 
New York State is made up as follows:
•	 100% of the amount charged at each CTP within New York State; 

and
•	 an allocated portion of the gross interstate or international channel 

charge determined by dividing the number of CTPs within New York 
State by the total number of CTPs everywhere.

Example: Charges for an interstate private telecommunications 
channel are billed as follows: $50 charged at each CTP and $400 
charged for the use of an entire channel between Buffalo, Albany, New 
York City, and Washington, DC. The charge allocated to New York 
State is illustrated below:
	 Actual	 Allocation		  Allocated to
	 charges	 computation		  New York State	
$50 x 4 CTPs	 $200	 $50 x 3 CTPs in NYS	 =	 $150
Entire channel	 $400	 $400 x ¾**	 =	 $300
Charges (unallocated)....... $600			 
Charges allocated
 	 to New York State.............................................................................. 	$450

** Since the charge for each channel segment is not separately stated, 
the gross channel charge is allocated by the number of CTPs in New 
York State divided by the number of CTPs everywhere, or ¾.

Part 2 – Exclusions and deductions from gross charges 
that were included on line 32
Line 33 – Providers of telecommunication services are allowed 
a sale-for-resale exclusion from the excise tax for any sale of 
telecommunication services made to a person who resells the services 
as such, and who presents the provider with a valid Form CT-120, 
Resale Certificate for Telecommunication Purchases. A valid 
Form CT-120 should be presented to the provider within 90 days after 
the provision of the service.

The sale-for-resale exclusion does not apply if the purchaser (reseller) 
does not resell the services as a telecommunication service. The 
reseller must be a provider of telecommunication services. For more 
information, see TSB-M-09(2)C, Resale Certificates for Certain 
Telecommunications Purchases, and Form CT-120. See line 40a 
instructions for other sales-for-resale.

Note: These instructions only apply to telecommunication services 
purchased on or after January 1, 2009.

Line 34 – The following exclusions and deductions are allowed if 
included in the gross charges reported in Part 1:
•	 Any surcharges collected, or any administrative fees retained, when 

you are merely acting as a collection agent for a municipality in 
connection with the provision of an enhanced emergency telephone 
system (E911) or for the public safety communications surcharge 
under Tax Law, Article 9, section 186-f

•	 Receipts from the sale of telecommunication services to air carriers 
solely for the purpose of air safety and navigation, if you are an 
organization defined by Tax Law section 186-e.2(b)(3)

•	 Taxes imposed by New York State or its municipalities, or the federal 
government, when you are merely a collection agency for the tax 
authority (for example, state and local sales tax)

•	 Receipts from the sale of cable television and radio programming 
– Cable television and radio programming means the transmitting 
to subscribers of programs broadcast by one or more television 
or radio stations or any other programs originated by any person 
by means of wire, cable, microwave, or any other means. Note: 
telecommunication services provided to a cable television or radio 
provider, for the purposes of broadcasting programs to subscribers, 
are subject to tax under section 186-e.

Line 35 – Enter the total deduction for bad debts from all transactions 
for telecommunication charges subject to tax under section 186-e, 
when the debt has become worthless in accordance with consistently 
applied GAAP.
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Transportation, engaged in the business of operating street surface, 
rapid transit, subway, and elevated railroads, as well as certain 
non-operating railroads. Utilities also include every person, whether 
or not subject to the supervision of the State Department of Public 
Service, who sells gas, electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration 
delivered through mains, pipes, or wires; or furnishes gas, electric, 
steam, water, or refrigerator service, by means of mains, pipes, or 
wires, whether such activities are the main business of such person 
or are only incidental to them. Every provider of telecommunication 
services that is subject to the supervision of the New York State 
Department of Public Service is considered a utility for the purposes of 
section 186-a.

Utilities include persons (including providers of telecommunication 
services), corporations, companies, associations, joint-stock companies 
or associations, partnerships or limited liability companies, estates, 
assignees of rents, any person acting in a fiduciary capacity; or 
any other entity and persons, their assignees, lessees, trustees, or 
receivers appointed by any court.

Motor carriers or brokers are not required to file this schedule.

If your gross income is $500 or less, you are exempt from tax under 
section 186-a, but you are still required to complete Schedule C. 
This limitation does not apply to the tax as computed on Schedule A, 
Schedule B, Schedule E, or Schedule F.

Gross operating income and gross income 
If you are not subject to the supervision of the Department of Public 
Service, do not complete Schedule C or Schedule D.

If you are subject to the supervision of the Department of Public 
Service, you must pay tax on your gross income. Gross income is the 
total of receipts computed in Schedule C.

Gross operating income is the total of all receipts computed in 
Schedule C, Part 1. Gross operating income includes only those 
receipts from the sale or furnishing of utility services for ultimate 
consumption or use by the purchaser in New York State.

Gross income includes receipts from any sale (conditional or otherwise) 
or service rendered for ultimate consumption or use by the purchaser 
within New York State derived from the utility’s principal business, and 
profits from transactions within New York State that are not derived 
from the utility’s principal business.

For a utility that is a provider of telecommunication services, gross 
operating income or gross income includes only those receipts that do 
not constitute receipts from the sale of telecommunication services, as 
such services are defined in Tax Law section 186-e.

In determining gross operating income or gross income, include 
cash, credits, and property of any kind or nature without any 
deductions for the cost of property sold, materials used, labor, 
services, or other costs, interest, or discount paid, or any other 
expenses, except those deductions provided for on lines 69 and 79.

Article 2-I of the general city law provides for certain rebates of charges 
for energy in revitalization areas of New York City. However, nothing 
contained in Article 2-I shall be construed as reducing the amount of 
gross receipts subject to tax under Tax Law section 186-a.

Special rules for landlords
Sales to a landlord – Gross operating income also includes receipts 
from utility services to a landlord for resale to a tenant for consumption 
or use by the tenant as incidental to the landlord’s renting of premises 
to the tenant, even though such sales are not for ultimate consumption 
by the landlord. Utility services means the furnishing of gas, electricity, 
steam, water, or refrigeration; and services directly connected to the 
furnishing of gas, electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration. Include these 
receipts with all other utility service receipts on lines 65, 66, and 67.

Part 1 – Gross operating income
Line 65 – Enter the total receipts from the sale or furnishing of each 
commodity made for ultimate consumption or use within New York 
State. See Special rules for landlords.

In determining gross operating income, receipts include cash, credits, 
and property of any kind or nature without any deductions for the 

cost of property sold, materials used, labor, services, or other costs, 
interest, or discount paid, or any other expense, except as stated in the 
instructions for line 69.

Line 67 – Enter the total of all other receipts from services rendered for 
ultimate use within New York State that are directly connected with the 
sale or furnishing of each commodity.

Other receipts includes installation charges, service charges (other 
than installation) that are connected with the sale or furnishing of the 
commodity, and rentals within the state that in fact constitute service 
charges. See Special rules for landlords.

Line 69 – Deductions allowed from gross operating income are 
uncollectible accounts and taxes imposed by New York State, its 
municipalities, or the federal government, for which you are merely 
a collecting agency for the taxing authority. In addition, if you have 
passed on your section 186‑a tax when you originally purchased these 
services, you may deduct their cost when you resell them.

Part 2 – Receipts from interest and dividends allocated to 
New York State
Compute receipts from interest and dividends from sources within 
New York State that are received from corporate and noncorporate 
entities. Enter in column A the name of the entity that paid the interest 
or dividend. Enter in column B the type of security (such as stock, bond, 
or interest-bearing cash account). Enter in column C the amount of 
interest or dividends received.

Enter receipts from interest and dividends from sources within 
New York State without any deduction for any expense incurred in 
connection with the receipt. Do not include interest and dividends 
received from any of the following:
•	 A corporation, the majority of whose voting stock is owned by you
•	 Obligations of the United States, any state, territory, or possession of 

the United States, or the District of Columbia
•	 Obligations of a foreign country
•	 Any obligation from any political subdivision or governmental 

instrumentality of any of those listed above

Enter in column D, for the entity that paid the interest or dividend, the 
percentage of such entity’s physical assets that are located in New York 
State.

Line 72 – Enter the total receipts from royalties from sources within 
New York State without any deductions incurred in connection with 
the receipt. Royalties include all amounts you received for the use of 
patents or copyrights, whether or not such patents or copyrights were 
issued to or are owned by you. A patent or copyright is used in New 
York State if the activities under the patent or copyright are carried on in 
New York State.

Part 3 – Computation of profits
For lines 74 through 77, the term profits means gross selling price 
minus basis without any further deductions.

Line 74 – Enter profits from the sale of securities that are held, 
managed, or controlled within New York State.

Securities include shares of stock in any corporation, certificates of 
stock or interest in any corporation, securities issued by governmental 
bodies, and securities issued by corporations of a like nature as 
stocks and bonds that are sold in the open market or on a recognized 
exchange, designed as a means of investment, and issued for the 
purpose of financing corporate enterprises and providing a distribution 
of rights in, or obligations of, such enterprises.

Include profits from the sale of any tax-exempt securities such as those 
of the following:
•	 The United States, any state, territory, or possession of the United 

States, or the District of Columbia
•	 Any foreign country
•	 Any political subdivision or instrumentality of any of the above

Include profits from the sale of securities of an affiliated company and 
profits from the sale of reacquired stock (treasury stock).
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Except for a block transaction, you may not apply losses from sales of 
securities against profits from the sale of securities. A block transaction 
is a single sale where sales of the same security are made in several 
lots (for example, a utility carries a block of 10,000 shares of the same 
securities of a corporation in its portfolio and orders its broker to sell the 
entire block; the fact that the broker executes the order by disposing 
of the block in several lots does not change the essential nature of the 
transaction and does not make it more than one sale).

Line 75 – Enter profits from the sale of real property within New York 
State in which the utility owns or has an ownership interest.

Line 76 – Enter profits from the sale of personal property within New 
York State. Profits include but are not limited to profits from the sale of 
fixed assets such as fixtures, furniture, machinery, or equipment.

Do not include profits from the sale of merchandise (such as materials 
and supplies) that is stock in trade of the utility and is included in 
merchandise inventory.

Line 77 – Enter profits from any transaction within New York State that 
was not performed in the conduct of your principal business. Do not 
include profits from sales for resale or profits from rentals. Profits 
include but are not limited to profits from:
•	 the sale of merchandise (such as materials and supplies) that is not 

your stock in trade and is not included in merchandise inventory;
•	 labor not performed in the conduct of your principal business; or
•	 transportation or transmission agreements when you use your mains, 

pipes, or wires within New York State to transport or transmit a 
commodity owned by another utility.

Line 79 – Deductions allowed from profits reported on line 78 include:
•	 Brokerage fees, legal fees, advertising fees, and other selling 

expenses incurred due to the sale of securities, real property, and 
personal property

•	 Cash discounts taken by the customer
•	 Uncollectible accounts
•	 Taxes imposed by New York State or its municipalities or the federal 

government, when you are merely a collecting agency for the taxing 
authority (such as state and local sales tax or federal excise taxes)

Enter all deductions listed above that are included in profits on line 78. 
Attach a statement listing all deductions.

Part 4 – Tax on gross income
Line 82 – Enter all exclusions listed below that are included as receipts 
on line 66. Attach a statement listing all deductions. See Special rules 
for landlords.
• 	 Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas or 

electricity by means of conduits, mains, pipes, wires, lines, or the like 
to a:
–	 utility (excluding a public authority) supervised by New York State 

or another jurisdiction, when an element of such supervision 
includes rate regulation;

–	 municipality that owns and operates facilities that are used 
to generate or distribute electricity or distribute gas, and that 
distributes and sells this electricity or gas solely at retail, solely 
within its jurisdiction; or

–	 public authority of New York State when that public authority 
is primarily engaged in the generation and transmission or 
distribution of electricity or gas and at least 95% of the assets are 
so devoted.

• 	 Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of electricity 
to a municipality when the electricity being transported has been 
purchased by that municipality, and has been generated solely by 
and purchased solely from New York State or a public authority of 
New York State (New York State Power Authority), and when the 
municipality sells solely at retail, solely within its jurisdiction, the 
electricity being transported, transmitted, or distributed.

• 	 Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas or 
electricity to not-for-profit corporations and associations organized 
and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, or educational 
purposes, described in Tax Law, Article 28, section 1116(a)(4) 
when that organization resells the transportation, transmission, or 

distribution as part of a bundled gas or electric service as landlord to 
its tenants in buildings owned by that organization.

Also exclude 100% of your receipts received from nonresidential 
customers representing the noncommodity charges for gas or electric 
service (receipts from the transportation, transmission, or distribution of 
gas or electricity) from gross income.

The term nonresidential customers means those customers whose 
use of gas, electricity, or gas or electric service does not qualify for 
the reduced rate of sales and compensating use tax on residential 
gas, electricity, or gas or electric service, under Tax Law, Article 28, 
section 1105-A.

Line 89 – Enter the amount of the Power for Jobs credit you are 
claiming. A Power for Jobs credit is available to qualified electric 
corporations that are local distribution companies during the calendar 
year. To claim this credit, attach a certificate from the Department of 
Public Service verifying the correctness of the credit claimed. 

Line 91 – Enter the total of any credits claimed from these forms: 
Forms CT-48, Utility COVID-19 Debt Relief Credit, CT-249, Claim 
for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit, CT-501, Temporary Deferral 
Nonrefundable Payout Credit, CT-631, Claim for Security Officer 
Training Tax Credit. Do not include any refund or credit amounts 
included on lines 22a and 22b. Mark an X in the appropriate box(es). 
For other credits not specified, enter the name of the credit(s) being 
claimed on the Other credits line and mark an X in the box. Attach the 
appropriate credit forms to your return.

Generally, the Other credits line will be used only when a credit claim 
form for a newly-enacted tax credit was not developed in time to appear 
on Form CT-186-E.

Schedule D – MTA surcharge on gross income for 
utility services (Tax Law section 186-c.1(a))
If you are a utility not supervised by the Department of Public Service, 
do not complete Schedule D.

If you are a utility supervised by the Department of Public Service and 
did business in the MCTD during the tax year, complete Schedule D.

The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, 
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and 
Westchester.

Do not complete Schedule D if your section 186-a tax computed on 
Schedule C is zero.

Composition of prepayments claimed on line 12
Line 96 – In column A, add the following two amounts from the 
Form CT-300 that was due by March 15, 2021: (1) the amount shown 
on line A that represents a payment of New York State MFI for the 
excise tax on telecommunication services plus the tax on gross income 
(if applicable) and (2) the amount included on line 5, column A, that 
represents an overpayment of 2020 excise tax on telecommunication 
services plus the tax on gross income (if applicable) applied to the 2021 
MFI for such tax(es).

In column B, add the following two amounts from the Form CT-300 
that was due by March 15, 2021: (1) the amount shown on line A that 
represents a payment of MTA surcharge MFI that is associated with 
both the excise tax on telecommunication services plus the tax on 
gross income (if applicable) and (2) the amount included on line 5, 
column B, that represents an overpayment of 2020 MTA surcharge 
for the excise tax on telecommunication services plus the tax on 
gross income (if applicable) applied to the 2021 MFI for such MTA 
surcharge(es).

Line 101 – Do not include, in either column, any amount that 
was included in the amount reported on either column of line 96 
representing an overpayment of 2020 tax applied to the 2021 MFI.

Schedule E – New York State excise tax on mobile 
telecommunication services subject to 2.9% tax rate 
(Tax Law section 186-e (2)(a)(2))
Part P of Chapter 59 of the Laws of 2015 imposed an excise tax on 
the sale of mobile telecommunication services by a telecommunication 
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services provider at the rate of 2.9%. Part P also imposed a surcharge 
at the rate of 0.721% on charges derived from the MCTD for mobile 
telecommunication services (see Schedule F). The new rates apply 
to charges from any mobile telecommunication services provided 
on or after May 1, 2015, where the charge related to such service 
was received by the provider on or after May 1, 2015. Where mobile 
services are required to be reported on Schedule E, they should not be 
reported on Schedule A.

Part 1 – Computation of gross charges
See the instructions for Schedule A, Part 1 for the definition of gross 
charge and telecommunication services. 

Line 104 – Enter 100% of your charges for mobile telecommunication 
services, including prepaid mobile telecommunication services, 
provided to customers whose place of primary use is in New York State. 
See the instructions for line 25 for definition of place of primary use.

Lines 105, 106, and 107 – See instructions for lines 26, 27, and 31, 
adding the word mobile before each instance of telecommunication 
service(s) in such instructions. 

Part 2 – Exclusions and deductions from gross charges 
that were included on line 108
Line 109 – See the instructions for line 33, adding the word mobile 
before each instance of telecommunication service(s) in such 
instructions.

Line 110 – See the instructions for line 34, adding the word mobile 
before each instance of telecommunication service(s) in such 
instructions.

Line 111 – Enter the total deduction for bad debts from transactions for 
mobile telecommunication charges subject to tax under section 186-e, 
when the debt has become worthless in accordance with consistently 
applied GAAP.

Part 3 – Computation of tax due
Lines 116, 117, and 118 – For lines 116 and 117, see the instructions 
for lines 40a and 40b, respectively, adding the word mobile before 
each instance of telecommunication service(s). For line 118, see the 
instructions for line 41.

Any tax credit amounts that were claimed on lines 40a, 40b, and 41 
may not be claimed on these lines.

Schedule F – MTA surcharge related to mobile 
telecommunication services subject to 0.721% tax 
rate (Tax Law section 186-c(1)(b)(2))
The MTA surcharge related to mobile telecommunication services 
subject to a 0.721% tax rate is imposed on charges derived from the 
MCTD where such mobile telecommunication services were provided 
on or after May 1, 2015, and the charge related to such service was 
received by the provider on or after May 1, 2015.

All of the definitions and instructions used for Schedule E apply to 
the MTA surcharge computed in Schedule F, with any necessary 
modifications and limitations, including substituting MCTD for New York 
State where appropriate. Accordingly, the tax applies to gross charges 
from mobile telecommunication services provided by a home service 
provider where the place of primary use is in the MCTD.

Lines 133 and 134 – Any tax credit amounts that were claimed on 
lines 61 and 62 may not be claimed on these lines.

Signature
The return must be certified by the president, vice president, treasurer, 
assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or other officer authorized 
by the taxpayer corporation.

The return of an association, publicly traded partnership, or business 
conducted by a trustee or trustees must be signed by a person 
authorized to act for the association, publicly traded partnership, or 
business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the return, all applicable entries 
in the paid preparer section must be completed, including identification 

numbers (see Paid preparer identification numbers in Form CT-1). Failure 
to sign the return will delay the processing of any refunds and may result 
in penalties. 


