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General information

The Tax Law provides a credit to taxpayers who are participants
in the New York Youth Jobs Program. There are ten independent
annual credit programs. To participate in one of the programs,
an employer must submit an application to the New York State
(NYS) Department of Labor on or after January 1 but no later
than November 30 of that program year. To qualify for a program
credit, an employee must start employment on or after January 1
but no later than December 31 of that program year.

The programs are as follows:

Total allocation

Program| Year cap

Employee hiring dates

2012 $25 million 1/1/12 through 12/31/12

2014 $10 million 1/1/14 through 12/31/14

2015 $20 million 1/1/15 through 12/31/15

2016 $50 million 1/1/16 through 12/31/16

2017 $50 million 1/1/17 through 12/31/17

2018 $40 million 1/1/18 through 12/31/18

2019 $40 million 1/1/19 through 12/31/19

2020 $40 million 1/1/20 through 12/31/20

2021 $40 million 1/1/21 through 12/31/21
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2022 $40 million 1/1/22 through 12/31/22

The New York youth jobs program credit is available to
taxpayers subject to tax under Articles 9-A and 22.

Complete 2018 Form CT-635 to:

« claim the credit for the first six months of employment if any
part of the first six months of employment occurred in a tax
year that began on or after January 1, 2018; or

 claim the additional credit for employees retained for an
additional six consecutive months if the 12 month period
ended in a tax year beginning on or after January 1, 2018; or

+ claim the additional credit for employees retained for an
additional year after the first year of employment if the
additional year ended in a tax year beginning on or after
January 1, 2018.

Eligibility

To be eligible for this credit, all of the following requirements

must be met:

» The taxpayer is a participant in the New York Youth Jobs
Program.

» The business has received a certificate of tax credit from the
NYS Department of Labor. Attach a copy of the certificate of
tax credit to Form CT-635.

» The business employs one or more certified youths.

Program 4

To participate in this program, an employer must have submitted
an application to the NYS Department of Labor on or after
January 1, 2016, but no later than November 30, 2016. The
certified youths must have started their employment on or after
January 1, 2016, but no later than December 31, 2016.

Program 5

To participate in this program, an employer must have submitted
an application to the NYS Department of Labor on or after

January 1, 2017, but no later than November 30, 2017. The
certified youths must have started their employment on or after
January 1, 2017, but no later than December 31, 2017.

Program 6

To participate in this program, an employer must have submitted
an application to the NYS Department of Labor on or after
January 1, 2018, but no later than November 30, 2018. The
certified youths must have started their employment on or after
January 1, 2018, but no later than December 31, 2018.

For more information about these programs, see the
NYS Department of Labor’s website (at www./labor.ny.gov).

Credit information

The credit is equal to $750 per month for up to six months for
each certified youth employed in a full-time job, and $375 per
month for up to six months for each certified youth employed in a
part-time job of at least 20 hours per week (or 10 hours per week
when the certified youth is enrolled in high school full-time).

This portion of the credit is allowed for the tax year in which the
wages are paid to the certified youth.

An additional credit of $1,500 is available for each certified youth
employed for at least an additional six consecutive months

in a full-time job, or $750 for each certified youth employed for
at least an additional six consecutive months in a part-time job
of at least 20 hours per week (or 10 hours per week when the
certified youth is enrolled in high school full-time). The additional
credit is allowed for the tax year in which the additional six-
month period ends.

Another additional credit of $1,500 is available for each

certified youth employed for at least an additional year after the
completion of the first two time periods and all the employment
conditions were met for those time periods in a full-time job or
$750 for each certified youth employed for at least an additional
year after the completion of the first two time periods and all

the employment conditions were met for those time periods in a
part-time job of at least 20 hours per week (or 10 hours per week
when the certified youth is enrolled in high school full-time). This
credit is available for employees hired on or after January 1,
2014, and can be claimed for the tax year that the second year
of employment ends.

The NYS Department of Labor will provide the employer with a
certificate of tax credit that will show the maximum amount of tax
credit the employer is eligible for and a list of the youths who are
eligible. Use the information provided by them to complete this
credit claim form.

The credit may not reduce the tax below the fixed dollar
minimum tax. Any unused amount of credit for the current tax
year will be treated as a refund or overpayment of tax to be
credited to next year’s tax. Interest will not be paid on the refund
or overpayment.

The credit is not allowed against the metropolitan transportation
business tax (MTA surcharge) under Article 9-A.

New York S corporations

New York S corporations will calculate a credit. However, the

S corporation may not use the credit against its own tax liability;
instead, the credit is passed through to the shareholders to use
against their personal income tax liabilities on their New York
State tax returns.
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Combined filers

A taxpayer filing a combined return as a member of a combined
group is allowed to claim the credit. The credit is computed on a
separate basis, but is applied against the combined tax.

Line instructions

Line A — Mark an X in the appropriate box to determine the parts
of this form you need to complete. If you are claiming this credit
both as a corporation that earned the credit and as a corporate
partner receiving a share of the credit, mark an X in the Yes box
and complete all appropriate schedules on one Form CT-635.

Schedule A - Credit for certified youths

Line 1 — Enter the amount from line 18 plus any line 18
amount(s) from additional Schedule D(s). This amount(s) cannot
exceed the amount shown on your certificate of tax credit issued
by NYS Department of Labor.

Line 3 — Add lines 1 and 2.

New York S corporations: Transfer this amount to

Form CT-34-SH, New York S Corporation Shareholders’
Information Schedule, and provide your shareholders with their
pro rata share of line 3. The shareholder will enter that amount
on Form IT-635.

All others: Complete Schedule B.
Schedule B — Computation of tax credit used,

refunded, or credited as an overpayment to the
next tax year

New York S corporations: Do not complete this schedule.

Lines 4 and 7 entries table

identification number on any separate sheets you file with your
return.

Obtain this information from the partnership(s) allocating this
credit to you. You must attach a copy of the partnership’s
certificate of tax credit to Form CT-635.

Schedule D — Employee information and
computation of credit

Complete a Schedule D for each certified youth you employed
from the list provided by the NYS Department of Labor. If

you employed more than one certified youth, complete

a separate Schedule D for each employee. Attach all
Schedule(s) D to your return.

Enter the name, social security number, hire date (mm-dd-yy),
and last date of employment during the current tax year
(mm-dd-yy) for each employee.

Calendar-year filers: Complete Part 1 only for the first
six months of employment.

Fiscal-year filers: Complete Part 1 and, if applicable, Part 2 for
the first six months of employment.

All filers: Complete Part 3, line 16 to claim the credit for the
second six months of employment.

Complete Part 3, line 17 to claim the credit for the additional
year of employment.

Part 1 — 2018 hours worked and monthly factors for
full-time or part-time work

Number of hours worked — Enter the number of hours the
employee worked for each of the first six months employed.
Fiscal-year filers may also need to complete Part 2 using 2019
monthly factors. If an employee had no hours worked for a
month, leave blank.

If you filed Enter on line 4 any Enter on line 7
net recapture of other | the minimum tax Full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of
tax credltst, #)Ius the below employment — Based on the criteria listed below for each
amount from month, enter either 1.0 or 0.5.
Form CT-3 Part 2, line 2 Part 2, line 1c
Form CT-3-A Part 2, line 2 Part 2, line 1c Full-time Part-time (20 hours) Part-time (10 hours)
Line 4 — Enter your tax due before credits using the Lines 4 2018 Enter 1.0 if Enter 0.5 if hours Enter 0.5 if hours
and 7 entries table. hours worked worked are: worked are:
are atleast: | atleast |butlessthan| atleast |butless than

Line 5 — If you are claiming more than one tax credit for thi§ January 155 88 155 25 155
year, enter the total amount of credits claimed before applying b 120 % 120 20 120
this credit. Otherwise, enter 0. You must apply certain credits sbruary

before this credit. Refer to Form CT-600-1, Instructions for March 150 83 150 43 150
Form CT-600, Ordering of Corporation Tax Credits, for the April 140 80 140 40 140
correct order of credits. May 155 88 155 45 155
If you are included in a combined return, include any amount of June 140 80 140 40 140
tax credit(s) being claimed by other members of the combined July 150 86 150 43 150
group, including the New York youth jobs program tax credit, that August 155 88 155 45 155
you wish to apply before the credit claimed on this form. September 120 80 140 20 140
Line 7 — Enter your minimum tax using the Lines 4 and 7 entries October 155 88 155 45 155
table. November 150 86 150 43 150
Lines 9, 11, and 12 — Enter on line 9 the lesser of line 3 or December 140 80 140 40 140

line 8. Transfer the amounts from lines 9, 11, and 12 to your
franchise tax return.

Schedule C — Partnership information

Complete this section only if you were a partner in a partnership
and received a share of the credit from that entity. Enter the
name, employer identification number (EIN), and credit amount
passed through to you from each partnership. If you need more
space, attach a separate schedule. Include your name and




If an employee started work on a day other than the first of the
month, prorate the hours required to meet full-time and part-time
status for only that first month.

Example: An employee’s first day of employment is April 11,
2018, so for the month of April they were employed for 20
out of 30 days. The percentage of days worked equals 67%
(20/30 =.67)

Prorate the hours as follows to determine full-time or part-time
status for the month of April;

[April| 140 (.67) = 94 80 (.67) = 54 | 140 (.67) = 94| 40 (67) = 27 | 140 (67) = 94

The employee worked 60 hours during April, meeting the
part-time status for the month. Enter 60 for the number of hours
worked and a part-time factor of .5 for the month of April.

Part 2 — 2019 hours worked and monthly factors for
full-time or part-time work (for fiscal year filers only)
Number of hours worked — Enter the number of hours the
employee worked for the months listed during 2019. If the
employee had no hours worked for a month, leave blank.

Full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of
employment — Based on the criteria listed below for each month
enter either 1.0 or 0.5.

Full-time Part-time (20 hours) Part-time (10 hours)
2019 Enter 1.0 if Enter 0.5 if hours Enter 0.5 if hours
hours worked worked are: worked are:
are atleast: | atleast |butlessthan| atleast |butless than|

January 155 90 155 44 155
February 140 80 140 40 140
March 140 86 140 43 140
April 150 86 150 43 150
May 155 91 155 46 155
June 140 80 140 40 140
July 155 88 155 45 155
August 155 88 155 44 155
September 140 86 140 43 140
October 155 90 155 44 155
November 150 86 150 43 150
December 155 88 155 44 155

If an employee started work on a day other than the first of the
month, prorate the hours required to meet full-time and part-time
status for only that first month.

Example: An employee’s first day of employment is June 11,
2019, so for the month of June they were employed for 20
out of 30 days. The percentage of days worked equals 67%
(20/30 =.67)

Prorate the hours as follows to determine full-time or part-time
status for the month of June;

June| 140 (.67) = 94 80 (.67) = 54 | 140 (.67) = 94| 40 (67) = 27 | 140 (67) = 94

The employee worked 60 hours during June, meeting the
part-time status for the month. Enter 60 for the number of hours
worked and a part-time factor of .5 for the month of June.

Part 3 — Computation of credit

Line 14 Total monthly factors for first six months — Enter
the total full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of
employment during the tax year.
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Line 15 Six-month employment credit — Multiply the amount
from line 14 by 750 and enter the result. The maximum total
allowed is $4,500.

Line 16 Additional six-month credit — If the employee was
retained for an additional six consecutive months full-time,
enter 1500. If the employee was retained for an additional six
consecutive months part-time, enter 750.

Line 17 Additional year credit — If the employee was retained
for an additional 12 consecutive months full-time after the first
year of employment, enter 1500. If the employee was retained
for an additional 12 consecutive months part-time after the first
year of employment, enter 750.

Need help? and Privacy notification
See Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions.




