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Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions

Contents of this form
Form CT-1 contains both changes for the current tax year and 
general instructional information, serving as a supplement to 
corporation tax instructions.

This form contains information on the following topics:
•	 Changes for the current tax year (non-legislative and legislative)
• 	Business information (how to enter and update)
• 	Entry formats
	 –	 Dates
	 –	 Negative amounts
	 –	 Percentages
	 –	 Whole dollar amounts
•	 Are you claiming an overpayment?
•	 NAICS business code number and NYS principal business activity
•	 Limitation on tax credit eligibility
•	 Third-party designee
•	 Paid preparer identification numbers
•	 Is your return in processible form?
•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate
•	 Online services
•	 Web File
•	 Form CT-200-V
•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
•	 Fee for payments returned by banks
•	 Reporting requirements for tax shelters
•	 Tax shelter penalties
•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
•	 Your rights under the Tax Law
•	 Need help?
•	 Privacy notification

Changes for 2017
The following forms (and separate instructions) were created this 
year:
CT-647, Farm Workforce Retention Credit
CT-647-ATT, Eligible Farm Employee Information for the Farm 
Workforce Retention Credit

The following forms (and any separate instructions) were 
discontinued this year:
CT-185, Cooperative Agricultural Corporation Franchise Tax Return
CT-259, Claim for Fuel Cell Electric Generating Equipment Credit

Article 9
Chapter 60 of the Laws of 2016
Due date for section 183-a – For tax years beginning on 
and after January 1, 2017, corporations subject to the MTA 
surcharge imposed under section 183-a must file Form CT-183-M, 

Transportation and Transmission Corporation MTA Surcharge 
Return, on or before April 15 of each year. For more information, 
see TSB-M-16(9)C, (7)I, Amendments to Tax Return Due Dates 
and Extensions.

Article 9-A
Public Law 86-272 – If you disclaim tax liability in New York State 
based on Public Law 86-272, but still want to file a New York State 
franchise tax return, you must also complete Form CT-3, General 
Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return, in its entirety, including 
marking an X on line C and entering 0 on Part 2, line 4. For more 
information, see Form CT-3-I, Instructions for Form CT-3.

New rules for non-captive real estate investment trusts (REITs), 
and non-captive regulated investment companies (RICs): 
•	 You must mark an X in the 1120-REIT or 1120-RIC box on 

Form CT-3, Part 1, Section C, line 1, to avoid an erroneous 
assessment or delayed refund. 

•	 Non-captive REITs and non-captive RICs may also elect to use 
the 8% fixed percentage method to apportion business receipts 
from qualified financial instruments (QFIs) on Form CT-3, Part 6, 
even though they do not mark to market assets under either 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 475 or 1256.

•	 New fixed dollar minimum tax schedule for non-captive 
REITs and non-captive RICs – The fixed dollar minimum tax 
now ranges from a minimum of $25 to a maximum of $500. See 
the tax rate tables in Form CT-3-I. 

Definition of business capital – The instructions for Forms CT-3 
and CT-3-A, General Business Corporation Combined Franchise 
Tax Return, were updated to clarify that total business capital 
includes the addback of capital previously reported as investment 
capital that subsequently does not meet the holding period 
requirement.

If you were required to report any nonqualified deferred 
compensation under P.L. 110-343, Div. C, §801(d)(2), on your 
federal return, you must now so state on your New York State tax 
return. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, you 
must mark an X in the appropriate box on Form CT-3, CT-3-A, or 
CT-3-S, New York S Corporation Franchise Tax Return. For more 
information, see the instructions for those forms. 

Veterans’ Home Assistance Fund contribution – This new fund 
will be used for the care and maintenance of certain veterans’ 
homes in New York, and will be disbursed equally each fiscal year 
to the named facilities. A contribution may be made on Forms CT-3, 
CT-3-A, and CT-3-S. For more information, see the instructions for 
those forms.

Separate accounting election by a foreign corporate limited 
partner – Under certain circumstances a corporation may elect 
to compute its tax by taking into account only its distributive 
share of each partnership item of receipts, income, gain, loss, 
and deduction, and its proportionate part of each asset, liability, 
and partnership activity of the limited partnership. This election is 
made by the foreign corporate limited partner at the time of filing 
Form CT-3 or CT-3-S. The election is not revocable and is binding 
with respect to that partnership interest for all future tax years. 
A foreign corporation makes the separate accounting election, 
with respect to a limited partnership, on Form CT-60, Affiliated 
Entity Information Schedule, which must be signed and filed with 
Form CT-3 or CT-3-S. For more information, see the instructions for 
those forms.

Affiliated entity information – The instructions for Form CT-60 
were updated to clarify that in Schedule B, the term same interests 
includes but is not limited to an alien, foreign, or domestic 
corporation, partnership, or individual.

Up-to-date information affecting your 
tax return
Visit our website for the tax law changes or forms corrections 
that occurred after the forms and instructions were finalized (see 
Need help?).



Note: If a foreign corporation remains as a nontaxable member 
of a combined group, such corporation must continue to file 
Form CT-3-A/BC, Member’s Detail Report. 

The instructions for Form CT-3-S were updated to clarify 
that the S corporation must report to each shareholder that 
shareholder’s pro rata share of the S corporation items reported 
on Form CT-34-SH, New York S Corporation Shareholder’s 
Information Schedule.

MTA surcharge rate and deriving receipts thresholds – For tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, and before January 
1, 2018, the commissioner has adjusted the MTA surcharge rate to 
28.3%. 

The commissioner must also annually review the thresholds at 
which a corporation is deemed to be deriving receipts from activity 
in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) for 
purposes of imposing the MTA surcharge. The thresholds will not be 
changed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, and 
before January 1, 2018. For more information, see TSB-M-17(1)C, 
MTA Surcharge Rate and Deriving Receipts Thresholds for 2017.

Investment and other exempt income and investment capital 
– The instructions for Form CT-3.1, Investment and Other Exempt 
Income And Investment Capital, were updated to clarify certain 
topics: 
•	 The 40% safe harbor election may be revoked; to do so, file an 

amended return using actual attribution.
•	 When computing income not taxable by New York under the 

U.S. Constitution for a combined return, the determination of 
domicile is done on an entity-by-entity basis. Thus, while the 
designated agent may be domiciled in New York, other members 
of the combined group may have constitutional protection.

•	 Neither gross investment income nor gross other exempt income 
is included on Form CT-3 or CT-3-A, Part 6.

Prior net operating loss conversion (PNOLC) subtraction – The 
instructions for Form CT-3.3, Prior Net Operating Loss Conversion 
(PNOLC) Subtraction, were updated to clarify certain topics:
•	 50% election: taxpayers that elected to use up to one-half of the 

pool in each of the tax years that began on or after January 1, 
2015, and before January 1, 2017, may no longer claim the 
PNOLC subtraction in tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2017; any remaining pool not used is forfeited as of that date.

•	 Mergers or liquidations: Any corporation within the group that 
has a PNOLC subtraction and that is merged or liquidated must 
continue to complete its own row after the merger or liquidation.

Net operating loss deduction (NOLD) – Form CT-3.4, Net 
Operating Loss Deduction (NOLD), and its instructions were 
updated to clarify certain topics:
•	 New lines 5a through 5e were added to aid in the computation of 

available NOL for the current year.
•	 NOLD limitation – The NOLD is limited in any tax year to the 

amount required to reduce what would be the tax on apportioned 
business income after addback of income previously reported 
as investment income to the higher of the capital base tax or 
the fixed dollar minimum tax. For a combined group, the NOLD 
is limited in any tax year to the amount required to reduce what 
would be the tax on apportioned combined business income after 
addback of income previously reported as investment income 
to the higher of the combined capital base tax or the fixed dollar 
minimum tax of the designated agent.

•	 New Schedules B and C – Form CT-3-A filers complete 
Schedules B and C to show the amount of unused NOL available 
at the beginning of this tax period for new and former members, if 
any. New members complete Schedule B only. Former members 
complete Schedule C only.
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Amending the NOLD – For tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2015, Forms CT-3, CT-3-A, and CT-3.4 were updated 
to clarify that taxpayers need to attach only a copy of the return 
previously filed with New York State for the loss year along with 
Form CT-3.4. It is no longer required to include a copy of the 
federal claim Form 1139, Corporation Application for Tentative 
Refund, or federal Form 1120X, Amended U.S. Corporation 
Income Tax Return, or proof of federal refund approval, Statement 
of Adjustment to Your Account. Since the Article 9-A corporate 
franchise tax no longer conforms to the federal treatment of net 
operating losses and deductions, proof of federal refund claim and 
approval is not required for such tax years. 

Manufacturer’s real property tax credit – For tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2014, the definition of eligible real property 
taxes for agricultural businesses and commercial fishermen is 
expanded for purposes of the credit to include real property tax paid 
on property leased from a related party. Prior to the amendment, 
eligible real property taxes only included taxes paid on property 
leased from an unrelated party.

A qualified taxpayer who filed a 2014 or 2015 corporation tax 
return prior to this legislative change may file an amended return to 
claim the credit for tax years that began in 2014 or 2015. For more 
information, see TSB-M-16(2)C, Additional Revisions to the Real 
Property Tax Credit For Qualified New York Manufacturers. Also 
see Form CT-641, Manufacturer’s Real Property Tax Credit, and its 
instructions.

Clean heating fuel credit – This credit, previously set to expire for 
bioheat purchased after December 31, 2016, is extended to include 
bioheat purchased before January 1, 2020. Also, bioheat purchased 
on or after January 1, 2017, must contain at least 6% biodiesel per 
gallon of bioheat to qualify for the credit. For more information, see 
TSB-M-16(8)C, (6)I, Summary of Changes to Existing Tax Credits 
Enacted as Part of the 2016-2017 New York State Budget. Also 
see Form CT-241, Claim for Clean Heating Fuel Credit, and its 
instructions.

Empire State commercial production credit – The credit was 
extended through tax years beginning before January 1, 2019. 
The credit was due to expire for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2017. For more information, see Form CT-246, Claim for 
Empire State Commercial Production Credit, and its instructions.

Taxicab and livery service vehicles accessible to persons with 
disabilities credit – This credit was extended through tax years 
beginning before January 1, 2023. The credit was due to expire on 
December 31, 2016. See Form CT-236, Credit for Taxicabs and 
Livery Service Vehicles Accessible to Persons With Disabilities (For 
costs incurred on or after January 1, 2011), and its instructions.

Urban youth jobs program tax credit – The annual allocation for 
the credit is increased from $20 million to $50 million for programs 
four (tax year 2016) and five (tax year 2017). See Form CT-635, 
Urban Youth Jobs Program Tax Credit, and its instructions.

Article 33
The instructions for the computation and allocation of subsidiary 
capital were updated to clarify the allocation percentage to be used 
for Article 33 subsidiaries. If the subsidiary is an Article 33 filer of 
Form CT-33, Life Insurance Corporation Franchise Tax Return, 
or CT-33-A, Life Insurance Corporation Combined Franchise 
Tax Return, use the preceding tax year’s allocation percentage; 
if the subsidiary is an Article 33 filer of Form CT-33-NL, Non-Life 
Insurance Corporation Franchise Tax Return, use the preceding tax 
year’s issuer’s allocation percentage.



Articles 9-A and 33
Chapter 60 of the Laws of 2016
Extension of electronic filing and electronic payment – The 
electronic filing and electronic payment mandate provisions 
established under Part U of Chapter 61 of the Laws of 2011 have 
been extended through December 31, 2019. For more information, 
see TSB-M-16(4)C, (2)I, (5)S, Extension of Tax Modernization 
Provisions Facilitating Tax Compliance.

Hire a veteran credit – This credit was extended through tax years 
beginning before January 1, 2019. It was due to expire for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2017. For more information, see 
Form CT-643, Hire a Veteran Credit, and its instructions.

Low-income housing credit – The statewide aggregate dollar 
amount of low-income housing credits that may be allocated to 
eligible low-income housing projects has been increased through 
2020. For more information, visit the New York State Homes and 
Community Renewal website (at www.nyshcr.org).

Extension requests for certain corporations filing as part of a 
combined group – The designated agent (Article 9-A), or parent 
(Article 33), of a new or existing combined group will file one 
Form CT-5.3, Request for Six‑Month Extension to File, to request 
a six-month extension of time to file for all corporations included 
in the combined group, although certain new members or groups 
may have to file Form CT-5. Non-taxpayer members of a combined 
group are not required to file a separate request for an extension, 
regardless of whether they are included on Form CT-5.3. However, 
neither filing, nor the failure to file, a particular extension request in 
any way impacts who must be included in a combined group. For 
more information, see Form CT-5-I, Instructions for Form CT-5, or 
Form CT-5.3-I, Instructions for Form CT-5.3.

The instructions for Form CT-225, New York State Modifications, 
and Form CT-225-A, New York State Modifications (for filers of 
combined franchise tax returns), were updated to clarify that 
all additions to, and subtractions from, federal taxable income 
(FTI) should be reported as positive values on Forms CT-3, 
CT-3-A, CT-3-S, CT-33, and CT-33-A. For more information, see 
Form CT-225-I, Instructions for Form CT-225, and Form CT-225-A-I, 
Instructions for Form CT-225-A.

Articles 9, 9-A, and 33
Amendments to tax return due dates and extension – The 
Tax Law was amended to change the due dates of certain New 
York state tax returns. In general, the changes conform to recent 
changes to federal tax filing deadlines. 

In addition, the Commissioner has exercised his authority to 
change the length of time of automatic extensions for partnership 
and fiduciary tax returns to conform to the comparable federal 
extensions.

Although certain corporate tax return due dates were changed, 
the mandatory first installment (MFI) of the tax and metropolitan 
transportation business tax (MTA) surcharge are still required to be 
paid on or before the 15th day of the 3rd month following the close 
of each tax year. For more information, see TSB-M-16(9)C, (7)I, 
Amendments to Tax Return Due Dates and Extensions.

Changes to the mandatory first installment (MFI) of estimated 
tax and MTA surcharge – Beginning with payments due on or 
after March 15, 2017, the Tax Law was amended to require certain 
corporations to use the second preceding year’s tax as the 
basis for determining whether the corporation must make an MFI 
payment and to determine the amount of the MFI payment. Also, 
beginning with payments due on or after March 15, 2017, the 
MFI payment for most corporate taxpayers will no longer be 
made on the prior year’s tax or MTA surcharge return or with 

CT-1 (2017)  Page 3 of 6

a request for an extension of time to file such returns. They 
must make MFI payments with new Form CT-300, Mandatory First 
Installment (MFI) of Estimated Tax for Corporations. 

Taxpayers that do not have a second preceding tax year because 
a return was not required to be filed do not have to make an 
MFI payment. (These taxpayers still must make a declaration of 
estimated tax and pay the remaining three installments of estimated 
tax and MTA surcharge, when applicable.) No changes were 
made to the MFI requirements for New York S corporations and 
continuing section 186 corporations; they must continue to remit 
their MFI payments with the filing of a return or extension request. 
Section 183 and 185 corporations are still not required to make MFI 
payments. 

For more information, see TSB-M-16(10)C, Changes to the 
Mandatory First Installment of Estimated Tax for Corporations.

Although Form CT-300 is due one month before the due date of 
the return for the preceding tax year, taxpayers are allowed (but 
not required) to apply an estimated overpayment of tax from 
prior periods, instead of remitting additional money. For more 
information, see Form CT-300-I, Instructions for Form CT-300. 
If you have any uncertainty about the available amount of 
overpayment that could be applied to the MFI, you should satisfy 
the MFI for tax year 2018 with a payment of new funds, to avoid 
possible penalties and interest.

On the tax return due one month later, you must take into account 
the amount of estimated overpayment that was applied to the 
MFI on Form CT-300 to determine the actual overpayment 
amount, or the actual balance due amount for the tax period. New 
overpayment calculation lines and rules have been added to many 
forms, and the instructions for each form contain guidance on how 
to account for this application of overpayment. See the chart on 
page 4 in the section Are you claiming an overpayment? for a list of 
the affected forms and lines.

How to fill out your tax return
Business information
Enter the corporation’s business information at the top of the first 
page. Be sure to enter the corporation’s mailing name if different 
from its legal name.

If you need to update your corporation tax address or phone 
information, you can do so online. Visit our website (see Need 
help?) and look for the change my address option. Otherwise, 
enter your new address and/or phone number in the appropriate 
area of your return and mark an X in the box under the address. 
Do not mark an X in this box if your address and/or phone number 
is new since your last filing but was already updated online, or 
for any change of business information other than your address 
and/or phone number. Once your corporation tax information is 
updated online, you do not need to indicate a change of address 
on any corporation tax forms submitted to the Tax Department (or 
for any forms for tax types you select to be updated in addition to 
corporation tax).

If you prefer to change your address by form, use Form DTF-96, 
Report of Address Change for Business Tax Accounts. You must 
report other changes (such as business name or ID number) on 
Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. You can get these 
forms from our website or by phone (see Need help?).

Entry formats
Entering dates – Unless you are specifically directed to use a 
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes 
and not slashes).

Negative amounts – Show any negative amounts with a minus 
(-) sign, unless instructed otherwise.



Percentages – When computing percentages, convert decimals 
into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces to the 
right. Round percentages to four decimal places.

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Whole dollar amounts – You may elect to show amounts in whole 
dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount from 
50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any 
amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Are you claiming an overpayment?
If you are claiming an overpayment, mark an X in the overpayment 
box on page 1 of your return to the right of your EIN and file 
number. The chart below identifies the overpayment line on each 
New York State corporation tax return.

Note: New overpayment calculation lines and rules have been 
added to many forms. See the chart below to verify the proper 
line(s) to use; also see the instructions for the particular form you 
are filing.

NAICS business code number and NYS 
principal business activity
Use Publication 910 to obtain your six-digit North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) code that describes your principal 
business activity in New York State. Your principal business 
activity outside of New York State may be different, therefore this 
may not match the NAICS code you reported on your federal tax 
return.

Limitation on tax credit eligibility 
As of April 30, 2014, and applicable to acts committed on or 
after this date, any taxpayer who stands convicted of an offense 
defined in New York State Penal Law Article 200 (Bribery Involving 
Public Servants and Related Offenses) or 496 (Corrupting the 
Government), or section 195.20 (Defrauding the Government), is 
not eligible for any business credits. There is a question related to 
this topic on your tax return that must be answered in order for the 
Tax Department to process your return. For more information, visit 
our website (see Need help?).

Third-party designee
If you want to authorize another individual (third-party designee) 
to discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department, 
mark an X in the Yes box in the third-party designee area of your 
return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, e-mail 
address, and any five-digit number the designee chooses as his or 
her personal identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize 
the paid preparer who signed your return to discuss the return with 
the Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for the 
designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone number in the 
space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to provide 
the other information requested. If you do not want to authorize 
another person, mark an X in the No box.
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If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to 
discuss with the designee any questions related to this return. You 
are also authorizing the designee to give and receive confidential 
taxpayer information relating to:
•	 this return, including missing information,
•	 any notices or bills arising from this filing that you share with the 

designee (they will not be sent to the designee), 
•	 any payments and collection activity arising from this filing, and
•	 the status of your return or refund.

This authorization will not expire but will only cover matters relating 
to this return. If you decide to revoke this designee’s authority at 
any time, call us (see Need help?).

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund, bind 
you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise 
represent you before the Tax Department. If you want someone to 
represent you or perform services for you beyond the scope of the 
third-party designee, you must designate the person using a power 
of attorney (for example, Form POA-1, Power of Attorney).

Paid preparer identification numbers 
Paid preparer’s responsibilities – Under the law, all paid 
preparers must sign and complete the paid preparer section of 
the return. Paid preparers may be subject to civil and/or criminal 
sanctions if they fail to complete this section in full.

When completing the paid preparer section, you must enter your 
New York tax preparer registration identification number (NYTPRIN) 
if you are required to have one. If you are not required to have 
a NYTPRIN, enter in the Excl. code box one of the specified 
2-digit codes listed below that indicates why you are exempt 
from the registration requirement. You must enter a NYTPRIN 
or an exclusion code. (Information on the New York State Tax 
Preparer Registration Program is available on our website (see 
Need help?).) In addition, you must enter your federal preparer tax 
identification number (PTIN) if you have one; if not, you must enter 
your social security number (SSN). (PTIN information is available at 
www.irs.gov.)

Code Exemption type Code Exemption type
01 Attorney 02 Employee of attorney

03 CPA 04 Employee of CPA

05 PA (Public Accountant) 06 Employee of PA

07 Enrolled agent 08 Employee of enrolled agent

09 Volunteer tax preparer 10 Employee of business 
preparing that business’ 
return

See our website for more information about the tax preparer 
registration requirements.

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must 
complete all required schedules and forms that make up your 
return, and include all pages of those forms and schedules 
when you file. Returns that are missing required pages or that 
have pages with missing entries are considered incomplete and 
cannot be processed, and may subject taxpayers to penalty and 
interest.

	 Form	 Line number	 Form	 Line number
				   	CT-3	 Part 2, line 24c
	CT-3-A	 Part 2, line 25c
	CT-3-M	 13c
	CT-3-S	 Part 2, line 47
	CT-13	 23
	CT-33	 22c
	CT-33-A	 27c
	CT-33-C	 20c
	CT-33-M	 23c
	CT-33-NL	 16c

	CT-183	 12
	CT-183-M	 12
	CT-184	 15c
	CT-184-M	 13c
	
	CT-186	 16
	CT-186-E	 13f
	CT-186-M	 17
	CT-186-P	 18c
	CT-186-P/M	 15c

See our website for more information about the tax preparer 
registration rquirements.

Is your return in processible form?
Returns must be prepared in a manner that will permit their routine 
handling and processing and include all pages. We will not pay 
interest on an overpayment of taxes until a return is in a processible 
form which includes a required signature.



Use of reproduced and computerized forms
Photocopies of returns are acceptable if they are of good quality 
and have an original signature in the proper place. We will accept 
computer-produced corporation tax returns if they meet our 
printing specifications. For more information, see Publication 76, 
Specifications for Reproduction of New York State Corporation Tax 
Forms.

General information
Electronic filing and electronic payment 
mandate
Certain tax preparers using tax software to prepare tax documents, 
and certain taxpayers preparing their own tax documents using 
tax software, must, for the applicable calendar year and all 
succeeding calendar years, e-file all documents authorized by the 
Commissioner to be e-filed. Any tax liability or other amount due 
required to be paid with a tax document that must be e-filed may 
also be required by the Commissioner to be e-paid. Where e-pay is 
required, payment must be made via electronic means.

Online services
Create an Online Services account and log in to:
•	 make payments
•	 view your filing and payment history
•	 get email notifications for refunds, bills, and notices
•	 respond to bills and notices

Access is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

For more information, visit our website (search: Online Services).

Web File 
You can Web File Forms CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations, 
and CT-300, Mandatory First Installment (MFI) of Estimated Tax for 
Corporations, on our website (see Need help?). You will need to 
create an Online Services account or log into your existing one, and 
select the corporation tax estimated payment option.

You can also Web File the following extension requests:
•	 Form CT-5, Request for Six-Month Extension to File (for 		

franchise/business taxes, MTA surcharge, or both)
•	 Form CT-5.3, Request for Six-Month Extension to File (for 

combined franchise tax return, or combined MTA surcharge 
return, or both)

•	 Form CT-5.4, Request for Six-Month Extension to File New York 	
S Corporation Franchise Tax Return

•	 Form CT-5.6, Request for Three-Month Extension to File 
Form CT-186 (for utility corporation franchise tax return, MTA 
surcharge return, or both)

•	 Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension To File (for 
certain Article 9 tax returns, MTA surcharge, or both)

•	 Form CT-5.9-E, Request for Three-Month Extension to File 
Form CT-186-E (for telecommunications tax return and utility 
services tax return)

Benefits of Web filing include:
•	 direct payment from your bank account or by ACH credit
•	 instant confirmation

For more information, visit our website and select the corporation 
tax Web File option.
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Form CT-200-V, Payment Voucher for 
E-Filed Corporation Tax Returns and 
Extensions 
This form is a payment voucher for taxpayers who e-file their forms 
but cannot e-pay and need to pay with a paper check or money 
order. Form CT-200-V is for use only for returns or extensions that 
were e-filed and should never accompany a paper-filed return.

Collection of debts from your refund or 
overpayment
We will keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe 
a past-due, legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, 
or if you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may 
also keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a 
past-due legally enforceable debt to another state, provided that 
state has entered into a reciprocal agreement with New York State. 
If we keep your refund or overpayment, we will notify you. 

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, 
bureau, division, commission, committee, public authority, public 
benefit corporation, council, office, or other entity performing 
a governmental or proprietary function for the state or a social 
services district. We will refund or apply as an overpayment any 
amount over your debt. 

The Tax Department is authorized to charge the taxpayer, as part 
of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed or charged by 
the United States, or any state, for the payment or remittance of a 
taxpayer’s overpayment to satisfy a New York State tax debt. 

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, 
legally enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, 
or whether you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, 
contact the state agency, the other state, or the New York City 
Department of Finance. 

For New York State tax liabilities only, call (518) 457-5434 or write 
to: NYS Tax Department, Civil Enforcement Division, W A Harriman 
Campus, Albany NY 12227-4000.

More collection options for New York State
If you owe unpaid debt to New York State, we may collect your 
debt by taking money from, or offsetting, payments owed you 
by the federal government or by another state. Reciprocal offset 
agreements also allow the federal government, as well as other 
states, to collect delinquent non-tax debt by offsetting payments 
owed you by New York State.

Lottery prizes applied against tax liabilities – As a result of 
matching names of those owing tax liabilities to New York against 
the names of those winning lottery prizes in excess of $600, the Tax 
Department may automatically apply all or part of the lottery prize 
against any outstanding liabilities for taxes we administer.

Fee for payments returned by banks
The law allows the Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a 
check, money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank 
for nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned as 
a result of an error by the bank or the department, the department 
will not charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we will send 
a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax document 
associated with the returned payment.

Reporting requirements for tax shelters 
The Tax Law requires taxpayers to report information about 
transactions that present the potential for tax avoidance (tax 
shelters). There are separate reporting requirements for those who 
use tax shelters and for those who promote the use of tax shelters. 
For the most recent information on these reporting requirements, 
visit our website.



Tax shelter penalties
The Tax Law provides penalties for failure to disclose certain 
transactions and related information regarding tax shelters and for 
the underpayment of taxes due to participation in these shelters. 
For more information, refer to TSB-M-05(2)C, Disclosure of Certain 
Transactions and Related Information Regarding Tax Shelters.

Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance 
Program 
The Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program provides relief 
from certain penalties and criminal prosecution to eligible taxpayers 
who come forward and reveal previously undisclosed liabilities. For 
more information, see TSB-M-08(11)C, Voluntary Disclosure and 
Compliance Program.

Your rights under the Tax Law
The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part, that the Tax 
Department advise you, in writing, of your rights and obligations 
during an audit, when you appeal a departmental decision, and 
when your appeal rights have been exhausted and you need to 
understand enforcement capabilities available to the department to 
obtain payment. For a complete copy of the information contained 
in all of these statements, you may obtain Publication 131, Your 
Rights and Obligations Under the Tax Law, by visiting our website 
or by calling (see Need help?).
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Privacy notification
New York State Law requires all government agencies that maintain 
a system of records to provide notification of the legal authority 
for any request for personal information, the principal purpose(s) 
for which the information is to be collected, and where it will be 
maintained. To view this information, visit our website, or, if you do 
not have Internet access, call and request Publication 54, Privacy 
Notification. See Need help? for the Web address and telephone 
number.

Telephone assistance

Need help?
Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov
•	 get information and manage your taxes online
•	 check for new online services and features

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 518-485-6027
To order forms and publications:	 518-457-5431
Text Telephone (TTY) or TDD	 Dial 7-1-1 for the  
  equipment users 	 New York Relay Service


