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General information
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, and before 
January 1, 2019, eligible taxpayers may claim the hire a veteran 
credit for hiring and employing qualified veterans.

Eligibility
To be eligible for this credit, you must meet all of the following 
requirements:
•	 you are subject to tax under Tax law Article 9-A, 22 or 33;
•	 you hire a qualified veteran who begins his or her employment 

on or after January 1, 2014, but before January 1, 2018; and 
•	 you employ the qualified veteran in New York State for one 

year or more for at least 35 hours each week.

You must claim the credit in the tax year in which a qualified 
veteran completes one year of employment.

Employee affidavit
To claim the credit, you must have the qualified veteran 
complete and sign Form DTF-75, Employee Affidavit for the 
Hire a Veteran Credit, on or before the date he or she begins 
employment. Form DTF-75 is available on the Tax Department 
Web site. You must keep the completed Form DTF-75 in your 
records and make it available to the Tax Department upon 
request. Do not send it to the Tax Department. 

Credit information
The credit is equal to 10% of the total amount of wages paid 
to the qualified veteran during the veteran’s first full year of 
employment, but not more than $5,000.

If the qualified veteran is a disabled veteran, the credit is equal 
to 15% of the total amount of wages paid to the qualified veteran 
during the veteran’s first full year of employment, but not more 
than $15,000. 

Note: This credit is based on the wages paid to the qualified 
veteran during his or her first year of employment, and, 
therefore, may only be claimed once for each qualified veteran.

A taxpayer who uses the hiring of a qualified veteran as the 
basis for this credit may not use this same hiring as the basis for 
any other credit allowed under Article 9-A, 22, or 33 of the Tax 
Law. 

A taxpayer who discharges an employee and hires a qualified 
veteran solely for the purpose of qualifying for this credit is not 
eligible to claim the credit for any qualified veteran.

The amount of credit allowed cannot reduce the tax due to less 
than the fixed dollar minimum under Article 9-A or the minimum 
tax due under Article 33. The credit is not allowed against the 
metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) under 
Article 9-A or 33.

This credit is not refundable. However, any amount of the credit 
not used in the current tax year may be carried forward to the 
following three years.

Definitions
A qualified veteran is an individual who: 
•	 served on active duty or in the reserves of the United States 

Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, or who 

served in active military service of the United States as a 
member of the Army National Guard, Air National Guard, New 
York Guard, or New York Naval Militia and who was released 
from active duty by general or honorable discharge after 
September 11, 2001; 

•	 is hired in New York State by a qualified taxpayer and begins 
his or her employment on or after January 1, 2014, but before 
January 1, 2018; and

•	 certifies by signed affidavit, under penalty of perjury, that he 
or she has not been employed for 35 or more hours during 
any week in the 180 day period immediately prior to his or her 
employment by the taxpayer (see Employee affidavit).

A disabled veteran is an individual who meets the above 
definition of a qualified veteran and also meets the following 
qualifications of a disabled veteran as defined in New York State 
Civil Service Law section 85.1(b):
•	 the veteran is certified by the United States Department of 

Veterans Affairs or a military department as entitled to receive 
disability payments upon the certification by the Department of 
Veterans Affairs or military department for a disability incurred 
by the veteran in time of war and in existence at the time of 
hiring; and

•	 the certificate of the Department of Veterans Affairs states 
that:
–	 the veteran has been examined by a medical officer of 

the Department of Veterans Affairs within one year of 
the date of hiring, and at the time of the examination, the 
war-incurred disability described in the certificate was 
found to exist and the disability is rated 10% or more; or

–	 whether or not the veteran has been examined by a 
medical officer of the Department of Veterans Affairs within 
one year of the date of hiring, a permanent stabilized 
condition of disability exists to an extent of 10% or more.

Time of war includes the wars and hostilities participated in by 
the military forces of the United States for the following periods:
•	 Korean Conflict – June 27, 1950, through January 31, 1955;
•	 Vietnam Conflict – February 28, 1961, through May 7, 1975;
•	 Hostilities in Lebanon – June 1, 1983, through 

December 1, 1987, as established by receipt of the Armed 
Forces Expeditionary Medal, the Navy Expeditionary Medal, 
or the Marines Corps Expeditionary Medal;

•	 Hostilities in Grenada – October 23, 1983, through 
November 21, 1983, as established by receipt of the Armed 
Forces Expeditionary Medal, the Navy Expeditionary Medal, 
or the Marine Corps Expeditionary Medal;

•	 Hostilities in Panama – December 20, 1989, through 
January 31, 1990, as established by receipt of the Armed 
Forces Expeditionary Medal, the Navy Expeditionary Medal, 
or the Marine Corps Expeditionary Medal; and

•	 Persian Gulf Conflict – August 2, 1990, to the end of such 
hostilities. (At the time these instructions were printed, no 
termination date had been established).

A veteran does not have to have served in an actual combat 
zone during the specified periods set out above in order to meet 
the time of war requirement. In addition, if a veteran served his 
or her duty partly in a time of war and partly during peacetime, 
the veteran meets the time of war requirement.



Lines 6 and 9 entries table

Enter on line 9 the 
minimum tax below

Part 2, line 1c amount
Part 2, line 1c amount
250
Line 4 plus line 12
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If you filed

Form CT-3
Form CT-3-A
Form CT-33
Form CT-33-A
Form CT-33-NL

Enter on line 6 any 
net recapture of 
other tax credits, 
plus the amount 
from
Part 2, line 2
Part 2, line 2
Line 11
Line 15
Line 5
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Line instructions
Line A – Mark an X in the appropriate box to determine the parts 
of this form you need to complete. If you are claiming this credit 
both as a corporation that earned the credit and as a corporate 
partner receiving a share of the credit, mark an X in the Yes box 
and complete all appropriate schedules on one Form CT-643.

Additional sheets – If you have more entries than will fit on the 
lines provided in Schedule A, B, or C, attach additional sheets 
in the same format as the schedule. Include your name and 
taxpayer identification number on each sheet and attach them 
and Form CT-643 with your return.  

Schedule A – Computation of credit for qualified 
veterans
Enter the information for each qualified veteran who has 
completed one year of employment. Do not include veterans 
listed in Schedule B. 

Column C – Enter the beginning and ending dates of the 
qualified veteran’s first full year of employment. You must 
claim the credit for the tax year in which the qualified veteran 
completes one year of employment.

Column D – Enter the amount of wages paid to the qualified 
veteran during his or her first full year of employment entered in 
column C.

Schedule B – Computation of credit for qualified 
disabled veterans  
Enter the information for each qualified disabled veteran 
who has completed one year of employment. Do not include 
veterans listed in Schedule A.  

Column C – Enter the beginning and ending dates of the 
qualified veteran’s first full year of employment. You must 
claim the credit for the tax year in which the qualified veteran 
completes one year of employment.

Column D – Enter the amount of wages paid to the qualified 
disabled veteran during his or her first full year of employment 
entered in column C. 

Schedule C – Partnership information
Complete this schedule only if you were a partner in a 
partnership and received a share of the hire a veteran credit 
from that entity. Enter the name, employer identification 
number (EIN), and credit amount passed through to you from 
each partnership. Obtain this information from the partnership(s) 
allocating the credit to you.

Line 5 – New York S corporations: Transfer this amount to 
the applicable line of Form CT-34-SH, New York S Corporation 
Shareholders’ Information Schedule, and provide your 
shareholders with their pro rata share of this line. The 
shareholders will file their own Form IT-643, Hire a Veteran 
Credit, to claim this credit on their New York State personal 
income tax returns. 

Schedule D – Computation of credit used or 
carried forward (S corporations do not complete 
this schedule)

Line 6 – Enter your tax due before credits using the Lines 6 
and 9 entries table above.

Line 7 – If you are claiming more than one tax credit for this 
year, enter the total amount of credits claimed before applying 
this credit. Otherwise, enter 0. You must apply certain credits 
before this credit. See the instructions for your franchise tax 
return to determine the order that applies. 

Article 9-A filers: See Form CT-600-I, Instructions for 
Form CT-600, Ordering of Corporation Tax Credits, for the 
correct order of credits.

If you are included in a combined return, include any amount 
of the tax credit(s) being claimed by other members of the 
combined group, including the hire a veteran credit, that you 
wish to apply before the credit claimed on this form.

CT-33 and CT-33-A filers, including unauthorized insurance 
corporations: Do not enter on this line any empire zone (EZ) 
wage tax credit, zone equivalent area (ZEA) wage tax credit, or 
EZ capital tax credit you may be claiming. If you are included in 
a combined return, do not include any amount of these credits 
being claimed by other members of the combined group.

Line 9 – Enter your minimum tax using the Lines 6 and 9 entries 
table above.

Need help? and Privacy notification
See Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions.


