
	 Tax years	 Tax credit 
		  rate
Tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014,	
and before January 1, 2015	 $0.75

Tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015,	
and before January 1, 2016	 $1.31

Tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016,	
and before January 1, 2019	 $1.35

CT-639-IDepartment of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-639
Minimum Wage Reimbursement Credit
Tax Law – Article 1, Section 38; Article 9, Section 187-s; Article 9-A,  
Section 210-B.40; and Article 33, Section 1511(cc)

General information
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and before 
January 1, 2019, the New York State Tax Law provides a credit 
to taxpayers who meet the eligibility requirements.

Eligibility
To be eligible for this credit, you must meet all of the following 
requirements:
• 	you are subject to tax under Tax Law Article 9 (section 185), 

9-A (including former Article 32 taxpayers), 22, or 33;
•	 you are an eligible employer or an owner of an eligible 

employer; and
•	 you employ eligible employees.

Definitions
An eligible employer is a corporation (including an S corporation), 
a sole proprietorship, a limited liability company, or a partnership.

The credit may be claimed by an eligible employer or an owner 
of an eligible employer (for example, a partner in a partnership 
or a shareholder of an S corporation) who is subject to tax under 
Tax Law Article 9 (section 185), 9-A, 22, or 33. 

An eligible employee is an employee who is:
•	 employed by an eligible employer in New York State (NYS);
•	 paid at the NYS minimum wage rate, as defined in Labor Law 

Article 19, during some part of the tax year by the eligible 
employer;

•	 at least 16 but not yet 20 years of age; and
•	 a student during the period he or she is paid at the NYS 

minimum wage rate by the eligible employer.

For purposes of this credit:
A student is an individual who is currently enrolled full-time or 
part-time in an eligible educational institution located inside or 
outside NYS.

An eligible educational institution is one that maintains a regular 
faculty and curriculum, and has a regularly enrolled body of 
students in attendance at the place where its educational 
activities are regularly carried on. Examples of eligible 
educational institutions include secondary schools, colleges and 
universities, and any institution that offers a program of training 
to prepare students for gainful employment in a recognized 
occupation such as trade, technical, and vocational schools. 
Eligible educational institutions do not include correspondence 
schools, schools offering courses only through the Internet, or 
on-the-job training courses.

Hours worked by a student during scheduled school breaks 
will qualify for the credit provided the student is enrolled at 
an eligible educational institution and has not completed or 
discontinued his or her education.

An employer must obtain documentation to verify that the 
individual is currently enrolled as a student at an eligible 
educational institution. The employer must retain a copy of 
the student’s documentation for their records and make it 
available to the Tax Department upon request. For examples of 
acceptable documentation, visit our Web site (see Need help?).

A food service worker, as defined by the NYS Department 
of Labor, is an employee primarily engaged in the serving of 
food and beverages to guests, patrons, or customers in the 

hospitality industry. They include, but are not limited to, wait 
staff, bartenders, captains, and busing personnel. They regularly 
receive tips from guests, patrons, or customers.

An employer tip credit is the amount of tips earned by an 
employee that the Labor Law allows his or her employer to take 
against the minimum wage requirement for that industry.

Credit information
The amount of the credit is equal to the total number of hours 
worked by eligible employees during the tax year, for which they 
are paid the NYS minimum wage, multiplied by the applicable 
tax credit rate for that tax year, as follows:

If the federal minimum wage is increased to more than 85% 
of the NYS minimum wage, the above tax credit rates will be 
reduced to an amount equal to the difference between the NYS 
minimum wage and the federal minimum wage. The reduction 
will be effective on the first day that the eligible employer is 
required to pay the increased federal minimum wage. 

Unless otherwise noted, references in these instructions to the 
NYS minimum wage rate are to the rate in effect for the period 
December 31, 2014, through December 30, 2015. The NYS 
minimum wage rate increased effective December 31, 2015.

For information about the NYS minimum wage rates currently 
in effect, see the NYS Department of Labor Web site at 
www.labor.ny.gov. 

For information about the federal minimum wage rates currently 
in effect, see the U.S. Department of Labor Web site at 
www.dol.gov. 

Note: If an employee is paid the NYS minimum wage for part of 
a year and is paid a higher wage for the remainder of the year, 
the taxpayer can only receive the credit for the number of hours 
worked by eligible employees for which they were paid at the 
NYS minimum wage rate. 

An eligible employer who discharges an ineligible employee and 
replaces that employee with an eligible employee solely for the 
purpose of qualifying for the credit does not qualify to claim the 
credit for any eligible employee. In addition, an eligible employee 
who is used as the basis for this credit may not be used as the 
basis for any other credit allowed under the Tax Law. 

An employer may claim the minimum wage reimbursement 
credit for tipped food service worker employees under the 
following two circumstances:
•	 An employee is paid the statutory minimum cash wage rate for 

tipped employees ($5.00 per hour, the rate increased to $7.50 
on December 31, 2015), provided that the employer tip credit, 
when added to the cash wage, equals the minimum wage in 
effect under Labor Law section 652.1; or
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•	 An employee is paid at an hourly cash wage rate greater than 
the statutory minimum cash wage rate for tipped food service 
worker employees ($5.00 per hour, the rate increased to $7.50 
on December 31, 2015), but not more than the basic minimum 
wage rate ($8.75 per hour, the rate increased to $9.00 on 
December 31, 2015) because the total cash wages plus tips 
received by the employee did not meet the basic minimum 
wage required for all workers, provided that the employer tip 
credit, when added to the cash wage, equals the minimum 
wage in effect under Labor Law section 652.1.

For more information regarding the current statutory minimum 
cash wage rate for tipped employees, see the New York State 
Department of Labor Web site at www.labor.ny.gov.

Example 1: A bartender who is a tipped employee earns $7.75 
per hour in cash wages from his employer and $4.00 per hour 
in tips. The employer may not claim the credit for this employee 
because his cash wage rate plus tips exceeds the minimum 
wage rate of $8.75 per hour.

Example 2: A waitress who is a tipped employee earns less 
than $8.75 per hour in wages and tips. The employer must pay 
a cash wage greater than $5.00 per hour (the current minimum 
cash wage) to bring the waitress’s total hourly rate to $8.75 per 
hour required for all employees. The employer may claim the 
credit for those hours he is required to pay more than $5.00 per 
hour to bring the employee’s wages up to the statutory minimum 
wage of $8.75 per hour.

If the amount of the eligible employee’s base pay per hour on 
which overtime pay is calculated equals the statutory minimum 
wage per hour, then the hours of overtime work qualify to be 
counted for calculation of the minimum wage reimbursement 
credit. Commissions and bonuses are not structured as payment 
for an hourly wage and would not become part of the calculation 
of the credit.

If the federal minimum wage exceeds the NYS minimum wage, 
no credit may be claimed for the hours eligible employees work 
at the higher federal minimum wage rate.

The amount of credit allowed cannot reduce the tax due to less 
than the minimum tax due under Article 9 (section 185), or 33, or 
the fixed dollar minimum under Article 9-A.

The credit is not allowed against the metropolitan transportation 
business tax (MTA surcharge) under Article 9, 9-A, or 33.

Any unused amount of credit for the current tax year will 
be treated as a refund or overpayment of tax to be credited 
to next year’s tax. Interest will not be paid on the refund or 
overpayment. 

Line instructions
Line A – If you are claiming a credit passed through to you from 
a partnership, mark an X in the box.

Schedule A – Computation of credit
Line 4 – S corporations: Enter this amount on Form CT-34-SH, 
New York S Corporation Shareholders’ Information Schedule, 
and provide your shareholders with their pro rata share of this 
line. The shareholders will file their own Form IT-639, Minimum 
Wage Reimbursement Credit, to claim the credit on their NYS 
personal income tax returns. 

All others: Complete Schedule B. 

Schedule B – Computation of credit used, 
refunded, or credited as an overpayment to the 
next tax year (S corporations do not complete this 
schedule)

Line 5 – Enter your tax due before credits using the Lines 5 
and 8 entries table above.

Line 6 – If you are claiming more than one tax credit for this 
year, enter the total amount of credits claimed before applying 
this credit. Otherwise, enter 0. You must apply certain credits 
before this credit. See the instructions for your franchise tax 
return to determine the order of credits that applies. 

Article 9-A filers: See Form CT-600-I, Instructions for 
Form CT-600, Ordering of Corporation Tax Credits, for the 
correct order of credits.

If you are included in a combined return, include any amount of 
tax credit(s) being claimed by other members of the combined 
group, including the minimum wage reimbursement credit, that 
you wish to apply before the credit claimed on this form.

CT-33 and CT-33-A filers, including unauthorized insurance 
corporations: Do not enter on this line any empire zone (EZ) 
wage tax credit, zone equivalent area (ZEA) wage tax credit, or 
EZ capital tax credit you may be claiming. If you are included in 
a combined return, do not include any amount of these credits 
being claimed by other members of the combined group.

Line 8 – Enter your minimum tax using the Lines 5 and 8 entries 
table above. 

Schedule C – Partnership information
Complete this schedule only if you were a partner in a 
partnership and received a pro rata share of the minimum wage 
reimbursement credit from that entity. Enter the name, employer 
identification number (EIN), and credit amount passed through 
to you from each partnership. Obtain this information from the 
partnership(s) allocating the credit to you. 

If you need more space, attach a separate schedule. Include 
your name and EIN on any separate sheets you file with your 
return. 

Schedule D – Credit for hours worked when the 
federal minimum wage does not exceed 85% of 
the NYS minimum wage
Complete this schedule for hours worked when the federal 
minimum wage rate does not exceed 85% of the NYS minimum 
wage.

Example 3: The federal minimum wage rate does not exceed 
85% of the NYS basic minimum wage of $8.75 ($7.44). Qualified 
employee A was paid the NYS basic minimum wage of $8.75 per 
hour. The employer should complete Schedule D.
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If you need more space, attach a separate schedule. Include 
your name and EIN on any separate sheets you file with your 
return.

Column C – Enter the total number of hours (including partial 
hours) worked by an eligible employee during the tax year for 
which they are paid the NYS minimum wage rate. 

Do not enter any hours for which the employee was paid at a 
rate greater than the NYS minimum wage. No credit is allowed 
for those hours.

Example 4: Employee A worked 300 hours during 2015 for 
which she was paid the NYS minimum wage of $8.75 per hour. 
She received an increase in pay to $9.25 per hour and worked 
100 hours during 2015 earning that rate. Her employer should 
enter 300 hours in column C. Credit cannot be claimed for the 
100 hours for which her regular pay rate exceeded the NYS 
minimum wage rate. 

Example 5: A food service worker worked 600 hours during 
2015 for which he was paid $5.00 per hour in cash wages and 
his employer took a tip credit of $3.75 per hour. His employer 
should enter 600 hours in column C since the worker’s 
hourly cash wage rate and employer tip credit equals the 
NYS basic minimum hourly cash wage rate for food service workers. 

Example 6: Employee B worked 500 hours during 2015 for which 
she was paid the NYS minimum wage of $8.75 per hour. She also 
received overtime pay for 30 hours and a $100 bonus. Since she 
received the NYS minimum wage as her regular rate, her employer 
should enter 530 hours (500 regular hours + 30 over time hours) 
in column C. The $100 bonus is not considered in the 
computation of the credit. 

Schedule E – Credit for hours worked when the 
federal minimum wage exceeds 85% of the NYS 
minimum wage
If the federal minimum wage rate is increased to an amount 
greater than 85% of the NYS minimum wage, complete this 
schedule to calculate the credit for any hours worked after the 
increase in the federal rate goes into effect.

Example 7: The federal minimum wage rate is increased to 
$8.25 which exceeds 85% of the basic NYS minimum wage rate 
of $8.75 ($7.44). Qualified employee B was paid the NYS basic 
minimum wage rate of $8.75 per hour. The employer should 
complete Schedule E for any hours worked after the increased 
federal minimum wage rate went into effect.

If you need more space, attach a separate schedule. Include 
your name and EIN on any separate sheets you file with your 
return.

Column C – Enter the total number of hours (including partial 
hours) worked by an eligible employee during the tax year for 
which they are paid the NYS minimum wage rate. 

Do not enter any hours for which the employee was paid at a 
rate greater than the NYS minimum wage. No credit is allowed 
for those hours (see Example 4).

Do not make any entries for hours worked if the federal minimum 
wage exceeds the NYS minimum wage. No credit is allowed for 
those hours.

Column D – Enter the NYS minimum hourly wage rate. 

For food service workers, enter the NYS basic minimum hourly 
rate for cash wage and tip credits per hour (currently $5.00 plus 
$3.75 tip credit, for a total of $8.75 to be entered in column D).

Note: The NYS minimum wage and the cash wage rate for 
tipped food service workers increased effective December 31, 
2015.

Current NYS minimum hourly rates may be found at the NYS 
Department of Labor’s Web site (www.labor.ny.gov). 

Column E – Enter the federal minimum hourly wage rate.

For food service workers, enter the federal basic combined 
cash and tip minimum wage rate. 

Current federal minimum hourly rates may be found at the U.S. 
Department of Labor Web site (www.dol.gov).

Example 8: Employee C worked 200 hours during 2015 for 
which he was paid the NYS minimum wage of $8.75 per hour. 
The federal minimum wage was increased to $8.50. Employee C 
worked 100 hours after the federal rate increase went into effect. 
His pay rate remained at $8.75 per hour. His employer should 
complete Schedule D and enter 200 hours in column C for the 
hours worked before the federal rate increased. The employer 
should also complete Schedule E and enter 100 hours in 
column C for the hours worked after the federal rate increased, 
$8.75 in column D and $8.50 in column E. 

The credit in Schedule D is calculated at $1.31 per hour for 
the first 200 hours ($262 total for Schedule D). The credit in 
Schedule E is calculated at $.25 per hour ($8.75 - $8.50) for the 
last 100 hours ($25 total in Schedule E). The total credit for this 
employee for 2015 is $287.

Example 9: Employee D worked 500 hours during 2015 for 
which he received the NYS minimum wage of $8.75 per hour. 
He also received overtime pay for 30 hours and a $100 bonus. 
Since he received the NYS minimum wage as his regular rate, 
his employer should enter 530 hours (500 regular hours + 
30 overtime hours) in column C. The employer should enter 
$8.75 in column D and the federal minimum wage rate in 
column E. The $100 bonus is not considered in the computation 
of the credit.

Example 10: The federal minimum wage rate increased to $8.25 
on August 1, and then to $9.00 on November 1. Employee E 
received $8.75 per hour for 200 hours worked during August 1 to 
October 31. She received $9.00 per hour for 100 hours worked 
from November 1 to December 15. Her employer should enter 
200 hours in Schedule E, column C, $8.75 in column D, and 
$8.25 in column E. No credit may be claimed for the 100 hours 
she worked from November 1 to December 15 since the federal 
minimum wage rate exceeded the NYS minimum wage.

Column F – This amount cannot exceed the current tax credit 
rate of $1.31. 

Need help? and Privacy notification
See Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions.


