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Instructions for Form CT-635
New York Youth Works Tax Credit
Tax Law – Article 9-A, Section 210.44

General information
The Tax Law provides a credit to taxpayers who are participants 
in the New York Youth Works Tax Credit Program. There are five 
independent annual credit programs. To participate in one of the 
programs, an employer must submit an application to the New 
York State (NYS) Department of Labor on or after January 1 but 
no later than November 30 of that program year. To qualify for a 
program credit, an employee must start employment on or after 
January 1 but no later than December 31 of that program year.

The programs are as follows:

The New York youth works tax credit is available to taxpayers 
subject to tax under Articles 9-A and 22.

Complete 2014 Form CT-635 to:
•	 claim the credit for the first six months of employment if any 

part of the first six months of employment occurred in a tax 
year that began on or after January 1, 2014; or

•	 claim the additional tax credit for employees retained for an 
additional six consecutive months (12 consecutive months 
total) if the 12 month period ended in a tax year beginning on 
or after January 1, 2014.

Eligibility
To be eligible for this credit in Program 2, all of the following 
requirements must be met:
• 	The taxpayer is a participant in the New York Youth Works Tax 

Credit Program.
•	 The business has received a certificate of tax credit from the 

NYS Department of Labor. Attach a copy of the certificate of 
tax credit to Form CT-635.

•	 The business employs one or more certified youths. The 
certified youths must have started their employment on or 
after January 1, 2014, but no later than December 31, 2014.

To participate in the New York Youth Works Tax Credit 
Program 2, an employer must have submitted an application to 
the NYS Department of Labor on or after January 1, 2014, but 
no later than November 30, 2014.

For more information about the program, see the NYS 
Department of Labor’s Web site (at www.labor.ny.gov).

Credit information
The credit is equal to $500 per month for up to six months for 
each certified youth employed in a full-time job, and $250 per 
month for up to six months for each certified youth employed in a 
part-time job of at least 20 hours per week (or 10 hours per week 
when the certified youth is enrolled in high school full-time). 
This portion of the credit is allowed for the tax year in which the 
wages are paid to the certified youth.

An additional credit of $1,000 is available for each certified youth 
employed for at least an additional six months in a full-time 
job, or $500 for each certified youth employed for at least an 
additional six months in a part-time job of at least 20 hours per 
week (or 10 hours per week when the certified youth is enrolled 
in high school full-time). The additional credit is allowed for the 
tax year in which the additional six-month period ends.

An additional credit of $1,000 is available for each certified youth 
employed for at least an additional year after the first year of 
employment in a full-time job or $500 for each certified youth 
employed for at least an additional year after the first year of 
employment in a part-time job of at least 20 hours per week (or 
10 hours per week when the certified youth is enrolled in high 
school full-time). This credit is available for employees hired on 
or after January 1, 2014, and can be claimed for the tax year 
that the second year of employment ends.

The NYS Department of Labor will provide you with a certificate 
of tax credit that will show the maximum amount of tax credit you 
are eligible for and a list of the youths who are eligible. Use the 
information provided by them to complete this credit claim form.

The credit may not reduce the tax below the fixed dollar minimum 
tax. Any unused amount of credit for the current tax year will be 
treated as a refund or overpayment of tax to be credited to next 
year’s tax. Interest will not be paid on the refund or overpayment.

Line instructions
Schedule A – Credit for certified youths
Line 1 – Enter the amount from line 17 plus any line 17 
amount(s) from additional Schedule D(s). This amount(s) cannot 
exceed the amount shown on your certificate of tax credit issued 
by NYS Department of Labor.

Line 3 – Add lines 1 and 2. 

S corporations: Transfer this amount to Form CT-34-SH, 
New York S Corporation Shareholders’ Information Schedule, 
and provide your shareholders with their pro rata share of line 3. 
The shareholder will enter that amount on Form IT-635.

All others: Complete Schedule B.

Schedule B – Computation of tax credit used, 
refunded, or credited as an overpayment to the 
next tax year 
S corporations: Do not complete this schedule.

Lines 4 and 7 entries table

Line 4 – Enter your tax due before credits using the Lines 4 
and 7 entries table.

Line 5 – If you are claiming more than one tax credit for this 
year, enter the total amount of credits claimed before applying 
this credit. Otherwise, enter 0. You must apply certain credits 
before this credit. Refer to Form CT-600-I, Instructions for 

	 If you filed	 Enter on line 4 any	 Enter on line 7
		  net recapture of other	 the minimum tax
		  tax credits, plus the	 below
		  amount from
	Form CT-3	 Line 78	 Line 74b amount
	Form CT-3-A	 Line 77	 Line 74b amount

Program Year Total allocation  
cap Employee hiring dates

	 1	 2012	 $25 million	 1/1/12 through 12/31/12
	 2	 2014	 $10 million	 1/1/14 through 12/31/14
	 3	 2015	 $10 million	 1/1/15 through 12/31/15
	 4	 2016	 $10 million	 1/1/16 through 12/31/16
	 5	 2017	 $10 million	 1/1/17 through 12/31/17



Form CT-600, Ordering of Corporation Tax Credits, for the 
correct order of credits.

If you are included in a combined return, include any amount of 
tax credit(s) being claimed by other members of the combined 
group, including the New York youth works tax credit, that you 
wish to apply before the credit claimed on this form.

Line 7 – Enter your minimum tax using the Lines 4 and 7 entries 
table.

Lines 9, 11, and 12 – Enter on line 9 the lesser of line 3 or 
line 8. Transfer the amounts from lines 9, 11, and 12 to your 
franchise tax return.

Schedule C – Partnership information
Complete this section only if you were a partner in a partnership 
and received a share of the credit from that entity. Enter the 
name, employer identification number (EIN), and credit amount 
passed through to you from each partnership. If you need more 
space, attach a separate schedule. Include your name and 
identification number on any separate sheets you file with your 
return. 

Obtain this information from the partnership(s) allocating this 
credit to you. You must attach a copy of the partnership’s 
certificate of tax credit to Form CT-635.

Schedule D – Employee information and 
computation of credit
Complete a Schedule D for each certified youth you employed 
from the list provided by the NYS Department of Labor. If 
you employed more than one certified youth, complete 
a separate Schedule D for each employee. Attach all 
Schedule(s) D to your return.

Enter the name, social security number, hire date (mm-dd-yy), 
and last date of employment during the current tax year 
(mm-dd-yy) for each employee.

Calendar-year filers: Complete Part 1 only for the first 
six months of employment.

Fiscal-year filers: Complete Part 1 and, if applicable, Part 2 for 
the first six months of employment.

All filers: Complete Part 3, line 16 to claim the credit for the 
second six months of employment.

Part 1 – 2014 hours worked and monthly factors for 
full-time or part-time work
Number of hours worked – Enter the number of hours the 
employee worked for each of the first six months employed. 
Fiscal-year filers may also need to complete Part 2 using 2015 
monthly factors. If an employee had no hours worked for a 
month, leave blank. 

Full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of 
employment – Based on the criteria listed below for each 
month, enter either 1.0 or 0.5.

Part 2 – 2015 hours worked and monthly factors for 
full-time or part-time work (for fiscal year filers only)
Number of hours worked – Enter the number of hours the 
employee worked for the months listed during 2015. If the 
employee had no hours worked for a month, leave blank.

Full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of 
employment – Based on the criteria listed below for each 
month, enter either 1.0 or 0.5.

Part 3 – Computation of credit
Line 14  Total monthly factors for first six months – Enter 
the total full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of 
employment during the tax year. 

Line 15  Six-month employment credit – Multiply the amount 
from line 14 by 500 and enter the result. The maximum total 
allowed is $3,000. 

Line 16  Additional six-month credit – If the employee was 
retained for 12 consecutive months full-time, enter 1000 on 
line 16. If the employee was retained for 12 consecutive months 
part-time, enter 500 on line 16.

Need help? and Privacy notification
See Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions.
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January	 155	 88	 155	 45	 155

February	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

March	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

April	 140	 83	 140	 43	 140

May	 150	 83	 150	 43	 150

June	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

July	 145	 86	 145	 45	 145

August	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

September	 150	 86	 150	 43	 150

October	 155	 88	 155	 45	 155

November	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

December	 155	 88	 155	 45	 155

2014

	 at least	 but less than 	 at least	 but less than

Enter 1.0 if  
hours worked 
are at least:

Enter 0.5 if hours  
worked are:

Enter 0.5 if hours  
worked are:

Full-time Part-time (20 hours) Part-time (10 hours)

January	 150	 86	 150	 43	 150

February	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

March	 150	 86	 150	 43	 150

April	 150	 86	 150	 43	 150

May	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

June	 150	 86	 150	 43	 150

July	 155	 88	 155	 45	 155

August	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

September	 140	 83	 140	 43	 140

October	 150	 83	 150	 43	 150

November	 140	 80	 140	 40	 140

December	 155	 88	 155	 45	 155

2015

	 at least	 but less than 	 at least	 but less than

Enter 1.0 if  
hours worked 
are at least:

Enter 0.5 if hours  
worked are:

Enter 0.5 if hours  
worked are:

Full-time Part-time (20 hours) Part-time (10 hours)


