
Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax 
Instructions
See Form CT-1 for the following topics:
•	 Changes for the current tax year (general and by Tax Law Article)
•	 Business information (how to enter and update)
•	 Entry formats
—	 Dates
—	 Negative amounts
—	 Percentages
—	 Whole dollar amounts

•	 Are you claiming an overpayment?
•	 NAICS business code number and NYS principal business 
activity

•	 Third-party designee
•	 Paid preparer identification numbers
•	 Is your return in processible form?
•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate
•	 Web File
•	 Form CT-200-V
•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
•	 Fee for payments returned by banks
•	 Reporting requirements for tax shelters
•	 Tax shelter penalties
•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
•	 Your rights under the Tax Law
•	 Need help?
•	 Privacy notification

General information
Who must file Form CT-185
Form CT-185 must be filed by farmers, fruit growers, and similar 
agricultural corporations organized and operated on a cooperative 
basis as described in Article 6 of the Cooperative Corporation Law 
of the State of New York. Receivers, liquidators, referees, trustees, 
assignees, and other fiduciaries, appointed by any court, who 
conduct the business of a cooperative agricultural corporation, 
must also file this form. Section 185 imposes a franchise tax on the 
net value of issued capital stock employed in New York State. The 
net value of issued capital stock may be allocated in and out of 
New York State based on the gross assets employed in New York 
State (see Schedule D).

Repeal of Article 9 section 185 — For tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2018, Chapter 59 of the Laws of 2014 repealed 
section 185. Since the tax under section 185 is paid in advance, 
the 2016 Form CT-185 will be the last return required to be filed.

Tax rate
You must pay the highest tax computed by one of the following 
three methods:
•	 Allocated value of issued capital stock, multiplied by the tax 

rate of one mill (.001); or
•	 Allocated value of issued capital stock, multiplied by a rate 

based on dividends equal to or in excess of 6%; or
•	 Minimum tax of $10.

If a corporation has more than one kind of stock, a combination of 
tax on capital stock using the tax rate of one mill and the dividend 
rate, as computed in Schedule C, is possible.

Foreign corporations — maintenance fee
Foreign corporations authorized to do business in New York State 
must pay an annual maintenance fee of $300. The taxes due under 
Article 9 may be applied against this fee. If the total tax payable on 
this return is $300 or more, you have satisfied the requirement to 
pay a maintenance fee. If the total tax payable is less than $300, 
add the difference to produce a total tax and fee of $300. 

Foreign corporations — license fee
Foreign corporations doing business in New York State must also 
file Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License Fee Return, whether 
or not they are authorized to do business in New York State. 
Form CT-240 must be filed with the corporation’s first franchise 
tax return, or if the capital stock employed in New York State has 
increased since the last license fee return was filed.

When and where to file
This return is due on March 15 following the close of the calendar 
tax year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
the return is due on the next business day. Mail your return to:
	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PROCESSING UNIT
	 PO BOX 22038
	 ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services
See Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services.

Extension of time for filing tax return
If you need more time to file your return, file Form CT-5.9, Request 
for Three-Month Extension to File, on or before March 15. An 
extension of time granted by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
to file a federal return does not extend the due date for filing 
Form CT-185.

Amended return
If you are filing an amended return, mark an X in the Amended 
return box.

An amended New York State return requesting a credit or refund 
must be filed within three years of the time the original return was 
filed or within two years of the time the tax was paid, whichever is 
later; or, if no return was filed, within two years of the time the tax 
was paid. For additional limitations on credits or refunds, see Tax 
Law, Article 27, section 1087.

Final return
Mark an X in this box if it is the last return you intend to file 
because you have ceased doing business.

Line instructions
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United 
States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money 
order only if payable through a United States bank or if marked 
Payable in U.S. funds.

Line 6 — Enter the amount from line 3, 4, or 5, whichever is 
largest. If you are an authorized foreign corporation, see Foreign 
corporations – maintenance fee.

Line 7b — Enter the total of any alternative fuels credit, 
employment of persons with disabilities credit, special additional 
mortgage recording tax credit, long-term care insurance credit, 
fuel cell electric generating equipment credit, empire zone (EZ) 
wage tax credit, EZ investment tax credit, EZ employment 
incentive credit, qualified empire zone enterprise (QEZE) credit 
for real property taxes, brownfield redevelopment tax credit, 
brownfield credit for real property taxes, environmental remediation 
insurance credit, green building credit, security officer training 
tax credit, biofuel production credit, excelsior credit, economic 
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transformation and facility redevelopment program tax credit, 
temporary deferral nonrefundable payout credit, temporary deferral 
refundable payout credit, alternative fuels and electric vehicle 
recharging property credit, or minimum wage reimbursement 
credit. For other credits not specified, enter the name of 
the credits being claimed on the Other credits line, and mark an X 
in the box. Check the claim forms for any limitations. Attach the 
forms to your Form CT-185.
When claiming more than one credit, you must apply them against 
your tax in the following order:
1.	 Noncarryover credits that are not refundable
2.	 Carryover credits of limited duration
3.	 Carryover credits of unlimited duration
4.	 Refundable credits

Line 11 — If you do not pay the franchise tax on or before the 
original due date (without regard to any extension of time for 
filing), you must pay interest on the amount of underpayment from 
the original due date to the date paid.

Line 12 — Compute additional charges for late filing on the 
amount of tax minus any payment made on or before the due date 
(with regard to any extension of time for filing).
	A. 	 If you do not file a return when due, or if the request for 

extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25% 
(Article 27 section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

	B. 	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, 
the addition to tax above cannot be less than the smaller of 
$100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax 
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

	C.	 If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax 
½% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

	D. 	The total of the additional charges in items A and C may not 
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in 
item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or 
both (section 1085).

Schedule B — Part 1
Column B — Enter for each class of stock the number of shares 
issued and outstanding at year end. Do not include stock 
authorized but not issued or stock not outstanding.

Note: If the corporation did not sell any stock during the tax year, 
enter 0 in column E. However, you will be required to complete 
column B and enter the number of shares of stock issued and 
outstanding at year end in Part 2.

Schedule C
Column B — Compute the value of each class of par value stock 
by multiplying the par value by the number of shares of such stock 
issued and outstanding at the end of the year. Do not include any 
additional paid-in capital, premium, or discount on the issuance of 
par value stock, or any capital arising from appreciation of assets, 
amounts not contributed by the stockholder, or retained earnings.

Compute the value of each class of stock without nominal or par 
value by multiplying the amount paid for the no-par-value stock, 
including any additional paid-in capital, premium, or discount on 
the issuance of the stock, by the number of shares issued and 
outstanding at the end of the year. Do not include any capital 
arising from appreciation of assets, amounts not contributed by 
the stockholder, or retained earnings.

Schedule D — Allocation percentage/issuer’s 	
allocation percentage
Your issuer’s allocation percentage is used by corporate 
shareholders to compute their corporate franchise tax. It 

represents the amount of your issued capital stock employed 
within New York State compared to the total amount of issued 
capital stock employed everywhere. This percentage is also used 
to compute the amount you enter on line 2.

The Tax Law requires most corporations doing business within 
New York State to provide the information needed to compute their 
issuer’s allocation percentage. Tax Law section 1085(o) provides 
for a penalty of $500 for failure to provide information needed to 
compute your issuer’s allocation percentage.

If you have assets outside New York State, complete Schedule D 
using the amounts shown on the balance sheet of your federal 
return. If all of your assets are located in New York State, enter 100 
on line 30.

Line 23 — Accounts receivable are considered located where 
controlled.

Line 24 — If the assets of any company whose stock is owned by 
this corporation are employed both within and outside New York 
State, you may apportion your holdings on the basis of the 
percentage of employment by the issuer of the stock.

Line 25 — Bonds, loans, and other securities are considered 
located where employed.

Schedule E
Complete this schedule only if any dividend rate from Schedule C, 
column D, is 6% or more. If you paid a 6% or more dividend on all 
classes of issued capital, complete lines 31 through 39 and line 45. 
Do not complete lines 40 through 44.

Line 31 — Enter the value of common stock from Schedule C, 
column B. If the common stock dividend rate in Schedule C, 
column D, is less than 6%, enter 0 on lines 31, 32, and 33.

Line 34 — Enter the value of preferred stock from Schedule C, 
column B. If the preferred stock dividend rate in Schedule C, 
column D, is less than 6%, enter 0 on lines 34, 35, and 36.

Line 37 — Enter the value of no‑par-value stock from Schedule C, 
column B. If the no‑par-value dividend rate in Schedule C, 
column D, is less than 6%, enter 0 on lines 37, 38, and 39.

Lines 40 through 44 — Complete these lines only if you did not 
pay dividends of 6% or more on all classes of issued capital stock.

Line 40 — If you did not pay dividends of 6% or more on all classes 
of stock, compute a tax on the dividends based on the value of the 
stock on which dividends of 6% or more were paid, plus a tax at 
the capital stock rate on the remaining value of all capital stock, by 
completing lines 40 through 44. Also complete line 45.

The class of capital stock on which the dividend was paid 
determines the remaining value of all capital stock. If the 6% 
or greater dividend was paid on preferred stock, the remaining 
value of all capital stock is common stock plus retained earnings, 
because retained earnings are normally associated with common 
stock. Therefore, in this instance, retained earnings would be 
included on line 40. See Example 1.

If the dividend was paid on common stock, the remaining value 
of all capital stock is preferred stock. Therefore, in this instance, 
retained earnings would not be included on line 40. See Example 2.

The following examples show how the dividend rates and 
remaining value of capital stock are computed.

Example 1 — Dividend paid on preferred stock
Par value, common stock 	 $10,000
Par value, preferred stock 	 50,000
Retained earnings 	 80,000
Dividends paid on preferred stock 	 3,300
Dividend rate ($3,300 ÷ $50,000) 	 6.6%
6.6 x .00025 (tax rate) 	 .00165
Tax ($50,000 x .00165)	 82.50
Remaining value of issued capital stock (common
  stock plus retained earnings $90,000 x .001) 	 90.00
	 Total tax 	 $172.50

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing 
our Web site, or you may call and we will compute the penalty 
and interest for you (see Need help?).
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Example 2 — Dividend paid on common stock
Par value, common stock 	 $10,000
Par value, preferred stock 	 50,000
Retained earnings 	 80,000
Dividends paid on common stock 	 3,000
Dividend rate ($3,000 ÷ $10,000) 	 30%
30 x .00025 (tax rate) 	 .0075
Tax ($10,000 x .0075) 	 75
Remaining value of issued capital stock
  (preferred stock only, $50,000 x .001) 	 50
	 Total tax 	 $125

Signature
The return must be certified by the president, vice president, 
treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or other 
officer authorized by the taxpayer corporation.

The return of an association, publicly traded partnership, or 
business conducted by a trustee or trustees must be signed by 
a person authorized to act for the association, publicly traded 
partnership, or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the return, all applicable 
entries in the paid preparer section must be completed, including 
identification numbers (see Paid preparer identification numbers in 
Form CT-1). Failure to sign the return will delay the processing of 
any refunds and may result in penalties.


