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Instructions for Form ST-810
New York State and Local Quarterly
Sales and Use Tax Return for
Part-Quarterly (Monthly) Filers
For tax period:
March 1, 2011, through May 31, 2011

Please read this section 
before completing your 
return.

Filing requirements
Monthly filing: If your combined total of taxable receipts, purchases subject 
to tax, rents, and amusement charges is $300,000 or more in a quarter, 
or if you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A and you have sold a 
total of 100,000 gallons or more of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel (taxable 
or nontaxable), you must file monthly returns beginning with the first month 
of the next sales tax quarter. You must then continue to file monthly returns 
until you no longer meet the above conditions for four consecutive quarters. 
Call the Sales Tax Information Center immediately to change to monthly filing 
status and to obtain the necessary forms (see Need Help? on page 4).

Importers and others registered under Article 12-A as distributors of motor 
fuel or diesel motor fuel: Do not include on this return (Form ST-810), or on 
the part-quarterly (monthly) returns (Form ST-809), any amounts reported on 
Form FT-945/1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel/Diesel 
Motor Fuel.

Quarterly filing: If you are presently required to file part-quarterly (monthly) 
returns and
•	 your total taxable receipts, purchases subject to tax, rents, and 

amusement charges amounted to less than $300,000 in every one of the 
last four quarters, or

•	 you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A selling motor fuel or 
diesel motor fuel, and you sold less than 100,000 gallons in every one of 
the last four quarters,

you may request conversion to quarterly filing.

To change your filing status, contact the Sales Tax Information Center; see 
Need help? on page 4. If you fail to file a return on time, you may be subject 
to penalty and interest charges.

Important reminder to file a complete return

Complete the identification number, name, and address boxes on page 1 
of the return. If you are filing single pages (e.g., printed from the Web site), 
please also enter your sales tax identification number at the top of each 
page where space is provided. Be sure to include your identification number 
and name on page 1 of any schedules you may be required to file, and if 
filing single pages also enter your sales tax identification number at the top 
of each page where space is provided.

Making numerical entries

Write your numbers like this: 
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New
• 	 Effective March 1, 2011 through March 31, 2011, all sales of clothing and footwear in Broome, Columbia, and Schuyler counties are 

subject to the full state and local sales tax. 

	 For the month of March 2011, vendors who sell clothing and footwear costing less than $110 must continue to collect the 4% New York 
State sales tax, the ⅜% Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) tax (if applicable), and in many localities, the local sales 
taxes. See TSB-M-10(16) S, Changes to the Sales Tax Exemption for Clothing and Footwear, and Publication 718-C, Sales and Use Tax 
Rates On Clothing and Footwear Effective March 1, 2011, for more information.

• 	 Beginning April 1, 2011, clothing and footwear sold for less than $55 per item or pair is exempt from the 4% New York State sales tax, the 
⅜% MCTD tax (if applicable), and local sales tax in some localities. See TSB-M-11(3)S, Sales Tax Exemption for Clothing and Footwear 
Effective April 1, 2011, through March 31, 2012, and Publication 718-C, Sales and Use Tax Rates On Clothing and Footwear Effective 
April 1, 2011, for more information.

Highlights
•	 Mandate to use Sales Tax Web File — If you file Form ST-810, and you a) don’t use a tax preparer to prepare the required filings, b) use 

a computer to prepare, document or calculate your tax forms, or are subject to the corporation tax e-file mandate, and c) have broadband 
Internet access, you must use Sales Tax Web File to file monthly sales and use tax returns and electronically pay any balance due. If you 
file Form ST-810.5-ATT, Quarterly Schedule N-ATT for Part-Quarterly (Monthly) Filers with Form ST-810, you cannot (and are not required 
to) use Sales Tax Web File. For more information, visit out Web site (see Need help?).

• 	 Tax Bulletins: our up-to-date, online, easy-to-understand explanation of tax topics. Each bulletin addresses a single, specific topic. 
Each bulletin also contains hyperlinks that direct you to publications, TSB-Ms, forms, and other sources of useful information on the topic 
addressed in that bulletin. To view the Tax Bulletins, visit our Web site (see Need help? on page 4).

• 	 Paid preparer identification numbers — New York State Tax Law requires certain paid tax return preparers and facilitators of refund 
anticipation loans (RALs) and refund anticipation checks (RACs) to register electronically with the Tax Department. The paid preparer 
section on sales tax forms has been updated accordingly. When completing this section, you must enter your New York tax preparer 
registration identification number (NYTPRIN) if you are required to have one. (Information on the New York State Tax Preparer Registration 
Program is available on our Web site. See Need help? on page 4.) In addition, you must enter your federal preparer tax identification 
number (PTIN) if you have one; if not, you must enter your social security number (SSN). (PTIN information is available at www.irs.gov.)

• 	 Important reminder to file all pages of your sales tax returns: Please include all pages of all the forms you completed when you file with 
the Tax Department, even if you did not make entries on some of the pages.

The New York State Tax Department is dedicated to answering your questions. Please call our Sales Tax Information Center for assistance. You may also visit 
our Web site for update tax news, downloadable forms, links to related sites, and other information (see Need help? on page 4).
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	 No tax due? — You must file a return even if you had no taxable  
	 sales and made no purchases subject to tax. Enter your gross sales 

and services in box 1 of Step 1, and write none in boxes 12, 13, and 14 in 
Step 3 on page 3. Then go to Step 9.

There is a $50 penalty for late filing of a no-tax-due return.

	 Final return? — If you have permanently discontinued your  
	 business, mark an X in the box that follows Final return?, complete the 

back of your sales tax Certificate of Authority, and attach it to your Form ST-810. 
(If you are unable to return your certificate, attach an explanation.)

	 Has your address or business information changed?
If you need to update your sales tax mailing address, you can now do 
so online. Visit our Web site and look for the change my address option for 
further instructions; otherwise, call the Sales Tax Information Center (see 
Need help? on page 4) or enter your correct address on Form ST-810. You 
may also use Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax 
Accounts, to update your mailing address, physical address, or designated 
preparer or filing service address. If you need to change additional 
information such as the name, ID number, physical address, owner/officer 
information, business activity, or paid preparer address (as well as your 
address), complete and send in Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account 
Update. You can get these forms from our Web site or by phone. See 
Need help? on page 4.

STEP 1 

	 Enter gross sales and services — Enter the total taxable, 	 	
	 nontaxable, and exempt sales and services from your New York State 

(NYS) business locations and from locations outside NYS delivered into the 
state in box 1. Exclude sales tax from this amount. Also, do not include 
sales from Form ST-810.10, Quarterly Schedule FR for Part-Quarterly  
(Monthly) Filers.

STEP 2 

	 Identify required schedules — Determine which schedules,  
	 if any, you are required to complete and file with Form ST-810. Brief 

descriptions of schedules A, B, FR, H, N, P, T, and W are included on the front 
of Form ST-810. For more detailed information, see the specific schedule.

Complete the required schedules, if any, and proceed to Step 3.

STEP 3 
	 Calculate sales and use taxes — If you are filing schedule FR, 
	 enter the amount from box 18 in box 2 on page 2 of Form ST-810. 

If you are filing schedule A, B, H, N, T, or W (or any combination of these), 
enter the combined totals from the completed schedules in boxes 3, 4, and 
5 on page 2 of Form ST-810.

	 Columns A & B – Taxing jurisdiction and code — Report  
	 each sale of property and services, and each purchase subject to tax, 

for the jurisdiction in which the sale was made and delivered and where the 
purchase was used. Do not report on these jurisdiction lines any sale or 
purchase already reported on a schedule.

Reporting sales of clothing and footwear 

March 1, 2011 through March 31, 2011 — Clothing and footwear costing 
less than $110 is subject to the 4% NYS sales and use tax, and if applicable 
the ⅜% tax in the MCTD. Sales in the following jurisdictions are exempt 
from the local sales tax. Use the New York State only 4% tax rate line 
(code NE 0021) on page 2 to report sales in these jurisdictions:

Chautauqua County	 Hamilton County
Chenango County	 Madison County 
Norwich (city)	   (outside the city of Oneida)
Delaware County	 Tioga County
Greene County	 Wayne County

Note: For sales of clothing and footwear in the city of Oneida, use 
the Oneida (city) (eligible clothing and footwear only) 6% tax rate line 
(code ON 2528).
Sales in all other jurisdictions (who did not enact the exemption) are 
subject to the full NYS and local sales tax. Report sales in these jurisdictions 
on the appropriate jurisdiction line on Form ST-810.

New York City clothing and footwear — See the section below under 
Reporting New York City taxes.

April 1, 2011, through May 31, 2011 — Clothing and footwear costing 
less than $55 is exempt from the 4% NYS sales tax, the ⅜% tax in the 
MCTD, if applicable, and some local taxes. These sales are reported on 
Form ST-810.7, Quarterly Schedule H for Part-Quarterly (Monthly) Filers. 
Also, sales in jurisdictions that elected to exempt sales of qualifying clothing 
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and footwear costing at least $55 but less than $110 from their local sales 
tax are subject to the 4% NYS sales tax and the ⅜% tax in the MCTD. 
These sales are reported on Form ST-810.7. See the instructions for 
Form ST-810.7 for more information.

Note: For the period April 1, 2011, through May 31, 2011, sales of clothing 
and footwear costing less than $55 in the city of Oneida are reported on 
Form ST-810.7. Sales costing at least $55 but less than $110 are reported 
on the Oneida (city) (eligible clothing and footwear only) 6% tax rate line 
(code ON 2528) on Form ST-810.

Reporting New York City taxes 

Clothing:

March 1, 2011 through March 31, 2011 — Use the New York State/MCTD 
4⅜% tax rate line (code NE 8061) on page 3 to report sales of qualifying 
clothing and footwear costing less than $110.

April 1 2011, through May 31, 2011 — Sales of clothing and footwear (less 
than $55) in New York City are fully exempt and reported on Form ST-810.7. 
Also, sales of clothing and footwear costing at least $55 but less than $110 
are exempt from the New York City local tax, but are subject to the 4% NYS 
sales tax and the ⅜% tax in the MCTD. These sales are also reported on 
Form ST-810.7. For more information on how to report these sales, refer to 
the instructions on Form ST-810.7.

Fuel and utilities:

Use the New York State/MCTD 4⅜% tax rate line (code NE 8061) on page 3 
to report purchases of fuel and utility services subject to sales tax at the full 
combined NYS and local tax rate for which you paid New York City tax only.

Use the New York City-local tax only 4½% tax rate line (code NE 8091) to report 
sales of the services of transporting, transmitting, distributing, or delivering gas 
or electricity, when sold separately from the sale of the commodity.

Report fuel or utilities used for residential purposes on Form ST-810.3, 
Quarterly Schedule B for Part-Quarterly (Monthly) Filers. Use the New York 
City-local tax only 4½% tax rate line (code NE 8091) to report sales in NYC 
of fuel and utility services used in production of gas, electricity, refrigeration, 
and steam for sale. Do not report these transactions on the New York 
City/State combined tax 8⅞% tax rate line (code NE 8081).

Reporting sales of residential solar energy systems equipment 
Report receipts from sales and installations of qualifying residential solar 
energy systems equipment for the jurisdiction in which each sale was 
made and delivered at the full tax rate in effect for that jurisdiction. If a sale 
occurred in a jurisdiction outside the MCTD, use the New York State only 4% 
tax rate line (code NE 0021) on page 2 to claim a credit for the NYS sales 
tax. If a sale occurred in the MCTD, use the New York State/MCTD 4⅜% tax 
rate line (code NE 8061) to claim a credit for the NYS and MCTD taxes. In 
claiming a credit, include the receipts from the sale as a negative number in 
Column C. If the overall result in Column F is a negative number, precede it 
with a minus sign (-). 

Do not report in this section sales and installations made in localities that 
have enacted a local exemption, where the sales are fully exempt from tax. 
Report these sales in Step 1 on page 1 as part of your gross sales only.

See Publication 718-S, Local Sales and Use Tax Rates on Sales and 
Installations of Residential Solar Energy Systems Equipment, for a listing of 
the local jurisdictions that enacted this exemption and the rates in effect in 
those localities that did not enact the exemption.

Special reporting rules for sales and installations made within 
the cities of Auburn, Rome, Utica, and Glens Falls — Sales and 
installations of residential solar energy systems equipment in the cities 
listed below are subject to local tax. For these cities, report receipts from 
sales and installations of residential solar energy systems equipment for 
the jurisdiction in which each sale was made and delivered at the full tax 
rate in effect for that jurisdiction. To claim a credit for the NYS, MCTD (if 
applicable), and local tax, determine the credit rate from the chart below 
and enter the amount of the credit in Step 5 on the Credits against sales or 
use tax line. The credit must be substantiated. Attach a statement to your 
return explaining the basis for the credit claimed, including the amount of 
taxable sales against which you are claiming the credit and the jurisdiction 
in which the sale was made and reported. For your return to be properly 
processed, at the top of page 1 of your return you must write Solar energy 
exemption and the name of the city(ies) for which you are reporting these 
sales and credits.

	 City	 Credit	 City	 Credit
	 rate	 rate

	 Auburn	  6%	 Utica	 7¼%
	 Rome 	 7¼%	 Glens Falls 	 5½%
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Column G. Multiply the taxable receipts (Column G) of passenger car rentals 
outside the MCTD by 6% (.06). Enter the resulting tax in Column J. Multiply 
the taxable receipts (Column G) of passenger car rentals within the MCTD 
by 11% (.11). Enter the resulting tax in Column J. Multiply the taxable 
receipts (Column G) of information and entertainment services furnished via 
telephony and telegraphy by 5% (.05). Enter the resulting tax in Column J.

	 Total special taxes — Add the three lines in Column J and enter  
	 the total in box 15. Also enter the box 15 amount in Step 6.

STEP 5 

	 Credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes — Enter your  
	 credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes, if any, in Column K.

	 Credits against sales or use tax — Credits must be  
	 substantiated by attaching a statement and any other supporting 

documentation explaining the basis for credit claimed.

Enter the total amount of other credits or refunds of sales tax you are 
claiming. You must keep records to validate all credits and refunds claimed, 
and attach to your return the forms or explanations that verify them. Do not 
enter any credits that were claimed on jurisdiction lines in Step 3.

Credits that may be claimed in Step 5 include:

•	 Credit for sales tax paid against additional tax on purchases reported in 
Column D (included are credits for taxes paid in another jurisdiction in 
New York State or to another state).

	 Example: You purchased tangible personal property in a jurisdiction 
with a 6% tax rate; you later use this property at your business located 
in a jurisdiction with an 8% tax rate. You must report the purchase in 
Column D on the appropriate 8% jurisdiction line, and take a credit for the 
6% sales tax originally paid on the purchase.

•	 Credits where the tax rate for the period in which tax was paid is different 
from the tax rate in the period in which the credit is claimed. 

	 Example: You paid 8% tax, and later determined that you are entitled to a 
credit. During that time, the tax rate changed to 7%. You are still entitled to 
the 8% credit.

•	 Credit for an overpayment of tax made in a prior quarter that you have not 
previously claimed.

Note: Any credit against tax taken in Step 5 should be based on the amount 
of tax paid or paid over at the time of the original transaction.

•	 Credit for state tax and some local taxes paid on certain construction 
materials in empire zones (EZ) (see Publication 30, A Guide to Sales and 
Use Tax Incentives Within Empire Zones).

•	 Credit for additional tax paid on property incorporated into realty 
according to a preexisting lump sum or unit price construction contract, 
where the additional tax is the result of a rate increase. 

Note: Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of Sales or Use Tax, 
should also be filed for any of these transactions.

	 Advance payments — Enter the total amount remitted on 
	 part-quarterly (monthly) sales tax returns (Form ST-809; no receipts 

required) and any advance payments (including PrompTax payments; see 
Schedule P, line 4).

	 Total tax credits and advance payments — Add Column K  
	 and enter the total in box 16. Also enter the box 16 amount in Step 6.

STEP 6 

	 Calculate taxes due — Enter the amounts from box 14, Sales  
	 and use tax; box 15, Total special taxes; and box 16, Total tax credits 

and advance payments in the appropriate spaces. Add boxes 14 and 15, 
and subtract box 16. Enter the result in box 17.

STEP 7
	 Determine penalty and interest — If you are filing your return  
 	 late or not paying the full amount due, or both, you owe penalty and 

interest. Penalty and interest are calculated on the amount in box 17, Taxes 
due. The minimum penalty for late filing is $50. For penalty information, see 
Penalty computation. Interest is due on any late payment or underpayment and 
accrues from the due date of the return to the date the tax is paid. Interest 
rates are compounded daily and adjusted quarterly.

You can estimate your penalty and interest by visiting our Web site and 
clicking on Online Services or you may call the Sales Tax Information Center 
to have a Tax Department representative estimate your penalty and interest 
for you (see Need Help? ) . Enter this amount in box 18.

	 Column C – Taxable sales and services — Report taxable  
	 sales for each jurisdiction in NYS where delivery of sales and services 

occurred. Do not include sales tax in this amount.

Credits against sales and services — Credits that can be identified by 
locality should be taken on the appropriate line in Step 3. If the result is a 
negative number, precede it with a minus sign (-). Examples of such credits 
include:

•	 Tax paid on property purchased in bulk and stored, but not used by the 
purchaser, and subsequently shipped for use in another jurisdiction. 

•	 Tax paid on property fabricated, assembled, processed, printed, or imprinted in 
one jurisdiction, that was shipped for use in another jurisdiction.

•	 Tax paid on canceled sales, returned merchandise, and bad debts.

•	 Tax paid on construction materials resold or incorporated into realty 
in another jurisdiction. (Unless the materials were used out of state or 
otherwise exempt, report tax on the materials.)

•	 Tax paid by a veterinarian on drugs and medicines used in certain 
veterinary services.

Note: To claim an empire zone (EZ) credit, a credit from your prior return, 
or a credit that you are unable to associate with a particular jurisdiction, 
see .

See c for information about documenting any credits claimed.

  Column D – Purchases subject to tax
•	 Purchases outside NYS: Report the full amount of purchases made 

outside NYS of tangible personal property and services used in your 
business in NYS on which no NYS tax was paid.

•	 Purchases in NYS in one jurisdiction/use in another jurisdiction: Report 
the full amount of any tangible personal property or services purchased 
for use in your business if the tax rate is higher in the jurisdiction where 
the property or services are used than the tax rate in the jurisdiction where 
you purchased the property or services.

In either of the cases above, you may be able to claim a credit for tax paid 
on such purchases in Step 5. See .

Do not include in Column D purchases of property or services purchased 
for resale or which are exempt, on taxable sales and services reported in 
Column C. 

Contractors: Also report materials purchased in one jurisdiction that are 
incorporated into realty in another. 

	 Column E – Tax rate — Tax rates for the period are printed in 
	 Column E in percentage formats.

	 Column F – Sales and use tax — For each jurisdiction for  
	 which you reported sales, purchases, or credits, add the amounts in 

Columns C and D, then multiply the total by the tax rate in Column E, one 
line at a time. Enter the result in Column F. (C + D) x E = F.

This result may be a net credit, which you should identify by preceding it 
with a minus sign (-). Note: Any net credits should be subtracted when 
totaling the column. 

Note: You must remit with your return any amount collected as tax even if 
the amount collected is in excess of the actual tax due.

	 Column totals
a.	 On page 2, separately subtotal Column C (box 6), Column D (box 7), and 

Column F (box 8). Include the amounts from schedules, listed in boxes 2, 
3, 4, and 5, when subtotaling each column. Transfer the box 6, 7, and 8 
amounts to page 3, boxes 9, 10, and 11, respectively. 

b.	 On page 3, separately total Column C (box 12), Column D (box 13), and 
Column F (box 14). Include the column subtotals from page 2 (entered 
in boxes 9, 10, and 11) when totaling each column. Enter the box 14 
amount in Step 6.

c.	 Enter the total dollar amount of credit against the tax claimed in Step 3 
or on any schedules filed (except on Form ST-810.10). Show any net 
credits by preceding the amount with a minus sign (-). Attach a statement 
and any other supporting documentation explaining the basis for the 
amount of credit claimed. Do not include credits for prepaid sales tax on 
motor fuel or diesel motor fuel or cigarettes, or any other credit claimed 
in Step 5 on page 3.

STEP 4 

	 Calculate special taxes — Enter taxable receipts from sales 
	 or uses of passenger car rentals and of information and entertainment 

services furnished via telephony and telegraphy on the appropriate lines in 
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Need help?

Sales Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-2889

To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431
 
Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline
  (for persons with hearing and
  speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

Internet access: www.tax.ny.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)
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designee’s name. You do not have to provide the other information 
requested. If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department 
to discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

• 	 give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your return;

•	 call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your 
return or the status of your payment(s); and

•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with the 
designee about math errors and return preparation. The notices will not 
be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to bind you to anything (including 
any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent you before the Tax 
Department. If you want the designee to perform those services for you, 
you must file Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that designation with 
the Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices or documents (such 
as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your designee if you file 
Form POA-1.

The third-party designee authorization cannot be revoked. However, the 
authorization only includes the tax period covered on this return. You may 
designate the same representative, or another representative, on future 
returns.

Sign and mail this return.

Signature required — If you are a sole proprietor, you must sign the return 
and print your name, title, telephone number, and the date. 

If you are filing this return for a corporation, partnership, or other type of 
entity, an officer, employee, or partner must sign the return on behalf of the 
business, and print his or her name, title, date, and telephone number. 

If you do not prepare the return yourself, sign, date, and provide the 
requested taxpayer information. The preparer must also sign the return 
and print his or her name, preparer identification number, address, and 
telephone number.

Please be sure to keep a copy of your completed return for your 
records.

Paid preparer identification numbers – New York State Tax Law requires 
certain paid tax return preparers and facilitators of refund anticipation loans 
(RALs) and refund anticipation checks (RACs) to register electronically with 
the Tax Department. When completing this section, you must enter your 
New York tax preparer registration identification number (NYTPRIN) if you 
are required to have one. (Information on the New York State Tax Preparer 
Registration Program is available on our Web site. See Need help? below.) 
In addition, you must enter your federal preparer tax identification number 
(PTIN) if you have one; if not, you must enter your social security number 
(SSN). (PTIN information is available at www.irs.gov.)

Where to mail your return and attachments
See page 4 of Form ST-810 to determine where to send your completed 
return, attachments, and payment. If you are not using the U.S. Postal 
Service, see Private delivery service below.

Private delivery service — To use a private delivery service, see 
Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services.

Penalty computation

•	 For failure to file a return on time with no tax due, the penalty is $50.

•	 For failure to file a return on time with tax due, the penalty is:
	 For 1-60 days late, 10% (.1) of the tax due for the first month 
	 	  plus 1% (.01) of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in 
	 	  no instance less than $50.

	 For 61 or more days late, the greater of:
	 –	 10% (.1) of the tax due for the first month plus 1% (.01) of the tax due 

for each month thereafter, not to exceed 30% (.3); or
	 –	 the lesser of $100 or 100% (1.0) of the tax due, but not less than $50.

•	 For failure to pay tax, even though the return is filed on time, the 
	 	  penalty is 10% (.1) of the tax due for the first month, plus 
	 	  1% (.01) of the tax due for each additional month, up to a 
	 	  maximum of 30% (.3).

STEP 8 

	 Calculate total amount due — If you are filing late and you  
	 entered penalty and interest in box 18, add box 18 to box 17 (Taxes 

due) and enter the result.

If you are not entering penalty and interest, enter the box 17 amount as your 
Total amount due.

Payment information — Make your check or money order for the Total 
amount due payable to New York State Sales Tax.

On your check or money order, write your sales tax ID#, ST-810, and 
5/31/11. Enclose your payment with Form ST-810 to ensure that your 
payment is properly credited to your account.

If your payment is returned by a bank, the Tax Department is allowed by law 
to charge a $50 fee for nonpayment. However, if the payment is returned 
as a result of an error by the bank or department, the department will not 
charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we will send a separate bill for 
$50 for each return or other tax document associated with the returned 
payment.

If the total amount due is an overpayment, you may either claim a credit 
on your next return or apply for a refund. To claim a credit next quarter, 
enter the overpayment amount in Step 5 of your next return and attach 
substantiation. If you file Form ST-810.1, Schedule W, see QEZE credits 
below. 

To apply for a refund, file Form AU-11, unless:

the overpayment is a result of credits claimed on Schedule W. See •	 QEZE 
credits below.

the overpayment is for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor •	
fuel. See Motor fuel/diesel motor fuel – prepaid tax below. 

QEZE credits: If your net overpayment amount is a result of credits claimed 
on Schedule W, you cannot claim the net credit (overpayment) amount on 
a future return. You must apply for a refund using Form AU-12, Application 
for Credit or Refund of Sales or Use Tax – Qualified Empire Zone Enterprise 
(QEZE). Indicate the amount of the refund you are requesting, in addition 
to the amount you are claiming as a credit, when you file Form AU-12. For 
more information, see the Schedule W instructions. 

Motor fuel/diesel motor fuel – prepaid tax: If the overpayment amount 
is a credit is for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel sold at 
retail, you must file:

• 	 Form FT-949, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor Fuel 
Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations;

• 	 Form FT-950, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor Fuel 
Sold at Retail Service Stations;

• 	 Form FT-1007, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Diesel 
Motor Fuel Sold at Retail Service Stations; or 

• 	 Form FT-1010, Application for Refund of Prepaid Sales Tax on Diesel 
Motor Fuel Sold Other Than at Retail Service Stations.

Do not attach the refund application (Form AU-11; AU-12; 
FT-949 or FT-950; FT-1007 or FT-1010) to your return. You must file 
the application separately and mail it to the address shown on that form.

STEP 9
Third-party designee — If you want to authorize a friend, family 
member, or any other person (third-party designee) you choose to 

discuss this sales tax return with the New York State Tax Department, mark 
an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of your return. Also, 
enter the designee’s name, phone number, and any five-digit number the 
designee chooses as his or her personal identification number (PIN). If you 
want to authorize the paid preparer who signed your return to discuss the 
return with the Tax Department, enter Preparer in the space for the 
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Privacy notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain personal 
information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 
287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security 
numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when authorized by law, for 
certain tax offset and exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain state agencies for purposes 
of fraud prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and training 
programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or both, under the 
Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document Management, NYS Tax Department, 
W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.


