New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-635

CT-635-

New York Youth Works Tax Credit
Tax Law — Article 9-A, Section 210.44

Temporary deferral of certain tax credits

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and before
January 1, 2013, if the total amount of certain credits that you
may use to reduce your tax or have refunded to you is greater
than $2 million, the excess over $2 million must be deferred

to, and used or refunded in, tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 2013. For more information about the credit deferral,
see Form CT-500, Corporation Tax Credit Deferral.

If you are subject to the credit deferral, you must complete all
credit forms without regard to the deferral. However, the credit
amount that is transferred to your tax return to be applied
against your tax due or to be refunded to you may be reduced.
Follow the instructions for Form CT-500 to determine the
amounts to enter on your tax return.

General information

The Tax Law provides a credit to taxpayers who are participants
in the New York Youth Works Tax Credit Program. The New York
youth works tax credit is available to taxpayers subject to tax
under Articles 9-A and 22.

Eligibility
To be eligible for this credit, all of the following requirements
must be met:

» The taxpayer is a participant in the New York Youth Works Tax
Credit Program.

» The business has received a Cettificate of Tax Credit from
the New York State Department of Labor. Attach a copy of the
certificate of tax credit to Form CT-635.

» The business employs one or more certified youths. The
certified youths must start their employment on or after
January 1, 2012, but no later than December 31, 2012.

To participate in the New York Youth Works Tax Credit Program,
an employee must submit an application to the Department of
Labor after January 1, 2012, but no later than November 2012.

For more information on becoming a participant in the program,
see the Department of Labor’s Web site (at www./labor.ny.gov).

Credit information

The credit is equal to $500 per month for up to six months for
each certified youth employed in a full-time job, and $250 per
month for up to six months for each certified youth employed in
a part-time job of at least 20 hours per week. This portion of the
credit is allowed for the tax year in which the wages are paid to
the certified youth.

An additional credit of $1,000 is available for each certified youth
employed for at least an additional six months in a full-time

job, or $500 for each certified youth employed for at least an
additional six months in a part-time job of at least 20 hours per
week. The additional credit is allowed for the tax year in which
the additional six-month period ends.

The NYS Department of Labor will provide you with a certificate
of tax credit that will show the maximum amount of tax credit you
are eligible for and a list of the youths who are eligible. Use the
information provided by them to complete this credit claim form.

Any unused amount of credit for the current tax year will be
treated as a refund or overpayment of tax to be credited to next
year’s tax. Interest will not be paid on the refund or overpayment.

Line instructions
Schedule A — Credit for certified youths

Line 1 — Enter the amount of your New York youth works

tax credit from line 19. This amount cannot exceed the
amount shown on your certificate of tax credit issued by NYS
Department of Labor.

Line 3

S corporations: Transfer this amount to Form CT-34-SH, and
provide your shareholders with their pro rata share of line 3. The
shareholder will enter that amount on Form IT-635.

All others: Complete Schedule B.

Schedule B — Computation of tax credit used,
refunded, or credited as an overpayment to the
next tax year

S corporations: Do not complete this schedule.

Lines 4 and 7 entries table

If you filed Enter on line 4 any Enter on line 7
net recapture of other| the minimum tax
tax credits, plus the below
amount from
Form CT-3 Line 78 Line 74b amount
Form CT-3-A Line 77 Line 74b amount

Line 4 — Enter your tax due before credits using the Lines 4
and 7 entries table.

Line 5 — If you are claiming more than one tax credit for this
year, enter the total amount of credits claimed before applying
this credit. Otherwise, enter 0. You must apply certain credits
before this credit. Refer to the instructions for your franchise tax
return to determine the order of credits that applies.

Article 9-A filers: Refer to Form CT-600-I, Instructions for
Form CT-600, Ordering of Corporation Tax Credits, for the
correct order of credits.

If you are included in a combined return, include any amount of
tax credit(s) being claimed by other members of the combined
group, including the New York youth works tax credit, that you
wish to apply before the credit claimed on this form.

Line 7 — Enter your minimum tax using the Lines 4 and 7 entries
table.

Lines 9, 11, and 12 — Enter on line 9 the lesser of line 3 or
line 8.

If your total credits from all sources are $2 million or less,
enter the amounts from lines 9, 11, and 12 on your franchise tax
return.

If your total credits from all sources are more than $2 million,
you may be subject to the temporary credit deferral. Complete
lines 9, 11, and 12, but do not enter the amounts from lines 9,
11, and 12 on your franchise tax return. See Form CT-500 to
determine the proper amount to enter on your franchise tax
return.
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Schedule C — Partnership information

Complete this section only if you were a partner in a partnership
and received a share of the credit from that entity. Enter the
name, employer identification number (EIN), and credit amount
passed through to you from each partnership. If you need more
space, attach a separate schedule. Include your name and
identification number on any separate sheets you file with your
return.

Obtain this information from the partnership(s) allocating this
credit to you. You must attach a copy of the partnership’s
certificate of tax credit to Form CT-635.

Schedule D — Employee information and
computation of credit

Complete a Schedule D for each certified youth you employed
from the list provided by the NYS Department of Labor. If

you employed more than one certified youth, complete a
separate Schedule D for each employee.

Enter the name, social security number, hire date (mm-dd-yy),
and last date of employment during the current tax year
(mm-dd-yy) for each employee.

Calendar-year filers: Complete only Part 1 for the first six
months of employment.

Fiscal-year filers: Complete Part 1 and, if applicable, Part 2 for
the first six months of employment.

Part 1 — 2012 hours worked and monthly factors for
full-time or part-time work

Number of hours worked — Enter the number of hours the
employee worked for each of the first six months. Fiscal-year
filers may also need to complete Part 2 using 2013 monthly
factors. If an employee had no hours worked for a month, leave
blank.

Part-time — If the employee was hired during the middle of a
month and subsequently left employment in the middle of a
month, and those months are required to be included in this
calculation, total the first and last months’ hours worked to
determine if the minimum monthly hours were met to receive the
credit. Enter those hours and the factor 0.5 in the chart for the
last month.

Full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of
employment — Based on the criteria listed below for each
month, enter either 1.0 or 0.5.

Full-time Part-time

2012 Enter 1.0 if hours|Enter .5 if hours worked are:

r;g;l::ad are at at least but less than
January 155 88.4 155
February 145 82.4 145
March 155 88.4 155
April 150 85.6 150
May 155 88 155
June 150 85.6 150
July 155 88 155
August 155 88 155
September 150 85.6 150
October 155 88 155
November 150 85.2 150
December 155 88.4 155

Part 2 — 2013 hours worked and monthly factors for
full-time or part-time work

Number of hours worked — Enter the number of hours the
employee worked for the months listed during 2013. If the
employee had no hours worked for a month, leave blank.

Full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of
employment — Based on the criteria listed below for each
month, enter either 1.0 or 0.5.

Full-time Part-time

2013 Enter 1.0 if hours |Enter .5 if hours worked are:

n;:::?d are at at least but less than
January 155 38 155
February 140 79.6 140
March 155 88.4 155
April 150 85.2 150
May 155 88 155
June 150 85.6 150

Part 3 — Computation of credit

Line 14 Total monthly factors for first six months — Enter
the total full-time or part-time factors for the first six months of
employment during the tax year.

Line 15 Six-month employment credit — Multiply the
amount from line 14 by 500 and enter the result on line 15. The
maximum total allowed is $3,000.

Line 16 Additional six-month credit — If the employee was
retained for 12 consecutive months full time, enter 7000 on

line 16. If the employee was retained for 12 consecutive months
part time, enter 500 on line 16.

Line 17 Total tax credit for employee — Add lines 15 and 16.

Schedule E — Total New York youth works tax
credit

Complete only one Schedule E. Schedule E is a summary of
Schedule D, including any additional Schedule(s) D if you have
more than one certified youth.

Line 18 — Enter the total of all the line 17 amounts from all
additional Schedule(s) D on line 18. Attach all Schedule(s) D to
your return.



