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Instructions for Form CT-261

CT-261-

Claim for Empire State Film Post-Production Credit
Tax Law — Article 1, Section 31 and Article 9-A, Section 210.41

Temporary deferral of certain tax credits

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and before
January 1, 2013, if the total amount of certain credits that you may
use to reduce your tax or have refunded to you is greater than

$2 million, the excess over $2 million must be deferred to, and used
or refunded in, tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.

For more information about the credit deferral, see Form CT-500,
Corporation Tax Credit Deferral.

If you are subject to the credit deferral, you must complete all credit

forms without regard to the deferral. However, the credit amount that
is transferred to your tax return to be applied against your tax due

or to be refunded to you may be reduced. Follow the instructions for
Form CT-500 to determine the amounts to enter on your tax return.

General information

Tax Law sections 31 and 210.41 provide for a tax credit for the

film and television post-production industry. The Empire State film
post-production credit (also referred to simply as the post-production
credit) is available to taxpayers subject to tax under Article 9-A
(general business corporations) or Article 22 (personal income tax).
This form is for taxpayers subject to tax under Article 9-A. Those
subject to tax under Article 22, complete Form IT-261, Claim for
Empire State Film Post-Production Credit.

The amount of credit allowed for the current tax year is allocated
by the New York State Governor’s Office for Motion Picture

and Television Development. Attach a copy of your certificate
from that office for the credit allowed. For rules and regulations
regarding the credit, contact the New York State Governor’s
Office for Motion Picture and Television Development at
nyfilm@empire.state.ny.us or call (212) 803-2330.

The credit is allowed for qualified post-production costs paid or
incurred in the production of a qualified film at a post-production
facility in New York State. The credit is allowed for the tax year in
which the production of the qualified film is completed. The credit
may not reduce the tax due below the fixed dollar minimum tax. Any
amount not used in the current tax year may be refunded or credited
as an overpayment to next year’s tax. The refund is limited to 50%
of the excess credit in the current year; the balance may be carried
forward to the following tax year and may be deducted from the tax
in that year. All remaining excess after application in the succeeding
year may also be refunded or credited as an overpayment to

the succeeding tax year. No interest will be paid on the refund.
Post-production costs used as the basis for allowance of this credit
or used in the calculation of this credit cannot be used to claim any
other credit.

Corporate partners

If you are a corporate partner who has any post-production credits
passed through to you from partnerships, enter in Part 3 each
partnership’s name and employer identification number, and your
pro rata share of the post-production credit each one passed to you.
Enter the total of these credits on lines 18 and 2. Enter on line 1 only
the amount of post-production credit allocated to your corporation

by the New York State Governor’s Office for Motion Picture and
Television Development.

New York S corporations

New York S corporations will calculate an amount of post-production
credit. However, the S corporation may not use the post-production
credit against its own tax liability; instead, the credit is passed
through to the shareholders to use against their personal income tax
liabilities on their New York State tax returns.

New York S corporations complete only lines 1 through 3.
Include the line 3 amount on Form CT-34-SH, New York

S Corporation Shareholders’ Information Schedule, which is filed
with your New York State corporation tax return. Attach a copy
of Form CT-261 to your Form CT-3-S, New York S Corporation
Franchise Tax Return.

Provide all shareholders with the amount of their pro rata share
of the post-production credit calculated. The shareholders will file
their own Form IT-261 to claim the credit on their New York State
personal income tax returns.

Combined filers

A taxpayer filing a combined return as a member of a combined
group is allowed to claim the post-production credit. The
post-production credit is computed on a separate basis, but is
applied against the combined tax.

Line instructions

Part 1 — Computation of post-production credit available
for use

Line 1 — Obtain this amount from the New York State Governor’s
Office for Motion Picture and Television Development. Attach a copy
of your certificate.

Line 2 — Obtain this amount from the partnership(s) allocating this
credit to you. Also complete Part 3, Partnership information.

Line 3 — New York S corporations include this amount on
Form CT-34-SH.

Line 4 — Obtain this amount from the previous tax year’s
Form CT-261, if applicable.

Part 2 — Computation of post-production credit used,
refunded, and carried forward (New York S corporations do
not complete this part)

Line 6 — Enter the amount from Form CT-3, line 78, or Form CT-3-A,
line 77, plus any net recaptured tax credits.

Line 7 — You must apply certain credits before the post-production
credit. Refer to Form CT-600-I, Instructions for Form CT-600,
Ordering of Corporation Tax Credits, for the proper ordering of your
credits. If you are claiming more than one credit, enter the total
amount of credits applied against the current year’s corporation
franchise tax before the post-production credit. If the post-production
credit is the only credit that is being applied against the current
year’s corporation franchise tax, enter 0. If filing as a member of a
combined group, include any amount of tax credit(s), including the
post-production credit(s), being claimed by other members of the
combined group that you want to apply before the post-production
credit claimed on this form.

Lines 11, 16, and 17 — On line 11, enter the lesser of line 5 or
line 10.

If your total credits from all sources are $2 million or less, enter the
amounts from lines 11, 16, and 17 on your franchise tax return.

If your total credits from all sources are more than $2 million, you
may be subject to the temporary credit deferral. Complete lines 11,
16, and 17 but do not enter the amounts from lines 11, 16, and 17
on your franchise tax return. See Form CT-500 to determine the
proper amounts to enter on your franchise tax return.

Need help? and Privacy notification
See Form CT-1, Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions.



