
The above corporation was incorporated under the Cooperative Corporations Law on
	 (mm - dd - yy)

for the purpose of

Instructions
New for 2010
This year the Tax Department introduces new Form CT-1, 
Supplement to Corporation Tax Instructions. Changes for this year 
and general instructions related to your corporation tax return 
— previously found in individual return instructions — have been 
compiled in this single form.

See Form CT-1 for the following topics:
•	 Changes for the current tax year (general and  

by Tax Law Article)
•	 Business information (how to enter and update)
•	 Entry formats

—	 Dates
—	 Negative amounts
—	 Percentages
—	 Whole dollar amounts

•	 Third-party designee
•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
•	 Fee for payments returned by banks
•	 Tax shelter penalties
•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
•	 Your rights under the Tax Law
•	 Need help?

•	 Privacy notification

Who must file
Section 77 of the Cooperative Corporations Law exempts certain 
cooperative corporations from franchise taxes, corporation taxes, 
or license fee requirements under Tax Law, Article 9, section 181. In 
place of those taxes and the license fee, the following corporations 
must file this form and pay an annual license fee of $10:
•	 Agricultural cooperative marketing corporations, with or without 

capital stock, organized for the purpose of marketing agricultural 
products;

•	 Agricultural cooperative financing corporations, with or without 
capital stock, organized for the purpose of making loans to their 
members producing agricultural products;

•	 Cooperative corporations with annual sales of less than 
$500,000, organized for the purpose of purchasing food 
products for sale to their members;

•	 Heating/cooling cooperative corporations without stock, that 
have federal Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 501(c)(12) 
status and are organized for producing and/or distributing 
district heating and/or cooling services solely for use by their 
members. The heating or cooling facility must be located 
in a city with a population of more than 200,000 but less 
than 300,000, and must have at least 35% of the service, as 
measured by relative thermal usage, distributed to and used by 
members who:

	 —	 qualify as certain exempt organizations under the New York 
State Sales and Use Tax Law (for example, governmental, 
educational, charitable, religious); or

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Report of Annual License Fee
Agricultural Cooperative Marketing or
Financing Corporations and
District Heating/Cooling Cooperatives
Cooperative Corporations Law, Article 5

CT-397

Employer identification number	 File number	 Business telephone number	

			  (	 )	
Legal name of corporation	 	 	 Trade name/DBA

	 Mailing name (if different from legal name)		  	

	 c/o
	Number and street or PO box			 

	 City	 State	 ZIP code	
					   

Date received (for Tax Department use only)

Audit (for Tax Department use only)

State or country of incorporation

Date of incorporation

Date began business in NYS

Print or type For calendar year

Payment enclosed

	 $10.00

If address/phone above
is new, mark an X 
in the box ...................... 	

	Payment - pay $10.00 — Make check or money order payable to: New York State Corporation Tax
		 . . . Attach your payment here. (See instructions for details.)

Certification: I certify that this report and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct, and complete.

Authorized
person

	 Signature of authorized person	 Official title

	 E-mail address of authorized person	 	 Date	

If you need to update your address or phone information for corporation tax, or other tax types, you 
can do so online. Visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov and look for the change my address option. 
Otherwise, see Business information in Form CT-1.
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	 —	 qualify as cooperative corporations without stock, that have 
federal IRC section 501(c)(12) status.

•	 Members of heating/cooling cooperative corporations as 
described above.

Types of cooperative corporations that are not exempt from 
franchise tax, corporation tax, or license fee requirements under Tax 
Law section 181, and therefore are not required to file this form, are:
•	 Agricultural cooperative corporations with capital stock 

organized for the sole purpose of raising crops are subject to 
the franchise tax imposed by Tax Law, Article 9, section 185. 
(See Form CT‑185, Cooperative Agricultural Corporation 
Franchise Tax Return.)

•	 Cooperative corporations with capital stock that operate 
for a profit are taxable under Tax Law Article 9-A. (See 
Form CT-3, General Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return, 
or Form CT-4, General Business Corporation Franchise Tax 
Return Short Form.)

Payment
Make your check or money order payable in United States funds. 
We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if 
payable through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. 
funds.

When and where to file
On or before March 15th following the close of the calendar year, 
mail this completed form and $10 check or money order to:

	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 REGISTRATION UNIT
	 W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
	 ALBANY NY 12227

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of 
the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. 
However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you 
filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a 
private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that 
has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated 
delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? for information on obtaining 
forms and publications.) If you have used a designated private 
delivery service and need to establish the date you filed your form, 
contact that private delivery service for instructions on how to 
obtain written proof of the date your form was given to the delivery 
service for delivery.


