
New for 2010
This year the Tax Department introduces new Form CT-1, Supplement to 
Corporation Tax Instructions. Changes for this year and general instructions 
related to your corporation tax return — previously found in individual 
return instructions — have been compiled in this single form.

See Form CT-1 for the following topics:

•	 Changes for the current tax year (general and  
by Tax Law Article)

•	 Business information (how to enter and update)

•	 Entry formats
	 —	 Dates
	 —	 Negative amounts
	 —	 Percentages
	 —	 Whole dollar amounts

•	 Third-party designee

•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms

•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment

•	 Fee for payments returned by banks

•	 Tax shelter penalties

•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program

•	 Your rights under the Tax Law

•	 Need help?

•	 Privacy notification

General information 

Who must file
If you file Form CT-32, Banking Corporation Franchise Tax Return, or 
CT-32-A, Banking Corporation Combined Franchise Tax Return, use 
Form CT-32-M to report and pay the metropolitan transportation business 
tax surcharge (MTA surcharge).

If you do business, employ capital, own or lease property, or maintain an 
office in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), you 
must file Form CT‑32-M and pay the MTA surcharge on business done in 
the MCTD. The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, 
Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, 
Suffolk, and Westchester.

A banking corporation that meets one or more of the following tests is 
subject to the MTA surcharge: 

•	 it has issued credit cards to 1,000 or more customers with mailing 
addresses in the MCTD as of the last day of its tax year;

•	 there are 1,000 or more locations in the MCTD covered by contracts 
with merchant customers to whom the banking corporation remitted 
payments for credit card transactions during the tax year;

•	 it has receipts of $1 million or more during the tax year from customers 
who have been issued credit cards by the banking corporation and have  
mailing addresses in the MCTD;

•	 it has receipts of $1 million or more from merchant customer contracts 
with merchants relating to locations in the MCTD; or

•	 it has either a) a total number of cardholders and merchant locations 
in the MCTD that equals or exceeds 1,000 or b) total receipts from 
cardholders and merchant locations in the MCTD that equal or exceed 
$1 million.

Receipts from processing credit card transactions for merchants include 
merchant discount fees received by the banking corporation.

A credit card includes bank, credit, travel, and entertainment cards.

Corporations filing on a combined basis are required to file only one 
return for the combined group. Use combined figures, as shown on your 
Form CT-32-A, to complete this form.

When to file
File your return within 2½ months after the end of your reporting period. 
If you are reporting for the calendar year, file your return on or before 
March 15. If your filing date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
then you must file your return on or before the next business day. 

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-32-M
Banking Corporation MTA Surcharge Return
Tax Law — Article 32, Section 1455-B

CT-32-M-I

Where to file 
Mail your return to:	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PROCESSING UNIT
	 PO BOX 22038
 	 ALBANY NY 12201-2038

If you use a delivery service other than the U.S. Postal Service, see Private 
delivery services.

Private delivery services

If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of the U.S. 
Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. However, if, at a 
later date, you need to establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you 
cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless you 
used a delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary 
of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently 
designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? for information on obtaining forms and 
publications.) If you have used a designated private delivery service and 
need to establish the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery 
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your form 
was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use any private delivery 
service, whether it is a designated service or not, send the forms covered 
by these instructions to:  State Processing Center, 431C Broadway, 
Albany NY 12204-4836.

Extension of time for filing
You may request additional time to file an MTA surcharge return. File 
Form CT‑5, Request for Six-Month Extension to File (for franchise/business 
taxes, MTA surcharge, or both), or Form CT-5.3, Request for Six-Month 
Extension to File (for combined franchise tax return, or combined MTA 
surcharge return, or both), on or before the due date of the return for which 
you are requesting the extension, and pay the MTA surcharge you estimate 
to be due.

Employer identification number, file number, and other 
identifying information
We must have the necessary identifying information to process your 
corporation tax forms. Keep a record of that information and include it on 
each corporation tax form mailed. If you use a paid preparer or accounting 
firm, make sure they use your complete and accurate identifying 
information when completing all forms.

Amended return
If you are filing an amended return, mark an X in the Amended return box 
on page 1 and attach a copy of the federal revenue agent’s report or the 
amended federal return to the amended Form CT-32-M.

If you file an amended federal return, you must file an amended New York State 
return within 90 days (120 days if filing an amended combined return) thereafter.

For amended returns based on changes by the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) — If your federal taxable income (FTI) has been changed or 
corrected by a final determination of the Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 
you must file an amended return reflecting the federal changes within 90 
days (120 days if filing an amended combined return) of the final federal 
determination. For a definition of final determination, see NYS Regulation 
section 21-1.3(b).  

You must attach a copy of federal Form 4549, Income Tax Examination 
Changes, to your amended return.

If you filed as part of a consolidated group for federal tax purposes but 
on a separate basis for New York State tax purposes, you must submit a 
statement indicating the changes that would have been made if you had 
filed on a separate basis for federal tax purposes.

For credits or refunds of corporation tax paid — To claim any refund 
type that requires an amended return, file an amended New York State 
return for the year being amended and, if applicable, attach a copy of the 
claim form filed with the IRS (usually Form 1120X) and proof of federal 
refund approval, Statement of Adjustment to Your Account.

If you are a federal S corporation, file an amended New York State return 
for the year being amended. If applicable, attach a copy of the amended 
federal Form 1120S.



Worksheet 1

A	 Enter allocated taxable entire net income 
	 from Form CT-32, line 61, or Form CT-32-A,
 	 line 59...............................................................	 A.	
B	 Rate..................................................................	B.	 .09

C	 Multiply line A by line B....................................	C.
D	 Enter tax credits from Form CT-32, line 6,
 	 or Form CT-32-A, line 6....................................	D.
E	 Net New York State franchise tax: subtract 
	 line D from line C..............................................	 E.
F	 Combined fixed minimum tax for taxable
	 member corporations (Form CT-32 filers
	 enter 0; Form CT-32-A filers enter the
	 amount from line 8 of that form) ......................	 F.
G	 Total combined franchise tax: add line E and
	 line F; enter result here and on Form CT-32-M,
 	 line 4.................................................................	G.		
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The amended return must be filed within three years of the date the original 
return was filed or within two years of the date the tax was paid, whichever 
is later. If you did not file an original return, you must make the request 
within two years of the date the tax was paid. However, a claim for credit or 
refund based on a federal change must be filed within two years from the 
time the amended return reporting the change or correction was required 
to be filed (see above). For additional limitations on credits or refunds, see 
Tax Law, Article 27, section 1087.

Reporting period
Use this tax return for calendar year 2010 and fiscal years that begin in 
2010 and end in 2011.

You can also use the 2010 return if:

•	 you have a tax year of less than 12 months that begins and ends in 
2011, and

•	 the 2011 return is not yet available at the time you are required to file the 
return. 

In this case you must show your 2011 tax year on the 2010 return and take 
into account any tax law changes that are effective for tax years beginning 
after December 31, 2010. 

All filers must complete the beginning and ending tax year boxes in the 
upper right corner on page 1 of the form.

Line instructions
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United States funds. 
We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable 
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Computation of MCTD gross income allocation percentage

Lines 1 through 3 
—	 If you do all of your New York State business within the 12 counties of 

the MCTD, skip lines 1 and 2 and enter 100 on line 3.

—	If you do part of your New York State business outside of the MCTD, 
compute your MCTD gross income allocation percentage on lines 1 
through 3.

The MCTD gross income allocation percentage is determined by dividing 
your gross income within the MCTD by your gross income within New York 
State. Gross income is federal gross income as defined in Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) section 61, plus any amount excluded from federal gross 
income under IRC section 103, minus the eligible gross income of an 
international banking facility (IBF), if the taxpayer elects to utilize the IBF 
modification. (See Regulations, section 23-1.3(b).)

Line 4 – The MTA surcharge for banking corporations is computed using 
the tax rate (9%) on entire net income (ENI) that was in effect immediately 
prior to tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2000. Therefore, when line 5 
(franchise tax before credits) of Form CT-32 or CT-32-A equals line 1 of 
Form CT-32 or CT-32-A, a recomputation using a tax rate of 9% is required. 
In this instance, complete Worksheet 1.

In all other instances, enter on line 4 of Form CT-32-M the net franchise 
tax from Form CT-32, line 7, or the total combined franchise tax from 
Form CT-32-A, line 9.

First installment of estimated tax for the next tax period 
If, on your Form CT-32 or Form CT‑32‑A, you must make a first installment 
of estimated franchise tax for the next tax period, you must also make a 
first installment of the MTA surcharge for the next tax period.

Line 7b — If you did not file Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3 and the franchise tax 
shown on Form CT-32, line 7, or Form CT‑32‑A, line 7, exceeds $1,000, but 
does not exceed $100,000, enter 25% of the MTA surcharge shown on line 6 
of Form CT-32-M. If you did not file Form CT-5 or CT-5.3, and the franchise 
tax shown on Form CT-32, line 7, or CT-32-A, line 7, exceeds $100,000, enter 
40% (.4) of the MTA surcharge shown on line 6 of Form CT-32-M. Otherwise, 
enter 0. 

Line 11 — Form CT‑222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation, 
is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax Department that the corporation 
meets one of the exceptions to reduce or eliminate the underpayment of 
estimated tax penalty pursuant to Tax Law, Article 27, section 1085(d). 

Line 12 — If you do not pay the MTA surcharge on or before the original 
due date (without regard to any extension of time to file), you must pay 
interest on the amount of the underpayment from the original due date to 
the date paid. Exclude from the interest computation any amount shown on 
line 7a or line 7b, first installment of estimated MTA surcharge for the next 
tax period. 

Line 13 – Late filing and late payment penalties — Late filing and late 
payment penalties are computed on the amount of the MTA surcharge 
minus any payment made on or before the due date (with regard to any 
extension of time for filing). Exclude from the penalty computation any 
amount shown on line 7a or line 7b, First installment of estimated MTA 
surcharge for the next tax period.

A.	 If you do not file a return when due or if the request for extension is 
invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B.	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the addition to 
tax in item A above cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or 100% of 
the amount required to be shown as tax (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.	 If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax ½% per 
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	 The total of the additional charges in items A and C may not exceed 5% 
for any one month except as provided for in item B (section 1085 (a)). 
If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or both 
(section 1085).

The Tax Law also provides penalties for failure to disclose certain 
transactions and related information regarding tax shelters, as well as 
for the underpayment of taxes due to participation in such shelters. See 
TSB-M-05(2)C, Disclosure of Certain Transactions and Related Information 
Regarding Tax Shelters.

Line 15 — You may divide the overpayment on line 16, 17, or 18 in any way 
you choose.

Line 19 through 25 – Computation of prepayments on line 9 — If you 
need more space, write see attached in this section and attach a separate 
sheet showing all relevant prepayment information. Transfer the total shown 
on the attached sheet to line 9.

Signature
The return must be certified by the president, vice president, treasurer, 
assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or other officer authorized by 
the taxpayer corporation.

The return of an association, publicly traded partnership, or business 
conducted by a trustee or trustees must be signed by a person authorized 
to act for the association, publicly traded partnership, or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the return, all applicable entries 
in the paid preparer section must be completed, including identification 
numbers. Failure to sign the return will delay the processing of any refunds 
and may result in penalties. (For more information on paid preparer 
identification numbers, see Changes for 2010 in Form CT-1.)

Note: You may compute your interest and penalty by accessing our 
Web site, or you may call and we will compute the interest and penalty 
for you (see Need help? ).
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Contents of this form
Form CT-1 contains both changes for the current tax year and 
general instructional information, serving as a supplement to 
corporation tax instructions.

This form contains information on the following topics:
•	 Changes for the current tax year (non-legislative and legislative)
• 	Business information (how to enter and update)
• 	Entry formats
	 —	Dates
	 —	Negative amounts
	 —	Percentages
	 —	Whole dollar amounts
•	 Third-party designee
•	 Use of reproduced and computerized forms
•	 Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
•	 Fee for payments returned by banks
•	 Tax shelter penalties
•	 Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program
•	 Your rights under the Tax Law
•	 Need help?
•	 Privacy notification

Changes for 2010
Non-legislative changes
Web File — You can Web File Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for 
Corporations, on our Web site (see Need help?). You’ll need to 
create an Online Services account or log into your existing one, 
and select the corporation tax estimated payment option.

You can also Web File the following extension requests:
•	 Form CT-5, Request for Six-Month Extension to File (for 		
	 franchise/business taxes, MTA surcharge, or both)
•	 Form CT-5.4, Request for Six-Month Extension to File New York 	
	 S Corporation Franchise Tax Return
•	 Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension To File (for 	
	 Article 9 tax return, MTA surcharge, or both)

Benefits of Web filing include:
•	 direct payment from your bank account or by ACH credit
•	 instant confirmation

For more information, visit our Web site and select the corporation 
tax Web File option.

Form CT-200-V, Payment Voucher for E-Filed Corporation Tax 
Returns and Extensions — This form is a payment voucher for 
taxpayers who e-file their forms but cannot e-pay and need to 
pay with a paper check or money order. Form CT-200-V is for use 
only for returns or extensions that were e-filed and should never 
accompany a paper-filed return.

Paid preparer identification numbers — New York State Tax Law 
requires certain paid tax return preparers and facilitators of refund 
anticipation loans (RALs) and refund anticipation checks (RACs) 
to register electronically with the Tax Department. For 2010, the 
paid preparer section on corporation tax forms has been updated 
accordingly. When completing this section, you must enter your 
New York tax preparer registration identification number (NYTPRIN) 
if you are required to have one. (Information on the New York State 
Tax Preparer Registration Program is available on our Web site (see 
Need help?).) In addition, you must enter your federal preparer tax 
identification number (PTIN) if you have one; if not, you must enter 
your social security number (SSN). (PTIN information is available at 
www.irs.gov.)

Legislative changes
Articles 9, 9-A, 13, 32, and 33

Chapter 242, Laws of 2010

Amended definition of tax return preparer under Tax Law, 
Article 1, section 32 — Enrolled agents, employees of enrolled 
agents, and those preparing returns under the supervision of 
enrolled agents are no longer included in the definition of tax return 
preparer.

Article 9

Chapter 57, Laws of 2010

Deferral of certain tax credits — For tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2010, and before January 1, 2013, if the total 
amount of certain credits that you may use to reduce your tax or 
have refunded to you is greater than $2 million, the excess over 
$2 million must be deferred to, and used or refunded in, tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2013. For more information about 
the credit deferral, refer to Form CT-500, Corporation Tax Credit 
Deferral, and its instructions.

Biofuel tax credit cap — For tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2010, partners in a partnership and shareholders of a 
New York S corporation will have the credit cap imposed at the 
entity level, so that the aggregate credit allowed to all partners or 
shareholders of these entities does not exceed $2.5 million.

Empire Zones Program — Numerous amendments impacting the 
empire zone (EZ) and qualified empire zone enterprise (QEZE) tax 
credits were made. For more information on a specific amendment, 
refer to the credit claim form and instructions for each credit.

Article 9-A

Chapter 24, Laws of 2010

Transitional provisions for the Gramm-Leach-Bliley (GLB) Act 
extended — For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, 
and before January 1, 2011, Tax Law, Article 32, sections 1452(m) 
and 1462(f)(2)(iv) have been amended to extend the transitional 
provisions relating to the GLB Act.

Chapter 57, Laws of 2010
Deferral of certain tax credits — For tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2010, and before January 1, 2013, if the total 
amount of certain credits that you may use to reduce your tax or 
have refunded to you is greater than $2 million, the excess over 
$2 million must be deferred to, and used or refunded in, tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2013. For more information about 
the credit deferral, refer to Form CT-500, Corporation Tax Credit 
Deferral, and its instructions.

Up-to-date information affecting 
your tax return
Visit our Web site for the tax law changes or forms corrections 
that occurred after the forms and instructions were finalized 
(see Need help?).



Biofuel tax credit cap — For tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2010, partners in a partnership and shareholders of a 
New York S corporation will have the credit cap imposed at the 
entity level, so that the aggregate credit allowed to all partners or 
shareholders of these entities does not exceed $2.5 million.

Qualified emerging technology company (QETC) facilities, 
operations, and training tax credit — For tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2010, partners in a partnership and 
shareholders of a New York S corporation will have the credit limit 
imposed at the entity level, so that the aggregate credit allowed 
to all partners or shareholders of these entities does not exceed 
$250,000.

Empire Zones Program — Numerous amendments impacting the 
empire zone (EZ) and qualified empire zone enterprise (QEZE) tax 
credits were made. For more information on a specific amendment, 
refer to the credit claim form and instructions for each credit.

Empire State film production tax credit — Numerous 
amendments impacting the credit were made. For more 
information concerning the amendments, visit the Governor’s 
Office for Motion Picture and Television Development Web site 
at www.nylovesfilm.com.

Empire State film post-production tax credit — Effective 
August 11, 2010, a new tax credit is available for the film and 
television post-production industry. The amount of credit allowed is 
allocated by the Governor’s Office for Motion Picture and Television 
Development. For more information, refer to Form CT-261, Claim 
for Empire State Film Post-Production Credit, and its instructions.

Real estate investment trust (REIT)/regulated investment 
company (RIC) provisions made permanent — For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the REIT and RIC provisions 
enacted by Chapter 60 of the Laws of 2007, and as amended by 
Chapter 57 of the Laws of 2008, relating to the taxation of captive 
REITs and captive RICs that were due to expire, were made 
permanent.

Updated definition of captive REIT — For tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2010, Tax Law, Article 1, section 2.9 
was amended to exclude certain entities from the definition of 
captive REIT. For the revised definition, refer to your franchise tax 
return instructions.

Clarifying New York source income — The Tax Law was 
amended to ensure that nonresident shareholders of an 
S corporation who make elections under either Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) section 338(h)(10) or 453 are taxed in accordance 
with those elections and the transaction is treated as producing 
New York source income. Also, income received by nonresidents 
from installment sale contracts entered into before a New York 
S corporation terminates its taxable status in New York is New 
York source income.

Chapter 59, Laws of 2010
Excelsior Jobs Program tax credit — Approved participants 
in the program will be eligible for the Excelsior Jobs Program 
credit. Empire State Development (ESD) will issue a certificate 
of tax credit that must be submitted with the taxpayer’s return 
to claim the credits. For more information, visit ESD’s Web site 
at www.empire.state.ny.us and select Business Programs.

Chapter 297, Laws of 2010
Farmers’ school property tax credit — For tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2011, the farmers’ school property tax credit 
was amended to maintain eligibility for the credit when farmers 
receive payments for the sale of their development rights under 
the state’s Farmland Protection Program. This change will allow 
payments from the Farmland Protection Program to be treated as 
excess gross income from farming.
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Chapter 472, Laws of 2010
Tax credit for rehabilitation of historic properties — For 
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, the credit for 
rehabilitation of historic properties has been amended to clarify 
current provisions and to make the credit available to banks and 
insurance companies.

Article 32

Chapter 24, Laws of 2010

Transitional provisions for the Gramm-Leach-Bliley (GLB) Act 
extended — For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, 
and before January 1, 2011, Tax Law, Article 32, sections 1452(m) 
and 1462(f)(2)(iv) have been amended to extend the transitional 
provisions relating to the GLB Act.

Chapter 57, Laws of 2010
Deferral of certain tax credits — For tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2010, and before January 1, 2013, if the total 
amount of certain credits that you may use to reduce your tax or 
have refunded to you is greater than $2 million, the excess over 
$2 million must be deferred to, and used or refunded in, tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2013. For more information about 
the credit deferral, refer to Form CT-500, Corporation Tax Credit 
Deferral, and its instructions.

Elimination of bad debt modifications when computing entire 
net income — For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, 
Article 32 was amended to eliminate the bad debt adjustments 
previously required by the Business Tax Reform and Rate 
Reduction Act of 1987 (see TSB-M-87(17)C, Business Tax Reform 
and Rate Reduction Act of 1987 Article 32 - Franchise Tax on 
Banking Corporations), and as amended by Chapter 411 of the 
Laws of 1996 (see TSB-M-96(1)C, Important Notice: Summary of 
1996 Corporation Tax Law Changes).

Empire Zones Program — Numerous amendments impacting the 
empire zone (EZ) and qualified empire zone enterprise (QEZE) tax 
credits were made. For more information on a specific amendment, 
refer to the credit claim form and instructions for each credit.

Real estate investment trust (REIT)/regulated investment 
company (RIC) provisions made permanent — For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the REIT and RIC provisions 
enacted by Chapter 60 of the Laws of 2007, and as amended by 
Chapter 57 of the Laws of 2008, relating to the taxation of captive 
REITs and captive RICs that were due to expire, were made 
permanent.

Updated definition of captive REIT — For tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2010, Tax Law, Article 1, section 2.9 
was amended to exclude certain entities from the definition of 
captive REIT. For the revised definition, refer to your franchise tax 
return instructions.

Clarifying New York source income — The Tax Law was 
amended to ensure that nonresident shareholders of an 
S corporation who make elections under either Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) section 338(h)(10) or 453 are taxed in accordance 
with those elections and the transaction is treated as producing 
New York source income. Also, income received by nonresidents 
from installment sale contracts entered into before a New York 
S corporation terminates its taxable status in New York is New 
York source income.

Chapter 59, Laws of 2010
Excelsior Jobs Program tax credit — Approved participants 
in the program will be eligible for the Excelsior Jobs Program 
credit. Empire State Development (ESD) will issue a certificate 
of tax credit which must be submitted with the taxpayer’s return 
to claim the credits. For more information, visit ESD’s Web site 
at www.empire.state.ny.us and select Business Programs.



Chapter 67, Laws of 2010
Bank tax extender — For tax years beginning before 
January 1, 2011, certain provisions of the franchise tax on banking 
corporations have been extended.

Chapter 472, Laws of 2010
Tax credit for rehabilitation of historic properties — For 
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, the credit for 
rehabilitation of historic properties has been amended to clarify 
current provisions and to make the credit available to banks and 
insurance companies.

Article 33

Chapter 57, Laws of 2010

Deferral of certain tax credits — For tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2010, and before January 1, 2013, if the total 
amount of certain credits that you may use to reduce your tax or 
have refunded to you is greater than $2 million, the excess over 
$2 million must be deferred to, and used or refunded in, tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2013. For more information about 
the credit deferral, refer to Form CT-500, Corporation Tax Credit 
Deferral, and its instructions.

Empire Zones Program — Numerous amendments impacting the 
empire zone (EZ) and qualified empire zone enterprise (QEZE) tax 
credits were made. For more information on a specific amendment, 
refer to the credit claim form and instructions for each credit.

Real estate investment trust (REIT)/regulated investment 
company (RIC) provisions made permanent — For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the REIT and RIC provisions 
enacted by Chapter 60 of the Laws of 2007, and as amended by 
Chapter 57 of the Laws of 2008, relating to the taxation of captive 
REITs and captive RICs that were due to expire, were made 
permanent.

Updated definition of captive REIT — For tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2010, Tax Law, Article 1, section 2.9 
was amended to exclude certain entities from the definition of 
captive REIT. For the revised definition, refer to your franchise tax 
return instructions.

Chapter 59, Laws of 2010
Excelsior Jobs Program tax credit — Approved participants 
in the program will be eligible for the Excelsior Jobs Program 
credit. Empire State Development (ESD) will issue a certificate 
of tax credit which must be submitted with the taxpayer’s return 
to claim the credits. For more information, visit ESD’s Web site 
at www.empire.state.ny.us and select Business Programs.

Chapter 472, Laws of 2010
Tax credit for rehabilitation of historic properties — For 
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, the credit for 
rehabilitation of historic properties has been amended to clarify 
current provisions and to make the credit available to banks and 
insurance companies.

How to fill out your tax return
Business information
Enter the corporation’s business information at the top of the first 
page. Be sure to enter the corporation’s mailing name if different 
from its legal name.

If you need to update your corporation tax address or phone 
information, you can do so online. Visit our Web site (see Need 
help?) and look for the change my address option. Otherwise, 
enter your new address and/or phone number in the appropriate 
area of your return and mark an X in the box under the address. 
Do not mark an X in this box if your address and/or phone number 
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is new since your last filing but was already updated online, or 
for any change of business information other than your address 
and/or phone number. Once your corporation tax information is 
updated online, you do not need to indicate a change of address 
on any corporation tax forms submitted to the Tax Department (or 
for any forms for tax types you select to be updated in addition to 
corporation tax).

If you prefer to change your address by form, use Form DTF-96, 
Report of Address Change for Business Tax Accounts. You must 
report other changes (such as business name or ID number) on 
Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. You can get these 
forms from our Web site, by fax, or by phone (see Need help?).

Entry formats
Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a 
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes 
and not slashes).

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-) 
sign.

Percentages — When computing percentages, convert decimals 
into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces to the 
right. Round percentages to four decimal places. 

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 6.6667%.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in 
whole dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount 
from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round 
any amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Third-party designee
If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to 
discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department, 
mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of 
your return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, 
and any five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her 
personal identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize the 
paid preparer who signed your return to discuss the return with 
the Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for 
the designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone number in 
the space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to 
provide the other information requested. If you do not want to 
authorize another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to 
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:
•	 give the Tax Department any information that is missing from 

your return;
•	 call the Tax Department for information about the processing of 

your return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and
•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with 

the designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. 
The notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or 
otherwise represent you before the Tax Department. If you want 
the designee to perform those services for you, you must file 
Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that designation with the 
Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices or documents 
(such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your designee if 
you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically 
end on the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your 
next year’s tax return.



Need help?

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure 
that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other 
facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If 
you have questions about special accommodations 
for persons with disabilities, call the information 
center.

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you 
have access to a TTY, contact us at (518) 485-5082. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 A.M. to
  4:30 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-6027

To order forms and publications: 	 (518) 457-5431

Internet access: www.tax.ny.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain 
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but 
not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 
1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security 
numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities 
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax 
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided 
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support 
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and 
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document Management, 
NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 
(518) 457-5181.

Use of reproduced and computerized 
forms
Photocopies of returns are acceptable if they are of good quality 
and have an original signature in the proper place. We will accept 
computer-produced corporation tax returns if they meet our 
printing specifications. For more information, see Publication 76, 
Specifications for Reproduction of New York State Corporation Tax 
Forms.

General information
Collection of debts from your refund or 
overpayment
We will keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe 
a past-due, legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, 
or if you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may 
also keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a 
past-due legally enforceable debt to another state, provided that 
state has entered into a reciprocal agreement with New York State. 
If we keep your refund or overpayment, we will notify you. 

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, 
bureau, division, commission, committee, public authority, public 
benefit corporation, council, office, or other entity performing 
a governmental or proprietary function for the state or a social 
services district. We will refund or apply as an overpayment any 
amount over your debt. 

The Tax Department is authorized to charge the taxpayer, as part 
of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed or charged by 
the United States, or any state, for the payment or remittance of a 
taxpayer’s overpayment to satisfy a New York State tax debt. 

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, 
legally enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, 
or whether you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, 
contact the state agency, the other state, or the New York City 
Department of Finance. 

For New York State tax liabilities only, call (518) 457-5434 or 
write to: NYS Tax Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement 
Division, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Fee for payments returned by banks
The law allows the Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a 
check, money order, or electronic payment is returned by a bank 
for nonpayment. However, if an electronic payment is returned as 
a result of an error by the bank or the department, the department 
won’t charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we will send 
a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax document 
associated with the returned payment.

Tax shelter penalties
The Tax Law provides penalties for failure to disclose certain 
transactions and related information regarding tax shelters and for 
the underpayment of taxes due to participation in these shelters. 
For more information, refer to TSB-M-05(2)C, Disclosure of Certain 
Transactions and Related Information Regarding Tax Shelters.
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Important reminder to file a complete return: You must 
complete all required schedules and forms that make up your 
return, and include all pages of those forms and schedules 
when you file. Returns that are missing required pages or that 
have pages with missing entries are considered incomplete and 
cannot be processed, and may subject taxpayers to penalty and 
interest.

Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance 
Program 
The Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program provides 
relief from certain penalties and criminal prosecution to eligible 
taxpayers who come forward and reveal previously undisclosed 
liabilities. For more information, see TSB-M-08(11)C, Voluntary 
Disclosure and Compliance Program.

Your rights under the Tax Law
The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part, that the Tax 
Department advise you, in writing, of your rights and obligations 
during an audit, when you appeal a departmental decision, and 
when your appeal rights have been exhausted and you need to 
understand enforcement capabilities available to the department to 
obtain payment. For a complete copy of the information contained 
in all of these statements, you may obtain Publication 131, Your 
Rights and Obligations Under the Tax Law, by visiting our Web site 
or by calling (see Need help?).
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Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are

Telephone assistance

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-6027
To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431
Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
  hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions 
about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, call 
the information center.

Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov
•	 get information and manage your taxes online
•	 check for new online services and features
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Department of Taxation and Finance

Change in Mailing Address and Assistance
Information for Prior Year Corporation Tax Forms

Beginning on January 2, 2015, we changed processing 
centers. 

Any corporation tax form for tax years 2014 or before that 
instructs you to mail the form to: NYS Tax Department – 
IT-2659, PO Box 397, Albany NY 12201-0397, must 
be mailed to this address instead (see Private delivery 
services below):

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
PO BOX 15179
ALBANY NY 12212-5179

Any corporation tax filing extension request form for 
tax years 2014 or before that instructs you to mail the 
form to: NYS Tax Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, 
PO Box 22094, Albany NY 12201-2094, or NYS Tax 
Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, PO Box 22102, 
Albany NY 12201-2102, must be mailed to this address 
instead (see Private delivery services below):

NYS CORPORATION TAX
PO BOX 15180
ALBANY NY 12212-5180

Any C corporation, banking corporation, insurance 
corporation, Article 9 corporation, and Article 13 corporation 
tax form for tax years 2014 or before that instructs you to 
mail the form to: NYS Tax Corporation Tax, Processing 
Unit, PO Box 1909, Albany NY 12201-1909; NYS Tax 
Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, PO Box 22038, 
Albany NY 12201-2038; NYS Tax Corporation Tax, 
Processing Unit, PO Box 22095, Albany NY 12201-2095; 
NYS Tax Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, PO Box 22093, 
Albany NY 12201-2093; or NYS Tax Corporation Tax, 
Processing Unit, PO Box 22101, Albany NY 12201-2101, 
must be mailed to this address instead (see Private 
delivery services below):

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
PO BOX 15181
ALBANY NY 12212-5181

Any S corporation tax form for tax years 2014 or before 
that instructs you to mail the form to: NYS Tax Corporation 
Tax, Processing Unit, PO Box 22092, Albany NY 
12201-2092, or NYS Tax Corporation Tax, Processing 
Unit, PO Box 22096, Albany NY 12201-2096, must be 
mailed to this address instead (see Private delivery 
services below):

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
PO BOX 15182
ALBANY NY 12212-5182

Note: Forms mailed to the old addresses may be delayed 
in processing.

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, 
instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form 
and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to 
establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you cannot 
use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless 
you used a delivery service that has been designated by 
the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner 
of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery 
services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? below for information 
on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used a 
designated private delivery service and need to establish 
the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery 
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of 
the date your form was given to the delivery service for 
delivery.

For all the forms referenced above, if you are using a 
private delivery service, send to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
CORP TAX PROCESSING
90 COHOES AVE
GREEN ISLAND NY 12183
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