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I certify that I will comply with the New York State personal income tax estimated tax provisions and tax return filing 
  requirements, to the extent that they apply to me, for tax years 2010 and 2011 ( see instructions ).

Do not send this certificate to the Tax Department (see instructions below).
Use this certificate for tax years 2010 and 2011; it will expire on February 1, 2012.

Instructions

 Signature of nonresident individual partner or shareholder	 Date

General information
Tax Law section 658(c)(4) requires the following entities that have 
income derived from New York sources to make estimated personal 
income tax payments on behalf of partners or shareholders who 
are nonresident individuals:
•	 New York S corporations;
•	 partnerships (other than publicly traded partnerships as 

defined in Internal Revenue Code section 7704); and
•	 limited liability companies (LLCs) or limited liability 

partnerships (LLPs) that are treated as partnerships for 
federal income tax purposes.

Individual partners and shareholders
Individual partners or shareholders are automatically 
exempt from these estimated tax provisions if they meet 
one of the following exceptions:
•	 Estimated tax payments are not required for any partner or 

shareholder whose estimated tax required to be paid for 
the tax year by the partnership or New York S corporation 
is $300 or less.

•	 Estimated tax payments are not required for any partner or 
shareholder if the entity is authorized to file a group return, 
and the partner or shareholder has elected to be included 
on the group return.

If you do not meet either of the above exceptions, you may 
still claim exemption from this estimated tax provision by 
filing Form IT-2658-E. 

You qualify to claim exemption and file Form IT-2658-E by 
certifying that you will comply in your individual capacity 
with all the New York State personal income tax estimated 
tax and income tax return filing requirements, to the 
extent that they apply to you, for the years covered by this 
certificate. 

If, after considering all your individual circumstances, you 
determine you are not required to pay estimated tax or file a 
New York nonresident income tax return, you are considered 
in compliance with the New York requirements and may file 
Form IT-2658-E.

Estimated tax and filing requirements for New York 
nonresident individuals
Please see Form IT-203-I, Instructions for Form IT-203, 
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, for 
nonresident individual filing and estimated tax requirements. 

You may be subject to penalties if you file this form and 
fail to comply with the New York estimated tax and filing 
requirements in your individual capacity.

How and when to claim exemption from estimated tax
File this certificate (Form IT-2658-E) with your partnership 
or New York S corporation as soon as you determine 
that you qualify. Do not send this certificate to the Tax 
Department.

This certificate expires on February 1, 2012. If you qualify to 
be exempt from any partnership or New York S corporation 
estimated tax provisions after that date, you must file a new 
Certificate of Exemption with your partnership or New York 
S corporation.

Revocation of exemption by partner or shareholder
You must notify your partnership or New York S corporation 
within 10 days from the date you no longer expect to meet 
the conditions stated on Form IT-2658-E.

Instructions for partnerships and New York S 
corporations
Keep this certificate with your records. Do not submit this 
certificate to the Tax Department.

(         )



Need help?
Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
  available 24 hours a day,
  7 days a week.	 1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 		
  5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-6027
In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 888 698-2908

Personal Income Tax Information Center:	 (518) 457-5181
In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 225-5829

To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431
In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 462-8100

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you 
have access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that 
our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other 
facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If 
you have questions about special accommodations 
for persons with disabilities, call the information 
center.
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