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New for 2009

New partnership filing fee

The Tax Law was recently amended relating to the filing fee
applicable to partnerships. Under the new law, in addition to the
filing fees applicable to limited liability partnerships (LLPs) and
limited liability companies (LLCs) treated as partnerships for federal
income tax purposes, a filing fee will now also apply to regular
partnerships (those that are not LLCs or LLPs). However, the filing
fee for regular partnerships will apply only if the partnership’s

New York source gross income is $1 million or more. The filing fee
applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, and is
due within 30 days of the last day of the partnership’s tax year.

The amendment does not change the filing fee requirements, the fee
calculation for LLCs and LLPs treated as partnerships, or the fee that
applies to LLCs that are disregarded entities for federal tax purposes.

In addition, for tax years 2009 and after, taxpayers must only file
Form IT-204-LL if they owe a filing fee.

General information

Who must file

Form IT-204-LL, Partnership, Limited Liability Company, and Limited
Liability Partnership Filing Fee Payment Form, must be filed by:

e every LLC that is a disregarded entity for federal income tax
purposes that has income, gain, loss, or deduction from New
York State sources; and

e every domestic or foreign LLC (including a limited liability
investment company (LLIC) or a limited liability trust company
(LLTCQ)), or LLP that is required to file a New York State
partnership return and that has income, gain, loss, or deduction
from New York State sources; and

e every regular partnership that is required to file a New York
partnership return that has income, gain, loss, or deduction from
New York State sources, and had New York source gross income
for the preceding tax year of at least $1 million.

Note: A partnership, LLC, or LLP with no income, gain, loss, or
deduction from New York sources who is filing a partnership return
solely because it has a New York resident partner, is formed under the
laws of New York State, or is dormant, is not subject to the filing fee.

The amount of the filing fee will be based on the New York source
gross income for the tax year immediately preceding the tax year for
which the fee is due. If the LLC or LLP did not have any New York
source gross income for the preceding tax year, the filing fee is $25.

New York source gross income is defined as the sum of the
partners’ or members’ shares of federal gross income from the
partnership, LLP, or LLC, derived from or connected with New York
State sources without any allowance or deduction for cost of goods
sold, determined in accordance with the provisions of section 631
of the New York State Tax Law as if those provisions and any
related provisions expressly referred to a computation of federal
gross income from New York sources.

In addition, an LLC that is treated as a disregarded entity for
federal income tax purposes and that has any income, gain, loss,
or deduction from New York sources is also subject to this fee. The
amount of the filing fee for an LLC that is treated as a disregarded
entity for federal income tax purposes is $25.

There is no proration of the filing fee if the partnership, LLC, or LLP
has a short tax year for federal tax purposes.

When to file

You must file Form IT-204-LL within 30 days after the last day
of your tax year. Attach full remittance of any filing fee due to the
form. There is no extension of time to file Form IT-204-LL or pay the
annual fee.

Fee for payments returned by banks — A new law allows the Tax
Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order, or
electronic payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. However,
if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an error by the
bank or the department, the department won’t charge the fee. If your
payment is returned, we will send a separate bill for $50 for each
return or other tax document associated with the returned payment.

Where to file
Mail Form IT-204-LL and your remittance to:

STATE PROCESSING CENTER
PO BOX 22076
ALBANY NY 12201-2076

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a

private delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to

mail in your form and tax payment. However, if, at a later date,
you need to establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you
cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless
you used a delivery service that has been designated by the

U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation
and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed in
Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need
help? on page 3 of these instructions for information on obtaining
forms and publications.) If you have used a designated private
delivery service and need to establish the date you filed your
form, contact that private delivery service for instructions on how
to obtain written proof of the date your form was given to the
delivery service for delivery. If you use any private delivery service,
whether it is a designated service or not, send the forms covered
by these instructions to: State Processing Center, 431C Broadway,
Albany NY 12204-2836.

Additional filing requirements

¢ Both domestic LLCs and LLPs are required to register with the
New York State Department of State. In addition, foreign LLCs
and LLPs that wish to carry on or conduct business or activities
in New York State must also register with the Department of
State. Taxpayers who have questions concerning the registration
process should write to the New York State Department of State,
41 State Street, Albany NY 12231-0001, or call (518) 473-2492.

e The New York personal income tax and corporation franchise
taxes conform with the federal income tax classification of
LLCs and LLPs. Accordingly, an LLC or LLP that is treated as a
partnership for federal income tax purposes must, if it meets the
requirements (see Form IT-204-1, Instructions for Form IT-204), file
a New York State partnership return using Form IT-204. Returns
for calendar year 2009 are due April 15, 2010. Fiscal-year returns
are due the 15th day of the fourth month after the end of the tax
year.

¢ New York City — Information regarding the tax treatment
of an LLC or LLP for purposes of the New York City General
Corporation Tax (GCT) and the New York City Unincorporated
Business Tax (UBT) is provided in the New York City Department
of Finance memorandum 99-1. This memorandum is available on
the NYC Department of Finance Web site at www.nyc.gov/finance
or by calling their taxpayer assistance line at (212) 504-4036.
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Specific instructions

Change of business information — If you marked an X in the
box to indicate a change of address, enter your new address in
the spaces provided, and report any other changes, including your
business name, ID number, mailing address, physical address,
telephone number, or owner/officer information on Form DTF-95,
Business Tax Account Update. If only your address has changed,
you may use Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business
Tax Accounts, to correct your address for this and all other tax
types. You can get these forms from our Web site, or by fax or
phone. See Need help? on page 3 for the phone number and Web
address.

Special condition code — No special condition code exists at this
time.

Part 1 — General information
Line 1 — Income from New York State sources includes:

1) income attributable to the ownership of any interest in real
property (including all or a portion of the gain or loss from the
sale or exchange of an interest in an entity if the entity owns
real property in New York State and the real property has a fair
market value that equals or exceeds 50% of the fair market
value of the assets the entity has owned for at least two years as
of the date of the sale or exchange; for additional information,
see TSB-M-09(5)l, Amendment to the Definition of New York
Source Income of a Nonresident Individual)); or tangible personal
property located in New York State, and intangible personal
property to the extent that it is used in a business, trade,
profession, or occupation carried on in New York State; and

with the grant or transfer of a proprietary leasehold, when the
real property comprising the units of such cooperative housing
corporation is located in New York State, whether or not
connected with a business.

A partnership carries on a business, trade, profession, or
occupation within New York State if (1) it maintains or operates an
office, shop, store, warehouse, factory, agency, or other place in
New York State where its affairs are systematically and regularly
carried on, or (2) it performs a series of acts or transactions in New
York State with regularity and continuity for livelihood or profit, as
distinguished from isolated or incidental transactions.

Note: A partnership, LLC, or LLP that has a net loss derived from
New York sources during the tax year must still mark an X in the
Yes box.

LLCs that are disregarded entities for federal income tax
purposes: Skip lines 4 and 5 and continue with Part 3.

Part 2 — Partnerships, and LLCs and LLPs treated
as partnerships for federal income tax purposes
Line 4 — Use the worksheet below to compute your modified
federal and New York source gross income for tax year 2008.

Enter in column A, the amounts for lines 1 through 13 from
applicable federal schedules as instructed below.

Enter in column B, the portion of column A (if any), that relates to
New York sources.

Tiered partnerships: Do not include on lines 1 through 13 of the
worksheet income from any partnership in which you are a

2) income attributable to a business, trade, profession, or partner. The partnership should provide you with an amount to enter
occupation carried on in New York State; and on line 14.
3) any gain from the sale, transfer, or other disposition of shares If you did not have any New York source gross income for tax year
of stock in a cooperative housing corporation in connection 2008, enter 0 on line 4.
New York source gross income worksheet A B
Enter 2008 amounts Modified New York source
federal gross income gross income
1 Enter the amount from federal Form 1065, liN€ 1C ...ccocveevriiciiiieniieeeeen, 1.
2 Enter the amount from federal Form 1065, Schedule K, line 5...................... 2.
3 Enter the amount from federal Form 1065, Schedule K, line 6a.................... 3.
4 Enter the amount from federal Form 1065, Schedule K, line 7 4.
5 Enter any income (not losses) included on federal Form 1065,
Schedule K, INE 1. et e e 5.
6 Add the gain (not loss) amounts from federal Schedule D
(Form 1065), column (f), lines 1 and 6, and
the gains (not losses) from lines 2, 3, 7, 8, and 10......ccccevvvviieeiiiieeen e, 6.
7 Add the gain (not loss) amounts on federal Form 4797, column (g),
lines 2 through 6, 10, and 13 through 16 ........ccooiiiiiiiii e 7.
8 Enter the amount from federal Form 8825, line 17 8.
9 Enter the income (not loss) from federal Schedule F (Form 1040),
17T I U PRI 9.
10 Enter amount from federal Schedule F (Form 1040), line 2
11 Enter any income (not losses) included on federal Form 1065,
Schedule K, line 3a, not included aboVve............ccooeiiiviiieeeeeeeeeeeeeee 11.
12 Enter any income (not losses) included on federal Form 1065,
line 4, from estates and trusts not included above ..........cccccoeviieeiiiiiiennnne 12.
13 Enter any income (not losses) included on federal Form 1065, line 7,
NOt INCIUAEd @DOVE .......uuiiiiiiiiiie e e e 13.
14 New York source gross income from lower tiered partnerships ................... 14.
15 Total (add column B, lines 1 through 14); enter the amount here and
ON FOrmM IT-204-LL, N 4 ...t et e e e e e e e aeees 15.




Line 5 — NYS filing fee

LLC and LLP — From the table below, find the amount of the

New York source gross income reported on line 4 and enter the
corresponding amount of the NYS filing fee on line 5. If you entered
0 on line 4, enter 25 on line 5.

LLC and LLP filing fee table

If the New York source but not LLC/LLP
gross income on more than: enter on
line 4 is more than: line 5:

$ [0 JUS 100,000 25
100,000............ 250,000 50
250,000............ 500,000 175
500,000............ 1,000,000 500
1,000,000............ 5,000,000 1,500
5,000,000......ccccumeeeennnenn. 25,000,000 3,000
25,000,000 .....cccuieeeeiiiee e e e eanes 4,500

Regular partnership — From the table below, find the amount of
the New York source gross income reported on line 4 and enter the
corresponding amount of the NYS filing fee on line 5. If the amount
entered on line 4 is less than $1,000,000, or the partnership had no
New York source gross income, no New York State filing fee is due.
Enter 0 on line 5; do not file this form.

Regular partnership filing fee table
If the New York source Regular
gross income on partnership
line 4 is: enter on
line 5:
$ 1,000,000 ...oovieriiieiieee e 500
If the New York source but not
gross income on more than:
line 4 is more than:
$ 1,000,000 .....cceevvenvenennenn $ 5,000,000 ................ 1,500
5,000,000 ....coeeevreeirenns 25,000,000 .....cccccueeee 3,000
25,000,000 ...eeiiiiieieieeee e 4,500
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Part 3 — LLCs that are disregarded entities for
federal income tax purposes

Line 6 — Enter the employer identification number (EIN) or social
security number (SSN) of the entity or individual who will be
reporting the income or loss.

Paid preparer must sign the return — Anyone you pay to prepare
the return must sign it and fill in the other blanks in the paid
preparer’s area of the return. If anyone prepares the return and does
not charge you, the paid preparer’s area should not be filled in.

Note to paid preparers — When signing a taxpayer’s New York
State income tax return, you must enter the same identification
number that you used on the taxpayer’s federal return, either your
social security number or your federal preparer tax identification
number (PTIN). If you did not prepare a federal income tax return for
the taxpayer, you must use your PTIN if you have one; otherwise,
use your social security number. Paid preparers may be subject to
a penalty for failure to conform to certain requirements. For more
information see the instructions for Form IT-204.

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax
Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287,
308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and
may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to

42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention,
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document
Management, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.

Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
Access our Answer Center for answers to frequently
asked questions; check your refund status; check your
estimated tax account; download forms, publications;
get tax updates and other information.

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week.

E Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 PM. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
Refund status: (518) 457-5149
In-state callers without free long distance: 1 800 443-3200

(Automated service for refund status is available
24 hours a day, 7 days a week.)

Personal Income Tax Information Center: (518) 457-5181
In-state callers without free long distance: 1 800 225-5829

To order forms and publications: (518) 457-5431
In-state callers without free long distance: 1 800 462-8100

1800 748-3676

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with

l.l.I.l:I hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you
YYYY have access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110.
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent
living centers or community action programs to find
out where machines are available for public use.
[ 4 Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the

Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that
our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other
facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If
you have questions about special accommodations
for persons with disabilities, call the information
center.




