New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-240

CT-240-I

Foreign Corporation License Fee Return

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must
complete all required schedules and forms that make

up your return, and include all pages of those forms

and schedules when you file. Returns that are missing
required pages or that have pages with missing entries are
considered incomplete and cannot be processed, and may
subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.

Up-to-date information affecting your tax return

Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that
occurred after the forms and instructions were printed (see Need
help?).

Change for 2009

Fee for payments returned by banks — A new law allows the
Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order,
or electronic payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment.
However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an error
by the bank or the department, the department won’t charge the
fee. If your payment is returned, we will send a separate bill for $50
for each return or other tax document associated with the returned
payment.

General instructions

A foreign corporation must pay a license fee for the privilege of
exercising its corporate franchise or carrying on its business in
New York State. This fee is in addition to the annual franchise
tax and is payable only once, unless the capital share structure
changed or the amount of capital stock employed in New York
State increased since the last license fee return was filed. Some
changes in capital share structure are as follows:

— stock split

— issuance of authorized stock

— change of par value stock to no-par value stock
— change of no-par value stock to par value stock

Who must file — All foreign corporations (except banking
corporations as defined in section 1452(a), paragraphs 1 - 8;
insurance corporations; limited liability companies (LLCs); limited
liability partnerships (LLPs); and publicly traded partnerships
taxed as corporations under the Internal Revenue Code) that do
business in New York State must file Form CT-240. This includes
foreign corporations that have elected to be New York State

S corporations.

A foreign corporation that is subject to the New York State
franchise tax under Article 32, section 1452(a)(9), or a foreign bank
holding company that is included in a combined return under
Article 32, section 1462(f), is required to file a license fee return.
However, a foreign corporation or bank holding company that
would not otherwise be taxable in New York State, except for its
inclusion in a combined return under Article 9-A or Article 32 is not
required to file a license fee return.

All foreign corporations included in a combined return under
Article 9-A or Article 32 that would be taxable in New York State if
they filed separate returns are required to file the license fee return
and compute the license fee on an individual basis.

When and where to file — File Form CT-240 with the first
franchise tax return, within 2% months after the end of the fiscal or
calendar year, and whenever a change is made in the capital share
structure of the corporation or whenever the amount of capital
stock employed in New York State has increased since the last

license fee return was filed. When filing Form CT-240 other than
with your franchise tax return, mail to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT

PO BOX 22038

ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private
delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your
form and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to
establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the
date recorded by a private delivery service unless you used a
delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary

of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.
(Currently designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55,
Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help? for
information on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used
a designated private delivery service and need to establish the
date you filed your form, contact that private delivery service for
instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your form
was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use any private
delivery service, whether it is a designated service or not, send the
forms covered by these instructions to: State Processing Center,
431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-4836.

License fee rates — The license fee rate is five cents on each
share of no-par value stock and 1/20 of 1% of the value of par
value stock. The minimum license fee is $10.

When the license fee is recomputed, the amount of any license fee
previously paid may be taken as a credit against the recomputed
license fee. However, no credit for license fees previously paid will
be allowed for a foreign corporation that merges or reincorporates
in another state. Refunds will not be made to a corporation when a
recomputed fee is less than the fee previously paid.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in
whole dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount
from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round
any amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a
minus (-) sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages,
convert decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two
spaces to the right. Round percentages to four decimal places.

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes
and not slashes).

Third-party designee

If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to
discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department,
mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of
your return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number,
and any five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her
personal identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize the
paid preparer who signed your return to discuss the return with
the Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for
the designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone number in
the space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to
provide the other information requested. If you do not want to
authorize another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:
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e give the Tax Department any information that is missing from
your return;

e call the Tax Department for information about the processing of
your return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

e respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with
the designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation.
The notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check,
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or
otherwise represent you before the Tax Department. If you want
the designee to perform those services for you, you must file

Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that designation with the
Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices or documents
(such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your designee if
you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically
end one year and 2%> months after the period-end date listed on
the form.

Specific instructions
Computation of license fee

Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United
States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money
order only if payable through a United States bank or if marked
Payable in U.S. funds.

Line 1 — Enter the total face value of issued par value stock. Do
not include treasury stock.

Line 4 — Enter the total number of shares of no-par value stock
issued. Do not include treasury stock.

Line 8 — Enter total license fee paid with prior license fee returns.
Do not include interest or additional charges paid with prior
returns.

Line 10 — If you do not pay the license fee on or before the due
date of the return, you must pay interest on the amount of the
underpayment from the due date to the date paid. (See Note.)

Line 11 — Late filing and late payment penalties

Compute charges for late filing and late payment on the amount of
the fee minus any payment made on or before the due date (with
regard to any extension of time for filing).

A If you do not file a return when due, add to the fee 5% per
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to the fee in item A above cannot be less than the
smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C If you do not pay the fee shown on a return, add to the fee 2%
per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D The total of the additional charges in items A and C above may
not exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in
item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach
a statement to your return explaining the delay in filing or payment
(section 1085).

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing
our Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may call and
we will compute the penalty and interest for you (see Need help?).

Schedule A — Foreign corporations (including
S corporations and corporations included in a combined
return) taxable under Tax Law, Article 9-A

Add the allocated New York State business capital, allocated
New York State investment capital, and the allocated New York

State subsidiary capital, then divide the result by total capital.

Example: Allocated NYS capital Capital everywhere
Business capital $750,000 $1,000,000
Investment capital 5,000 50,000
Subsidiary capital 100,000 100,000

$855,000 $1,150,000

License fee allocation percentage: 74.3478% (855,000 + 1,150,000)

Form CT-3-S filers: If you file Form CT-3-S, New York

S Corporation Franchise Tax Return, calculate your allocated
business and investment capital and total capital on Form CT-3,
General Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return, and your
allocated subsidiary capital on Form CT-3-ATT, Schedules B, C,
and D — Attachment to Form CT-3.

Combined filers: If you file Form CT-3-A, General Business
Corporation Combined Franchise Tax Return, calculate your
allocated business and investment capital and total capital, as
if you were filing on a separate basis, on Form CT-3, General
Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return, and your allocated
subsidiary capital on Form CT-3-ATT, Schedules B, C, and D —
Attachment to Form CT-3.

Schedule B — Foreign corporations taxable under Tax Law,
Article 9

Compute your license fee allocation percentage by dividing assets
employed in New York State by total assets. Do not include cash
or U.S. obligations as part of assets.

Schedule C — Foreign corporations taxable under Tax Law,
Article 32

Add together business capital and subsidiary capital allocated

to New York State and divide the result by total capital. Foreign
corporations taxable under section 1452(a)(9), and foreign bank
holding companies included in a combined return under

section 1462(f), are required to compute the license fee allocation
in the same manner as the issuer’s allocation percentage. The
computation of the issuer’s allocation percentage is described in
the instructions for Form CT-32, Banking Corporation Franchise Tax
Return.

Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

[ 1
Fax-on-demand forms: 1 800 748-3676

Corporation Tax Information Center: (518) 485-6027
In-state callers without free long distance: 1 888 698-2908

To order forms and publications: (518) 457-5431
In-state callers without free long distance: 1 800 462-8100

é‘_. Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline

oo, (for persons with hearing and
== speech disabilities using a TTY):

1800 634-2110

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain personal
information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to,
sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415

of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i)-

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and,
when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax information
programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to
certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support enforcement,
evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and training programs and
other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal
penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document Management,
NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone
(518) 457-5181.



