New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-184-M

CT-184-M-I

Transportation and Transmission Corporation

MTA Surcharge Return

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must complete
all required schedules and forms that make up your return, and
include all pages of those forms and schedules when you file.
Returns that are missing required pages or that have pages with
missing entries are considered incomplete and cannot be
processed, and may subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.

Up-to-date information affecting your tax return

Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that occurred
after the forms and instructions were printed (see Need help?).

Changes for 2009

Increase in the mandatory first installment (MFI) of estimated tax —
The Tax Law was amended to provide an increase in the MFI for taxpayers,
other than life insurance corporations filing Form CT-33, Life Insurance
Corporation Franchise Tax Return, or CT-33-A, Life Insurance Corporation
Combined Franchise Tax Return, and continuing section 186 taxpayers
filing Form CT-186, Utility Corporation Franchise Tax Return, whose
preceding year’s tax, exclusive of the metropolitan transportation business
tax (MTA surcharge), exceeded $100,000. For tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 2010, those taxpayers are required to pay a first installment
equal to 40% of the preceding year’s tax. Additionally, taxpayers who

are required to pay their MFI at the 40% rate and are subject to the MTA
surcharge are also required to calculate their estimated tax for the MTA
surcharge at 40% of the preceding year’s MTA surcharge. The remaining
three estimated tax payments are to be adjusted so that the total payments
do not exceed 100% of the estimated tax due. The MFI of estimated tax
and estimated MTA surcharge remains at 25% of the preceding year’s

tax and tax surcharge, respectively, for those taxpayers whose preceding
year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was less than or equal to $100,000.

Fee for payments returned by banks — A new law allows the Tax
Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order, or electronic
payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. However, if an electronic
payment is returned as a result of an error by the bank or the department,
the department won’t charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we

will send a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax document
associated with the returned payment.

General information

Who must file

Form CT-184 filers — If you do business, employ capital, own or lease
property, or maintain an office in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
District (MCTD), you must file Form CT-184-M and pay the metropolitan
transportation business tax surcharge (MTA surcharge) on business done

in the Metropolitan Transportation Authority region. The MCTD includes

the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess,
Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

When and where to file

This return is due on March 15 following the close of the calendar year. If
March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is due on
the next business day. Mail your return to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT

PO BOX 22038

ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services

If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of the U.S.
Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. However, if, at a

later date, you need to establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you
cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless you

used a delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary

of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently
designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private
Delivery Services. See Need help? for information on obtaining forms and
publications.) If you have used a designated private delivery service and
need to establish the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your
form was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use any private
delivery service, whether it is a designated service or not, send the forms
covered by these instructions to: State Processing Center, 431C Broadway,
Albany NY 12204-4836.

Extension of time for filing MTA surcharge return

You may request additional time to file an MTA surcharge return. File
Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension to File, on or before the
due date of the return for which you are requesting the extension and pay
the MTA surcharge you estimate to be due.

Completing your tax return

Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a different
format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes and not slashes).

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, mark an X in the
Amended return box on the top of the form.

An amended New York State return requesting a credit or refund must be
filed within three years of the time the original return was filed or within
two years of the time the tax was paid, whichever is later; or, if no return
was filed, within two years of the time the tax was paid. For additional
limitations on credits or refunds, see Tax Law section 1087.

Employer identification number, file number, and other identifying
information — For us to process your corporation tax forms, it is important
that we have the necessary identifying information. Keep a record of that
information and include it on each corporation tax form mailed.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use your
complete and accurate identifying information when completing all forms.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in whole dollars
rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount from 50 cents through

99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any amount less than 50 cents to
the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-) sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces
to the right. Round percentages to four decimal places.

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Third-party designee

If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to discuss
this tax return with the New York State Tax Department, mark an X in the
Yes box in the Third-party designee area of your return. Also print the
designee’s name, phone number, and any five-digit number the designee
chooses as his or her personal identification number (PIN). If you want to
authorize the paid preparer who signed your return to discuss the return
with the Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for the
designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone number in the space
for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to provide the other
information requested. If you do not want to authorize another person,
mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to discuss
with the designee any questions that may arise during the processing of
your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

e give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your return;

e call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your
return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with the
designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. The notices
will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check, bind you
to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent
you before the Tax Department. If you want the designee to perform those
services for you, you must file Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making

that designation with the Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices
or documents (such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your
designee if you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically end on the
due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your next year’s tax return.

Specific instructions

Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United States funds.
We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. funds.
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Computation of MTA surcharge

Worksheet for line 1

The MTA surcharge related to section 184 must be computed as if the
tax rates effective in periods ending on or before December 31, 1999,
were still in effect. Complete this worksheet before computing the
surcharge.

a. Gross earnings (from Form CT-184, line 1)............ a.
b. Tax rate (see instruction below) ...........cuuuuueeereneas b.
c. Tax on gross earnings (multiply line a by line b) ....C.
d. Tax on certain railroad dividends (from

FOrm CT-184, liN€ 4) «..ceeeeeeeeeeeieeeeeeieee e d.
e. Tax before credits (add lines c and d) ................. e.
f. Tax credits (from Form CT-184, i€ 5) .........euvevenees f.
g. Total tax (subtract line f from line e; transfer

this amount to Form CT-184-M, line 1) ......c.cc.cu.u.. g.

Worksheet instruction

Line b — Corporations principally engaged in railroad or trucking
activities (or a combination of both) enter .006. All other corporations

subject to section 184 enter .0075.

Line 4 — Foreign authorized corporations only: Credit this amount as a
payment toward your annual maintenance fee.

See Foreign corporations — Maintenance fee on Form CT-183/184-I,
Instructions for Forms CT-183 and CT-184.

Line 5b — If the franchise tax on Form CT-184, Transportation and
Transmission Corporation Franchise Tax Return on Gross Earnings, line 6,
is over $1,000, but is not greater than $100,000, enter 25% (.25) of the
amount on line 4. If the franchise tax on Form CT-184, line 6, is over
$100,000, enter 40% (.40) of the amount on line 4.

Enter 0 if the franchise tax on Form CT-184, line 6, is not more than $1,000.

Line 9 — Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation,
is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax Department that the corporation
meets one of the exceptions to reduce or eliminate the underpayment of
estimated tax penalty pursuant to Tax Law section 1085(d).

Line 10 — If you do not pay the MTA surcharge on or before the original
due date (without regard to any extension of time for filing), you must pay
interest on the amount of the underpayment from the original due date to
the date paid.

Line 11 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late payment on
the amount of MTA surcharge, minus any payment made on or before the
due date (with regard to any extension of time for filing). Exclude from the
penalty computation any amount shown on line 5a or 5b, first installment of
estimated tax for the next period.

A. If you do not file a return when due or if the request for extension
is invalid, add to the MTA surcharge 5% per month up to 25%
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to MTA surcharge in item A above cannot be less than the
smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax
(section 1085(a)(1)(B))-

C. If you do not pay the MTA surcharge shown on a return, add to the MTA
surcharge 2% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D. The total of the additional charges in items A and C above may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in item B above
(section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or both
(section 1085).

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing our
Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may call and we will

compute the penalty and interest for you (see Need help?).

Line 13 — If line 6 is less than line 7, subtract line 6 from line 7. This is the
amount of overpayment which may be divided between lines 14, 15, and
16 in any way you choose.

Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment — We will keep

all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due, legally
enforceable debt to a New York State agency, or if you owe a New York
City tax warrant judgment debt. We may also keep all or part of your refund
or overpayment if you owe a past-due legally enforceable debt to another

state, provided that state has entered into a reciprocal agreement with New
York State. If we keep your refund or overpayment, we will notify you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, bureau,
division, commission, committee, public authority, public benefit
corporation, council, office, or other entity performing a governmental or
proprietary function for the state or a social services district. We will refund
or apply as an overpayment any amount over your debt.

The Tax Department is authorized to charge the taxpayer, as part of the
taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed or charged by the United
States, or any state, for the payment or remittance of a taxpayer’s
overpayment to satisfy a New York State tax debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, legally
enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, or whether you owe
a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, contact the state agency, the
other state, or the New York City Department of Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call (518) 457-5434 (in-state callers
without free long distance call 1 800 835-3554) or write to: NYS Tax
Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement Division, W A Harriman
Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Schedule A — Computation of MCTD allocation
percentage

If you do all of your New York State business within the 12 counties of the
MCTD, do not complete this schedule. Enter 100 on line 2. If you do part of
your business outside the MCTD, compute an MCTD allocation percentage
by completing the appropriate part of this schedule.

Part 1 — General transportation or transmission
corporations

General transportation and transmission corporations such as trucking,
railroad, cable television operators, and messenger service companies
must use Part 1.

For general transportation corporations, the MCTD allocation
percentage is based on miles traveled within the 12 counties of the
MCTD compared to total miles traveled within New York State.

® For cable television operators, the MCTD allocation percentage is
based on gross receipts from subscribers within the 12 counties of the
MCTD compared to gross receipts from subscribers within New York
State.

Part 2 — Corporations operating vessels in MCTD
territorial waters

Corporations operating vessels must use Part 2. The same type of
information used on Form CT-183, Transportation and Transmission
Corporation Franchise Tax Return on Capital Stock, in Schedule A, Part 2,
is required.

Part 3 — Telegraph corporations and local telephone
corporations

A telegraph corporation or local telephone corporation must use Part 3.
The MCTD allocation percentage is based upon total gross operating
revenue from transmission services performed wholly within the 12 counties
of the MCTD, compared to total gross operating revenue from transmission
services performed within the entire state during the period covered by the
return.

Line 21 — Enter the gross operating revenue received from telegraph
services performed wholly within the MCTD in column A. Enter the gross
operating revenue received from telegraph services performed within the
entire state in column B.

Line 22 — Column A: Enter the gross operating revenue received from
local telephone services performed wholly within the MCTD. To determine
gross operating revenue in the MCTD you must: (1) follow the same
instructions for Form CT-184, line 22, except you must substitute MCTD
for New York State, and (2) from the amount determined in (1) deduct the
following (if sold to your customers for ultimate consumption):

® 100% of separately charged receipts derived from the provision of
inter-LATA, interstate, international, or inter-MCTD telecommunication
services; and

® 30% of separately charged receipts from the provision of
telecommunication services that originate and terminate entirely within a
LATA and entirely within the MCTD (but not including any receipts from
carrier access services).



Line 22 — Column B: Enter from Form CT-184, line 47, the gross operating
revenue received from local telephone services performed within the entire
state.

Composition of prepayments claimed on line 7

If you need more space, write see attached in this section, and attach a
separate sheet showing all relevant prepayment information. Transfer the
total shown on the attached sheet to line 7.

Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week. 1800 748-3676

& W Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
Corporation Tax Information Center: (518) 485-6027
In-state callers without free long distance: 1 888 698-2908

To order forms and publications: (518) 457-5431
In-state callers without free long distance: 1 800 462-8100

_A_ Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with hearing
see®e® and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you have
......... access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110.
_— If you do not own a TTY, check with independent
living centers or community action programs to find
out where machines are available for public use.

[ d Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
(J lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have

questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, call the information center.

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but
not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096,
1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security
numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i)-

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document Management,
NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227;
telephone (518) 457-5181.
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