
Up-to-date information affecting your tax return
Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that 
occurred after the forms and instructions were printed (see Need 
help?).

Changes for 2009
Credit, refund, and federal change forms are obsolete — 
Effective January 1, 2009, and applicable to all open tax periods, 
Form CT-8, Claim for Credit or Refund of Corporation Tax Paid, can 
no longer be used. For further information, see Important Notice, 
N-09-2, Form CT-8, Claim for Credit or Refund of Corporation 
Tax Paid, and Form CT-9, Claim for Tentative Refund Based Upon 
Carryback of Net Operating Loss, Are Obsolete. 

In addition, you can no longer use Form CT-3360, Federal 
Changes to Corporate Taxable Income. If your corporation’s 
federal taxable income (FTI) has been changed or corrected by a 
final determination of the Commissioner of Internal Revenue, you 
must file an amended New York State return reflecting the federal 
changes.

More collection options for New York State — If you owe 
unpaid debt to New York State, we are now able to collect your 
debt by taking money from, or offsetting, payments owed you 
by the federal government or by another state. Reciprocal offset 
agreements also allow the federal government, as well as other 
states, to collect delinquent non-tax debt by offsetting payments 
owed you by New York State.

New tax under Tax Law Article 23 — A new Metropolitan 
Commuter Transportation Mobility Tax (MCTMT) applies to certain 
employers and self-employed individuals engaging in business 
within the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). 
The tax applies to employers required to withhold New York State 
income tax from wages that have a payroll expense exceeding 
$2,500 in any calendar quarter. It also applies to individuals with 
net earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD that 
exceed $10,000 for the tax year. For more information about this 
new tax, visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov.

When computing your unrelated business taxable income, you 
must add back any Article 23 MCTMT deducted on your federal 
return. If you included a refund or credit on your federal return for 
Article 23 taxes, subtract that refund or credit from your federal 
unrelated business taxable income if no exclusion or deduction 
in computing Article 13 unrelated business taxable income was 
previously allowed for the refund or credit amount.

Fee for payments returned by banks — A new law allows the 
Tax Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order, 
or electronic payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. 
However, if an electronic payment is returned as a result of an error 
by the bank or the department, the department won’t charge the 
fee. If your payment is returned, we will send a separate bill for $50 
for each return or other tax document associated with the returned 
payment.

Who must file Form CT-13
An organization or trust, as described in Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) section 511(a)(2) or (b)(2), that is carrying on an unrelated 
trade or business in New York State must file this return and pay 
the tax due regardless of the amount of federal gross income from 
an unrelated trade or business. An unrelated trade or business is 
one not related to the purposes that exempt an organization from 
tax under IRC section 501. However, the following organizations 
are not subject to tax under Article 13 and are not required to file 
Form CT‑13: 
1.	 Corporations liable for tax under the Tax Law Article 9-A.
2.	 Organizations whose sole unrelated trade or business in 

New York State consists of providing commercial‑type 
insurance (IRC section 501(m)(2)(A)).

Mark an X in the appropriate box above line A on Form CT‑13 if 
you ceased operating the unrelated business during the tax year 
covered by this return. If you become liable for the unrelated 
business income tax during any subsequent tax year, you must 
resume filing Form CT‑13. 

When to file
File this form within 4½ months after the end of the reporting 
period. If you need more time to file, you may request 
an extension of the filing date by completing and filing 
Form CT‑5, Request for Six-Month Extension to File, and paying 
the tax due on or before the due date of this return.

Exception: Employee trusts, as described in IRC section 401(a), 
must file within 31/2  months after the reporting period ends. If you 
are an employee trust, mark an X in the appropriate box above 
line A on Form CT-13.

Where to file
Mail your return to:	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PROCESSING UNIT
	 PO BOX 22038
	 ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of 
the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. 
However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you 
filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a 
private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that 
has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated 
delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? for information on obtaining 
forms and publications.) If you have used a designated private 
delivery service and need to establish the date you filed your 
form, contact that private delivery service for instructions on how 
to obtain written proof of the date your form was given to the 
delivery service for delivery. If you use any private delivery service, 
whether it is a designated service or not, send the forms covered 
by these instructions to: State Processing Center, 431C Broadway, 
Albany NY 12204-4836

Amended return
If you are filing an amended return, mark an X in the Amended 
return box on the top of Form CT‑13. 

If you file an amended federal return, you must file an amended 
New York State return within 90 days thereafter.

For amended returns based on changes by the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) — If your federal taxable income (FTI) 
has been changed or corrected by a final determination of the 
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Important reminder to file a complete return: You must 
complete all required schedules and forms that make 
up your return, and include all pages of those forms 
and schedules when you file. Returns that are missing 
required pages or that have pages with missing entries are 
considered incomplete and cannot be processed, and may 
subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.



Commissioner of Internal Revenue, you must file an amended 
return reflecting the federal changes within 90 days of the final 
federal determination. For a definition of final determination, see 
NYS Regulation section 6-1.3(b). 

You must attach a copy of federal Form 4549, Income Tax 
Examination Changes, to your amended return.

For credits or refunds based upon carryback of a net operating 
loss (NOL) — To claim a credit or refund resulting from the 
carryback of an NOL to a prior year, file an amended return within 
90 days from the date of the document indicating approval of the 
federal refund or credit.

You must attach the following to your amended return:
•	 federal claim Form 1139, Corporation Application for Tentative 

Refund, or federal amended Form 990T, Exempt Organization 
Business Income Tax Return;

• 	a copy of the New York State return for the loss year; and
• 	proof of federal refund approval, Statement of Adjustment to 

Your Account.

For credits or refunds of corporation tax paid — To claim any 
refund type that requires an amended return, other than an NOL 
carryback (see above), file an amended New York State return for 
the year being amended and, if applicable, attach a copy of the 
claim form filed with the IRS (usually amended Form 990T) and 
proof of federal refund approval, Statement of Adjustment to Your 
Account.

The amended return must be filed within three years of the date 
the original return was filed or within two years of the date the tax 
was paid, whichever is later. If you did not file an original return, 
you must make the request within two years of the date the tax 
was paid. However, a claim for credit or refund based on a federal 
change must be filed within two years from the time the amended 
return reporting the change or correction was required to be filed 
(see above). For additional limitations on credits or refunds, see 
Tax Law section 1087. 

Business information
Enter the corporation’s business information at the top of the first 
page. Be sure to enter the corporation’s mailing name if different 
from its legal name.

If you need to update your corporation tax address or phone 
information, you can do so online. Visit our Web site at 
www.nystax.gov and look for the change my address option. 
Otherwise, enter your new address and/or phone number in the 
appropriate area of your return and mark an X in the box under 
the address. Do not mark an X in this box if your address and/or 
phone number is new since your last filing but was already 
updated online, or for any change of business information other 
than your address and/or phone number. Once your corporation 
tax information is updated online, you do not need to indicate a 
change of address on any corporation tax forms submitted to the 
Tax Department (or for any forms for tax types you select to be 
updated in addition to corporation tax).

If you prefer to change this information by form, use Form DTF-96, 
Report of Address Change for Business Tax Accounts. You must 
report other changes (such as business name or ID number) on 
Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. You can get these 
forms from our Web site, by fax, or by phone (see Need help?).

Reporting period
Use this tax return for calendar year 2009 and fiscal years that 
begin in 2009 and end in 2010.

You can also use the 2009 return if:
• 	you have a tax year of less than 12 months that begins and ends 

in 2010, and

• 	the 2010 return is not yet available at the time you are required 
to file the return.

In this case you must show your 2010 tax year on the 2009 return 
and take into account any tax law changes that are effective for tax 
years beginning after December 31, 2009.

All filers must complete the beginning and ending tax year boxes in 
the upper right corner on page 1 of the form.

Principal unrelated business activity
In the box labeled Principal unrelated business activity, give the 
one unrelated business activity that accounts for the largest 
percentage of total receipts. Total receipts are gross receipts 
and all other income. State the broad field of unrelated business 
activity as well as the specific product or services (for example, 
investments, providing services to or selling products to 
nonmembers, rental income, etc.).

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in 
whole dollars rather than dollars and cents. Round any amount 
from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round 
any amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar. 

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-) 
sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert 
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two 
spaces to the right. Round percentages to four decimal places.

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a 
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes 
and not slashes).

Specific line instructions
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United 
States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money 
order only if payable through a United States bank or if marked 
Payable in U.S. funds.

Line 3 — If you are a shareholder of a federal S corporation that 
did not make a New York S election, enter your pro rata share of 
any amounts that are required to be added to federal unrelated 
business taxable income.
— 	 Add back any items of deduction or loss that were passed 

through from the corporation and are included in federal 
unrelated business taxable income on line 1.

—	 Add back any distributions of cash or property from the 
S corporation that are not already included in federal unrelated 
business income pursuant to IRC section 1368 or 1371(e). Any 
distribution under IRC section 1368(b)(2) is treated as ordinary 
income.

—	 If gain or loss is included in unrelated business income, upon 
the disposition of stock or discharge of the indebtedness, add 
any increase in basis resulting from years that the corporation 
was a federal S corporation but was a C corporation for 
New York State tax purposes. Refer to Tax Law Article 13, 
section 292(a)(5), and Publication 35, New York Tax Treatment 
of S Corporations and Their Shareholders, for more information.

Line 4 — If you are a shareholder of a federal S corporation that 
did make a New York S election, enter your shareholder’s pro rata 
share of the federal subchapter S corporation’s reduction for taxes 
on built‑in gains or excess net passive income (IRC section 1366(f)). 
These taxes were paid at the entity level for federal tax purposes, 
reducing the gain for shareholders. The taxes are grossed up for 
New York State purposes.
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Line 5
IRC section 199 deduction — Enter in the first entry box the 
amount of the deduction for domestic production activities from 
your federal return that is required to be added back under Tax 
Law section 292(a)(7).

If you have the following other addition to federal unrelated 
business taxable income, add the amount from the first entry box 
to this addition and enter the result.

Royalty payments made to a related member or members — 
Enter the amount of related-member royalty expense required to 
be added back under Tax Law section 292(a)(6).

Line 7 — Enter income derived from the conduct of games of 
chance or from the rental of premises for the conduct of games of 
chance permitted by a license granted under General Municipal 
Law Article 9-A. Games of chance do not include bingo or lottery 
games. Also enter income from providing commercial‑type 
insurance that is included in federal unrelated business taxable 
income because of IRC section 501(m)(2)(A).

Line 8 — If you are a shareholder of a federal S corporation that 
did not make a New York S election, enter any amounts that must 
be subtracted from federal unrelated business taxable income.
— 	 Subtract items of income or gain passed through from the 

federal S corporation.
—	 If gain or loss is included in unrelated business income, upon 

the disposition of stock or discharge of the indebtedness, 
subtract any decrease in basis resulting from years that 
the corporation was a federal S corporation but was a 
C corporation for New York State tax purposes.

 — 	 Subtract the amount of any modifications to unrelated 
business income that were made on your federal return and 
that are attributable to the distribution of cash or property 
from the federal S corporation pursuant to IRC section 1368 or 
section 1371(e).

Line 9 — Other subtractions (attach list)

S-1  Enter the amount of related-member royalty income required 
to be subtracted under Tax Law section 292(a)(6).

S-2  Enter any amount of tax refunded or credited as an 
overpayment under this article or Article 23.

Line 12 — The net operating loss deduction (NOLD) is limited to 
the lower of either the federal or New York State net operating 
loss (NOL). Your NOL may not exceed the deduction allowable 
for federal tax. A NOLD cannot be claimed for periods that the 
taxpayer was not subject to tax under Tax Law Article 13.

Line 20 — If you do not pay the tax on or before the original due date, 
not the extended due date, you must pay interest on the amount of 
the underpayment from the original due date to the date paid.

Line 21 — Late filing and late payment penalties
Additional charges for late filing and late payment are computed 
on the amount of tax less any payment made on or before the due 
date, determined with regard to any extension of time for filing.

A.	 If you do not file a return when due, or if the application for 
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% (.05) per month up to a 
maximum 25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B.	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the 
addition to tax in item A above cannot be less than the smaller 
of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax 
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.	 If you fail to pay the tax shown on a return, add ½% (.005) 
per month to the balance due, up to a maximum 25% (.25) 
(section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	 The total of the additional charges in items A and C above 
may not exceed 5% (.05) in any one month, except as 
provided for in item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing or payment, 
or both (section 1085).

Line 23 — Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
We will keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe 
a past-due, legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, 
or if you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may 
also keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a 
past-due legally enforceable debt to another state, provided that 
state has entered into a reciprocal agreement with New York State. 
If we keep your refund or overpayment, we will notify you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, 
bureau, division, commission, committee, public authority, public 
benefit corporation, council, office, or other entity performing 
a governmental or proprietary function for the state or a social 
services district. We will refund or apply as an overpayment any 
amount over your debt.

The Tax Department is authorized to charge the taxpayer, as part 
of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed or charged by 
the United States, or any state, for the payment or remittance of a 
taxpayer’s overpayment to satisfy a New York State tax debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, 
legally enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, 
or whether you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, 
contact the state agency, the other state, or the New York City 
Department of Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call (518) 457-5434 (in-state 
callers without free long distance call 1 800 835-3554) or write to: 
NYS Tax Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement Division, 
W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Schedule A 
Lines 26 through 39 — Enter the New York State amount in 
column A and the entire amount in column B.

Line 26 — The fair market value of any asset is the price (without 
any encumbrance, whether or not the taxpayer is liable) at which a 
willing seller will sell and a willing purchaser will buy. Average fair 
market value is generally computed on a quarterly basis. If your 
usual accounting practice does not permit computing average 
fair market value quarterly or more frequently, you may use a 
semiannual or annual basis if no distortion of average fair market 
value results.

Line 27 — Gross rent includes any amount payable as rent or 
instead of rent, such as taxes and repairs, and the amount of 
annual amortization of any costs of leasehold improvements made 
by or on the behalf of the taxpayer. Multiply gross rents, paid or 
payable during the year covered by the return, by eight to arrive at 
the amount of gross rents to be included on line 27.

Line 29 — Tangible personal property includes personal property, 
such as machinery, tools, implements, goods, wares, and 
merchandise. Do not include cash, shares of stock, bonds, notes, 
credits, or evidence of an interest in property and evidence of debt.

Line 39 — Include only the personal service compensation of 
employees (other than general executive officers) of the unrelated 
trade or business.

General executive officers include the chairman, president, vice 
president, secretary, assistant secretary, treasurer, comptroller, 
and any other officer charged with the general executive affairs of 
the corporation. An executive officer whose duties are restricted 
to territory either within or outside New York State is not a general 
executive officer.
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Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing 
our Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may 
call and we will compute the interest and penalty for you (see 
Need help?).



Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
	 (for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
  available 24 hours a day,
	 7 days a week. 	 1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
	 5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-6027
In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 888 698-2908

To order forms and publications: 	 (518) 457-5431
In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 462-8100

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with hearing 
and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you have 
access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities 
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have 
questions about special accommodations for persons 
with disabilities, call the information center.

Third-party designee
If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to 
discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department, 
mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of 
your return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, 
and any five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her 
personal identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize the 
paid preparer who signed your return to discuss the return with 
the Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for 
the designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone number in 
the space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to 
provide the other information requested. If you do not want to 
authorize another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to 
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:
• 	give the Tax Department any information that is missing from 
your return;

•	call the Tax Department for information about the processing of 
your return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with 
the designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. 
The notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or 
otherwise represent you before the Tax Department. If you want 
the designee to perform those services for you, you must file 
Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that designation with the 
Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices or documents 
(such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your designee if 
you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically 
end on the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your 
next year’s tax return.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and 
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax 
Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 
308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and 
may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax 
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and 
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other 
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees 
is provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud 
prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness 
of certain employment and training programs and other purposes 
authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil 
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document 
Management, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, 
Albany NY 12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.
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