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Up-to-date information affecting your tax return
Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that occurred 
after the forms and instructions were printed (see Need help?).

Changes for 2008
Increase in the mandatory first installment of estimated tax — The 
Tax Law was amended to provide an increase in the mandatory first 
installment for taxpayers, other than life insurance corporations filing 
Forms CT-33 or CT-33-A, and continuing section 186 taxpayers filing 
Form CT-186, whose preceding year’s tax, exclusive of the metropolitan 
transportation business tax (MTA surcharge), exceeded $100,000. For 
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, those taxpayers are 
required to pay a first installment equal to 30% of the preceding year’s 
tax. Additionally, taxpayers who are required to pay their mandatory 
first installment at the 30% rate and are subject to the MTA surcharge 
are also required to calculate their estimated tax for the MTA surcharge 
at 30% of the preceding year’s MTA surcharge. The remaining three 
estimated tax payments are to be adjusted so that the total payments 
do not exceed 100% of the estimated tax due. The mandatory first 
installment of estimated tax and estimated MTA surcharge remains at 
25% of the preceding year’s tax and tax surcharge, respectively, for 
those taxpayers whose preceding year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was 
less than or equal to $100,000. 

Collection costs or fees for tax debts owed to New York State — 
The Tax Department has been authorized to charge the taxpayer, as 
part of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed or charged 
by the United States, or any state, for the payment or remittance of a 
taxpayer’s overpayment to satisfy a New York State tax debt. 

Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program — A Voluntary 
Disclosure and Compliance Program has been established. The 
program provides relief from certain penalties and criminal prosecution 
to eligible taxpayers who come forward and reveal previously 
undisclosed liabilities. Visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov for 
additional information.

Extension of tax shelter reporting requirements — The expiration 
date of the reporting requirements and related administrative 
provisions concerning the disclosure of certain transactions and related 
information regarding tax shelters, including those related to New York 
reportable transactions, has been extended to July 1, 2011. Visit our 
Web site at www.nystax.gov for additional information.

Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate — Certain tax 
preparers using tax software to prepare tax documents, and certain 
taxpayers preparing their own tax documents using tax software, must, 
for the applicable calendar year and all succeeding calendar years, 
e-file all documents authorized by the Commissioner to be e-filed. Any 
tax liability or other amount due required to be paid with a tax document 
that must be e-filed must also be e-paid. For more information, visit our 
Web site at www.nystax.gov and click on e-file.

Tax treatment of real estate investment trusts (REITs) and 
regulated investment companies (RICs) — For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 
2011, new legislation eliminates the 2007 amendment disallowing 
the investment proceeds of the insurance corporation from the 
REITs and RICs. In addition, the 2007 provision that excluded 
the addition of amounts attributable to the REITS and RICs as 
deductions directly or indirectly attributable to subsidiary capital is 
also eliminated.

The new legislation requires a captive REIT (as defined in new 
Tax Law Article 1, section 2.9) or a captive RIC (as defined in new 
Tax Law Article 1, section 2.10) to file a combined return with the 

closest corporation that directly or indirectly owns or controls over 
50% of the voting stock of the captive REIT or the captive RIC. 
In addition, a qualified REIT subsidiary must be included in the 
combined return of its captive REIT parent. 

The entire net income (ENI) of the captive REIT or RIC (Tax Law 
section 1515(f)(5)(ii)) generally has the same meaning as the terms 
real estate investment trust taxable income and investment company 
taxable income, respectively, are defined pursuant to the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC). However, for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2011, the deduction allowed 
by the IRC for dividends paid by the captive REIT or captive RIC to any 
member of the affiliated group that includes the corporation that directly 
or indirectly owns or controls over 50% of the voting stock of the captive 
REIT or captive RIC will not be allowed.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation, 
revised — Previously, Form CT-222 was used by a corporation to 
report to the Tax Department the amount of the underpayment of 
estimated tax penalty the corporation was subject to. Beginning with 
the 2008 Form CT-222, corporations will file Form CT-222 only to inform 
the Tax Department that the corporation meets one of the exceptions 
to the underpayment of estimated tax penalty. The Tax Department will 
compute the amount of any penalty and notify the corporation of any 
amount due.

Brownfield credits revised — Numerous changes have been made 
to the brownfield program tax credits. For additional information, see 
Forms CT-611, Claim for Brownfield Redevelopment Tax Credit, CT-612, 
Claim for Remediated Brownfield Credit for Real Property Taxes, and 
CT-613, Claim for Environmental Remediation Insurance Credit.

Investment tax credit for the financial services industry — The 
investment tax credit and the EZ investment tax credit for the financial 
services industry have been extended to include property placed in 
service before October 1, 2011. In addition, recent legislation has 
added a new test to determine if you are eligible to claim the credit. For 
additional information, see Form CT-44, Claim for Investment Tax Credit 
for the Financial Services Industry, and its instructions; or Form CT-605, 
Claim for EZ Investment Tax Credit and EZ Employment Incentive 
Credit for the Financial Services Industry, and its instructions.

Limited liability company (LLC) filing fee — For tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2008, limited liability companies that are 
disregarded entities for federal income tax purposes are subject to a 
filing fee of $25. For additional information, see Form IT-204-LL, Limited 
Liability Company/Limited Liability Partnership Filing Fee Payment 
Form.

Important information
Reporting requirements for tax shelters — The Tax Law requires 
taxpayers to report information about transactions that present the 
potential for tax avoidance (tax shelters). There are separate reporting 
requirements for those who use tax shelters and for those who promote 
the use of tax shelters. For the most recent information on these 
reporting requirements visit our Web site.

Who must file Form CT-33-NL
—	Domestic non-life insurance corporations for the privilege of 

exercising a corporate franchise.

—	Foreign and alien non‑life insurance corporations doing business, 
employing capital, owning or leasing property, or maintaining an 
office in this state.

—	Non-life insurance corporations exempt from federal income tax but 
conducting business in New York State.

—	 An unauthorized non-life insurance corporation that is affiliated 
with an insurer licensed in New York State and is operating from an 
office within the state pursuant to New York State Insurance Law 
sections 1101(b)(5) and 2117(i). See TSB‑M‑00(1)C, Amended 
Definition of Insurance Corporation (Article 33), for additional 
information.

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must complete 
all required schedules and forms that make up your return, and 
include all pages of those forms and schedules when you file. 
Returns that are missing required pages or that have pages with 
missing entries are considered incomplete and cannot be processed, 
and may subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.
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—	Risk retention groups as defined in subsection (n) of Insurance Law 
section 5902.

Exceptions: Insurance corporations specifically exempted by Tax Law 
section 1512 do not have to file Form CT-33-NL. Captive insurance 
companies licensed by the Superintendent of Insurance under 
Insurance Law Article 70 must file Form CT-33-C, Captive Insurance 
Company Franchise Tax Return.

Definition of insurance corporation — An insurance corporation 
as defined by Tax Law, Article 33, section 1500 is any corporation, 
association, joint stock company or association, person, society, 
aggregation, or partnership doing an insurance business.

Definition of non-life insurance corporation — A non-life insurance 
corporation is any insurance corporation, other than a life insurance 
corporation, that is authorized to transact business in New York State 
under a certificate of authority from the superintendent of the New York 
State Insurance Department.

Non-life insurance corporations subject to a franchise tax 
based solely on premiums — Non-life insurance corporations are 
subject to a franchise tax based solely on premiums under Tax Law 
section 1502-a.

The franchise tax is calculated in the same manner as the additional 
franchise tax based on premiums under Tax Law section 1510(a), 
except that the tax rate is:
•	 1.75% for accident and health premiums; and
•	 2.00% for all other premiums.

The tax imposed under section 1502-a, before the application of tax 
credits, cannot be less than $250.

When and where to file
File your return within 2½ months after the end of your reporting period. 
If you are reporting for the calendar year, file your return on or before 
March 15. If your filing date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
then you must file your return on or before the next business day.

If you cannot meet this filing deadline, you may request a six-month 
extension of time by filing Form CT-5, Request for Six-Month Extension 
to File.

Mail your returns and attachments to:
	 NYS Corporation Tax
	 Processing Unit
	 PO Box 22038
	Alb any NY 12201-2038

Also mail a copy to:
	 NYS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
	O NE COMMERCE PLAZA
	A LBANY NY 12257

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private 
delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your 
return and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to 
establish the date you filed your return or paid your tax, you cannot 
use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless you used 
a delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of 
the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently 
designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated 
Private Delivery Services. See Need help? for information on obtaining 
forms and publications.) If you have used a designated private delivery 
service and need to establish the date you filed your return, contact that 
private delivery service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of 
the date your return was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you 
use any private delivery service, whether it is a designated service or 
not, send the forms covered by these instructions to: State Processing 
Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-4836. You must also mail a 
copy to the NYS Insurance Department address listed above.

How to fill out your return
Computerized returns — We will accept computer-produced 
corporation tax returns if they meet our printing specifications. For 
information, see Publication 76, Specifications for Reproduction of 
New York State Corporation Tax Forms.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in whole 
dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount from 

50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any amount 
less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar. 

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-) 
sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert 
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces to 
the right. Carry percentages to four decimal places.
Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a 
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes and 
not slashes).

Specific instructions
Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please mark 
an X in the Amended return box on the top of Form CT-33-NL.

Reporting period — Use this tax return for calendar year 2008 and 
fiscal years that begin in 2008 and end in 2009.
You can also use the 2008 return if:
•	 you have a tax year of less than 12 months that begins and ends in 

2009, and
•	 the 2009 return is not yet available at the time you are required to file 

the return. 
In this case you must show your 2009 tax year on the 2008 return and 
take into account any tax law changes that are effective for tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2008. 

All filers must complete the beginning and ending tax year boxes in the 
upper right corner on page 1 of the form.

Important identifying information — When preparing your corporation 
tax return, please be sure to accurately complete the corporation’s 
identifying information (employer identification number (EIN) and file 
number) including your current address. Keep a record of your identifying 
information for future use.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use your 
complete and accurate information when completing all your forms.

Change of address — If your address has changed, please enter your 
new address in the appropriate area and mark an X in the box below 
the address so that we can update your address for this tax type. Do not 
mark an X in this box for any change of business information other than 
for your address.

Change in business information — You must report any changes in 
your business name, ID number, mailing address, physical address, 
telephone number, or owner/officer information on Form DTF-95, 
Business Tax Account Update. If only your address has changed, you 
may use Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax 
Accounts, to correct your address for this and all other tax types. You 
can get these forms from our Web site, or by fax, or phone. See Need 
help?).

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code and 
principal business activity — Enter the six‑digit NAICS business 
activity code number and principal business activity. The NAICS codes 
may be found in Publication 910, NAICS Codes for Principal Business 
Activity for New York State Tax Purposes, and on the department’s 
Web site (see Need help?).

Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) 
section 1505-a — Any insurance corporation taxable under Article 33 
that does business, employs capital, owns or leases property, or 
maintains an office in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation 
District (MCTD) must file Form CT-33-M, Insurance Corporation 
MTA Surcharge Return, and pay the MTA surcharge imposed by 
section 1505-a. The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, 
Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, 
Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester. Corporations not doing business in 
the MCTD must disclaim liability for the tax surcharge by answering No 
to the question on the front of Form CT-33-NL. They are not required to 
file Form CT-33-M.

Third-party designee — If you want to authorize another person 
(third-party designee) to discuss this tax return with the New York State 
Tax Department, mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee 
area of your return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, 
and any five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her personal 
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identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize the paid preparer 
who signed your return to discuss the return with the Tax Department, 
print the preparer’s name in the space for the designee’s name and 
enter the preparer’s phone number in the space for the designee’s 
phone number. You do not have to provide the other information 
requested. If you do not want to authorize another person, mark an X in 
the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to 
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

• 	 give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your 
return;

•	 call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your 
return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with the 
designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. The 
notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise 
represent you before the Tax Department. If you want the designee to 
perform those services for you, you must file Form POA-1, Power of 
Attorney, making that designation with the Tax Department. Copies of 
statutory tax notices or documents (such as a Notice of Deficiency) will 
only be sent to your designee if you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically end on 
the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your next year’s tax 
return.

Signature — The return must be certified by the president, vice 
president, treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or 
other officer authorized by the taxpayer.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the return, the signature of the 
person and the name of the firm must be included.

Line instructions
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United States 
funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if 
payable through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. 
funds.

Computation of tax and installment payments of estimated tax
Line 1 — Enter the amount of accident and health premiums from 
line 34 in the first box. Multiply accident and health premiums by the tax 
rate of 1.75% (.0175) and enter the result here.

Line 2 — Enter the amount of other non-life insurance premiums from 
line 35 in the first box. Multiply other non-life insurance premiums by the 
tax rate of 2.0% (.02) and enter the result here.

Line 6 — Enter the total amount of tax credits claimed from line 47.

Line 8b — If your tax on line 7 exceeds $1,000 and you did not file 
Form CT-5, Request for Six-Month Extension to File, you must pay 
a mandatory first installment for the period following the one that is 
covered by this return. If your tax exceeds $1,000, but does not exceed 
$100,000, enter 25% (.25) of the tax shown on line 7. If your tax 
exceeds $100,000, enter 30% (.3) of the tax shown on line 7. 

Line 10 — Enter the total of all prepayments of estimated tax from 
line 46.

Line 12 — Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a 
Corporation, is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax Department that 
the corporation meets one of the exceptions to the underpayment of 
estimated tax penalty pursuant to Tax Law section 1085(d). 

Line 13 — If you do not pay the tax due on or before the original due 
date (without regard to any extension of time for filing), you must 
pay interest on the amount of underpayment (line 7 minus line 10) 
from the original due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest 
computation any amount shown on line 8a or 8b, First installment of 
estimated tax for next period.

Line 14 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late payments 
on the amount of tax minus any payment made on or before the due 
date (with regard to any extension of time for filing) (line 7 minus 
line 10). Exclude from the penalty computation any amount shown on 
line 8a or 8b, First installment of estimated tax for next period.

A 	 If you do not file a return when due or if the request for 
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25% 
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B 	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the 
addition to tax in item A above cannot be less than the smaller 
of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax 
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C 	 If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax ½% per 
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D 	The total of the additional charges in items A and C above may 
not exceed 5% for any one month except as provided for in item B 
above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining reasonable cause for the delay in 
filing, payment, or both (section 1085).

Lines 21a and 21b — If you request a refund of unused tax credits, 
enter the total amount on line 21a. If you request tax credits to be 
credited as an overpayment to next year’s tax, enter the total amount on 
line 21b. Attach the appropriate tax credit forms.

Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment — We will 
keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due, 
legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, or if you owe a 
New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may also keep all or part 
of your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due legally enforceable 
debt to another state, provided that state has entered into a reciprocal 
agreement with New York State. If we keep your refund or overpayment, 
we will notify you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, 
bureau, division, commission, committee, public authority, public benefit 
corporation, council, office, or other entity performing a governmental 
or proprietary function for the state or a social services district. We will 
refund or apply as an overpayment any amount over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, legally 
enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, or whether 
you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, contact the state 
agency, the other state, or the New York City Department of Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554 (from areas 
outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800) or write 
to: NYS Tax Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement Division, 
W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Schedule A — Allocation of reinsurance premiums when location 
of risks cannot be determined — Complete this schedule to 
allocate reinsurance premiums to New York State when the location or 
residence of the property or risks covered by the reinsurance cannot be 
determined. This schedule must be completed for premiums assumed 
from authorized companies.

Column C — Enter the percentage each ceding corporation’s New York 
premiums bear to its total premiums for the preceding tax year 
(reinsurance allocation percentage). You may obtain this percentage 
from tax service publications or by calling the Corporation Tax 
Information Center (see Need help?). If the ceding corporation did not 
do business in New York State during the preceding year and therefore 
did not file a New York State tax return, the percentage is zero.

Schedule B — Computation of reinsurance allocation 
percentage — For both the numerator and denominator of the 
reinsurance allocation percentage, the term premium includes all 
amounts received as consideration for insurance, reinsurance and 
annuity contracts, including premium deposits, assessments, policy 
fees, membership fees, and all other compensation for such contracts.

Line 25 — Enter the total New York taxable premiums from 
lines 34 and 35, plus any additional premiums on these types of policies 
that were written, procured, or received in New York on business that 
cannot be specifically assigned as located or resident in any other 
state or states that were not included on lines 34 and 35 (attach 
schedules for such additional premiums). Do not include in this amount 
any separate costs assessed by the insurance corporation upon its 
policyholders. See Tax Law section 1504(b)(2)(A). Include any New 

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing our 
Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may call and we 
will compute the penalty and interest for you (see Need help?).
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York premiums for long‑term care insurance policies under Chapter 90, 
Title 5, of the United States Code, and any New York premiums for 
federal group life insurance policies under Chapter 87, Title 5, of the 
United States Code, when computing the premium percentage.

Line 26 — Enter the total ocean marine premiums written, procured, or 
received on property or risks located or resident in New York State, plus 
ocean marine premiums written within New York State on property or 
risks that cannot be specifically assigned as located or resident in any 
other state or country. See Tax Law section 1504(b)(2)(C).

Line 27 — Enter the total of premiums for annuity contracts and 
insurance for the elderly that are written, procured, or received on risks 
located or resident in New York State, and those premiums for annuity 
contracts and insurance for the elderly written, procured, or received 
in New York State on business that cannot be specifically assigned as 
located or resident in any other state or states. 

Line 28 — Enter the total New York premiums on reinsurance assumed 
from authorized companies. Include reinsurance premiums from 
unauthorized companies that relate to transactions authorized under 
Insurance Law section 2105 and that are subject to the premiums 
tax on excess-lines brokers under Insurance Law section 2118. Also, 
include premiums allocated to New York State where the location of the 
risk cannot be determined and premiums from risks located in New York 
State.

Line 30 — Enter the total amount of New York premiums included on 
line 29 that were ceded to other insurance companies.

Attach a separate schedule showing the computation of New York 
premiums included in lines 25 through 31.

Line 32 — You must report total premiums on a written or paid-for 
basis, consistent with the basis required by the annual statement filed 
with the Superintendent of Insurance.

Attach a separate schedule showing the computation of total 
premiums included on line 32.

First, determine total gross premiums, deposit premiums, and 
assessments, less returns thereon, on all policies, annuity contracts, 
certificates, renewals, policies subsequently canceled, and insurance 
and reinsurance executed, issued, or delivered on property or risks, 
including premiums for reinsurance assumed. Include only those 
special risk premiums written, procured, or received in New York State 
on risks located or resident in New York State.

From the total amount determined, deduct dividends on total premiums 
and premiums on reinsurance ceded. When computing the dividend 
deduction, include unused or unabsorbed portions of premium deposits 
paid or credited to policyholders, but not deferred dividends paid in cash 
to policyholders on maturing policies or cash surrender values.

Schedule C — Computation of taxable premiums — Use 
Schedule C to compute premiums taxable under section 1502-
a and transfer them to the appropriate boxes on lines 1 and 2 of 
Form CT-33-NL.

Report direct premiums on a written or paid-for basis, consistent with 
the basis required by the annual statement filed with the Superintendent 
of Insurance. For purposes of computing taxable premiums, the 
term premium includes all amounts received as consideration for 
insurance or reinsurance contracts (except annuity contracts), including 
premium deposits, assessments, policy fees, membership fees, any 
separate costs by carriers assessed upon their policyholders, and all 
other consideration for such contracts. Exclude premiums for federal 
long‑term care insurance policies under Chapter 90, Title 5, of the 
United States Code, and any premium under Chapter 87, Title 5, of the 
United States Code.

Taxable premiums include gross direct premiums minus return premiums, 
reinsurance premiums assumed, and dividends paid or credited.

—	Gross direct premiums — Include total gross premiums, fair 
plan premiums, deposit premiums and assessments, less returns 
thereon, on all policies, certificates, renewals subsequently 
canceled, insurance and reinsurance executed, issued, or delivered 
on property or risks located or resident in New York State, and 
premiums written, procured, or received in New York State on 
business that cannot be specifically allocated or apportioned and 
reported as taxable premiums or which have not been used as 
a measure of a tax on business of any other state or states. Also 

include special risk premiums written, procured, or received in New 
York State on risks located or resident in New York State. Do not 
deduct reinsurance ceded. When computing taxable premiums, do 
not include premiums on annuity contracts, ocean marine insurance, 
and policies issued under Insurance Law section 4236. Also exempt 
from the tax on premiums are premiums on risks located outside 
the United States that were written, procured, or received in New 
York State, except for insurance written by foreign and alien title 
insurance corporations and accident and health insurance.

—	Deductions from gross direct premiums
	 • 	 Reinsurance premiums assumed — When computing gross 

direct premiums, you may deduct (1) reinsurance premiums 
assumed, minus return premiums, that have been received by 
way of reinsurance from corporations or other insurers authorized 
to transact business in this state; and (2) reinsurance premiums 
assumed from unauthorized companies that relate to transactions 
authorized under Insurance Law section 2105 and that are subject 
to the premiums tax on excess-lines brokers under Insurance Law 
section 2118.

	 • 	 Dividends paid or credited — You may deduct dividends on 
direct premiums and unused or unabsorbed portions of premium 
deposits paid or credited to policyholders. This deduction does 
not include deferred dividends paid in cash to policyholders on 
maturing policies or cash surrender values.

Schedule D — Computation of issuer’s allocation percentage
Complete this schedule by entering New York gross direct premiums on 
line 36 and total gross direct premiums on line 37 as reported in your 
annual statement filed with the Superintendent of Insurance for the tax 
year. Tax Law section 1085(a) provides for a penalty of $500 for failure to 
provide information needed to compute your issuer’s allocation percentage.

Composition of prepayments
Lines 39 through 46 — If you need more space, write see attached 
in this section and attach a separate sheet showing all relevant 
prepayment information. Transfer the total shown on the attached sheet 
to line 10.

Line 44 — Include overpayment credited from prior years. You may also 
include from last year’s return any amount of refundable tax credits you 
chose to be credited as an overpayment.

Summary of tax credits claimed against current year’s 
franchise tax — Ordering of credits — Tax credits under Article 33 
must be applied in the following order:

1.	 Empire zone (EZ) capital tax credit.

2.	 EZ and zone equivalent area (ZEA) wage tax credits.

3.	 Noncarryover credits that are not refundable.

4.	 Carryover credits that are of limited duration.

5.	 Carryover credits that are of unlimited duration.

6.	 Refundable credits.

Line 47 — Enter the total tax credits claimed that were used to reduce 
the tax due. Generally, these credits may not reduce the tax below 
the $250 minimum tax. However, the retaliatory tax credits and the 
fire insurance premiums tax credit may further reduce the tax due to 
zero. Enter in the appropriate boxes the total amount of each tax credit 
claimed. If you are required to recapture a tax credit that was allowed in 
a previous reporting period, and the result is a negative credit amount 
on your credit claim form, enter this negative amount, with a minus sign, 
in the applicable box.

Fire insurance premiums tax credit — Credit for taxes on premiums 
for any insurance on loss or damage by fire under Insurance Law 
sections 9104 and 9105 or under the charters of the cities of Buffalo or 
New York. These taxes must have been paid or accrued during the tax 
year covered by this return. The fire insurance premiums tax credit is 
limited to the amount reported on line 5 less the EZ capital tax credit, 
EZ or ZEA wage tax credits, and any noncarryover credits that are not 
refundable that are being claimed before this credit. The credit cannot 
be carried over to any other year. Attach the Report of Premiums, 
including Supplementary Schedules I and II, when claiming this credit.

Retaliatory tax credits — Attach Form CT‑33‑R, Claim for Retaliatory 
Tax Credits, to claim these credits. Do not claim the MTA surcharge 
retaliatory tax credit on this form.



Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
	 available 24 hours a day,
	 7 days a week. 	 1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
  5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications: 	 1 800 462-8100

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 1 888 698-2908
From areas outside the U.S. and
  outside Canada:	  (518) 485-6800

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with  
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you  
have access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that 
our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities 
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have 
questions about special accommodations for persons 
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.
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Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain 
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including 
but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171‑a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 
697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of 
social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities 
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax 
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided 
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support 
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and 
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management 
and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, 
Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225‑5829. From areas outside the 
United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485‑6800.

CAPCO credit — Attach Form CT-33.1, Claim for CAPCO Credit.

Credit for employment of persons with disabilities — Attach 
Form CT‑41, Claim for Credit for Employment of Persons with 
Disabilities.

Special additional mortgage recording tax credit — Attach 
Form CT-43, Claim for Special Additional Mortgage Recording Tax 
Credit.

Investment tax credit for the financial services industry — Attach 
Form CT‑44, Claim for Investment Tax Credit for the Financial Services 
Industry.

Long‑term care insurance credit — Attach Form CT‑249, Claim for 
Long‑Term Care Insurance Credit.

Defibrillator credit — Attach Form CT-250, Credit for Purchase of an 
Automated External Defibrillator.

Fuel cell electric generating equipment credit — Attach 
Form CT-259, Claim for Fuel Cell Electric Generating Equipment Credit.

Empire zone wage tax credit — Attach a copy of Form CT-601, Claim 
for EZ Wage Tax Credit.

ZEA wage tax credit — Attach a copy of Form CT-601.1, Claim for 
ZEA Wage Tax Credit.

Empire zone capital tax credit — Attach a copy of Form CT-602, 
Claim for EZ Capital Tax Credit.

Qualified empire zone enterprise (QEZE) tax reduction credit — 
Attach Form CT-604, Claim for QEZE Tax Reduction Credit.

QEZE credit for real property taxes — Attach Form CT-606, Claim for 
QEZE Credit for Real Property Taxes.

Brownfield redevelopment tax credit — Attach Form CT-611, Claim 
for Brownfield Redevelopment Tax Credit.

Remediated brownfield credit for real property taxes — Attach 
Form CT-612, Claim for Remediated Brownfield Credit for Real Property 
Taxes.

Environment remediation insurance credit — Attach Form CT-613, 
Claim for Environmental Remediation Insurance Credit.

Security officer training tax credit — Attach Form CT-631, Claim for  
Security Officer Training Tax Credit.

Low-income housing credit — Attach Form DTF-624, Claim for 
Low‑Income Housing Credit.

Green building credit — Attach Form DTF‑630, Claim for Green 
Building Credit.

Enter in the Other credits box any credits being claimed on line 6 that 
are not specifically listed above and attach the appropriate form(s).

Line 48 — Enter the total amount of refund eligible tax credits claimed 
on line 47. The retaliatory tax credits, the QEZE real property tax credit, 
the brownfield redevelopment tax credit, the remediated brownfield 
credit for real property taxes, the environmental remediation insurance 
credit, the security officer training tax credit, and the ITC for the 
financial services industry (for qualified new businesses only) are the 
only refund-eligible credits under Article 33.

Your rights under the Tax Law
The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part, that the Tax Department 
advise you, in writing, of your rights and obligations during an audit, 
when appealing a Tax Department decision, and when your appeal 
rights have been exhausted and you need to understand the Tax 
Department’s enforcement capabilities. For a complete copy of the 
information contained in all of these statements, see Publication 131, 
Your Rights and Obligations Under the Tax Law. For a copy, you may 
visit our Web site or call (see Need help?).




