
Up-to-date information affecting your tax return
Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that 
occurred after the forms and instructions were printed (see 
Need help? ).

Changes for 2008
Increase in the mandatory first installment of estimated tax — 
The Tax Law was amended to provide an increase in the mandatory 
first installment for taxpayers, other than life insurance corporations 
filing Forms CT-33 or CT-33-A, and continuing section 186 
taxpayers filing Form CT-186, whose preceding year’s tax, exclusive 
of the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge), 
exceeded $100,000. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2009, those taxpayers are required to pay a first installment equal 
to 30% of the preceding year’s tax. Additionally, taxpayers who are 
required to pay their mandatory first installment at the 30% rate and 
are subject to the MTA surcharge are also required to calculate their 
estimated tax for the MTA surcharge at 30% of the preceding year’s 
MTA surcharge. The remaining three estimated tax payments are 
to be adjusted so that the total payments do not exceed 100% of 
the estimated tax due. The mandatory first installment of estimated 
tax and estimated MTA surcharge remains at 25% of the preceding 
year’s tax and tax surcharge, respectively, for those taxpayers 
whose preceding year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was less than or 
equal to $100,000. 

Collection costs or fees for tax debts owed to New York 
State — The Tax Department has been authorized to charge the 
taxpayer, as part of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed 
or charged by the United States, or any state, for the payment or 
remittance of a taxpayer’s overpayment to satisfy a New York State 
tax debt.

Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program — A Voluntary 
Disclosure and Compliance Program has been established. 
The program provides relief from certain penalties and criminal 
prosecution to eligible taxpayers who come forward and 
reveal previously undisclosed liabilities. Visit our Web site at 
www.nystax.gov for additional information.

Extension of tax shelter reporting requirements — The 
expiration date of the reporting requirements and related 
administrative provisions concerning the disclosure of certain 
transactions and related information regarding tax shelters, 
including those related to New York reportable transactions, has 
been extended to July 1, 2011. Visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov 
for additional information.

Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate — Certain tax 
preparers using tax software to prepare tax documents, and certain 
taxpayers preparing their own tax documents using tax software, 
must, for the applicable calendar year and all succeeding calendar 
years, e-file all documents authorized by the Commissioner to be 
e-filed. Any tax liability or other amount due required to be paid with 
a tax document that must be e-filed must also be e-paid. For more 
information, visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov and click on e-file.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a 
Corporation, revised — Previously, Form CT-222 was used by 
a corporation to report to the Tax Department the amount of the 
underpayment of estimated tax penalty the corporation was subject 
to. Beginning with the 2008 Form CT-222, corporations will file 
Form CT-222 only to inform the Tax Department that the corporation 

meets one of the exceptions to the underpayment of estimated 
tax penalty. The Tax Department will compute the amount of any 
penalty and notify the corporation of any amount due.

General information
Tax rates — The tax rate is 2% (.02) on noncommodity gas and 
electric service (receipts from transportation, transmission, or 
distribution of gas or electricity).

Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) — 
For a utility supervised by the Department of Public Service, 
the MTA surcharge on Form CT‑186‑P/M, Utility Services MTA 
Surcharge Return, is computed using the 2% tax rate on gross 
income.

Who must file Form CT-186-P — Every utility doing business in 
New York State that is subject to the supervision of the New York 
State Department of Public Service that transports, transmits, or 
distributes gas or electricity, by means of mains, pipes, or wires for 
ultimate consumption or use by the purchaser in this state must 
file this form. Utilities include persons, corporations, companies, 
associations, joint stock associations, partnerships, estates, 
assignees of rents, persons acting in a fiduciary capacity, and 
persons, their assignees, lessees, trustees, or receivers, appointed 
by any court, that are subject to the supervision of the New York 
State Department of Public Service. Utilities that do not have any 
receipts from the transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas 
or electricity are not required to file this return.

The following taxpayers are required to file Form CT‑186‑P:
A.	 All municipalities, political and civil subdivisions, and public 

districts that transport, transmit, or distribute gas or electricity 
must file. Do not include as taxpayers those described under 
Exemption from tax, item 2.

B.	 All municipalities engaged in the transportation, transmission, or 
distribution of electricity must file. Do not include as taxpayers 
those described under Exemption from tax, item 3.

A utility subject to section 186-a that has gross income of less 
than $500 for the tax year ending December 31 is exempt from the 
payment of the tax under this section, but must still file a return. For 
additional information, see the instructions for lines 3 and 4.

Other forms you may have to file
Reporting requirements for tax shelters — The Tax Law requires 
taxpayers to report information about transactions that present 
the potential for tax avoidance (tax shelters). There are separate 
reporting requirements for those who use tax shelters and for 
those who promote the use of tax shelters. For the most recent 
information on these reporting requirements visit our Web site.

Excise tax on telecommunication services — If you 
are a telephone or telegraph company or other provider of 
telecommunication services, even if those services are not your 
primary business, do not file this form. File Form CT‑186-E, 
Telecommunications Tax Return and Utility Services Tax Return, 
instead to report the tax imposed by sections 186-a and 186-e.

Exemption from tax — The following are exempt from taxation 
under section 186-a and do not have to file Form CT‑186‑P:
1.	 New York State, municipalities, political and civil subdivisions of 

New York State, or municipal and public districts, when selling or 
furnishing steam, water, or refrigeration service.

2.	 Municipalities, political and civil subdivisions, and public 
districts that sell or furnish gas, electricity, and gas or electric 
service, including the sale of the transportation, transmission, or 
distribution of gas or electricity, if they own and operate facilities 
used to generate electricity or distribute electricity or gas, and 
then sell or distribute such electricity or gas solely at retail within 
their jurisdiction.

	 New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

	 Instructions for Form CT-186-P
	 Utility Services Tax Return — Gross Income
	 Tax Law — Article 9, Section 186-a

CT-186-P-I

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must 
complete all required schedules and forms that make up your 
return, and include all pages of those forms and schedules 
when you file. Returns that are missing required pages or that 
have pages with missing entries are considered incomplete 
and cannot be processed, and may subject taxpayers to 
penalty and interest.
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3.	 Municipalities engaged in the retail sale of electricity or the 
transportation, transmission, or distribution of electricity, when 
all such electricity has been generated solely by and purchased 
solely from New York State or a public authority of New York 
State (for example, New York State Power Authority).

4.	 Not-for-profit corporations and associations described in 
Tax Law section 1116(a)(4), organized and operated exclusively 
for religious, charitable, or educational purposes, when the 
organization resells gas or electricity, or gas or electric service, 
as landlord to its tenants in buildings owned by the organization.

5.	 A corporation leasing from a city in New York State a water 
works system to supply water at cost to relieve water pollution in 
a river within that city.

6.	 Limited dividend housing corporations organized under the 
Private Housing Finance Law.

When and where to file — You must report gross income on a 
calendar-year basis to New York State, even if you maintain your 
records and report to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) using a 
fiscal accounting period.

This return is due on March 15, following the close of each calendar 
year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 
return is due on the next business day.

Mail your return to:	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PROCESSING UNIT
	 PO BOX 22038
	 ALBANY NY 12201‑2038

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a 
private delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail 
in your return and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you 
need to establish the date you filed your return or paid your tax, 
you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service 
unless you used a delivery service that has been designated 
by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are 
listed in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See 
Need help? for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If 
you have used a designated private delivery service and need to 
establish the date you filed your return, contact that private delivery 
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date 
your return was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use 
any private delivery service, whether it is a designated service 
or not, send the forms covered by these instructions to: State 
Processing Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204‑4836.

Extension of time for filing tax return — If you cannot meet 
the filing deadline, you may request an extension of time by filing 
Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension to File, on or 
before the due date of the return for which you are requesting the 
extension, and paying any amount you estimate to be due. An 
extension of time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax return does 
not extend the due date for filing Form CT-186-P. 

Final return — Mark an X in this box if this is the last return you 
intend to file because you have ceased doing business.

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please 
mark an X in the Amended return box on page 1 of the return.

Employer identification number, file number, and other 
identifying information — Enter your employer identification 
number and file number. If you use a paid preparer or accounting 
firm, make sure they use your complete and accurate identifying 
information when completing all forms.

Change of address — If your address has changed, please enter 
your new address in the appropriate area and mark an X in the box 
below the address so that we can update your address for this tax 
type. Do not mark this box for any change of business information 
other than for your address.

Changes of business information — You must report any 
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address, 
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer information on 
Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If only your address 

has changed, you may use Form DTF-96, Report of Address 
Change for Business Tax Accounts. You can get these forms from 
our Web site, by phone, or by fax (see Need help? ).

Maintenance fee for foreign corporations — If you are a 
foreign corporation (a corporation organized outside of New York 
State) authorized to do business in New York State under Business 
Corporation Law, Article 13 or 15-A, you must pay an annual 
maintenance fee of $300. If you do not pay this fee or its equivalent 
in New York State corporation taxes and MTA surcharges, your 
authorization to do business in New York State may be annulled. 
Payments of New York State corporation taxes (including the MTA 
surcharge) under Articles 9, 9‑A, and 32 are counted as payments 
toward the $300 annual maintenance fee. However, the license fee 
reported on Form CT‑240, Foreign Corporation License Fee Return, 
is not considered corporation tax and cannot be considered as a 
payment toward the maintenance fee.

If the total of corporation taxes and MTA surcharges paid on 2008 
tax returns is less than $300, compute the amount necessary to 
equal the $300 maintenance fee and add that amount to the tax 
due on your franchise tax return.

Foreign corporations – license fee — Foreign corporations 
must also file Form CT-240 whether or not they are authorized to 
do business in New York State. Form CT-240 must be filed with 
the corporation’s first franchise tax return or if the capital stock 
employed in New York State has increased since the last license fee 
return was filed.

MTA surcharge — Any corporation taxable under Article 9, 
section 186-a, that does business in the Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District (MCTD) must file Form CT-186-P/M and 
pay an MTA surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan 
Transportation Authority region. The MCTD includes the counties 
of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, 
Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

Corporations not doing business in the MCTD must disclaim liability 
for the MTA surcharge by marking an X in the No box on page 1 of 
Form CT‑186-P. They are not required to file Form CT-186-P/M. 

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in whole 
dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount from 
50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any 
amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-) 
sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert 
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces 
to the right. Round percentages to four decimal places.  

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%

Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a 
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes 
and not slashes).

Specific instructions
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United 
States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order 
only if payable through a United States bank or if marked Payable 
in U.S. funds.

Computation of tax
Computation of gross receipts from the transportation, 
transmission, or distribution of gas and electric service
Gross income means receipts received as a result of any sale 
(conditional or otherwise) made or service rendered for ultimate 
consumption or use by the purchaser. This includes cash credits 
and property of any kind without any deductions for the cost of 
property sold, the cost of materials used, labor, services, or other 
costs, interest or discount paid, or any other expenses.
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and pay the additional installments of estimated tax due on 
June 15, September 15, and December 15.

Line 14 — Form CT‑222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax 
by a Corporation, is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax 
Department that the corporation meets one of the exceptions to the 
underpayment of estimated tax penalty pursuant to Tax Law section 
1085(d).

Line 15 — If you do not pay the tax on or before the original due 
date (without regard to any extension of time for filing) you must 
pay interest on the amount of the underpayment from the original 
due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest computation any 
amount shown on line 9 or 10. You may visit our Web site or call the 
Tax Department for the current interest rate or to have the interest 
computed for you. See Note.

Line 16 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late 
payment on the amount of tax minus any payment made on or 
before the due date (with regard to any extension of time for filing). 
Exclude from the penalty computation any amount shown on line 9 
or 10.

A.	 If you do not file a return when due, or if the request for 
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% (.05) per month up to 
25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. 	If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the 
addition to tax in item A cannot be less than the smaller of 
$100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax 
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.	 If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax ½% 
(.005) per month up to 25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(2)).

D. 	The total of the additional charges in item A and C may not 
exceed 5% (.05) for any one month, except as provided for in 
item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or 
both (section 1085).

Line 18 — Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment 
We will keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a 
past-due, legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, or if 
you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may also 
keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due 
legally enforceable debt to another state, provided that state has 
entered into a reciprocal agreement with New York State. If we keep 
your refund or overpayment, we will notify you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, 
bureau, division, commission, committee, public authority, public 
benefit corporation, council, office, or other entity performing 
a governmental or proprietary function for the state or a social 
services district. We will refund or apply as an overpayment any 
amount over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, legally 
enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, or whether 
you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, contact the 
state agency, the other state, or the New York City Department of 
Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554 (from 
areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800) or 
write to: NYS Tax Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement 
Division, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Lines 23 and 24 — The security officer training tax credit and the 
biofuel production credit are refundable. Any unused credit may be 
refunded or credited using lines 23 and 24. No interest is payable on 
any refund or credit allowed.  

Line 2 — Allowable exclusions from receipts on line 1:
•	 Receipts from sales of transportation, transmission, or 

distribution of gas or electricity by means of conduits, mains, 
pipes, wires, lines, or similar means to any of the following:

	 —	A utility (excluding a public authority) supervised by 
New York State or another jurisdiction when an element of 
such supervision includes rate regulation; or

	 —	A municipality that owns and operates facilities that are 
used to generate or distribute electricity or distribute gas 
and that distributes and sells this electricity or gas solely at 
retail, solely within its jurisdiction; or

	 —	A public authority of New York State when that public 
authority is primarily engaged in the generation and 
transmission or distribution of electricity or gas and at least 
95% of the assets are so devoted.

• 	 Receipts from sales of transportation, transmission, or 
distribution of electricity to a municipality when the electricity 
being transported has been purchased by that municipality, 
and has been generated solely by and purchased solely 
from New York State or a public authority of New York State 
(for example, New York State Power Authority), and when the 
municipality sells solely at retail, solely within its jurisdiction, 
the electricity being transported, transmitted, or distributed.

• 	 Receipts from sales of transportation, transmission, or 
distribution of gas or electricity to not-for-profit corporations 
and associations organized and operated exclusively for 
religious, charitable, or educational purposes, described in 
Tax Law section 1116(a)(4), when that organization resells 
the transportation, transmission, or distribution as part of a 
bundled gas or electric service as landlord to its tenants in 
buildings owned by that organization.

In addition, 100% of your receipts received from nonresidential 
customers representing the receipts from the transportation, 
transmission, or distribution of gas or electricity must be excluded 
from gross income.

The term nonresidential customers means those customers 
whose use of gas, electricity, or gas or electric service does not 
qualify for the reduced rate of sales and compensating use tax on 
residential gas, electricity, or gas or electric service, under Tax Law 
section 1105-A.

Computation of tax on gross income 
Lines 3 and 4 — The tax rate on gross income for line 4 is 2% 
(.02). If the receipts on line 3 are less than $500, you are exempt 
from the payment of tax under section 186-a. However, you are 
required to complete and file Form CT‑186‑P. Enter 0 on line 4. 

Line 5 — Enter the amount of tax credits that you are claiming. 
Attach Forms CT-243, Claim for Biofuel Production Credit, CT-249, 
Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit, and CT-631, Claim for 
Security Officer Training Tax Credit, to your return, if applicable.

Line 7 — Enter the amount of the power for jobs tax credit that 
you are claiming. A power for jobs tax credit is available to qualified 
electric corporations that are local distribution companies during 
calendar years 1997 through 2009. To claim the power for jobs 
tax credit, you must attach to Form CT‑186-P a certificate from 
the Department of Public Service verifying the correctness of the 
calculation of the tax credit shown on this return. The power for jobs 
tax credit does not apply to the MTA surcharge (Form CT‑186‑P/M).

Line 10 — First Installment of estimated tax for the next 
period — If you did not file Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month 
Extension to File, and the tax amount shown on line 8 is more than 
$1,000, you must pay a mandatory first installment of estimated tax 
for the next tax period. If the amount on line 8 is more than $1,000 
but not more than $100,000, enter 25% (.25) of the total tax amount 
shown on line 8. If you did not file Form CT-5.9 and the tax on line 8 
exceeds $100,000, enter 30% (.30) of the amount on line 8.

Additional installments of estimated tax (Form CT-400) — If you 
expect your tax for the next period to exceed $1,000, you must file 
Form CT-400 or Form CT-400-MN, Estimated Tax for Corporations, 

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing 
our Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may call 
and we will compute the penalty and interest for you (see Need 
help? ).



Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
	 available 24 hours a day,
	 7 days a week. 	 1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
  5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications: 	 1 800 462-8100

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 1 888 698-2908
From areas outside the U.S. and
  outside Canada:	  (518) 485-6800

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with  
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you  
have access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that 
our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities 
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have 
questions about special accommodations for persons 
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.
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Composition of prepayments claimed on line 12
If you need more space, write see attached in this section 
and attach a separate sheet showing all relevant prepayment 
information. Transfer the total to line 32, Total prepayments.

Third-party designee 
If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to 
discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department, 
mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of your 
return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, and any 
five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her personal 
identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize the paid 
preparer who signed your return to discuss the return with the 
Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for the 
designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone number in the 
space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to provide 
the other information requested. If you do not want to authorize 
another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to 
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:
• 	give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your 

return;
•	 call the Tax Department for information about the processing of 

your return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and
•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with 

the designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. 
The notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or 
otherwise represent you before the Tax Department. If you want 
the designee to perform those services for you, you must file 
Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that designation with the 
Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices or documents 
(such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your designee if 
you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically end 
on the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your next 
year’s tax return.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and 
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax 
Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171‑a, 287, 
308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and 
may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax 
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and 
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other 
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is 
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, 
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain 
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized 
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil 
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records 
Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman 
Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225‑5829. From areas 
outside the United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485‑6800.


