
Up-to-date information affecting your tax return
Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that 
occurred after the forms and instructions were printed (see Need 
help?).

Changes for 2008
Increase in the mandatory first installment of estimated tax — 
The Tax Law was amended to provide an increase in the mandatory 
first installment for taxpayers, other than life insurance corporations 
filing Forms CT-33 or CT-33-A, and continuing section 186 
taxpayers filing Form CT-186, whose preceding year’s tax, exclusive 
of the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge), 
exceeded $100,000. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2009, those taxpayers are required to pay a first installment equal 
to 30% of the preceding year’s tax. Additionally, taxpayers who are 
required to pay their mandatory first installment at the 30% rate and 
are subject to the MTA surcharge are also required to calculate their 
estimated tax for the MTA surcharge at 30% of the preceding year’s 
MTA surcharge. The remaining three estimated tax payments are 
to be adjusted so that the total payments do not exceed 100% of 
the estimated tax due. The mandatory first installment of estimated 
tax and estimated MTA surcharge remains at 25% of the preceding 
year’s tax and tax surcharge, respectively, for those taxpayers 
whose preceding year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was less than or 
equal to $100,000. 

Collection costs or fees for tax debts owed to New York 
State — The Tax Department has been authorized to charge the 
taxpayer, as part of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed 
or charged by the United States, or any state, for the payment or 
remittance of a taxpayer’s overpayment to satisfy a New York State 
tax debt. 

Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program — A Voluntary 
Disclosure and Compliance Program has been established. 
The program provides relief from certain penalties and criminal 
prosecution to eligible taxpayers who come forward and 
reveal previously undisclosed liabilities. Visit our Web site at 
www.nystax.gov for additional information.

Extension of tax shelter reporting requirements — The 
expiration date of the reporting requirements and related 
administrative provisions concerning the disclosure of certain 
transactions and related information regarding tax shelters, 
including those related to New York reportable transactions, has 
been extended to July 1, 2011. Visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov 
for additional information.

Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate — Certain tax 
preparers using tax software to prepare tax documents, and certain 
taxpayers preparing their own tax documents using tax software, 
must, for the applicable calendar year and all succeeding calendar 
years, e-file all documents authorized by the Commissioner to be 
e-filed. Any tax liability or other amount due required to be paid with 
a tax document that must be e-filed must also be e-paid. For more 
information, visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov and click on e-file.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a 
Corporation, revised — Previously, Form CT-222 was used by 
a corporation to report to the Tax Department the amount of the 
underpayment of estimated tax penalty the corporation was subject 
to. Beginning with the 2008 Form CT-222, corporations will file 
Form CT-222 only to inform the Tax Department that the corporation 
meets one of the exceptions to the underpayment of estimated 
tax penalty. The Tax Department will compute the amount of any 
penalty and notify the corporation of any amount due.

Internet access remains exempt from tax under Tax Law 
section 186-e — The federal moratorium on state and local taxes 
on Internet access has been extended until November 1, 2014, 
under the federal Internet Tax Freedom Act Amendments Act of 
2007 (Public Law 110-108) (ITFAA). In addition, ITFAA amended 
the federal definition of Internet access to include certain closely 
related Internet communications services, such as electronic mail 
services and instant messaging services. For more information, 
see TSB-M-08(4)C,(2)S, The Federal Internet Tax Freedom Act 
Amendments Act of 2007 and its Effect on the New York Sales Tax 
and Telecommunications Excise Tax, and TSB-M-08(4.1)C, (2.1)S, 
Revised Information Regarding the Telecommunications Excise Tax 
Based on the Federal Internet Tax Freedom Act Amendments Act 
of 2007.

General information
The current tax rate applicable to section 186‑e is 2.5%. However, 
the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) 
related to section 186‑e must be computed as if the 3.5% rate was 
still in effect. Providers of telecommunication services compute their 
tax by completing Schedule A, and, if applicable, Schedule B. 
Section 186‑a tax rates have been reduced. Utilities that are not 
subject to the supervision of the Department of Public Service do 
not need to complete Schedule C.
Utilities that are subject to the supervision of the Department of 
Public Service compute their tax on gross income by completing 
Schedule C.

Taxpayers subject to tax under section 186‑c (MTA surcharge) must 
complete Schedule D. 

Which form to file
Every provider of telecommunication services must file 
Form CT‑186-E or CT-186-EZ to report the tax due under 
section 186-e. In addition to your telecommunications activity, if 
you are a utility supervised by the Department of Public Service, 
you must use Form CT-186-E to report the tax imposed by 
section 186-a.

Provider of telecommunication services means any person,
corporation, or other entity who furnishes or sells 
telecommunication services, regardless of whether these activities 
are the main business of the person, corporation, or other entity, 
or are only incidental. (Any reference to a utility, regarding the 
tax imposed by section 186-e or 186-a, is deemed to include a 
reference to a provider of telecommunication services.)

Who must file Form CT-186-E
•	 Local exchange telephone companies.
•	 Interexchange telephone companies.
•	 Facilities-based cellular telephone companies.
•	 Any provider selling telecommunication services to others for 

resale.
•	 Any provider of private telecommunication services.
•	 Any provider that is supervised by the Department of Public 

Service.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-186-E
Telecommunications Tax Return and Utility Services Tax Return
Tax Law — Article 9, Sections 186-e, 186-a, and 186-c

CT-186-E-I

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must 
complete all required schedules and forms that make 
up your return, and include all pages of those forms 
and schedules when you file. Returns that are missing 
required pages or that have pages with missing entries are 
considered incomplete and cannot be processed, and may 
subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.



Page 2 of 9  CT-186-E-I (2008)

Who may file Form CT-186-EZ 
Generally, any provider of telecommunication services not listed 
in Who must file Form CT-186-E may file Form CT-186-EZ, 
Telecommunications Tax Return — Short Form. Form CT-186-EZ 
may be used only by providers selling telecommunication services 
to customers for ultimate consumption. Examples include:
•	 Companies exclusively providing paging services (including 

ancillary services, and services and equipment provided with 
telecommunications service) selling exclusively to customers for 
ultimate consumption.

•	 Resellers of mobile telephone services (including ancillary 
services, and services and equipment provided with 
telecommunications service) selling exclusively to customers for 
ultimate consumption.

•	 Providers of pay telephone services.
•	 Retail stores that provide telephone services to customers on 

the premises.
•	 Retail stores that provide self-operated facsimile or data 

transmission services to customers on the premises.
•	 Providers of prepaid phone cards.
•	 Owners of buildings such as apartment buildings, office 

buildings, and hotels.
•	 Hotels and motels providing telecommunication services to 

guests where the charges for services are separately stated.
•	 Hospitals selling telecommunication services to persons on the 

premises where the charges for the services are separately 
stated.

•	 Any other provider of telecommunication services selling 
services exclusively to customers for ultimate consumption.

Exempt sellers 
The following, if selling telecommunication services, are exempt 
from tax under both sections 186-e and 186-a:

New York State, municipalities, political and civil subdivisions of 
New York State or a municipality, public districts, not-for-profit 
corporations, and associations organized and operated exclusively 
for religious, charitable, or educational purposes.

In addition, the following exemptions apply to section 186-a: any 
corporation leasing from a city in New York State a water works 
system to supply water at cost to relieve water pollution in a river 
within that city, limited dividend housing corporations organized 
under the Private Housing Finance Law, and motor carriers and 
brokers.

If your gross income or gross operating income is $500 or less, you 
are exempt from tax under section 186-a, but you are still required 
to complete Schedule C. This $500 limitation does not apply to the 
tax imposed under section 186-e (Schedule A), or the related MTA 
surcharge (Schedule B).

When to file 
You must report on a calendar year basis to New York State, even 
if you maintain your records and report to the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) using a fiscal accounting period.

This return is due on March 15 following the close of the calendar 
tax year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday in 
any year, the return is due on the next business day.

Where to file

Mail your return to:	 NYS CORPORATION TAX
	 PROCESSING UNIT
	 PO BOX 22038
	 ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a 
private delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail 
in your return and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you 
need to establish the date you filed your return or paid your tax, 
you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service 
unless you used a delivery service that has been designated 
by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of 

Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are 
listed in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See 
Need help? for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If 
you have used a designated private delivery service and need to 
establish the date you filed your return, contact that private delivery 
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date 
your return was given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use 
any private delivery service, whether it is a designated service 
or not, send the forms covered by these instructions to: State 
Processing Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-4836.

Extension of time for filing tax return
If you cannot meet the filing deadline, you may request an 
extension of time by filing Form CT-5.9-E, Request for Three‑Month 
Extension to File Form CT-186-E or Form CT-186-EZ (short form), 
on or before the original due date. An extension of time granted by 
the IRS to file a federal tax return does not extend the due date for 
filing Form CT‑186-E. 

Other forms you may need to file
Reporting requirements for tax shelters — The Tax Law requires 
taxpayers to report information about transactions that present 
the potential for tax avoidance (tax shelters). There are separate 
reporting requirements for those who use tax shelters and for 
those who promote the use of tax shelters. For the most recent 
information on these reporting requirements visit our Web site. 

Temporary metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA 
surcharge) — You must also use this form to compute and report 
the MTA surcharge imposed by section 186-c on business done 
in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). 
The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, 
Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, 
Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

Foreign corporations — Maintenance fee and license fee 
A corporation organized outside of New York State (a foreign 
corporation) that is authorized to do business in New York State 
must pay an annual maintenance fee of $300. Failure to pay the 
annual maintenance fee or its equivalent in New York State taxes 
(including the MTA surcharge) will result in annulment of the 
corporation’s authorization to do business in New York State, under 
Articles 9, 9-A, or 32. Payments of corporation taxes are counted 
as payments toward the $300 annual maintenance fee (but not the 
license fee reported on Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License 
Fee Return). If the total of your corporation taxes is greater than 
$300, then you have satisfied the requirement to pay the annual 
maintenance fee. If the total of your corporation taxes is less 
than $300, and you are filing Form CT-183, Transportation and 
Transmission Corporation Franchise Tax Return on Capital Stock 
or Form CT-186, Utility Corporation Franchise Tax Return, pay 
the $300 with that form. Indicate on this form that you paid a total 
corporation tax and maintenance fee of $300 with Form CT-183 or 
CT-186, and make no remittance of tax with this return.

Foreign corporations must also file Form CT-240.

Utility services tax — If you have no receipts from 
telecommunication services, but have receipts from the furnishing 
of other utility services, use Form CT-186-P, Utility Services Tax 
Return — Gross Income, to report your taxes under section 186-a. 
Use Form CT-186-P/M, Utility Services MTA Surcharge Return, to 
report your MTA surcharge.

Specific instructions
Change of address — If your address has changed, please 
enter your new address in the appropriate area and mark an X in 
the box next to the address so that we can update your address 
for this tax type. Do not mark this box for any change of business 
information other than for your address.

Changes in business information — You must report any 
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address, 
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer information on 
Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If only your address 
has changed, you may use Form DTF-96, Report of Address 
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Change for Business Tax Accounts, to correct your address for 
other tax types. You can get these forms from our Web site, or by 
fax or phone (see Need help?).
Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please 
mark an X in the Amended return box on page 1.

Final return — Mark an X in this box if it is the last return you 
intend to file because you have ceased doing business.

Employer identification number, file number, and other 
identifying information — Enter your employer identification 
number and file number. If you use a paid preparer or accounting 
firm, make sure they use your complete and accurate identifying 
information when completing all forms. Keep a record of your 
identifying information for future use.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in 
whole dollars rather than dollars and cents. Round any amount 
from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any 
amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-) 
sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert 
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two 
spaces to the right. Round percentages to four decimal places. 
Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.
Entering dates – Unless you are specifically directed to use a 
different format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes 
and not slashes).

Line instructions
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in 
United States funds. We will accept a foreign check or foreign 
money order only if payable through a United States bank or if 
marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Before completing lines 1 through 22a, you must complete any of 
the following schedules that apply to you.
Schedule A —	New York State excise tax on telecommunication 	

services
Schedule B — MTA surcharge related to telecommunication 

services
Schedule C — Utility services tax
Schedule D — MTA surcharge on gross income for utility services

Computation of tax
Lines 2 and 5 — A utility subject to tax under section 186‑a that 
has gross income of less than $500 is exempt from the payment of 
the tax under this section. However, you are required to complete 
Schedule C. Enter 0 on lines 2 and 5, and file this form.
Line 8 — If line 1 is over $1,000, but is not greater than $100,000, 
enter 25% of line 1 in column A and 25% of line 4 in column B. If 
line 1 is over $100,000, enter 30% of line 1 in column A and 30% of 
line 4 in column B.

Line 9 — If line 2 is over $1,000, but is not greater than $100,000, 
enter 25% of line 2 in column A and 25% of line 5 in column B. If 
line 2 is over $100,000, enter 30% of line 2 in column A and 30% of 
line 5 in column B.

Installments of estimated tax 
In addition to the first installment required on lines 7, 8, or 9, you 
may be required to make additional installments of estimated 
tax. Since every provider of telecommunication services must 
report its taxes and surcharges under sections 186-e, 186-a, and 
186-c on Form CT-186-E, only one Form CT-400, Estimated Tax 
for Corporations, should be used to make any related estimated 
installment payments.

If the total of your estimated tax related to section 186-e or 
section 186-a will exceed $1,000 for the next period, you must file 
Form CT-400 and make installment payments of estimated tax and 
MTA surcharge.

You must combine your installment payments on one Form CT‑400, 
but do not combine the estimates for both section 186-e and 
section 186-a in determining the $1,000 threshold. If both estimates 

are greater than $1,000, estimated installments are required for 
both. If one estimate is less than or equal to $1,000, and one is 
greater than $1,000, installments are required only for the section 
estimated to be greater than $1,000. If neither is greater than 
$1,000, no installment payments are required.

You must file a Form CT-400 on or before June 15, September 15, 
and December 15, and pay the additional installments of estimated 
tax for the next period.

Line 13a — If either column A or B shows a balance due, you may 
use lines 14a and 14b to transfer any overpayment from line 13b to 
pay the balance due. If both columns show a balance due, enter the 
amounts on line 14c, columns A and B.

Line 13b — If either column A or B shows an overpayment, you 
may use lines 14a and 14b to transfer the overpayment to pay 
a balance due. If both columns show overpayments, you may 
use lines 14a and 14b to transfer the amounts to be applied 
as overpayments to next year’s tax or you may transfer the 
overpayments to line 19, columns A and B.

Line 14a — Use this line to transfer any MTA surcharge 
overpayment to the New York State (NYS) tax due. Enter the 
amount you want to transfer in both column A and column B.

Line 14b — Use this line to transfer any NYS tax overpayment to 
the MTA surcharge due. Enter the amounts you want to transfer in 
both column A and column B.

Line 14c — If there is a balance due for NYS tax (line 13a, 
column A) and an overpayment for MTA surcharge (line 13b, 
column B), subtract the amount transferred on line 14a, column A 
from line 13a, column A. If the difference is zero or a positive 
amount, enter the difference on line 14c, column A. If the difference 
is a negative amount, enter the difference as a positive number 
on line 19, column A. Subtract the amount transferred on line 14a, 
column B, from line 13b, column B, and enter the difference on 
line 19, column B.

If there is a balance due for MTA surcharge (line 13a, column B) 
and an overpayment for NYS tax (line 13b, column A), subtract the 
amount transferred on line 14b, column A from line 13b, column A 
and enter the difference on line 19, column A. Subtract the transfer 
amount on line 14b, column B from line 13a, column B. If the 
difference is zero or a positive amount, enter the difference on 
line 14c, column B. If the difference is a negative amount, enter the 
difference as a positive number on line 19, column B.

Line 15 — Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax 
by a Corporation, is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax 
Department that the corporation meets one of the exceptions to 
the underpayment of estimated tax penalty pursuant to Tax Law 
section 1085(d). 

Interest and penalties for late payment
Line 16 — If you do not pay the taxes and MTA surcharges on or 
before the original due date (without regard to any extension of 
time), you must pay interest on the amount of the underpayment 
from the original due date to the date paid. Exclude from the 
interest computation the first installment of estimated tax shown on 
line 7 or 10.

Line 17 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late 
payment on the amount of taxes and MTA surcharges, minus 
any payment made on or before the due date (with regard to any 
extension of time for filing). Exclude from the penalty computation 
the first installment of estimated tax shown on line 7 or 10.
A.	 If you do not file a return when due, or if the request for 

extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25% 
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B.	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the 
addition to tax cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or 100% 
of the amount required to be shown as tax (section 1085(a)(1)
(B)).

C.	 If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax ½% 
per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	 The total of the additional charges in items A and C may not 
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in item B 
above (section 1085(a)).
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If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining any delay in filing, payment, or 
both (section 1085).

Overpayments and credits
Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
We will keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a 
past-due, legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, or if 
you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may also 
keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due 
legally enforceable debt to another state, provided that state has 
entered into a reciprocal agreement with New York State. If we keep 
your refund or overpayment, we will notify you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, 
bureau, division, commission, committee, public authority, public 
benefit corporation, council, office, or other entity performing 
a governmental or proprietary function for the state or a social 
services district. We will refund or apply as an overpayment any 
amount over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, 
legally enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, 
or whether you owe a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, 
contact the state agency, the other state, or the New York City 
Department of Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554 (from 
areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800) or 
write to: NYS Tax Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement 
Division, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Line 19 — If there are amounts listed in both columns of line 13b 
and you want to transfer the overpayment from one column to the 
other, see the instructions for lines 13a through 14c.

You may elect to apply all or part of the overpayment on line 19 
to your next period taxes and surcharges to be reported on 
Form CT-186-E or have it refunded. Unless you request a refund, 
we will apply your overpayment to the next year’s tax. We will notify 
you when the overpayment has been credited and explain how to 
request a refund. You must claim the requested refund before the 
original due date of next year’s tax return. To apply overpayments to 
next year’s tax return or MTA surcharge, use lines 20a and 20b. To 
request a refund, use line 21.

Line 20a — Enter the amount from line 19, column A, to be 
credited to next year’s NYS tax (section 186-e).

Line 20b — Enter the amount from line 19, column B, to be 
credited to next year’s MTA surcharge.

Lines 22a and 22b — You may request a refund or credit of the 
resale credit or the multijurisdictional credit on lines 22a and 22b, 
instead of applying the credits against your tax liability on lines 40a, 
40b, 61 or 62. Therefore, you may not request a refund or a credit of 
any amounts you have entered on lines 40a, 40b, 61, or 62.

The security officer training tax credit and the biofuel production 
credit are also refundable. However, for these credits you must 
first apply the credit against the tax liability on lines 41 or 89. Any 
excess credit may be refunded or credited on lines 22a and 22b.

Note: The long-term care insurance credit is not refundable. Do not 
enter any amount of this credit on lines 22a and 22b.

No interest is payable on any refund or credit allowed.

Schedule A — New York State excise tax on 
telecommunication services (Tax Law section 186-e)
Local carrier, interexchange carrier, or facilities-based 
cellular common carrier
Mark an X in the applicable box if you are a local carrier, 
interexchange carrier, or facilities-based cellular common carrier. 
See the definitions in the instructions for line 33. If you mark any of 
these boxes, you may not claim the resale credit on line 40a or 61.

Part 1 — Computation of gross charges 
Section 186-e imposes an excise tax on each charge from 
(1) any intrastate telecommunication services; (2) any interstate or 
international telecommunication services that originate or terminate 
in New York State and are charged to a service address in New York 
State (regardless of where the amounts charged are actually 
billed or ultimately paid); (3) private telecommunication services 
attributable to New York State; and (4) mobile telecommunications 
services provided by a home service provider where the mobile 
telecommunications customer’s place of primary use is in New York 
State.

As an excise tax, the charge for each telecommunication 
service is determined on the basis of each transaction. 
Providers of telecommunication services are required to file 
Form CT-186-E or CT-186-EZ for each calendar year, summarizing 
the charges accrued and the tax liability to be paid.

Gross charge means the amount charged for each 
telecommunication service provided with no deductions, and is 
expressed in money, whether paid in cash, credit, or property of 
any kind or nature. A deduction is allowed for bad debts incurred 
on charges subjected to tax under section 186-e, when the debt 
becomes worthless in accordance with consistently applied 
Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP).

Telecommunication services means telephony or telegraphy, or 
telephone or telegraph service of any nature including, but not 
limited to, any transmission of the following: voice, image, data, 
information, and paging, through the use of wire, cable, fiber 
optics, laser, microwave, radio wave, satellite or similar media, 
or any combination thereof. Telecommunication services also 
include services that are not telecommunication services as such, 
but are: (1) ancillary to the provision of telephone service (for 
example, directory information, call forwarding, caller identification, 
call waiting, and supplementary services) and (2) services (of 
whatever nature) which are provided with telecommunication 
services. The charges from equipment provided in connection with 
any telecommunication service (such as beepers, telephones, fax 
machines, or modems) are also subject to tax under section 186-e. 
The term telecommunication services does not apply to separately 
stated charges for a service that alters the substantive (information) 
content of the message received from that sent.

Example: The character sequence 1, 2, 3, 4 is sent and the 
recipient receives only the summary number 10. The charge for this 
data processing service is separately billed. Because arithmetic 
processing has substantively changed the information content of 
the message sent and the data processing service is separately 
billed, this is not considered a telecommunication service.
Telecommunication services do not include:
•	 Television or radio programming transmitted to subscribers by 

cable television service.
•	 Internet access services (see TSB-M-97(1.1)C, Internet Access 

Charges Not Subject to Sales Tax and Telecommunications 
Excise Tax, TSB-M-08(4)C, (2)S, The Federal Internet Tax 
Freedom Act Amendments Act of 2007 and its Effect on the 
New York Sales Tax and Telecommunications Excise Tax, and 
TSB-M-08(4.1)C, (2.1)S, Revised Information Regarding the 
Telecommunications Excise Tax Based on the Federal Internet 
Tax Freedom Act Amendments of 2007).

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing 
our Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may call, 
and we will compute the penalty and interest for you (see Need 
help?).
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A home service provider may treat the address it uses for a customer
under a service contract that was in effect on July 28, 2002, as 
that customer’s place of primary use for the remaining term of the 
contract (excluding extensions or renewals) in order to determine 
the proper taxing jurisdiction for section 186-e taxes.

Lines 26 through 28 — Enter 100% of your charges from 
ancillary services (such as directory information, call forwarding, 
caller identification, or call waiting) or services provided with 
telecommunication service or from equipment provided in 
connection with telecommunication services (such as beepers and 
telephones). Include miscellaneous charges from commissions and 
fees earned that are directly related to telecommunication services 
reported on lines 23 and 24, and 25. Do not include receipts from 
services or equipment that are separately billed and that are not 
provided directly in connection with telecommunication services.

Lines 29 through 31 — Private telecommunication services 
Private telecommunication service means any dedicated 
telecommunication service that entitles the user or users to the 
exclusive or priority use of a communications channel or group of 
channels from one or more locations to one or more locations. 
In this context, exclusive means that the user-subscriber has use 
of a communications channel to the exclusion of all others who are 
not authorized to use the channel (but not joint authorized users). 
Priority means that only authorized user-subscribers, as opposed to 
unauthorized persons, receive preferential use of a communications 
channel, but not necessarily a preference with respect to each 
other.

Line 29 — Enter 100% of the charges from private 
telecommunications services that are located entirely within 
New York State (intrastate services).

Line 30 — When the charge for each channel segment is 
separately stated and the amount fairly reflects traffic originating 
or terminating in New York State, the charge allocated to New York 
State is made up as follows:
•	 100% of the charges imposed at each Channel Termination 

Point (CTP) within New York State;
•	 100% of the charges imposed for the use of each channel 

segment between CTPs within New York State; and
•	 50% of the charges imposed for the use of any channel segment 

between a CTP in New York State and a CTP outside New York 
State.

Example: Charges for an interstate private telecommunications 
channel connecting Buffalo, Albany, and Boston consist of the 
following: $10 charged at each CTP, $100 charged for the use of 
the channel between Buffalo and Albany, and $150 between Albany 
and Boston. The charges fairly reflect New York State origination 
and termination traffic. The charge allocated to New York State is 
illustrated below:
	 Actual	 Allocation		  Allocated to
	 charges	 computation		  New York State	
$10 x 3 CTPs	 $ 30	 $10 x 2 CTPs in NYS	 =	 $ 20
Buffalo‑Albany	 $100	 $100 x 100%	 =	 $100
Albany‑Boston	 $150	 $150 x 50%*	 =	 $ 75	
Charges (unallocated)....... $280			 
Charges allocated
 	 to New York State............................................................................... 	$195

* The separately-stated charge for any channel segment between a 
CTP in New York State and a CTP outside New York State must be 
allocated at 50%.

Line 31 — When the charge for each channel segment is 
not separately stated or the charge does not fairly reflect traffic 
originating or terminating in New York State, the charge allocated to 
New York State is made up as follows:
•	 100% of the amount charged at each CTP within New York 

State; and
•	 an allocated portion of the gross interstate or international 

channel charge determined by dividing the number of CTPs 
within New York State by the total number of CTPs everywhere.

Example: Charges for an interstate private telecommunications 
channel are billed as follows: $50 charged at each CTP and $400 
charged for the use of an entire channel between Buffalo, Albany, 

Examples of telecommunication services charges reported on 
Form CT-186-E include:
•	 Local telephone services.
•	 Toll services.
•	 Long distance telephone services.
•	 Carrier access services.
•	 Private telecommunication services.
•	 Pay telephone services.
•	 Paging services.
•	 Mobile telecommunications services.
•	 Facsimile and data transmission services.
•	 Prepaid phone card services.
•	 All other telecommunication services transmitted by any means 

whatsoever.

Line 23 — Enter 100% of your charges from intrastate 
telecommunication services.

Line 24 — Enter 100% of your charges from interstate and 
international services that originate or terminate in New York State 
and have a service address in New York State.

Service address means the location of the equipment from which 
the telecommunication originated or at which the telecommunication 
is received by the purchaser from the provider of telecommunication 
services. Special rules define the service address in instances 
where the telecommunication service is obtained through a credit 
or payment mechanism (such as a credit, calling card, or third-party 
billing), and where the service address is not a defined location 
(such as a mobile telephone, paging system, maritime system, or 
air‑to‑ground system). In instances where more than one rule may 
apply, use the first rule that applies from the list below to determine 
the service address. 
1.	 If the telecommunication originates or terminates in New York 

State and is charged to telecommunication equipment that 
is not associated with the origination or termination of the 
telecommunication (for example, by the use of a calling card or 
third-party billing), and the location of the equipment charged is 
in New York State, the service address will be deemed to be in 
New York State.

2.	 If the service is obtained through a credit or payment mechanism 
such as a bank, travel, credit, or debit card, or if the service is

	 obtained by charging telecommunication equipment that is not
	 associated with the origination or termination of the 

telecommunication (for example, by the use of a calling card or 
third-party billing), and the equipment is not located in the state 
of origination or termination, then the service address is deemed 
to be the location of the origination of the telecommunication.

3.	 If the service address is not a defined location, as in the 
case of mobile telephones, paging systems, maritime 
systems, air‑to‑ground systems and the like, service address 
means the location of the subscriber’s primary use of the 
telecommunication equipment as defined by telephone number, 
authorization code, or location where bills are sent. However, the 
location of the mobile telephone switching office or similar facility 
that receives and transmits the signals of the telecommunication 
will be deemed the service address when the mobile telephone 
switching office or similar facility is outside the subscriber’s 
assigned service area.

Note: Include on line 24 only those charges for mobile 
telecommunications services that are not associated with a 
New York place of primary use. Enter on line 25 any charges for 
mobile telecommunications services that are associated with a 
New York place of primary use.

Line 25 — Enter 100% of your charges for mobile 
telecommunications services provided to customers whose place
of primary use is in New York State.

Place of primary use means the street address that represents	a
customer’s primary use of the mobile telecommunications services. 
That address must be the residential street address or the primary 
business street address of the mobile telecommunications 
customer, and must be within the licensed service area of the home 
service provider.
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New York City, and Washington, DC. The charge allocated to 
New York State is illustrated below:

	 Actual	 Allocation		  Allocated to
	 charges	 computation		  New York State	
$50 x 4 CTPs	 $200	 $50 x 3 CTPs in NYS	 =	 $150
Entire channel	 $400	 $400 x ¾**	 =	 $300
Charges (unallocated)....... $600			 
Charges allocated
 	 to New York State............................................................................... 	$450

** Since the charge for each channel segment is not separately 
stated, the gross channel charge is allocated by the number 
of CTPs in New York State divided by the number of CTPs 
everywhere, or ¾.

Part 2 — Exclusions and deductions from gross charges
Line 33 — Exclude charges that constitute a sale-for-resale of 
telecommunication services to a local carrier, interexchange 
carrier, or facilities-based cellular common carrier (see 
Part 3 — Computation of tax due, for the treatment of other 
sales‑for‑resale).

Note: The sale-for-resale exclusion does not apply if the purchaser 
does not resell the service as a telecommunications service.

Local carrier means any provider of telecommunication services for 
hire to the public, subject to the supervision of the Public Service 
Commission (PSC), and engaged in providing carrier access 
service to a switched network.

Interexchange carrier means any provider of telecommunication 
services between two or more exchanges that qualifies as a 
common carrier. In other words, any person engaged as common 
carrier for hire in intrastate, interstate, or foreign telecommunication 
services is an interexchange carrier.

For the sole purpose of the application of the sale-for-resale 
exclusion, a reference to an interexchange carrier or local carrier 
includes a facilities-based cellular common carrier regardless of 
whether such carrier is providing local or interexchange service.

You may accept a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity 
issued by the PSC as evidence that a particular purchaser (reseller) 
qualifies as a local carrier, interexchange carrier, or facilities‑based 
cellular common carrier, and is eligible for the resale exclusion.

For more information refer to the PSC’s Web site: www.dps.state.ny.us

You may not exclude charges from the sales‑for‑resale to cellular 
resellers, paging companies, pay telephone companies, hotels, 
motels, apartment buildings, office buildings, and hospitals. These 
resellers are not considered local carriers or interexchange carriers 
for the purposes of the resale exclusion.

Line 34 — The following exclusions and deductions are allowed if 
included in the gross charges reported in Part 1:
•	 Any surcharges collected or any administrative fee retained 

when you are merely acting as a collection agent for a 
municipality in connection with the provision of an enhanced 
emergency telephone system (E911) or for the state wireless 
communications service surcharge under County Law Article Six.

•	 Receipts from the sale of telecommunication services to air 
carriers solely for the purpose of air safety and navigation, if you 
are an organization defined by Tax Law section 186-e.2(b)(3). 

•	 Taxes imposed by New York State or its municipalities, or the 
federal government, when you are merely a collection agency for 
the tax authority (for example, state and local sales tax).

•	 Receipts from the sale of cable television and radio 
programming. Cable television and radio programming means 
the transmitting to subscribers of programs broadcast by one 
or more television or radio stations or any other programs 
originated by any person by means of wire, cable, microwave, or 
any other means. (Note: telecommunication services provided 
to a cable television or radio provider, for the purposes of 
broadcasting programs to subscribers, are subject to tax under 
section 186-e.)

Line 35 — Enter the total deduction for bad debts from all 
transactions for telecommunication charges subject to tax under 
section 186-e, when the debt has become worthless in accordance 
with consistently applied GAAP.

Part 3 — Computation of tax due 
Line 40a — If you are a reseller of telecommunication services 
but not a local carrier, interexchange carrier, or a facilities-based 
cellular common carrier, you are allowed a credit for tax paid 
when you resell the services as telecommunication services. The 
credit operates so that the tax on the resale is applied only to the 
difference between the gross charge imposed on resale and the 
amount paid to acquire the service resold. Compute the amount of 
the credit by multiplying your cost to purchase the service by the 
tax rate.

Example: A telephone company sells a telecommunication 
service to a reseller for $2 for resale. The reseller, who is not an 
interexchange carrier or local carrier, resells the service for $6. 
The reseller owes a tax on the difference of $4, or $.10 ($4 × 2.5%). 
When reporting on the resold service, the reseller includes the 
gross charge of $6 on line 37, the excise tax of $.15 ($6 × 2.5%) on 
line 39, and the credit of $.05 ($2 × 2.5%) on line 40a.

Note: You may request a refund or credit in lieu of applying this 
credit against your tax liability. See the instructions for lines 22a and 
22b.

Line 40b — To prevent multijurisdictional taxation, you are allowed 
a credit on any interstate or international telecommunication 
service upon proof that you paid a tax to another state or country. 
The amount of the credit is the amount lawfully due and paid to the 
other state or country, but it may not reduce the tax due to less than 
zero.

Note: You may request a refund or credit in lieu of applying this 
credit against your tax liability. See the instructions for lines 22a and 
22b.

Line 41 — Enter any credits claimed from these forms: 
Form CT-243, Claim for Biofuel Production Credit, Form CT-249, 
Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit, and Form CT-631, 
Claim for Security Officer Training Tax Credit. Mark an X in the 
appropriate box(es). Attach the appropriate credit forms to your 
return. Refer to instructions for line 22a and 22b.

Schedule B — MTA surcharge related to 
telecommunication services (Tax Law section 186-c.1(b)) 
The MTA surcharge is imposed on charges derived from the 
MCTD. The rate is 17% of the state tax rate as was in effect 
on September 30, 1998. Therefore, the MTA rate is 0.595% 
(0.17 × 0.035 = 0.00595 = 0.595%).

All of the definitions and instructions in Schedule A apply to the 
MTA surcharge computed in Schedule B, with any necessary 
modifications and limitations, including substituting the words 
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District or MCTD, for 
the words New York State where appropriate. Accordingly, 
the tax applies to gross charges from (1) any intra-MCTD 
telecommunication services, (2) any inter-MCTD telecommunication 
services that originate or terminate in the MCTD and are charged 
to a service address in the MCTD (including intrastate, interstate, 
and international telecommunication services), (3) private 
telecommunication services attributable to the MCTD, and 
(4) mobile telecommunications services provided by a home service 
provider where the place of primary use is in the MCTD.

Schedule C — Utility services tax (Tax Law section 186-a) 
General information — Utilities include every person, subject 
to the supervision of the New York State Department of Public 
Service or Department of Transportation, engaged in the business 
of operating street surface, rapid transit, subway, and elevated 
railroads, as well as certain non-operating railroads. Utilities also 
include every person, whether or not subject to the supervision of 
the State Department of Public Service, who sells gas, electricity, 
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steam, water, or refrigeration, delivered through mains, pipes 
or wires, or furnishes gas, electric, steam, water, or refrigerator 
service, by means of mains, pipes, or wires, whether such activities 
are the main business of such person or are only incidental to them. 
Every provider of telecommunication services that is subject to the 
supervision of the New York State Department of Public Service is 
considered a utility for the purposes of section 186-a.

Utilities include persons (including providers of telecommunication 
services), corporations, companies, associations, joint-stock 
companies or associations, partnerships or limited liability 
companies, estates, assignees of rents, any person acting in a 
fiduciary capacity, or any other entity and persons, their assignees, 
lessees, trustees, or receivers, appointed by any court.

Motor carriers or brokers are not required to file this schedule.

If your gross income is $500 or less, you are exempt from tax under 
section 186-a, but you are still required to complete Schedule C.
This limitation does not apply to the tax under section 186-e 
(Schedule A), or to the related MTA surcharge (Schedule B).

Gross operating income and gross income — If you are not 
subject to the supervision of the Department of Public Service, do 
not complete Schedule C.

If you are subject to the supervision of the Department of Public 
Service, you must pay tax on your gross income. Gross income is 
the total of receipts computed in Schedule C.

Gross operating income is the total of all receipts computed in 
Schedule C, Part 1. Gross operating income includes only those 
receipts from the sale or furnishing of utility services for ultimate 
consumption or use by the purchaser in New York State.

Gross income includes receipts from any sale (conditional or 
otherwise) or service rendered for ultimate consumption or use 
by the purchaser within New York State, derived from the utility’s 
principal business and profits from transactions within New York 
State that are not derived from the utility’s principal business.

For a utility that is a provider of telecommunication services, gross 
operating income or gross income includes only those receipts 
that do not constitute receipts from the sale of telecommunication 
services, as such services are defined in Tax Law section 186-e.

In determining gross operating income or gross income, include 
cash, credits, and property of any kind or nature without any 
deductions for the cost of property sold, the cost of materials used, 
labor, services, or other costs, interest, or discount paid, or any 
other expenses, except those deductions provided for on lines 69 
and 79 of Schedule C.

Article 2-I of the general city law provides for certain rebates 
of charges for energy in revitalization areas of New York City. 
However, nothing contained in Article 2-I shall be construed as 
reducing the amount of gross receipts subject to tax under Tax Law 
section 186-a.

Special rules for landlords
Sales to a landlord — Gross operating income also includes 
receipts from utility services to a landlord for resale to a tenant for 
consumption or use by the tenant as incidental to the landlord’s 
renting of premises to the tenant, even though such sales are not 
for ultimate consumption by the landlord. Utility services means 
the furnishing of gas, electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration, and 
services directly connected to the furnishing of gas, electricity, 
steam, water, or refrigeration. Include these receipts with all other 
utility service receipts on lines 65, 66, and 67.

Part 1 — Gross operating income
Line 65 — Enter the total receipts from the sale or furnishing of 
each commodity made for ultimate consumption or use within 
New York State. See Special rules for landlords.

In determining gross operating income, receipts include cash, 
credits, and property of any kind or nature without any deductions 

for the cost of property sold, the cost of materials used, labor, 
services, or other costs, interest, or discount paid, or any other 
expense, except as stated in the instructions for line 69.

Line 67 — Enter all other receipts from services rendered for 
ultimate use within New York State that are directly connected with 
the sale or furnishing of each commodity.

Other receipts includes installation charges, service charges (other 
than installation) that are connected with the sale or furnishing of 
the commodity, and rentals within the state that in fact constitute 
service charges. See Special rules for landlords.

Line 69 — Deductions allowed from gross operating income are 
uncollectible accounts and taxes imposed by New York State, its 
municipalities, or the federal government, for which you are merely 
a collecting agency for the taxing authority. In addition, if you have 
passed on your section 186‑a tax when you originally purchased 
these services, you may deduct their cost when you resell them.

Part 2 — Receipts from interest and dividends allocated 
to New York State
Compute receipts from interest and dividends from sources within 
New York State that are received from corporate and noncorporate 
entities. Enter in column A the name of the entity that paid the 
interest or dividend. Enter in column B the type of security (such as 
stock, bond, or interest-bearing cash account). Enter in column C 
the amount of interest or dividends received.

Enter receipts from interest and dividends from sources within 
New York State, without any deduction for any expense incurred in 
connection with the receipt. Do not include interest and dividends 
received from any of the following:
•	 A corporation, the majority of whose voting stock is owned by 

you.
•	 Obligations of the United States, any state, territory, or 

possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia.
•	 Obligations of a foreign country.
•	 Any obligation from any political subdivision or governmental 

instrumentality of any of those listed above.

Enter in column D the issuer’s allocation percentage of the 
corporation that issued the security. Use the issuer’s allocation 
percentage to compute the amount of interest and dividends 
allocated to New York State.

If the entity that issued the security was not a corporate entity, 
determine the amount of interest or dividends allocated to New York 
State by the percentage of capital employed in New York State 
by the payer of the stock, bonds, interest-bearing cash account, 
etc., for the year immediately preceding the current tax year. 
Attach a statement showing the computation of the payer’s capital 
employed in New York State as compared to total capital employed 
everywhere.

Issuer’s allocation percentages are available on the Tax 
Department’s Web site and from many online and printed tax 
services. You may also obtain up to three issuer’s allocation 
percentages by calling toll free (see Need help?).

Line 72 — Enter receipts from royalties from sources within 
New York State without any deductions incurred in connection with 
the receipt. Royalties include all amounts you received for the use 
of patents or copyrights, whether or not such patents or copyrights 
were issued to or are owned by you. A patent or copyright is used 
in New York State if the activities under the patent or copyright are 
carried on in New York State.

Part 3 — Computation of profits
For lines 74 through 77, the term profits means gross selling 
price minus basis without any further deductions.

Line 74 — Enter profits from the sale of securities that are held, 
managed, or controlled within New York State.
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Securities include shares of stock in any corporation, certificates 
of stock or interest in any corporation, securities issued by 
governmental bodies, and securities issued by corporations of a 
like nature as stocks and bonds that are sold in the open market 
or on a recognized exchange, designed as a means of investment, 
and issued for the purpose of financing corporate enterprises 
and providing a distribution of rights in, or obligations of, such 
enterprises.

Include profits from the sale of any tax-exempt securities such as 
those of the following:
•	 The United States, any state, territory, or possession of the 

United States, or the District of Columbia.
•	 Any foreign country.
•	 Any political subdivision or instrumentality of any of the above.

Include profits from the sale of securities of an affiliated company 
and profits from the sale of reacquired stock (treasury stock).

Except for a block transaction, you may not apply losses from 
sales of securities against profits from the sale of securities. 
A block transaction is a single sale where sales of the same 
security are made in several lots (for example, a utility carries a 
block of 10,000 shares of the same securities of a corporation in its 
portfolio and orders its broker to sell the entire block; the fact that 
the broker executes the order by disposing of the block in several 
lots does not change the essential nature of the transaction and 
does not make it more than one sale).

Line 75 — Enter profits from the sale of real property within 
New York State in which the utility owns or has an ownership 
interest.

Line 76 — Enter profits from the sale of personal property within 
New York State. Profits include but are not limited to profits from 
the sale of fixed assets such as fixtures, furniture, machinery, or 
equipment.

Do not include profits from the sale of merchandise (such as 
materials and supplies) that is stock in trade of the utility and is 
included in merchandise inventory.

Line 77 — Enter profits from any transaction within New York State 
that was not performed in the conduct of your principal business. 
Do not include profits from sales for resale or profits from rentals. 
Profits include but are not limited to profits from:
•	 The sale of merchandise (such as materials and supplies) that 

is not your stock in trade and is not included in merchandise 
inventory.

•	 Labor not performed in the conduct of your principal business.
•	 Transportation or transmission agreements when you use your 

mains, pipes, or wires within New York State to transport or 
transmit a commodity owned by another utility.

Line 79 — Deductions allowed from profits reported on line 78 
include:
•	 Brokerage fees, legal fees, advertising fees, and other selling 

expenses incurred due to the sale of securities, real property, 
and personal property.

•	 Cash discounts taken by the customer.
•	 Uncollectible accounts.
•	 Taxes imposed by New York State or its municipalities or the 

federal government, when you are merely a collecting agency for 
the taxing authority (such as state and local sales tax or federal 
excise taxes).

Enter all deductions listed above that are included in profits on 
line 78. Attach a statement listing all deductions.

Part 4 — Computation of tax on gross income
Line 82 — Enter all exclusions listed below that are included as 
receipts on line 66. Attach a statement listing all deductions. See 
Special rules for landlords.

• 	 Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas or 
electricity by means of conduits, mains, pipes, wires, lines, or the 
like to a:

—	Utility (excluding a public authority) supervised by 
New York State or another jurisdiction, when an element of 
such supervision includes rate regulation.

—	Municipality that owns and operates facilities that are used 
to generate or distribute electricity or distribute gas, and 
that distributes and sells this electricity or gas solely at 
retail, solely within its jurisdiction.

—	Public authority of New York State when that public 
authority is primarily engaged in the generation and 
transmission or distribution of electricity or gas and at least 
95% of the assets are so devoted.

• 	 Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of electricity 
to a municipality when the electricity being transported has 
been purchased by that municipality, and has been generated 
solely by and purchased solely from New York State or a public 
authority of New York State (New York State Power Authority), 
and when the municipality sells solely at retail, solely within its 
jurisdiction, the electricity being transported, transmitted, or 
distributed.

• 	 Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas 
or electricity to not-for-profit corporations and associations 
organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, or 
educational purposes, described in Tax Law section 1116(a)(4) 
when that organization resells the transportation, transmission, 
or distribution as part of a bundled gas or electric service as 
landlord to its tenants in buildings owned by that organization.

Also exclude 100% of your receipts received from nonresidential 
customers representing the noncommodity charges for gas or 
electric service (receipts from the transportation, transmission, or 
distribution of gas or electricity) from gross income.

The term nonresidential customers means those customers 
whose use of gas, electricity, or gas or electric service does not 
qualify for the reduced rate of sales and compensating use tax on 
residential gas, electricity, or gas or electric service, under Tax Law 
section 1105-A.

Line 89 – Enter any credits claimed from these forms: 
Form CT-249, Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit, 
Form CT-631, Claim for Security Officer Training Tax Credit, and 
Form CT-243, Claim for Biofuel Production Credit. Do not include 
any refund or credit amounts included on lines 22a and 22b. Mark 
an X in the appropriate box(es). Attach the appropriate credit forms 
to your return.

Line 91 – Enter the amount of the Power for Jobs credit you are 
claiming. A Power for Jobs credit is available to qualified electric 
corporations that are local distribution companies during calendar 
years 1997 through 2009. To claim this credit, attach a certificate 
from the Department of Public Service verifying the correctness of 
the credit claimed.

Schedule D — MTA surcharge on gross income for 
utilities (Tax Law section 186-c.1(a)) 
If you are a utility not supervised by the Department of Public 
Service do not complete Schedule D.

If you are a utility supervised by the Department of Public Service 
and did business in the MCTD during the tax year, complete 
Schedule D.

The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, 
Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, 
Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

Do not complete Schedule D if your section 186-a tax computed on 
Schedule C is zero.



	 Internet access: www.nystax.gov
 	    (for information, forms, and publications)

	 Fax-on-demand forms: 	 1 800 748-3676

	 Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
	    (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications:	 1 800 462-8100

Corporation Tax Information Center:	 1 888 698-2908

From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada:	  (518) 485-6800

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 1 800 634-2110

	 Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting 
rooms, and other facilities are accessible to persons with 
disabilities. If you have questions about special accommodations for 
persons with disabilities, please call 1 800 972‑1233.

Need help?

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain 
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but 
not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171‑a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 
1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security 
numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities 
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax 
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided 
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support 
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and 
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management 
and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 
12227; telephone 1 800 225‑5829. From areas outside the United States 
and outside Canada, call (518) 485‑6800.
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Third-party designee 
If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to 
discuss this tax return with the New York State Tax Department, 
mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area of your 
return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, and any 
five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her personal 
identification number (PIN). If you want to authorize the paid 
preparer who signed your return to discuss the return with the 
Tax Department, print the preparer’s name in the space for the 
designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone number in the 
space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have to provide 
the other information requested. If you do not want to authorize 
another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to 
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:
• 	give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your 

return;
•	 call the Tax Department for information about the processing of 

your return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and
•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with 

the designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. 
The notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or 
otherwise represent you before the Tax Department. If you want 
the designee to perform those services for you, you must file 
Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making that designation with the 
Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices or documents 
(such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your designee if 
you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically end 
on the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your next 
year’s tax return.

Signature
The return must be certified by the president, vice president, 
treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or other 
officer authorized by the taxpayer corporation.

The return of an association, publicly traded partnership, or 
business conducted by a trustee or trustees must be signed by 
a person authorized to act for the association, publicly traded 
partnership, or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the return, the signature 
of the person and the name, address, and identification number of 
the firm must be included. Failure to sign the return will delay the 
processing of any refunds and may result in penalties.

Your rights under the Tax Law
The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part, that the Tax 
Department advise you, in writing, of your rights and obligations 
during an audit, when appealing a Tax Department decision, and 
when your appeal rights have been exhausted and you need 
to understand the Tax Department’s enforcement capabilities. 
For a complete copy of the information contained in all of these 
statements, see Publication 131, Your Rights and Obligations Under 
the Tax Law. For a copy, you may visit our Web site or call toll free 
(see Need help? ).




