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Up-to-date information affecting your tax return
Visit our Web site for tax law changes or forms corrections that occurred 
after the forms and instructions were printed (see Need help?).

Changes for 2008
Increase in the mandatory first installment of estimated tax — The Tax 
Law was amended to provide an increase in the mandatory first installment 
for taxpayers, other than life insurance corporations filing Forms CT-33 or 
CT-33-A, and continuing section 186 taxpayers filing Form CT-186, whose 
preceding year’s tax, exclusive of the metropolitan transportation business 
tax (MTA surcharge), exceeded $100,000. For tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2009, those taxpayers are required to pay a first installment 
equal to 30% of the preceding year’s tax. Additionally, taxpayers who are 
required to pay their mandatory first installment at the 30% rate and are 
subject to the MTA surcharge are also required to calculate their estimated 
tax for the MTA surcharge at 30% of the preceding year’s MTA surcharge. 
The remaining three estimated tax payments are to be adjusted so that 
the total payments do not exceed 100% of the estimated tax due. The 
mandatory first installment of estimated tax and estimated MTA surcharge 
remains at 25% of the preceding year’s tax and tax surcharge, respectively, 
for those taxpayers whose preceding year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was 
less than or equal to $100,000. 

Collection costs or fees for tax debts owed to New York State — The 
Tax Department has been authorized to charge the taxpayer, as part 
of the taxpayer’s tax debt, any cost or fee imposed or charged by the 
United States, or any state, for the payment or remittance of a taxpayer’s 
overpayment to satisfy a New York State tax debt. 

Voluntary Disclosure and Compliance Program — A Voluntary 
Disclosure and Compliance Program has been established. The program 
provides relief from certain penalties and criminal prosecution to eligible 
taxpayers who come forward and reveal previously undisclosed liabilities. 
Visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov for additional information.

Extension of tax shelter reporting requirements — The expiration date of 
the reporting requirements and related administrative provisions concerning 
the disclosure of certain transactions and related information regarding tax 
shelters, including those related to New York reportable transactions, has 
been extended to July 1, 2011. Visit our Web site at www.nystax.gov for 
additional information.

Electronic filing and electronic payment mandate — Certain tax 
preparers using tax software to prepare tax documents, and certain 
taxpayers preparing their own tax documents using tax software, must, for 
the applicable calendar year and all succeeding calendar years, e-file all 
documents authorized by the Commissioner to be e-filed. Any tax liability 
or other amount due required to be paid with a tax document that must 
be e-filed must also be e-paid. For more information, visit our Web site at 
www.nystax.gov and click on e-file.

Brownfield credits revised — Numerous changes have been made 
to the brownfield program tax credits. For additional information, see 
Forms CT-611, Claim for Brownfield Redevelopment Tax Credit, CT-612, 
Claim for Remediated Brownfield Credit for Real Property Taxes, and 
CT-613, Claim for Environmental Remediation Insurance Credit.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation, 
revised — Previously, Form CT-222 was used by a corporation to report 
to the Tax Department the amount of the underpayment of estimated 
tax penalty the corporation was subject to. Beginning with the 2008 
Form CT-222, corporations will file Form CT-222 only to inform the Tax 
Department that the corporation meets one of the exceptions to the 

underpayment of estimated tax penalty. The Tax Department will compute 
the amount of any penalty and notify the corporation of any amount due.

Important information

Reporting requirements for tax shelters — The Tax Law requires 
taxpayers to report information about transactions that present the potential 
for tax avoidance (tax shelters). There are separate reporting requirements 
for those who use tax shelters and for those who promote the use of tax 
shelters. For the most recent information on these reporting requirements 
visit our Web site.

General instructions
•	 Specific instructions for Form CT-183 begin on page 4.

•	 Specific instructions for Form CT-184 begin on page 6.

Filing requirements
With the exception of non-local telephone companies, every taxpayer 
required to file Form CT-183 must also file Form CT-184. Railroad and 
trucking corporations see Filing requirements for railroad and trucking 
corporations. Telephone companies see Filing requirements for telephone 
businesses.

For the purposes of Forms CT-183 and CT-184, the term corporation 
includes an association within the meaning of Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) section 7701(a)(3) (including a limited liability company) and a 
publicly traded partnership treated as a corporation for purposes of IRC 
section 7704. This includes all domestic corporations (those incorporated 
in New York State), as well as any foreign corporations that are doing 
business, employing capital, owning or leasing property, or maintaining an 
office in New York State.

Generally a corporation, joint-stock company, or association formed for 
or principally engaged in a transportation or transmission business (such 
as canal, ferry, express, navigation, transfer, delivery, household moving, 
or telegraph) must file Forms CT-183 and CT-184. For corporations not 
required to file these forms, see The following corporations are not required 
to file Forms CT-183 and CT-184.

Filing requirements for cable television operators
Cable television operators are subject to tax under Tax Law Article 9-A 
and are not required to file Forms CT-183 and CT-184, unless they can 
demonstrate that they are doing business in the same manner as described 
in the Appellate Division decision of the New York State Supreme Court In 
the Matter of NewChannels et al v Tax Appeals Tribunal of the Department 
of Taxation and Finance of the State of New York et al, 279 AD2d 164, 719 
NYS2d 182 (3rd Dept 2001), lv denied 96 NY2d 711, 727 NYS2d 697 (2001). 
In that case, the cable operators collected television signals by various 
means, clarified the signals, assigned them a channel frequency, and 
transmitted the signals to subscribers through a system of coaxial cables 
and amplifiers. They had no control over the content of the signals received. 
They could not dictate the times at which the programs would be shown and 
they did not sell advertising on the local or premium channels they offered. 
Their largest capital investments consisted of equipment necessary to 
receive and transmit television signals to customers, and substantially all of 
their revenue was derived from subscriber fees.

For more information on the filing requirements under Article 9‑A, see 
Form CT‑3/4‑I, Instructions for Forms CT‑4, CT‑3, and CT‑3‑ATT.

Filing requirements for railroad and trucking corporations
Article 9, sections 183 and 184 — Railroad and trucking corporations 
may elect to be taxed under Article 9, sections 183 and 184, by filing 
Form CT-187, Election or Revocation of Election by Railroad and Trucking 
Corporations To Be Taxable Under Article 9, and marking an X in the Election 
box. This election must be made by the due date of the first franchise tax 
return due under Articles 9, 9-A, or 32 after 1997.

Article 9-A — Railroad and trucking corporations that do not elect to be 
taxed under Article 9 must file under Article 9-A. New York C corporations 
must file Form CT-3, General Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return,  
or CT-4, General Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return Short Form, 

Important reminder to file a complete return: You must complete 
all required schedules and forms that make up your return, and 
include all pages of those forms and schedules when you file. 
Returns that are missing required pages or that have pages with 
missing entries are considered incomplete and cannot be processed, 
and may subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.

CT-183/184-I
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and CT-3M/4M, General Business Corporation MTA Surcharge Return, 
if applicable, and New York S corporations must file Form CT-3-S, New 
York S Corporation Franchise Tax Return, within 2½ months after the end 
of the tax year. These corporations, except New York S corporations, may 
also be included on a combined return on Form CT‑3-A, General Business 
Corporation Combined Franchise Tax Return.

Final year filing requirements when Article 9 revocations are in 
effect
Railroad or trucking corporations that have elected to be taxed under 
Article 9, sections 183 and 184, may make a one-time revocation of 
this election by filing Form CT-187 and marking an X in the Revocation 
of election box. The revocation of election must be filed by March 15 
of the first year the corporation is not to be taxed under Article 9. (If 
March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the revocation 
is due on the next business day.) Such revocation will be effective as 
of January 1 of that year. A revocation filed after March 15 will take 
effect the following January 1. The following filing requirements apply:

Filing requirements for telephone businesses
Every corporation, joint-stock company, or association formed for or 
principally engaged in a telephone business must file Form CT-183, but only 
those corporations, joint-stock companies, or associations formed for or 
principally engaged in local telephone business must file Form CT‑184. 
Local telephone business means the provision or furnishing of 
telecommunication services for hire where the service consists of carrier 
access service, or originates and terminates within the same local 
access and transport area (LATA), or LATA-like Rochester nonassociated 
independent area (LATA-like area). The LATAs and LATA-like areas are those 
areas that were essentially formed and defined under the Modification of 
Final Judgement in United States v Western Electric Company (Civil Action 
No. 82-0192) in the United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

Telecommunication services means telephony or telegraphy or any 
telephone or telegraph service including, but not limited to, any transmission 
of the following: voice, image, data, information, and paging, through the use 
of wire, cable, fiber-optic, laser, microwave, radio wave, satellite, or similar 
media, or any combination thereof.

Telecommunication services also includes services that are not 
telecommunication services as such, but are: (1) ancillary to the provision of 
telephone service (for example, directory information, call forwarding, caller 
identification, call waiting, and supplementary services); and (2) services 
(of whatever nature) that are provided with telecommunication services. The 
receipts from equipment provided in connection with any telecommunication 
service (for example, equipment such as beepers, telephones, fax 
machines, and modems) are also subject to tax under section 184.

Telecommunication services does not include separately stated charges for 
a service that alters the substantive (information) content of the message 
received from that sent.

Telecommunication services excludes television or radio programming 
transmitted to subscribers by cable television service.

All telecommunication providers, whether organized in the corporate or 
individual form (including local telephone service providers) are subject to the 
excise tax under Tax Law section 186-e, Excise Tax on Telecommunication 

Services. Certain telecommunication providers may also be subject to tax 
under section 186-a on receipts from sales of water, gas, electricity, steam, 
or refrigeration. For more details, see Form CT-186-E-I, Instructions for 
Form CT-186-E.

The following corporations are not required to file 
Forms CT-183 and CT-184: 
•	 Foreign taxicab and omnibus corporations, normally taxable under 

Article 9-A, that conduct fewer than 12 trips into New York State during 
the calendar year are taxable under Article 9, section 184, but not under 
Article 9, section 183, as long as they do not otherwise own or lease 
property or maintain an office in New York State. These corporations must 
file Form CT-184-R, Foreign Bus and Taxicab Corporation Tax Return, 
instead. 

•	 Corporations exclusively engaged in the operation of vessels in foreign 
commerce are exempt from all state and local taxation on their capital 
stock, franchises, and earnings.

•	 Ferry companies that operate between any of the boroughs of the city of 
New York under a lease granted by New York City are exempt from taxation.

•	 Aviation corporations (including air freight forwarders acting 
as principal and like indirect air carriers) are subject to tax 
under Article 9-A and must file Form CT-3 or CT-4. See 
TSB-M-89(10)C, Taxability of Aviation Corporations under Article 9-A.

•	 Any corporation that is an organization defined by Tax Law 
section 186‑e.2(b)(3) and that is principally engaged in providing 
telecommunication services for the purpose of air safety and navigation, 
is not subject to tax under section 184.

•	 Corporations principally engaged in the transportation, transmission, 
or distribution of gas, electricity, or steam are not subject to tax under 
sections 183 and 184.

Use Form CT-183 to report and pay the franchise tax required by Article 9, 
section 183. This is an annual tax based on the corporation’s allocated 
capital stock, or a minimum tax of $75.

Use Form CT-184 to report and pay the franchise tax required by Article 9, 
section 184. This tax is based on the corporation’s gross earnings from all 
New York State sources.

Taxpayers subject to tax under Tax Law sections 183 and 184 must file both 
Forms CT-183 and CT-184 yearly. Unless excluded above, taxpayers who do 
not have taxable gross earnings must still file Form CT-184 to show that no 
tax is due under Tax Law Article 9, section 184.

When and where to file
The filing period for both forms must be based on a calendar year, 
regardless of your federal reporting period. This return is due on March 15, 
following the close of the tax year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, 
or legal holiday, the return is due on the next business day. Mail to: 
		  NYS CORPORATION TAX
		  PROCESSING UNIT
		  PO BOX 22038
		  ALBANY NY 12201-2038

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private delivery 
service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your return and tax 
payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you 
filed your return or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a 
private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that has been 
designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed 
in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help? 
for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used a 
designated private delivery service and need to establish the date you filed 
your return, contact that private delivery service for instructions on how 
to obtain written proof of the date your return was given to the delivery 
service for delivery. If you use any private delivery service, whether it is a 
designated service or not, send the forms covered by these instructions to: 
State Processing Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-4836.

Extension of time for filing tax return
If you wish to extend the filing deadline, you may request a three-month 
extension by filing Form CT-5.9, Request For Three‑Month Extension To 
File, on or before the original due date. An extension of time granted by 
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to file a federal return does not extend 
the date for filing a New York State return. You may make a request for an 

Revocation filed on or before
March 17, 2009

Since the tax under section 183 
is paid in advance, do not file a 
Form CT-183 in 2009.

If you are subject to the 
MTA surcharge, file a 2008 
Form CT‑183‑M, due on 
March 17, 2009.

File a final 2008 Form CT-184 (and 
if applicable, Form CT-184-M), due 
on March 17, 2009.

Do not include a mandatory first 
installment of estimated tax on 
your final Form CT-184, CT‑184‑M, 
or Form CT‑5.9, Request for 
Three-Month Extension to File.

Revocation filed after March 17, 2009,
and before January 1, 2010

Since the tax under section 
183 is paid in advance, file a 
2008 Form CT‑183, due on 
March 17, 2009.

If you are subject to the 
MTA surcharge, file a 2008 
Form CT‑183‑M, due on 
March 17, 2009.

File a 2008 Form CT‑184 (and if 
applicable, Form CT‑184‑M), due on 
March 17, 2009.

Include a mandatory first 
installment of estimated tax on 
your Form CT-184, CT-184-M, or 
Form CT‑5.9.
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additional three‑month extension of time by filing Form CT‑5.1, Request For 
Additional Extension of Time To File.

Tax basis
Tax Law Article 9, section 183, provides for a franchise tax based on 
the net value of issued capital stock employed in New York State (see 
Form CT‑183, Schedule D).

The net value of issued capital stock may be allocated within and outside 
New York State. Base the allocation on the gross assets employed in 
New York State (see Form CT-183, Schedule A).

The franchise tax required by section 183 is the highest of the three taxes 
computed by the following three methods:

1.	 Allocated value of issued capital stock multiplied by the tax rate of 
1.5 mills (.0015).

2.	 Allocated value of issued capital stock on which dividends are paid at a 
rate of 6% or more, multiplied by the tax rate of .375 mills (.000375) for 
each 1% of dividends paid. Apply a rate of 1.5 mills (.0015) to capital 
stock on which dividends are not paid, or are paid at a rate of less than 6%.

3.	 Minimum tax of $75.

A combination of tax on capital stock using the tax rate of 1.5 mills and the 
dividend rate as computed in Schedule E is possible if a corporation has 
more than one kind of stock (see Form CT-183). 

Tax Law Article 9, section 184, provides for a tax at the rate of 3/8% 
(.00375) of the gross earnings received from business conducted in 
New York State during the tax year (see Form CT-184).

A railroad not operated by steam, whose property is leased to another 
railroad, shall pay only a tax of 4.5% on dividends paid during the tax year 
that are in excess of 4% of the amount of its capital stock. The tax on gross 
earnings would not apply.

The tax under Article 9, section 184 does not apply to a foreign railroad, 
palace car, or sleeping car company, or to a navigation, canal, ferry, 
steamboat, or other corporation operating vessels if the corporation’s only 
activities in New York State are (1) maintaining an office and employing 
capital, and (2) owning property used exclusively in interstate or foreign 
commerce.

Foreign corporations
Maintenance fee — If you are a foreign corporation (a corporation 
organized outside of New York State) authorized to do business in New York 
State under the Business Corporation Law Article 13 or 15-A you must 
pay an annual maintenance fee of $300 until such time as your authority 
is surrendered to the Department of State, regardless of whether you are 
doing business. The fee may be reduced by 25% if the period for which the 
fee is imposed consists of more than six months but not more than nine 
months, and by 50% if the period for which the fee is imposed consists 
of not more than six months. If you do not pay this fee or its equivalent in 
New York State corporation taxes plus metropolitan transportation business 
taxes (MTA surcharges), your authorization to do business in New York State 
may be annulled. Payments of New York State corporation taxes (including 
the MTA surcharge) under Articles 9, 9-A, and 32 are counted as payments 
toward the $300 annual maintenance fee. If the corporation is disclaiming 
tax liability, it must pay the $300 maintenance fee by filing Form CT-245, 
Maintenance Fee and Activities Return for a Foreign Corporation 
Disclaiming Tax Liability. The license fee reported on Form CT-240, Foreign 
Corporation License Fee Return, is not considered corporation tax and 
cannot be considered as a payment toward the maintenance fee.

License fee — Foreign corporations must also file Form CT-240, whether 
or not they are authorized to do business in New York State, for the privilege 
of exercising their corporate franchise or carrying on their business in 
New York State. Form CT-240 must be filed with the corporation’s first 
franchise tax return, or if the capital stock employed in New York State has 
increased since the last Form CT-240 was filed. Payment of the corporation 
franchise tax does not satisfy the license fee obligation.

Penalty for underpaying estimated tax — Form CT-184
If you can reasonably expect your New York State franchise tax liability on 
Form CT-184 to exceed $1,000, you must file a declaration of estimated tax 
on Form CT-400 or CT-400‑MN, Estimated Tax for Corporations. We may 
impose a penalty if you fail to file a declaration of estimated tax or fail to pay 

the entire installment payment of estimated tax due. For more information, 
see Form CT-222-I, Instructions for Form CT-222.

Late payment — Interest — If you do not pay the tax on or before 
the original due date (without regard to any extension of time for filing), 
you must pay interest on the amount of the underpayment from the original 
due date of the return to the date the tax is paid. Exclude from the interest 
computation any amount shown as the first installment of estimated tax for 
next period.

Late filing and late payment — Additional charges
Compute additional charges for late filing and late payment on the amount 
of tax, minus any payment made on or before the due date (with regard to 
any extension of time for filing). Exclude from the penalty computation any 
amount shown as the first installment of estimated tax.

A.	 If you do not file a return when due, or if your request for extension 
is invalid, add to the tax 5% (.05) per month up to 25% (.25) 
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B.	 If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the addition to 
tax in item A above cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or 100% of 
the amount required to be shown as tax (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.	 If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax ½% (.005) per 
month up to 25% (.25) (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.	 The total of the additional charges in items A and C above may not 
exceed 5% (.05) for any one month, except as provided for in item B 
above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a 
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or both 
(section 1085).

Tax shelter penalties — The Tax law also provides for penalties for 
failure to disclose certain transactions and related information regarding 
tax shelters and for the underpayment of taxes due to participation in these 
shelters. For more information, refer to TSB-M-05(2)C, Disclosure of Certain 
Transactions and Related Information Regarding Tax Shelters.

Penalty for failure to provide information relating to the 
issuer’s allocation percentage — Tax Law section 1085(o) 
provides for a penalty of $500 for failure to provide information needed to 
compute your issuer’s allocation percentage (Form CT-183, Schedule A).

Collection of debts from your refund or overpayment
We will keep all or part of your refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due, 
legally enforceable debt to a New York State agency, or if you owe a New 
York City tax warrant judgment debt. We may also keep all or part of your 
refund or overpayment if you owe a past-due legally enforceable debt to 
another state, provided that state has entered into a reciprocal agreement 
with New York State. If we keep your refund or overpayment, we will notify 
you.

A New York State agency includes any state department, board, bureau, 
division, commission, committee, public authority, public benefit corporation, 
council, office, or other entity performing a governmental or proprietary 
function for the state or a social services district. We will refund or apply as 
an overpayment any amount over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due, legally 
enforceable debt to a state agency, or to another state, or whether you owe 
a New York City tax warrant judgment debt, contact the state agency, the 
other state, or the New York City Department of Finance.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554 (from areas 
outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800) or write to: NYS 
Tax Department, Collections and Civil Enforcement Division, W A Harriman 
Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Final return
Mark an X in the Final return box on page 1 of the return, under the form 
number, only if filing a final tax return for one of the following reasons:

Note: You may compute your penalty and interest by accessing our 
Web site and clicking on Online Tax Center, or you may call and we will 
compute the penalty and interest for you (see Need help?).
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•	 voluntary dissolution of a New York corporation (New York Business 
Corporation Law, section 1001-1003);

•	 surrender of authority by a foreign corporation (New York Business 
Corporation Law, section 1310);

•	 merger or consolidation (New York Business Corporation Law, 
sections 904, 904-a, 905, and 907);

•	 disposition of assets of a New York corporation (New York Business 
Corporation Law, section 909(d));

•	 termination of existence of a foreign corporation (New York Business 
Corporation Law, section 1311); or

•	 liquidation under IRC sections 332, 333, 334, and 337.

See the Voluntary dissolution and surrender of authority and liability for 
taxes and fees section of these instructions, and also Publication 110, 
Information and Instructions for Termination of Business Corporations, for 
the proper procedures to follow in terminating your business.

In the case of a merger or consolidation, only the non-surviving corporation 
marks the Final return box.

The return will be treated as a final return if your business is terminated with 
the Department of State, and the return covers the tax period from the last 
return filed to the date of termination.

Foreign authorized corporations: refer to Form CT-245 if you are disclaiming 
tax liability but want to continue to be authorized to do business in New York 
State.

Do not mark the Final return box if you are only changing the type of 
return that you file (for example, changing from Forms CT-183 and CT-184 
to Form CT‑3).

If you have terminated business since March 2008, do not file a final 
Form CT-183. The tax under section 183 is paid in advance.

Voluntary dissolution and surrender of authority and 
liability for taxes and fees
A domestic corporation (incorporated in New York State) is generally 
liable for corporate franchise taxes for each fiscal or calendar year, or part 
thereof, during which it is incorporated, regardless of whether it carries 
on any activity. For example, a person who intends to go into business 
organizes a new corporation under the New York Business Corporation 
Law for the purpose of operating the new business as a corporation. 
However, the business is never started and the corporation never conducts 
any business. Under such circumstances, the corporation would usually 
be liable for franchise taxes for each tax year until it is formally dissolved 
with the Department of State. A foreign corporation (incorporated outside 
New York State) is liable for franchise taxes during the period in which it 
does business, employs capital, owns or leases property, or maintains an 
office in New York State. In addition, a foreign corporation that is authorized 
to do business in New York State is also liable for payments of its annual 
maintenance fee until such time as it surrenders to the Department of State 
its authority to do business, regardless of whether it does business, employs 
capital, owns or leases property, or maintains an office in the state. You may 
count the franchise tax as a payment against the maintenance fee.

The procedure for obtaining a voluntary dissolution or surrender of authority 
and the forms that are required to be filed with this department are set forth 
in Publication 110. (See Need help? )

Completing your tax return
Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please mark an X 
in the Amended return box on the top of page 1.

Change of address — If your address has changed, please enter your new 
address in the appropriate area and mark an X in the box below the address 
so that we can update your address for this tax type. Do not mark this box 
for any change of business information other than for your address.

Change of business information — You must report any changes in 
your business name, ID number, mailing address, physical address, 
telephone number, or owner/officer information on Form DTF-95, Business 
Tax Account Update. If only your address has changed, you may use 
Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax Accounts, to 
correct your address for this and all other tax types. You can get these forms 
from our Web site, or by fax or phone. See Need help?. 

Employer identification number, file number, and other identifying 
information — For us to process your corporation tax forms it is important 
that we have the necessary identifying information including your 
current address. Keep a record of that information and include it on each 
corporation tax form mailed.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use your 
complete and accurate identifying information when completing all forms.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in whole dollars 
rather than dollars and cents. Round any amount from 50 cents through 
99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any amount less than 50 cents to 
the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts with a minus (-) sign.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert decimals 
into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces to the right. Round 
percentages to four decimal places. 

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Entering dates — Unless you are specifically directed to use a different 
format, enter dates in the mm-dd-yy format (using dashes and not slashes).

Third-party designee — If you want to authorize another person 
(third-party designee) to discuss this tax return with the New York State 
Tax Department, mark an X in the Yes box in the Third-party designee area 
of your return. Also print the designee’s name, phone number, and any 
five-digit number the designee chooses as his or her personal identification 
number (PIN). If you want to authorize the paid preparer who signed your 
return to discuss the return with the Tax Department, print the preparer’s 
name in the space for the designee’s name and enter the preparer’s phone 
number in the space for the designee’s phone number. You do not have 
to provide the other information requested. If you do not want to authorize 
another person, mark an X in the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to discuss 
with the designee any questions that may arise during the processing of 
your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

• 	 give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your return;

•	 call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your 
return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

•	 respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with the 
designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. The notices 
will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund check, bind you 
to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent 
you before the Tax Department. If you want the designee to perform those 
services for you, you must file Form POA-1, Power of Attorney, making 
that designation with the Tax Department. Copies of statutory tax notices 
or documents (such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be sent to your 
designee if you file Form POA-1.

You cannot change the PIN. The authorization will automatically end on the 
due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your next year’s tax return. 

Signature — The return must be certified by the president, vice president, 
treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or other authorized by 
the taxpayer corporation.

The return of an association, publicly traded partnership, or business 
conducted by a trustee or trustees must be signed by a person authorized to 
act for the association, publicly traded partnership, or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the return, the signature of the 
person and the name, address, and identification number of the firm must 
be included. Failure to sign the return will delay the processing of any 
refunds and may result in penalties.

Instructions for Form CT-183 
Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) — Any 
corporation taxable under Article 9, section 183, that does business, 
employs capital, owns or leases property, or maintains an office in 
the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) must file 
Form CT-183-M, Transportation and Transmission Corporation MTA 
Surcharge Return, and pay a metropolitan transportation business tax 
surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan Transportation Authority 
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region. The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, 
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and 
Westchester.

If you do not do business in the MCTD, disclaim liability for the MTA 
surcharge by answering No to the question above line A.

Tax computation
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United States funds. 
We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable 
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Line 5 — Mark an X in the appropriate box(es) in the summary of credits 
section on Form CT‑183, above line 83. Enter on line 5 the total amount of 
tax credits that you are applying against this year’s tax from the following 
forms (attach the form(s) to your return):

Form CT-40,	 Claim for Alternative Fuels Credit

Form CT-41,	 Claim for Credit for Employment of Persons with
	 Disabilities

Form CT-43,	 Claim for Special Additional Mortgage Recording
	 Tax Credit

Form CT-243,	 Claim for Biofuel Production Credit

Form CT-249, 	 Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit

	 Form CT-259,	 Claim for Fuel Cell Electric Generating Equipment Credit

	 Form CT-611, 	 Claim for Brownfield Redevelopment Tax Credit

	 Form CT-612, 	 Claim for Remediated Brownfield Credit for Real Property 
Taxes

	 Form CT-613, 	 Claim for Environmental Remediation Insurance Credit

	 Form CT-631, 	 Claim for Security Officer Training Tax Credit

Form DTF-630, 	Claim for Green Building Credit

If you are claiming a credit for which no specific box is provided, mark an X 
in the Other credits box and attach the appropriate form(s).

Do not include on line 5 any amount of credit that will be carried over, refunded, 
or applied as an overpayment to the next tax period. Credits for which you are 
requesting a refund are reported on line 16b. Credits that you are applying as 
an overpayment to the next tax period are reported on line 16c.

These credits may not reduce your tax below the minimum tax.

You may apply any unused credit that remains after applying the credit to 
your franchise tax against the tax due under section 184 (Form CT-184).

When claiming more than one credit, you must apply them against your tax 
in the following order:

 	 1.	Noncarryover credits that are not refundable

	 2.	Carryover credits that are of limited duration

	 3.	Carryover credits that are of unlimited duration

	 4.	Refundable credits

The following credits are carryover credits of unlimited duration: alternative 
fuels; employment of persons with disabilities; special additional mortgage 
recording tax; long‑term care insurance; green building.

The brownfield redevelopment tax credit, the environmental remediation 
insurance credit, the remediated brownfield credit for real property taxes, 
the security officer training tax credit, and the biofuel production credit are 
refundable.

Line 6 — Foreign authorized corporations only: If the total due with your  
tax returns — Forms CT-183, CT-183-M, CT‑184, CT‑184‑M, CT‑184-R, 
CT-186-E, CT-186-EZ, CT-186-P, and CT-186-P/M — for December 31, 
2008, is less than $300, add the difference to the tax due on this form and 
enter the total, 300, on this line. Attach the computation.

Example:	 Form CT-183, Minimum tax, 12/31/08	 $ 75
	 Form CT-184, Tax for 12/31/08	  125
	 MTA surcharge for Forms CT-183-M and CT-184-M	  34
	 Total	  234
	 Maintenance fee for 2008	 $300
	 Enter 300 on Form CT-183, line 6.

Lines 9 and 10 — If you are not filing this return on time, you must pay 
interest and additional charges (see Late payment — Interest and Late filing 
and late payment — Additional charges).

Line 16b — If you are claiming a refund of tax credits, enter the total 
amount and attach the appropriate tax credit form(s). Do not include this 
amount on line 5.

Line 16c — If you are applying an amount of tax credits as an overpayment 
to the next tax period, enter that amount and attach the appropriate tax 
credit form(s). Do not include this amount on line 5.

Schedule A — Allocation percentage/issuer’s allocation 
percentage

Part 1 — General transportation and transmission 
corporations
Line 17 — Accounts receivable are considered located where controlled.

Line 18 — If the assets of any company whose stock is owned by this 
corporation are employed both within and outside New York State, you may 
apportion your holdings on the basis of percentage of employment by the 
issuer of the stock.

Line 19 — Bonds, loans, and other securities are considered located where 
employed.

Line 22 — Enter the value of all other assets located in New York State that 
are reflected on your balance sheet, except the value of vehicles. Determine 
the value of vehicles allocated to New York State (column A) by multiplying 
the mileage allocation percentage from Form CT-184, line 21, by the total 
value of the vehicles. Cable television operators allocate the value of 
vehicles by using the ratio of gross receipts from providing cable service to 
service addresses within New York State, as reported on Form CT-184, line 
46, to gross receipts from providing cable service to all service addresses.

Line 23 — Add lines 17 through 22. The column B total must equal the 
amount of gross assets shown on your balance sheet, except for cash and 
investments in United States obligations.

Part 2 — Corporations operating vessels not exclusively 
engaged in foreign commerce
Line 25 — Working days are days during which a vessel is sufficiently 
staffed for the transportation of persons or cargo, or when it has cargo 
aboard. Compute for each vessel the working time in New York State 
territorial waters and the working time everywhere in hours and minutes. 
At the end of the year, total the time for all vessels, and convert to days. 
Instead of records indicating actual time in New York State territorial waters, 
you may compute time from records showing when vessels passed the 
Ambrose Light Station on the way in and out of port.

Schedules B and C — Information required in these two schedules 
must be the same information that appears on your balance sheet. Attach a 
copy of your balance sheet.

Schedule D — Computation of tax based on the net 
value of issued capital stock
Tax based on net value as shown on your balance sheet is the largest of the 
three taxes, computed by the following three methods of valuing stock:

1.	 Total number of shares of stock outstanding as of December 31, 2008, 
multiplied by the net value per share of stock outstanding as of 
December 31, 2008, but not less than $5 per share (lines 47 
through 49).

2.	 Total number of shares of stock outstanding as of December 31, 2008, 
multiplied by the average price at which they were sold during the year 
(lines 50 through 52).

3. The difference between your assets and liabilities (lines 53 through 55).

Schedule E — Computation of tax if dividend rate is 6% 
or more on some or all classes of capital stock
Local telephone companies — Local telephone companies with no 
more than 1 million access lines in New York State are not subject to the 
excess dividends tax imposed under Tax Law Article 9, section 183. Do not 
complete Schedule E if you are a local telephone company with no more 
than 1 million access lines in New York State.

Part 1, Column B
Compute the value of each class of par value stock by multiplying the par 
value by the number of shares of such stock issued and outstanding as of 
December 31, 2008. Do not include any additional paid-in capital, premium, 
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or discount on the issuance of par value stock, or any capital arising from 
appreciation of assets, amounts not contributed by the stockholder, or 
retained earnings. 

Compute the value of each class of stock without nominal or par value 
by multiplying the amount paid for the no-par-value stock, including any 
additional paid-in capital, premium, or discount on the issuance of the stock, 
by the number of shares issued and outstanding as of December 31, 2008. 
Do not include any capital arising from appreciation of assets, amounts not 
contributed by the stockholder, or retained earnings.

Part 2 — Tax computation
If you paid a 6% or more dividend on all classes of issued capital stock, 
complete lines 61 through 69, and line 75. You do not need to complete 
lines 70 through 74.

If you did not pay a 6% or more dividend on all classes of stock, compute a 
tax on the dividend based on the value of the stock on which the dividend of 
6% or more was paid by completing lines 57, 58, and 59 plus a tax, at the 
capital-stock rate, on the remaining value of all capital stock by completing 
lines 70 through 74. Also complete line 75.

Lines 70 through 74 — The class of capital stock on which the dividend 
was paid determines the remaining value of all capital stock. If the 6% or 
greater dividend was paid on preferred stock, the remaining value of all 
capital stock is retained earnings plus common stock, as retained earnings 
are normally associated with common stock. Thus in this instance retained 
earnings would be included on line 70. See Example 1.

If the 6% or greater dividend was paid on common stock, the remaining 
value of all capital stock is preferred stock. Retained earnings would not be 
included on line 70. See Example 2.

The following examples illustrate how the dividend rates and remaining 
value of capital stock are computed.

Example 1: Dividend paid on preferred stock
Par value of common stock	 $10,000
Par value of preferred stock	 50,000
Retained earnings	 80,000
Dividend paid on preferred stock	 3,300
Dividend rate ($3,300 ÷ $50,000)	 6.6%
6.6 × .000375 (tax rate of 3/8 mill)	 .002475
Tax ($50,000 × .002475)		  $123.75
Remaining value of issued capital stock
  (common stock plus retained earnings:
  $90,000 × .0015)		  135.00
Total tax		  $258.75

Example 2: Dividend paid on common stock
Par value of common stock	 $10,000
Par value of preferred stock	 50,000
Retained earnings	 80,000
Dividend paid on common stock	 3,000
Dividend rate ($3,000 ÷ $10,000)	 30%
30 × .000375 (tax rate of  3/8 mill)	 .01125
Tax ($10,000 × .01125)		  $112.50
Remaining value of issued capital stock
  (preferred stock only; $50,000 × .0015)		  75.00

Total tax		  $187.50

Parts 3 and 4
Corporations operating vessels not exclusively engaged in foreign 
commerce must compute the dividend rate on paid-in capital for all 
classes of stock. This includes all amounts paid for the stock. It does not 
include capital from appreciation of assets, amounts not contributed by the 
stockholder, or retained earnings.

Schedule F — Composition of prepayments
If you need more space, write see attached in this section and attach a 
separate sheet showing all relevant prepayment information. Transfer the 
total shown on the attached sheet to line 7.

Line 83 — Enter the amount of credits that are refund eligible claimed on 
line 5 against your current year’s franchise tax. Do not include any amount 
of credits actually requested as a refund on line 16b or requested as an 
overpayment credited to next year’s tax on line 16c.

Instructions for Form CT-184 
All transportation and transmission corporations and associations subject to 
tax under Article 9, section 184, must file Form CT-184 and pay the tax due 
on gross earnings or dividends, whichever is appropriate.

All transportation and transmission corporations and associations must file 
Form CT-184 even if no tax is due. Enter zeros where appropriate on lines 1 
through 14 and file the signed return with Form CT-183. 

Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) — Any 
corporation taxable under Article 9, section 184, that does business, 
employs capital, owns or leases property, or maintains an office in 
the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) must file 
Form CT-184-M, Transportation and Transmission Corporation MTA 
Surcharge Return, and pay an MTA surcharge on business done in the 
Metropolitan Transportation Authority region. The MCTD includes the 
counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, 
Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester. Answer the questions 
on page 1 of Form CT-184 by marking an X in the appropriate box(es). If you 
do not do business in the MCTD, disclaim liability for the MTA surcharge by 
answering No to the second question.

Tax computation
Line A — Make your check or money order payable in United States funds. 
We will accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable 
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Line 5 — Mark an X in the appropriate box(es) in the summary of credits 
section on Form CT‑184, above line 69. Enter on line 5 the total amount of 
tax credits that you are applying against this year’s tax from the following 
forms (attach the form(s) to your return):

Form CT-40,	 Claim for Alternative Fuels Credit
Form CT-41,	 Claim for Credit for Employment of Persons with 		
	 Disabilities
Form CT-43,	 Claim for Special Additional Mortgage Recording Tax 	
	 Credit
Form CT-243,	 Claim for Biofuel Production Credit
Form CT-249,	 Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit
Form CT-259,	 Claim for Fuel Cell Electric Generating Equipment Credit
Form CT-611,	 Claim for Brownfield Redevelopment Tax Credit

Form CT-612, 	 Claim for Remediated Brownfield Credit for Real Property 	
	 Taxes

Form CT-613,	 Claim for Environmental Remediation Insurance Credit

Form CT-631,	 Claim for Security Officer Training Tax Credit

Form DTF-630,	 Claim for Green Building Credit

If you are claiming a credit for which no specific box is provided, mark the 
Other credits box and attach the appropriate form(s).

Do not include on line 5 any amount of credit that will be carried over,
refunded, or applied as an overpayment to the next tax period. Credits for 
which you are requesting a refund are reported on line 19b. Credits that 
you are applying as an overpayment to the next tax period are reported on 
line 19c.

You may apply any unused credit that remains after applying the credit to 
your franchise tax under section 183 against the tax due under section 184 
(Form CT-184).

When claiming more than one credit, you must apply them against your tax 
in the order specified in the instruction for Form CT‑183, line 5.

Line 7b — If the total tax on line 6 exceeds $1,000, but is not greater than 
$100,000, enter 25% (.25) of line 6. If line 6 exceeds $100,000, enter 30% 
(.30) of line 6.

Line 8 — Foreign authorized corporations only: if the total tax due with 
your 2008 tax returns — Forms CT-183, CT-183-M, CT‑184, CT-184-M, 
CT-184-R, CT‑186-E, CT-186-EZ, CT-186-P, and CT‑186-P/M — is less than 
$300, see instructions for Form CT-183, line 6.

Line 11 — Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation, 
is filed by a corporation to inform the Tax Department that the corporation 
meets one of the exceptions to the underpayment of estimated tax penalty 
pursuant to Tax Law section 1085(d).
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Line 12 — Interest — see Late payment — Interest information. Compute 
on amount from line 10 minus line 7a or 7b.

Line 13 — See Late filing and late payment — Additional charges. Compute 
on amount from line 10 minus line 7a or 7b.

Line 19b — If you are claiming a refund of tax credits, enter the total 
amount and attach the appropriate tax credit form(s). Do not include this 
amount on line 5.

Line 19c — If you are applying an amount of tax credits as an overpayment 
to the next tax period, enter that amount and attach the appropriate tax 
credit form(s). Do not include this amount on line 5.

Schedule A — Mileage allocation — Transportation over 
the road
Taxpayers subject to tax under section 184, except telephone corporations, 
telegraph corporations, and cable television operators, complete Schedule A 
and Schedule D to allocate gross earnings.
Telephone corporations complete Schedule B and Schedule D. 
Telegraph corporations complete Schedule C and Schedule D. 
Cable television operators complete Schedule D.

Transportation over the road — If no allocation is claimed, enter 100% 
on line 21. Your gross receipts must be allocated using the mileage 
allocation. The mileage allocation is a percentage based on the number of 
revenue miles traveled within New York State compared to the total revenue 
miles traveled everywhere (do not include nonrevenue miles, such as 
deadheading).

Schedule B — Corporations principally engaged in local 
telephone business
Line 22 — Enter gross revenue from all telephone services, including 
receipts of cash, credits, and property of any kind or nature, without any 
deductions for the cost of property sold, the cost of materials used, labor, 
services, or other costs, interest, or discount paid, or any other expense. 
Examples of telephone services receipts include the following:

•	 All charges for carrier access services provided in New York State.

•	 Local services receipts from subscriber’s stations, public telephones, 
service stations, local private lines, and other local service receipts.

•	 Intrastate toll service receipts, toll private line services, and other toll 
service receipts for calls that originate and terminate in New York State, 
and any other telephone receipts, including receipts from the transmission 
of voice, data, image, information, and paging, where the transmission 
originates and terminates in New York State.

•	 Interstate and international toll service receipts, toll private line services, 
and other toll service receipts for calls that originate or terminate in 
New York State, and any other telephone receipts, including receipts from 
the transmission of voice, data, image, information, and paging, where 
the transmission originates or terminates in New York State.

•	 Receipts from services that are ancillary to the provision of 
telecommunication services, such as directory information, call 
forwarding, caller identification, call waiting, and supplementary services 
provided in New York State.

•	 Receipts from equipment provided in connection with any 
telecommunication service in New York State.

•	 Receipts from incidental services provided in connection with any 
telecommunication service provided in New York State.

Gross operating revenue from telephone services does not include taxes 
imposed by New York State or its municipalities or the federal government, 
where you are collecting the taxes for the taxing authority (for example, 
state and local sales taxes or federal excise taxes). Deductions allowed from 
receipts comprising gross operating revenue include uncollectible accounts.

Schedule C — Allocation of gross operating revenue 
from telegraph corporations
Telegraph companies that sell or furnish telegraph transmission services in 
New York State must complete Schedule C and compute gross operating 
revenue.

Gross operating revenue includes the following:

•	 intrastate gross operating revenue

•	 interstate gross operating revenue allocated to New York State

•	 foreign gross operating revenue allocated to New York State

Intrastate gross operating revenue includes receipts from the sale or 
furnishing of intrastate telegraph services.

Compute interstate and foreign gross operating revenue allocated to 
New York State by using either the accounting rule method or the formula 
rule method. Interstate and foreign gross operating revenue includes 
revenues (that is, receipts) allocated to New York State from the sale or 
furnishing of interstate and foreign telegraph services.

In determining gross operating revenue, receipts include cash, credits, 
and property of any kind or nature, without any deductions for the cost of 
property sold, the cost of materials used, labor, services, or other costs, 
interest or discount paid, or any other expense.

Gross operating revenue from telegraph services includes receipts such as 
the following:

•	 miscellaneous receipts from commissions, rent receipts, general service 
receipts, license receipts, and other miscellaneous receipts

•	 any other transmission receipts

Deductions allowed from receipts comprising gross operating revenue 
include uncollectible accounts, as well as taxes imposed by New York State 
or its municipalities or the federal government, when you are collecting taxes 
for the taxing authority (for example, state and local sales taxes, or federal 
excise taxes).

Line 27 — Enter 100% of receipts that comprise intrastate gross operating 
revenue from telegraph services wholly within New York State. If you employ 
a Uniform System of Accounts as prescribed for federal or state regulatory 
purposes, enter the amount of receipts that comprise gross operating 
revenue as reflected in these accounts.

Lines 28 and 29 — Use the accounting rule method to allocate interstate and 
foreign gross operating revenue if you employ a Uniform System of Accounts 
as prescribed for federal or state regulatory purposes, and these accounts 
reflect the amount of gross operating revenue from interstate and foreign 
services attributable to New York State. Enter the amount of receipts that 
comprise interstate and foreign gross operating revenue from those accounts.

Formula rule allocation method
Lines 31 through 38 — Use the formula rule method to allocate interstate 
and foreign gross operating revenue if you do not employ a Uniform 
System of Accounts as prescribed for federal or state regulatory purposes, 
or if the accounting rule method does not properly reflect the amount of 
gross operating revenue from interstate and foreign transmission services 
attributable to New York State.

Line 31 — Enter the average value of real property you owned and used 
in connection with interstate or foreign telegraph services. In column A, 
enter the average value of property physically located in New York State. 
In column B, enter the average value of all property wherever located. 
Average value is the cost of real property without allowance for depreciation 
or amortization. It is generally computed on a quarterly basis, but you may 
use a more frequent basis such as monthly, weekly, or daily. Use the same 
method of valuation for real property within New York State and everywhere.

Line 32— Enter the average value of real property rented to you that you 
used in connection with interstate or foreign telegraph services. In column 
A, enter the average value of property physically located in New York State. 
In column B, enter the average value of all property wherever located. 
Determine the average value of real property rented to you by multiplying 
gross rents payable during the period covered by this return by eight. Gross 
rents include any amount payable as rent or in lieu of rent, such as interest, 
insurance, taxes, and repairs, plus amortization of leasehold improvements 
that revert to the lessor at the termination of the lease.

Line 33 — Enter the average value of tangible personal property you owned 
that you used in connection with interstate or foreign telegraph services. 
In column A, enter the average value of property physically located in New 
York State. In column B, enter the average value of all property wherever 
located. Tangible personal property is physical personal property, such as 
machinery, tools, implements, goods, wares, and merchandise. It does not 
include money, deposits in banks, shares of stock, bonds, notes, credits, or 
evidences of an interest in property or debt, or intangible assets. Average 
value is the cost of tangible personal property without allowance for 
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depreciation or amortization. It is generally computed on a quarterly basis, 
but you may use a more frequent basis such as monthly, weekly, or daily. 
Use the same method of valuation for tangible personal property both within 
New York State and everywhere.

Line 34 — Enter the average value of tangible personal property rented to 
you that you used in connection with interstate or foreign telegraph services. 
In column A, enter the average value of property physically located in New 
York State. In column B, enter the average value of all property wherever 
located. Determine the average value of tangible personal property rented 
to you by multiplying gross rents payable during the period covered by this 
return by eight. See line 32 instructions for definition of gross rents.

Line 35 — Enter the average value of intangible assets owned within 
New York State and everywhere that are used in connection with interstate 
or foreign telegraph services. Intangible assets include, but are not limited 
to, such items as patents, franchises, and copyrights. Average value is the 
cost of intangible assets without allowance for depreciation or amortization. 
It is generally computed on a quarterly basis, but you may use a more 
frequent basis such as monthly, weekly, or daily. However, you must use the 
same method of valuation for intangible assets within New York State and 
everywhere. Determine intangible assets to be within or outside New York 
State by allocating them to your home office.

Line 36 — Enter the average value of extraterrestrial property within 
New York State and everywhere that is used in connection with interstate or 
foreign telegraph services. Extraterrestrial property refers to property such 
as communication satellites whether owned, rented, or leased. Average 
value is the cost without allowance for depreciation or amortization or, if 
rented, the gross rental times eight. To determine the average value of 
extraterrestrial property within New York State, multiply the average value of 
extraterrestrial property everywhere by a percentage determined as follows:

Average value of satellite repeater facilities, earth stations, or other 
satellite communication facilities within New York State used in 
connection with interstate or foreign transmission services.

divided by

Average value of satellite repeater facilities, earth stations, or other 
satellite communication facilities everywhere used in connection with 
interstate or foreign transmission services.

Line 39 — Enter the amount of receipts that comprise gross operating 
revenue from interstate telegraph transmission services, and multiply by the 
formula rule allocation percentage from line 38.

Line 40 — Enter the amount of receipts that comprise gross operating 
revenue from foreign telegraph transmission services, and multiply by the 
formula rule allocation percentage from line 38.

Schedule D — Tax computation based on gross earnings 
from business in New York State
Line 44 — Enter total gross receipts earned from trucking services 
everywhere, and multiply by the mileage allocation percentage computed 
on line 21. Cost of materials subsequently resold to customers may be 
deducted from gross receipts.

Line 46 — Cable television operators: If all of your subscribers are in 
New York State, enter your gross receipts from all subscribers. If you provide 
cable service to service addresses outside of New York State, enter only 
your gross receipts from service addresses within New York State.

Line 49 — Enter gross receipts from water transportation business both 
originating and terminating within New York State. Allocate receipts from 
business beginning and ending in New York State but passing through 
another state or country (loop traffic). To allocate, multiply revenue from 
water transportation by a percentage, where the numerator is miles in 
New York State, and the denominator is miles everywhere. Attach your 
computation.

Line 50 — Enter gross receipts from railroad transportation business both 
originating and terminating within New York State. Allocate receipts from 
business beginning and ending in New York State but passing through 
another state or country (loop traffic). To allocate, multiply revenue from 
railroad transportation by a percentage, where the numerator is miles in 
New York State, and the denominator is miles everywhere. Attach your 
computation.

Line 51 — Enter rental income received from use of real or tangible 
personal property within New York State. If tangible personal property is 
rented in New York State but used outside the state, include the rental 
income as gross earnings in New York State.

Line 52 — Enter the amount of interest and dividends received from 
investments in other corporations and interest-bearing cash accounts. 
Allocate the interest and dividends to the home office where the item is 
held, managed, and controlled.

Line 53 — Compute the profit on the sale or exchange of real and personal 
property on the basis of the original cost minus any expenses incurred in 
making the sale (such as advertising), not book value. Gain is allocated 
based on where the property is located or used.

Line 54 — Enter the gains from the sale or exchange of United States 
and New York State government securities. Compute gain on the basis of 
original cost. You may deduct brokerage expenses. You may not reduce 
capital gains by capital losses. You may not use capital losses to reduce 
other receipts. Allocate gains to the home office unless the security is held, 
managed, and controlled by an office outside the home office’s state.

Line 55 — Include on this line gross receipts from all other sources within 
New York State, including gross receipts received by freight forwarders. 
Attach a statement showing the method of allocation.

Schedule F — Composition of prepayments
If you need more space, write see attached in this section and attach a 
separate sheet showing all relevant prepayment information. Transfer the 
total shown on the attached sheet to line 9.

Line 69 — Enter the amount of credits that are refund eligible claimed on 
line 5 against your current year’s franchise tax. Do not include any amount 
of credits actually requested as a refund on line 19b or requested as an 
overpayment credited to next year’s tax on line 19c.

Your rights under the Tax Law
The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part, that the Tax Department 
advise you, in writing, of your rights and obligations during an audit, 
when appealing a Tax Department decision, and when your appeal rights 
have been exhausted and you need to understand the Tax Department’s 
enforcement capabilities. For a complete copy of the information 
contained in all of these statements, see Publication 131, Your Rights and 
Obligations Under the Tax Law. For a copy, access our Web site or call 
(see Need help?).

Privacy notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and 
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but 
not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171‑a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 
1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when 
authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax information programs as 
well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain 
state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of 
the effectiveness of certain employment and training programs and other purposes 
authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, 
or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management and Data 
Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 
1 800 225‑5829. From areas outside the United States and outside Canada, call 
(518) 485‑6800.


