
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Part-Quarterly Schedule NJ
For use by vendors located in New York State
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If you have checked the 
final return box on your 
New York State tax return, 
check here also   and 
attach your New Jersey 
State Certificate of 
Authority. If there have 
been any changes in 
business information, see 
instructions on page 2.

 Sales tax vendor identification number Business telephone number
  

(    )
 Name

 DBA

 Street

 City, state, ZIP code

Use this form to report transactions for the period October 1, 2005, through October 31, 2005, only.

You must file this schedule whether or not there is any New Jersey tax due for this period. Did
you deliver any goods or services in New Jersey or make any purchases subject to use tax in New Jersey?
If No, sign this schedule and attach it to Form ST-809. If Yes, complete lines 1, 2, and 3.

Yes

No

Summary of New Jersey taxes due

1 New Jersey sales and use tax due ...................................................................................................... 1 $

2 New Jersey late filing charge (see instructions)  ..................................................................................... 2

3 Total New Jersey amount due (add lines 1 and 2)  ................................................................................. 3 
Do not transfer the amount shown on line 3 to any other form. Submit only one check 
or money order to include both this amount and the amount shown on Form ST-809, box 12 
(for the long method) or box 10 (for the short method).

Attach this schedule to Form ST-809, New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return for 
Part-Quarterly Filers. See Form ST-809 for due date and mailing address.

I verify and/or affirm that all tax information on this statement is correct. I am aware that 
if any of the preceding information provided by me is willfully false, I am subject to punishment.

For office use only

Amt. applied NY
Form ST-809 $

Amt. due from
box 12 long or
box 10 short $

 Signature Title

 Telephone number (include area code) Date

 (    )

ST-809.4
(10/05)

NJ

Use labeled form. Read instructions carefully before completing this section.



Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
 (for information, forms, and publications)

  Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
  available 24 hours a day,
  7 days a week. 1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to   
 5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

Business Tax Information Center: 1 800 972-1233

From areas outside the U.S. and
  outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
 If you have access to a telecommunications device for 

the deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do 
not own a TDD, check with independent living centers or 
community action programs to find out where machines 
are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
 Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that 

our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities 
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have 
questions about special accommodations for persons 
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.

Vendor collection credit
The New York State vendor collection credit does not apply to 
sales reported on this schedule.

General instructions
Vendors located in New York State who are registered as monthly 
filers and who are registered to collect New Jersey sales tax under 
the New Jersey/New York reciprocal tax agreement must file both 
Form ST-809.4, Part-Quarterly Schedule NJ, and Form ST-809, 
New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return for  
Part-Quarterly Filers.

Complete Form ST-809.4 and attach it to Form ST-809. Send 
only one check or money order payable to New York State Sales 
Tax for the total amount due for both New Jersey (line 3 of this 
schedule) and New York State (box 12 for the long method or 
box 10 for the short method on Form ST-809). You must file the 
return, the schedule, and payment of the taxes due by the due 
date shown on Form ST-809 for the reporting period.

You may obtain additional instructions for the collection of 
New Jersey sales tax from the New York State Department of 
Taxation and Finance (see the address and telephone numbers in 
the Need help? box below).

Specific instructions
Change of address or business information — If 
you need to update your sales tax mailing address, call the 
Business Tax Information Center (see Need help? box below) or 
enter your correct address on the label we provided. You may also 
use Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax 
Accounts, to update your mailing address, physical address, or 
designated preparer or filing service address. If you need to change 
additional information such as the name, ID number, physical 
address, owner/officer information, business activity, or paid 
preparer address, (as well as your address), complete and send in 
Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. You can obtain forms 
through Internet access, fax-on-demand, or by calling one of the 
telephone assistance numbers listed in the Need help? box below. 
As a multistate filer, you should place an M next to the form number 
on Forms DTF-95 or DTF-96 to indicate your multistate filing status.
No New Jersey tax due — If during the period covered 
by this schedule you had no deliveries of goods or services 
into New Jersey and made no purchases subject to use tax in 
New Jersey, check the box, sign and date this schedule, and attach 
it to Form ST-809. Otherwise complete lines 1 through 3.

Line instructions
Line 1 — Amount of New Jersey sales and use tax 
due — Enter the total New Jersey sales and use tax due for 
the month. This includes lessor’s use tax due on receipts from 
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Instructions
certain lease transactions that are to be reported on the chart on 
Form ST-810.4, Quarterly Schedule NJ for Part-Quarterly Filers, 
page 2. Although you are not required to complete this chart 
monthly, you must keep records so that you are able to prepare the 
chart when filing your quarterly return.

Line 2 — New Jersey late filing charge — Enter any 
interest and penalty due. Any vendor who fails to file Form ST-809.4 
or pay the tax due by the due date will be subject to interest and 
penalty charges as specified under the New Jersey Sales Tax Law 
as follows:

Interest charges
The annual interest rate is 3% above the average predominant 
prime rate. Interest is imposed each month or a fraction thereof on 
the unpaid balance of tax from the original due date to the date of 
payment. At the end of each calendar year any tax, penalties and 
interest remaining due will become part of the balance on which 
interest will be charged.

Penalty charges
A late filing penalty will be assessed at the rate of 5% per month or 
fraction thereof of the total tax liability, not to exceed 25% of such 
tax liability, plus $100 for each month or fraction thereof that such 
return is delinquent.

A late payment penalty will be assessed at the rate of 5% of the 
balance of tax paid late.

Line 3 — Total New Jersey amount due — Add line 1 
and line 2. This is the amount you must pay in addition to the 
amount due New York State shown in box 12 for the long method 
or box 10 for the short method on Form ST-809. Send one check 
or money order payable to New York State Sales Tax for the total 
amount due.

Do not transfer the New Jersey amount due to Form ST-809. 

Overpayments
If the total New Jersey tax you have paid is greater than the 
amount you owe, do not subtract the overpayment from the 
New York State tax due. You must pay the full amount of tax owed 
New York State and apply for a refund from New Jersey for the 
amount of overpayment shown on Form ST-809.4. You may do so 
by sending a letter to: New Jersey Sales Tax, CN273, Trenton NJ 
08646-0273.
Under no circumstances may you offset an overpayment to 
one state against the tax due the other state.

Signature
Sign and date this schedule; attach it to your Form ST-809. See 
Form ST-809 for the due date and appropriate mailing address.


