
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Forms CT-400 and CT-400-MN
Estimated Tax for Corporations

subject to the premiums tax under section 1502-a of Article 33 of the 
Tax Law, exceeding $3,750,000 for any of the three immediately preceding 
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003.

Exception 1: (not to be used by large corporations) This exception applies 
if the amount you paid is equal to or more than the tax reported on your 
prior year’s return. You must have filed a franchise tax return showing a tax 
liability for the preceding tax year, and that year must have consisted of 
12 months.

Exception 2: (not to be used by large corporations) This exception applies if 
the amount you paid is equal to or more than the tax computed by using the 
current year’s rate, but based on the facts shown on the prior year’s return 
and the law that applies to the prior year.

Exception 3: This exception applies if the estimated tax you paid was 
equal to or more than 91% (or 100% for large corporations) of the amount 
you would owe if your estimated tax were computed on annualized taxable 
income for the months preceding an installment date.

You may annualize income as follows:
a. For the first 3, 4, or 5 months of the tax year, in the case of the  

installment required to be paid in the sixth month. 
b. For the first 6, 7, or 8 months of the tax year, in the case of the  

installment required to be paid in the ninth month. 
c. For the first 9, 10, or 11 months of the tax year, in the case of   

the installment required to be paid in the twelfth month.

To annualize, multiply taxable income for the period by 12 and divide the 
result by the number of months in the period (3, 4, 5, 6, 7, etc.).

Exception 4: This exception applies if you have recurring seasonal income. 
Under this exception, you may annualize income by assuming that income 
earned in the current year is earned in the same seasonal pattern as in the 
three preceding tax years.

To avoid underpayment penalties, you must make up a reduction in 
estimated taxes resulting from using annualized income or seasonal income 
by increasing the amount of the next installment determined under any other 
exception method by the amount of such reduction.

For additional information about computing seasonal income, see Article 27, 
section 1085(d)(4).

Specific instructions 
There are two versions of the estimated tax form. Complete the version 
that was mailed to you or that you obtained, according to the following 
instructions.

Preprinted version — Form CT-400
In the Return type box, enter the form number (without using slashes or 
dashes) of either your last New York State franchise tax return or, if you will 
be changing return type, the state franchise tax return form number you 
expect to file. In addition to your name, address, and business identification 
number, an installment due date is printed on each of the Form CT-400s you 
receive. Please use the form with the proper due date for the payment you 
are making. Mail the completed form with your payment to the address listed 
under Where to mail your return on the back of these instructions.

Manual version — Form CT-400-MN
In the appropriate spaces provided on the form, enter your business 
information. You may obtain the file number and return type (form number) 
from your last New York State franchise tax return, or enter the state 
franchise tax return form number you expect to file, if different. Do not enter 
slashes or dashes when entering the form number in the Return type box. 
Enter the month and year (in MM/YY format) that your tax year ends in 
the Tax year ending box. Use the chart on the back of these instructions to 
determine your installment due date and enter it in the box.

Note: To avoid delays in processing your estimated tax, you must enter a 
form number in the Return type box.

Both versions
Box 1  Enter the amount of your installment payment for your franchise tax. 
Box 2 Enter the amount of your installment payment for your   

metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge), if 
applicable. 

Box 3 Add the amounts in boxes 1 and 2. Make your check for this   
amount payable to: New York State Corporation Tax. Write   
your employer identification number on your check. 

Box 4 Enter the amount of your estimated franchise tax for the current   
tax year. 

Box 5 Enter the amount of your estimated metropolitan transportation   
business tax (MTA surcharge) for the current tax year. 

Who must file a declaration of estimated tax and
make quarterly installment payments
All general business corporations (including S corporations), banking, 
insurance, utility, and transportation and transmission corporations whose 
franchise tax, for the current tax year, can reasonably be expected to 
exceed $1,000, must file a declaration of estimated franchise tax and make 
installment payments.

Any corporation doing business in the Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District that is required to make a declaration of estimated 
franchise tax must also make a declaration of estimated metropolitan 
transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) and make installment 
payments.

Estimated tax is the amount estimated to be the franchise tax and MTA 
surcharge for the current tax year minus the amount of estimated allowable 
tax credits for the current tax year.

Form CT-186-E filers: See Computation of tax in Form CT-186-E-I, 
Instructions for Form CT-186-E, for specific information about completing 
Form CT-400 or Form CT-400-MN.

When to file a declaration of estimated tax 
If you determine that the estimated franchise tax will exceed $1,000 in 
the current tax year, file a declaration of estimated franchise tax and MTA 
surcharge on or before the 15th day of the sixth month of your tax year. If 
you determine, after that filing deadline, that you will have a tax liability of 
more than $1,000, see 20 NYCRR 7-2.3.

See the chart on the back of this form if you need to determine your 
declaration of estimated tax and installment payment due dates.

Amended declaration of estimated tax 
If the estimated tax for the current year differs from the previous year’s 
declaration, an amendment to the declaration may be made. This should 
be done on Form CT-400 and only on the installment due dates. For further 
information on declarations of estimated tax, see Subparts 7-2 and 7-3 of 
the regulations.

Payment of estimated tax 
First installment — If the franchise tax on your previous year’s return or 
the tax shown on your application for extension of time for filing that return 
exceeds $1,000, you must pay 25% of the tax with the return or extension. 
Life insurance companies: If the franchise tax on your previous year’s 
return or the tax shown on your application for extension of time to file 
exceeds $1,000, you must pay 40% of the tax with the return or extension.

A 25% (40% for life insurance companies) first installment of the MTA 
surcharge is also required if your franchise tax is more than $1,000 and you 
do business in the MCTD.

Second, Third, and Fourth Installments — To determine the estimated tax 
amount due in these installments, subtract the amount of the first installment 
payment from the estimated tax due and divide the result by three.

Corporate partners — Reduce the amount of each installment due by the 
amount of estimated tax that was paid on your behalf by a partnership on or 
before the installment due date. 

Use Form CT-400 (or Form CT-400-MN) to make your second 
installment/declaration of estimated tax due on the 15th day of the 
sixth month of the current tax year. The third and fourth installments are due 
on the 15th day of the ninth and twelfth months of the current tax year.

Penalties for underpayment of estimated tax 
A penalty may be imposed if you fail to file a declaration of estimated 
franchise tax or fail to pay all or any part of an installment payment of 
estimated franchise tax.

Exceptions to the underpayment penalty 
You will not have to pay a penalty if you made all tax payments on time and 
they equal or exceed the amount that would have been required to be paid 
by each installment date if the estimated tax were an amount determined 
under any of the exceptions listed below.

Exceptions 1 and 2 do not apply to large corporations. A large corporation 
is one that had, or whose predecessor had, allocated entire net income 
of at least $1 million for any of the three tax years preceding the tax year 
involved. A large corporation, for a non-life insurance corporation subject 
to tax under section 1502-a of Article 33 of the Tax Law, is one that had 
allocated entire net income of at least $1 million for any of the three tax 
years immediately preceding the tax year involved, or had direct premiums, 
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 Internet access: www.nystax.gov
   (for information, forms, and publications)

 Fax-on-demand forms:  1 800 748-3676

 Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
   (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

Business Tax Information Center: 1 800 972-1233

From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada:  (518) 485-6800

Hearing and speech impaired (telecommunications
device for the deaf (TDD) callers only): 1 800 634-2110

 Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, 
offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are accessible to 

persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special 
accommodations for persons with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.

Need help?
CT-400-I (1/06) (back)

Record of estimated tax payments
 Installment   A B C  
 payment  Check  Overpayment Total  
 number Date number Amount from last year column A + column B 
 

 1*       
 

 2        
 

 3        
 

 4        

 Total  .................................................................................................................................................................................   

* Paid with prior year tax return or extension

Return and payment due dates for Articles 9 (sections 184, 186, 186-a, and 186-e), 9-A, 32, and 33 taxpayers
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the payment and/or return are due on the next business day.

Note:  All Article 9 (sections 184, 186, 186-a, and 186-e) taxpayers file on a calendar-year basis and must file tax returns and declarations of estimated tax 
based on the calendar year, regardless of their federal tax filing period.

  Your tax return  Subsequent payments and installment payments are due on:   
 If your and     
 year first installment Second Third Fourth  
 ends on: are due on: installment installment installment

 January 31 April 15 July 15 October 15 January 15  
 February 28 May 15 August 15 November 15 February 15  
 March 31 June 15 September 15 December 15 March 15  
 April 30 July 15 October 15 January 15 April 15  
 May 31 August 15 November 15 February 15 May 15  
 June 30 September 15 December 15 March 15 June 15  
 July 31 October 15 January 15 April 15 July 15  
 August 31 November 15 February 15 May 15 August 15  
 September 30 December 15 March 15 June 15 September 15  
 October 31 January 15 April 15 July 15 October 15  
 November 30 February 15 May 15 August 15 November 15  
 December 31 March 15 June 15 September 15 December 15 

Where to file
Mail your form and payment to: NYS ESTIMATED CORPORATION TAX
 PO BOX 4136
 BINGHAMTON NY 13902-4136

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private 
delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return and 
pay tax. However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you 
filed your return or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a 
private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that has been 
designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed in 
Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help? on 
this page for information on ordering forms and publications.) If you have 
used a designated private delivery service and need to establish the date 
you filed your return, contact that private delivery service for instructions on 
how to obtain written proof of the date your return was given to the delivery 
service for delivery. If you use any private delivery service, whether it is a 
designated service or not, address your return to: JPMorgan Chase, NYS 
Estimated Corporation Tax, 33 Lewis Road, Binghamton NY 13905-1040.

Change of business information 
If there have been any changes in your business name, identification 
number, mailing or business address, telephone number, or owner/officer 
information, you must report any changes on Form DTF-95, Business Tax 
Account Update. If only your business address has changed, you may use 
Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Accounts. You can 
get these forms from our Web site, or by fax or phone. See Need help? for 
the Web address and phone number.


