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For 2005, this form is not eligible for e-file. If you are attaching
= this form to your return, you must file on paper.

General information
Use Form DTF-624 to claim the low-income housing credit.

The New York State low-income housing tax credit program coordinates
with the federal low-income housing credit program, provided for in
section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC). This credit is taken

over a 10-year period so that the present value of the 10 annual credit
amounts, determined as of the last day of the first year of the credit
period, equals 70% (or 30%) of the building’s qualified basis.

In general, the 10-year credit period starts at the beginning of the tax
year in which the building is placed in service. However, you may elect
to begin the 10-year credit period in the tax year after the year the
building was placed in service, by marking an X in the Yes box in Part 2,
line 10a, of Form DTF-625, Low-Income Housing Credit Allocation and
Certification.

The low-income housing credit is available for eligible low-income
buildings for which an eligibility statement has been issued by

the Commissioner of the New York State Division of Housing and
Community Renewal (DHCR), as proclaimed by New York State Public
Housing Law Article 2-A.

This credit is not refundable. However, any amount of credit not
deductible in the current tax year may be carried over to the following
year or years.

Who is eligible

You may claim this credit if you are:

e a corporation subject to tax under Article 9-A;

e an individual or estate or trust subject to tax under Article 22;

e apartner in a partnership (including a member of an LLC that is
treated as a partnership for federal income tax purposes);

e ashareholder of a New York S corporation;

* a beneficiary of an estate or trust;

* a banking corporation subject to tax under Article 32; or
* an insurance corporation subject to tax under Article 33.

Qualified low-income housing project

The low-income housing credit can be claimed only for residential rental
buildings in low-income housing projects that meet one of the minimum
set-aside tests. For more information, see Form DTF-625-1, Instructions
for Form DTF-625, Part 2, lines 10c and 10d.

Except for buildings financed with certain tax-exempt bonds, you may
not take a low-income housing credit on a building if it has not received
an allocation from DHCR. Generally, the allocation must be received

by the close of the calendar year the building is placed in service. In
addition, the credit cannot exceed the amount allocated to the building
by the DHCR. For more information, see Public Housing Law Article 2-A
and IRC section 42. No allocation is needed when:

* 50% or more of the aggregate basis of the building and the land on
which the building is located is financed with certain tax-exempt
bonds issued after 1989 for buildings placed in service after 1989; or

* 70% or more of the aggregate building and land is financed with
certain tax-exempt bonds issued before 1990.

Land on which the building is located includes only land that is
functionally related and subordinate to the qualified low-income building
(see IRC Regulations sections 1.103-8(a)(3) and 1.103-8(b)(4)(iii) for
the meaning of functionally related and subordinate).

Recapture of credit

There is a 15-year compliance period during which the residential rental
building must continue to meet certain requirements. If, as of the close
of any tax year in this period, there is a reduction in the qualified basis
of the building from the previous year, you may have to recapture a

part of the credit you have taken. Similarly, you may have to recapture
part of the credits taken in previous years upon certain dispositions
of the building or interests therein. See Form DTF-626, Recapture of
Low-Income Housing Credit.

Exception to recapture — Recapture shall not apply to a reduction in
qualified basis by reason of a casualty loss if it is determined that such
loss is restored by reconstruction or replacement within a reasonable
period. This determination shall be made by the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance in conjunction with the Commissioner of DHCR
(Tax Law section 18(b)(5)(a)).

Recapture shall not apply if the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance
in conjunction with the Commissioner of DHCR determines a reduction
in qualified basis is de minimis by reason of:

* achange in floor space devoted to low-income units in a building,
if such building remains an eligible low-income building after such
change, or

e an error in complying with the low-income eligibility tests referred to
in Public Housing Law section 21(5).

Record keeping requirements

Keep a copy of this Form DTF-624 and Form(s) DTF-625 and
Form(s) DTF-625-ATT, Low-Income Housing Credit Annual Statement,
for three years after the 15-year compliance period ends.

Important reminder to file a complete return

You must complete all required schedules and forms that make up your
return, and include all pages of those forms and schedules when you
file. Attach only those forms and schedules that apply to your return,
and be sure that you have made all required entries. Returns that are
missing required pages or that have pages with missing entries are
considered incomplete and cannot be processed, and may subject
taxpayers to penalty and interest.

Filling in your tax forms

For complete information on how to fill in New York State scannable
tax forms, see the instructions for your income or franchise tax
return. Also see your income or franchise tax return for the Privacy
notification or if you Need help in contacting the Tax Department.

Line instructions

Owner of the building — You must have a Form DTF-625 (with

Part 1 completed) from DHCR for each building for which you are
claiming a credit. You must file a Form DTF-625 and an accompanying
Form DTF-625-ATT, with your Form DTF-624, for each building for
which you are claiming a credit, each tax year you claim a credit.
Additionally, you must attach to your return Forms DTF-625 and
DTF-625-ATT for each building for which you have previously claimed
a credit for each year during the 15-year compliance period even if
the credit is not claimed for that tax year. You must also certify certain
first-year information on Form DTF-625. If this certification is not made,
you may not claim a low-income housing credit for that building.

If you are a partner, New York S corporation shareholder, or a
beneficiary of an estate or trust and your only credit is from your
partnership, New York S corporation, or estate or trust, you do not
have to obtain, complete, or attach Forms DTF-625 or DTF-625-ATT to
Form DTF-624.

Part 1 must be completed by all taxpayers claiming the low-income
housing credit. If the only credit you are claiming is from a flow-through
entity (partnership, New York State S corporation, estate, or trust), skip
lines 1 through 3 of Part 1.

Part 2 must be completed by all corporations, including corporate
partners, subject to tax under Articles 9-A, 32, and 33, except for
New York S corporations.

Part 3 must be completed by all estates and trusts.

Part 4 must be completed by a partnership or a New York S corporation
with a low-income housing credit attributable to more than one building.
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Part 5 must be completed by all taxpayers who received a low-income
housing credit from a pass-through entity such as a partnership,
New York S corporation, or estate or trust.

Part 1 — Current-year credit

Line 1 — If any of the attached Forms DTF-625 are for buildings that
are part of a multiple building project (defined in the instructions for
Part 2 of Form DTF-625), attach a schedule listing the following:

1. name and address of the project and each building in the project,

2. the building identification number (BIN) of each building in the
project,

3. the aggregate credit dollar amount for the project, and
4. the credit allocated to each building in the project.

Line 2 — A decrease in qualified basis will result in recapture if the
qualified basis at the close of the tax year is less than the qualified
basis at the close of the first year of the credit period. If the reduction
in qualified basis at the close of the tax year also results in a violation
of the minimum set-aside requirement, then no credit is allowed for the
year. (See Recapture of credit on the front page.)

Line 3 — Enter on line 3 the credit from attached Form(s) DTF-625-ATT,
line 18.

Line 3 is to be completed by taxpayers that own the building for which
a low-income housing credit is claimed. Do not include on line 3 a
low-income housing credit carried over from a previous tax year or
received from a pass-through entity (see line 5 instructions). Taxpayers
that complete line 3 must obtain Form DTF-625 (with Part 1 completed)
from DHCR for each residential rental building for which you are
claiming a credit. (See Owner of the building on the front page.)

If you are a partnership or New York S corporation with a line 3 credit
attributable to more than one building, complete Part 4.

Line 4 — Enter the amount of available carryover of unused New York
State low-income housing credit.

Note: If you were required to file a 2005 Form DTF-626 to recapture
part of a low-income housing credit you took in previous years, the
amount of available carryover of credit attributable to the building for
2005 must be taken from that Form DTF-626, line 15.

If you have carryover of low-income housing credit attributable to more
than one building, include on line 4 the total carryover attributable to all
buildings.

Line 5 — If you have a low-income housing credit from a pass-through
entity such as a partnership, New York S corporation, or estate or trust,
you must complete Part 5 of this form and enter the total on line 5. This
information should be provided to you by the partnership, New York

S corporation, or estate or trust.

If you have no low-income housing credit from a pass-through entity,
leave line 5 blank.

Line 7 — Fiduciaries enter the amount of credit that was allocated to
beneficiaries in Part 3, column D. All others leave line 7 blank.

Part 2 — Computation of credit

Enter the appropriate information in Part 2 if you are a general
business corporation taxable under Article 9-A that files Form CT-3,
General Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return; or Form CT-3-A,
General Business Corporation Combined Franchise Tax Return; a
banking corporation taxable under Article 32 that files Form CT-32,
Banking Corporation Franchise Tax Return, or Form CT-32-A, Banking
Corporation Combined Franchise Tax Return; or an insurance
corporation taxable under Article 33 that files Form CT-33, Life
Insurance Corporation Franchise Tax Return, Form CT-33-NL,
Non-Life Insurance Corporation Franchise Tax Return, or

Form CT-33-A, Life Insurance Corporation Combined Franchise Tax
Return; and you have a low-income housing credit from a residential
rental building in a low-income housing project that you own or received
a pass-through credit from a pass-through entity.

New York S corporations — Do not complete Part 2. You cannot
apply the low-income housing credit that originates in a New York

S corporation year against the New York State corporation franchise tax
under Article 9-A, 32, or 33.

Line 11 — Subtract line 10 from 9. Enter the resulting value; show any
negative amount with a minus (-) sign. If line 11 is a negative amount,
you have a net recaptured credit. Enter this negative amount, using

a minus sign (-), in the appropriate box of the summary of tax credits
claimed section of your franchise tax return.

Line 12 — Enter your franchise tax, before credits, from the following
forms:

e Form CT-3, line 78

e Form CT-3-A, line 77
e Form CT-32, line 5

e Form CT-32-A, line 5

e Form CT-33, line 11
e Form CT-33-A, line 15
e Form CT-33-NL, line 5

Line 13 — If you are claiming more than one tax credit for this year,
enter the amount of credits claimed before applying this credit.
Otherwise leave line 13 blank. You must apply certain credits before the
low-income housing credit. Refer to the instructions of your franchise
tax return to determine the order of credits that applies. Life insurance
corporation filers do not enter any amount of EZ wage tax credits, ZEA
wage tax credits, or EZ capital tax credits on this line.

If filing as a member of a combined return, include any amount of tax
credit(s), including low-income housing credit(s), being claimed by other
members of the combined group that you wish to apply before your
low-income housing credit. Article 33 combined filers do not enter any
amount of EZ wage tax credits, ZEA wage tax credits, or EZ capital tax
credits being claimed by other members of the combined group.

Line 15 — Article 33 combined filers: Multiply the number of taxpayers
in the combined group by $250 and enter the result here.

Line 17 — Transfer the amount from line 17 to the applicable line of
your franchise tax return.

Part 3 — Beneficiary’s and fiduciary’s share of credit
An estate or trust must complete Part 3.

Column D — If an estate or trust allocates or assigns the low-income
housing credit to its beneficiaries, the total credit is allocated between
the estate or trust and its beneficiaries on the same basis as the
income of the estate or trust is allocated.

Part 4 — Partner’s and shareholder’s share of credit
attributable to multiple buildings

A partnership or New York S corporation with a line 3 credit attributable
to more than one building must complete Part 4.

Enter the following information for each partner or shareholder: name,
taxpayer identification number (for example, EIN or SSN), share of
low-income housing credit, and the building identification number (BIN)
of the building for which the credit was claimed.

Part 5 — Partnership, New York S corporation, and estate
and trust information

If you have a low-income housing credit from a pass-through entity such
as a partnership, New York S corporation, or estate or trust, enter the
appropriate information for each partnership, New York S corporation,
or estate or trust. Include in the total of Column E amounts from any
attached sheets. Transfer the total of column E to Part 1, line 5.

Part 6 — Application of credit and computation of
carryover

Individuals: You must first complete Form IT-201-ATT, Other Tax
Credits and Taxes, or Form IT-203-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes,
before you can complete this part. Follow the instructions for Section B
of Form IT-201-ATT or Section B of Form IT-203-ATT to determine the
amount of credit to enter on line 20.

Fiduciaries: You must first complete Form IT-205, Fiduciary Income
Tax Return, line 10, before you can complete this part. Follow the
instructions for line 10 of Form IT-205 to determine the amount of credit
to enter on line 20.



