
Temporary increase in the mandatory first installment of 
estimated tax
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, and before 
January 1, 2006, the Tax Law has been amended to provide 
an increase in the mandatory first installment from 25% of the 
preceding year’s tax to 30%. This increase is for general business 
corporations (Article 9-A), banking corporations (Article 32), 
insurance corporations (Article 33), and entities subject to tax 
under Article 9, sections 184, 186-a, or 186-e, whose preceding 
year’s tax, exclusive of the metropolitan transportation business tax 
(MTA surcharge), exceeds $100,000. Taxpayers subject to the MTA 
surcharge that are required to pay their first installment at the 30% 
rate must also calculate their estimated tax for the surcharge at 
30% of the preceding year’s MTA surcharge.

Estimated tax payments required by partnerships, 
limited liability companies (LLCs), and New York 
S corporations
For tax years ending after December 31, 2002, all partnerships, 
LLCs that are treated as partnerships for federal purposes, or 
New York S corporations that had income from New York sources 
are required to pay estimated taxes on behalf of nonresident 
individuals and C corporation partners, members, or shareholders 
on their distributive or pro rata share of the respective entities 
income. See Form IT-2659, Estimated Tax Penalties for 
Partnerships and New York S Corporations, to determine if you 
underpaid estimated tax and, if so, to compute the penalty due.

General information 
All general business corporations (including S corporations), 
banking, insurance, utilities (including providers of 
telecommunication services), and transportation and transmission 
corporations whose franchise tax for the current tax year can 
reasonably be expected to be more than $1,000 after credits must 
file a declaration of estimated franchise tax and make quarterly 
installment payments.

Any corporation doing business in the Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District (MCTD) that is required to make a declaration 
of estimated franchise tax must also make a declaration of estimated 
MTA surcharge and make quarterly installment payments.

If you do not pay the required amounts on time, you may have to 
pay an underpayment penalty for the period of underpayment.

Payment of estimated tax 
First installment — If the franchise tax on your previous year’s return 
or on your request for extension of time for filing that return is more 
than $1,000 and does not exceed $100,000, you must pay 25% of the 
tax with the return or extension. If the franchise tax on your previous 
year’s return or on your request for extension of time for filing that 
return exceeds $100,000, you must pay 30% of the tax with the 
return or extension. If you are subject to tax under Tax Law section 
1510(b)(1), and the tax exceeds $1,000, the percentage is 40%.

If you are liable for the MTA surcharge, a 25% first installment is 
required if your franchise tax is more than $1,000 and does not 
exceed $100,000. If your franchise tax exceeds $100,000, a 30% first 
installment is required. If you are subject to tax under Tax Law section 
1510(b)(1), and the tax exceeds $1,000, the percentage is 40%.

The second, third, and fourth installments of estimated franchise tax 
and MTA surcharge are due on the fifteenth day of the sixth, ninth, 
and twelfth months of your tax year.

Computation of underpayment 
Complete lines 1 through 12 to determine any underpayment of 
estimated taxes.

Line 2 — Large corporations: Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
100%. All others: Multiply line 1 by 91%. A large corporation is 
one that had, or whose predecessor had, allocated entire net 
income (ENI) of at least $1,000,000 for any of the three tax years 
immediately preceding the tax year involved. Article 33 filers: For a 
nonlife insurance corporation subject to tax under Tax Law section 
1502-a, a large corporation is one that had allocated ENI of at least 
$1,000,000 for any of the three tax years immediately preceding the 
tax year involved or had direct premiums, subject to the premiums 
tax under Tax Law section 1502-a, exceeding $3,750,000 for any of 
the three preceding tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003. 

Line 4 — See Payment of estimated tax above.

Line 8 — Corporate partners: Include amounts paid on time and 
on your behalf by a partnership. A payment of estimated tax is 
applied against underpayments of required installments in the order 
in which the installments are required to be paid.

Example: Calendar-year taxpayer
   First Second Third Fourth
Due date  ...........................  3/15   6/15  9/15  12/15
25% of prior year tax
  or MTA surcharge  ........... 1,500   --   --   --
Installment amount due  .... -- 1,000 1,000 1,000
Paid on time/credited  ........ 1,500 0 500 * 1,000 **
Underpayment ...................  0 1,000 500 0
Penalty is due on $1,000 from 6/15 to 9/15.
Penalty is due on $500 from 9/15 to 12/15.
 *  Paid $1,500, $1,000 applied to 6/15 installment; $500 applied to 9/15 installment.
 ** Paid $1,500, $500 applied to 9/15 installment; $1,000 applied to 12/15 installment.

Exceptions to the underpayment penalty 
You will not have to pay a penalty if you made all tax payments on 
time and they equal or exceed the amount that would have been 
required to be paid by each installment date if the estimated tax were 
an amount determined under any of the exceptions listed below.

A different exception may be applied to each underpayment. If no 
exception applies, complete lines 18 through 39 to determine the 
amount of the penalty.

Exceptions 1 and 2, on lines 14 and 15, do not apply to large 
corporations. 

Line 14, exception 1 (not to be used by large corporations): 
Allows you to substitute for the current year’s estimated tax the tax 
reported on your 2004 return. You must have filed a franchise tax 
return showing a tax liability for the preceding tax year, and that 
year must have consisted of 12 months.

Line 15, exception 2 (not to be used by large corporations): Applies 
if the amount you paid is equal to or more than the tax computed by 
using the current year’s rate but based on the facts shown on the 
prior year’s return and the law that applies to the prior year.
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Important reminder to file a complete return: You must 
complete all required schedules and forms that make 
up your return, and include all pages of those forms 
and schedules when you file. Returns that are missing 
required pages or that have pages with missing entries are 
considered incomplete and cannot be processed, and may 
subject taxpayers to penalty and interest.



Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
 (for information, forms, and publications)

  Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
  available 24 hours a day,
  7 days a week. 1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to   
 5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

Business Tax Information Center: 1 800 972-1233

From areas outside the U.S. and
  outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
 If you have access to a telecommunications device for 

the deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do 
not own a TDD, check with independent living centers or 
community action programs to find out where machines 
are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
 Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that 

our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities 
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have 
questions about special accommodations for persons 
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.

Line 16, exception 3: Applies if the estimated tax you paid was 
equal to or more than 91% (or 100% for large corporations) of the 
amount you would owe if your estimated tax were a tax computed 
on annualized taxable income for the months preceding an 
installment date.

You may annualize income as follows:
a. For the first 3, 4, or 5 months of the tax year, in the case of the 

installment required to be paid in the 6th month.
b. For the first 6, 7, or 8 months of the tax year, in the case of the 

installment required to be paid in the 9th month.
c. For the first 9, 10, or 11 months of the tax year, in the case of the 

installment required to be paid in the 12th month.

To annualize, multiply taxable income for the period by 12 and 
divide the result by the actual number of months in the period.

Line 17, exception 4: Applies if you have recurring seasonal 
income. You may annualize income by assuming that income 
earned in the current year is earned in the same seasonal pattern 
as in the three preceding tax years.

To avoid underpayment penalties, you must make up a reduction in 
estimated taxes resulting from using annualized income or seasonal 
income by increasing the amount of the next installment determined 
under any other exception method by the amount of such reduction.

For additional information about computing seasonal income, see 
Tax Law Article 27, section 1085(d)(4).

Computation of the underpayment penalty 
If no exception applies, complete lines 18 through 39 to determine 
the amount of the penalty. The penalty is computed for the period 
of underpayment at a rate set by Tax Law Article 27, section 
1096(e)(1). Daily compounding of interest does not apply.

Line 39 — In each column enter the amount from line 38, or, if 
the installment payment (line 10) equals 80% (.8) or more of line 1 
divided by four, multiply the penalty shown in the corresponding 
column of line 38 by 75% (.75) and enter the result.
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