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Legal name of corporation

Mailing name (if different from legal name above)

c/o
Street or P O box

City State ZIP code

CT-184-R
(11/05)

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Foreign Bus and Taxicab
Corporation Tax Return
Tax Law — Article 9, Section 184

 For office use only

 Date received

 Employer identification number  File number

 For calendar year       

If your name, employer 
identification number, 
address or owner/
officer information has 
changed, you must 
file Form  DTF-95. If 
only your address has 
changed, you may file 
Form DTF-96. See the 
Need help? section of 
the instructions.  

 Check box if Trade name Business telephone number Date began business in NYS 
 refund claimed  

(   )
 

Location of commercial domicile   NAICS business code number
    (from federal return)

Is this corporation authorized to do business in New York State? State or country of incorporation Date

 Yes No  

Tax computation

 1 Number of trips made into New York State (see instructions)  ............................................. 1
 2 Tax rate ............................................................................................................................. 2 $15 00
 3 Tax due (multiply line 1 by line 2; result should not exceed $165)  .........................................................................  3 00
 4 MTA surcharge from line 15, if applicable (if none, enter 0)  ............................................................................  4
 5 Balance of maintenance fee (authorized corporations only; see instructions)  .....................................................  5
 6 Total (add lines 3 through 5)  ............................................................................................................................  6
 7 Total prepayments (see instructions) ...............................................................................................................  7
 8 Balance due (if line 7 is less than line 6, subtract line 7 from line 6; enter payment on line A above)  ........................  8
 9 Overpayment to be refunded (if line 6 is less than line 7, subtract line 6 from line 7)  ...........................................  9

Computation of Metropolitan Transportation Business Tax (MTA surcharge) (see instructions)

 10 Total number of trips made into New York State (from line 1)  ............................................ 10
 11 Number of trips made into the MCTD .............................................................................. 11
 12 MCTD allocation percentage (divide line 11 by line 10)  ...................................................................................  12 %
 13 Amount of tax from line 3 above ...................................................................................................................  13 00
 14 Allocated tax (multiply line 13 by line 12)  ..........................................................................................................  14
 15 MTA surcharge (multiply line 14 by 17% (.17); enter here and on line 4)  ..............................................................  15 

Certification. I certify that this return and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct, and complete.
 Signature of authorized person  Official  title  Date

 Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) ID number  Date

 

 Address Signature of individual preparing this return
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Mail to: NYS TAX DEPARTMENT, CORPORATION TAX CONTROL UNIT, W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS, ALBANY NY 12227

CT-184-R

 A. Pay amount shown on line 8. Make check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax    
  Attach your payment here. Detach all check stubs.  



 Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)

    Fax-on-demand forms:  1 800 748-3676

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

Business Tax Information Center: 1 800 972-1233
 From areas outside the U.S. and 
  outside Canada: (518) 485-6800
 Hearing and speech impaired
  (telecommunications device for the
  deaf (TDD) callers only): 1 800 634-2110

Need help?

General information
Certain foreign (those corporations organized under the laws of any other 
state or country), bus and foreign taxicab corporations that conduct at least 
one but fewer than 12 trips into New York State during a year are taxable 
under Article 9, section 184. These corporations are not taxed under Article 
9-A and are also exempt from tax under Article 9, section 183. For more 
information, see TSB-M-88(8)C.

Who must file
Foreign bus and taxicab corporations that do business or employ capital in 
New York State only by reason of conducting fewer than 12 trips into this 
state during a year and that do not own or lease property (other than the 
vehicles used to conduct the trips) or do not maintain an office in this state, 
must file Form CT-184-R.

Foreign bus and taxicab corporations that conduct 12 or more trips into 
New York State, do business, employ capital, own or lease property, or 
maintain an office in New York State are taxable under Article 9-A and must 
file the appropriate form.

When and where to file
Filing periods for this form must be based on a calendar year regardless of 
the federal reporting period. File your return on or before March 15 of the 
succeeding year.

Mail to:  NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
 CORPORATION TAX CONTROL UNIT
 W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
 ALBANY NY 12227

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for a three-month extension of 
time by filing Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-month Extension to File (for 
Article 9 tax return, MTA surcharge, or both). Indicate on Form CT-5.9 that 
you will be filing Form CT-184-R.

Penalties and interest for late filing and late 
payment
If you are liable for this tax and do not file this return by March 15 or the 
extended due date and pay the tax due by March 15, the corporation will 
become taxable under Tax Law Article 9-A, and will be liable for all penalties 
and interest provided by Article 27.

Tax rate
The tax rate is $15 per trip made into New York State for up to 11 trips (the 
maximum tax is $165).

In addition, the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge) 
applies for trips made into the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District 
(MCTD) at 17% of the allocated tax (see the instructions for lines 10 through 
15).

Foreign corporations — maintenance fee
If you are authorized to do business in New York by the New York State 
Department of State, you must pay an annual maintenance fee of $300. This 
fee may be claimed as a credit against tax due including the MTA surcharge 
under Article 9. See the instructions for line 5.

License fee — Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation 
License Fee Return
As a foreign corporation (organized under the laws of any other state 
or country) you must also file Form CT-240 and pay a license fee. File 
Form CT-240 when you file your first franchise tax return. The minimum 
license fee is $10.

Change of business information
You must report any changes in your business name, identification number, 
mailing address, physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer 
information on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If only your 
address has changed, you may file Form DTF-96, Report of Address 
Change for Business Tax Accounts. You can get these forms on our Web 
site, or by fax or phone (see Need help? below).

Identifying information
When preparing your corporation tax return, please be sure to accurately 
complete the corporation’s identifying information (employer identification 

number (EIN) and file number), including your current address. Keep a 
record of your identifying information for future use.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use complete 
and accurate information when completing all your forms.

Line instructions
Line 1 — Enter the number of trips made into New York State. A corporation 
is conducting a trip into New York State when one of its vehicles (owned, 
leased or operated) enters the state and transports passengers to, from, 
or to and from a New York location. A corporation will not be considered to 
be conducting a trip into New York State if its vehicles only make incidental 
stops at locations in the state while in transit from a location outside 
New York to another location outside New York.

Attach a statement to the return containing the following information for each 
trip:

 • Date of trip • Place of origination
 • Number of vehicles used • Destination
 • Number and location of stops
  made in New York

Line 5 — If you are authorized to do business in New York State, enter the 
difference between the maintenance fee of $300 and the taxes computed on 
lines 3 and 4.

Example:

 Annual maintenance fee .................................................  $300.00
 Line 3: 6 trips times $15 ..................................................  -  90.00
 Line 4: MTA surcharge from line 15 .................................  -  15.30
 Balance of maintenance fee; enter on line 5 ...................  $194.70

If you are not authorized, enter 0 on line 5.

Line 7 — Enter the amount paid with extension Form CT-5.9 and any other 
amounts paid or carried over from previous tax years.

Computation of Metropolitan Transportation 
Business Tax (MTA Surcharge)
If you make trips into the MCTD, you must complete this section and pay the 
MTA surcharge. The MCTD includes the 12 counties of New York, Bronx, 
Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, 
Suffolk, and Westchester.

If you did not make any trips into the MCTD, enter 0 on line 4; do not 
complete lines 10 through 15.

CT-184-R (11/05) (back)

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain personal information 
pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 
308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of 
social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when authorized 
by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other 
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain state 
agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the 
effectiveness of certain employment and training programs and other purposes authorized by 
law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or 
both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management and Data Entry, NYS 
Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From 
areas outside the United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Instructions
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