The above corporation was incorporated under the Cooperative Corporations Law on

for the purpose of

CT-397

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Report of Annual License Fee

Agricultural Cooperative Marketing or

W7

Financing Corporations and

District Heating/Cooling Cooperatives

Cooperative Corporations Law, Article 5

Please print or type

For calendar year

Employer identification number

UFile number Business telephone number

)

Legal name of corporation

Trade name/DBA

Mailing name (if different from legal name)

clo

State or country of incorporation

Number and street or PO box

Date of incorporation

City State

ZIP code

Date began business in NYS

Date received (for Tax Department use only)

If address above is

new, mark an X
in the box ....... D

If your name, employer identification number, address, or owner/officer information has changed, you must file
Form DTF-95. If only your address has changed, you may file Form DTF-96. You can get these forms by fax,
phone, or from our Web site. See Need help? on the back page.

Audit (for Tax Department use only)

4= . .. Attach your payment here.

Payment - pay $10.00 — Make check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax

Payment enclosed

$10.00

(month, day, year)

Certification. | certify that this return and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct, and complete.

Signature of authorized person

Official title

Date

Instructions

— qualify as cooperative corporations without stock, that have

Who must file

Section 77 of the Cooperative Corporations Law exempts certain
cooperative corporations from franchise taxes, corporation taxes, or
license fee requirements under section 181 of the Tax Law. In place
of those taxes and the license fee, the following corporations must
file this form and pay an annual license fee of $10:

Agricultural cooperative marketing corporations, with or without
capital stock, organized for the purpose of marketing agricultural
products;

Agricultural cooperative financing corporations, with or without
capital stock, organized for the purpose of making loans to their
members producing agricultural products;

Cooperative corporations with annual sales of less than
$500,000, organized for the purpose of purchasing food
products for sale to their members;

Heating/cooling cooperative corporations without stock, that have
federal IRC section 501(c)(12) status and are organized for
producing and/or distributing district heating and/or cooling
services solely for use by their members. The heating or cooling
facility must be located in a city with a population of more than
200,000 but less than 300,000, and must have at least 35% of
the service, as measured by relative thermal usage, distributed
to and used by members who:

— qualify as certain exempt organizations under the New York
State Sales and Use Tax Law (for example, governmental,
educational, charitable, religious); or

federal IRC section 501(c)(12) status.
* Members of heating/cooling cooperative corporations as

described above.

Types of cooperative corporations that are not exempt from
franchise tax, corporation tax, or license fee requirements under
section 181 of the Tax Law, and therefore are not required to file this

form, are:

® Agricultural cooperative corporations with capital stock organized
for the sole purpose of raising crops are subject to the franchise
tax imposed by Article 9, section 185 of the Tax Law.
(See Form CT-185, Cooperative Agricultural Corporation

Franchise Tax Return.)

* Cooperative corporations with capital stock that operate for a
profit are taxable under Article 9-A of the Tax Law. (See
Form CT-3 or CT-4, General Business Corporation Franchise Tax

Return.)

When and where to file

On or before March 15th following the close of the calendar year,
mail this completed form and $10 check or money order to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
REGISTRATION UNIT
BLDG 8, RM 953

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227




CT-397 (2004) (back)

Private delivery services

If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of the
U.S. Postal Service, to file your return and pay tax. However, if, at a
later date, you need to establish the date you filed your return or
paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a private
delivery service unless you used a delivery service that has been
designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated
delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private
Delivery Services. See Need help? below for information on
ordering forms and publications.) If you have used a designated
private delivery service and need to establish the date you filed your
return, contact that private delivery service for instructions on how to
obtain written proof of the date your return was given to the delivery
service for delivery. If you use any private delivery service, whether
it is a designated service or not, address your return to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
REGISTRATION UNIT
BLDG 8, RM 953

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including
but not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697,
1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social
security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management
and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus,

Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the
United States and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Need help?

www

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 PM. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
1 800 462-8100
1800 972-1233

1 800 748-3676

To order forms and publications:
Business Tax Information Center:

From areas outside the U.S. and

outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

n Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:

&

semee [f you have access to a telecommunications device for the
sewww deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do not
aa— own a TDD, check with independent living centers or
community action programs to find out where machines
are available for public use.
[ ] Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the

Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1238.
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