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Temporary increase in the mandatory first installment of
estimated tax

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, and before
January 1, 2006, the Tax Law has been amended to provide an
increase in the mandatory first installment from 25% of the
preceding year’s tax to 30%. This increase is for general business
corporations (Article 9-A), banking corporations (Article 32),
insurance corporations (Article 33), and entities subject to tax
under Article 9, sections 184, 186-a, or 186-e, whose preceding
year’s tax, exclusive of the metropolitan transportation business tax
(MTA surcharge), exceeds $100,000. Taxpayers subject to the MTA
surcharge that are required to pay their first installment at the 30%
rate must also calculate their estimated tax for the surcharge at
30% of the preceding year's MTA surcharge.

Estimated tax payments required by partnerships,
limited liability companies (LLCs), and New York
S corporations

For tax years ending after December 31, 2002, all partnerships,
LLCs that are treated as partnerships for federal purposes, or
New York S corporations that had income from New York sources
are required to pay estimated taxes on behalf of nonresident
individuals and C corporation partners, members, or shareholders
on their distributive or pro rata share of the respective entities
income. See Form IT-2659, Estimated Tax Penalties for
Partnerships and New York S Corporations, to determine if you
underpaid estimated tax and, if so, to compute the penalty due.

General information

All general business corporations (including S corporations),
banking, insurance, utilities (including providers of
telecommunication services), and transportation and transmission
corporations whose franchise tax for the current tax year can
reasonably be expected to be more than $1,000 after credits must
file a declaration of estimated franchise tax and make quarterly
installment payments.

Any corporation doing business in the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District (MCTD) that is required to make a
declaration of estimated franchise tax must also make a declaration
of estimated MTA surcharge and make quarterly installment
payments.

If you do not pay the required amounts on time, you may have to
pay an underpayment penalty for the period of underpayment.

Payment of estimated tax

First installment — If the franchise tax on your previous year’s return
or on your request for extension of time for filing that return is more
than $1,000 and does not exceed $100,000, you must pay 25% of
the tax with the return or extension. If the franchise tax on your
previous year’s return or on your request for extension of time for
filing that return exceeds $100,000, you must pay 30% of the tax with
the return or extension. If you are subject to tax under Tax Law
section 1510(b)(1), and the tax exceeds $1,000, the percentage

is 40%.

If you are liable for the MTA surcharge, a 25% first installment is
required if your franchise tax is more than $1,000 and does not
exceed $100,000. If your franchise tax exceeds $100,000, a 30%
first installment is required. If you are subject to tax under Tax Law
section 1510(b)(1), and the tax exceeds $1,000, the percentage

is 40%.

The second, third, and fourth installments of estimated franchise
tax and MTA surcharge are due on the fifteenth day of the sixth,
ninth, and twelfth months of your tax year.

Computation of underpayment

Complete lines 1 through 12 to determine any underpayment of
estimated taxes.

Line 2 — Large corporations: Multiply the amount on line 1 by
100%. All others: Multiply line 1 by 91%. A large corporation is one
that had, or whose predecessor had, allocated entire net income
(ENI) of at least $1,000,000 for any of the three tax years
immediately preceding the tax year involved. Article 33 filers: For
a nonlife insurance corporation subject to tax under Tax Law
section 1502-a, a large corporation is one that had allocated ENI of
at least $1,000,000 for any of the three tax years immediately
preceding the tax year involved or had direct premiums, subject to
the premiums tax under Tax Law section 1502-a, exceeding
$3,750,000 for any of the three preceding tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 2003.

Line 4 — See Payment of estimated tax above.

Line 8 — Corporate partners: Include amounts paid on time and
on your behalf by a partnership. A payment of estimated tax is
applied against underpayments of required instaliments in the
order in which the installments are required to be paid.

Example: Calendar-year taxpayer

First Second Third Fourth
Due date ........ccccevveveunann. 3/15 6/15 9/15 12/15
25% of prior year tax
or MTA surcharge ........... 1,500 -- -- --
Installment amount due .... - 1,000 1,000 1,000
Paid on time/credited......... 1,500 0 500* 1,000 **
Underpayment .................. 0 1,000 500 0

Penalty is due on $1,000 from 6/15 to 9/15.
Penalty is due on $500 from 9/15 to 12/15.

* Paid $1,500, $1,000 applied to 6/15 installment; $500 applied to 9/15 installment.
** Paid $1,500, $500 applied to 9/15 installment; $1,000 applied to 12/15 installment.

Exceptions to the underpayment penalty

You will not have to pay a penalty if you made all tax payments on
time and they equal or exceed the amount that would have been
required to be paid by each installment date if the estimated tax
were an amount determined under any of the exceptions listed
below.

A different exception may be applied to each underpayment. If no
exception applies, complete lines 18 through 39 to determine the
amount of the penalty.

Exceptions 1 and 2, on lines 14 and 15, do not apply to large
corporations.

Line 14, exception 1 (not to be used by large corporations): Allows
you to substitute for the current year’s estimated tax the tax
reported on your 2003 return. You must have filed a franchise tax
return showing a tax liability for the preceding tax year, and that
year must have consisted of 12 months.

Line 15, exception 2 (not to be used by large corporations):
Applies if the amount you paid is equal to or more than the tax
computed by using the current year’s rate but based on the facts
shown on the prior year’s return and the law that applies to the
prior year.
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Line 16, exception 3: Applies if the estimated tax you paid was
equal to or more than 91% (or 100% for large corporations) of the
amount you would owe if your estimated tax were a tax computed
on annualized taxable income for the months preceding an
installment date.

You may annualize income as follows:

a. For the first 3, 4, or 5 months of the tax year, in the case of the
installment required to be paid in the 6th month.

b. For the first 6, 7, or 8 months of the tax year, in the case of the
installment required to be paid in the 9th month.

c. Forthe first 9, 10, or 11 months of the tax year, in the case of
the installment required to be paid in the 12th month.

To annualize, multiply taxable income for the period by 12 and
divide the result by the actual number of months in the period.

Line 17, exception 4: Applies if you have recurring seasonal
income. You may annualize income by assuming that income
earned in the current year is earned in the same seasonal pattern
as in the three preceding tax years.

To avoid underpayment penalties, you must make up a reduction in
estimated taxes resulting from using annualized income or
seasonal income by increasing the amount of the next installment
determined under any other exception method by the amount of
such reduction.

For additional information about computing seasonal income, see
Tax Law Article 27, section 1085(d)(4).

Computation of the underpayment penalty

If no exception applies, complete lines 18 through 39 to determine
the amount of the penalty. The penalty is computed for the period of
underpayment at a rate set by Tax Law Article 27, section
1096(e)(1). Daily compounding of interest does not apply.

Line 39 — In each column enter the amount from line 38, or, if the
installment payment (line 10) equals 80% (.8) or more of line 1
divided by four, multiply the penalty shown in the corresponding
column of line 38 by 75% (.75) and enter the result.

Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,

&@ 7 days a week. 1 800 748-3676
Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 PM. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
To order forms and publications: 1800 462-8100
Business Tax Information Center: 1800 972-1233

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

A_ Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:

sses If you have access to a telecommunications device for the
sewww deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do not
G own a TDD, check with independent living centers or
community action programs to find out where machines
are available for public use.

[ ] Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
‘ 7 lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.




