CT—3 97 New York State Department of Taxation and Finance-
Report of Annual License Fee
Agricultural Cooperative Marketing or
g Financing Corporations and
District Heating/Cooling Cooperatives

Cooperative Corporations Law, Article 5

Please print or type For calendar year
J Employer identification number u File number Business telephone number / /
Legal name of corporation Trade name/DBA
Mailing name (if different from legal name) State or country of incorporation | Date received (for Tax Department use only)
clo
Number and street or PO box Date of incorporation
City State ZIP code Date began business in NYS

If address above is | |f your name, employer identification number, address, or owner/officer information has changed, you must file | Audit (for Tax Department use only)
new, check box D Form DTF-95. If only your address has changed, you may file Form DTF-96. You can get these forms by fax,
phone, or from our Web site. See Need help? on the back page.

Payment - pay $10.00 — Make check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax Payment enclosed
4= . .. Attach your payment here. $10.00

The above corporation was incorporated under the Cooperative Corporations Law on

(month, day, year)
for the purpose of

Certification. | certify that this return and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct, and complete.
Signature of authorized person Official title Date

Instructions

Who must file — qualify as cooperative corporations without stock, that have federal

) . . . IRC section 501(c)(12) status.
Section 77 of the Cooperative Corporations Law exempts certain

cooperative corporations from franchise taxes, corporation taxes, or license ¢ Members of heating/cooling cooperative corporations as described

fee requirements under section 181 of the Tax Law. In place of those taxes above.

and the license fee, the following corporations must file this form and pay

an annual license fee of $10: Types of cooperative corporations that are not exempt from franchise tax,

e Agricultural cooperative marketing corporations, with or without capital corporation tax, or license fee requirements under section 181 of the Tax
stock, organized for the purpose of marketing agricultural products; Law, and therefore are not required to file this form, are:

® Agricultural cooperative financing corporations, with or without capital ® Agricultural cooperative corporations with capital stock organized for the
stock, organized for the purpose of making loans to their members sole purpose of raising crops are subject to the franchise tax imposed
producing agricultural products; by Article 9, section 185 of the Tax Law. (See Form CT-185, Cooperative

* Cooperative corporations with annual sales of less than $500,000, Agricultural Corporation Franchise Tax Return.)
organlzed_ for the purpose of purchasing food products for sale to their ® Cooperative corporations with capital stock that operate for a profit are
members; h

. . . . . taxable under Article 9-A of the Tax Law. (See Form CT-3 or
® Heating/cooling cooperative corporations without stock, that have CT-4, General Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return.)

federal IRC section 501(c)(12) status and are organized for producing
and/or distributing district heating and/or cooling services solely for use
by their members. The heating or cooling facility must be located in a

city with a population of more than 200,000 but less than 300,000, and When and where to file
must have at least 35% of the service, as measured by relative thermal On or before March 15th following the close of the calendar year, mail this
usage, distributed to and used by members who: completed form and $10 check or money order to:
— qualify as certain exempt organizations under the New York State
Sales and Use Tax Law (for example, governmental, educational, NYS CORPORATION TAX

REGISTRATION UNIT
BLDG 8, RM 953

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

charitable, religious); or

48101030094



CT-397 (2003) (back)

Private delivery services

If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of the
U.S. Postal Service, to file your return and pay tax. However, if, at a
later date, you need to establish the date you filed your return or paid
your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service
unless you used a delivery service that has been designated by the
U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed in
Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help?
below for information on ordering forms and publications.) If you have
used a designated private delivery service and need to establish the
date you filed your return, contact that private delivery service for
instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your return was
given to the delivery service for delivery. If you use any private delivery
service, whether it is a designated service or not, address your return
to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX

REGISTRATION UNIT

BLDG 8, RM 953

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS

ALBANY NY 12227

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but
not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096,
1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security
numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and,
when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to
certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management and
Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY
12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the United States
and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Need help?

www

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 PM. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

1800 462-8100

1 800 748-3676

To order forms and publications:

Business Tax Information Center: 1800 972-1233
From areas outside the U.S. and

outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
If you have access to a telecommunications device for the
deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do not
own a TDD, check with independent living centers or
community action programs to find out where machines are
available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
BUSINESS TAX INFORMATION CENTER
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

&
y

48102030094
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