New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-33-M

CT-33-M-1

‘B Insurance Corporation MTA Surcharge Return
Tax Law — Article 33, Section 1505-a

Up-to-date information affecting your 2003 tax return

Visit the Corporation Tax Up-to-Date Information page on our

Web site at www.nystax.gov for Tax Law changes or forms

corrections that occurred after the forms and instructions were
printed.

Summary of 2003 changes

MTA surcharge for non-life insurance corporations — For
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the MTA
surcharge for non-life insurance corporations has changed. The
MTA tax surcharge is equal to 17% of the franchise tax based
solely on premiums under section 1502-a of the Tax Law, after
the deduction of any credits allowed under Article 33 of the Tax
Law, and as allocated to the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District (MCTD) as described below.

MCTD allocation percentage for non-life insurance
corporations — For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2003, the computation of the MCTD allocation percentage for
non-life insurance corporations has changed. The MCTD
allocation percentage for non-life insurance corporations is now
calculated by dividing the direct premiums described as taxable
premiums under section 1510 that are written on risks located
or resident in the MCTD by the direct premiums described as
taxable premiums under section 1510 that are written on risks
located or resident in New York State.

Surcharge retaliatory tax credit for both life and non-life
insurance corporations — The four million dollar limitation on
the total amount of the surcharge retaliatory tax credit claimed
in any surcharge taxable year has been repealed. Also, there is
no longer a limitation date for the surcharge retaliatory tax
credit, and this credit now may be claimed for taxes paid to
other states regardless of the limitation date for a surcharge
taxable year. The surcharge retaliatory tax credit, as provided by
subdivision (d) of section 1505-a of the Tax Law, is still
computed and claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Who must file

If you do business, employ capital, own or lease property, or
maintain an office in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
District (MCTD), you must pay a metropolitan transportation
business tax surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan
Transportation Authority region (MTA surcharge). The MCTD
includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland,
Suffolk, and Westchester.

If you file Form CT-33, Form CT-33-NL, or Form CT-33-A, use
Form CT-33-M to report and pay the MTA surcharge.

Life insurance corporations filing on a combined basis are
required to file only one return for the combined group. Use
combined figures, as shown on your Form CT-33-A, to complete
this form.

Installment payments — A taxpayer whose franchise tax is
more than $1,000 must file a declaration of estimated MTA
surcharge and make quarterly installment payments on
Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations.

MTA surcharge rate — The MTA surcharge rate is 17%.

When and where to file

If you are a calendar-year filer, check the box in the upper right
corner on the front of the form. If you are a fiscal-year filer,
complete the beginning and ending tax period boxes in the
upper right corner on the front of the form.

File your return within 212 months after the end of your reporting
period. If you are reporting for the calendar year, file your return
on or before March 15. If your filing date falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, file your return on or before the next
business day.

File with, but do not attach to, Form CT-33, Form CT-33-NL, or
Form CT-33-A.

Mail your return to:
NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT
PO BOX 22038
ALBANY NY 12201-2038

See From CT-33-NL-I, Form CT-33-I, or Form CT-33-A-I for an
alternative address if you wish to use a private delivery service.

Also mail a copy to:

THE NYS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
AGENCY BUILDING 1

EMPIRE STATE PLAZA

ALBANY NY 12257

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please
check the Amended return box on the top of Form CT-33-M.

Extension of time for filing MTA surcharge return — You may
request additional time to file Form CT-33-M. To do this, file
Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3 on or before the due date of the
return for which you are requesting the extension, and pay the
MTA surcharge you estimate to be due.

Important identifying information — For us to process your
corporation tax forms, it is important that we have the necessary
identifying information. You will find your employer identification
number and file number just above your printed corporation
name and address. Keep a record of that information and
include it on each corporation tax form mailed.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they
use your complete and accurate identifying information when
completing all forms.

Changes in business information — You must report any
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address,
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer
information on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If
only your address has changed, you may use Form DTF-96,
Report of Address Change for Business Tax Accounts, to
correct your address for this and all other tax types. You can get
these forms by fax, phone, or from our Web site. See Need
help? on page 4 for the phone number and Web address.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show dollar
amounts in whole dollars rather than in dollars and cents.
Round any amount from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next
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higher dollar. Round any amount less than 50 cents to the next
lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts in
parentheses.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages,
convert decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point
two spaces to the right. Carry percentages to four decimal
places.

Example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Specific instructions

Line A — Make your payment in United States funds. We will
accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S.
funds.

Computation of MCTD allocation percentage

Non-life insurance corporations MCTD allocation
percentage

Life insurance corporations skip lines 1a through 2.

Lines 1a through 2 — If all your direct premiums described as
taxable premiums under section 1510 are written on risks
located or resident in the 12 counties of the MCTD, skip lines 1a
and 1b and enter 100% on line 2. Otherwise, compute your
MCTD allocation percentage by completing lines 1a, 1b, and 2.

Line 1b — Enter your direct premiums described as taxable
premiums under section 1510 that are written on risks located
or resident in the MCTD. Also, include premiums written,
procured, or received in the MCTD on business that cannot be
specifically assigned as located or resident in an area outside
the MCTD, or in another state(s). However, in the case of
special risk premiums, include only those premiums written,
procured, or received in the MCTD on property or risks located
or resident in the MCTD.

Life insurance corporations MCTD allocation
percentage

Non-life insurance corporations skip lines 3a through 9.

Lines 3a through 9 — If you do all of your New York State
business within the 12 counties of the MCTD, skip lines 3a
through 8 and enter 100% on line 9. Otherwise, compute your
MCTD allocation percentage by completing lines 3a through 9.

Life insurance corporations taxable under Article 33 that are
filing on a combined basis must use a combined MCTD
allocation percentage.

Line 3b — Determine MCTD premiums included on line 3a
using the same principles set out in sections 1504(a) and (b) of
the Tax Law to determine New York State premiums.

Line 6b — Determine MCTD wages included on line 6a using
the same principles set out in section 1504(a) of the Tax Law to
determine New York State wages, salaries, commissions, and
other compensation.

Line 9 — If the MCTD premium factor is missing from line 4, the
MCTD allocation percentage is the MCTD wage factor
percentage on line 7. If the MCTD wage factor is missing from
line 7, the MCTD allocation percentage is the MCTD premiums
factor percentage on line 4. A factor is missing if both its
numerator and denominator are zero. If the numerator is zero

and the denominator has a positive figure, the factor has an
allocation value of 0% and this percentage is included in the
computation of the MCTD allocation percentage.

Computation of MTA surcharge

Line 10 — Section 1505-a of the Tax Law requires that life
insurance corporations compute the MTA surcharge using the
rates in effect immediately prior to tax years beginning on or
after July 1, 2000, and it may be necessary to recompute your
tax for the purposes of computing the MTA surcharge. The tax
rate for allocated entire net income under 1502(a)(1) in effect
immediately prior to tax years beginning on or after July 1,
2000, was 9%.

If the tax on line 1 is larger than each of the taxes on line 2,
line 3, and line 4 of Form CT-33 or CT-33-A, and the tax on
Form CT-33, line 7, or Form CT-33-A, line 8, is larger than the
section 1505(b) floor limitation on tax on Form CT-33, line 8, or
Form CT-33-A, line 9, complete the Worksheet below to
determine the amount required to be reported on

Form CT-33-M, line 10. Otherwise, enter the amount from
Form CT-33, line 13, or Form CT-33-A, line 17, on line 10 of
Form CT-33-M, and do not complete the Worksheet.

Worksheet

Recomputation of tax for life insurance companies when
franchise tax base is on entire net income and not the
section 1505(b) floor limitation on tax

A. Allocated entire net income (enter amount
from Form CT-33, line 82, or CT-33-A,

liNE 86) ettt A
B. “As if” entire net income tax rate (9%)............. B.______ .09
C. Recomputed tax on entire net income

(multiply lin@ A by liN€ B) ......ccceeeicuveeiaaaaiieeeannn. C.

D. Allocated subsidiary capital tax (enter
amount from line 5 of Form CT-33 or

CT=83A) eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee et e et eeeeneneen D.
E. Total tax on premiums (enter amounts from

Form CT-33, line 6, or CT-33-A, liN€ 7) .............. E.
F. Tax before EZ and ZEA tax credits (add lines C

thrOUGHN E) e F.

G. EZ and ZEA tax credits claimed
(enter amount from Form CT-33, line 9b,

0or CT-33-A, lin€ 112) ....cccoeeeeeiniireeeeeeeeeeaenn G.
H. Tax after EZ and ZEA tax credits
(subtract line G from liN€ F) .........ccccccovveeieiannnee H.

I. Combined minimum tax for subsidiaries

(Form CT-33 filers enter “0”; Form CT-33-A filers

enter the amount from line 12 of that form) ........ .
J. Total tax after EZ and ZEA tax credits

(add lines Hand ) ........eeeeeeeeieiiiiiniiiiiniiinne J.
K. Section 1505(a)(2) limitation on tax

(enter amount from Form CT-33, line 10,

OF CT-33-A, liN€ 14) weveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeiieeae e e K.
L. Recomputed New York State franchise

tax (enter amount from line J or K,

WHRICHEVET S 18SS) ..vveeeeeeeeeeeeeeiiiieae e e e L.
M. Tax credits (enter amount from Form CT-33,
line 12, or CT-33-A, liN€ 16) ....ccevevveeeeenaaaannn M.

N. Net recomputed New York State franchise
tax (subtract line M from line L; enter
here and on Form CT-33-M, line 10) .................. N.




Line 13 — Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in
New York State may claim a credit on this line for 90% of
retaliatory taxes paid to other states for the privilege of doing
business in those states, resulting from the imposition of the
MTA surcharge for the 2003 tax year. Enter the smaller of 90%
of retaliatory taxes paid in 2003 attributable to the 2003 MTA
surcharge or the amount of MTA surcharge shown on line 12.
Attach computation. Enter “0” if you are not claiming a retaliatory
tax credit. To claim a refund for retaliatory taxes paid in 2003 as
a result of the imposition of the MTA surcharge for previous
periods, see lines 29 through 38.

Line 15b — If you did not file Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3,
Request for Six-Month Extension to File, and your franchise tax
on line 7 of Form CT-33-NL, line 13 of Form CT-33, or line 17 of
Form CT-33-A exceeds $1,000, then you must pay a mandatory
first installment on line 15b.

Life insurance corporations: Enter 40% of the MTA surcharge
shown on line 14 of Form CT-33-M.

Non-life insurance corporations: If your franchise tax on line 7
of Form CT-33-NL does not exceed $100,000, enter 25% of the
MTA surcharge shown on line 14 of Form CT-33-M. If your
franchise tax on line 7 of Form CT-33-NL exceeds $100,000,
enter 30% of the MTA surcharge shown on line 14 of

Form CT-33-M.

Line 20 — If you do not pay the MTA surcharge on or before the
original due date (without regard to any extension of time), you
must pay interest on the amount of the underpayment from the
original due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest
computation any amount shown on line 15a or 15b, first
installment of estimated tax for next period.

Line 21 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late
payment on the amount of MTA surcharge required to be shown
on the return after deduction of any payment made on or before
the due date (with regard to any extension of time for filing).
Exclude from the penalty computation any amount shown on
line 15a or 15b, first installment of estimated tax for next period.

A. If you do not file a return when due or if your request for
extension is invalid, add to the MTA surcharge 5% per month
up to 25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to the MTA surcharge in item A above cannot be
less than the smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount
required to be shown as the MTA surcharge (section
1085(a)(1)(B)).

C. If you do not pay the MTA surcharge shown on a return, add
to the MTA surcharge 2% per month up to 25%

(section 1085(a)(2)).

D. The total of the additional charges in items A and C above
may not exceed 5% for any one month except as provided for
in item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in
filing, payment, or both (section 1085).

Note: You may compute the interest and penalty by accessing
our Web site at

wwwa3.tax.state.ny.us/PAIC/PAICHomeServiet
or you may call 1 800 972-1233, and we will compute the

interest and penalty for you.

CT-33-M-I (2003) Page 3 of 4

Lines 23 through 26 — You may apply all or part of your
overpayment to your New York State franchise tax, next year’s
MTA surcharge, or request a refund. Indicate the amount to be
credited to New York State franchise tax on line 24, the amount
to be credited to next year's MTA surcharge on line 25, and the
amount to be refunded on line 26.

Line 28 — Collection of debts from your refund — We will
keep all or part of your refund if you owe a past-due legally
enforceable debt to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or to a
New York State agency. This includes any state department,
board, bureau, division, commission, committee, public
authority, public benefit corporation, council, office, or other
entity performing a governmental or proprietary function for the
state or a social services district. We will refund any amount
over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due
legally enforceable debt to the IRS or to a state agency, contact
the IRS or that particular state agency.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554.
From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call
(518) 485-6800. You can write to NYS Tax Department, Tax
Compliance Division, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY
12227.

Claim for refund of MTA surcharge retaliatory tax
credit

Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New York
State must use lines 29 through 38 to claim a refund for
retaliatory taxes paid to other states as a result of the imposition
of the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge).
The surcharge credit available for a given year may not exceed
the MTA surcharge payable for that year as computed under
section 1505-a of the Tax Law. The credit is claimed in the year
paid, but is attributed to the year in which the retaliatory taxes
were imposed or assessed.

Attach a separate sheet to the refund claim, identifying the
recipients of the retaliatory tax and the amount paid to each
recipient, broken down to reflect the year to which the taxes are
attributable.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the

four million dollar limitation on the total amount of the surcharge
retaliatory tax credit claimed in any surcharge taxable year has
been repealed. Also, there is no longer a limitation date for the
surcharge retaliatory tax credit, and this credit may now be
claimed for taxes paid to other states regardless of the limitation
date for a surcharge taxable year.

Line 29 — Enter MTA surcharge payable for each year for which
you are claiming a credit.

Line 30 — Enter retaliatory tax credits allowed in prior years
that are attributable to the MTA surcharge. Include all credits
claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Lines 32 through 36 — Do not include on these lines any
amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that were previously
claimed on Form CT-33-M for any year.
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Line 37 — Enter in the appropriate column, for the correct year,
the total MTA surcharge retaliatory tax credits allowed to date.
Include any credits previously allowed on Form CT-33-M as well
as amounts claimed in Columns A through E on lines 32
through 36.

Lines 39 through 45 — Composition of prepayments
claimed on line 17

If you need more space, write see attached in this section and
attach a separate sheet showing all relevant prepayment
information. Transfer the total shown on the attached sheet to
line 17.

Privacy notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance may collect and maintain personal information pursuant
to the New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to,
sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142,
and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social
security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud
prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness
of certain employment and training programs and other
purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to
civil or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records
Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department,

W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone

1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the United States and
outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,

2y 7 days a week. 1800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 PM.
(eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications:
Business Tax Information Center:

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada:

1 800 462-8100
1800 972-1233

(518) 485-6800

4Py, Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired: If you

ssse® have access to a telecommunications device for the
.'.'_' '. deaf (TDD), contact us at 1 800 634-2110. If you do not

[ ] own a TDD, check with independent living centers or
community action programs to find out where machines
are available for public use.

[ Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1238.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
BUSINESS TAX INFORMATION CENTER

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227




