New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-33-M
Insurance Corporation MTA Surcharge Return

CT-33-M-1

Tax Law — Article 33, Section 1505-a

Who must file — If you do business, employ capital, own or
lease property, or maintain an office in the Metropolitan
Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), you must pay a
metropolitan transportation business tax surcharge on business
done in the Metropolitan Transportation Authority region (MTA
surcharge). The MCTD includes the counties of New York,
Bronx, Queens, Kings, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

If you file Form CT-33 or Form CT-33-A, use Form CT-33-M to
report and pay the MTA surcharge.

Corporations filing on a combined basis are required to file only
one return for the combined group. Use combined figures, as
shown on your Form CT-33-A, to complete this form.

Instaliment payments — A taxpayer whose franchise tax is
more than $1,000 must file a declaration of estimated MTA
surcharge and make quarterly installment payments on

Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations.

MTA surcharge rate — The MTA surcharge rate is 17%.

When and where to file — If you are a calendar-year filer,
check the box in the upper right corner on the front of the form.
If you are a fiscal-year filer, complete the beginning and ending
tax period boxes in the upper right corner on the front of the
form.

File your return within 22 months after the end of your reporting
period. If you are reporting for the calendar year, file your return
on or before March 15. If your filing date falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, file your return on or before the next
business day.

Mail your return to: NYS Corporation Tax, Processing Unit,
PO Box 22038, Albany NY 12201-2038. See Form CT-33-I or
Form CT-33-A-I for an alternative address if you wish to use a
private delivery service. Also mail a copy to: The NYS Insurance
Department, Agency Building 1, Empire State Plaza, Albany NY
12257.

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return,
please check the Amended return box on the top of
Form CT-33-M.

Extension of time for filing MTA surcharge return — You
may request additional time to file Form CT-33-M. To do this, file
Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3 on or before the due date of the
return for which you are requesting the extension, and pay the
MTA surcharge you estimate to be due.

Important identifying information — For us to process your
corporation tax forms, it is important that we have the necessary
identifying information. You will find your employer identification
number and file number just above your printed corporation
name and address. Keep a record of that information and
include it on each corporation tax form mailed.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they
use your complete and accurate identifying information when
completing all forms.

Changes in business information — You must report any
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address,
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer
information on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If

only your address has changed, you may use Form DTF-96,
Report of Address Change for Business Tax Accounts, to
correct your address for this and all other tax types. You can get
these forms by fax, phone, or from our Web site. See Need
help? on page 4 for the phone number and Web address.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show dollar
amounts in whole dollars rather than in dollars and cents.
Round any amount from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next
higher dollar. Round any amount less than 50 cents to the next
lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts in
parentheses.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages,
convert decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point
two spaces to the right. Carry percentages to four decimal
places. For example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Specific instructions

Line A — Make your payment in United States funds. We will
accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S.
funds.

Computation of MCTD allocation percentage — If you do
all of your New York State business within the 12 counties of the
MCTD, skip lines 1 through 8 and enter 100% on line 9.

If you do part of your business outside the MCTD, compute your
MCTD allocation percentage by completing lines 1 through 8.

Corporations taxable under Article 33 that are filing on a
combined basis must use a combined MCTD allocation
percentage.

Determine MCTD premiums and MCTD wages using the same
principles set out in section 1504(a) and (b) of the Tax Law to
determine New York premiums and New York wages, salaries,
commissions, and other compensation.

Line 10 — Section 1505-a of the Tax Law requires that the MTA
surcharge be computed using the rates in effect immediately
prior to taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2000. Since
certain tax rates have decreased under sections 1505 and
1502(a)(1) for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2000,
it may be necessary to recompute your tax for the purposes of
computing the MTA surcharge.

The tax rate for the limitation on tax under section 1505 for
nonlife insurance companies in effect immediately prior to
taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, was 2.6%. The
tax rate for allocated entire net income under 1502(a)(1) in
effect immediately prior to taxable years beginning on or after
July 1, 2000, was 9%.
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The following table of conditions

and worksheets will allow you

to recompute your tax at the appropriate rate for purposes of
computing the MTA surcharge. Life insurance companies: find

the condition that applies to you,

either Condition 1 or

Condition 2. Nonlife insurance companies: find the condition
that applies to you, either Condition 3 or Condition 4. Follow the
instructions indicated for that condition to determine the amount
required to be reported on line 10 of Form CT-33-M.

Combined filers: If you are filing a combined return and the
combined group is composed exclusively of life insurance
companies, find the condition that applies to you, either
Condition 1 or Condition 2. If the combined group is composed
exclusively of nonlife insurance companies, or includes both life
insurance companies and nonlife insurance companies, you
must find the condition that applies to you under either
Condition 3 or Condition 4. Follow the instructions indicated for
that condition to determine the amount required to be reported

on line 10 of Form CT-33-M.

Condition

Instructions

Condition 1 - Life insurance
companies. The tax on either
line 2, line 3, or line 4 is larger
than the tax on line 1 of

Form CT-33 or CT-33-A.

Enter the amount from
Form CT-33, line 13, or
Form CT-33-A, line 19, on
line 10 of Form CT-33-M. Do
not complete Worksheets

1 through 3

Condition 2 - Life insurance
companies. The tax on line 1 is
larger than each of the taxes
on line 2, line 3, and line 4 of
Form CT-33 or CT-33-A.

Complete Worksheet 2.

Condition 3 - Nonlife
insurance companies and
combined life and nonlife
insurance companies. The tax
on either line 2, line 3, or line 4
is larger than the tax on line 1
of Form CT-33 or CT-33-A,

Complete Worksheets 1 and 3.

Condition 4 - Nonlife
insurance companies and
combined life and nonlife
insurance companies. The tax
on line 1 is larger than each of
the taxes on line 2, line 3, and
line 4 of Form CT-33 or
CT-33-A.

Complete Worksheets 1 and 2.

Worksheet 2

Recomputation of tax for life insurance and nonlife insurance
companies when franchise tax base is on entire net income:

D. Allocated entire net income (enter amount
from Form CT-33, line 89, or CT-33-A,

liNE 95) oo D
E. “Asif” entire net income tax rate (9%)............ E
F. Recomputed tax on entire net income

(multiply line D by iN@ E) .......cceeeeeeennririninnnnennns F

G. Allocated subsidiary capital tax (enter

amount from line 5 of Form CT-33 or

(O 1 o . G
H. Total tax on premiums (enter amounts from

Form CT-33, lines 6 through 8, or

CT-33-A, liN€ 10) weeeveeeeneeieeee e e e e eaaeeees H
. Tax before tax credits (add lines F

thrOUGN H) .o |
J. Less: EZ and ZEA tax credits claimed

(enter amount from Form CT-33, line 9b,

or CT-33-A, line 11b)
K. Tax after EZ and ZEA tax credits

(subtract line J from lin€ ) ............ccoeeeeiiicnnnnnnns K
L. Combined minimum tax for subsidiaries

(Form CT-33 filers enter “0”; Form CT-33-A filers

enter the amount from line 12 of that form) ......... L
M. Total tax after EZ and ZEA tax credits
(add lines Kand L) ........ccceueiiiiiiiiieiciinins M

N. Life insurance company limitation on tax

(enter amount from Form CT-33, line 10a,

OF CT-33-A, lIN€ 14) eeeeeeeeeeieeeeeiieee e N
O. Recomputed nonlife insurance company

limitation on tax (enter amount from

Worksheet 1, line C, if Worksheet 1 is

required; otherwise, enter “0”) ........cccovveeeeeenenn. (@]
P. Applicable limitation (add lines N and O) ........... P
Q. Recomputed New York State franchise

tax (enter amount from line M or P,

WHICREVET IS I8SS) ...vvvvveveiiiieiiiiiiiaiaeeieeeieieieanes Q
R. Tax credits (enter amount from Form CT-33,
line 12, or CT-33-A, liN@ 18) .........vuveeeeeeeaaeennnnns R

S. Net recomputed New York State franchise
tax (subtract line R from line Q; enter
here and on Form CT-33-M, line 10) ................... S

.09

Worksheet 1

Recomputation of section 1505 limitation on tax for nonlife

insurance companies:

A. Total nonlife insurance company premiums subject
to section 1505 tax (enter amount from

Form CT-33, line 99, or CT-33-A, line 117)

B. “As if” nonlife insurance company limitation

tax rate (2.6%) ...cooevverieennnnn.

C. Recomputed limitation on tax (multiply line A

by lin€ B) ....cocvvveiiiiiiiiiiiinnns

Worksheet 3

Recomputation of tax for nonlife insurance companies and
combined filers that include both life and nonlife insurance
companies, when franchise tax base is not on entire net
income:

T. Total tax after EZ and ZEA tax credits (enter
amount from Form CT-33, line 9c, or
CT-33-A, liN€ 13) euvieeiiiiiiiiiiiiei e T
U. Life insurance company limitation on tax
(CT-33 filers enter “0”; CT-33-A filers
enter amount from Form CT-33-A, line 14).......... U
V. Recomputed nonlife insurance company
limitation on tax (enter amount from

Worksheet 1, liN€ C) ....cceeveeeeveeeeeeiiiiiiaeeeeeaaenns \Y
W. Applicable limitation (add lines U and V) ........... w
X. Recomputed New York State franchise tax (enter

amount from line T or W, whichever is less) ........ X
Y. Tax credits (enter amount from Form CT-33,

line 12, or CT-33-A, liN€ 18) .....eeeeeeeeeeeeeeenrnnn. Y

Z. Net recomputed New York State franchise tax
(subtract line Y from line X; enter here and
on Form CT-33-M, 1ine 10) ......cccceeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnns Z




Line 13 — Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in
New York State may claim a credit on this line for 90% of
retaliatory taxes paid to other states for the privilege of doing
business in those states, resulting from the imposition of the
MTA surcharge for the 2002 tax year. Enter the smaller of 90%
of retaliatory taxes paid in 2002 attributable to the 2002 MTA
surcharge or the amount of MTA surcharge shown on line 12.
Attach computation. Enter “0” if you are not claiming a retaliatory
tax credit. To claim a refund for retaliatory taxes paid in 2002 as
a result of the imposition of the MTA surcharge for previous
periods, see lines 29 through 38.

CT-33 individual filers

Line 15b — If you did not file Form CT-5, Request for
Six-Month Extension to File, and your franchise tax on line 13 of
Form CT-33 exceeds $1,000, then you must pay a mandatory
first installment on line 15b.

Life insurance companies: Enter 40% of the MTA surcharge
shown on line 14 of Form CT-33-M.

Nonlife insurance companies: If your franchise tax on line 13
of Form CT-33 does not exceed $100,000, enter 25% of the tax
shown on line 14 of Form CT-33-M. If your franchise tax on line
13 of Form CT-33 exceeds $100,000, enter 30% of the MTA
surcharge shown on line 14 of Form CT-33-M.

CT-33-A combined filers

Line 15b — If you did not file Form CT-5.3, Request for
Six-Month Extension to File, and your franchise tax on line 19 of
Form CT-33-A exceeds $1,000, then you must pay a mandatory
first installment. Your first installment is dependent upon a ratio
determined by the amount of the combined group’s life
insurance premiums and nonlife insurance premiums. If the
combined group includes both life and nonlife insurance
companies, complete lines AA through JJ of Worksheet 4 below.
If the combined group is composed exclusively of life insurance
companies, enter 100% on line CC and complete lines CC
through JJ of Worksheet 4 below. If the combined group is
composed exclusively of nonlife insurance companies, enter 0%
on line CC and complete lines CC through JJ.

Worksheet 4
AA. Enter the life insurance company premiums
included on line 1 of Form CT-33-M........ AA
BB. Enter the total premiums included on line 1
of Form CT-33-M .....c.ccovveiiiiiiiicce, BB
CC. Divide line AA by line BB to arrive at the life o
insurance percentage ........c.ccceevveeeeineenns ccC— %
DD. Enter the combined MTA surcharge from
line 14 of Form CT-33-M ........cccceeviennnns DD
EE. Multiply line DD by the life insurance
percentage on line CC .......ccceecvvereenncene EE
FF. Subtract the amount on line EE from the
amount on line DD .......ccccceeiiiiiieiiies FF
GG. Multiply line EE by 40% (.4) ..ccoovviivieieeniens GG

HH. If your franchise tax due on line 19 of
Form CT-33-A does not exceed $100,000,
multiply line FF by 25% (.25) .......cceeuuee. HH
Il.  If your franchise tax due on line 19 of
Form CT-33-A exceeds $100,000,
multiply line FF by 30% (.30) ......ccccevvennee Il

JJ. First installment due (add lines GG and HH
or GG and II; enter on line 15b) .......cccuveeeeees JJ
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Line 17 — Enter any MTA surcharge payment made with

Form CT-5. You may compute prepayments on the back of the
form and transfer them to this line. Prepayments include any
MTA surcharge payment made with Form CT-5 (extension),
installment payments of MTA surcharge on Form CT-400, credit
carryovers from prior years, and overpayments of franchise tax
from Form CT-33 or Form CT-33-A.

Line 20 — If you do not pay the MTA surcharge on or before the
original due date (without regard to any extension of time), you
must pay interest on the amount of the underpayment from the
original due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest
computation any amount shown on line 15a or 15b, first
installment of estimated tax for next period.

Line 21 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late
payment on the amount of MTA surcharge required to be shown
on the return after deduction of any payment made on or before
the due date (with regard to any extension of time for filing).
Exclude from the penalty computation any amount shown on
line 15a or 15b, first installment of estimated tax for next period.

A. If you do not file a return when due or if your request for
extension is invalid, add to the MTA surcharge 5% per month
up to 25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to the MTA surcharge in item A above cannot be
less than the smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount
required to be shown as the MTA surcharge (section
1085(a)(1)(B)).

C. If you do not pay the MTA surcharge shown on a return, add
to the MTA surcharge %2% per month up to 25%
(section 1085(a)(2)).

D. The total of the additional charges in items A and C above
may not exceed 5% for any one month except as provided for
in item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in
filing, payment, or both (section 1085).

Note: If you wish, we will compute the interest (line 20) and
penalty (line 21) for you. Call the Business Tax Information
Center at 1 800 972-1233.

Line 23 — You may apply all or part of your overpayment to
your New York State franchise tax. Indicate on lines 24, 25, and
26 the amount you want applied to your tax and the amount you
want refunded.

Line 28 — Collection of debts from your refund — We will
keep all or part of your refund if you owe a past-due legally
enforceable debt to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or to a
New York State agency. This includes any state department,
board, bureau, division, commission, committee, public
authority, public benefit corporation, council, office, or other
entity performing a governmental or proprietary function for the
state or a social services district. We will refund any amount
over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due
legally enforceable debt to the IRS or to a state agency, contact
the IRS or that particular state agency.
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For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554.
From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call
(518) 485-6800. You can write to NYS Tax Department, Tax
Compliance Division, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY
12227.

Claim for refund of MTA surcharge retaliatory tax credit

Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New York
State must use lines 29 through 38 to claim a refund for
retaliatory taxes paid to other states as a result of the imposition
of the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge).
The surcharge credit available for a given year may not exceed
the MTA surcharge payable for that year as computed under
section 1505-a of the Tax Law. The credit is claimed in the year
paid, but is attributed to the year in which the retaliatory taxes
were imposed or assessed.

Attach a separate sheet to the refund claim, identifying the
recipients of the tax and the amount paid to each recipient,
broken down to reflect the year to which the taxes are
attributable.

A credit cannot be claimed for taxes paid to other states on or
after the limitation date for each MTA surcharge tax year. The
limitation date is the first day of the sixth calendar year following
the calendar year in which an insurer's MTA surcharge tax year
begins. For example, for an MTA surcharge tax year ending
December 31, 1995, the limitation date for filing a claim for
refund would be January 1, 2001. For a 12-month fiscal MTA
surcharge tax year ending November 30, 1996, the limitation
date for filing a claim for refund would still be January 1, 2001.
For additional information, see TSB-M-85(4)C.

Line 29 — Enter MTA surcharge payable for each year for which
you are claiming a credit.

Line 30 — Enter retaliatory tax credits allowed in prior years
that are attributable to the MTA surcharge. Include all credits
claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Lines 32 through 36 — Do not include on these lines any
amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that were previously
claimed on Form CT-33-M for any year.

Line 37 — Enter in the appropriate column, for the correct year,
the total MTA surcharge retaliatory tax credits allowed to date.
Include any credits previously allowed on Form CT-33-M as well
as amounts claimed in Columns A through E on lines 32
through 36.

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York
State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 171,
171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415
of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security
numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer
tax liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax
offset and exchange of tax information programs as well as
for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud
prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the
effectiveness of certain employment and training programs
and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you
to civil or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records
Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department,

W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone

1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the United States and
outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Need help?

Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to
5:55 p.m. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.
For business tax information, call the

New York State Business Tax
Information Center:

For general information:

1800 972-1233
1 800 225-5829

1800 462-8100

To order forms and publications:

From areas outside the U.S. and

outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
3, available 24 hours a day,

=) 7 days a week. 1800 748-3676

1444444 | Internet access: www.tax.state.ny.us
—

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
1 800 634-2110 from 8 a.m. to 5:55 p.m. (eastern
time), Monday through Friday. If you do not own a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), check with
independent living centers or community action programs
to find out where machines are available for public use.

0D

@ Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the

questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 225-5829.

:R Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
If you need to write, address your letter to:

lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT

TAXPAYER CONTACT CENTER

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS

ALBANY NY 12227




