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Law changes
On October 1, 2001, as these instructions were being prepared
for printing, the New York State Legislature and
Governor Pataki were considering tax law changes that could
affect your 2001 tax return and 2002 estimated taxes. For
up-to-date information, visit our Web site at
www.tax.state.ny.us.

Some of the tax rates for Article 33 taxpayers will decrease in
the year 2001. For calendar-year 2001 taxpayers, and
fiscal-year taxpayers filing for a period beginning before July 1,
2001, the tax rate on entire net income will decrease to 8.5%.
For fiscal-year taxpayers filing for a period beginning on or after
July 1, 2001, the tax rate on entire net income will decrease
to 8.0%.

The tax rate under section 1505 for nonlife insurance
companies will also decrease during the year 2001. For nonlife
insurance companies filing a calendar-year report, or a
fiscal-year report for periods beginning before July 1, 2001, the
tax rate representing the limitation will decrease to 2.4%. For
nonlife insurance companies filing a fiscal-year report for
periods beginning on or after July 1, 2001, the limitation rate will
decrease to 2.2%.

Section 11 of the Tax Law was amended to provide for a
certified capital company (CAPCO) program 3. This program
provides $150 million dollars of certified capital that may be
allocated and allowed as tax credits under sections 11 and
1511(k) of the Tax Law. Although investments in this program
may begin immediately, the credits may not be claimed until
2002. There are restrictions on where the certified capital may
be used. For additional information on this credit, see
TSB-M-98(7)C and TSB-M-00(2)C.

General information
Filing requirements
A group of insurance corporations, meeting the requirements
outlined below, may use Form CT-33-A, Insurance Corporation
Combined Franchise Tax Return, to file on a combined basis.

Each corporation included in a combined return must file a
separate return on Form CT-33 and compute the premiums
under section 1510. Each corporation included in a combined
return (other than a foreign corporation not doing business in
New York State and the corporation paying the combined tax)
must pay a minimum tax of $250.

Corporations may be permitted or required to file on a combined
basis at the discretion of the Tax Department. When you file
Form CT-33-A, you must also provide a Combined Filer
Statement (Form CT-50 or CT-51) setting forth the names and
other identifying information requested for each member of the
group. These corporations may file on a combined basis if they
meet the following requirements:

— The taxpayer owns or controls, either directly or indirectly,
80% or more of the voting capital stock of all the other
corporations that are to be included in the combined return;

— 80% or more of the voting capital stock of the taxpayer is
owned or controlled, either directly or indirectly, by other
corporations that are to be included in the combined return;
or

— 80% or more of the voting capital stock of the taxpayer and
80% or more of the voting capital stock of the other
corporations that are to be included in the combined return
are owned or controlled, either directly or indirectly, by the
same interests.

To file a combined return, taxpayers must also meet a distortion
requirement. The activities, business, income, or capital of a
taxpayer is presumed to be distorted when filing a return on a
separate basis if 50% or more of the transactions are
intercorporate transactions among the corporations.

A combined return will not be required or permitted:
— to include corporations not subject to tax under Article 33 of

the Tax Law, or

— to include any nontaxpayer, unless the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance deems inclusion necessary to properly
reflect the tax liability under this Article (see section 1515(g)
of the Tax Law).

Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA
surcharge) — Any corporation taxable under Article 33 that
does business, employs capital, owns or leases property, or
maintains an office in the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District (MCTD) must file Form CT-33-M and pay
a metropolitan transportation business tax surcharge on
business done in the Metropolitan Transportation Authority
region (MTA surcharge). The MCTD includes the counties of
New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess,
Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

When and where to file
File your return within 2½ months after the end of your reporting
period. If you are reporting for the calendar year, file your return
on or before March 15. If your filing date falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, then you must file your return on or
before the next business day.

Mail your return to: NYS Corporation Tax, Processing Unit,
PO Box 22038, Albany NY 12201-2038.

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead
of the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return. However, if, at a
later date, you need to establish the date you filed your return,
you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service
unless you used a delivery service that has been designated
by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services
are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery
Services. See Need help? on page 4 for information on ordering
forms and publications.) If you use any private delivery service,
whether it is a designated service or not, address your return to:
State Processing Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY
12204-4836.
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Change of address — If your address has changed, please
enter your new address in the appropriate area and check the
box to the right of and above the address so that we can update
your address for this tax type. Do not check this box for any
change of business information other than for your address.

Changes in business information — You must report any
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address,
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer
information on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If
only your address has changed, you may use Form DTF-96,
Report of Address Change for Business Tax Accounts, to
correct your address for this and all other tax types. You can get
these forms by fax, phone, or from our Web site. See
Need help? on page 4 for the phone number and Web address.

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please
write Amended return across the top of the front page.

Reporting period — If you are a calendar-year filer, check the
box in the upper right corner on the front of the form.

If you are a fiscal-year filer, complete the beginning and ending
tax period boxes in the upper right corner on the front of the
form.

Employer identification number, file number, and other
identifying information — For us to process your corporation
tax forms, it is important that we have the necessary identifying
information. You will find your employer identification number
and file number just above your printed corporation name and
address. Keep a record of that information and include it on
each corporation tax form mailed.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they
use your complete and accurate identifying information when
completing all forms.

Specific instructions
Line A — Make your payment in United States funds. We will
accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S.
funds.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in
whole dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round an
amount from 50 cents to 99 cents to the next higher dollar, and
round any amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages,
convert decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point
two spaces to the right. Carry percentages out to four decimal
places. For example:

5,000/7,500 × .6666666 = 66.6667%.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts in
parentheses.

Schedule M — Computation of tax and installment
payments of estimated tax
Line 1 — If the report is for calendar year 2001 or a fiscal year
beginning before July 1, 2001, multiply the entire net income
from line 47, column C,  by 8.5% (.085). If the report is for a
fiscal year beginning on or after July 1, 2001, multiply the entire
net income by 8% (.08).

Line 3 — Compute the combined alternative tax by adding
together the combined entire net income, before allocation,
from line 46, column C, and the sum of the officers’ and
stockholders’ compensation (Form CT-33, line 61) of all the
corporations included in the combined report. A $15,000
deduction is allowed against the combined total of entire net
income plus officers’ salaries and stockholders’ compensation.
Multiply this remainder by 30% (.3), then multiply the result by
the combined allocation percentage from line 42. Multiply this
result by 9% (.09) to determine the tax on this line.

Lines 7, 8, and 9 — Enter the total combined premiums and
compute the tax on lines 7, 8, and 9. Determine this amount by
taking the premiums computed separately on Schedule H of
each participant’s individual Form CT-33 and transferring them
to Form CT-33-A,  lines 52, 53, and 54, and then computing the
combined total of premiums. List the total combined premiums
on lines 7, 8, and 9, and compute the additional tax on
premiums on these lines and on line 10.

Line 12a — Add lines 6, 10, and 11, and enter the result on this
line.

Line 12b — Enter the amount of Empire Zone (EZ) and Zone
Equivalent Area (ZEA) tax credits being claimed on line 68. A
special rule applies to taxpayers claiming EZ and ZEA tax
credits. EZ and ZEA tax credits must be subtracted from the tax
reported on line 12a and may not be deducted from the tax
reported on line 16.

Line 12c — Subtract line 12b from line 12a and enter the result.
The amount after EZ and ZEA tax credits claimed may not
reduce the tax due on line 12c below the combined minimum
tax. If you have a net recapture of the EZ capital tax credit, add
this amount to the total tax on line 12c.

Line 13 — Multiply the amount from line 55, column C, by 2%.

Line 14 — Multiply the amount from line 56, column C by either
2.4% (.024) or 2.2% (.022) depending upon the beginning date
of the tax return being filed. For calendar-year returns, and
fiscal-year returns with a beginning date before July 1, 2001,
the rate shall be 2.4%. For fiscal-year returns with a beginning
date on or after July 1, 2001, the tax rate will decrease to 2.2%.

Line 16 — Enter the lower of the tax determined under
section 1505 (line 15), or the taxes determined under sections
1501 and 1510 (line 12c).

Line 17 — Enter the total amount of tax credits claimed on the
recap of tax credits summary schedule, line 69. A special rule
applies to taxpayers claiming Empire Zone (EZ) and Zone
Equivalent Area (ZEA) credits. These credits may not be
subtracted from the tax calculated under section 1505.

The aggregate amount of tax credits allowed in any tax year to
corporations included in a combined return for their investments
in certified capital companies may not exceed $10 million. Such
corporations may claim 10% of their investments, up to $10
million, in the year the investments are made. They may claim
the remainder over the next nine years.

Line 18 — Subtract line 17 from line 16. Add to this line any net
recaptured CAPCO credits computed on line 140 of
Form CT-33.



CT-33-A-I (2001) Page 3 of 4

Note: If you wish, we will compute the interest (line 24) and
penalty (line 25) for you. Call the Business Tax Information
Center at 1 800 972-1233.

Line 19b — Life insurance companies must pay a first
installment equal to 40% of their preceding year’s tax, while
nonlife insurance companies must pay a first installment equal
to 25% of their preceding year’s tax. If a combined report
includes both life and nonlife companies, determine the
first installment on a mixed-percentage basis based upon the
amount of life and nonlife premiums. Compute the
first installment on the worksheet below:

Line 23 — If you underpaid your estimated tax, use
Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a
Corporation, to compute the penalty. Enter “0” if no penalty is
due.

Line 24 — If you do not pay the tax on or before the original
due date (without regard to any extension of time), you must
pay interest on the amount of underpayment from the original
due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest
computation any amount shown on line 19a or 19b,
first installment of estimated tax for next period.

Line 25 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late
payment on the amount of tax required to be shown on the
return after deduction of any payment made on or before the
due date (with regard to any extension of time for filing).
Exclude from the penalty computation any amount shown on
line 19a or 19b, first installment of estimated tax for next period.

A. If you do not file a return when due or if the application for
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25%
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to tax for item A above cannot be less than the
smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown
as taxes (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax
�% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D. The total of the additional charges in items A and C above
may not exceed 5% for any one month except as provided
for in item B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining reasonable cause
for the delay in filing or payment (section 1085).

Line 31 — Collection of debts from your refund — We will
keep all or part of your refund if you owe a past-due legally
enforceable debt to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or to a
New York State agency. This includes any state department,
board, bureau, division, commission, committee, public
authority, public benefit corporation, council, office, or other
entity performing a governmental or proprietary function for the
state or a social services district. We will refund any amount
over your debt.

If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due
legally enforceable debt to the IRS or to a state agency, contact
the IRS or that particular state agency.

For New York State tax liabilities only, call 1 800 835-3554.
From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call
(518) 485-6800. You can also write to NYS Tax Department, Tax
Compliance Division, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

Line 32 — Enter the total amount of retaliatory tax credits
claimed and any amount of QEZE credit for real property taxes
from Form CT-604, line 31 that are being requested as a refund.
Enter the total on this combined Form CT-33-A.

Intercompany elimination of income and capital
— Eliminate intercompany dividends included in the combined

return on Schedule P, line 46, to the extent not deducted on
Form CT-33.

— Eliminate all investments and intercompany advances of
corporations in the combined group in other corporations in
the combined group on Schedule R, line 50, and on
Schedule O, lines 43 and 44.

— Eliminate intercompany stock holdings, intercompany bills,
intercompany notes receivable and payable, and other
intercompany indebtedness on Schedule Q, line 48.

Intercompany elimination for allocation — Premiums ceded
to other companies generally are not allocated in Schedule B of
Form CT-33. However, if a company cedes insurance to another
company in the combined group, the premiums must be
included by the company writing the insurance. If the reinsurer
allocates the same premium in Schedule B of Form CT-33, an
intercompany elimination is required to exclude the duplicate
allocation by the reinsurer.

Eliminate any amount allocated as wages by a corporation in
the combined group that is a duplication of an item allocated as
wages by another corporation in the combined group.

Schedule T — Limitation of tax (section 1505)
Lines 55 and 56 — The limitation tax rate is determined by a
corporation’s status as a life insurance company or a nonlife
insurance company. Enter on line 55 the premiums from
Form CT-33, line 99, for each of the life insurance companies
included in the combined group. Enter on line 56 the premiums
from Form CT-33, line 99, for each of the nonlife insurance
companies included in the combined group.

A. Enter the life insurance company premium
included on line 7 of Form CT-33-A ............. A

B. Enter the total premiums included on
lines 7, 8, and 9 of Form CT-33-A ................ B

C. Divide line A by line B to arrive at the life
insurance percentage .................................. C %

D. Enter the combined tax due from line 18 of
Form CT-33-A .............................................. D

E. Multiply line D by the life insurance
percentage on line C .................................... E

F. Subtract the amount on line E from the
amount on line D .......................................... F

G. Multiply line E by 40% (.4) ............................... G

H. Multiply line F by 25% (.25) ............................. H
I. First installment due (add lines G and H;

enter on line 19b) .................................................. I

Worksheet
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Need help?
Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to

4:25 p.m. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

For business tax information, call the
New York State Business Tax
Information Center: 1 800 972-1233

For general information: 1 800 225-5829

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week. 1 800 748-3676

Internet access: www.tax.state.ny.us

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
1 800 634-2110 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern time),
Monday through Friday. If you do not own a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), check with
independent living centers or community action programs
to find out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 225-5829.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Schedule U — Computation of combined issuer’s
allocation percentage
Complete this schedule by entering for the parent and each
subsidiary, the individual New York premiums on line 57 and the
total premiums on line 58, as reported in the annual statement
filed with the Superintendent of Insurance. Your failure to supply
the information required may result in a $500 penalty under
section 1085(o).

Composition of prepayments
Line 65 — Enter on this line any prepayments from subsidiaries
listed on Form CT-33, line 130a.

Line 67 — Include the amount of retaliatory tax credits and the
amount of QEZE credit for real property taxes (Form CT-604,
line 32) to be credited as an overpayment to next year’s return.

Recap of tax credits claimed against current year’s
combined franchise tax return — see the instructions for
line 12b and line 17.

Line 68 — Enter the total EZ and ZEA tax credits, from the
appropriate line on the credit forms, that were claimed and used
to reduce the tax due on line 12c. The amount of the EZ and
ZEA tax credits may not reduce the tax due on line 12c below
the combined minimum tax. The combined minimum tax is the
sum of the $250 minimum tax multiplied by the number of
members, including the parent, in the combined return. Enter in
the appropriate boxes the total amount of the EZ and ZEA tax
credits claimed.

Line 69 — Enter the total tax credits from the appropriate line
on the credit forms, excluding the EZ and ZEA tax credits, that
were claimed and used to reduce the tax due on line 18. The
retaliatory tax credits and CAPCO credit should come from the
appropriate line on Schedule I, Part III or Schedule L of the
attached Forms CT-33. There is no specific credit form for the
fire insurance premiums tax credit. Attach the Report of
Premiums, including Supplementary Schedules I and II, when
claiming this credit.

Generally, these credits may not reduce the tax due below the
combined fixed dollar minimum tax. The combined minimum tax
is the sum of the $250 minimum tax multiplied by the number of
members, including the parent, in the combined group.
However, the retaliatory tax credits and the fire insurance
premiums tax credit may further reduce the tax due to zero.
Enter in the appropriate boxes the total amount of each tax
credit claimed.

Line 70 — Enter the total amount of tax credits claimed on
line 69 that are refund eligible. The retaliatory tax credits and
the QEZE credit for real property taxes are the only credits that
are refund eligible under Article 33 of the Tax Law. Do not
include on this line any amount actually claimed as a refund on
line 32.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax
Law, including but not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308,
429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may
require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention,
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of the Registration
and Data Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8,
Room 338, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone
1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the United States and
Canada, call (518) 485-6800.


