ST-101
Annual
Instructions

ST-101-1 (2/00)

Instructions for Form ST-101

New York State and Local Annual
Sales and Use Tax Return

The New York State Tax Department is dedicated
to answering any questions you have about sales
and use taxes. Please call our Business Tax
Information Center at 1 800 972-1233 for

assistance.
or

Visit our Web site at: http./www.tax.state.ny.us
for updated tax news, downloadable tax forms,
links to related sites, and other information.
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Strictone,

Please read this
section before
completing your return.

Change Affecting All Filers

Annual Filing Period: As of March 1, 1999, the annual filing
period runs from March through February (instead of June through
May). Therefore, the return covered by this filing period is
March 1, 1999, through February 29, 2000.

O Quarterly Filers Who Converted to Annual Filing

Even if you filed one or more quarterly returns for this annual
period and then changed to annual filing status, you must enter your
sales and tax information on Form ST-101 and all required schedules
for the entire annual period. You will be able to claim a credit in
Step 5 for taxes you paid with your quarterly returns. See Bullet 16.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100

For assistance, call 1 800 972-1233
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O Filing Requirements

Annual Filing Threshold: Filers who expect to owe more
than $3000 in tax for the annual filing period must file quarterly (or
possibly monthly) returns. In determining what you expect to owe,
you should consider recent tax law and rate changes. Call
1 800 972-1233 to change to quarterly filing status and to obtain
the necessary forms.

Quarterly Filing Threshold: If your combined total of taxable
receipts, purchases subject to tax, hotel rents, and amusement
charges is $300,000 or more in a quarter, or if you are a distributor
as defined under Article 12-A and you have sold a total of 100,000
gallons or more of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel (taxable or
nontaxable), you must file monthly returns beginning with the first
month of the next sales tax quarter. Call 1 800 972-1233
immediately to change to monthly filing status and to obtain the

necessary forms.

Show and Entertainment Vendors: These vendors, previously
restricted from filing annually, may now do so if they meet the

conditions for annual filing.

Web site address: http://www.tax.state.ny.us
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INSTRUCTIONS

Entries in these examples are fictional.

Do not use these figures when completing your return.

File this form if your total tax due is $3000 or less for the period ending February 29, 2000

NO TAX DUE? Check the box and complete Step 1; in Step 3 on Page 3, enter none in Boxes 13, 14, and 15; and complete Step 9. O
" You must file by the due date even if no tax is due. See Bullet 1 in instructions.
FINAL RETURN? Check if you are discontinuing your business and this is your final return; see Bullet 2 in instructions. e e [l
HAS YOUR ADDRESS OR BUSINESS INFORMATION CHANGED? |If so, enter new mailing address on preprinted label above. See Bullet 3 in instructions.
No Tax Due? instructions. Keep the confirmation number given at the end of the

You must file a return even if you had no taxable sales and transaction as your proof of filing. Do not file a paper return for this
made no purchases subject to tax. Check the box, enter your gross period.
sales and services in Box 1 and write none in Boxes 13, 14, and 15 Final Return

on Page 3, Step 3. Then go to Step 9. i h v di tinued busi heck
Note: You may be subject to penalty and interest if you do not file a you have permanently discontinued your business, chec
return by the due date or do not pay in full the box tﬁat follows Fma] Return, complete the back of your sales
tax Certificate of Authority, and attach it to your Form ST-101. (If
Telefilers: If you are enrolled in the Telefile program and you have you are unable to return your certificate, attach an explanation.)

no tax due this period, call 1 888 829-3769 and follow the verbal

0 Change of Address or Business
Information
If you need to update your sales tax mailing
address, enter your correct address on the label
we provided. If you need to change your
address for other New York taxes, or change
other business information such as the name,
identification number, physical address, or
owner/officer information, complete and send in
Form DTF-95, Change of Business Information.
Obtain forms through Fax-on-Demand, Internet
Access, or call one of the Telephone Assistance
numbers listed in the NEED HELP? section on
Page 4.

. 1
) Enter total gross sales and services
Step 1 of 9 Calculate Gross Sales and Services (to nearest dollar) in Box 1 } 3 938 00
L o 0 d
Sales tax should not be included in the gross sales and services amount. See Bullet 4 in instructions.

Complete any necessary schedule(s) and proceed to Step 3.
Need to obtain schedules? See For Assistance on Page 4 of this form.

Step 2 of 9 Identify Required Schedules

Description a

SCHEDULE ‘ Use Schedule A to report tax and taxable receipts from sales of food or drink (restaurant | __ . e el e |
—_ | meals takanut ota) smelf e el . — == 1

Annual
Schedule

Check the box for each
schedule you are attaching

Diesel Motor Fuel. Sales tax should also be excluded from this
amount.

Identify Required Schedules
Determine which schedules, if any, you are required to
complete and file with Form ST-101. Brief descriptions of Schedules

Calculate Gross Sales and Services

Enter the total taxable, nontaxable, and exempt sales from
your New York State business locations and from locations outside
New York State delivered into the state in Box 1. Do not include
sales from Schedule FR, Sales and Use Tax on Motor Fuel and

A, B, FR, H, N, and U are included on the front of
Form ST-101. For more detailed information, see
the specific schedule. Complete the required
schedules, if any, check the appropriate boxes;
and proceed to Step 3.

If you are filing Annual Schedule CT or Annual
Schedule NJ, or both, do not enter the sales
information from the schedules onto Form ST-101,
but do include the amount of tax due to New
Jersey and Connecticut, along with the amount
due from Form ST-101, in your check or money
order.

Schedule CT is used by those taxpayers registered
in the Connecticut/New York reciprocal tax agreement
to report sales subject to Connecticut tax.

Schedule NJ is used by those taxpayers registered in
the New Jersey/New York reciprocal tax agreement to
report sales subject to New Jersey tax.

Column C | Column D | Column E | Column F
Taxable Sales Purchases Subject X Tax Rate = Sales and
Step 3 of 9 Calculate Sales and Use Taxes and Services to Tax Use Taxes
to nearest dollar to nearest dollar decimal (percent) (C+D)xE
Enter total of Schedule (if any) in Box 2
~ y ) 3 4 5
2 Enter total of all Schedules (if any) m + + B + m + m Iooo 00 0 00 \\\\\\\ 182 50
< Column A Column B
Taxing Code m
New York State only o NE 0002 e .00 .00 | .04 (4%) @
Albany County AL 0179 1549 00 9 0.00[.08 (8%) 123 |92
> Allegany County AL 0215 .00 .00 | 08 (8%,
|" New York State/MCTD (fuel, utilities & theatrical supplies) NE 8040 300 .00 65 .00 |.0425 (4%4%) 15 | 51
‘: New York City - local tax only (Enter Box 9 amount into Step 7B) NE 8010 |9 .00 .00 | .04 (4%)
S
g Qcmumn subtotals from Page 2, Boxes 6, 7and 8: [10 2549 o (11 0.00 [\\\\\\W\\\{2 306 |42
L Column Totals: |3 2849 00 g 65 .00 \\\\\\\\{" 321 (93

Calculate Sales and Use Taxes
If you are filing Schedule FR, enter the amount from Box 16 of
Schedule FR in Box 2 on Page 2 of Form ST-101.

If you are filing Schedule A, B, H, N, or U (or any combination of
these), enter the combined totals from the completed schedules in
Boxes 3, 4, and 5 on Page 2 of Form ST-101. (Do not include
amounts from Schedules CT and NJ.)

Columns A & B - Taxing Jurisdiction and Code

Each sale of property and services, and each purchase subject
to tax should be reported for the jurisdiction in which the sale was
made and delivered, and where the purchase was used. Do not
report any sale or purchase already reported on a schedule on
these jurisdiction lines.

Reporting New York City Taxes

Use the New York City - local tax only 4% tax rate line to report
sales in the city of New York for:

1) fuel and utility services used in the production of property for
sale, and 2) installation, repair, and maintenance services to property
used in farming. Do not report these transactions on the New York
City/State combined tax 8%% tax rate line.

Use the New York State/MCTD 4'4% tax rate line to report purchases
of fuel and utility services subject to sales tax at 8'4%, for which you
paid 4% NYC tax, and for sales or purchases of theatrical supplies
which are exempt from New York City tax. Note: Report fuel or
utilities used for residential purposes on Schedule B.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100

Column C - Taxable Sales and Services

Report taxable sales for each jurisdiction in New York State
where delivery of sales and services occurred. Do not include sales tax
in this amount.

Credits against sales and services
Reduce the amount of taxable sales and services to be entered on a
jurisdiction line by the amount of any credits related to that
jurisdiction. If the result is a negative number, enter it in parentheses.
Examples of credits to be claimed in this manner follow:
- Tax paid on property purchased in bulk or on property fabricated,
assembled, processed, printed, or imprinted in one jurisdiction, that
was shipped for use in another jurisdiction.
- Tax paid on cancelled sales, returned merchandise, and bad debts.
- Tax paid by a veterinarian on certain drugs and medicines used in
veterinary services.
- Tax paid on construction materials resold or incorporated into realty
in another jurisdiction. (Unless the materials were used out of state or
otherwise exempt, tax should be reported on the materials.)
Note: Other credits against sales tax should be claimed in Step 5.
Column D - Purchases Subject to Tax
- Purchases outside New York: Report the full amount of
purchases made outside New York of tangible personal property and
services used in your business in New York.
- Purchases in New York in one jurisdiction/use in another jurisdiction: If

For assistance, call 1 800 972-1233

the tax rate is higher in the jurisdiction where you
purchased tangible personal property or services
used in your business than the tax rate in the
jurisdiction where your business is located, report
the fullamount of such purchases.

In either of the cases above, you may be able to
claim a credit for tax paid on such purchases in
Step 5. See Bullet 16.

Do not include in Column D purchases of property
or services purchased for resale or which are
exempt.

Contractors: Also report materials purchased in
one jurisdiction that are incorporated into realty in
another.

Column E - Tax Rate

Tax rates for the applicable periods are
printed in Column E in both decimal and
percentage formats.

Column F - Sales and Use Taxes

For each jurisdiction for which you
reported sales, purchases and/or credits, add the
amounts in Columns C and D, then multiply the
total by the tax rate in Column E, one line at a
time. Enter the result in ColumnF.  (C+D)xE=F

This result may be a net credit, which you should
identify by enclosing it in parentheses. Note: Any
net credits should be subtracted when totaling
the column.

Column Totals

On Page 2, separately subtotal Columns C
(Box 6), Column D (Box 7), and Column F (Box
8). Include the amounts from Schedules, listed
in Boxes 2, 3, 4, and 5, when subtotaling each
column. Transfer the Box 6, 7, and 8 amounts to
Page 3, Boxes 10, 11, and 12, respectively.

On Page 3, separately total Column C (Box 13),
Column D (Box 14), and Column F (Box 15).
Include the column subtotals from Page 2, in
Boxes 10, 11, and 12, when totaling each
column. Enter Box 15 amount in Step 6.

Web site address: http://www.tax.state.ny.us
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Calculate Special Taxes

Column G | Golumn H | Column J Enter taxable receipts from sales or uses of
Step 4 of 9 Calculate Special Taxes Internal Code | Taxable Receipts X Tax Rate = Special Taxes Due passenger car rentals and of information and
(to nearest dollar) decimal (percent (G xH) X . . .
oo u " L | entertainment services furnished via telephony and
Passenger Car Rentals (&) 00 055 telegraphy on the appropriate lines in Column G.
Information & Entertainment Services Furnished via Telephony & Telegraphy IN 7009 310 .00 .05 (5%) / 15| 50 MuItipIy the taxable receipts (Column G) by 5% (_05)_
Total Special Taxes: (16 15 | 50 Enter the resulting tax in Column J.
Add the two lines in Column J and enter the
total in Box 16. Also enter the Box 16
amount in Step 6.
Step 5 0f9 Calculate Tax Credits and ggl"’g”“;wm - Credit for additional tax paid on property
Advance Payments Internal Code incorporated into realty according to a preexisting
Credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes 15 @ CR C8388 Ium-p-shum or IUHI: price gontract, VK‘hel'E.! che adglthﬂal
Credits against sales or use tax (see Bullet 16 in instructions) 63| 50 tax IS't e resultof a rgte increase. Note: Form U_ !
Advance Payments (as reported on Form ST330) 25100 Application for Credit or Refund, shpuld also be filed
- - 17 for any of these contractor transactions.
Total Tax Credits and Pay 88 | 50

Calculate Tax Credits and Advance Payments

Credit for Prepaid Sales Tax on Cigarettes
Enter your credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes, if
any, in Column K.

Credits Against Sales or Use Tax

(attachments required)
Enter the total amount of other credits or refunds of sales tax
you are claiming (excluding the vendor collection credit).
You must keep records to validate all credits and refunds
claimed, and attach to your return the forms or explanations
that verity them. Do not enter any credits that were claimed
on jurisdiction lines in Step 3.

Credits that may be claimed in Step 5 include:
- Credits where the tax rate for the jurisdiction in which tax
was paid is different from the tax rate in the period in which

the credit is claimed.

Example: You paid 8% tax, filed your return, then the payment was
cancelled. The tax rate changed to 7%. You are still entitled to claim the
8% credit.

- Credit for an overpayment made in a prior period not previously
claimed.

- Credit for an payment made for a quarterly period included in this
annual period.

- Credit for sales tax paid against additional tax on purchases reported in
Column D. (Included are credits for taxes paid in another jurisdiction in
New York or to another state.)

Note: Any credit against tax taken in Step 5 should be based on the
amount of tax paid or paid over at the time of the original transaction.

Contractors can take:
- Credit for state tax and some local taxes paid on certain construction
materials in economic development zones (EDZ).

Advance Payments

Enter the total amount of any advance
payments that were reported on and paid with Form
ST-330, Sales Tax Record of Advance Payment.

Total Tax Credits and Advance Payments
Add Column K and enter the total in Box 17.
Also enter Box 17 amount in Step 6.

Step 6 of 9 Calculate Taxes Due

Add Sales and Use Taxes (Box 15) to Total Special Taxes (Box 16) and
subtract Total Tax Credits and Advance Payments (Box 17).

@ Taxes Due

Box 15

Box 16
Amount  $ +

Amount $

321.93

15.50 -

18

ot S 88.50 = 248 |93

Calculate Taxes Due

Enter the amounts from Box 15, Sales and Use
Taxes; Box 16, Total Special Taxes; and Box 17,
Total Tax Credits and Advance Payments in the
appropriate spaces. Add Boxes 15 and 16, and
subtract Box 17. Enter the result in Box 18.

Step 7ofo (o [V EV R 0l [ g oo) | (Yo il s M@ g=Te 1] You are eligible for Vendor Collection Credit only if you file by
March 20, 2000 and you are paying in full.
or Pay Pena"y and Interest If you are not eligible, enter “0”in Box 19 and go to 7D.
If you are not filing any Schedules,
start at the asterisk (*) in 7B.
Schedule B Schedule FR, Part 3, Box 7 [ —
Schedule H + *Form ST-101, Step 3, Box 13 +_2849.00
Schedule N +_300.00 Total Adjustment from 7A - __300.00
Schedule U + NYC local tax, Step 3, Box 9 —————
Total Adj -_300.00 Move Eligible Sales Amountto 7C = — 2549.00
- Vendor Collection Credit
7C Eligible Sales Amount from 7B above State Tax Rate Credit Rate Int / Code VE 7702
7c] x 04(4%)=$_101.96 x 035(35%) =g 3.57  ** e
OR **In Box 19, enter the amount calculated, not to exceed $150 } 3157
PAY PENALTY AND INTEREST IF YOU ARE FILING LATE Penalty & Interest
Call 1 800 972-1233 or access our web site at http://www.tax.state.ny.us for calculated total of penalty and interest on Box 18 Taxes Due. 20
Enter penalty and interest amount in Box 20. .

CGalculate Vendor Collection Credit
or Pay Penalty and Interest

Vendor Collection Credit

The Tax Law provides you with a credit for your
collection of state sales tax from your customers. You may
not include in the credit computation any use tax paid or any
local tax collected. The maximum vendor collection credit
you can claim on your return is $150.

You can receive this credit only if you file your return on time
and pay the full amount due. If you file on time but do not
pay the full amount due, or if you file late, you cannot claim
this credit. Enter “0” in Box 19 and go to Step 7D.

If you qualify, calculate your vendor collection credit in
Step 7. If the result is less than $150, enter the resultin

Box 19. If the result is equal to or more than $150, enter only
$150 in Box 19.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100

7A - If you completed Schedules B, H, N, and/or U, enter the appropriate
amount (see each schedule for the amount to enter). Schedule A is not
included as no adjustment is needed. Add the amounts in 7A and enter
the total on the Total Adjustment line. Note: if you did not complete any
schedules, skip Step 7A and start at the asterisk in 7B.

7B - If you completed Schedule FR, enter the amount from Box 7 of that
form. Fill in the lines as applicable, and add or subtract them according
to the math symbols provided. Enter and add the amount from Form
ST-101, Page 3, Box 13. Enter and subtract the Total Adjustment from
7A, if any. Enter and subtract the amount from Form ST-101, Page 3,
Box 9*. Enter the result of the addition and subtractions on the Eligible
Sales Amount line. Transfer this amount to 7C.

*New York City only: If you reported sales on the New York City
4% tax rate line (Page 3, in Box 9), enter this amount in Step 7B.
As local sales, they do not qualify for the vendor collection credit.

For assistance, call 1 800 972-1233

7C - Calculate your Vendor Collection Credit by
multiplying the Eligible Sales Amount from 7B by the
state tax rate, then multiplying the result by the credit
rate. If the credit amount is $150 or less, enter the credit
in Box 19. If it is more than $150, enter $150 in Box 19.

Determine Penalty and Interest

If you are filing your return late or not paying
the full amount due, or both, you owe penalty and
interest, and cannot claim a vendor collection credit.
Penalty and interest are calculated on the amount of
tax due, from Box 18. The minimum penalty for late
filing is $50. Late payment and underpayment also
result in interest charges; interest rates are adjusted
quarterly and compounded daily.

To determine your penalty and interest amount, call
1800 972-1233. A Tax Department representative will
calculate the correct amount for you. Or you can use
our web site at http://www.tax.state.ny.us to determine
your penalty and interest. Enter the total penalty and
interest in Box 20.

Web site address: http://www.tax.state.ny.us
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Make check or money order payable to New York State Sales Tax.
Include on your check the /D# Form ST-101 and the tax period.

Step 8 of 9 Calculate Total Amount Due

Taking Vendor Collection Credit? Subtract Box 19 from Box 18.

Final Calculation: N
Paying Penalty and Interest? Add Box 20 to Box 18.

Total Amount Due lTax. If you are filing Schedule CT or NJ, or both,
£ include in your payment amount any tax due with
A si 247 |40 those schedules and with Form ST-101.

Calculate Total Amount Due

If you were eligible for and claimed the vendor collection credit
in Step 7, subtract the Box 19 credit amount from Box 18 (taxes due)
and enter the result.

If you are filing late and you entered penalty and interest in Box 20,
add Box 20 to Box 18 (taxes due) and enter the result.

If you are not claiming the vendor collection credit and not
entering penalty and interest, enter the Box 18 amount as your
Total Amount Due.

Payment Information

If you do not file Schedule CT or NJ, make your check or money
order for the Total Amount Due payable to New York State Sales

Onyour check or money order, write your sales tax ID#,
Form ST-101, and the tax period (3/1/99 - 2/29/00)
you are reporting. Enclose your payment with Form
ST-101 to ensure that your payment is properly
credited to your account.

Step 9 of 9 Sign and Mail this Return

Must be postmarked by Monday, March 20, 2000, to be considered timely filed.
See diagram below for complete mailing information.

Printed Name of

—®

Title,

Taxpayer
Signature of Taxpayer

Sign and Mail this Return

Signatures Required

If you are a sole proprietor, you must sign the return and print your
name, title and telephone number.

If you are filing this return for a corporation, partnership or other
type of entity, an officer, employee or partner must sign the return on
behalf of the business, and print his or her name, title and telephone
number.

If you do not prepare the return yourself, sign and provide the
requested taxpayer information. The preparer must also sign the
return and print his or her name, address and telephone number.

Where To Mail Your Return

and Attachments
Use the enclosed preprinted return envelope to mail your
return and attachments. If you are using your own envelope,
use the flowchart on page 4 of Form ST-101 to determine where
to send your completed return, attachments, and payment. If
you are not using the U.S. Postal Service, see Private Delivery
Service Address below.

Private Delivery Service Address

If you are using a private delivery service rather than the U.S.
Postal Service, you must send your return to a different address
than those shown in the flowchart on Page 4 of Form ST-101.

Private Delivery Service Address (continued)
Address your return envelope to:
THE CHASE MANHATTAN BANK
NYS GOVERNMENT TAX PROCESSING
12 CORPORATE WOODS BLVD. 4TH FLOOR
ALBANY NY 12211

Make sure you keep a copy of your completed return for your
records.

Need help?

E

Telephone Assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25
p.m. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

For business tax information, call the
NYS Business Tax Information

Center at: 1 800 972-1233

oD

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired -

1 800 634-2110 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern time),
Monday through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, check
with independent living centers or community action programs
to find out where machines are available for public use.

1 800 225-5829
1 800 462-8100

For general information, call:

To order forms and publications, call:

From areas outside the U.S. and

outside Canada, call: (518) 485-6800

Fax-on-Demand Forms - Forms are
1 800 748-3676

C

® Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions
about special accommodations for persons with disabilities,
please call 1 800 225-5829.

available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week.

Internet Access - http://www.tax.state.ny.us

WWWwW

—

If you need to write, address your letter to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU
TAXPAYER CORRESPONDENCE
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Privacy notification

The right of the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance and the Depart-
ment of Taxation and Finance to collect and maintain personal informa-
tion, including mandatory disclosure of social security numbers in the
manner required by tax regulations, instructions, and forms, is found in
Articles 8, 28, and 28-A of the Tax Law; and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)().

The Tax Department uses this information primarily to determine and
administer sales and use taxes or liabilities under the Tax Law, and for any
other purpose authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of the Registration and
Data Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8 Room 924, W A
Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From
areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.



