
CT-240 New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

                      (10/99) Foreign Corporation
License Fee Return
Tax Law – Article 9, Section 181

Computation of license fee (see instructions on back for assistance)

1 Issued and outstanding par value stock at face value ............................................................................... 1
2 Par value stock allocated to New York State (multiply line 1 by line 17, line 20, or line 25) ............................. 2
3 Fee - par value stock (multiply line 2 by .0005) ............................................................................................. 3
4 Number of shares of no par value stock issued and outstanding .............................................................. 4
5 Number of shares of no par value stock allocated to New York State

(multiply line 4 by line 17, line 20, or line 25) ................................................................................................ 5
6 Fee - No par value stock  (multiply line 5 by 5 cents (.05)) ............................................................................. 6
7 Total license fee (line 3 plus line 6, or $10; whichever is greater) ..................................................................... 7
8 License fee previously paid ....................................................................................................................... 8
9 License fee due with this report (subtract line 8 from line 7) ............................................................................ 9

10 Interest (see instructions) ............................................................................................................................. 10
11 Additional charges (see instructions) ........................................................................................................... 11
12 Balance due (add lines 9, 10 and 11; enter payment on line A above) .............................................................. 12

Schedule A — License fee allocation – foreign corporations (including S corporations) taxable under Article 9-A, Tax Law  (see instructions)

13 Allocated business and investment capital from Form CT-3 or CT-3-S-ATT, Schedule B ........................ 13
14 Allocated subsidiary capital from Form CT-3 or CT-3-S-ATT, Schedule B ................................................ 14
15 Total allocated capital (add lines 13 and 14) ................................................................................................ 15
16 Total capital from Form CT-3 or CT-3-S-ATT, Schedule B ........................................................................ 16
17 License fee allocation (divide line 15 by line 16) ........................................................................................... 17

Schedule B — License fee allocation – foreign corporations taxable under Article 9, Tax Law (see instructions)

18 Gross assets, less United States obligations and cash, employed in New York State .............................. 18
19 Gross assets, less United States obligations and cash, wherever employed ............................................ 19
20 License fee allocation (divide line 18 by line 19) ........................................................................................... 20

Schedule C — License fee allocation – foreign corporations taxable under Article 32, Tax Law  (see instructions)

21 Allocated business capital .......................................................................................................................... 21
22 Allocated subsidiary capital ........................................................................................................................ 22
23 Total allocated business and subsidiary capital (add lines 21 and 22) ......................................................... 23
24 Total capital ................................................................................................................................................ 24
25 License fee allocation (divide line 23 by line 24) ........................................................................................... 25

Certification. I certify that this return and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct, and complete.
Signature of elected officer or authorized person Official  title Date

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) ID number Date

Address Signature of individual preparing this return

P
ai

d
 p

re
p

ar
er

u
se

 o
n

ly

CT-240

M
ai

lin
g

 n
am

e
an

d
 a

d
d

re
ss

Employer identification number File number For office use only

Legal name of corporation Trade name / DBA

Mailing name (if different from legal name) and address State or country of incorporation

c/o
Number and street or PO box Date of incorporation

City State ZIP code Foreign corporations: date began
business in NYS

A. Payment — pay amount shown on line 12. Make check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax Payment  enclosed
.......Attach your payment here.

If your name, employer identification number, address, or owner/officer information has changed, you must
file Form DTF-95. If you need Form DTF-95, call 1 800 462-8100 to request one. From areas outside the
U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Business telephone number

( )

Based on period ended

____________ 19 _____

  Date received

  Audit use
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CT-240 (10/99) (back) Instructions
A foreign corporation must pay a license fee for the privilege of exercising
its corporate franchise or carrying on its business in New York State. This
fee is in addition to the annual franchise tax and is payable only once
unless the capital share structure changed or the amount of capital stock
employed in New York State increased since the last license fee return was
filed. Some changes in capital share structure are:
— stock split;
— issuance of authorized stock;
— change of par value stock to no par value stock; and
— change of no par value stock to par value stock.

Who must file — All foreign corporations, except banking corporations as
defined in paragraphs 1 - 8 of section 1452(a) and insurance corporations
doing business in New York State, must file Form CT-240.  This includes
foreign corporations that have elected to be New York State S corporations.

A foreign corporation that is subject to the New York State franchise tax
under Article 32, section 1452(a)(9) or a foreign bank holding company that
is included in a combined return under Article 32, section 1462(f), is
required to file a license fee return. However, a foreign corporation or bank
holding company that would not otherwise be taxable in New York State
except for its inclusion in a combined return under Article 9-A or Article 32 of
the Tax Law is not required to file a license fee return.

All foreign corporations included in a combined return under Article 9-A or
Article 32 of the Tax Law that would be taxable in New York State if they
filed separate returns are required to file the license fee return and compute
the license fee on an individual basis.

When and where to file — File Form CT-240 with the first franchise tax
return, within 2½ months after the end of the fiscal or calendar year, and
whenever a change is made in the capital share structure of the corporation
or whenever the amount of capital stock employed in New York State has
increased since the last license fee return was filed. When filing
Form CT-240 other than with your franchise tax return, mail to: NYS
CORPORATION TAX, PROCESSING UNIT, PO BOX 22038, ALBANY NY
12201-2038.

Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private delivery
service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return. However, if,
at a later date, you need to establish the date you filed your return, you
cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless you used
a delivery service that has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the
Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently
designated delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private
Delivery Services. See Need help? below for information on ordering forms
and publications.) If you use any private delivery service, whether it is a
designated service or not, address your return to: State Processing
Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY 12204-4836.

License Fee Rates — The license fee rate is five cents on each share of
no par value stock and 1/20th of 1% of the value of par value stock. The
minimum license fee is $10.
When the license fee is recomputed, the amount of any license fee
previously paid may be taken as a credit against the recomputed license
fee. However, no credit for license fees previously paid will be allowed for a
foreign corporation that merges or reincorporates in another state. Refunds
will not be made to a corporation when a recomputed fee is less than the
fee previously paid.

Specific instructions
Whole dollar amounts - You may elect to show amounts in whole dollars
rather than dollars and cents. Round an amount from 50 cents through 99
cents to the next higher dollar, and round any amount less than 50 cents to
the next lower dollar.
Percentages - When computing allocation percentages, convert decimals
into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces to the right.
Percentages should be carried out to four decimal places. For example:
5,000/7,500 = .6666666 = 66.6667%.
Negative amounts — show any negative amounts in parentheses.
Computation of license fee
Line 1 — Enter the total face value of issued par value stock. Do not

include treasury stock.
Line 4 — Enter the total number of shares of no par value stock issued.

Do not include treasury stock.
Line 8 — Enter total license fee paid with prior license fee returns. Do not

include interest paid with prior returns.
Line 10 — If you do not pay the license fee on time, you must pay interest.

Call the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the current rate. See
Need help? for the telephone number.

Need help?
Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern time),

Monday through Friday.
Tax information: 1 800 972-1233
Forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100
From outside the U.S. and outside Canada: (518) 485-6800
Fax-on-demand forms: 1 800 748-3676
Internet access: http://www.tax.state.ny.us
Hearing and speech impaired (telecommunications device for the

deaf (TDD) callers only): 1 800 634-2110 (8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.,
eastern time)

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the Americans with
Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and
other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons with disabilities,
please call 1 800 225-5829.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department,
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, Taxpayer Correspondence, W A Harriman
Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Line 11 — Additional charges — late filing and late payment
Additional charges for late filing and late payment are computed on the
amount of the fee less any payment made on or before the due date
determined with regard to any extension of time for filing.
A.  If you do not file a return when due, add to the fee 5% per month up to

25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).
B.  If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the addition to

the fee in item A above cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or 100%
of the amount required to be shown (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C.  If you do not pay the fee shown on a return, add to the fee ½% per
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D.  The total of the additional charges in items A and C above may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in item B above
(section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing and/or payment
(section 1085).

Note: We will compute the interest (line 10) and/or penalty (line 11)
for you. Call the Business Tax Information Center at
1 800  972-1233.

Schedule A — License fee allocation — foreign corporations
(including S corporations) taxable under Article 9-A, Tax Law
Add the allocated New York State business capital, allocated New York
State investment capital and the allocated New York State subsidiary
capital, then divide the result by total capital. Get these figures from
Form CT-3, General Business Corporation Franchise Tax Return,
Computation of Capital Base.
Example: Allocated NYS capital Capital everywhere
Business Capital $750,000 $1,000,000
Investment Capital 5,000 50,000
Subsidiary Capital 100,000 100,000

$855,000 $1,150,000
License fee allocation percentage: 74.34782% (855,000  ÷ 1,150,000)

If you file Form CT-3-S, determine your total capital, business capital, and
investment capital on Form CT-3-S-ATT. Allocate business and investment
capital by using the allocation percentages from Form CT-3-S.
Schedule B — License fee allocation — foreign corporations taxable
under Article 9, Tax Law
Compute your license fee allocation percentage by dividing assets
employed in New York State by total assets. Do not include cash or U.S.
obligations as part of assets.
Schedule C — License fee allocation — foreign corporations taxable
under Article 32, Tax Law
Add together business capital and subsidiary capital allocated to New York
State and divide the result by total capital. Foreign corporations taxable
under section 1452(a)(9) and foreign bank holding companies included in a
combined return under section 1462(f) are required to compute the license
fee allocation in the same manner as the issuer’s allocation percentage.
The computation of the issuer’s allocation percentage is described in the
instructions for Form CT-32, Banking Corporation Franchise Tax Return.
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