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Instructions for Form ST-101

New York State and Local Annual
Sales and Use Tax Return

ST-101
Annual
Instructions

Dear Taxpayer,

We are proud to present a new look to Form ST-101.
We have redesigned and simplified it to make filing
easier and less time-consuming. In addition, annual
versions of all schedules that may be filed with Form
ST-101 were developed to significantly reduce the
amount of your paperwork.

The New York State Tax Department is dedicated to
answering any questions you have related to New York
State taxes. Please cail our Business Tax Information

Center at 1 800 972-1233 for assistance.

Muckdl Y. st

Michael H. Urbach
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance

Please read this
section before
completing your return.

Change Affecting All Filers

Annual Filing Period: Beginning March 1, 1999, the annual
tax period will run from March through February (instead of June
through May). To impiement this change, the next filing period wili
be a transitional nine-month period of June 1, 1998 through
February 28, 1999.

Reminder — the return you are completing now is for the period
June 1, 1997 through May 31, 1998.

Quarterly Filers Who Converted to Annual Filing

Even if you filed one or more quarterly retums for this annual
period and then changed to annual filing status, you must enter your
sales and tax information on Form ST-101 and all required schedules
for the entire annual period. You will be able to claim a credit in
Step 5 for taxes you paid with your quarterly retums. See Bullet 16.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100

For assistance, call 1 800 972-1233

Changes Affecting Your Filing Requirements

Annual Filing Threshold: Effective June 1, 1998, filers who
expect to owe more than $3000 in tax for the transitional nine-month
or subsequent annual filing periods must file quarterty (or possibly
monthly) returns. In determining what you expect to owe, you
should consider recent tax law and rate changes. Call 1 800 972-1233 to
change to quarterly filing status and to obtain the necessary forms.

Quarterly Filing Threshold: If the combined total of your
taxable receipts, purchases subject to tax, hotel rents, and amusement
charges exceeds $300,000 in a quarter, or if you sold more than
100,000 gallons of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel, you must file
monthly returns beginning with the first month of the next sales tax
quarter. Call 1 800 972-1233 immediately to change to monthly
filing status and to obtain the necessary forms.

Show and Entertainment Vendors: These vendors, previously

restricted from filing annually, may now do so if they meet the
conditions for annual filing.

Web site address: http://www.tax.state.ny.us
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INSTRUGTIONS

Entries in these examples are fictional.
Do not use these figures when completing your return.

File this form if your total tax due is $250 or less for the period ending May 31, 1998

Check the box and complete Step 1; in Step 3 on Page 3, enter #osein Boxes 13, 14, and 15; and complete Step 9. “ D

NO TAX DUE? You must file by the due date even if no tax is due. See Buliet 1 in instructions.

FINAL RETURN? Check if you are discontinuing your business and this is your final return; see Bullet 2 in instructions. a [m]
HAS YOUR ADDRESS OR BUSINESS INFORMATION CHANGED? 1f so, enter new maiting address on preprinted label above. See Bullet 3 in instructions.
No Tax Due? instructions. Keep the confirmation number given at the end of the

You must file a return even if you had no taxable sales and
made no purchases subject to tax. Check the box, enter your gross
sales and services in Box 1 and write #onein Boxes 13, 14, and 15
on Page 3, Step 3. Then go to Step 9.

Note: You may be subject to penalty and interest if you do not file a
return by the due date or do not pay in full.

Telefilers: If you are enrolied in the Telefile program and you have
no fax due this period, call 1 888 829-3769 and follow the verbal

transaction as your proof of filing. Do not file a paper return for this
period.

Final Return

If you have permanently discontinued your business, check
the box that follows Final Return, complete the back of your sales
tax Certificate of Authority, and attach it to your Form ST-101. (if
you are unable to return your certificate, attach an explanation.)

e Change of Address or Business
Information

if you need to update your sales tax mailing
address, enter your correct address on the label
we provided. |f you need to change your
address for other New York taxes, or change
other business information such as the name,
identification number, physical address, or
owner/officer information, complete and send in
Form DTF-95, Change of Business Information.
Obtain forms through Fax-on-Demand, Internet
Access, or call one of the Telephone Assistance
numbers listed in the NEED HELP? section on
Page 4.

Step 1 of 9 Calculate Gross Sales and Services

Sales tax should not be included in the gross sales and services amount. See Bullet 4 in instructions.

Enter total gross sales and services } 1
(to nearest dollar) in Box 1 3,938 o0

Step 2 of 9 Identify Required Schedules

Complete any necessary schedule(s) and proceed to Step 3.
Need to obtain schedules? See For Assistance on Page 4 of this form.

Annwal
Schedule

Description

Check the box for sach
schedule you are aitaching

FCH"ED'jULE ’ Use Schedule A to report tax and taxable receipts from sale_s:)f_fg_od dor mk {restayrail, e e R Py N

L0OALS S AR b A Gmar> it rvmmn b s, . e S

Calculate Gross Sales and Services

Enter the total taxable, nontaxable, and exempt sales from
your New York State business locations and from locations outside
New York State delivered into the state in Box 1. Do net include
sales from Schedule FR, Sales and Use Tax on Motor Fuel and

Diesel Motor Fuel.
amount.

Identify Required Schedules
Determine which schedules, if any, you are required to
complete and file with Form ST-101. Brief descriptions of Schedules

Sales tax should also be excluded from this

A, B, FR, H, N, and U are included on the front of
Form ST-101. For more detailed information, see
the specific schedule. Complete the required
schedules, if any, check the appropriate boxes;
and proceed to Step 3.

If you are filing Annual Schedule CT or Annual
Schedule NJ, or both, do net enter the sales
information from the schedules onto Form ST-101,
but do include the amount of tax due to New
Jersey and Connecticut, along with the amount
due from Form ST-101, in your check or mongy
order.

Schedule CT is used by those taxpayers registered
in the Connecticut/New York reciprocal tax agreement
to report sales subject to Gonnecticut tax.

Schedule NJ is used by those taxpayers registered in
the New Jersey/New York reciprocal tax agreement to
report sales subject to New Jersey tax.

?olumn sC‘I gslu;nn Sublect I CoumnE | go:umn 5
ep 3 of 9 ang urviees. e SRR xTaxRale = GESLA
(to nearest dollar] fto nearsst dollari docimal {percent) | (C + D) xE
Enter total of Schedule (if any) in Box 2 B b ; ; ; \\\\ 2
< Enter total of all Schedules (if any) W+EB+M+M+MP 10000 0 0 \\\\\\\\\5 182 | 50
a %):zn;n A u&mn 8 @
New York State only @ NE 0002 e .00 .00 | .04 (4%) @
Albany County AL 0179 1549 00 9 000).08 (8%) 123 192
> Allegany Coun e s AL 0215 .00 .00 1.
[= New York State/MCTD (fuel, uilties & theatrical sup NE 8040 300 .00 65 .00 [ .0425 (4%%) 15 | 51
bl New York City - iocal tax only (Enter Box 9 amount into Step 78) NE 8010 |9 .00 .00 | .04 4%)
Column sublolals from Page 2, Boxes 6, 7and 8: [10 2549 oo |11 0 .00 [\ W\ 306 |42
L ® ot o 2849 00 [ 55 0 NN 321 93

Calcuilate Sales and Use Taxes
If you are filing Schedule FR, enter the amount from Box 16 of
Schedule FR in Box 2 on Page 2 of Form ST-101.

If you are filing Schedule A, B, H, N, or U (or any combination of
these), enter the combined totals from the completed schedules in
Boxes 3, 4, and 5 on Page 2 of Form ST-101. (Do not include
amounts from Schedules CT and NJ.)

Columns A & B ~Taxing Jurisdiction and Code

Each sale of property and services, and each purchase subject
to tax should be reported for the jurisdiction in which the sale was
made and delivered, and where the purchase was used. Do neot
report any sale or purchase aiready reported on a scheduie on
these jurisdiction lines.
Reporting New York City Taxes
Use the New York City - local tax only 4% tax rate line to report
sales in the city of New York for:
1) fuel and utility services used in the production of property for
sale, and 2) installation, repair, and maintenance services to property
used in farming. Do not report these transactions on the New York
City/State combined tax 8'4% tax rate line.
Use the NMew York State/MCTD 4'4% tax rate line to report purchases
of fuel and utility services subject to sales tax at 8%4%, for which you
paid 4% NYC tax, and for sales or purchases of theatrical supplies
which are exempt from New York City tax. Note: Report fuel or
utilities used for residential purposes on Schedule B.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100

Column C - Taxable Sales and Services

Report taxable sales for each jurisdiction in New York State
where delivery of sales and services occurred. Do not include sales tax
in this amount.

Credits against sales and services

Reduce the amount of taxable sales and services to be entered on a
jurisdiction line by the amount of any credits related to that
jurisdiction. If the result is a negative number, enter it in parentheses.
Examples of credits to be claimed in this manner follow:

- Tax paid on property purchased in bulk or on property fabricated,
assembled, processed, printed, or imprinted in one jurisdiction, that
was shipped for use in another jurisdiction.

- Tax paid on cancelled sales, returned merchandise, and bad debts.

- Tax paid by a veterinarian on certain drugs and medicines used in
veterinary services.

- Tax paid on construction materials resold or incorporated into realty
in another jurisdiction. (Unless the materials were used out of state or
otherwise exempt, tax should be reported on the materials.)

Note: Other credits against sales tax should be claimed in Step 5.

Column D - Purchases Subject o Tax

- Purchases outside New York: Report the full amount of
purchases made outside New York of tangible personal property and
srvices used in your business in New York.

- Purchases in New York in one jurisdiction/use in another jurisdiction:

For assistance, call 1 800 972-1233

If the tax rate is higher in the jurisdiction where
you purchased tangible personal property or
services used in your business than the tax rate in
the jurisdiction where your business is located,
report the full amount of such purchases.

In either of the cases above, you may be able to
claim a credit for tax paid on such purchases in
Step 5. See Bullet 16.

- Do not include in Column D purchases of
property or services purchased for resale or
which are exempt.

Contractors: Also report materials purchased in
one jurisdiction that are incorporated into realty
in another.

Column E - Tax Rate

Tax rates for the applicable periods are
printed in Column E in both decimal and
percentage formats.

Column F - Sales and Use Taxes

For each jurisdiction for which you
reported sales, purchases and/or credits, add the
amounts in Columns C and D, then multiply the
total by the tax rate in Column E, one line at a
time. Enter the result in ColumnF.  (C+D)xE=F

This result may be a net credit, which you should
identify by enclosing it in parentheses. Note: Any
net credits should be subtracted when totaling
the column.

Column Totals

On Page 2, separately subtotal Columns C
(Box 6}, Column D (Box 7), and Column F (Box
8). Include the amounts from Schedules, listed
in Boxes 2, 3, 4, and 5, when subtotaling each
column. Transfer the Box 6, 7, and 8 amounts to
Page 3, Boxes 10, 11, and 12, respectively.

On Page 3, separately total Column C (Box 13),
Column D (Box 14), and Column F {Box 15).
Include the column subtotals from Page 2, in
Boxes 10, 11, and 12, when totaling each
column. Enter Box 15 amount in Step 6.

Web site address: hitp://www.tax.state.ny.us
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Calculate Special Taxes
Column G | Column H | cotuma J Enter taxable receipts from sales or uses of
Step 4 of ¢ Calculate Special Taxes Intornai Cods | Taxable Receipts X Tax Rats = Spectal Tasn Dus passenger car rentals and of information and
(to neasest doliar) decimal t xH X ) i i
" m ot 000 peimal_ipercent) | G entertainment services furnished via telephony and
assenger Car Rertals 00 L5 (%) telegraphy on the appropriate lines in Column G.
Information & Entertainment Services Furnished via Telephany & Telegraphy " 7009 310 00 05 (5%) A 1550 Multiply the taxable receipts (Column G) by 5% (.05).
Total Special Taxes: [16 15| 50 Enter the resulting tax in Column J.
Add the two lines in Column J and enter the
total in Box 16. Also enter the Box 16
amount in Step 6.
Step 5 of 9 Calculate Tax Credits and gg.ll::lml:munl - Credit for additional tax paid on property
Advance Payments Intornal Code incorporated into realty according to a preexisting
Credit for prepaid sales tax on G W 15 CR C8888 lump-sum or unit price contract, where the
Credits against sales or use tax inciuding quarkerly retum p for this annual tax period (see Bullet 16 in instructions) [\ N\ NN \\Y %3150 additional tax is the result of a rate increase. Note:
Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund,
Advance Payments (as reported on Form ST-330) ’ i
e = m - ANANMMNY 17 o 25 100 should also be filed for any of these contractor
Tolai Tax Credits and Ad: Payments: ) 88150 transactions

Calculate Tax Credits and Advance Payments

Credit for Prepaid Sales Tax on Cigarettes
Enter your credit for prepaid sales tax on cigarettes, if
any, in Column K.

Credits Against Sales or Use Tax

(attachments required)
Enter the total amount of other credits or refunds of sales tax
you are claiming (excluding the vendor collection credit).
You must keep records to validate all credits and refunds
claimed, and attach to your return the forms or explanations
that verity them. Do not enter any credits that were claimed
on jurisdiction lines in Step 3.

Credits that may be claimed in Step 5 include:
- Credits where the tax rate for the jurisdiction in which tax
was paid is different from the tax rate in the period in which

the credit is claimed.

Example: You paid 8% tax, filed your return, then the payment was
cancelled. The tax rate changed to 7%. You are still entitled to claim the
8% credit.

- Credit for an overpayment of tax made in a prior quarter. Enter any tax
amount previously paid with a quarterly return (Form ST-100 or ST-102)
filed for any quarters of this annual tax period that has not been
previously claimed.

- Credit for sales tax paid against additional tax on purchases reported
in Column D. (Included are credits for taxes paid in another jurisdiction
in New York or to another state.)

Note: Any credit against tax taken in Step 5 should be based on the
amount of tax paid or paid over at the time of the original transaction.

Contractors can take:
- Credit for state tax and some local taxes paid on certain construction
materials in economic development zones (EDZ).

Advance Payments

Enter the total amount of any advance
payments that were reported on and paid with Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment.

Total Tax Credits and Advance Payments
Add Column K and enter the total in Box 17.
Also enter Box 17 amount in Step 6.

Step 6 of 9 Calculate Taxes Due

Add Sales and Use Taxes (Box 15) to Total Special Taxes {Box 16) and
subtract Total Tax Credits and Advance Payments (Box 17).

@ Taxes Due

Box 15

Amount  $ + o

Amount $

321.93

18

15.50

- Box 17 =
Boxt7 s 88.50 =

248 {93

Calculate Taxes Due

Enter the amounts from Box 15, Sales and Use
Taxes; Box 16, Total Special Taxes; and Box 17,
Total Tax Credits and Advance Payments in the
appropriate spaces. Add Boxes 15 and 16, and
subtract Box 17. Enter the result in Box 18.

Step 7 of 9 [oF=1IRIEY Y s Te [T NI LT (TeTa MM f=Tekld You are eligible for Vendor Collaction Credit only if you file by
Juns 22, 1998 and you are paying in full.
or Pay Penalty and Interest It you ars not eligible, enter “8” in Box 19 and go to 70.
If you are not filing any Schedules,
ZN 25 et the Ssteriek (y'in 7B,
Schedule B @ Schedule FR, Part 3, Box 7 — e
Schedule H _______ “Form ST-101, Step 3, Box 13 +_2849.00
Schedule N +_300.00 Totat Adjustment from 7A - 300,00
Schedule U + NYC locai tax, Step 3, Box 9 " —
Total Adjustment = _300.00 Move Eligible Seles Amountto 7¢ = — 2549.00
i Vendor Collsction Credit
FLol | Ehpivia Saies Amesn! trom T8 above State Tax Rate Cradit Rate
- JH x 04(4%)=$_ 101.96 x 015(15%) =5 1.53 =+ g endl Code VE 7700
*In Box 19, enter the notto d $100 ’ 1153
PAY PENALTY AND INTEREST IF YOU ARE FILING LATE Penalty & Interest
Call 1 800 972-1233 or access our web site at hitp://www.tax.state.ny.us for calculated totai of penalty and interest on Box 18 Taxes Due. 20
Enter penalty and interest amount in 8ox 20.

Calculate Vendor Collection Credit
or Pay Penalty and interest

Vendor Collection Credit

The Tax Law provides you with a credit for your
collection of state sales tax from your customers. You may
not include in the credit computation any use tax paid or any
local tax collected. The maximum vendor collection credit
you can claim on your return is $100.

You can receive this credit only if you file your return on time
and pay the full amount due. [f you file on time but do not
pay the full amount due, or if you file late, you cannot claim
this credit. Enter “0” in Box 19 and go to Step 7D.

If you qualify, calculate your vendor coliection credit in
Step 7. If the result is less than $100, enter the result in
Box 19. If the result is equal to or more than $100, enter
only $100 in Box 19.

To order forms, call 1 800 462-8100

7A - If you completed Schedules B, H, N, and/or U, enter the appropriate
amount (see each schedule for the amount to enter). Schedule A is not
included as no adjustment is needed. Add the amounts in 7A and enter
the total on the Total Adjustment line. Note: if you did not complete any
schedules, skip Step 7A and start at the asterisk in 7B.

7B - If you completed Schedule FR, enter the amount from Box 7 of that
form. Fill in the lines as applicable, and add or subtract them according
to the math symbols provided. Enter and add the amount from Form
ST-101, Page 3, Box 13. Enter and subtract the Total Adjustment from
7A, if any. Enter and subtract the amount from Form ST-101, Page 3,
Box 9*. Enter the result of the addition and subtractions on the Eligible
Sales Amount line. Transfer this amount to 7C.

*New York City only: If you reported sales on the New York City
4% tax rate line (Page 3, in Box 9}, enter this amount in Step 7B.
As local sales, they do not qualify for the vendor collection credit.

For assistance, call 1 800 972-1233

7C - Calculate your Vendor Collection Credit by
multiplying the Eligible Sales Amount from 7B by the
state tax rate, then multiplying the result by the credit
rate. If the credit amount is $100 or less, enter the
credit in Box 19. If it is more than $100, enter $100 in
Box 19.

Determine Penalty and interest

If you are filing your return late or not paying
the full amount due, or both, you owe penalty and
interest, and cannot claim a vendor collection credit.
Penalty and interest are calculated on the amount of
tax due, from Box 18. The minimum penalty for late
filing is $50. Late payment and underpayment also
result in interest charges; interest rates are adjusted
quarterly and compounded daily.

To determine your penalty and interest amount, call
1800 972-1233. A Tax Department representative will
calculate the correct amount for you. Or you can use
our web site at http://www.tax.state.ny.us to determine
your penaity and interest. Enter the total penalty and
interest in Box 20.

Web site address: http://www.tax.state.ny.us
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Step 8 of 9 Calculate Total Amount Due

Make check or money order payable to New York State Sales Tax
Include on your check the /D#, Form ST-101 and the tax period.

Total Amount Due

Final Calculation:

Taking Vendor Collection Credit? Subtract Box 19 from Box 18.
Paying Penaity and interest? Add Box 20 to Box 18.

1223

S 247/40

Calcuiate Total Amount Due

If you were eligible for and claimed the vendor collection credit
in Step 7, subtract the Box 19 credit amount from Box 18 (taxes due)
and enter the resuit.

if you are filing late and you entered penalty and interest in Box 20,
add Box 20 to Box 18 (taxes due) and enter the result.

If you are not claiming the vendor collection credit and not
entering penalty and interest, enter the Box 18 amount as your
Total Amount Due.

Payment information

If you do not file Schedule CT or NJ, make your check or money
order for the Total Amount Due payable to New York State Sales

Tax. 1f you are filing Schedule CT or NJ, or both,
include in your payment amount any tax due with
those schedules and with Form ST-101.

On your check or money order, write your sales tax ID#,
Form ST-101, and the tax period (6/1/97 - 531/98) you
are reporting. Enclose your payment with Form
ST-101 to ensure that your payment is properly
credited to your account.

Step 9 of 9 Sign and Mail this Return

Must be postmarked by Monday, June 22, 1998, to be considered timely filed.
See diagram below for complete maiting information.

Title

Printed Name of Taxpayer e’

Signature of

_g.q..v.._p__f—————_——-—

Sign and Mail this Return

Signatures Required

If you are a sole proprietor, you must sign the return and print your
name, title and telephone number.

If you are filing this return for a corporation, partnership or otner type
of entity, an officer, employee or partner must sign the return on
behalf of the business, and print his or her name, title and telephone

Where To Mail Your Return

and Attachments
Use the Flowchart on Page 4 of Form ST-101 to find the
address to send your completed return, attachments and payment.
If you have the envelope provided with the returns, fill in the
missing parts of the address according to the flowchart. If using
your own envelope, write out the entire address from the flowchart.
If you are not using the U.S. Postal Service, see Private Delivery

Private Delivery Service Address (continued)
If you do not participate in the New Jersey/New York
or Connecticut/New York Reciprocal Tax Agreement
and your piace of business is in one of the following
counties: Bronx, Kings, Queens, Westchester,
Nassau, Suffolk, or New York County with ZIP codes
10020-10285, address your return to:

THE CHASE MANHATTAN BANK

NYS GOVERNMENT TAX PROCESSING

12 CORPORATE WOODS BLVD. 4TH FLOOR

ALBANY NY 12211
All other vendors (including those who participate in
the New Jersey/New York or Connecticut/New York
Reciprocal Tax Agreement, and those located outside

number.
) . Service Address below.
If you do not prepare the return yourself, sign and provide the

requested taxpayer information. The preparer must also sign the
return and print his or her name, address and telephone number.

Private Delivery Service Address
if you are using a private delivery service rather than the U.S.

New York State), address your return to:
NYS PROCESSING CENTER
431C BROADWAY
MENANDS NY 12204

Postal Service, you must send your return to a different address

Make sure you keep a copy of your completsd return for your
records.

than thase shown in the flowchart on Page 4 of Form ST-101.

NEED HELP?

Telephone Assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to
4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

For business tax information, call the
NYS Business Tax Information

Center at: 1 800 972-1233
1 800 225-5829

1 800 462-8100

For general information, call:

To order forms and publications, call:

From areas outside the U.S. and

outside Canada, call: (518) 485-6800

Fax-on-Demand Forms - Forms are
= available 24 hours a day,
[ 7 days a week.

(!
—

1 800 748-3676

Internet Access - http://www.tax.state.ny.us

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired -

1 800 634-2110 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday
through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, check with
independent living centers or community action programs to
find out where machines are available for public use.

TOp

® Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
( lobbies, offices, meeting rooms and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions
about special accommodations for persons with disabilities,
please call 1 800 225-5829.

If you need to write, address your letter to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU
TAXPAYER CORRESPONDENCE
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION

The right of the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance and the Department
of Taxation and Finance to collect and maintain personal information,
including mandatory disclosure of social security numbers in the manner
required by tax regulations, instructions and forms, is found in

Articles 8, 18-A, 28 and 28-A of the Tax Law and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

The Tax Department will use this information primarily to determine and
administer sales and use tax labilities under the Tax Law, and for any other
purpose authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may result in civil or criminal
penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information will be maintained by the Director of the Registration and Data
Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8 Room 905, W A Harriman
Campus, Albany NY 12227, telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas outside the
U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.



