
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form CT-33-M
Insurance Corporation MTA Surcharge Return
Tax Law — Article 33, Section 1505-a

CT-33-M-I

Who Must File
If you do business, employ capital, own or lease property or
maintain an office in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
District (MCTD) you must pay a Metropolitan Transportation
Business tax surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan
Transportation Authority region (MTA surcharge). The MCTD
includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk
and Westchester.

If you file Form CT-33, use Form CT-33-M to report and pay the
MTA surcharge.

Corporations filing on a combined basis are required to file only
one return for the combined group. Combined figures, as shown
on your Form CT-33-A, should be used to complete this form.

Installment Payments
A taxpayer required to pay the MTA surcharge and whose
franchise tax plus state tax surcharge is more than $1,000 must
file a declaration of estimated MTA surcharge and make quarterly
installment payments on Form CT-400.

MTA Surcharge Rate
The MTA surcharge rate is 17% for the calendar year 1996 or for
fiscal years ending before December 31, 1997.

When and Where to File
If you are a calendar year filer, check the box in the upper right
corner on the front of the form.

If you are a fiscal year filer, complete the beginning and ending
tax period boxes in the upper right corner on the front of the form.

File your return within 21⁄2 months after the end of your reporting
period. If you are reporting for the calendar year, file your return
on or before March 15. If your filing date falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, then you must file your return on or
before the next business day.

Mail return to: NYS CORPORATION TAX, PROCESSING UNIT,
PO BOX 1909, ALBANY NY 12201-1909

Extension of Time for Filing MTA Surcharge Return
You may request additional time to file an MTA surcharge return.
File Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3 on or before the due date of the
return for which the extension is requested and pay the MTA
surcharge estimated to be due.

The payment must either:

— equal or exceed your MTA surcharge for the preceding tax
period (if it was for a period of 12 months); or

— equal or exceed 90% of the MTA surcharge for this period as
finally determined.

Identifying Information
To ensure that your corporation tax forms are processed as
quickly and efficiently as possible, it is important that we have the
necessary identifying information from your preprinted label. Keep
a record of the label information for future use. Please be
certain to include your employer identification number, file number
and filing period on each corporation tax form mailed. This will
facilitate processing of your return to the correct account. Without
this information, we may not be able to process your return.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use
the mailing label or label information when completing all forms
prepared for you.

Change of Business Information
If there have been any changes in your business name,
identification number, mailing address, business address,
telephone number or owner/officer information and you have not
previously notified us, complete Form DTF-95, Change of
Business Information. If you don’t have a form, call toll free
1 800 462-8100. From areas outside the U.S. and Canada, call
(518) 485-6800 to request one.

Line Instructions
Whole Dollar Amounts - You may elect to show dollar amounts
in whole dollars rather than dollars and cents. Round an amount
from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar, and
round any amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Percentages - When computing allocation percentages, convert
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two
spaces to the right. Percentages should be carried out to four
decimal places. For example: 5,000/7,500 5 .6666666 5
66.6667%.

Negative amounts, if any, should be shown in parentheses.

Computation of MCTD Allocation Percentage
If you do all of your New York State business within the 12
counties of the MCTD, skip lines 1 through 8 and enter 100% on
line 9.

If you do part of your business outside the MCTD, compute your
MCTD allocation percentage by completing lines 1 through 8.

Corporations taxable under Article 33 that are filing on a
combined basis must use a combined MCTD allocation
percentage.

Determine MCTD premiums and MCTD wages using the same
principles set out in section 1504(a) and (b) of the Tax Law to
determine New York premiums and New York wages, salaries,
commissions and other compensation.

Line 4 - Multiply the percentage on line 3 by nine.

Line 7 - Divide MCTD wages by New York wages.

Line 9 - Divide the sum of the percentages on line 8 by ten.

Line 10 - Enter your New York State franchise tax from your
franchise tax return, Form CT-33, line 13, or
Form CT-33-A, line 16.

Line 13 - Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New
York State may claim a credit on this line for 90% of
retaliatory taxes paid to other states for the privilege
of doing business in those states, which resulted from
the imposition of the MTA surcharge for the 1996 tax
year. Enter the smaller of 90% of retaliatory taxes
paid in 1996 attributable to the 1996 MTA surcharge
or the amount of MTA surcharge shown on line 12.
Attach computation. Enter ‘‘0’’ if no retaliatory tax
credit is claimed. To claim a refund for retaliatory
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taxes paid in 1996 as a result of the imposition of the
MTA surcharge for previous periods, see lines 29
through 38.

Line 15a - If you filed a request for extension, enter the amount
from Form CT-5, line 9, or Form CT-5.3, line 10.

Line 15b - If you did not file Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3, and
your franchise tax and state surcharge exceeds
$1,000, enter 25% of line 14. Your franchise tax and
state tax surcharge can be found on your tax return:

CT-33 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Line 15
CT-33-A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Line 18

Line 17 - Enter any MTA surcharge payment made with
Form CT-5, Request for Six-Month Extension of Time
to File. Prepayments may be computed on the back
of the form and transferred to this line. Prepayments
will include any MTA surcharge payment made with
Form CT-5 (extension), installment payments of MTA
surcharge on Form CT-400, credit carryovers from
prior years and overpayments of franchise tax from
Form CT-33 or Form CT-33-A.

Line 20 - If you do not pay the MTA surcharge on or before the
original due date (without regard to any extension of
time), you must pay interest on the amount of the
underpayment from the original due date to the date
paid. Exclude from the interest computation any
amount shown on line 15a or 15b, first installment of
estimated tax for next period.

Line 21 - Additional charges for late filing and late payment are
computed on the amount of MTA surcharge required
to be shown on the return after deduction of any
payment made on or before the due date determined

with regard to any extension of time for filing. Exclude
from the penalty computation any amount shown on
line 15a or 15b, first installment of estimated tax for
next period.

A If you do not file a return when due or if your
request for extension is invalid, add to the MTA
surcharge 5% per month up to 25% (section
1085(a)(1)(A)).

B If you do not file a return within 60 days of the
due date, the addition to the MTA surcharge in
item A above cannot be less than the smaller of
$100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown
as the MTA surcharge (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C If you do not pay the MTA surcharge shown on a
return, add to the MTA surcharge 1⁄2% per month
up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D The total of the additional charges in items A and
C above may not exceed 5% for any one month
except as provided for in item B above (section
1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional
charges, attach a statement to your return
explaining the delay in filing and/or payment
(section 1085).

NOTE: You may have the interest (line 20) and/or penalty (line 21)
computed for you by calling the Business Tax Information Center
at the number listed in the Need Help? section on Form CT-33-M.

Line 23 - You may apply all or part of your overpayment to your
New York State franchise tax. Indicate on lines 24, 25
and 26 the amount you want applied to your tax and
the amount you want refunded.

Line 29 - Enter MTA surcharge payable for each year for which
a credit is being claimed.

Line 30 - Enter retaliatory tax credits allowed in prior years that
are attributable to the MTA surcharge. Include all
credits claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 32 - Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are
attributable to the 1991 MTA surcharge. Do not
include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 33 - Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are
attributable to the 1992 MTA surcharge. Do not
include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 34 - Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are
attributable to the 1993 MTA surcharge. Do not

include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 35 - Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are
attributable to the 1994 MTA surcharge. Do not
include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 36 - Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are
attributable to the 1995 MTA surcharge. Do not
include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 37 - Enter in the appropriate column, for the correct year,
the total MTA surcharge retaliatory tax credits allowed
to date. Include any credits previously allowed on
Form CT-33-M or previously filed Form CT-33-R, as
well as amounts claimed in Columns A through E on
lines 32 through 36.

Claim for Refund of MTA Surcharge Retaliatory Tax Credit

Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New York State must use lines 29 through 38 to claim a refund for retaliatory taxes paid
to other states as a result of the imposition of the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge). The surcharge credit available
for a given year may not exceed the MTA surcharge payable for that year as computed pursuant to section 1505-a of the Tax Law. The
credit is claimed in the year paid but is attributed to the year in which the retaliatory taxes were imposed or assessed.

Attach a separate sheet to the refund claim, identifying the recipients of the tax and the amount paid to each recipient, broken down to
reflect the year to which the taxes are attributable.

A credit cannot be claimed for taxes paid to other states on or after the limitation date for each MTA surcharge tax year. The limitation date
is the first day of the sixth calendar year following the calendar year in which an insurer’s MTA surcharge tax year begins. For example, for
an MTA surcharge tax year ending December 31, 1991, the limitation date for filing a claim for refund would be January 1, 1997. For a
12-month fiscal MTA surcharge tax year ending November 30, 1992, the limitation date for filing a claim for refund would still be
January 1, 1997. For additional information see TSB-M-85(4)C.


