New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

CT-189-1

Instructions for Form CT-189 s
Tax on Importation of Gas Services

Section 189 of the Tax Law imposes a tax on gas importers who import,
or cause to be imported, gas services into this state for their own use.
Gas service is the delivery of gas through mains or lines. Gas importers
include individuals, partnerships, societies, associations, joint stock
companies, corporations, estates, receivers, trustees, assignees,
referees, and other persons acting in a fiduciary or representative
capacity, and the state of New York, its agencies, instrumentalities, public
corporations and political subdivisions, including school districts. The tax
is computed at the rate of 4.25% of the consideration given (or
contracted to be given) by the gas importer for the imported gas services
plus applicable surcharges. Compute the tax by one of two methods on
either Schedule A or Schedule B of Form CT-189:

1 Schedule A - If the gas services are delivered into this state by a
regulated public utility, the utility must collect the tax from the
individual gas importer on a monthly basis. The public utility must
complete Form CT-189, Schedule A, and pay the tax required to be
collected to the Tax Departrient on a quarterly basis. Even public
-utilities that have not collected any tax for a particular quarter,
because no gas services were imported into NYS, must file
Form CT-189 to show that no tax is due. When collected by a
regulated public utility, the section 189 tax will be administered jointly
with sales tax. Columns A and B of Schedule A reflect the difference
in the average annual gas price tor the periods 6/1/96-6/30/96 ($1.83)
and 7/1/96-8/31/96 ($1.59). Complete both columns for the
appropriate period.

2 Schedule B - If the gas services are not delivered by a regulated
public utility, or if they are imported by a co-generator with a direct
payment permit, the gas importer must compute the tax on
Schedule B of this form and file quarterly.

3 Schedules C and D - Schedules C and D are to be used to help
compute the tax and MTA surcharge due on Schedule A. if the
taxpayer is computing the tax on Schedule B, it will not be necessary
to use these schedules.

Meter Reading: Determination of Tax Months for Public Utilities —
When the importation or delivery of gas services are billed based on
meter readings, the following rules apply: the total amount billed as a
result of a meter reading should not be split between months, but instead
the entire amount must be included in only one tax month depending
upon the date of the meter reading; if more than one-half the number of
days included in the period covered by the bill falls within a particular
month, that month will be considered the tax month and the entire bill
based upon the meter reading is subject to section 189 tax for that
month (Example: If the meter reading occurs on July 14, then the tax
month is considered to be June).

Due Date — Returns to be filed by regulated public utilities and entities
with a direct payment permit are due 20 days from the end of the
quarter. Returns of importers not using a regulated public utility for
delivery and which do not have a direct payment permit are due by the
15th day following the end of the quarter. Tax quarters end on the last
day of February, May, August and November.

Interest — If you do not pay the tax and tax surcharges due on or
before the due date, you must pay interest on the amount of
underpayment from the due date to the date paid.

Additional Charges — Additional charges for late filing are computed

on the amount of tax and tax surcharges required to be shown on the

return after deduction of any payment made on or before the due date.

A If you do not file a return when due, add to the tax 5% per month, up
to 25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the addition
to tax for item A above cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or
100% of the amount required to be shown as tax (section
1085(a)(1)(B)).

C If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax 1/2% per
month, up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D The total of the additional charges in items A and C above may not
exceed 5% for any one month except as provided for in item B above
(section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or both
(section 1085).

Note: You may have the interest (line 12) and/or penalty (line 13)
computed for you by calling the Business Tax Information Center at the

number listed in the Need Help? section.

Direct Payment Permit for Co-Generation Facilities

A co-generation facility defined in section 2.2-a of the Public Service Law
or a qualifying facility that is treated as a co-generation facility as defined
by section 201 of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978
(Public Law 95-617) may obtain a direct payment permit by applying in
writing to the following address: TTTB - FACCTS, Registration Unit,
Building 8 - 855 Central, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227,

This application should include the legal name and address of the
business, federal employer identification number. summary of operations,
a complete list of owners, officers, directors and partners, and the name
and location of the thermal host. Upon the receipt of a properly approved
direct payment permit, permit holders should file a copy of the permit
with the public utility they use for gas transportation services.
Co-generators who have obtained a direct payment permit are exempt
from paying the tax to the public utility and instead will compute their
own tax by completing Schedule B.

Line Instructions

Whole Dollar Amounts - You may elect to show amounts in
whole dollars rather than dollars and cents. Round an amount
from 50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar, and
round any amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Percentages - When computing percentages, convert decimals
into percentages by moving the decimal point two spaces to the
right. Percentages should be carried out to two decimal places.

For example: 5,000/7,500 = .66666 = 66.67%.

Negative amounts, if any, should be shown in parentheses.

Schedule A — Collection and Remittance by a
Regulated Public Utility

Part 1 — Computation of Tax and State Tax Surcharge Due

Line 1 — Enter the total number of Mcf's imported by and delivered to a
transportation customer in New York State for use in New York State.
Complete Schedule C on page 3, and enter the total in the appropriate
column on line 1. Do not include Mcf’s imported by and delivered to
transportation customers from the transportation customer's own
out-of-state gas well and for which you received a properly completed
exemption certificate. An Mcf is one thousand cubic feet of gas.

Line 2 — The price used to compute the tax to be collected is set by
law. It is the preceding calendar year’s annual average of the national
average natural gas price per Mcf as published by the U.S. Department
of Energy. For the period June 1, 1996, through June 30, 1996, the
annual average gas price is $1.83. For the period July 1, 1996 through
August 31, 1996, the annual average price is $1.59.

Line 3 — Multiply the total number of Mcf's on line 1 by the average
annual gas price on line 2 to arrive at the total amount used for
computing the tax to be collected.

Line 6 — Section 189-b imposes a 2.5% state tax surcharge rate on tax
due under section 189.

Line 8 — Section 189-a imposes an MTA surcharge of 17% on the tax
due on gas service imported into New York State for use in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD).

Line 10 — A regulated public utility wili be given credit for Section 189,
189-a and 189-b tax paid to New York State but never collected because
it became uncollectible. Enter any such credit for bad debts on this line
along with any overpayments of section 189 tax from previous quarters.

Line 12 — See Interest above.

Line 13 — See Additional Charges above.
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Line 14 — Pay the amount due computed on this line. If this amount is
negative because of an excess of credits on line 10, enter this figure in
brackets. This amount will be credited to the next period. If you wish to
receive a refund, make this election by attaching a written request.

Part I1 — Computation of Metropolitan Transportation Tax
(MTA Surcharge)

Line 15 — Enter the total from page 4, Schedule D in the appropriate
column. The MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Queens,
Kings, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk
and Westchester.

Line 18 — The surcharge rate of .7225% shown on this line represents
the tax rate of 4.25% mulitiplied by the MTA surcharge rate of 17%.

Schedule B — Computation and Payment of Tax By
Gas Importers Not Using a Regulated Public Utility or
by Co-Generators Who Have Obtained a Direct Payment
Permit

Part I — Computation of Tax and State Tax Surcharge Due

Line 20 — Enter the actual consideration given or contracted to be given
for gas services imported into New York State during the tax period. The
actual consideration given or contracted to be given is the price of the
gas service not including any separately stated transportation charges
which are reasonable.

Line 21 — Enter the exemption for co-generators. If you qualify as a
co-generation facility see Part 1l below for computation of this exemption.

Line 25 — Section 189-b imposes a 2.5% state tax surcharge on tax
due under section 189.

Line 27 — Section 189-a imposes an MTA surcharge of 17% on the tax
due on the portion of gas service imported into New York State for
c&rgumption or use in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District
(MCTD).

Line 29 — Enter any overpayments of section 189 tax from previous
quarters.

Line 31 — See Interest on the front of the instructions.
Line 32 — See Additional Charges on the front of the instructions.

Line 33 — Pay the amount due computed on this line. If this amount is
negative because of an excess of credits on line 29, enter this figure in
brackets. This amount will be credited to the next period. It you wish to
receive a refund, make this election by attaching a written request.

Part II — Exemption for Co-Generation Facilities

A co-generation facility defined in section 2.2-a of the Public Service Law
or a qualifying facility that is a co-generation facility as defined by section
201 of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (Public Law
95-617) and has been issued a direct payment permit may compute this
exemption.

An exemption will be allowed when gas service imported by a qualifying
co-generation facility is used to generate electricity and/or steam that is
supplied and used by a thermal energy host located at or near the
project site.

To determine the consideration for natural gas to be exempted, the total
consideration for natural gas used by the facility for co-generation during
the period is multiplied by the ratio of the BTU value of steam and
electricity supplied to and used by the host, to the total BTU value of all
useful steam and electricity produced by the facility during the same
period.
BTUs of steam and electricity
supplied to and used by thermal host =

Total useful BTUs produced by the facility
BTU equivalent values of steam and electricity are computed as follows:

1 kilowatt hour = 3,412 BTUs
1 pound of low pressure steam = 1,000 BTUs

Note: For additional steam BTU value equivalents, use ASME or
NBS/NRC steam tables.

Total usefu! steam and electricity produced by a facility includes that
produced for the host, an electric utility or any other useful purpose.

After computing the exemption, enter the amount from line 38 on Part I,
line 21, to reduce the amount of consideration upon which the tax is
imposed.

Exemption
percentage

Part 11l — Computation of Metropolitan Transportation Tax
(MTA Surcharge)

Line 39 — Enter the total consideration given or contracted to be given
for gas services imported into the MCTD for the period

June 1, 1996, through August 31, 1996. The MCTD includes the counties
of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau,
Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

Line 40 — Enter the MCTD exemption for co-generators. If you qualify
as a co-generation facility, see Part IV below for computation of this

exemption.

Line 42 — The surcharge rate of .7225% shown on this line represents
the tax rate of 4.25% multiplied by the MTA surcharge rate of 17%.

Part IV — Exemption for Co-Generation Faclilities Within The
MCTD

Only a co-generation facility that qualified for the exemption in Part 11
may qualify for this exemption in Part IV. The same formula applies as
described in Part I above. The resulting exemption percentage will be
applied only against the computation of the MTA surcharge since the
statewide exemption computed in Part II has already been applied
against the computation of the tax and state tax surcharge. After
computing this exemption, transfer the amount from Part 1V, line 48, to
Part 111, fine 40, to reduce the amount of consideration upon which the
MTA surcharge is computed.

Privacy Notification
The right of the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance and the
Department of Taxation and Finance to collect and maintain personal
information, including mandatory disclosure of social security numbers in
the manner required by tax regulations, instructions and forms, is found in
Articles 8, 9, 9-A, 13, 19, 27, 32, 33 and 33-A of the Tax Law and 42 USC
405(c)(2)(C)(0).

The Tax Department will use this information primarily to determine and
administer corporate tax liabilities under the Tax Law, for certain tax refund
offsets, and for any other purpose authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may result in civil or criminal
penaities, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information will be maintained by the Director of the Data
Management Services Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8

Room 905, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone (from
New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Need Help?

For information, forms or publications, call the Business Tax
Information Center at 1 800 972-1233. The call is toll free from anywhere
in the U.S. (inciuding Alaska and Hawaii) and Canada. For information,
you can also call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX

(1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call

(518) 438-8581. For forms or publications, you can also call toll free (from
New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York
State, call (518) 438-1073.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m,,
Monday through Friday.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a hearing
or speech impairment and have access to a telecommunications device
for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State tax
questions by calling 1 800 634-2110 toli free from anywhere in the U.S.
(including Alaska and Hawaii) and Canada. Hours of operation are from
8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you do not own a TDD,
check with independent living centers or community action programs to
find out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with
Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms
and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons with disabilities,
please call the information numbers listed above.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department,
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.




