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Instructions for Form MT-903
Highway Use Tax Return

MT-903-1 (5/95)

Please keep
for your
records.

Who Must File a Return — If you have been issued a highway use tax
permit or you operate a motor vehicle (as defined in Article 21 of the Highway Use
Tax Law) in New York State, you must file Form MT-803, Highway Use Tax Return,
even if no tax is due. You must attach the enclosed Form MT-903-ATT, Truck
Mileage Tax Schedules. Form MT-903-ATT is reproduced on page 2 for your
records.

Form MT-903 is filed monthly, quarterly or annually, based on the amount of the
previous full year's tax liabitity:

Monthly - more than $4,000

Annually - $250 or less (with Tax Department approval)

Quarterly - all others, including carriers not subject to tax in the

preceding calendar year.

We will send you Forms MT-903 and MT-Q03-ATT in time for filing. If you do nat
receive them, contact the NYS Tax Department at the address or telephone
numbers listed under Need Help? on page 3.

When to File — File your return by the last day of the month following the
end of the reporting period. The date of the U.S. postmark will be considered to be
the filing date for returns and payments.

General Instructions — Form MT-903 has three sections: Section I,
Summary, Section 11, Truck Mileage Tax and Section III, Fuel Use Tax.

If any of the preprinted information on the front of Form MT-903 is incorrect,
complete Form DTF-95, Change of Business Information, and attach it to your
return. If you do not have this form, call toll free (from New York State only)

1 800 462-8100; from areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073. Do not
change any preprinted data or use another form.

If you did not operate a motor vehicle on New York State public highways during
this reporting period, check the box above Section | and enter NONE on line 3. No
further entries are required.

Section I — Summary

First, complete Section II and Section III.

Line 4 - A penalty is imposed at the rate of 10% of the tax due for the first month
or part of a month after the due date of the return, and 1% for each subsequent
month or part of a month in which the tax remains unpaid, up to a maximum
penalty of 30%.

If a return is not filed within 60 days of the due date, the penalty will be determined
as indicated above but will not be less than the lesser of $100 or 100% of the tax
due. In addition, failure to file returns and pay any tax due may resuit in criminal
penalties under Article 37 of the Tax Law.

Line 5 - Interest is computed at the rate set by the Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance and is compounded daily. It is computed from the day the tax was due
until the day the tax is paid. Interest is a charge for the use of state funds and may
not be waived. For current interest rates or for assistance in the computation of
interest, see Need Help? on page 4.

Section II - Truck Mileage Tax

If no truck mileage tax is due for this period, check the appropriate box in Section

I and enter NONE on line 9. (Be sure to complete Section 111.)

if you did not check box a or b, complete Schedules 1, 2 and 3 on Form

MT-S03-ATT.

Line 7d - Add lines 7a, 7b and 7¢. This is your total truck mileage tax before
the application of any prior highway use tax overpayments.

Line 8 - Enter the amount of any prior highway use tax overpayments. Do not enter
more than the amount on line 7d. You may apply on line 21b any unused portion of
prior highway use tax overpayments against the fuel use tax due, or if no tax is
due, against any truck mileage tax, fuel use tax, penalty or interest that may be
due within two years from the date of the overpayment. For a refund of highway
use tax overpayments, file Form DTF-406, Claim for Refund of Highway Use Tax
Overpayments, separately.

Section III - Fuel Use Tax

See enclosed Form MT-904, Instructions for Computing Fuel Use Tax Liability, for
Section 111 instructions.

Certification

Sign and date the return and enter your official title and telephone number. Only
the taxpayer or an authorized agent may sign the return.

Additionally, if anyone other than an employee, owner, partner or officer of the
business is paid to prepare the return, he or she is required to sign and date the
return and provide his or her mailing address.

Schedules 1, 2 and 3 (Truck Mileage Tax)
Indicate Filing Method

Check the appropriate box (above Schedule 3) to indicate the filing method you
elect(ed) to use to compute the truck mileage tax — the Gross Weight Method or
the Unloaded Weight Method. The two methods are described below in the
instructions for Schedules 1, 2 and 3. If this is the first return filed for the calendar
year, you may use either method; otherwise, you must use the same method that
you used on the first return filed for the calendar year.

You must use the same method for all motor vehicles. The gross weight of a tow
truck does not include the weight of any disabled vehicle it pulls.

Complete Schedules 1, 2 and 3 to report miles traveled by your trucks and tractors
in New York State on which you are reporting and paying the tax. Do not report
bus mileage on Schedules 1, 2 and 3.

Schedule 1 - Include alt miles traveled in New York State other than travel on the
Thruway, and travel by trucks and tractors used almost exclusively in the month to
transport boltwood, logs, pulpwood, wood chips or bulk raw milk, but only if you
operate 3 or fewer such vehicies.

Schedule 2 - Include all miles traveled on the Thruway by trucks and tractors.

Schedule 3 - Include all miles traveled in New York State (except travel on the
Thruway) by your trucks and tractors used almost exclusively in the month to
transport boltwood, logs, pulpwood, wood chips or bulk raw milk, but only if you
operate three or fewer such vehicles.

Almost exclusively means that 90% or more of a motor vehicle’s monthly New York
laden miles, whether operated alone or in combination, are from transporting logs,
boltwood, pulpwood, woodchips or raw unprocessed milk in bulk. If you use a
motor vehicle for more than 10% of the motor vehicle's New York laden miles
during any month for any other purpose, all mileage traveled in New York State
(except travel on the Thruway) by the motor vehicle during the month must be
reported on Schedule 1.

Follow the instructions for Schedules 1, 2 and 3 for the method you will be using.

Gross Weight Method — If you use the gross weight method, you must
use it for every truck and tractor with a gross weight of more than 18,000 pounds
operating on New York State public highways during the reporting period.

You may use either the straight line option or the heaviest weight option for any tax
period of a calendar year in which you use the gross weight method. You must use
the same option for all trucks and tractors required to be included in the return.
The election to use the heaviest weight option is irrevocable for any tax period in
which it has been used.

Gross Weight Method, Straight Line Option — Column (A) - List
the current permit number of each truck and each tractor you operated on New
York State public highways during the reporting period in the following order:

. List all tractors with a gross weight of more than 18,000 pounds. Enter the
permit number of a tractor twice if it operates in New York State both with and
without a trailer, or other attached device.

. List ail trucks with @ gross weight, alone or in combination, of more than 18,000
pounds. Enter the permit number of a truck twice if it operates in New York State
both with and without a trailer, or other attached device and its gross weight,
both alone and in combination, is more than 18,000 pounds.

List tractors and trucks with a gross weight of more than 18,000 pounds on which
you are paying the tax if permits were issued to another carrier. Identify this
group as Motor Vehicles Operated on Permits of Others.

Do not list motor vehicles that incurred no tax; account for them by entering Other

Permitted Motor Vehicles Incurred No Tax.

Also, do not list motor vehicles for which the tax wili be paid by others; account for
them by entering Other Permitted Motor Vehicles Will Be Reported by Others.

n
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Instructions for Schedule 1 — Column (B) - Enter the gross weight
shown on the highway use tax permit for each vehicle in column (A) except:

enter “0” for an unladen tractor that operated alone

enter the gross weight of a truck only, when operated without a trailer {the gross
weight of a truck only is the heaviest weight at which the truck will be operating
on New York public highways when operated without a trailer.)

Column (C) - Enter the total laden nonThruway miles traveled in New York State
by each vehicle in column (A) except for vehicles reported on Schedule 3. Laden
miles are those traveled by a vehicle with a oad or any part of a load.

Column (D) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its gross weight in
column (B) using Table 1, Laden non-Thruway Miles - Tractors and Trucks.
Column (E) - Muitipty column (C) by column (D).

Column (F) - Enter the unloaded weight shown on the highway use tax permit for
each vehicle listed in column (A), except a truck-trailer combination if both were

unloaded (enter the unloaded weight of the truck plus the unloaded weight of the
heaviest trailer drawn by the truck).

Column (G) - Enter the total unladen non-Thruway miles traveled in New York State
by each vehicle listed in column (A) except for vehicles reported on Schedule 3.
Column (H) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its untoaded weight
entered in column (F) using Table 2, Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Tractors, or Table
3, Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Trucks. Use Table 3 for uniaden tractors operating
alone.

Column (I) - Multiply column (G) by column (H).
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-
Taxpayer ID No. (as shown on Form MT-903) TruCK M“
Taxpayer Name (I or perio
. Ke
Period Covered by Return Please
. . -
Schedule 1 - Non-Thruway Miles in New York State Schec
Do not report mileage of vehicles required to be included in Schedule 3.
Laden Unladen L
(A) (B) (C) (D) (E) (F) (G) (H) (1) (J)
Current truck Gross Non-Thruway Rate Tax Unloaded | Non-Thruway Rate Tax Thruway
or tractor weight miles in (C x D) weight miles in (G x H) miles
permit no. New York State New York State
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19..
20.
Totals from
above ——
Totals from attached schedules
for additional vehicles
Totals =
[ Enter this amount here ———  —»
Totals Enter total of columns (E) and (I) on Form MT-903, Enter total of «
Page 1, Section II, 7a. e Page 1, Sectic
Table 1 Laden non-Thruway Miles - Tractors and Trucks Table 2 Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Tractors Table 6 Laden Thruway Miles - Tri
Weight Tax Rate Weight Tax Rate Weight Tax Rate " Weight Tax Rate
18,001 1o 20,000 incusive S0 012 50001 to 52.000 nclusive $o 036 7.001 to 8.500 inclusive s0012
20,001 to 22,000 inclusive 0014  52.001 to 54.000 inclusive 0 038 8.501 10 10.000 inclusive oot Brgadings: o0 ::3“:::?8 0035 &
22,001 10 24.000 inclusive 0016 5400 (o 56 000 inclusive 0 030 10.001 to 12.000 mnclusive oors 55001 16 24.000 mclusive 0 004 54
24,001 10 26,000 inclusive 0018 56.001 10 58 000 inclusive 0 042 12.001 to 14.000 inclusive 0018 2 B0 19 56:000 mclusive 00045 5¢
26.001 to 28,000 inclusive 0019  58.001 (6 60.000 inclusive 0 044 14.001 lo 16.000 inclusive 0019 56001 10 28,000 inclusive 0.00475  5€
28,001 to 30,000 inclusive 0020  60.001 to 62.000 inclusive 0 046 16001 tc 18 000 inclusive 0020 56001 10 30.000 inclusive 0 005 8c
30,001 to 32,000 inclusive 0021  62.001 to 64.000 inclusive 0 048 18.001 and over add $0001 per ton and 50.001 16 32.000 inclusive 000525 6%
3%} to 33; ,000 inclusive 0022  64.001 1o 66.000 inclusive 0051 rachon thereof 35001 10 34 000 melusive 00085 64
to 000 inclusive 0023 66.001 to 68.000 inclusive 0 054 =
36,001 16 38,000 nclusive 0021 AAO0T 10 70 000 nchiave 0 057 Table 3 Unladen non-Thruway Miles 34001 10 36.000 Inclusive 000575 8¢
38,001 to 40,000 inclusive 0 025 70.001 to 72.000 inclusive 0 060 Weight Ta 38001 to 40.000 Inclusive 000625 7¢
40,001 t0 42,000 inclusive 0 026 72001 to 74,000 inclusive 0 065 18.001 10 20.000 inclusve 20,001 10 42.000 inclusive 0.0065 7:
42,001 to 44,000 inclusive 0028 74.001 to 76.000 inclusive 0070 20.001 to 22.000 inclusive 42.001 to 44.000 inclusive 0007 7¢
44,001 to 46,000 inclusive 0030 76.001 to 78.000 inclusive 0 074 22.001 to 24.000 inciusive 44.001 10 46.000 inclusive 0.0075 7¢
46,001 to 48,000 inclusive 0 037 78.001 10 80.000 nclusive G 078 24001 to 26.000 inclusive 46.001 10 48.000 inclusive 0.008 7t
48,001 10 50,000 inclusive © 034 80 001 and over add $0 004 per ton 26 001 to 28 000 inclusive 48.001 10 50.000 inclusive 0.0085 8(

and frachon thercof 28.001 to 30.000 inclusive
30 001 and over add $0 001 per ton and

Rates for Unloaded Weight Method fraction thereot
Rates for Unloaded

Table 4 Trucks Table 5 Traclor_s
Weight  Tax Rate Weight Tax Rate Table 9 Trucks

8.001 to  9.000 inclusive $0 008 4.001 to 5500 inclusive S0 012 Weight Tax Rate
9.001 to 10.000 inclusive 0010 5501 to  7.000 inclusive 0020 8,001 to 9,000 inclusive $0.002
10.001 to 11.000 inclusive 0014 7.001 to 8500 incluswve 0028 9,001 to 10,000 inclusive 0.0025
11.001 to 12.000 inclusive 0016 8.501 to 10.000 inclusive 0036 10,001 to 11,000 inclusive 0.0035
12.001 to 13.000 inclusive 0.018 10.001 to 12.000 inclusive 0 050 11,001 to 12,000 inclusive 0.004
13.001 to 14,000 inclusive 0 020 12,001 and over 0066 12,001 to 13,000 inclusive 0.0045 1
14.001 to 15.000 inclusive 0022 13,001 to 14,000 inclusive 0.005 1
15,001 io 17.500 inclusive 0 024 14,001 to 15,000 inclusive 0.0055
17.561 to 20.000 inclusive 0.028 15,001 to 17,500 inclusive 0.006
20.001 to 22.500 inclusive 0.036 17,501 to 20,000 inclusive 0.007

22 501 to 25.000 inclusive 0 044 20,001 to 22,500 inclusive 0.009
25.001 and over 0 054 22,501 to 25,000 inclusive 0.011

25,001 and over 0.0135
* Tables 1 - 5 reflect the combined truck mileage tax and supplemental tax for
nonThruway miles traveled in New York State.
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eage Tax Schedules
ds beginning in 1995)
ep For Your Records

Indicate filing method - method cannot be changed

during calendar year
[ | Gross Weight Method
] unloaded Weight Method

Jule 2 - Thruway Miles

Schedule 3 - Non-Thruway Miles (not included in Schedule 1)
Report only mileage of vehicles used in hauling certain timber products
or bulk raw milk (see instructions).

aden Unladen Laden Unladen
(K) (L) (M) (N) (0) (P) Q@ (R) (S) (T) V)
Rate Tax Thruway Rate Tax Non-Thruway Rate Tax Non-Thruway Rate Tax
(J x K) miles (M x N) miles in New (PxQ) miles in New (SxT)
York State York State

Enter this amount here ——»

*olumns (L) and (O) on Form MT-903,

n 1, 7b.

ctors and Trucks
Weight
001 tc 52,000 inclusive
001 tc 54,000 inclusive
001 tc 56.000 inclusive
001 to 58.000 inclusive
001 tc 60.000 inclusive 0.011
001 to 62.000 inclusive 00115
001 tc 64.000 inclusive 0.012
001 to 66.000 inclusive 001275
001 to 68.000 inclusive 00135
001 to 70.000 inclusive 0.01425
.001 to 72.000 inclusive 0015
001 toi 74.000 inctusive 0 01625
001 to 76.000 inclusive 0.0175
001 to 78.000 inclusive 0.0185
001 to 80.000 inclusive 0.0195
001 and over add $0.001 per ton
and fraction thereof

Tax Rate
0009
0.0095
0010
00105

Weight Method

Tractors
Tax Rate
$0.003
0.005
0.007
0.009
0.0125
0.0165

Table 10

Weight
3,001 to 5,500 inclusive
3,501 to 7,000 inclusive
001 to 8,500 inclusive
3,501 to 10.000 inclusive
1.001 to 12,000 inclusive
2,001 and over

Table 7 Unladen Thruway Miles - Tractors

Weight Tax Rate
7.001 to  8.500 inclusive $0.003
8.501 to 10.000 inclusive 0.0035
10.001 to 12.000 inclusive 0.004
12.001 to 14,000 inclusive 00045
14,001 to 16,000 inclusive 000475
16,001 to 18.000 inclusive 0.005

18.001 and over add $0 00025 per ton and
fraction thereof

Tabie 8 Unladen Thruway Miles - Trucks

Weight Tax Rate
18.001 to 20.000 inclusive $0 003
20.001 to 22.000 inclusive 00035
22,001 10 24.000 inclusive 0.004
24,001 to 26.000 inclusive 0.0045
26.001 1o 28.000 inclusive 0.00475
28.001 to 30.000 inclusive 0.005

30.001 and over add $0.00025 per ton and
fraction thereof

Enter total of columns (R) and (U) on Form MT-903,
Page 1, Section 11, 7c.

Table 11 Laden non-Thruway Miles - Tractors and Trucks

Enter this amount here —»

Weight Tax Rate Weight Tax Rate
18.001 to 20.000 inclusive $0 006 50.001 to 52.000 inclusive $0.018
20.001 to 22.000 inclusive 0 007 52.001 to 54.000 inclusive 0.019
22.001 to 24.000 inclusive 0 008 54.001 to 56.000 inclusive 0.020
24.001 to 26.000 inclusive 0 009 56.001 to 58.000 inclusive 0.021
26.001 to 28.000 inctusive 0.0095 58.001 to 60.000 inclusive 0.022
28 001 to 30.000 inclusive 0010 60.001 to 62.000 inclusive 0.023
30 001 to 32.000 inclusive 00105 62.001 to 64.000 inclusive 0.024
32.001 to 34.000 inclusive 0011 64.001 to 66.000 inclusive 0.0255
34.001 to 36.000 inclusive 00115 66.001 to 68.000 inclusive 0.027
36 00t to 38.000 inclusive 0012 68.001 to 70.000 inclusive 0.0285
38.001 to 40.000 inclusive 0.0125 70.001 to 72.000 inclusive 0.030
40.001 to 42.000 inclusive 0013 72.001 to 74.000 inclusive 0.0325
42.001 to 44.000 inclusive 0014 74.001 to 76.000 inclusive 0.035
44.001 to 46.000 inclusive 0015 76.001 to 78.000 inclusive 0.037
46.001 to 48.000 inclusive 0016 78.001 1o 80.000 inclusive 0.039
48.001 to 50.000 inclusive 0017 80.001 and over add $0.002 per ton

and fraction thereof
Rates for Unloaded Weight Method
Table 14 Trucks  Table 15 Tractors
Weight Tax Rate Weight Tax Rate
8.001 to  9.000 inclusive $0 004 4.001 to 5.500 inclusive S0 006
9.001 to 10.000 inclusive 0 005 5501 10 7.000 inclusive 0010
10.001 to 11.000 inclusive 0 007 7.001 to 8.500 inclusive 0014
11.001 to 12.000 inclusive 0008 8.501 to 10.000 inciusive 0018
12.001 to 13.000 inclusive 0 009 10.001 to 12.000 nclusive 0 025
13.001 to 14.000 inclusive 0010 12.001 and over 0033
14.001 to 15.0600 inciusve 0011
15.001 1o 17.500 inclusive 0.012
17,501 to 20.000 inclusive 0014
20.001 to 22.500 inclusive 0018
22,501 to 25.000 inclusive 0.022

25.001 and over

a Q27

CONPO AN
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Table 12 Unladen nonThruway Miles - Tractors

Weight
7.001 to 8,500 inclusive
8,501 to 10,000 inclusive
10.001 to 12.000 inclusive
12.001 to 14,000 inclusive
14.001 to 16.000 inclusive
16.001 to 18,000 inclusive

Tax Rate

0.010

18.001 and over add $0.0005 per toﬁ and

fraction thereot

Tabie 13 Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Trucks

Weight
18.001 to 20.000 inclusive
20.001 to 22.000 inclusive
22.001 to 24.000 inclusive
24.001 to 26.000 inclusive
26.001 to 28.000 inclusive
28.001 to 30.000 inclusive

Tax Rate
$0.006
0.007
0.008
0.009
0.0095
0.010

30.00t and over add $0.0005 per ton and

fraction thereof
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Instructions for Schedule 2 — cColumn (J) - Enter the total laden miles
traveled on the Thruway by each vehicle listed in column (A).

Column (K) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its gross weight in
column (B) using Table 6, Laden Thruway Miles - Tractors and Trucks.

Column (L) - Multiply column (J) by column (K).

Column (M) - Enter the total unladen miles traveled on the Thruway by each
vehicle listed in column (A).

Column (N) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its unloaded weight
entered in column (F) using Table 7, Unladen Thruway Miles - Tractors, or Table 8,
Unladen Thruway Miles - Trucks. Use Table 8 for unladen tractors operating alone.

Column (0) - Muitiply column (M) by column (N).

Instructions for Schedule 3 — Column (P) - Enter the total laden non-
Thruway miles traveled in New York State by each vehicle listed in column (A) that
is a truck or tractor used almost exclusively in the month to transport boltwood,
pulpwood, wood chips or bulk raw milk provided you operate 3 or fewer such
vehicles.

Column (Q) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its gross weight in
column (B) using Table 11, Laden non-Thruway Miles - Tractors and Trucks.

Column (R) - Multiply column (P) by column (Q).
Column (S) - Enter the total unladen nonThruway miles traveled in New York State
by each vehicle listed in column (A) that is a truck or tractor used almost

exclusively in the month to transport boltwood, pulpwood, wood chips or bulk raw
milk provided you operate 3 or fewer such vehicles.

Column (T) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its unloaded weight
entered in column (F) using Table 12, Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Tractors, or

Table 13, Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Trucks. Use Table 13 for unladen tractors
operating alone.

Column (U) - Multiply column (S) by column (T).

Gross Weight Method, Heaviest Weight Option — Column (4) -

List the current permit numbers of the trucks and tractors with the heaviest gross
weight and the trucks and tractors with the heaviest unloaded weight that you
operated on New York State public highways during the reporting period. In
determining the heaviest gross weight or the heaviest unloaded weight, take into
account only the trucks, tractors, trailers and other attached devices that were
operated on New York State public highways during the reporting period on which
you are reporting and paying the taxes.

List permit numbers in the following order:

1. The truck with the heaviest gross weight (laden).

2. The tractor with the heaviest gross weight (laden).

3. The truck with the heaviest unloaded weight if different from (1).

4. The uniaden tractor in combination with the heaviest unloaded weight if

different from (2).

The tractor with the heaviest unloaded weight when operated without traiters.

6. The truck-trailer combination with the heaviest gross weight (unloaded weight of
the truck plus the unloaded weight of the heaviest trailer or combination of
trailers drawn by the truck pius the heaviest load carried or drawn).

7. The truck-trailer combination with the heaviest unloaded weight (unloaded
weight of the truck plus the unloaded weight of the heaviest trailer drawn by the
truck) if different from (6).

o

Instructions for Schedule 1 — Column (B) - Enter the gross weight of
the truck with the heaviest gross weight (laden), the tractor with the heaviest gross
weight (laden) and the truck-trailer combination with the heaviest gross weight listed
in column (A). .
Column (C) - Enter the total laden nonThruway miles traveled in New York State
by ail vehicles in each category for which you made an entry in column (B) except
vehicles reported on Scheduie 3.

Column (D) - Determine the rate for each category of vehicle, based on the gross
weight of the vehicle entered in column (B) using Table 1, Laden non-Thruway Miles
- Tractors and Trucks.

Column (E) - Muitiply column (C) by column (D).

Column (F) - Enter the unloaded weight of the truck with the heaviest unloaded
weight, the unladen tractor in combination with the heaviest unloaded weight, the
tractor with the heaviest unloaded weight when operated alone, and the truck-trailer
combination with the heaviest unloaded weight listed in column (A).

Column (G) - Enter the total uniaden nonThruway miles traveled in New York State
by all vehicies in each category for which you made an entry in column (F) except
for vehicles reported on Schedule 3.

Column (H) - Determine the rate for each category of vehicles based on the
unloaded weight entered in column (F) using Table 2, Unladen non-Thruway Miles -
Tractors or Table 3, Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Trucks. Use Table 3 for unladen
tractors operating alone.

Column (I) - Muttiply column (G) by column (H).

Instructions for Schedule 2
Column (J) - Enter the total laden miles traveled on the Thruway by all vehicles in
each cateory for which you made an entry in column (B).

Column (K) - Determine the rate for each category of vehicles based on the gross
weight of the vehicle entered in column (B) using Table 6, Laden Thruway Miles -
Tractors and Trucks.

Column (L) - Multiply column (J) by column (K).

Column (M) - Enter the total unladen miles traveled on the Thruway by all vehicles
in each category for which you made an entry in column (B).

Column (N) - Determine the rate for each cateory of vehicles based on the
unloaded weight entered in column (F) using Table 7, Unladen Thruway Miles -
Tractors, or Table 8, Unladen Thruway Miles - Trucks. Use Table 8 for unladen
tractors operating alone.

Column (O) - Multiply column (M) by column (N).

Instructions for Schedule 3 - Column (P) - Enter the total laden non-
Thruway miles traveled in New York State by all vehicles in each category listed in
column (A) that is a truck or tractor used almost exclusively in the month to
transport boltwood, pulpwood, woodchips or bulk raw milk provided you operate 3
or fewer such vehicles.

Column Q - Determine the rate for each category of vehicle based on its gross
v_,\{eight in column (B) using Table 11, Laden non-Thruway Miles - Tractors and
Tucks.

Column (R) - Multiply column (P) by column (Q)

Column (S) - Enter the total unladen nonThruway miles traveled in New York State
by each category of vehicle listed in column (A) that is a truck or tractor used
almost exclusively in the month to transport boltwood, pulpwood, woodchips or bulk
raw milk provided you operate 3 or fewer such vehicles.

Column (T) - Determine the rate for each category of vehicle based on the
unloaded weight entered in column (F) using Table 12, Unladen non-Thruway Miles
- Tractors, or Table 13, Unladen non-Thruway Miles - Trucks. Use Table 13 for
unladen tractors operating alone.

Column (U) - Multiply column (S) by column (T}

Unloaded Weight Method — if you elect the unloaded weight method,
you must use it for every truck having an unloaded weight of over 8,000 pounds
and every tractor having an unloaded weight of over 4,000 pounds operating on
New York State public highways during the reporting period.

Instructions for Schedule 1 — Column (A) - List the current permit
number of each truck and tractor you operated on New York State public highways
during the reporting period in the following order:

1. Trucks for which you hold permits.

2. Tractors for which you hold permits.

3. Trucks or tractors on which you are paying the tax if permits were issued to
another carrier. Identify this group as Motor Vehicles Operated on Permits of
Others.

Do not list motor vehicles that incurred no tax: account for them by entering Other

Permitted Motor Vehicles Incurred No Tax.

Also, do not list motor vehicles for which the tax will be paid by others; account for
them by entering Other Permitted Motor Vehicles Will Be Reported by Others.

Columns (B) through (E) - Leave blank.

Column (F) - Enter the unloaded weight shown on the highway use tax permit for
each vehicle listed in column (A).

Column (G) - Enter the total nonThruway miles traveled in New York State by each
vehicle listed in column (A) except vehicles reported on Schedule 3. Include all
mileage, whether the vehicle traveled with a load or not.

Column (H) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its unloaded weight
entered in column (F) using Table 4, Trucks, or Table 5, Tractors.

Column (l) - Multiply column (G) by column (H).

Instructions for Schedule 2 — Columns (J) through (L) - Leave blank.

Column (M) - Enter the total miies traveled on the Thruway by each venhicle listed
in column (A).

Column (N) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its unloaded weight
entered in column (F) using Table 9, Trucks, or Table 10, Tractors.

Column (0) - Multiply column (M) by column (N).

Instructions for Schedule 3 — Columns (P) through (R) - Leave blank.

Column (S) - Enter the total nonThruway miles traveled in New York State by each
vehicle listed in column (A) that is a truck or tractor used almost exclusively in the

month to transport boltwood, pulpwood, wood chips or bulk raw milk, provided you

operate 3 or fewer such vehicles.

Column (T) - Determine the rate for each vehicle based on its unloaded weight
entered in column (F) using Table 14, Trucks, or Table 15, Tractors.

Column (U) - Multiply column (S) by column (T).

Carriers Who Are Incorporated

A corporation in the trucking industry may be subject to the franchise tax under
sections 183 and 184 of Article 9 of the Tax Law. However, if it does not qualify as
a trucking corporation it will be subject to Article 9-A of the Tax Law. See
Publication 538, Guide to Highway Use Tax and Other New York State Taxes for

Carriers.
Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside
New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

For information, call the Business Tax Information Center toll free (from the continental U.S.)
1 800 972-1233. You can also call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829)
From areas oulside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that

our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you
have questions about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, please call the information

and assistance numbers listed above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have
access 1o a telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State
tax questions by calling toll free (from the continentat U.S.) 1 800 634-2110. Hours of operation are from
8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, check with independent living
centers or community action programs to find out where machines are available for public use.

if you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Departinent, Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A
Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.



