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Return

General Information

Who Must File

All general business corporations taxable under
Article 9-A, other than New York S corporations,
must file franchise tax returns on either Form
CT-3 or Form CT-4. This includes corporations
organized under New York State law and foreign
corporations (those organized under the laws of
any other state or country) that do business,
employ capital, own or lease property or
maintain an office in New York State.

A general business corporation that has elected
to be treated as an S corporation by filing Form
CT-6, must file either Form CT-3-S or CT-4-S,
New York S Corporation Franchise Tax Return,
instead of Form CT-3 or Form CT-4.

The definition of corporation in Article 9-A of the
Tax Law and in these instructions includes
associations and publicly traded partnerships
which are taxed as corporations under the
Internal Revenue Code. See TSB-M-89(12)C for
further information.

A general business corporation includes all
corporations except:

— banking corporations (Article 32)
— insurance corporations (Article 33)

— transportation and transmission corporations
(Article 9)

— utility companies (Article 9)
— farmers and agricultural cooperatives (Article 9)

— nonstock, not-for-profit corporations (these
may be subject to an unrelated business
income tax) (Article 13).

Who May Use the Short Form

Form CT-4 is a simplified general business
franchise tax return that will meet the filing
needs of most small businesses. You may use
this short form if you meet all of the following:

® You are a qualified small business taxpayer.
A corporation qualifies as a small business
taxpayer if:

Its entire net income (before allocation) is not
more than $290,000; and

The total amount of money and other property
received for stock, as a contribution to capital
and as paid-in surplus, is not more than

$1 million as of the last day of its tax year,;
and

The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504, unless
the group itself would have met the above
criteria if it had filed a combined return.

e Your total tax and state tax surcharge is
$1,000 or less.

® You have no federal adjustment or tax
preference items other than the depreciation
adjustment used to compute the minimum
taxable income base.

® You are not required to make an addition on
Form CT-3, line 8. Additions required on line 8
include optional depreciation, worldwide
income and losses, safe harbor lease
adjustments, addback of certain credits, a
corporation’s pro-rata share of business from
the Insurance Exchange and certain interest
paid by an acquiring corporation.

® You do not have a subtraction on Form CT-3,
line 15, other than the subtraction allowed on
Form CT-4, line 7b. Subtractions required on
line 15 include optional depreciation, receipts
from the operation of school buses, wages
disallowed in computation of federal jobs
credit, safe harbor lease adjustments and the
pro-rata share of business from the Insurance
Exchange.

You must use Form CT-3 if your total franchise
tax and state tax surcharge is greater than
$1,000 or you do not meet all of the above
conditions as a small business taxpayer. Even if
you do meet the above qualifications, you must
file Form CT-3 if any of the following conditions
exist:

e You claim a deduction for a net operating loss,
capital loss or optional depreciation.

® You claim any tax credits. Tax credits include
the eligible business facility tax credit,
investment tax credit, employment incentive
tax credit, special additional mortgage
recording tax credit, research and
development tax credit carryover, economic
development zone credits, servicing mortgage
credit and minimum tax credit.

® You are a real estate investment trust, a
taxable domestic international sales
corporation (DISC) or a stockholder in a DISC
(see Special Instructions for DISCs in
Form CT-3-I).

® You have business income or capital
attributable to sources outside New York
State, and you want to allocate this income
and capital.

® You have investment income or capital and
you want to allocate.

® You have a subsidiary (another corporation of
which you own more than half of its voting
stock).

¢ You are a new small business corporation
(first or second year) and you want to claim
an exemption from the tax based on business
and investment capital (see the instructions for
Form CT-3, line 69).

® You were involved in a merger, acquisition, or
consolidation in the current year.

® You have any adjustments (except for
depreciation) or tax preference items used to
compute the minimum taxable income base.

® You are required to make an addition on Form
CT-3, line 8 (see listing above).

® You have a subtraction on Form CT-3, line 15,
other than the subtraction allowed on Form
CT-4, line 7b (see listing above).

Unrequested Refunds to be
Credited Forward

If you overpay your tax, you will not
automatically receive a refund. Instead, we will
credit your overpayment to the following tax year,
unless you request a refund on your return. We
will notify you that the overpayment has been
credited. You may then claim a refund of the
overpayment before the original due date of the
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When and Where to File

File your return within 22 months after the end
of your reporting period. If you are reporting for
the 1995 calendar year, file your return on or
before March 15, 1996.

Mail returns to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT

PO BOX 1909

ALBANY NY 12201-1909

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for a
six-month extension of time by filing Form CT-5.

You may be subject to other business taxes
such as:

Sales and Use Tax - If you sell goods and
services delivered in New York State, you may
have to collect and pay the New York State
sales and use tax.

Employer’s Withholding Tax - If you hire
anyone to help operate your business in New
York State, you must withhold and remit New
York State (and New York City and Yonkers, if
applicable) income taxes from the wages of your
employees.

Motor Fuel Tax - Motor fuel distributors and
diesel motor fuel distributors or users in New
York State must register with the Tax
Department and file the appropriate tax returns.

Highway Use Tax - Any motor vehicle having a
maximum gross weight, alone or in combination
with another motor vehicle, of more than 18,000
Ibs. is subject to this tax.

Tax on Utility Services (Article 9, section
186-a) - A corporation not supervised by the
New York State Department of Public Service
that engages in the sale or furnishing of gas,
electricity, steam, water or refrigeration, must pay
a tax of 3.5% on its gross operating income.

Tax on Telecommunication Services (Article
9, section 186-e) - A corporation that also
provides telecommunication services, must file a
return under section 186-e, excise tax on
telecommunication services, and pay a tax of
3.5% on its gross receipts from the provision of
telecommunication services. For further
information see Form CT-186-E-1, Instructions for
Form CT-186-E, Telecommunications Tax Return
and Utility Services Tax Return.

Tax on Importers of Natural Gas (Article 9,

‘section 189) imposes a tax on gas importers

who import, or cause to be imported, gas for
their own use. The tax is computed at the rate of
4'4% of the consideration given for the gas.
(See Form CT-189, Form CT-189-WR and
TSB-M-91(5)C for more information.)

Independently Procured Insurance Tax - If you
purchase or renew a taxable insurance contract
from an insurer who is not authorized to transact
business in New York State (i.e., the insurer
does not have a Certificate of Authority from the
Superintendent of Insurance), you must pay a
tax of 3.6% of the premium. (See Form CT-33-D
or TSB-M-90(9)C for more information.)

For more information contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau. See page 6 for the address
and telephone numbers.
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Tax Rates

The current tax rates are:
Entire netincome base .............. .09

Entire net income base for qualified
small business taxpayers with entire net

income base of $200,000 or less ..... .08
Capitalbase ....................... 00178
Minimum taxable income base ........ .035

The fixed dollar
minimum tax is:

For a corporation
with a gross payrol! of:

— $6,250,000 or more .......... $1,500
— Less than $6,250,000

but more than $1,000,000 ..... $425
— $1,000,0000rless ........... $325

However, if your gross payroll,

total receipts and average

value of gross assets are

each $1,000orless .......... $800

Qualified cooperative housing capital
base ...... ...l .0004

State Tax Surcharge
(for periods ending after
June 30, 1994, and before
July 1,1995) .. ................ 12%2% (.125)

(for periods ending after
June 30, 1995, and before
July 1,1996) ................... 7% (.075)

(for periods ending after
June 30,1996, and before
July 1,1987) ... ... 2% (.025)

Gross Payroll for Short Periods - Annualize
gross payroll for tax periods of less than 12
months by dividing the amount of gross payroll
by the number of months in the short period and
multiplying the result by 12.

The fixed dollar minimum tax and maintenance
fee may be reduced for short periods:
Period
A period of not more

than6months .................... 50%

A period of more than
6 months but not more than
9months ........................ 25%

Reduction

How to Avoid an Erroneous
Assessment Based on Fixed
Dollar Minimum Tax Rates

The fixed dollar minimum tax rate has four
levels. The amount of the tax ranges from $325
to $1,500.

Your fixed dollar minimum tax rate is determined
by the corporation’s gross payroll, total receipts
and average value of gross assets.

To avoid an erroneous assessment or a delay in
your refund, you must enter an amount in each
of the three boxes provided on Form CT-4, line
22, If you do not have assets, payroll or receipts,
enter “0"” in the appropriate boxes. Failure to
make an entry in each box will result in an
assessment of tax or reduction of your refund.

Cooperative Housing Corporation

A qualified cooperative housing corporation may
use a reduced tax rate of .0004 when computing
its tax on the capital base. A corporation having
only one class of stock which entitles the
shareholder to live in a house or an apartment in
a building owned or leased by a corporation may
be a cooperative housing corporation. For a
complete definition see IRC section 216 or
NYCCR 3-1.2.

Metropolitan Transportation
Business Tax (MTA Surcharge)

Any corporation taxable under Article 9-A
(except a New York S corporation) that does
business, employs capital, owns or leases
property or maintains an office in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District
(MCTD) must file Form CT-3M/4M and pay a
metropolitan transportation business tax
surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan
Transportation Authority region (MTA surcharge).
The MCTD includes the counties of New York,
Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess,
Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and
Westchester.

Foreign Corporations — Annual

Maintenance Fee and License Fee

A corporation organized outside of New York
State that is authorized to do business in New
York must pay an annuai maintenance fee of
$300. This fee may be claimed as a credit
against tax due under Article 9-A. Full payment
of the franchise tax, state tax surcharge and
MTA surcharge due will satisfy the maintenance
fee requirement. It is not necessary to file a
separate return. If you claim nontaxability in New
York State because you did not employ capital,
maintain an office, own or lease property or
otherwise do business in New York State, you
must file Form CT-245 and pay the maintenance
fee.

A foreign corporation must also pay a license fee
based on its issued capital stock. For details see
Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License Fee
Report.

Federal Changes to
Corporate Taxable Income

You must report any corrections made by the
Internal Revenue Service in taxable income
previously reported for any year, including
changes based on the renegotiation of a
government contract. Use Form CT-3360.

Issuer’s Allocation Percentage

Your issuer’s allocation percentage is used by
corporate shareholders to compute their
corporate franchise tax. It represents the amount
of your capital employed within New York State
compared to the total amount of capital
employed everywhere. The issuer’s allocation
percentage for a corporation filing Form CT-4 is
100%.

Interest and Penalties

You must pay the entire tax, state tax surcharge
and MTA surcharge, if applicable, on or before
the original due date of the return to avoid a late
payment charge. An extension of time for filing
the tax return does not extend the due date for
payment of tax.

Late Payment - Interest

If you do not pay the tax, state tax surcharge
and MTA surcharge, if applicable, on or before
the due date, you must pay interest on the
amount of the underpayment from the due date
to the date paid. Interest is always due, without
any exceptions, on any underpayment of tax.
Interest is compounded daily. You may call the
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the current
interest rate or to have the interest computed for
you. From New York State call 1 800 CALL TAX
(1 800 225-5829); from areas outside New York
State, call (518) 438-8581.

Late Filing - Additional Charges

Additional charges for late filing and late
payment are computed on the amount of
franchise tax, state tax surcharge and MTA
surcharge, if applicable, less any payment made

on or before the due date.
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A If you do not file a return when due or if the
request for extension is invalid, add to the
franchise tax 5% per month, up to a total of
25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B If you do not file a return within 60 days of the
due date, the addition to franchise tax in item
A above cannot be less than the smaller of
$100 or 100% of the amount required to be
shown as tax (section 1085 (a)(1}(B)).

C It you fail to pay the franchise tax shown on a
return, add to the tax 2% per month, up to a
total of 25% (section 1085 (a)(2)).

D The total of the additional charges in items A
and C may not exceed 5% for any one month
except as provided for in item B (section 1085

(a).

If you think you are not liable for these additional
charges, attach a statement to your return
explaining the delay in filing, payment, or both
(section 1085).

Penalty for Understating Tax

If the tax you report is understated by 10% or
$5,000, whichever is greater, you will have to
pay a penalty of 10% of the amount of
understated tax. You can reduce the amount on
which you pay penalty by subtracting any part
for which (1) there is or was substantial authority
for the way you treated it, or (2) there is
adequate disclosure on the return or in an
attached statement (see Article 27, section
1085(k)).

Civil and Criminal Penalties

The Omnibus Tax Equity and Enforcement Act
imposes strong civil and criminal penalties for
negligence or fraud. For more information about
this act contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
(address and telephone numbers are on page 6
under Need Help).

Privacy Notification
The right of the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance
and the Department of Taxation and Finance to collect
and maintain personal information, including mandatory
disclosure of social security numbers in the manner
required by tax regulations, instructions and forms, is
found in Articles 8, 9, 9-A, 13, 19, 27, 32, 33 and 33-A
of the Tax Law and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

The Tax Department will use this information primarily
to determine and administer corporate tax liabilities
under the Tax Law, for certain tax refund offsets, and
for any other purpose authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may result in
civil or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information will be maintained by the Director of
the Data Management Services Bureau, NYS Tax
Dcpartment, Building 8 Room 905, W A Harriman
Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone(from New York
State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from
areas outside New York State call (518) 438-8581.

Identifying Information

To assist in processing your corporation tax
forms as quickly and efficiently as possible, it is
important that we have the necessary identifying
information from your preprinted label. Keep a
record of the label information for future use.
Please be certain to include your employer
identification number and file number on each
corporation tax form mailed. This will facilitate
processing of your return to the correct account.
Without this information, we may not be able to
process your return.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm,
make sure they use the mailing label or label
information when completing all forms prepared
for you.
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Change of Address

If your address has changed, enter your new
address on the label and check the box next to
the name and address block at the top of your
corporation tax return. Do not check this box for
any change of business information other than
address. You must still attach the preprinted
label with the old address to enable us to update
your account.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business
name, identification number, mailing address,
business address, telephone number or owner/
officer information and you have not previously
notified us, complete Form DTF-95, Change of
Business Information. If you don't have a form,
call toll free (from New York State only)

1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York
State, call (518) 438-1073 to request one.

Final Return

Check the Final Return box on page 1 of the
return, under the form number, only if filing a
final return for one of the following reasons:

— Voluntary Dissolution - New York Corporation
(New York Business Corporation Law
sections 1001 through 1003)

— Surrender of Authority by a Foreign
Corporation (New York Business Corporation
Law section 1310)

— Merger or CGonsolidation (New York Business
Corporation Law sections 904, 905 and 907)

— Disposition of Assets - New York Corporation
(New York Business Corporation Law section
909(d))

— Termination of Existence - Foreign
Corporation (New York Business Corporation
Law section 1311)

— Liquidation Under Internal Revenue Code
(IRC sections 332, 333, 334 and 337).

See Voluntary Dissolution and Surrender of
Authority and Liability for Taxes and Fees below
and also Publication 110, Information and
Instructions for Termination of Business
Corporations, for the proper procedures to follow
in terminating your business.

In the case of a merger or consolidation, the
final return check box would only be used by the
non-surviving corporation.

The return will be treated as a final return if your
business is terminated with the Department of
State and the return covers the tax period from
the last return filed to the date of the
termination.

Foreign authorized corporations see Foreign
Corporation Annual Maintenance Fee and
License Fee on page 2 of these instructions, or
refer to Form CT-245 if you are disclaiming tax
liability but want to continue to be authorized to
do business in New York State.

Do not check the box if you are only changing
the type of return that you file (i.e., CT-3 to
CT-3-S, CT-4 to CT-3).

Voluntary Dissolution and
Surrender of Authority and
Liability for Taxes and Fees

A domestic corporation (incorporated in New
York State) is generally liable for corporate
franchise taxes for each fiscal or calendar year,
or part thereof, during which it is incorporated,
regardless of whether it carries on any activity.
For example, a person who intends to go into
business organizes a new corporation under the
New York Business Corporation L aw for the

purpose of operating the new business as a
corporation. However, the business is never
started and the corporation never conducts any
business. Under the circumstances, the
corporation would usually be liable for franchise
taxes for each taxable year until it is formally
dissolved with the Department of State.

A foreign corporation (incorporated outside of
New York State) is liable for franchise taxes
during the period in which it does business,
employs capital, owns or leases property or
maintains an office in New York. In addition, a
foreign corporation which is authorized to do
business in New York is also liable for payments
of its annual maintenance fee until such time as
it surrenders with the Department of State its
authority to do business, regardless of whether it
does business, employs capital, owns or leases
property or maintains an office in the state. The
maintenance fee may be taken as a credit
against the franchise tax.

In order to voluntarily dissolve a domestic
corporation or surrender the authority of a
foreign corporation which is authorized to do
business in this state, the Tax Law requires the
consent of the Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance. Such consent wili be given only if the
commissioner ascertains that all fees, franchise
taxes, and other taxes (e.g., sales tax) imposed
under the Tax Law which have accrued against
the corporation have been paid. The procedure
for obtaining such a consent and the forms that
are required to be filed with this department are
set forth in Publication 110. You can request this
publication by calling the Business Tax
Information Center at 1 800 972-1233. The call
is toll free from anywhere in the U.S. (including
Alaska and Hawaii) and Canada. You can also
call toll free (from New York State only)

1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Whole Dollar Amounts

Amounts may be shown in whole dollars rather
than dollars and cents. Round an amount from
50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher
dollar and round any amount less than 50 cents
to the next lower dollar. If you round to the
nearest dollar, round for all amounts.

Processible Forms

Returns must be prepared in a manner that will
permit their routine handling and processing.
Interest will not be paid on an overpayment of
taxes until the return is in a processible form.

Use of Reproduced Forms and
Computerized Returns

Photocopies of returns are acceptable if they are
of good quality and are signed in the proper
place. Computer-produced corporation tax
returns will be accepted if you have received
permission to file them and they meet our
specifications. For more information, see
Publication 76, Specifications for Reproduction of
New York State Corporation Tax Forms. For
details write to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Do You Need a Tax Packet?

If you use a paid preparer, or if you use
computer software to prepare your return or if for
any other reason you do not not need a tax
packet mailed to you for next year's taxes,
please check the box above the certification and
signature. When you check the box, we witl send
you a mailing label that you or whoever prepares
your return should use on your 1996 return. By
checking this box, you will help us reduce
printing and mailing costs. 353

Signature

The return must be certified by the president,
vice president, treasurer, assistant treasurer,
chief accounting officer or other officer
authorized by the taxpayer.

The return of an association, publicly traded
partnership or business conducted by a trustee
or trustees must be signed by a person
authorized to act for the association, publicly
traded partnership or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepares the
return, the signature of the person and the
name, address and ID number of the firm must
be included.

Your Rights Under the Tax Law

The taxpayer bill of rights requires, in part, that
the Tax Department advise you, in writing, of
your rights and obligations during an audit, when
appealing a departmental decision and when
your appeal rights have been exhausted and you
need to understand enforcement capabilities
available to the department to obtain payment.
For a complete copy of the information contained
in all of these statements, you may request
Publication 131, Your Rights and Obligations
Under the Tax Law, by calling toll free (from New
York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

Resolving Tax Problems

The best ways to avoid tax problems are to keep
accurate tax records and to stay on top of
current tax requirements.

We have free publications you can order and
toll-free numbers you can call for answers to
your specific questions.

Most tax problems can be resolved informally. If
you receive a tax deficiency notice that you think
is in error, promptly call the number listed on the
notice.

Only a relative handful of tax problems fail to be
resolved by informal means. However, if you are
issued a Notice of Deficiency or a refund denial
and you fecl that the Tax Department has made
a mistake, you still have a number of options
available to you:

® You can request a conciliation conference
through the Bureau of Conciliation and
Mediation Services. The conference is
conducted informally by a conferee who
issues an order that is binding on the Tax
Department but not on you (you can appeal
by filing a petition for a formal hearing, as
explained below). To set up a conference, get
Form CMS-1, Request for Conciliation
Conference, by calling toll free 1 800
462-8100 or by writing to the Bureau of
Gonciliation and Mediation Services, NYS Tax
Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany
NY 12227.

® You can request a small claims hearing
before an impartial presiding officer if the
disputed amount is within certain dollar
limitations set by the Rules of Practice and
Procedure. The presiding officer's decision is
final, but at any time before the end of the
small claims hearing, you can request a
transfer to a formal hearing before an
administrative law judge. A copy of the Rules
of Practice and Procedure will be sent to you
when you request a petition form as explained
below.

® You can file a petition for a tax appeals
hearing. The hearing is held before an
administrative law judge, and both you and the
Tax Department may appeal the judge’s
decision to the Tax Appeals Tribunal. The Tax
Department cannot seek a review of the
Tribunal's decision, but you can by instituting
an Article 78 proceeding in the Appellate



Page 4 CT-4-I (1995)

Line Instructions for Form CT-4

Division of the State Supreme Court. You can
get the petition forms by writing to the Division
of Tax Appeals, 500 Federal Street 4th Floor,
Troy NY 12180-2893.

Regardless of which appeal option you
exercise, you may appear on your own behalf
or you may have an authorized representative
present your case for review. An authorized
representative must have Power of Attorney
from you in order to appear on your behalf.
Further, your representative must be in
compliance with the Ethics in Government Act
which restricts appearances by former
department employees. A summary of these
restrictions is included on the back of Form
DTF-14.1, Power of Attorney (Corporate).

Line Instructions for
Form CT-4

Reporting Period

Your tax year for New York State must be the
same as your federal tax year. Use this 1995 tax
return if you are a 1995 calendar year taxpayer,
or if you have a fiscal period beginning in 1995
and ending in 1996 or a short period beginning
in 1995 and ending before December 31, 1996.
If you are a calendar year filer, check the box in
the upper right corner on the front of the form. If
you are a fiscal year filer, complete the
beginning and ending tax period boxes in the
upper right corner on the front of the form.

Principal Business Activity

Enter the one activity that accounts for the
largest percentage of your total income. State
the broad field of business activity as well as the
specific product or service (e.g., mining copper,
wholesale meat, retail men’s apparel, real estate
rental). Be sure to enter the business activity
code number from your federal return.

Line A — Payment

Line A — After completing your return, enter
the amount of your payment enclosed. This
should be the full amount shown on line 30c.

Negative amounts, if any, should be shown in
parentheses.

Lines 1-9
Computation of Entire Net Income Base

Line 1 — Enter the corporation’s federal taxable

income (before net operating loss and special

deductions).

® If you file federal Form 1120, use the amount
from line 28.

® |f you file federal Form 1120-A, use the
amount from line 24.

o If you file federal Form 1120-H, use the
amount from line 19.

® [f you are an S corporation filing federal Form
1120S but you have not made an election to
be treated as a New York State S corporation,
you must determine the amount you would
have had to report as federal taxable income,
before net operating loss and special
deductions, were you not a federal S
corporation. Attach a separate sheet showing
how you determined this amount. In general,
the items affected are:

Dividends - Form 1120, tine 4

Interest - Form 1120, line 5

Gross rent - Form 1120, line 6

Gross royalties - Form 1120, line 7 -

Capital gain net income - Form 1120, line 8

Contributions - Form 1120, line 19
Line 2 — Enter all interest received or accrued
from federal, state, municipal and other
obligations that was exempt from federal tax and
not included on line 1. You may deduct from this

amount any expenses attributable to that interest
but denied deductibility under IRC section 265.
Attach a list of items included on this line.

Line 3 — Enter the amount deducted on your
federal return for New York taxes imposed under
Article 9, section 183, 183a, 184, 184a, Articles
9-A and 32. This includes the state tax
surcharge and MTA surcharge. However, do not
include New York City taxes. Include the amount
deducted for taxes paid or accrued to other US
states, their political subdivisions and the District
of Columbia if they are on or are measured by
profits or income, or include profits or income as
a measure, including taxes expressly in lieu of
the foregoing.

Line 4 — Enter the amount deducted in
computing federal taxable income for interest on
indebtedness paid to a corporate stockholder
owning more than 50% of your issued and
outstanding capital stock. If you do not make this
entry, this indebtedness will not constitute
subsidiary capital in the hands of the corporate
stockholder, and the parent corporation will not
be allowed to exclude the interest from its entire
net income as income from subsidiary capital.

Line 5 — Before making any entry on this line,
complete Form CT-399, Depreciation Adjustment
Schedule. Enter from Form CT-399, line 4, the
amount of your federal deduction that must be
added back to federal taxable income, or if you
disposed of property this year use the amount
from line 12, column A (enter your recomputed
deduction on line 7a).

Line 7a — In place of the disallowed ACRS and
MACRS deduction entered on line 5, you may
compute a depreciation deduction by any
method permitted under IRC section 167 (as if it
would have applied to property placed in service
on December 31, 1980). For more information
see Form CT-399, Depreciation Adjustment
Schedule. Enter the amount from Form CT-399,
line 5, column 1, or if you have disposed of
property this year, use the amount from line 12,
column B, and attach the form.

Line 7b — Include any refund or credit of a tax
imposed under Article 9-A or Article 32 of the
Tax Law for which tax no exclusion or deduction
was allowed in determining entire net income for
any prior year, or any refund or credit of a tax
imposed under section 183, 183a, 184, or 184a
of the Tax Law. Do not include on this line any
refund or credit of tax that was used to offset an
addition of tax on line 3. Do not include any
refund or credit of New York City taxes.

Lines 10-17
Computation of Capital Base

To determine the value of your assets for the
capital base computation, you must include real
property and marketable securities at fair market
value. All other property must be included at the
value shown on your books in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles. Use
lines 10 through 14 to adjust the value of the
assets you reported on your federal return.

On lines 10 through 15, enter the values at the
beginning of the year in column A and at the
end of the year in column B. Enter the average
value in column C. Average value is generally
computed quarterly. However, you may use a
more frequent basis such as monthly, weekly or
daily. If your usual accounting practice does not
permit a quarterly or more frequent computation
of the average value of assets, you may use a
semiannual or annual computation if no
distortion of average value results.

Line 10 — Enter your total assets from the
balance sheet of your federal tax return.

Line 13 — Enter the fair market value of real
property and marketable securities included on
line 11. The fair market value of an asset is the
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price (without deduction of an encumbrance
whether or not the taxpayer is personally liable)
at which a willing seller will sell and a willing
purchaser will buy.

You can generally find the fair market value of
marketable securities from price quotes in
financial newspapers. To determine the fair
market value of real property, you might consider
recent sales of similar property or insurance
vah_Je if fully insured, disregarding any
co-insurance provisions.

Line 15 — Enter the amount of all liabilities
(both long and short term) when computing the
capital base. Use the same method of averaging
used to determine average value of assets.

Line 18-21
Computation of Minimum
Taxable Income Base

To calculate your minimum taxable income, you
must add to entire net income three federal tax
preference items, add or subtract certain federal
adjustments used to compute federal alternative
minimum taxable income (federal Form 4626)
and add the New York State net operating loss
deduction and subtract the alternative net
operating loss deduction.

You must determine a minimum taxable income
base and tax whether or not you file federal
Form 4626, Alternative Minimum Tax -
Corporations.

If you have any federal tax preference items or
any federal adjustments other than
depreciation, or if you are claiming a net
operating loss deduction or are calculating an
alternative net operating loss deduction (see
Form CT-3-1, line 56b for definition of this term),
use Forms CT-3 and CT-3-ATT to compute your
tax.

The tax preference items are depletion and
intangible drilling costs, and the carryover of
appreciated property charitable deduction.

The federal adjustments are:

— depreciation of tangible property placed in
service after 1986

— amortization of mining exploration and
development costs paid or incurred after
1986

— amortization of circulation expenditures paid
or incurred after 1986 (personal holding
companies only)

— basis adjustments in determining gain or loss
from sale or exchange of property

— long term contracts entered into after 2/28/86
— instaliment sales of certain property

— merchant marine capital construction funds
— passive activity loss.

Line 19 — Enter “0” on this line if you did not
make a depreciation deduction when determining
your federal taxable income or if your federal
depreciation deduction was based on property
placed in service before 1987.

Otherwise, complete Form CT-399, lines 13, 14
and 15, columns A through E. Add the total of
column D (federal depreciation deduction) to
your entire net income (Form CT-4, line 8) and
multiply the result by .035. If the result is less
than the amount of tax computed on your entire
net income on line 9 (ENI times .08) enter zero
on this line and attach a copy of Form CT-399.

If you must complete Form CT-399, enter the
information required on lines 13, 14 and 15 for
every item of tangible property placed in service
after 1986. Column E requires you to recompute
the depreciation deduction for each item of
property pursuant to the rules set forth in IRC
section 56(a)(1). Use the instructions for federal
Form 4626, line 2a, to assist you in this
computation.
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Line 21 — The rate of tax on the minimum
taxable income base is 3'2% (.035) for tax years
beginning in 1995. Multiply the amount on line
20 by 3'2% (.035).

Line 22
Fixed Dollar Minimum Tax

Line 22 — The fixed dollar minimum tax is
determined by the corporation’s gross payroll,
total receipts and average value of gross assets.
Enter your gross payroll, total receipts and gross
assets in the appropriate boxes. Use the tax
rates on page one of these instructions to
determine your minimum tax.

You must enter an amount in each of the three
boxes provided on Form CT-4, line 22. If you do
not have gross assets, gross payroll or total
receipts enter "0" in the appropriate boxes.
Gross payroll includes the total wages, salaries
and other personal service compensation of all
employees including general executive officers
wherever located. For a period of less than 12
months, annualize gross payroll by dividing it by
the number of months in the short period and
multiplying the result by 12.

Use the total amounts shown on federal Form
1120 or Form 1120-A, lines 12 and 13, including
any employment credits deducted on line 13,
plus any wages included in the cost of goods
sold, Form 1120, Schedule A, line 3.

If your gross payroll is $6,250,000 or more, you
must file Form CT-3.

Total receipts inciudes receipts from the sales
of tangible personal property, the performance of
services, rentals, royalties, receipts from the
sales of rights for closed circuit and cable
television transmissions and all other business
receipts received in the regular course of
business. These items can be found on federal
Form 1120 or 1120-A, Income Section, lines 1c,
6, 7, and 10.

Do not include any dividends, nonbusiness
interest or business or investment gains or
losses.

Average value of gross assets is the average
fair market value of real property and marketable
securities plus all other assets at the value
shown on your books in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles. Use
the amount from Form CT-4, line 14, column C.

Lines 23-26
Computation of Tax

Line 23 — Your franchise tax is the amount
from line 9, 17, 21 or line 22, whichever is
largest. If line 9, line 21 or line 22 is the largest
enter that amount on line 23. If line 17 is the
largest, use the following worksheet to determine
the line 23 amount.

Worksheet

If the tax based on capital (line 17) is larger than
the tax based on entire net income (line 9) only
because of the 8% (.08) tax rate, then the lower
amount becomes the franchise tax due. Use this
worksheet to determine if this exception applies
to you.

A. Tax on capital base

fromline 17 ............. [_____—l

B. ENI base from line 8
$__

xos L]
C. ENI base from line 8
$ L 1

% .09

If line A is the largest amount, enter that amount
on line 23.

If line C is the largest amount, enter the line B
amount on line 23.

The franchise tax due cannot be less than the
fixed dollar minimum on line 22.

Computation of State Tax Surcharge

Line 24 — Enter the appropriate state tax
surcharge rate from the chart below in the box
on line 24 and compute your state tax surcharge
on the worksheet below.

The state tax surcharge rates are:
Maximum number

For Tax Years Ending of months
After and Before  surcharge imposed
12%% 6/30/94 7/1/95 12
7%% 6/30/95 7/1/96 12
2%% 6/30/96 71/97 12

— Worksheet for State Tax Surcharge —

A. State tax surcharge rate which applies .
to this return (see chart above) . .. ... %

B. Maximum number of months for which
the state tax surcharge percentage on
line A is imposed (see chart abovej . . .

C. Number of months for which the state
tax surcharge percentage on line A has
beenpaid ...................... mmae——

D. Number of months still subject to the
state tax surcharge percentage on
line A (subtract line C from line B) . . . .

- If line D is zero, stop here and enter
0" on line 24 of the return.

E. Number of months covered by this
return . ... —

- If line E is less than or equal to line
D, stop here and multiply the
franchise tax on line 23 by the state
tax surcharge percentage on line A.
Enter this amount on line 24 of the
return.

- I line E is more than line D, complete
lines F through 1.

F. Proration percentage (divide
lineDbyE) ...............

G. Franchise tax from line 23 of

thereturn ................. ———

H. Franchise tax subject to the
state tax surcharge (multiply
line GbylineF)............

1. State tax surcharge after
proration (multiply line H by
the state tax surcharge rate on
line A. Enter this amount on
line 24 of the return) . .......

Line 26 — Enter the total of all prepayments
made for the period covered by this return. If you
have filed an application for extension and you
entered an amount on line 5 of that form
(mandatory 25% installment) do not use this
form; use Form CT-3.

Line 28 and 29 — if you are not filing this
return on time, you must pay interest and
additional charges. See Interest and Penalties on
page 2.

" Line 30b — If you want to make a gift to the

wildlife fund, enter the amount of your gift on this
line. The amount you give must be in whole
dollars. Your gift will increase your payment or
reduce your overpayment. Also, you cannot
change the amount of your gift after you file your
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Lines 30c and 31 — Add lines 25, 28, 29 and
30b. !f line 26 is less than the total, subtract line
26 from that total. Enter the difference on line
30c. This is your balance due and should
represent the total amount of franchise tax and
state tax surcharge due, interest, penalties and
the gift to wildlife. Enter your payment on line A
of page 1.

If line 26 is more than the total of lines 25, 28,
29 and 30b, subtract the total from line 26. Enter
the difference on line 31 as an overpayment.

Lines 32 - 35 — You may apply an
overpayment as a credit to your next franchise
tax period or to your MTA surcharge for this
period or you may have it refunded. Indicate on
lines 32 through 35 the amounts you wish
transferred as credits or refunded. If you are
requesting a refund on line 35, check the box on
the front of your return, just above line A.

Line 36 — Metropolitan Transportation
Business Tax (MTA surcharge) — If you do not
do business, employ capital, own or lease
property or maintain an office in the Metropolitan
Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) you
must disclaim liability for the MTA surcharge by
answering No. See page 2 for the list of counties
in the MCTD.

General Information Required

Lines 39 and 40 — Real Property Gains Tax
Every corporation with an interest in real
property located in New York State must keep a
record of the transfer of its stock and report
annually every transfer of a controlling interest in
the stock and any other information that may be
required to enforce this tax (Article 31-B, section
1449-a).

Controlling interest is either 50% or more of the
total combined voting power of all classes of
stock or 50% or more of the capital, profits or
beneficial interest in that voting stock.

. Answer both questions (lines 39 and 40). If you

answer Yes to both questions, attach a separate
sheet providing the following information:

— Name, address and identification number of
the new controlling stockholder (use social
security number for individuals and federal
employer identification number for
corporations).

— Date transfer was made.
— Location of real property.

— Whether the corporation is a cooperative
housing corporation.

Line 46 — If you deducted from your entire net
income interest payments you made to a
shareholder owning directly or indirectly,
individually or in the aggregate, more than 50%
of your issued capital stock, complete line 46
(section 211.2-a). If you do not provide this
information, you will have to pay a penalty of
$500 (section 1085(n)).

Line 47 — The law sometimes disallows the
benefits of tax credits and net operating losses
when a merger, acquisition or consolidation
occurs. It also denies subsidiary capital
treatment and disallows the deduction of a
portion of your interest expense. Form CT-3 and
Form CT-244 must be used to report these
changes. For more information see the
instructions for Form CT-3 and TSB-M-89(17)C.

Lines 48 - 53 — Prepayments - Enter all
prepayments you have made on lines 48 through
52 and total them on line 53. Also enter the total
amount of prepayments on line 26.
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Imagine hundreds of creatures that sprint, swim, fly or slither. That is exactly how
diverse New York’s fish and wildlife species are. You, too, can take an active part
in ensuring the fish and wildlife diversity in New York State.

Picture yourself involved in learning about the wildlife in New York State,
observing various fish and wildlife resources and helping to restore and manage
them to benefit both wildlife and people.

This can be done when you Return a Gift to Wildlife on your New York State tax
form. Also, remind your tax preparer that you wish to contribute to this
worthwhile program. Remember to Return a Gift to Wildlife, the program
dedicated to conserving New York’s fish and wildlife diversity.

For additional program information or to donate directly, please write to:

Return a Gift to Wildlife, NYS DEC, Room 122, Program 5, 50 Wolf Road, Albany NY 12233-4830.

Mailing Label

Use the mailing label provided by the Tax Department. Keep a record of the label information for future use.

. . . Please be certain to include your employer identification
The preprinted mailing label contains the taxpayer account number and file number on each corporation tax form mailed.
identification information necessary for correct and effective This will facilitate processing of your return to the correct
processing of your tax form. account. Without this information, we may not be able to

Check your label to see that the information is complete and process your return.

correct. If it is incorrect, make any corrections directly on the These numbers can be copied directly from the label.
label. (You must also file Form DTF-95, Change of Business
Information, with the Tax Department as soon as possible.) If /

your mailing address is incorrect, check the box next to the

rn;Tri .and address block at the top of your corporation tax Employer ID number File number
Name

Remove the peel-off label from the front cover of your packet Number and Street
or postcard and place it in the name and address box at the City and Town State ZIP code
top of your corporation tax return.
To assist in processing your corporation tax forms as quickly If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they
and efficiently as possible, it is important that we have the use the mailing label or label information when completing all
necessary identifying information from your preprinted label. forms prepared for you.

Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-1073.

For information, forms or publications, call the Business Tax Information Center at 1 800 972-1233. The call is toll free from
anywhere in the U.S. (including Alaska and Hawaii) and Canada. For information, you can also call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting
rooms and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call the information and assistance numbers listed above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have access to a telecommunications
device for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State tax questions by calling 1 800 634-2110 toll free from anywhere
in the U.S. (including Alaska and.Hawaii) and Canada. Hours of operation are from 8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If
you do not own a TDD, check with independent living centers or community action programs to find out where machines are available
for public use.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY

12227,
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