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General Information

Who Must File

All general business corporations other than
New York S corporations must file franchise tax
returns on either Form CT-3 or Form CT-4. This
includes both corporations organized under
New York State law and foreign corporations
{those organized under the laws of any other
state or country) that do business, employ
capital, own or lease property or maintain an
office in New York State. A general business
corporation that has elected to be treated as an
S corporation (by filing Form CT-6) must file
either Form CT-3-S or Form CT-4-S. New York S
Corporation Franchise Tax Return, instead of
Form CT-3 or Form CT-4.

The definition of a corporation, as used in
Article 9-A of the Tax Law and in these
instructions, has been expanded to include
associations and publicly traded partnerships
that are taxed as corporations under the
Internal Revenue Code (IRC). See TSB-
M-89(12)C for further information.

A general business corporation includes all

corporations except:

— Banking corporations (Article 32)

— Insurance corporations (Article 33)

— Transportation and transmission
corporations (Article 9)

— Utility companies (Article 9)

— Farmers and agricultural cooperatives
(Article 9)

— Nonstock, not-for-profit corporations may be
subject to an unrelated business income tax
(Article 13)

Which Form to File

Form CT-4, General Business Corporation
Franchise Tax Return, is a simplified general
business franchise tax return that will meet th
filing needs of most small businesses.

You may use Form CT-4 (short form) if you
meet all of the following:

* You are a qualified small business
taxpayer. A corporation qualifies as a small
business taxpayer if:

Its entire net income (before allocation) is
not more than $290,000; and

The total amount of money and N
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million as of
the last day of its tax year; and

The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined
return;

¢ Your total franchise tax and state tax
surcharge is $1,000 or less;

* You have no federal adjustment or tax
preference items other than the depreciation
adjustment used to compute the minimum
taxable income base.

e You are not required to make an addition on
Form CT-3, line 8. Additions required on line
8 include optional depreciation, worldwide

income and losses, safe harbor lease
adjustments, addback of certain credits, a
corporation’s pro-rata share of business from
the Insurance Exchange and certain interest
paid by an acquiring corporation.

* You do not have a subtraction on Form CT-3,
line 15, other than the subtraction allowed on
Form CT-4, line 7b. Subtractions required on
line 15 include optional depreciation, receipts
from the operation of school buses, wages
disallowed in computation of federal jobs
credit, safe harbor lease adjustments and the
pro-rata share of business from the
Insurance Exchange.

You must use Form CT-3 if your total franchise

tax and state tax surcharge is greater than

$1,000 or you do not meet all of the conditions
on this page as a small business taxpayer. Even
if you do meet the qualifications, you must file

Form CT-3 if any of the following conditions

exist:

* You claim a deduction for a net operating
loss, capital loss or optional depreciation.

e You claim any tax credits. Tax credits include
eligible business facility tax credit, investment
tax credit, employment incentive tax credit,
special additional mortgage recording tax
credit, research and development tax credit
carryover, economic development zone
credits, and minimum tax credit.

e You are a real estate investment trust, a
taxable domestic international sales
corporation (DISC) or a stockholder in a
DISC (see Special Instructions for DISCS).

* You have business income or capital
attributable to sources outside New York
State, and you want to allocate this income
~r capital.

« ,ou have investment income and capital.

* You have a subsidiary (another corporation
you control because you own more than half
of its voting stock).

You were invowved in a merger, acquisition or
consc 1ation in the current year.

e You are a new small business corporation
(first or second year) and you want to claim
an exemptin from the capital base tax. (See
he instructions for Form CT-3, line 69.)

have ny adiustments (other than for
N y, . tax preference items used to
Computs 1€ minimum taxable income base.

e You are required to make an addition on
Form CT-3, line 8 (see listing on this page).

e You have a subtraction on Form CT-3, line 15,
other than the subtraction allowed on Form
CT4, line 7b. (see listing above).

Other Forms You May Have to
File or Business Taxes to
Which Your Corporation May
Be Subject

Form CT-3M/4M, General Business
Corporation MTA Surcharge Return, must be
filed by any corporation taxable under Article
9-A that does business, employs capital, owns
or leases property or maintains an office in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transoortation District.

305

The MCTD includes the counties of New York,
Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess,
Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and
Westchester.

Form CT-5, Request for Six-Month Extension
to File (For Franchise/Business Taxes, MTA
Surcharge, or Both), is a request for a six-
month extension of time to file a tax return for
general business corporations. File it on or
before the due date of the return.

Form CT-5.1, Request for Additional Extension
of Time to File (For Franchise/Business
Taxes, MTA Surcharge, or Both), is a request
for additional time to file a tax return. File it on
or before the expiration date of the original
extension or previously filed additional extension.

Form CT-399, Depreciation Adjustment
Schedule, must be used to compute the
allowable New York State depreciation deduction
if you claim the federal Accelerated Cost
Recovery System (ACRS) depreciation and
Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System
(MACRS) deduction for certain property placed
in service after December 31, 1980.

This form also contains schedules for
determining a New York State gain or loss on
the disposition of ACRS or MACRS property. It
is also used to compute the depreciation
deduction for the minimum taxable income base.

Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax
by a Corporation, will help you determine if you
have underpaid an estimated tax installment
and, if so, compute the penalty due.

Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License
Fee Return, must be filed by a corporation
organized outside New York State (foreign
corporations) to pay the license fee based on
capital stock. This return must be filed when
you file your first franchise tax return, or if
capital stock employed in New York State has
increased since the last license fee return was
filed. For more details see Form CT-240.

Form CT-244, Acquisition, Merger and
Consolidation Information Report, must be
filed by any corporation taxable under Article
9-A that is involved in an acquisition, merger or
consolidation.

Form CT-245, Maintenance Fee and Activities
Return of Foreign Corporations Disclaiming
Tax Liability, must be filed by a corporation
organized outside New York State that wishes to
disclaim tax liability but wants to remain
authorized to do business. The annual
maintenance fee is $300. This fee may be
claimed as a credit against tax due under
Article 9-A. Full payment of the franchise tax,
state tax surcharge and MTA surcharge will
satisfy the maintenance fee requirement. For
more details, see Form CT-245.

Form CT-3-A, General Business Corporation
Combined Franchise Tax Return, should be
filed by corporations that have been granted
permission or are required by the commissioner
to file a combined return.

Request for permission to file a combined return
must be submitted on Form AU-2.1 no later than
30 days following the end of the tax year.
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Form CT-5.3, Request for Six-Month
Extension to File (Combined Franchise Tax
Return, Combined MTA Surcharge Return, or
Both), must be used by a combined group to
request a six-month extension of time to file a
combined franchise tax return and to provide
detailed information about the amounts and
kinds of payments made by the members of
the group.

Form CT-3-B, Tax Exempt Domestic
International Sales Corporation (DISC)
Information Return, must be filed by domestic
international sales corporations within 82
months after the end of the tax year. See
Special Instructions for DISCS (page 4 of these
instructions).

Form CT-33-D, Tax on Premiums Paid or
Payable to an Unauthorized Insurer, must be
filed if you have purchased or renewed a
taxable insurance contract from an insurer not
authorized to transact business in New York
State. This return must be filed within 60 days
following the end of the calendar quarter in
which the contract was purchased or renewed.

Form CT-186-A, Utility Services Tax Return —
Gross Operating Income, (Article 9, section
186-a) — A corporation not supervised by the
New York State Department of Public Service
that engages in the sale or furnishing of gas,
electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration must
pay a tax of 35% on its gross operating
income.

Form CT-186-E, Telecommunications Tax
Return and Utility Services Tax Return - A
corporation that also provides telecommunication
services must file a return under section 186-g,
excise tax on telecommunication services, and
pay a tax of 35% on its gross receipts from the
sale of telecommunication services. For further
information see Form CT-186-E-1, Instructions for
Form CT-186-E, Telecommunications Tax Return
and Utility Services Tax Return.

Form CT-189, Tax on Importation of Gas
Services — Article 9, section 189, imposes a
tax on gas importers who import, or cause to be
imported, gas for their own use. The tax is
computed at the rate of 4.25% of the
consideration given for the gas. (See TSB-
M-91(5)C for more information.)

Form CT-400, Estimated Tax for Corporations,
must be filed by any corporation whose New
York State tax and state tax surcharge liability
can reasonably be expected to exceed $1,000.
See Estimated Tax, State Tax Surcharge and
MTA Surcharge.

Form CT-3360, Federal Changes to Corporate
Taxable Income, must be used to report any
correction made by the Internal Revenue
Service in taxable income previously reported
for any year, including changes based on the
renegotiation of a government contract.

Sales and Use Tax — If you sell goods or
services delivered in New York State you may
have to collect and remit the New York State
sales and use tax.

Employer’s Withholding Tax — If you hire
anyone to help operate your business in New
York State you must withhold and remit New
York State (and New York City and Yonkers, if
applicable) income taxes from the wages of your
employees.

Motor Fuel Taxes — Motor fuel distributors and
diesel motor fuel distributors or users in New

York State must register with the Tax
Department and file the appropriate tax returns.

Highway Use Taxes — Any motor vehicle
having a maximum gross weight, alone or in
combination with another motor vehicle, of more
than 18,000 lbs. is subject to this tax.

Unrequested Refunds to be
Credited Forward

If you overpay your tax, you will not
automatically receive a refund. Instead, we will
credit your overpayment to the following tax year
unless you request a refund. We will notify you
that the overpayment has been credited. You
may then claim a refund of the overpayment
before the original due date of the following
year's return.

Forms for Requesting Refunds

Form CT-8, Claim for Credit or Refund of
Corporation Franchise Tax Paid, is used to
request a refund other than of an overpayment.
To speed up processing of the claim, mail it
separately from your annual returns. A claim for
refund based on a net operating loss carryback
must be filed within three years of the extended
due date of the return for the loss year or within
27 months from the date of the federal credit or
refund. A refund based on a federal change
must be filed within two years from the date the
federal change was required to be reported. All
other claims for refunds must be received within
three years from the date the return was filed,
or two years from the date the tax was paid,
whichever is later.

Requests for refunds due to overpayment of tax
must be made on Form CT-3 or CT-4.

Form CT-9, Claim for Tentative Refund from
Carryback of Net Operating Loss, should be
used by all corporations requesting refunds, not
exceeding $1,188, based on net operating loss
carrybacks.

Returns that are the basis for these refunds wil
be subject to review after the refunds have been
processed. The claim must be filed within 90
days after the receipt of the federal refund.

Federal S corporations must file a claim within
15 months from the end of the loss year. For full
description of the limitation and requirements,
see Form CT-9-1, Instructions for Form CT-9.

When and Where to File

File your return within 22 months after the end
of your reporting period. If you are reporting for
the 1995 calendar year, file your return on or
before March 15, 1996.

Mail returns to:

NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT

P O BOX 1909

ALBANY NY 12201-1909

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for a
six-month extension of time by filing Form CT-5.

For more information, contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau. See the last page of these
instructions for address and telephone numbers.

Tax Rates
The current tax rates are:

Entire net income base . . ............ 09
Entire net income base for qualified
small business taxpayers with:
Entire net income base of
$200000 orless . ........... .. 08
Entire net income base of
more than $200,000 but
not more than $290,000

1. $16000 plus
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2. 9% of amount over
$200,000 but not over
$290,000 plus
3. an additional 5% of amount
over $250,000 but not
over $290,000
Capitalbase . ............... ... ... 00178.
Minimum taxable income base ....... 035

For a corporation The fixed dollar
with a gross payroll of: minimum tax is:

— $6,250000 ormore . . .......... $1,500
— Less than $6,250,000

but more than $1,000000 ... ... $425
— $1,0000000rless............. $325
— However, if the corporation’s

gross payroll, total receipts and

average value of gross assets

are each $1000 or less . . ... ... $800
Subsidiary capital base . .......... 0009
Qualified cooperative housing

capitalbase . . .......... ... ... 0004

State Tax Surcharge

(for periods ending after
June 30, 1994, and before
July 1,1995) .. .. ... .. 1212% (.125)

(for periods ending after
June 30, 1995, and before
July 1,1996) . .. ............... 7Y2% (.075)

(for periods ending after
June 30, 1996, and before
July 1, 1997y .. ... 212% (.025)

Short periods - Fixed dollar minimum tax —

Gross Payroll for Short Periods — Annualize
gross payroll for tax periods of less than 12
months by dividing the amount of gross payroll
by the number of months in the short

period and multiplying the resuit by 12.

The fixed dollar minimum tax and maintenance
fee may be reduced for short periods:

Period Reduction
e A period of not more than
6months ..................... 50%
e A period of more than
6 months but not more
than 9 months . ................ 25%
¢ A period of over 9 months ....... None

How to Avoid an Erroneous Assessment
Based on Fixed Dollar Minimum Tax
Rates

The fixed dollar minimum tax rate has four
levels. The amount of the tax ranges from $325
to $1,500.

Your fixed dollar minimum tax rate is determined
by the corporation’s gross payroll, total receipts
and average value of gross assets.

To avoid an erroneous assessment or a delay in
your refund, you must enter an amount in each
of the three boxes provided on Form CT-3, line
70, or Form CT-4, line 22. If you do not have
assets, payroll or receipts, enter “0” in the
appropriate boxes.

Failure to make an entry in each box will result

in an assessment of tax or reduction of your
refund.

Cooperative Housing

Corporations

A qualified cooperative housing corporation is
entitled to use a reduced tax rate of .0004 when
computing its tax using the capital base.

A corporation that has only one class of stock
which entitles the shareholder to live in a house
or an apartment in a building owned or leased
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by the corporation, may be a cooperative
housing corporation. For a complete definition,
see IRC section 216 or 20 NYCRR 3-1.2.

Estimated Tax,
State Tax Surcharge and
MTA Surcharge

If your New York State franchise tax and state
tax surcharge liability can reasonably be
expected to exceed $1,000, you must file a
declaration of estimated tax.

If this expectation arises before the 1st day of
the 6th month of your tax year, file this
declaration on or before the 15th day of the 6th
month of the fiscal or calendar year. Include
with it a payment of V3 of the estimated tax
liability. If you made an initial payment with the
preceding year’s tax return or applied an
overpayment of the tax from that return, deduct
this amount from the estimated tax before
computing the s payment. Additional Vs
payments are due on the 15th day of the 9th
and 12th months. If you report for the calendar
year, file a declaration of estimated tax on
June 15, September 15 and December 15.

If the expectation of a tax liability of more than
$1,000 arises on or after the first day of the 6th
month of your tax year, see 20 NYCRR 7-2.3.

A declaration of estimated tax may be amended.

A penalty will be imposed if you fail to file a
declaration of estimated tax or fail to pay all or
any part of an instaliment payment of estimated
tax. (See instructions on this page.)

Penalty will not be due on an installment if the
total estimated franchise tax and tax surcharge
payments made on or before an instaliment
due date equals or exceeds the amount which
would have been required to be paid on or
before that date if the amount of the estimated
tax and tax surcharge were the smallest of:

For large corporations — a corporation that
had (or whose predecessor had) allocated
entire net income of at least one million dollars
for any of the three tax years immediately
preceding the tax year involved:

1. One hundred percent (100%) of the current
year's franchise tax and tax surcharge.

2. One hundred percent (100%) of the
franchise tax and tax surcharge for the
current year computed on an annualized
basis.

3. One hundred percent (100%) of the
franchise tax and tax surcharge for the
current year computed on a recurring
seasonal income basis.

For all other corporations:

1. Ninety-one percent (91%) of the current
year’s franchise tax and tax surcharge
shown.

2. One hundred percent (100%) of the
franchise tax and tax surcharge for the
preceding tax year (if it was for a period of
12 months).

3. One hundred percent (100%) of the
franchise tax and tax surcharge computed
using current tax rates applied to last year’s
facts and laws.

4. Ninety-one percent (91%) of the franchise
tax and tax surcharge for the current year
computed on an annualized basis.*

5. Ninety-one percent (91%) of the franchise
tax and tax surcharge for the current year

computed on a recurring seasonal income
basis.*

* To avoid underpayment penalties, you must
make up a reduction in an estimated franchise
tax and tax surcharge payment resulting from
using annualized income or seasonal income
(exception 4 or 5) by increasing the amount of
the next installment determined under
exceptions 1, 2 or 3 by the amount of such
reduction.

The above penalty provisions also apply if you
fail to file a declaration of estimated MTA
surcharge or fail to pay all or any part of an
installment payment of MTA surcharge.

Late Payment - Interest

If you do not pay the tax, tax surcharge and
MTA surcharge, if applicable, due on or before
the due date, you must pay interest on the
amount of the underpayment from the due date
of the return to the date the tax and tax
surcharges are paid. Exclude from the interest
computation any amount shown on line 80a or
80b, first installment of estimated tax for next
period. Interest is always due, without any
exceptions, on any underpayment of tax. An
extension of time for filing does not extend the
due date for payment of tax.

Interest is compounded daily. You may call the
Business Tax Information Center for the current
interest rate or to have the interest computed
for you (see Need Help? for the number).

Late Filing and Late Payment -
Additional Charges

Additional charges for late filing and late
payment are computed on the amount of tax
and tax surcharge less any payment made on
or before the due date. Exclude from the
penalty computation any amount shown on line
80a or 80D, first installment of estimated tax for
next period.

A. If you do not file a return when due or if the
request for extension is invalid, add to the
tax 5% per month, up to a total of 25%
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. If you do not file a return within 60 days of
the due date, the addition in item A above
cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or
100% of the amount required to be shown
as tax (section 1085 (a)(1)(B)).

C. If you fail to pay the franchise tax shown on
a return, add to the tax 2% per month, up
to a total of 25% (section 1085 (a)(2)).

D. The total of the additional charges in items
A and C may not exceed 5% for any one
month except as provided for in item B
(section 1085 (a)).

If you think you are not liable for these
additional charges, attach a statement to your
return explaining the delay in filing, payment,
or both (section 1085).

Penalties for Understating Tax or
Underpaying Estimated Tax

If the tax you report is understated by 10% or
$5,000, whichever is greater, you will have to
pay a penalty of 10% of the amount of
understated tax. You can reduce the amount on
which you pay penalty by subtracting any item
for which (1) there is or was substantial
authority for the way you treated it, or (2) there
is adequate disclosure on the return or in an
attached statement (see Article 27,

section 1085(K)).

If you can reasonably expect your New York
State franchise tax and tax surcharge liability to
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exceed $1,000, you must file a declaration of
estimated tax, Form CT-400. A penalty will be
imposed if you fail to file a declaration of
estimated tax or fail to pay the entire
installment payment of estimated tax due. For
complete details see Estimated Tax, State Tax
Surcharge and MTA Surcharge on this page
and Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated
Tax by a Corporation.

Penalties for Failure to Provide
Information Relating to Interest Paid
to Shareholders or Information
Relating to Your Issuer’s Allocation
Percentage

Section 1085(n) of the Tax Law provides for a
penalty of $500 for failure to provide information
about interest payments made to shareholders
that were deducted in computing entire net
income. See instructions for line 104 (Article 27,
section 1085(n)).

Section 1085(0) of the Tax Law provides for a
penalty of $500 for failure to provide information
needed to compute your issuer’s allocation
percentage. See instructions for Form CT-3,

line 41.

Civil and Criminal Penalties

The Omnibus Tax Equity and Enforcement Act
imposes strong civil and criminal penalties for
negligence or fraud. For more information
about this act, contact the Taxpayer Assistance
Bureau (address and telephone numbers on
the last page of these instructions).

Net Operating Loss Deduction

You must determine a New York State net
operating loss deduction as if you had elected
under IRC section 172 to relinquish the
carryback provisions, except for the first
$10,000, which may be carried back to the
three preceding years (section 208.9(f)).

In addition, special net operating loss
provisions apply to aviation corporations and
corporations involved with mergers, acquisitions
or consolidations.

These rules apply:

e |RC section 172 federal losses must be
adjusted in accordance with Article 9-A,
section 2089(a), (b) and (g).

« You may carry net operating losses forward
15 years.

* If you have elected to carry back a net
operating loss for federal tax, you may carry
back only the first $10,000 of a net operating
loss to the three preceding years.

* Any portion of the $10,000 NOL not used as
a carryback may be carried forward.

* |f you have elected for federal tax purposes
to relinquish the three-year carryback of a
net operating loss, you may not carry back
a net operating loss for state tax purposes,
and you must submit a copy of your federal
election.

*« A New York C corporation is not allowed a
deduction for a net operating loss sustained
during a New York S year.

* Enter the net operating loss carryforward on
Form CT-3, line 13.

e Attach a separate sheet to Form CT-3,
providing details of both the federal and
New York State net operating losses
claimed.

* A real estate investment trust will be allowed
a deduction for net operating losses.

e These rules also apply to a federal S
corporation not electing New York S
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corporation treatment and corporations included
in a group reporting on a consolidated basis for
federal tax. These corporations must carry
losses to the same year and in the same
manner as provided in these instructions with
one exception: Instead of a copy of the federal
election to relinquish the three-year carryback of
a net operating loss, a request in writing to
relinquish the carryback must be filed on or
hefore the due date (or extended due date) of
the return for the loss year. Any corporation that
does not make a timely election with the Tax
Department must carry the first $10,000 of the
net operating loss back before the loss can be
carried forward.

Alternative Net Operating
Loss Deduction

An alternative net operating loss deduction
(ANOLD) is allowed for tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 1994. This deduction, to be
entered on line 56b, is determined in the
manner described above for computing the
regular net operating loss deduction except that:

» The net operating loss for any year
beginning after 1989 which is included in the
ANOLD must be redetermined with the
adjustments and tax preferences required to
be utilized in computing the minimum
taxable income for that year. (Note that the
required add-back of regular NOLD is not
such an adjustment or tax preference.) An
item of tax preference is taken into account
only to the extent it increased the regular net
operating loss.

* Loss carryforwards and carrybacks are to be
applied against a figure equal to 90%
(except as provided below) of minimum
taxable income (computed without regard to
ANOLD), rather than against entire net
income.

* For tax years beginning in 1994, the ANOLD
may not exceed 45% of the minimum
taxable income for the year (computed
without regard to the ANOLD).

For details see TSB-M-94(5)C.

Aviation Corporations -
Net Operating Loss Deduction

Corporations principally engaged in aviation are
taxable under Article 9-A and are permitted to
claim a net operating loss deduction in the
same manner as other Article 9-A corporations.
Air freight forwarders acting as principal and like
indirect carriers are limited to net operating
losses sustained in years that they were taxable
under Article 9-A.

Aviation corporations (other than air freight
forwarders acting as principal and like indirect
air carriers) will be allowed to carry forward any
net operating losses sustained during the federal
lax periods cuvering the years 1985 through
1988 if they were taxed under Article 9, sections
183 and 184 during those periods.

The New York State net operating loss must be
computed as if the corporation had filed Form
CT-3 for the tax years 1985 through 1988 and
treated as if the loss had been sustained in the
tax year immediately preceding its first Article
9-A tax year. The 1985-1988 net operating loss
must be carried forward.

Merger, Acquisition and
Consolidation - Net Operating
Loss Deduction

In general, in a highly leveraged transaction,
any net operating loss of a target corporation,

from prior years or a loss sustained in the year
of a merger, acquisition or consolidation, cannot
be used by the acquiring corporation. For
complete details see Form CT-244-1, Instructions
for Form CT-244, and TSB-M-89(17)C.

Foreign Airlines

Foreign airlines that have a foreign air carrier
permit pursuant to section 402 of the Federal
Aviation Act of 1958 are entitled to exclude from
entire net income all income from international
operations effectively connected to the United
States, foreign passive income and income
earned overseas from overseas operations,
provided the foreign country in which the airline
is based has a similar exemption from tax with
respect to United States airlines.

Foreign airlines may also exclude business and
investment assets used in connection with the
exempt income from the tax computed on
capital.

The business allocation formula used by these
foreign airlines is the regular Article 9-A
business allocation formuia based on receipts,
payroll and property, as opposed to the special
airline formula based on arrivals and departures,
with modifications.

For further information see TSB-M-94(2)C.

Special Instructions for DISCs
A domestic international sales corporation
(DISC) is a corporation that meets the
requirements of section 8992(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code (IRC). Investments in the stock of
a DISC or debts of a DISC must be treated as
business capital. Stockholders of DISCs must
report all income from DISCs included in federal
taxable income as business income and cannot
make any adjustments to federal taxable income
on lines 10 and 11 of Form CT-3, unless actual
dividend distributions were paid out of other
earnings and profits as provided in section 996
of the IRC.

Tax-Exempt DISCs

A DISC is exempt from tax under Article 9-A of
the Tax Law if, during the year, it received more
than 5% of its gross receipts from the sale or
rental of property obtained from stockholders, or
received more than 5% of its total receipts,
other than sales or rentals, from its stockholders.
It must file an information return on Form
CT-3-B, within 82 months after the end of the
return year. Stockholders of tax-exempt DISCs
must file an individual return on Form CT-3 and
a consolidated return with the DISC on

Form CT-3-C.

Taxable DISCs

A DISC not meeting the 5% test must file Form
CT-3 within 82 months after the end of the
return year. It is subject to the tax on allocated
capital or the fixed dollar minimum, whichever is
higher, plus a tax on subsidiary capital.

Do not complete lines 1 through 25 or lines 42
through 68 of Form CT-3. Enter the initials DISC
after the name of the corporation in the address
section of the return.

Combined Returns

A combined return, Form CT-3-A, may be
required by the tax commissioner for a taxpayer
and a taxable DISC if the taxpayer beneficially
owns substantially all of the DISC's issued and
outstanding capital stock. A corporation that
owns all of the capital stock of a taxable DISC
will be allowed, at its election, to file a
combined return with the DISC. Any other
corporation may be required or permitted to be
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included in the combined return if required by
Subpart 6-2 of the Reguiations.

New York S Corporatidn -
Termination Year

If your federal and New York S election
terminates on a day other than the first day of a
tax year, the tax year is divided into two tax
periods (an S short year and a C short year).
You must file Form CT-3-S or Form CT-4-S for
the New York S short year and Form CT-3 or
CT-4 for the New York C short year. See the
instructions for Form CT-3-S and Form CT-4-S
and TSB-M-90(11)C for more information.

The due date of the New York S short year
return (Form CT-3-S and Form CT-4-S) is the
same as the New York C short year even
though they are treated as separate short tax
years.

Change of Business
Information

If there have been any changes in your
business name, identification number, mailing
address, business address, telephone number or
ownerlofficer information and you have not
previously notified us, complete Form DTF-95,
Change of Business Information. If you don't
have a form, call toll free (from New York State
only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New
York State, call (518) 438-1073 to request one.

Change of Address

If your address has changed, enter your new
address on the label and check the box next to
the name and address block at the top of your
corporation tax return. Do not check this box for
any change of business information other than
address. You must still attach the preprinted
label with the old address to enable us to
update your account.

Final Return

Check the Final Return box on page 1 of the

return, under the form number, only if filing a

final return for one of the following reasons:

— Voluntary Dissolution - New York Corporation
(New York Business Corporation Law
sections 1001 through 1003)

— Surrender of Authority by a Foreign
Corporation (New York Business Corporation
Law section 1310)

— Merger or Consolidation (New York Business
Corporation Law sections 904, 905 and 907)

— Disposition of Assets - New York Corporation
(New York Business Corporation Law section
909(d))

— Termination of Existence - Foreign
Corporation (New York Business Corporation
Law section 1311)

— Liquidation Under Internal Revenue Code
(IRC sections 332, 333, 334 and 337).

See Voluntary Dissolution and Surrender of
Authority and Liability for Taxes and Fees below
and also Publication 110, Information and
Instructions for Termination of Business
Corporations, for the proper procedures to follow
in terminating your business.

In the case of a merger or consolidation, the
final return check box would only be used by
the non-surviving corporation.

The return will be treated as a final return if your
business is terminated with the Department of
State and the return covers the tax period from
the last return filed to the date of the
termination.
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Foreign authorized corporations see foreign
Corporation Annual Maintenance Fee and
License Fee on page 1 of these instructions, or
refer to Form CT-245 if you are disclaiming tax
liability but want to continue to be authorized to
do business in New York State.

Do not check the Final Return box if you are
only changing the type of return that you file
(i.e., CT-3 to CT-3-S, CT-4 to CT-3, etc.).

Voluntary Dissolution and
Surrender of Authority and

Liability for Taxes and Fees

A domestic corporation (incorporated in New
York State) is generally liable for corporate
franchise taxes for each fiscal or calendar year,
or part thereof, during which it is incorporated,
regardless of whether it carries on any activity.
For example, a person who intends to go into
business organizes a new corporation under
the New York Business Corporation Law for the
purpose of operating the new business as a
corporation. However, the business is never
started and the corporation never conducts any
business. Under the circumstances, the
corporation would usually be liable for
franchise taxes for each taxable year until it is
fSormally dissolved with the Department of

tate.

A foreign corporation (incorporated outside of
New York State) is liable for franchise taxes
during the period in which it does business,
employs capital, owns or leases property or
maintains an office in New York. In addition, a
foreign corporation which is authorized to do
business in New York is also liable for payments
of its annual maintenance fee until such time as
it surrenders with the Department of State its
authority to do business, regardless of whether it
does business, employs capital, owns or leases
property or maintains an office in the state. The
maintenance fee may be taken as a credit
against the franchise tax.

In order to voluntarily dissolve a domestic
corporation or surrender the authority of a
foreign corporation which is authorized to do
business in this state, the Tax Law requires the
consent of the Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance. Such consent will be given only if the
commissioner ascertains that all fees, franchise
taxes, and other taxes (e.g., sales tax) imposed
under the Tax Law which have accrued against
the corporation have been paid. The procedure
for obtaining such a consent and the forms that
are required to be filed with this department are
set forth in Publication 110. You can request this
information by calling the Business Tax
Information Center (see Need Help? for the
telephone number).

Whole Dollar Amounts

Amounts may be shown in whole dollars rather
than dollars and cents. Round an amount from
50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher
dollar and round any amount less than 50 cents
to the next lower dollar. If you round to the
nearest dollar, round for all amounts.

Processible Forms

Returns must be prepared in a manner that wiil
permit their routine handling and processing.
Interest will not be paid on an overpayment of
taxes until the return is in a processible form.

See Publication 76, Specifications for
Reproduction of New York State Corporation Tax
Forms. For information, see back page.

Use of Reproduced and
Computerized Forms

Photocopies of returns are acceptable if they are
of good quality and are signed in the proper
place.

Computer-produced corporation tax returns will
be accepted if you have received permission to
file them and they meet our specifications. For
more information see Publication 76,
Specifications for Reproduction of New York
State Corporation Tax Forms.

Do You Need a Tax Packet?

If you use a paid preparer, or if you use
computer software to prepare your return, or if
for any other reason you do not need a tax
packet mailed to you for next year’s taxes,
please check the box above the certification and
signature. When you check the box, we will
send you a mailing label that you or whoever
prepares your return should use on your 1996
return. By checking this box, you will help us
reduce printing and mailing costs.

Signature

The return must be certified by the president,
vice president, treasurer, assistant treasurer,
chief accounting officer, or other officer
authorized by the taxpayer.

The return of an association, publicly traded
partnership or business conducted by a trustee
or trustees must be signed by a person
authorized to act for the association, publicly
traded partnership or business.

If an outside individual or firm prepared the
return, the signature of the person and the
name, address and identification number of the
firm must be included.

Privacy Notification
The right of the Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance and the Department of Taxation and
Finance to collect and maintain personal
information, including mandatory disclosure of
social security numbers in the manner required
by tax regulations, instructions and forms, is
found in Articles 8, 9, 9-A, 13, 19, 27, 32, 33 and
33-A of the Tax Law and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

The Tax Department will use this information
primarily to determine and administer corporate
tax liabilities under the Tax Law, for certain tax
refund offsets, and for any other purpose
authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may
result in civil or criminal penalties, or both, under
the Tax Law.

This information will be maintained by the
Director of the Data Management Services
Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8 Room
908, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227,
telephone (from New York State only) 1 800
CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from areas outside
New York State call (518) 438-8581.

Your Rights Under the Tax Law

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights requires, in part, that
the Tax Department advise you, in writing of
your rights and obligations during an audit,
when appealing a departmental decision and
when your appeal rights have been exhausted
and you need to understand enforcement
capabilities available to the department to obtain
payment. For a complete copy of the information
contained in all of these statements, you may
request Publication 131, Your Rights and
Obligations Under the Tax Law, by calling toll
free (from New York State only)

1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York
State, call (518) 438-1073.

Resolving Tax Problems

The best ways to avoid tax problems are to
keep accurate tax records and to stay on top of
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current tax requirements. We have free
publications you can order and toll-free numbers
you can call for answers to your specific
questions.

Most tax problems can be resolved informally. If
you receive a tax deficiency notice that you
think is in error, promptly call the number listed
on the notice.

Only a relative handful of tax problems fail to be
resolved by informal means. However, if you are
issued a Notice of Deficiency or a refund denial
and you feel that the Tax Department has made
a mistake, you still have a number of options
available to you:

¢ You can request a conciliation conference
through the Bureau of Conciliation and
Mediation Services. The conference is
conducted informally by a conferee who
issues an order that is binding on the Tax
Department but not on you (you can appeal
by filing a petition for a formal hearing, as
explained below). To set up a conference, get
Form CMS-1, Request for Conciliation
Conference, by calling toll free (from New
York State only), 1 800 462-8100 from areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581
or by writing to the Bureau of Conciliation
and Mediation Services, NYS Tax
Department, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

¢ You can request a small claims hearing
before an impartial presiding officer if the
disputed amount is within certain dollar
limitations set by the Rules of Practice and
Procedure. The presiding officer's decision is
final, but at any time before the end of the
small claims hearing, you can request a
transfer to a formal hearing before an
administrative law judge. A copy of the Rules
of Practice and Procedure will be sent to you
when you request a petition form as
explained below.

e You can file a petition for a tax appeals
hearing. The hearing is held before an
administrative law judge, and both you and
the Tax Department may appeal the judge’s
decision to the Tax Appeals Tribunal. The
Tax Department cannot seek a review of the
Tribunal’s decision, but you can by instituting
an Article 78 proceeding in the Appellate
Division of the State Supreme Court. You
can get the petition forms by writing to the
Division of Tax Appeals,

500 Federal Street 4th Floor, Troy NY
12180-2893.

Regardless of which appeal option you exercise,
you may appear on your own behalf or you may
have an authorized representative present your
case for review. An authorized representative
must have Power of Attorney from you in order
to appear on your behalf. Further, your
representative must be in compliance with the
Ethics in Government Act which restricts
appearances by former department employees.
A summary of these restrictions is included on
the back of Form DTF-14.1, Power of Attorney
(Corporate).

Line Instructions for
Form CT-3

Negative amounts, if any, should be shown in
parentheses.

Reporting Period

Your tax year for New York State must be the
same as your federal tax year. Use this tax
return for tax years beginning in 1995, both
calendar and fiscal, and for short periods
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beginning in 1996 and ending before
December 31, 1996. If you are a calendar year
filer, check the box in the upper right corner on
the front of the form. If you are a fiscal year
filer, complete the beginning and ending tax
period boxes in the upper right corner on the
front of the form.

Principal Business Activity
Enter the one activity that accounts for the
largest percentage of total income. State the
broad field of business activity as well as the
specific product or service (e.g., mining copper,;
wholesale meat; retail men’s apparel; real
estate rental). Be sure to enter the business
activity code number from your federal return.

Line A

Payment — After completing your return, enter
the amount of your payment. This must be the
amount shown on line 87c.

Line 1

Enter your federal taxable income (before net
operating loss and special deductions) as
required to be reported to the US Treasury
Department.

« If you filc federal Form 1120, use the
amount from line 28.

e If you file federal Form 1120-A, use the
amount from line 24.

¢ |f you file federal Form 1120-H, use the
amount from line 19.

¢ |f you are a member of a federal affiliated
group which files a consolidated return,
complete a pro-forma 1120 reporting the
federal taxable income you would have
been required to report on a separate
federal tax return and attach a copy of the
tederal consolidating workpaper indicating
your separate taxable income before any
elimination of intercorporate transactions
included in the federal consolidated return.

e If you are an S corporation filing federal
Form 1120S but you have not made an
election to be treated as a New York State S
corporation, you must determine the amount
you would have had to report as federal
taxable income (before net operating loss
and special deductions) were you not a
federal S corporation. Attach a separate
sheet showing how you determined this
amount. In general, the items affected are:
Dividends — Form 1120, line 4
Interest — Form 1120, line 5
Gross rents — Form 1120, line 6
Gross royalties — Form 1120, line 7
Capital gain net income — Form 1120, line 8
Contributions — Form 1120, line 19

e If you file Form 1120-F, use the amount from
Section 11, line 29. Adjustments to
worldwide income and loss will be required
on line 8 of Form CT-3.

e If you are exempt from federal income tax
but subject to New York State franchise tax,
you must determine the amount you would
have had to report as federal taxable income
(before net operating loss and special
deductions) were you not exempt. Attach a
separate sheet showing how the amount
was determined.

Lines 2 through 8 — Additions
Use lines 2 through 8 to add items that are not
included in federal income but must be
included in New York State entire net income.

Line 2

Enter all interest received or accrued from
federal, state, municipal and other obligations
that was exempt from federal income tax and
is, therefore, not included on line 1. You may
deduct from this amount any expenses
attributable to that interest but denied
deductibility under IRC section 265. Attach a
list of items included on this line.

Line 3

Enter the amount deducted in computing
federal taxable income for interest on
indebtedness paid to a corporate stockholder
owning more than 50% of your issued and
outstanding voting stock. If you do not make
this entry, the indebtedness will not constitute
subsidiary capital in the hands of such
corporate stockholder, and the stockholder will
not be allowed to exclude the interest from its
entire net income as income from subsidiary
capital.

Lines 4a, 4b, 5a and 5b
Subsidiaries

A subsidiary is a corporation (except a DISC) of
which over 50% of the number of shares
entitling the holders to vote for the election of
directors or trustees is owned by the taxpayer.
If you have subsidiary capital included on Form
CT-3-ATT, line 51, column C, complete lines 4a,
4b, 5a and 5b. Otherwise, enter “0” on lines
4a, 4b, 5a and 5b.

“Subsidiary capital” is the value of certain
assets reduced by attributable liabilities. These
assets include all investments in the stock of
subsidiary corporations plus all debts from
subsidiary corporations (other than accounts
receivable acquired for services rendered or
property sold to customers in the ordinary
course of business) whether or not evidenced
by bonds or other written instruments, on which
interest is not claimed and deducted by the
subsidiary under Article 9-A, 32 or 33 of the
New York State Tax Law.

If you have a subsidiary, you will also have to
complete Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule D.
Taxpayers should refer to TSB-M-95 (2)C for
line instructions for lines 4a, 4b, 5a and 5b
applicable to the 1995 tax year. TSB-M-95 (2)C
may be obtained by calling 1-800-972-1233. This
TSB-M will explain and assist taxpayers with
new procedures, effective for tax years
beginning in 1995 or after, regarding the
attribution of non-interest deductions to
subsidiary, business and investment capital.

Line 6

Enter the amount deducted on your federal
return for New York taxes imposed under
Article 9, sections 183, 183-a, 184, 184-a, and
Articles 9-A and 32. This includes the state tax
surcharge and the MTA surcharge. However, do
not include New York City taxes. Include the
amount deducted for taxes paid or accrued to
other US states, their political subdivisions, any
foreign country, and the District of Columbia if
they are on or are measured by profits or
income or include profits or income as a
measure of tax, including taxes expressly in
lieu of the foregoing.

Line 7

Before making any entry on this line, complete
Form CT-399. Include from Form CT-399, line 4,
the amount of your federal deduction that must
be added back to federal taxable income, or if
you disposed of property this year use the
amount from line 12, column A. (Enter your
recomputed deduction on line 14.)
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Line 8

If you have any of the following other additions
to federal taxable income, enter the total
amount of those additions and attach a list.

A-1 Optional depreciation: If you have claimed
optional depreciation in prior years on certain
property acquired from January 1, 1964,
through December 31, 1968, you must include
on this line any depreciation and any federal
losses on the disposition of that property that
you deducted from gross income when
determining federal taxable income. The
adjustment for New York gain or loss on
qualified New York State property is made on
line 23. See additional instructions for line 15,
S-1. Attach Form CT-324.

A-2 Worldwide net income and losses: A
corporation organized outside the United States
must include on this line all income from
sources outside the United States, less all
allowable deductions attributable to it, that was
not included in federal taxable income.

A-3 If you are claiming a special additional
mortgage recording tax credit (section 210.17),
you must include on this line the amount
claimed as a credit and used as a deduction in
the computation of federal taxable income.

The gain on the sale of real property on which
the special additional mortgage recording tax
credit was claimed must be increased when all
or any part of the credit was also used in the
basis for computing the federal gain.

A-4 If you are a corporation participating in
business on the New York Insurance Exchange,
you must include the following:

® Your distributive or pro rata share of any
item of loss or deduction for federal income
tax or which you are required to take into
account separately for federal income tax.

® Your distributive or pro rata share of the net
loss, if any.

® Your distributive or pro rata share of the
allocated entire net income of such
business as determined on Forms CT-33 or
CT-33-X under Article 33 of the Tax Law.

See additional instructions for line 15, S-5.

A-5 If your corporation has a safe harbor lease

you must include:

* Any amount you claimed as a deduction in
computing federal taxable income solely as
a result of an election made under section
168(f)(8) of the IRC as it was in effect on
December 31, 1983.

® Any amount you would have been required
to include in the computation of your federal
taxable income if you had not made the
election permitted under section 168(f)(8) of
the IRC as it was in effect on December 31,
1983.

A-6 In general, you must include on this line
up to 5% of certain interest paid by an
acquiring corporation, in the year of an
acquisition, and for the next three years. Use
Form CT-244 to determine if you are liable for
this addition and to compute the amount to be
entered on this line.

Lines 10 through 16 —
Subtractions

Use lines 10 through 16 to subtract items that
are included in federal taxable income but
should not be included in New York entire net
income.
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Line 10

If you have a subsidiary, complete Schedule D
of Form CT-3-ATT and enter the amount from
Part I, line 50. This amount must include
capital gains and any other income and gain
from subsidiary capital that was included as
part of federal taxable income. Do not include
foreign dividend gross-up under IRC section 78.
A DISC does not qualify as a subsidiary.

It a subsidiary’s stock or assets (excluding cash
and assets disposed of by the subsidiary in the
regular course of business) are sold within
eighteen months after the date of acquisition,
subsidiary capital treatment will not be allowed
to the parent.

Line 11

Enter 50% of dividends received from
nonsubsidiary stock. Do not include the
following: (1) grossed-up dividends, pursuant to
section 78 of the IRC, (2) dividends from stocks
not meeting the holding period requirement set
forth in section 246(c) of the IRC, (3) subsidiary
dividends treated as investment income
pursuant to Article 9-A, section 2089(b)(12). For
more information about item 2 dividends, see
TSB-M-89(14)C and for item 3 dividends, see
TSB-M-89(17)C.

Regulated investment companies and REITs do
not qualify for this deduction.

Line 12

Enter foreign dividend gross-up pursuant to
section 78 of the IRC (see federal Form 1120,
Schedule C, line 15). Entire net income does
not include any amount treated as dividends
pursuant to section 78 of the IRC (section
2089(a)(6)).

Line 13

Enter any New York State net operating loss
carried forward from prior years. Attach a
separate sheet with full details of both federal
and New York State net operating losses
claimed. For detailed information on net
operating losses, see pages 3 and 4 of these
instructions.

Line 14

In place of the disallowed ACRS and MACRS
deduction entered on line 7, you may compute
a depreciation deduction by any method
permitted under IRC section 167 (as it would
have applied to property placed in service on
December 31, 1980). For more information see
Form CT-399, Depreciation Adjustment
Schedule. Enter the amount from Form CT-399,
line 5, column I, or, if you have disposed of
property this year, use the amount from Form
CT-399, line 12, column B, and attach the form.

Line 15

If you have any of the following other
subtractions from federal taxable income, enter
the total amount of those subtractions and
attach a list.

S-1 Optional depreciation: If you claimed
optional depreciation in prior years on certain
property acquired from January 1, 1964,
through December 31, 1968, include on this
line any federal gain on the disposition of
qualified property that was included in federal
taxable income. The adjustment for New York
State gain or loss on qualified New York
property is made on line 23. See additional
instructions for line 8, A-1. Attach Form CT-324.

S-2 Receipts from the operation of school
buses: Include all receipts from the
transportation of pupils, teachers and others
acting in a supervisory capacity to and from
school or school activities, less any deductions
allowed in computing federal taxable income
that are directly or indirectly attributable to
those receipts.

S-3 Include any refund or credit of a tax
imposed under Article 9-A or Article 32 of the
Tax Law, for which no exclusion or deduction
was allowed in determining the taxpayer’s
entire net income for any prior year, or any
refund or credit of a tax imposed under section
183, 183-a, 184 or 184-a of the Tax Law. Do not
include on this line any refund or credit of tax
that was used to offset an addition of tax on
line 6. Do not include any refund or credit of
New York City taxes.

S-4 Include the amount of wages disallowed in
the computation of your federal taxable income
because you claimed a federal jobs credit.
Attach a copy of federal Form 5884.

S-5 If you are a corporation participating in
business on the New York Insurance Exchange,
include the following items:

® Any item of income or gain from the
business which you are required to take into
account separately for federal income tax.

® Your distributive or pro rata share of the
income or gain of the business for federal
income tax.

$-6 If your corporation has a safe harbor lease,
inctude the following items:

® Any amount included in your federal taxable
income solely as a result of an election
made under IRC section 168(f)(8) as it was
in effect on December 31, 1983.

® Any amount you could have excluded from
federal taxable income if you had not made
the election provided for in IRC section
168(f)(8) as it was in effect on December 31,
1983.

Leases for qualified mass-commuting vehicles
as defined in IRC section 103(b)(9) are exempt
from these adjustments.

Line 17

Subtract line 16 from line 9 to determine your
entire net income. Show a loss by using
parentheses.

Lines 18 through 24 —
Entire Net Income Base

The entire net income base is the portion of
your entire net income allocated to New York
State with certain adjustments. It may consist of
both business and investment income.

Use Schedule A, Part 1 or 11, to compute your
business allocation percentage.

Use Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule C, Parts [ and II,
to compute your investment income.

Line 18

Complete Form CT-3-ATT, Schedule C, Part 11
and enter the amount of your investment
income from line 46. Do not enter more than
the amount on line 17. If you had no
investment income, enter “‘0” and do not use

Schedule C. 31 1

Line 21

Muttiply line 19 by your business allocation
percentage from Schedule A, line 115 or 135. f
your property, payroll and sales were entirely
within New York State, enter the full amount
from line 19.

Line 23

You may claim a deduction for optional
depreciation on this line. Include any gain or
loss on the disposition of property on which
optional depreciation was claimed. Attach
Form CT-324.

Line 24

If line 23 is a gain, add lines 22 and 23. If line
23 is a loss, subtract line 23 from line 22. This
is your entire net income base.

Line 25
Entire Net Income Base Tax
Computation

If you do not qualify as a small business
taxpayer, multiply line 24 by 9% (.09). Enter the
amount on line 25 and line 68, then continue
with line 26.

A corporation qualifies as a small business

taxpayer if:

* Its entire net income (before allocation) is
not more than $290,000, and

¢ The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million as of
the last day of its tax year, and

* The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined
return.

Complete lines 106 and 107 if you use the
small business taxpayer tax rate.

Small business taxpayers: If you are a qualified
small business taxpayer and your entire net
income base is $200,000 or less, multiply line
24 by 8% (.08) and enter the amount on line
25 and line 68.

If your entire net income base is more than
$200,000, your effective tax rate will be between
8% and 9%. The closer the entire net income
base comes to $290,000 the closer the effective
tax rate comes to 9%. Your tax is:

1. $16,000 ($200,000 times 8%) plus

2. 9% of any amount over $200,000 but not
over $290,000 plus

3. an additional 5% of any amount over
$250,000 but not over $290,000

Use the worksheet below to compute your tax.

- Worksheet
Entire net income

from line 24 16000 | A
Subtract 200,000

Multiply balance by .09 = B
Subtract 50,000
Muitiply balance by 05 = C

Tax: Add boxes A, B, and C. Enter this
amount on lines 25 and 68.

e

A small business taxpayer’s tax on the entire
net income base will never exceed $26,100.
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Lines 26 through 39 —
Computation of Capital Base

To determine the value of your assets for the
capital base computations, you must include
real property and marketable securities at fair
market value. All other property must be
included at the value shown on your books in
accordance with generally accepted accounting
principles. Use lines 26 through 30 to adjust the
value of the assets you reported on your federal
return.

On lines 26 through 31, enter the values at the
beginning of the year in column A and at the
end of the year in column B. Enter the average
value in column C. Average value is generally
computed quarterly if your usual accounting
practice permits it. However, you may use a
more frequent basis such as monthly, weekly or
daily. If your usual accounting practice does not
permit a quarterly or more frequent computation
of the average value of assets, you may use a
semiannual or annual computation if no
distortion of average value results.

Line 26

Enter your total assets from the balance sheet of
your federal tax return.

Line 27
Enter the federal balance sheet value of any

real property and marketable securities included
on line 26.

Line 29

Enter the fair market value of real property and
marketable securities included on line 27. The
fair market value of an asset is the price
(without deduction of an encumbrance whether
or not the taxpayer is personally liable) at which
a willing seller will sell and a willing purchaser
will buy. You can generally find the fair market
value of marketable securities from price quotes
in financial newspapers. See TSB-M-85(18.1)C for
determination of fair market value of real
property.

Line 31

Enter the amount of all liabilities attributable to
assets on line 26, both long and short term.

Use the same method of averaging used to
determine average value of assets.

Line 33

Enter subsidiary capital from CT-3-ATT, Schedule
D, Part 11, line 52. If you have no subsidiary
capital, enter “0.”

Line 35

Enter total investment capital from CT-3-ATT,
Schedule C, line 35, column E. If you have no
investment capital, enter “0.”

Line 38

If your property, payroll and sales were entirely
within New York State, enter the full amount
from line 36.

Line 40

Capital base tax computation: Multiply line 39
by the tax rate of .00178. Enter the amount on
line 69, but do not enter more than $350,000. If
you have been taxable in New York State for
less than two years read the instructions for line
69 to see if you qualify as a new small business
corporation.

Cooperative housing corporations multiply line
39 by .0004.

Line 41

Your issuer’s allocation percentage represents
the amount of your capital employed within New
York State compared to the total amount of
capital employed everywhere. Every taxpayer
using Form CT-3 should compute an issuer’s
allocation percentage. If you do not supply the
information needed to compute your issuer’s
allocation percentage you may have to pay a
$500 penalty.

To determine the percentage, add line 39
(capital base) and CT-3-ATT, Schedule D, line 53
(subsidiary capital base), then divide by the
amount on line 32 (total capital). If you have no
subsidiaries, divide the line 39 amount by the
line 32 amount.

The issuer’s allocation percentage used to
compute subsidiary capital allocated to New
York and investment capital allocated t0 New
York is the percentage determined on the New
York State tax return filed by the issuing
corporation for the preceding year. You may
obtain some of these percentages from tax
service publications.

Up to three issuers’ allocation percentages may
be obtained by calling toll free (from

New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX

(1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York
State call (518) 438-8581. More than three may
be obtained only by written request. Make the
written request (in duplicate) to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Lines 42 through 67
Computation of Tax on
Minimum Taxable Income Base

The calculation of minimum taxable income
requires the addition to entire net income of two
federal tax preference items, the addition or
subtraction of certain federal adjustments used
to compute federal alternative minimum taxable
income, the addition of the New York State net
operating loss deduction and the subtraction of
the alternative net operating loss deduction.
Minimum taxable income is allocated by the use
of an alternative business allocation percentage
and the regular investment allocation
percentage. See Article 9-A, sections 208.8-B,
210.1(c) and 210.3-a and TSB-M-90(13)C.

The tax law also provides for a minimum tax
credit, available for use against tax computed on
the entire net income base. The credit is
designed to prevent double-counting of income
which might otherwise arise because of timing
items of tax preference and adjustments. See
Article 9-A section 210.13 and Form CT-3-ATT
and instructions.

You must determine a minimum taxable income
base and tax, whether or not you file federal
Form 4626.

Lines 43 through 50

Adjustments

Enter “0” on any line that does not apply to

you. Enter negative amounts in parentheses.

Line 43

Enter an amount determined by recomputing the

adjustment from line 2a of federal Form 4626 to

include only property that is included in the line

2a computation and that is:

a. property subject to IRC section 280F,

b. property placed in service in New York State
in tax years beginning after 1984, 312

c. property placed in service outside of this
state in tax years beginning after 1993, or

d. property of a taxpayer principally engaged in
the conduct of aviation (other than air freight
forwarders acting as principal and like
indirect air carriers) that was placed in
service before tax years beginning in 1989.

If your alternative minimum tax depreciation
adjustment on federal Form 4626, line 2a,
includes only property placed in service in New
York State, enter that amount.

If you were not required to file Form 4626,
compute the figure called for on line 2a
including only property described in a, b, ¢ and
d above. Use Form CT-399, lines 13, 14 and 15
to compute the depreciation adjustment for that
property.

Attach a copy of Form CT-399 or Federal Form
4626 to your return.

Line 44

Enter the federal item of adjustment for mining
exploration and development costs as
determined in section 56(a)(2) of the IRC (from
federal Form 4626, line 2c).

Line 45

Enter the federal item of adjustment for
circulation expenditures of personal holding
companies as determined under section 56(b)(2)
of the IRC (from federal Form 4626, line 2d).

Line 46

Enter the federal item of adjustment for adjusted
basis as determined under section 56(a)(7) of
the IRC (from federal Form 4626, line 2e),
except do not include any basis adjustment
made in determining the gain or loss from the
sale or exchange of pollution control facilities.

Line 47

Enter the federal item of adjustment for the
treatment of certain long-term contracts as
determined under section 56(a)(3) of the IRC
(from federal Form 4626, line 2f).

Line 48

Enter the federal item of adjustment for
instaliment sales of certain property as
determined under section 56(a)(6) of the IRC
(from federal Form 4626, line 2g).

Line 49

Enter the federal item of adjustment for
merchant marine capital contruction funds as
determined under section 56(c)(2) of the IRC
(from federal Form 4626, line 2h).

Line 50

Enter the federal item of adjustment for
disallowance of passive activity loss as
determined under section 58(b) of the IRC (from
federal Form 4626, line 2k).

Line 52a

Enter the federal item of preference for depletion
as determined under section 57(a)(1) of the IRC
(from federal Form 4626, line 2m).

Line 52b

Enter the federal item of preference for the
carryover of appreciated property charitable
deduction determined under section 57(a)(6) of
the IRC (from federal Form 4626, line 20).
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Line 53

Enter the federal item of preference for
intangible drilling costs as determined under
section 57(a)(2) of the IRC (from federal Form
4626, line 2p).

Line 55

Enter the net operating loss deducted in the
computation of the entire net income base.
This is the amount on Form CT-3, line 13.
Include only the maximum amount permitted
on Form CT-3, line 13. See pages 3 and 4 of
these instructions.

Line 56b

Enter your alternative net operating loss
deduction. Attach a separate sheet with full
details of the New York State alternative net
operating losses claimed. For detailed
information see page 4 of these instructions.

Line 59

Apportion any alternative net operating loss
deduction claimed on line 56b betwecn
business income and investment income.
Divide investment income before deduction of
any net operating loss (line 58) by minimum
taxable income before deduction of any net
operating loss (line 56a). Multiply the result by
the alternative net operating loss deduction
from line 56b and enter the amount on this
line.

Line 60

Alternative investment income is the sum of
investment income and that portion of minimum
taxable income that consists of income from
investment capital and which was not included
in entire net income.

Line 67
Multiply the amount on line 66 by 32% (.035).

Lines 68 through 93 —
Computation of Tax

Line 69
Enter the tax computed on your capital base
from line 40. Do not enter more than $350,000.

A new small business corporation may claim
an exemption from the tax on the capital base
for its first two tax years if it meets the
requirements below. If you are claiming this
exemption, enter “0” on line 69 and check the
box indicating which year the exemption is for.
You will continue to be liable for the highest tax
computed on lines 67, 68, or 70, in addition to
the tax on line 72. Attach a separate sheet
covering all points listed below. If you do not
supply the information, the exemption will be
disallowed.

Do not confuse this definition with the definition
of a small business taxpayer on line 25.

To qualify, the corporation must meet the
federal definition of a small business
corporation (IRC section 1244(c)(3) disregarding
the second sentence of subparagraph (A)). The
requirements are:

e The total amount of money and other
property the corporation received for stock,
as a contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, may not be more than $1 million on
the last day of its tax year.

e |t cannot be similar in ownership and
operations to a business now taxable or
previously taxable under New York State Tax
Law, Article 9 (section 183, 184, 185 or 186),
9-A, 22, 32 or 33 (or a business entity
which had income or losses includable

under Article 22 or which would have been
taxable under Article 23 had that article not
been repealed).

e 90% of the corporation’s assets and 80% of
its employees must be located in New York
State.

e |t cannot have as a shareholder a
corporation that owns over 50% of its voting
stock, and that is taxable under Article 9
(section 183, 184, 185 or 186), Article 9-A,
32 or 33, unless the corporation itself
qualifies as a small business corporation.

Line 70
Fixed Dollar Minimum Tax

The fixed dollar minimum tax consists of four
levels and is determined by the corporation’s

gross payroll, total receipts and average value
of gross assets.

For a corporation with a
gross payroll of:

The fixed dollar
minimum tax is:

— $6,250000 or more . . ......... $1,500
— less than $6,250,000 but

more than $1,000000 ... ...... $425
— $1,000000 0r less ........ ... $325

— Gross payroll, total receipts
and average value of gross
assets are each $1,000 or less.. $800

Enter your gross payroll, total receipts and
gross assets in the appropriate boxes.

To avoid an erroneous assessment or a delay
in your refund, you must enter an amount in
each of the three boxes provided on Form CT-3,
line 70. If you do not have gross assets, gross
payroll or total receipts, enter “0” in the
appropriate boxes.

Gross payroll — The total wages, salaries, and
other personal services compensation of all
employees including general executive officers
wherever located. For a period of less than 12
months, annualize gross payroll by dividing it
by the number of months in the short period
and multiplying the result by 12.

Use the total amounts shown on federal Form
1120 or Form 1120-A, lines 12 and 13, including
any employment credits deducted on line 13,
plus any wages included in the cost of goods
sold, Form 1120, Schedule A, line 3.

Total receipts — Receipts from the sales of
tangible personal property, services performed,
rentals, royalties, receipts from the sales of
rights for closed circuit and cable television
transmissions and all other business receipts
received in the regular course of business.
These items can be found on federal Form
1120 or 1120-A, Income Section, lines 1c, 6, 7
and 10.

Do not include any nonbusiness dividends,
nonbusiness interest, or business or investment
gains or losses.

Average value of gross assets — The average
fair market value of real property and
marketable securities plus all other property at
the value shown on your books, in accordance
with generally accepted accounting principles.
Use the amount from Form CT-3, line 30,
column C.

Line 71

Enter the amount from line 67, 68, 69 or 70,
whichever is largest. Small business taxpayer
exception: if line 69 (tax on capital base) is
larger than line 68 (tax on entire net income
base) only because of the reduced rate
applicable to small business taxpayers, enter
the largest amount from line 67, 68 or 70.
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Taxable DISCs must enter the larger of lines 69
or 70. Real estate investment trusts and
regulated investment companies must enter the
amount from line 67, 68 or 70, whichever is
largest.

Line 74

Complete line 94 and enter the total amount of
the tax credit that you are claiming. When
claiming more than one credit you must apply
them against your tax in the order listed below.

Tax credits, except the credit for servicing
mortgages, cannot reduce your tax below the
higher of the fixed dollar minimum tax or the
tax on the minimum taxable income base.

1. Eligible business facility credit (Form CT-45)

2. Tax Credit for Servicing Mortgages (section
210.21-a) may only be claimed by mortgage
bankers. If you claim this credit you must
submit a copy of the letter from the New
York State Mortgage Agency approving the
credit. This credit can reduce the tax to
zero. Enter amount in the space provided
on Form CT-3.

3. Economic development zone wage tax
credit (Form DTF-601)

4. ZEA wage tax credit (Form DTF-601.1)
5, Investment tax credit (Form CT-46)

6. Additional investment tax credit
(Form CT-46)

7. Employment incentive tax credit
(Form CT-46)

8. Economic development zone capital tax
credit (Form DTF-602)
9. Economic development zone investment tax
credit (Form DTF-603)
10. Economic development zone employment
incentive tax credit (Form DTF-603)
11. Minimum tax credit (Form CT-3-ATT,
Schedule B)

12. Special additional mortgage recording tax
credit (Form CT-43 or Form CT-43.1)

Mergers, Acquisitions and Consolidations - In
general, the tax credits of a target corporation
cannot be used by the acquiring corporation.
See Form CT-244.

Indicate which credits you are claiming on
line 94. Attach copies of all forms and
schedules used.

Line 75
If your tax credits are more than the tax shown
on line 73, enter “0.

Line 77

The franchise tax is the larger of line 75 or 76.
However, if the total on line 75 is less than the
total on line 76 because of the application of
the credit for servicing mortgages (available
only to mortgage bankers), enter the amount
from line 75.

Line 78
Computation of State Tax Surcharge

Line 78 - Enter the appropriate state tax
surcharge rate from the chart below in the box
on line 78 and compute your state tax
surcharge using the worksheet below.

The state tax surcharge rates are:
Maximum number
of months

For Tax Years Ending surcharge imposed

After and Before

122%  6/30/94 7195 12
7%%  6/30/95 7196 12
22%  6/30/96 7ne7 12
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Worksheet for State Tax Surcharge

A State tax surcharge rate which

applies to this return (see chart

on page 9). %
B. Maximum number of months for

which the state tax surcharge

percentage on line A is imposed

(see chart on page 9).

C. Number of months for which the
state tax surcharge percentage
on line A has been paid.

D. Number of months still subject to
the state tax surcharge
percentage on line A (subtract
line C from
line B).

- If line D is zero, stop here and
enter “0” on line 78 of the
return.

E. Number of months covered by
this return.

- If line E is less than or equal to
line D, stop here and multiply
the franchise tax on line 77 by
the state tax surcharge
percentage on line A; enter this
amount on line 78 of the return.

- If line E is more than line D,
complete lines F through 1.

F. Proration percentage

(divide line DbylineE). %
G.Franchise tax from line

77 of the return.

H.Franchise tax subject to
the state tax surcharge
(multiply line G by
line F).

. State tax surcharge after
proration (multiply line H
by the state tax surcharge
rate on line A). Enter this
amount on line 78 of the
return.

—

Line 80a

If you have filed a request for extension, enter
the amount from Form CT-5.

Line 80b

If you did not file Form CT-5 and the amount
on line 79 (tax and state tax surcharge) is
more than $1,000, you must pay a mandatory
25% first instaliment for the period following
that covered by the return.

Line 83

If line 82 is smaller than line 81, subtract line
82 from line 81. This is the balance of tax
due. If line 82 is larger than line 81, enter "0
on line 83.

Line 84

If you underpaid your estimated tax, use
Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax
by a Corporation, to compute the penalty.
Attach Form CT-222. Check the box and enter
the penalty on this line.

Lines 85 and 86

If you are not filing this return on time, you
must pay interest and additional charges.
(See instructions on page 3.)

Line 87b
lf you want to make a gift to the wildlife fund,
enter the amount of your gift on this line. The

amount you give must be in whole dollars. Your
gift will increase your payment or reduce your
overpayment. You cannot change the amount
of your gift after you file your return.

Lines 89 through 92

You may apply an overpayment as a credit to
your next state franchise tax period or to your
MTA surcharge for this period or you may have
it refunded. Indicate on these lines the
amounts you wish transferred as credits or
refunded.

Line 93

If you claim a refund of unused investment tax
credit from Form CT-46, special additional
mortgage recording tax credit from Form
CT-43.1, EDZ wage tax credit from Form
DTF-601 or DTF-601.1 or EDZ investment tax
credit from Form DTF-603, check the refund
box on page 1. Enter the total amount and
attach the appropriate tax credit forms. Do not
include this amount in the total tax credits
claimed on lines 74 and 94.

Line 94

Enter in the appropriate space the amount of
any tax credits that you are claiming.

Lines 95 through 100
Prepayments

Enter the total amount of your prepayments on
line 82.

Line 101

Every corporation involved in a merger,
acquisition or consolidation since April 19,
1989, must check the Yes box on this line. Any
corporation not involved in such a transaction
should check the No box. For additional
information, see TSB-M-89(17)C or Form
CT-244-1, the instructions for Form CT-244,
Acquisition, Merger and Consolidation
Information Report.

Lines 102 and 103
Real Property Gains Tax

Every corporation with an interest in real
property located in New York State must keep a
record of the transfer of its stock and report
annually every transfer of a controlling interest
in its stock and any other information that may
be required for the enforcement of this tax
(Article 31-B, section 1448-a, Tax on Gains
Derived from Certain Real Property Transfers).

Controlling interest is either 50% or more of
the total combined voting power of all classes
of stock or 50% or more of the capital, profits
or beneficial interest in that voting stock.

Answer both questions. If you answer Yes to
both questions, attach a separate sheet
providing the following information:

* Name, address and identification number of
the new controlling stockholder (use social
security number for individuals and federal
employer identification number for
corporations).

® Date transfer was made.

® Location of real property.

® Whether the corporation is a cooperative
housing corporation. 314

Lines 104 and 105
Interest Paid to Shareholders

Corporations that made interest payments,
deducted in computing entire net income, to a
shareholder or shareholders owning, directly or
indirectly, individually or in the aggregate, more
than 50% of its issued capital stock must
provide the information requested in this
section (section 211.2-a). A penalty of $500 is
imposed for failure to provide this information
(section 1085(n)).

Lines 106 and 107
Small Business Taxpayer

If you used the small business tax rate on line
25 you must complete this line to show that
your corporation qualifies for the lower tax rate.
Use the worksheet below to determine the
amount to enter on line 107.

No. of Shares Amount

Par value stock

No par stock

Contributions to capital & paid-in surplus

Total Capital Contributions - Enter on line 107

A corporation qualifies if:

* |ts entire net income (before allocation) is
_not more than $290,000,

* The total amount of money and other
property it received for stock, as a
contribution to capital and as paid-in
surplus, is not more than $1 million on the
last day of its tax year, and

* The corporation is not part of an affiliated
group, as defined in IRC section 1504,
unless the group itself would have met the
above criteria if it had filed a combined
return.

If you qualify, provide the information requested
in this section. Use your balance sheet
amounts for stock and other paid-in capital.

Federal Returns

Indicate which type of federal return you filed
and list any years during the past five for which
you were audited by the IRS.

Interest Deducted

Enter the total amount of interest deducted on
your federal return that you used in computing
your federal taxable income on line 1.

Schedule A — Computation of
Business Allocation
Percentage and Alternative
Business Allocation
Percentage for Minimum
Taxable Income Base

Use Schedule A to allocate your business
income (a component of entire net income} and
business capital. Foreign airlines should
consult TSB-M-94(2)C before completing
Schedule A. See page 4 of these instructions
for special information on foreign airlines.

The election to allocate all income and capital
as either investment or business was repealed.
If you have both types of income or capital, you
must complete Schedule A and Form CT-3-ATT,
Schedule C, Parts [ and 1.
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If your property, payroll and sales were entirely
within New York State, you do not need to
complete Schedule A.

If you claim a business allocation percentage of
less than 100%, you must complete Schedule A.
You allocate by multiplying business income or
business capital by your business allocation
percentage.

Part 1 is used by aviation corporations to
compute the business allocation percentage.
Three factors are averaged: aircraft arrivals and
departures, revenue tons handled, and
originating revenue. This percentage is used to
allocate business income, when determing both
the entire net income base and the minimum
taxable income base, and business capital
when computing the capital base.

In Part II the business allocation percentage is
computed by averaging four factors: property,
payroll and business receipts (the business
receipts factor is included twice). This
percentage is used to allocate business income
when computing the entire net income base
and is used to allocate business capital when
computing the capital base.

In Part 111 the alternative business allocation
percentage is computed by averaging four
factors: property, payroll and business receipts
(the business receipts factor is included twice).
The factors are determined using the same
rules that apply to Part 11, except that any
factor used to determine the alternative
business allocation percentage must be
adjusted to reflect modifications made in the
computation of minimum taxable incoms (lines
42 through 57), which may change an amount
used in a particular factor. For example, a
depreciation modification would change the
amounts used in computing the property factor.
The Part 111 alternative business allocation
percentage is used to determine the minimum
taxable income base only.

The property factor is the percentage of the
average value of your real and tangible
personal property, whether owned or rented,
that is located within New York State. The
business receipts factor is the percentage of
your business receipts attributable to New York
State. The payroll factor is the percentage of
your payroll that is attributable to New York
State.

You must value real and tangible personal
property owned by the corporation at the
adjusted basis used for federal income tax.
However, you may make a one-time, revocable
election to value real and tangible personal
property at fair market value. You must make
this election on or before the due date (or
extended due date) for filing the franchise tax
return for your first tax year. This election does
not apply to corporations included in a
combined return unless all of the corporations
included in the return make the election.

If you are attributing property or wages outside
New York State, attach a separate sheet listing:

¢ Number, location and duties of your
employees located outside New York State.

e |ocation of real and tangible personal
property and a description of how that
property is used.

Schedule A, Part I —
Computation of Business
Allocation Percentage for
Aviation Corporations
Line 108

Aircraft arrivals and departures — Enter the
number of landings and takeoffs of an aircraft

of an aviation corporation and the number of
pickups and deliveries by the aircraft. Arrivals
and departures for maintenance, repair,
refueling (where no debarkation or embarkation
of traffic occurs), training, emergencies, and
nonrevenue flights should not be included.

Line 110

Revenue tons handled — Enter the weight, in
tons, of revenue passengers (at 200 pounds
per passenger) and revenue cargo first
received as originating or connecting traffic or
finally discharged at an airport.

Line 112

Originating revenue — Enter revenue from the
transportation of revenue passengers and
revenue property first received as originating or
connecting traffic.

Schedule A, Part I —
Computation of Business
Allocation Percentage

Lines 116 through 132

Enter the New York State amounts in column A
and the total amounts in column B.

Line 116

Enter the average value of real property you
owned. Do not include real property and
related equipment (except inventoriable goods)
that are under construction and are not
occupied or used during construction. Include
property or equipment under construction that
is partially used in the regular course of
business only to the extent used.

Line 117

Enter the average value of rented real property.
The value of rented real property is generally
eight times the gross rent payable during the
year covered by this return. Gross rent includes
any amount payable as rent or in lieu of rent
(such as taxes, repairs, etc.) and amortization
of leasehold improvements that revert to the
lessor at the end of the lease.

Line 118

Enter the average value of inventories.

Line 119

Enter the average value of tangible personal
property you owned such as machinery, tools,
and implements. Do not include cash, shares
of stock, bonds, notes, credits, evidences of an
interest in property or evidences of credit.

Line 120

Enter the average value of tangible personal
property you rented. The value of rented
tangible personal property is generally eight
times the gross rent payable during the year
covered by this return.

Lines 123 and 124
Enter receipts from the sale of tangible
personal property.

Line 125

Enter receipts for services performed, based on
where they are performed. Corporations
engaged in broadcasting or the publication of
newspapers and periodicals must allocate to
New York State receipts from the sale of
advertising to the extent that the broadcasts or
publications are delivered to the ultimate
purchasers, subscribers, listeners or viewers in

New York State.
315

Receipts for Services to Regulated Investment
Companies - For tax periods beginning in 1989
and after, 100% of the receipts received from
an investment company for the sale of
management, administration or distribution
services must be allocated based on the
domicile of the shareholders of the investment
company (section 210.3(a)(6)(A)(ii)). For more
information see TSB-M-88(9)C.

Receipts for services performed by air freight
forwarders acting as principal and like indirect
air carriers are allocated to New York State as
follows.

Receipts from: Allocate Recsipts

— Pickup and delivery
both made in NYS
— Pickup only made in NYS

— Delivery only made
in NYS 50% to NYS

The Arts and Cuiltural Affairs Law has been
amended to provide that receipts from the sale
of works of art, by an art merchant, are
receipts from the sale of tangible personal
property (rather than receipts for services
performed).
The amendment applies to works of art which
are:
« created by an artist or craftsman; and
e consigned by such artist or craftsman to an
art merchant; and
« sold by the art merchant on or after
August 9, 1995.

The amendment does not apply to consigned
works of art sold at a public auction.

Line 126

Enter receipts from all property you rented to
others. Rental receipts are attributable to the
location of property.

Line 127
Enter receipts from royalties, allocated where
earned.

Line 128

Enter all other business receipts, allocated
where earned.

Line 131

An additional receipts factor must be included
in the computation of the business allocation
percentage. Enter the same percentage
computed on line 130 (section 210.3(a)(4)).

Line 132
Enter the total amount of all wages and

compensation of employees other than general
executive officers.

100% to NYS
50% to NYS

General executive officers include the
chairman, president, vice-president, secretary,
assistant secretary, treasurer, assistant
treasurer, comptroller and any other officer
charged with the general executive affairs of
the corporation. An executive officer whose
duties are restricted to territory either inside or
outside New York State is not a general
executive officer. Employees within New York
include all employees regularly connected with
or working out of an office or other place of
business you maintained within New York
State, no matter where the services of the
employees were performed.

Line 135

if a factor is missing, add the remaining factors
and divide by the total number of factors
present. If all but one factor are missing, the
remaining factor is the allocation percentage. A
factor is missing only if both column A and
column B are zero.
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Example

Computation of allocation percentage for business
income and capital:

CORP A CORP.B  CORP.C
Property factor 80% 60% 60%
Receipts factor 20% 30% 30%
Add’l receipts factor 20% 30% 30%
Payroll factor 60% 0% None"
Total 180% 120% 120%
Divided by 4 4 3
Allocation percentage for
business income and
capital 45% 30% 40%

*In the example above, Corporation C has no payroll
tactor since it has no employees either inside or outside
New York State. Corporation B has no employees in New
York State but has employees outside New York State.

Schedule A, Part 111 —
Computation of Alternative
Business Allocation
Percentage for Minimum
Taxable Income Base

If you entered zeros on lines 43 through 50
and 52 through 54 you may use the same
percentages determined in Schedule A, Part 11.

If you made entries on lines 43 through 54 that
altered an item used to compute the property
or receipts factors in Schedule A, Part 11, you
must make appropriate changes when
determining the alternative business allocation
percentage for allocating the alternative
business income on line 62 and Form CT-3-ATT,
Schedule B, Part I, line 6.

Line 150b

An additional receipts factor must be included
in the computation of the alternative business
allocation percentage. Enter the same
percentage computed on line 150a (Tax Law
section 210.3-a(a)).

Line 154

If either the property, receipts or payroll factor
is missing, add the remaining factors and
divide by the total number of factors present. If
all but one factor are missing, the remaining
factor is the allocation percentage. A factor is
missing only if both column A and column B
are zero.

Computation of the allocation percentage for
the minimum taxable income base is similar to
the computation of the allocation percentage
for business income and capital. See the
example for line 135.

When preparing and mailing your 1995
corporate franchise tax return, please be
sure to:

® Use the preaddressed label. It will assist in
the proper recording of your franchise tax
return.

If you are not using the label, include your
employer identification number and file
number on each form filed. These numbers
can be copied directly from the label.

® Have the appropriate individuals sign the return.

® Make your check payable to: New York
State Corporation Tax.

® Attach a complete copy of your federal
return.

® Attach Forms CT-3-ATT and CT-244 and any
other schedules and tax credit claim forms
used to compute your tax.

* Assemble your return and attachments this way:

Copy of your
federal return

Separate sheets
(identify by the number)|

Other required forms

Tax credit torms

Form CT-244

Form CT-3-ATT

Form CT-3

Payment

Mail to: NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT
P O BOX 1909
ALBANY NY 12201-1909

Instructions for Form
CT-3-ATT — Schedules
B,Cand D

Computation and Application
of Minimum Tax Credit

Schedule B, Part I —
Computation of Adjusted
Minimum Tax

Complete lines 1 through 18 only if your tax
due, shown on Form CT-3, line 77, is based on
the minimum taxable income base. Many of the
amounts used in Part I will be found in other
schedules throughout Forms CT-3 and CT-3-ATT.
The figure entered on line 18 may be used to
compute your minimum tax credit in future
years. If your tax due is not based on the
minimum taxable income, enter 0"’ on this line.

Line 11
Multiply the amount on line 10 by 3'2% (.035).

Schedule B, Part II —
Application of Minimum Tax
Credit

The minimum tax credit can be used to reduce
your franchise tax only if the tax is based on
your entire net income base. The amount of
credit is the adjusted minimum tax computed in
Schedule B, Part I, for all prior years, less any
amount used as a minimum tax credit in prior
tax years.

Lines 19 through 23

Enter in column A the year, and in column B
the amount of the adjusted minimum tax, for
each tax year beginning after 1989 with respect
to which your tax due was based on the
minimum taxable income base. The adjusted
minimum tax for 1990 and 1991 may be found
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on Form CT-3-ATT, line 48, and for 1992 and
1993 on Form CT-3-ATT, line 22. In column C,
enter the adjusted minimum tax recalculated for
the same years, except without an add-back of
net operating loss deduction. If a net operating
loss deduction was not added back for any of
the years listed, make no entry in column C and
enter *0” on line 21, column D.

Line 23

You are permitted to increase the adjusted
minimum tax by a portion of the pre-1994 net
operating loss component. For tax years
beginning after 1993 and before 1999, this
increase may not exceed 20% of the total
pre-1994 net operating loss component indicated
on line 21, column D.

Line 25

Enter any amount you have used as a minimum
tax credit in a prior year. Otherwise, enter ““0”
on this line.

Line 27

If your franchise tax for this tax year is based
on your entire net income base, enter the
amount that will, after applying all other tax
credits, reduce your tax on your entire net
income base to the higher of the fixed dollar
minimum tax or the tax on the minimum taxable
income base.

Schedule C, Part I —
Computation of Investment
Capital and Investment
Allocation Percentage

The term “investment capital” means the value
of the taxpayer’s investments in stocks, bonds
and other corporate or governmental securities,
reduced by directly and indirectly attributable
liabilities. Include in investment capital only
those stocks, bonds or other securities that are:

(1) stocks and similar corporate equity
instruments, such as business trust
certificates, and units in a publicly traded
partnership taxable as a corporation pursuant
to section 208.1 of the Tax Law;

(2) debt instruments (such as bonds) issued by
the United States, the District of Columbia,
and any state, territory or possession of the
United States, any foreign country or any
political subdivision or governmental
instrumentality of the foregoing;

(3) qualifying corporate debt instruments (see
Section I);

(4) options on any item described in (1), (2) or
(3) above and not excluded from investment
capital nor deemed to be cash (see
Instruments Deemed Cash on this page) or
on a stock or bond index or on a futures
contract on such an index, unless the
options are purchased primarily to diminish
the taxpayer’s risk of loss from holding one
or more positions in assets that constitute
business or subsidiary capital; or

(5) stock rights and stock warrants not in the
possession of the issuer.

The term “instrument” includes stock and debt
that is held in book entry form.

Investment capital does not include:
(1) stock issued by the taxpayer;

(2) stocks, bonds or other securities constituting
subsidiary capital. Stock of a subsidiary is
not subsidiary capital in the case of a target
corporation in certain corporate acquisitions.
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See Tax Law section 208.4. Debt
instruments issued by a subsidiary are also
not subsidiary capital if the subsidiary
claimed and deducted interest on the
instruments for purposes of Article 9-A, 32
or 33 of the Tax Law;

() securities of an individual, partnership, trust
or other nongovernmental entity that is not a
corporation pursuant to section 208.1 of the
Tax Law (such as FNMA and GNMA pass
through certificates);

(4) stocks, bonds and other securities of a
DISC, or any indebtedness from a DISC;

(5) regular and residual interests in a real
estate mortgage investment conduit
(REMIC) as defined in section 860D of the
Internal Revenue Code;

(6) futures and forward contracts; and

(7) stocks, bonds and other securities held by
the taxpayer for sale to customers in the
regular course of business.

If you own a stock, bond or other security that
is subject to a repurchase agreement, include
this instrument as investment capital. Do not
include if it is held as collateral. See regulation
section 3-4.2(f) for a full discussion of
securities held subject to a repurchase
agreement.

Column A categorizes investment capital into
two sections:

Section | - Corporate and governmental debt
instruments

Section 11 - Corporate stock, stock rights, stock
warrants and options

Section I — Columns A through G
Column A - List investments in governmental
and qualifying corporate debt instruments
(including certificates of deposit), debt
instruments issued by the US, any state,
territory or possession of the US, the District of
Columbia, or any foreign country or any
political subdivision or government
instrumentality of any of the foregoing. Do not
include instruments deemed to be cash. See
Instruments Deemed Cash on this page.

The term “‘qualifying corporate debt

instrument” means all debt instruments issued

by a corporation other than the following:

® instruments issued by the taxpayer or a
DISC;

® instruments which constitute subsidiary
capital in the hands of the taxpayer;

® instruments acquired by the taxpayer for
services rendered or for the sale, rental or
other transfer of property if the obligor is
the recipient of the services or property.
However, when a taxpayer sells or otherwise
transfers property which is investment
capital in the hands of the taxpayer and
receives in return a corporate obligation
issued by the recipient of the property, the
corporate obligation, if it is not otherwise
excluded from investment capital, would
constitute investment capital in the hands of
the taxpayer;

e instruments acquired for funds if (i) the
obligor is the recipient of the funds, (i) the
taxpayer is principally engaged in the
business of lending funds, and (iii) the
obligation is acquired in the regular course
of the taxpayer’s business of lending funds.
A taxpayer is principally engaged in the
business of lending funds if, during the tax

year, more than 50% of its gross receipts
consist of interest income from loans or net
gain from the sale or redemption of notes or
other evidences of indebtedness arising
from loans made by the taxpayer. Receipts
do not include return of principal or
nonrecurring, extraordinary items;

* accepted drafts (such as banker’s
acceptances and trade acceptances) if the
taxpayer is the drawer of the draft;

e instruments issued by a corporation that is
a member of an affiliated group which
includes the taxpayer. The term “affiliated
group” means a corporation or corporations
and the common parent thereof. The term
“common parent’’ means an individual,
corporation, partnership, trust or estate that
owns or controls, either directly or indirectly,
at least 80% of the voting stock of the
corporation or corporations. An affiliated
group also includes all other corporations at
least 80% of the voting stock of which is
owned or controlled, either directly or
indirectly, by one or more of the corporations
included in the affiliated group or by the
common parent and one or more of the
corporations included in the affiliated group;

e accounts receivable, including those held by
a factor.

Instruments Deemed Cash
A debt instrument described above or included
in investment capital must be treated as cash:

1) if payable on demand;

2) if payable by its terms within 6 months and 1
day from the date the debt was incurred; or
3) if payable by its terms more than 6 months

and 1 day from the date the debt was
incurred, on each day in the tax year on
and after the first day in the tax year which
is not more than 6 months and 1 day prior
to the maturity date (see Examples).

Cash, under certain circumstances, may be
treated as investment capital. See instructions
for line 34.

Examples

1. A calendar year taxpayer owns a municipal
bond with a maturity date of 1/31/95. As of
7/30/94, the first day not more than six
months and one day before the maturity
date, and on each day thereafter, the bond
is deemed to be cash. The bond should be
included in Part 1, but in computing the
average value of the bond and attributable
liabilities, the taxpayer should be treated as
no longer owning the bond on any date on
or after 7/30/94. The value of the bond
should then be treated as cash for each day
the taxpayer continues to own the bond
after 7/29/94.

2. A taxpayer purchased a four-month

qualifying corporate debt instrument on the
day it was issued, and on the maturity date
renewed it for an additional four-month

term. The two four-month debt instruments
are deemed to be cash. The renewal of the
first four-month debt instrument is treated as
the creation of a second, separate debt
instrument, each of the two instruments
being due within six months and one day of
the date on which the debt was incurred.

3. A calendar-year taxpayer at all times during
the tax year owns a five-year qualifying,
marketable corporate bond with a maturity
date of 1/2/95. The taxpayer also owns
corporate stock, but has no cash at any
point during the 1994 tax vear. The bond is
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deemed to be cash as of 7/1/94, the date six
months and one day prior to maturity. The
fair market value of the bond is $95,000 on
3/31/94, $90,000 on 6/30/94, $98,000 on
9/30/94 and $100,000 on 12/31/94. The bond
should be listed in Section I, column A,
because it qualifies as investment capital.
Its average value, to be stated in column C
of Section 1, is computed as ($95,000
+890000 + 0 + 0) ~ 4 =$46,250. The
use of the zeros represents the fact that the
taxpayer is deemed to own cash, and not a
bond, on 9/30 and 12/31. The average value
of the bond insofar as it is deemed to be
cash is computed as (0 + 0+ $98,000 +
$100000) + 4 = $49,500. The use of the
zeros represents the fact that the taxpayer
owned no cash on 3/31 or 6/30. The figures
$98,000 and $100,000 represent the fact that
the taxpayer is deemed to own cash in
those amounts on 9/30 and 12/31,
respectively. The taxpayer had liabilities
attributable to the bond. The amount of the
liablities should be treated in conformity
with the above treatment of the value of the
bond itself. Thus, the liabilities, which were
in the amount of $10,000, $12,000, $8,000
and $6,000 on the four test dates yield an
average liability of $5500 attributable to the
listed bond ($10,000 + $12,000 + 0 +

0) ~ 4 = $5,500, to be entered in column D
of Section I, and an average liability of
$3500 (0 + 0 + $8000 + $6,000 + 4 =
$3,500) to be applied to determine the net
average value of the taxpayer’s cash. If the
taxpayer elects to treat the deemed cash as
investment capital, it would include $49,500
on line 34, column C and $3,500 on line 34,
column D. If the cash election is not made,
the $49,500, reduced by $3500, would
constitute business capital.

4. A taxpayer purchased a debt instrument,
includable in Section I, with a maturity date
of 12/15/94. Any such investment will be
deemed cash on the same numerical date
as the maturity date, less one day. Six
months prior. Thus the date on which this
debt instrument becomes cash is 6/14/94.

Column C — Enter the total average fair
market value of each item listed in column A.
On any date, the fair market value of stocks,
bonds and other regularly traded securities is
the mean between the highest and lowest
selling prices.

The average value is generally computed
quarterly if your usual accounting practice
permits it, but you may use a monthly, weekly,
or daily average. If your usual accounting
practice does not permit a quarterly or more
frequent computation of average fair market
value, you may use a semiannual or annual
computation if no distortion of average fair
market value results. If the security is not
marketable, value it using generally accepted
accounting principles (GAAP). (See Example 3
on this page.)

Column D - Deduct all liabilities, both long-
term and short-term, directly or indirectly
attributable to investment capital. Use the same
method of averaging used to determine the
average value of assets in column C. Enter for
each item of investment capital listed in column
A the sum of the liabilities directly or indirectly
attributable to it. Liabilities directly attributable
to an asset are those that were incurred to
acquire that asset. (See Example 3 on this

page.)
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Use the following worksheet to determine the
amount of liabilities indirectly attributable to a
particular asset.

Worksheet
Total liabilities A

Liabilities directly
attributable to:
| Subsidiary capital B
Investment capital C
Business capital D
E
F

Add lines B, C and D
Subtract line E from line A

Enter amount from

Schedule C,

line 35, column C G
Enter amount from

Form CT-3, line 30,

column C H
Divide line G by line H I %
Muitiply line F by line I J
Value of the
particular asset K
Enter amount from line G L
Divide line K by line L M %
Enter amount from line J N
Multiply line M by line N (o]

In column D, on the line for the asset in
question, include the sum of the amount from
line O of this worksheet and the amount of
liabilities directly attributable to that asset.

Column E — Determine the net average value
of each item listed in column A by subtracting
column D from column C. The net average
value of any item cannot be less than zero.

Column F — Enter the issuer’s allocation
percentage for each investment listed in
column A. For information, see the instructions
for Form CT-3, line 41. The issuer’s allocation
percentage on goverment bonds listed in Part 1
is 0%.

Up to three issuer’s allocation percentages may
be obtained by calling toll free (from New York
State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829).
From areas outside New York State call
(518) 438-8581. More than three may be
obtained only by written request. Make the
written request (in duplicate) to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU

W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS

ALBANY NY 12227

Issuer’s allocation percentages are now
available on some electronic and print tax
services.

Column G — Determine the value of each
investment in column A by multiplying each
item in column E by the issuer’s allocation
percentage listed in column F.

Section I1 — Columns A through G
Column A - List investments in the following:

® stock issued by a corporation;

* options as described in item (4) of the
definition of investment capital listed above;

® units in a publicly traded partnership treated
as a corporation for purposes of Article 9-A
of the Tax Law;

® business trust certificates;

® stock rights and stock warrants not in the
possession of the issuer; and

e other corporate equity instruments similar to
stock.

Columns C through G - See instructions for
Section I, columns C through G.

Line 33

The investment allocation percentage is
computed without the addition of cash on line 34.

Line 34 - Cash Election

At the election of the taxpayer, cash on hand
and cash on deposit may be treated as either
investment capital or business capital. However,
no election to treat cash as investment capital
may be made when the taxpayer has no other
investment capital.

Cash includes shares in a money market
mutual fund. A money market mutual fund is a
no-load, open-end investment company
registered under the Federal Investment
Company Act of 1940 that attempts to maintain
a constant net asset value per share (i.e, a
“money market” fund). See also Instruments
Deemed Cash on page 13.

Cash cannot be split between business capital
and investment capital. It must be treated as all
business capital or all investment capital.

Schedule C Part II —
Computation of investment
Income for Allocation

Complete this schedule if you are allocating
part of your entire net income by using an
investment allocation percentage from
Schedule C, Part 1. Investment income is
income from investment capital to the extent it
is included in entire net income, less any
deductions allowable in computing entire net
income that are attributable to investment
capital or investment income, and less a
portion of any net operating loss deduction
allowable in computing entire net income.

Income from investment capital includes
dividends (other than from a subsidiary or a
DISC), interest and capital gains and losses
from sales or exchanges of investment capital
that are included in the computation of entire
net income. Professional services corporations
(Article 15 or 15-A BCL) must use an
investment allocation percentage of 100%
(section 210.3(b) (3)).

Line 36

Enter interest income received from investment
capital listed in Schedule C, Part I, Section I,
column A, to the extent included in entire net

income. 31 8

Line 37

Enter interest income received from bank
accounts (cash) if included on line 34. Include
interest income received from a savings
account, checking account, time deposit
account (i.e., certificate of deposit) or similar
accounts, which are usually evidenced by a
passbook. Enter ‘0" on this line if the
investment allocation percentage on line 33 is
zero. In that case, this interest will be allocated
by the business allocation percentage as part
of business income.

Line 38

Enter interest income from money market
mutual funds and debt instruments deemed
cash, if included on line 34.

Line 39

Enter dividend income received from
investment capital listed in Schedule C, Part I,
Section I, column A, to the extent included in
entire net income. Include the following:

s 50% of dividends received from
nonsubsidiary stock which meets the
holding requirements of IRC section 246(c).
50% of these dividends were deducted on
CT-3, line 11;

® 50% of subpart F income constituting
dividends received from a controlled foreign
corporation in which you own 50% or less
of the voting stock (see federal Form 1120,
Schedule C, line 14). See TSB-A-87 (23.1)C
for additional information;

* 100% of dividends received from
nonsubsidiary stock which did not meet the
holding requirements of IRC section 246(c);
and

® 100% of dividends received from the stock
of a target corporation (if you were required
to file Form CT-244, check the acquisition
box and answer Yes on line 15 or 16)..See
Tax Law, sections 208.4, 2089(b)(12) and
208.9(b)(14).

Line 40

Enter any net capital gains or losses from the
sale and exchange of securities constituting
investment capital, that were used in
computing federal taxable income.

Line 41

Other items of investment income include but
are not limited to the following:

* premium income from an unexercised
covered call option, if the item which covers
the call is an asset constituting investment
capital;
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e interest income from a target corporation or
capital gain or loss of a target corporation
(if you were required to file Form CT-244,
check the acquisition box and answer Yes
on lines 15 or 16). See Tax Law, section
208.4 and 208.9(b)(13).

Lines 43a, 43b, 44a and 44c

Taxpayers should refer to TSB-M-95 (2)C for
line instructions for lines 43a, 43b, 44a and
44b applicable to the 1995 tax year. TSB-M-95
(2)C may be obtained by calling 1-800-972-1233.
This TSB-M will explain and assist taxpayers
with new procedures, effective for tax years
beginning in 1995 or after, regarding the
attribution of non-interest deductions to
subsidiary, business and investment capital.

Line 45

Apportion any net operating loss deduction
claimed on Form CT-3, line 13, between
business income and investment income.
Divide investment income before deduction of
any net operating loss by entire net income
before deduction of any net operating loss.
Muiltiply the result by the net operating loss
deduction.

Schedule D

Complete this schedule if you have any
subsidiaries. A subsidiary is a corporation of
which the taxpayer owns more than 50% of the
total number of shares of the corporation’s
voting stock, issued and outstanding. A DISC is
not a subsidiary.

Schedule D, Part I — Income
Attributable to Subsidiary
Capital

Lines 47 through 49

Enter interest, dividends and capital gains
attributable to subsidiary capital. In addition,
include on line 49 items such as collapsible
corporation gain and sale of subsidiary capital
which is not a capital asset for federal tax.

Schedule D, Part 11 —
Computation and Allocation of
Subsidiary Capital Base and

Tax

Subsidiary capital is the taxpayer’s total
investment in shares of capital stock of its
subsidiaries and the amount of indebtedness
owed to the taxpayer by its subsidiaries
(whether or not evidenced by written
instruments) on which interest is not claimed
and deducted by the subsidiary against any tax
imposed by Article 9-A, 32 or 33, less liabilities
directly or indirectly attributable to subsidiary
capital.

Subsidiary capital does not include accounts
receivable acquired in the ordinary course of
trade or business either for services rendered
or for the sale of property primarily heid for
sales to customers. Each item of subsidiary
capital must be reduced by any of the parent’s
liabilities which are directly or indirectly
attributable to that item of subsidiary capital.

Column A — Enter the full name and federal
employer identification number of each
subsidiary.

Column C — Enter the average value of each
item of subsidiary capital. Average value is
generally computed quarterly if your usual
accounting practice permits. However, you may
use a more frequent basis such as a monthly,
weekly or daily average. If your ususal
accounting practice does not permit a quarterly
or more frequent computation of average value,
you may use a semiannual or annual
computation if no distortion of average value
results. Value marketable securities at fair
market value and other items of subsidiary
capital using generally accepted accounting
principles.

Column D — Deduct all liabilities, both long-
term and short-term, directly or indirectly
attributable to subsidiary capital. Use the same
method of averaging used to determine the
average value of assets in column C. Enter for
each item of subsidiary capital listed in column
A the liabilities directly or indirectly attributable
to it. Liabilities directly attributable to an asset
(stock or debt) are those that were incurred to
acquire that asset.

Use the following worksheet to determine the
amount of liabilities indirectly attributable to a
particular asset.

___ Worksheet

Total liabilities A

Liabilities directly
attributable to:
Subsidiary capital
Investment capital
Business capital

Add lines B, C and D

Subtract line E from line A

MTMOoOO®

Enter amount from line 51,
column C G

Enter amount from Form CT-3,
line 30, column C

Divide line G by line H

Muttiply line F by line 1

-
R

[

Value of the

particular asset
Enter amount from line G
Divide line K by line L
Enter amount from line J
Multiply line M by line N

%

o=2zgrx

In column D, on the line for the asset in
question, include the sum of the amount from
line O of this worksheet and the amount of
liabilities directly attributable to that asset.

Column E — Determine the net average value
of each item listed in column A by subtracting
column D from column C. The net average
value of any item cannot be less than zero.

Column F — Enter the issuer’s allocation
percentage for each item listed in column A.
See instructions for Form CT-3, line 41.

Column G — Multiply net average value,
column E, of each item listed in column A by
its issuer’s allocation percentage in column F.
This is the value of subsidiary capital allocated
to New York State.

Line 54

Multiply line 53 by the tax rate of .0009. This is
your subsidiary capital base tax. Enter this
amount in the money column on Form CT-3,
line 72b.

and wildlife diversity in New York State.

and people.

and wildlite diversity.

12233-4830.

Imagine hundreds of creatures that sprint, swim, fly or slither. That is exactly how diverse
New York’s fish and wildlife species are. You too, can take an active part in ensuring the fish

Picture yourself involved in learning about the wildlife in New York State, observing various
fish and wildlife resources and helping to restore and manage them to benefit both wildlife

This can be done when you Return a Gift to Wildlife on your New York State tax form.
Also, remind your tax preparer that you wish to contribute to this worthwhile program.
Remember to Return a Gift to Wildlife, the program dedicated to conserving New York’s fish

For additional program information or to donate directly, please write to:
Return a Gift to Wildlife, NYS DEC, Room 122, Program 5, 50 Wolf Road, Albany NY
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When preparing and mailing your 1995 General Business Corporation
Franchise Tax Return, please be sure to:

* Read the instructions.

* Use the correct forms.

* Use the preaddressed label. It will assist in the proper recording of your franchise tax return. Keep a record of
your label information.

* If you are not using the label, include your employer identification number and file number on each form filed.

¢ If you do not need forms mailed to you next year, check the box located above the signature area on Form CT-3.

* Have the appropriate individuals sign the return.

* Make your check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax.

¢ Attach Form CT-3-ATT and all other schedules you are required to file.

e Attach Form CT-244, if the corporation was involved in a merger, acquisition or consolidation.

¢ Attach a complete copy of your federal return to Form CT-3.

¢ Attach appropriate tax credit forms to substantiate Form CT-3, line 74 and line 93 entries.

* Mail your return to: NYS CORPORATION TAX, PROCESSING UNIT, P O BOX 1909, ALBANY NY 12201-1909

Mailing Label

Use the mailing label provided by the Tax Department.

The preprinted mailing label contains the taxpayer account
identification information necessary for correct and
effective processing of your tax form.

Check your label to see that the information is complete
and correct. If it is incorrect, make any corrections directly
on the label. (You must also file Form DTF-95, Change of
Business Information, with the Tax Department as soon as
possible.) If your mailing address is incorrect, check the
box next to the name and address block at the top of your
corporation tax return.

Remove the peel-off label from the front cover of your
packet or postcard and place it in the name and address
box at the top of your corporation tax return.

To assist us in processing your corporation tax forms as
quickly and efficiently as possible, it is important that we
have the necessary identifying information from your

preprinted label. Keep a record of the label information
for future use. Please be certain to include your employer
identification number and file number on each corporation
tax form mailed. This will facilitate processing of your
return to the correct account. Without this information, we
may not be able to process your return.

These numbers can be copied directly from the label.

VRN

Employer ID number File number
Name

Number and Street

City and Town State ZIP code

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure
they use the mailing label or label information when
completing all forms prepared for you.

Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-1073.

For information, forms or publications, call the Business Tax Information Center at 1 800 972-1233. The call is toll free from
anywhere in the U.S. (including Alaska and Hawaii) and Canada. For information, you can also call toll free (from New York State
only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices,
meeting rooms and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special accommodations
for persons with disabilities, please call the information and assistance numbers listed above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have access to a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State tax questions by calling 1 800
634-2110 tol! free from anywhere in the U.S. (including Alaska and Hawaii) and Canada. Hours of operation are from 8:30 a.m. to
4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. {f you do not own a TDD, check with independent living centers or community action programs
to find out where machines are available for public use.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus, Albany

NY 12227. 320




