New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

1995] instructions for Form CT-33-M

CT-33-M-1

Insurance Corporation MTA Surcharge Return
= Tax Law — Article 33, Section 1505-a

Who Must File

If you do business, employ capital, own or lease property or
maintain an office in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
District (MCTD) you must pay a Metropolitan Transportation
Business tax surcharge on business done in the Metropolitan
Transportation Authority region (MTA surcharge). The MCTD
includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings,
Richmond, Duichess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk
and Westchester.

If you file Form CT-33, use Form CT-33-M to report and pay the
MTA surcharge.

Corporations filing on a combined basis are required to file only
one return for the combined group. Combined figures, as shown
on your Form CT-33-A, should be used to complete this form.

instaliment Payments

A taxpayer required to pay the MTA surcharge and whose
franchise tax plus state tax surcharge is more than $1,000 must
file a declaration of estimated MTA surcharge and make quarterly
installment payments on Form CT-400.

MTA Surcharge Raie

The MTA surcharge rate is 17% for calendar years 1995 and 1996
or fiscal years ending before December 31, 1997.

When and Where to File
Reporting Period

If you are a calendar year filer, check the box in the upper right
corner on the front of the form.

If you are a fiscal year filer, complete the beginning and ending
tax period boxes in the upper right corner on the front of the form.

File this return and any amount due within 22 months after the
end of your reporting period. If you are reporting for the 1995
calendar year, file your return on or before March 15, 1996.

Mail return to: NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT
P O BOX 1909
ALBANY NY 12201-1909

Extension of Time for Filing MTA Surcharge Return

You may request additional time to file an MTA surcharge return.
File Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3 on or before the due date of the
return for which the extension is requested and pay the MTA
surcharge estimated to be due.

" The payment must either:

— equal or exceed your MTA surcharge for the preceding tax
period (if it was for a period of 12 months); or

— equal or exceed 90% of the MTA surcharge for this period as
finally determined.

Identifying Information

To ensure that your corporation tax forms are processed as
quickly and efficiently as possible, it is important that we have the
necessary identifying information from your preprinted label. Keep
a record of the label information for future use. Please be
certain to include your employer identification number, file number
and filing period on each corporation tax form mailed. This will
facilitate processing of your return to the correct account. Without
this information, we may not be able to process your return.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use
the mailing tabel or label information when completing alt forms
prepared for you.

Change of Business Information

If there have been any changes in your business name,
identification number, mailing address, business address,
telephone number or owner/officer information and you have not
previously notified us, complete Form DTF-95, Change of
Business Information. If you don’t have a form, call toll free (from
New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New

York State, call (518) 438-1073 to request one.

Specific Instructions
Computation of MCTD Allocation Percentage

If you do all of your New York State business within the 12
counties of the MCTD, skip lines 1 through 8 and enter 100% on
line 9.

If you do part of your business outside the MCTD, compute your
MCTD allocation percentage by completing lines 1 through 8.

Corporations taxable under Article 33 that are filing on a
combined basis must use a combined MCTD allocation
percentage.

Determine MCTD premiums and MCTD wages using the same
principles set out in section 1504(a) and (b) of the Tax Law to

determine New York premiums and New York wages, salaries,

commissions and other compensation.

Line 4 - Multiply the percentage on line 3 by-nine.
Line7 - Divide MCTD wages by New York wages.
Line 9 - Divide the sum of the percentages on line 8 by ten.
Line 10 - Enter your New York State franchise tax from your
franchise tax return, Form CT-33, line 13, or
Form CT-33-A, line 16.
Line 13 - Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New

York State may claim a credit on this line for 90% of
retaliatory taxes paid to other states for the privilege
of doing business in thosestates, which resulted from
the imposition of the MTA surcharge for the 1995 tax
year. Enter the smaller of 90% of retaliatory taxes
paid in 1995 attributable to the 1995 MTA surcharge
or the amount of MTA surcharge shown on line 12.
Attach computation. Enter "0" if no retaliatory tax
credit is claimed. To claim a refund for retaliatory
taxes paid in 1995 as a result of the imposition of the
MTA surcharge for previous periods, see lines 29
through 38.

Line 15a - If you have filed a request for extension, enter the
amount from Form CT-5, line 9 or Form CT-5.3, line
10. ‘

Line 15b - [f you did not file Form CT-5 or Form CT-5.3, and
your franchise tax and state surcharge exceeds
$1,000 enter 25% of line 14. Your franchise tax and
state tax surcharge can be found on your tax return;

CT33 ... Line 15
CT33-A....ccee.... Line 18
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CT-33-M-I (1995) (back) Instructions (continued)

Line 17 -  Enter any MTA surcharge payment made with from the penalty computation any amount shown on
Form CT-5, Request for Six-Month Extension of Time line 15a or 15b, first instaliment of estimated tax for
to File. Prepayments may be computed on the back next period.
of the form and transferred to this line. Prepayments A If you do not file a return when due or if your
will include any MTA surcharge payment made with request for extension is invalid, add to the MTA
Form CT-5 (extension), instaliment payments of MTA surcharge 5% per month up to 25% (section
surcharge on Form CT-400, credit carryovers from 1085(a)(1)(A)).
prior years and overpayments of franchise tax from B If you do not file a return within 60 days of the

Form CT-33 or Form CT-33-A. due date, the addition to the MTA surcharge in

item A above cannot be less than the smaller of

Line 20 - If you do not pay the MTA surcharge on or before the $100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown
due date (without regard to any extension of time), as the MTA surcharge (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).
you must pay interest on the amount of the C If you do not pay the MTA surcharge shown on a
underpayment from the due date tq the date paid. return, add to the MTA surcharge %% per month
Exclude frqm the interest cqmp_utatlon any amount up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).
shown on line 15a or 15b, first instaliment of o :
estimated tax for next period. You may call the ' D The total of the additional charges in items A and
Business Tax Information Center at 1-800-972-1233 C above may not exceed 5% for any one month
for the current rate or to have the interest computed except as provided for in item B above (section
for you. You can also call toll free (from New York 1085(a)).

State only) 1 800 CALL TAX If you think you are not liable for these additional
(1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York charges, attach a statement to your return
State, call (518) 438-8581. explaining the delay in filing and/or payment

. (section 1085).

Line 21 -  Additional charges for late filing and late payment are Line 23 - You may apply all or part of your overpayment to your
computed on the amount of MTA surcharge required New York State franchise tax. Indicate on lines 24, 25
to be shown on the return after deduction of any and 26 the amount you want applied to your tax and
payment made on or before the due date. Exclude the amount you want refunded.

Claim for Refund of MTA Surcharge Retaliatory Tax Credit

Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New York State must use lines 29 through 38 to claim a refund for retaliatory taxes paid
to other states as a result of the imposition of the metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge). The surcharge credit available
for a given year may not exceed the MTA surcharge payable for that year as computed pursuant to section 1505-a of the Tax Law. The
credit is claimed in the year paid but is attributed to the year in which the retaliatory taxes were imposed or assessed.

Attach a separate sheet to the refund claim, identifying the recipients of the tax and the amount paid to each recipient, broken down to
reflect the year to which the taxes are attributable.

A credit cannot be claimed for taxes paid to other states on or after the /imitation date for each MTA surcharge tax year. The limitation date
is the first day of the sixth calendar year following the calendar year in which an insurer's MTA surcharge tax year begins. For example, for
an MTA surcharge tax year ending December 31, 1990, the limitation date for filing a claim for refund would be January 1, 1996. For a
12-month fiscal MTA surcharge tax year ending November 30, 1991, the limitation date for filing a claim for refund would still be

January 1, 1996. For additional information see TSB-M-85(4)C.

Line 29 -  Enter MTA surcharge payable for each year for which include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
a credit is being claimed. were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 30 -  Enter retaliatory tax credits allowed in prior years that Line 35 -  Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are
are attributable to the MTA surcharge. Include all attributable to the 1993 MTA surcharge. Do not
credits claimed on Form CT-33-M. include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that

were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.
Line 32 -  Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are

fattnbutable to the 19.90 MTA surcha_r ge. Do not Line 36 - Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are

include arpounts atFnbutabIe to retaliatory taxes that attributable to the 1994 MTA surcharge. Do not

were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M. include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 33 - Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are
attributable to the 1991 MTA surcharge. Do not
include amounts attributable to retaliatory taxes that
were previously claimed on Form CT-33-M.

Line 37 -  Enter in the appropriate column, for the correct year,
the total MTA surcharge retaliatory tax credits allowed
to date. Include any credits previously allowed on
Form CT-33-M or previously filed Form CT-33-R, as

Line 34 -  Enter 90% of retaliatory taxes paid this year that are well as amounts claimed in Columns A through E on
attributable to the 1992 MTA surcharge. Do not lines 32 through 36.





