New York State Department of Taxation and Finance
[_{;L CT‘%Q, Foreign Corporation
License Fee Return

Tax Law — Article 9, Section 181

Employer identification number File number For office use only
| | — | | | | | k I l If your name, employer

identification number,
Taxpayer's business name address or owner/officer
information has changed, | Date received
you must file Form
DTF-95 (see instructions). if

)

Business name at location below (if different from business name above)

g n
7]
g2
] y
oT (SO0 no form is enclosed, call
£ < |Streetor P O Box 1 800 462-8100 to request
] 'g one. From areas outside
= S 7P oo New York State, call

cly tate code (518) 438-1073.
Trade name Business telephone number Business activity code number

(from federal return)

C ) | | |

F—
Forelgn corporations: date began business in NYS

Principal business activity

A. Payment — pay amount shown on line 12. Make check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax
4. Attach your payment here.

Computation of License Fee (seg instructions)

1 Issued and outstanding par value stock at face value ...............ooiiiiiiiiiiee
2 Par value stock allocated to New York (muitiply line 1 by line 17, line 20, or lin@ 25) .............covveeeines
3 Fee — par value stock (multiply lin@ 2 by .0005) ...........oviereriniiiiiiniiii et
4 Number of shares of no par value stock issued and outstanding ...,
5 Number of shares of no par value stock allocated to New York
(multiply line 4 by line 17, 1in@ 20, O liN@ 25) ... ...uvvereenii et ttttiiiiia et tann st s
6 Fee — No par value stock (multiply line 5 by 5 cents (.05)) ...........oviiiiieiieieiiiiiiniinionnnn,
7 Total license fee (line 3 plus line 6, or $10; whichever is greater) ..............occivieneiienees e
8 License fee previously Paid . .......ceueiin et et
9 License fee due with this report (subtract line 8 from liN@ 7) ..........cc.uiviiriniieiiiieiineerin i
10 INTErESt (SO INSHUCHONS) ...\ ettt ettt e s e ettt a s et s e raasans
11 Additional Charges (586 iNSIUCHIONS) .............uuuuieieeeeemniiares ettt tttiiaraaaarenesss
12 Balance due (add lines 9, 10 and 11; enter paymenton line Aabove) .. .........covieieririnninss 12
Schedule A — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations (including $ Corporatlons) Taxablo Undor Article 9-A, Tax
13 Allocated business and investment capital from Form CT-3 ...........oiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiniennnn. 13
14 Allocated subsidiary capital from FOrm CT-3 ........ciiiunninnniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiaaee s 14
15 Total allocated capital (add liNes 13 N0 14) ............uviureeereinnniireeeraiiireeeraaaaineess 15
16 Total capital from FOMM CT-3 ... .u.uetetie ittt ittt e e e et e e bttt e s aaaa e 16
17 License fee allocation (divide line 15 by line 16) ., ... v.\voysosrznsaes 17
Schedule B — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations Taxable Under Article 9, Tax Law (see instructions)
18 Gross assets, less United States obligations and cash, employed in New York State T 18
19 Gross assets, less United States obligations and cash, wherever employed ..............coooiinnnnt, 19
20 License fee allocation (divide line 18 by line 19) . . @\ eorieiereoreras 20
Schedule C — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations Taxable Under Artlcle 32, Tax Law ( see instructions)
21 Allocated bUSINESS CAPItAL ... i...eteee ettt ittt e et 21
22 Allocated subsidiary capital ............o i 22
23 Total allocated business and subsidiary capital (add lines 21 and 22) ...........cccceiiiiiiiiiiiiiiea., 23
P B 10TV 31 -1 O TR R TIRRTR R 124
25 License fee allocation (divide ling 23 by liNe 24) oy s isisisiiiteiteiicbeetrctricteiiciicinics 25 ‘ ‘ %
Certification. | certnfy that this return and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct and complete. )
Signature of elected officer or authorized person Official title Date
Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) 1D number Date
2z
e
g 3 Address Signature of individual preparing this return




CT-240 (10/95) (back)

Instructions

A foreign corporation must pay a license fee for the privilege of exercising
its corporate franchise or carrying on its business in New York State. This
fee is in addition to the annual franchise tax and is payable only once
unless the capital share structure changed or the amount of capital stock
employed in New York State increased since the last license fee return
was filed. Some changes in capital share structure are:

— stock split;

— issuance of authorized stock;

— change of par value stock to no par value stock; and
— change of no par value stock to par value stock.

Who Must File — All foreign corporations, except banking corporations as
defined in paragraphs 1 - 8 of section 1452(a) and insurance corporations
doing business in New York State, must file Form CT-240. This includes
foreign corporations that have elected to be New York State S
corporations.

A foreign corporation that is subject to the New York State franchise tax
under Article 32, section 1452(a)(9) or a foreign bank holding company
that is included in a combined return under Article 32, section 1462(f), is
required to file a license fee return. However, a foreign corporation or bank
holding company which would not otherwise be taxable in New York State
except for its inclusion in a combined return under Article 9-A or Article 32
of the Tax Law is not required to file a license fee return.

All foreign corporations included in a combined return under Article 9-A or
Article 32 of the Tax Law that would be taxable in New York State if they
filed separate returns are required to file the license fee return and
compute the license fee on an individual basis.

When and Where to File — File Form CT-240 with the first franchise tax
return, within 22 months after the end of the fiscal or calendar year, and
whenever a change is made in the capital share structure of the
corporation or whenever the amount of capital stock employed in New York
State has increased since the last license fee return was filed.

Mail to: NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT
P O BOX 1909
ALBANY NY 12201-1909

License Fee Rates — The license fee rate is five cents on each share of
no par value stock and 1/20th of 1% of the value of par value stock. The
minimum license fee is $10.

When the license fee is recomputed, the amount of any license fee
previously paid may be taken as a credit against the recomputed license
fee. Refunds will not be made to a corporation when a recomputed fee is
less than the fee previously paid. However, no credit for license fees
previously paid will be allowed for a foreign corporation that merges or
reincorporates in another state.

Change of Business Information — If there have been any changes in
your business name, identification number, mailing address, business
address, telephone number or owner/officer information and you have not
previously notified us, complete Form DTF-95, Change of Business
Information. if you don’t have a form, call toll free (from New York State
only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call

(518) 438-1073 to request cne.

Line A — After completing your return, enter the amount of your payment.
Your payment should be the full amount shown on line 12.

Computation of License Fee

Line 1 — Enter the total face value of issued par value stock. Do not
include treasury stock.

Line 4 — Enter the total number of shares of no par value stock issued.
Do not include treasury stock.

Line 8 — Enter total license fee paid with prior license fee returns. Do not
include interest paid with prior returns.

Line 10 — If you do not pay the license fee on time, you must pay
interest. You may call the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the
current rate or to have the interest computed for you. Call the
Business Tax Information Center at the number listed below.

Line 11 — Additional Charges — Late Flling and Late Peyment

Additional charges for late filing and late payment are computed on-the
amount of the fee less any payment made on or before the due m

A If you do not file a return when due, add to the fee 8% per mm
25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
the fee in item A above cannot be less than the smatiar-of $100 «
100% of the amount required to be shown (section 1085(a}(1)

C If you do not pay the fee shown on a return, add to the fee 1/2%
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D The total of the additional charges in items A and C sbove 'm
exceed 5% for any one month, except as prpvidad forin M
(section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, (MI

statement to your return explaining the delay in filing and/or m.
(section 1085).

Scheduie A — License Fee Aliocation — Foreign Corpor
(including S Corporations) Taxable Under Article M, Yox |

To determine the license fee percentage, add the MW
business capital, allocated New York State investment ar
allocated New York State subsidiary capital, thén divide the

capital. Get these figures from Form CT-3, Computation of Cap

Example: Allocated NYS Capital Gaﬂlﬁi
Business Capital $750,000 !
Investment Capital 5,000 ;
Subsidiary Capital 100,000

$855,000

License fee allocation percentage — 74%

If you file Form CT-3-S, determine your total cdpital, business’
investment capital as if you were required to file Form CT- 3, Allooi

business and investment capital by using the allocatfon . By
Form CT-3-S.

Schedule B — License Fee Aliocation — Fonlgn
Taxable Under Article 9, Tax Law

if you are taxable under Article 9, you must cornpute voui' o
allocation percentage by dividing assets employed in New
total assets. Do not include cash or U.S. obllgatlons a9 part nf

Schedule C — License Fee Allocation — Foulon
Taxable Under Article 32, Tax Law

To determine the license fee percentage, add together bui
subsidiary capital allocated to New York State and divide
capital. Foreign corporations taxable under section 14!
bank holding companies included in a combined return:
1462(f) are required to compute the license fed allocation in
manner as the issuer’s allocation percentage. The computation
issuer's allocation percentage is described in the mtrudbm
Form CT-32, Banking Corporation Franchise Tax Ratum ‘

¥

Need Help? '

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New_York State o
1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call (518) 107&

For information, call the Business Tax Information Center at 1 800 14

The call is toll free from anywhere in the U.S. (incluging Alagka and )N[
Canada. You can aiso call toll free (from New York State only)

z 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York Stlh Bﬂf
518) 438-8581.

Telephons assistance s avallable from 8:30 a.m. to 4:28 p.m., '
through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans M s i
Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms and other fae :
accessible to persons with disabilities. If rou have questions about spacial
accommodations for pereons with disabilities, please call the information and
assistance numbers listed above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech impaired - If you have a hearing or
impairment and have access to a telecommunications device for the deaf
you can get answers to your New York State tax questions by  tol m
(from the continental U.S.) 1 800 834-2110. Hours df operation.are from 8:30
to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, M
Independant living centers or community action prog!am Md
machines are available for public use.

u need to write, address your letter to: NYSMDWM \
Asys?s(anca Bureau, W A Hamm Campus, Mbmy Ny 12237

);, 4




