New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

ST-809-1

Instructions for Form ST-809, (3/94)
New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return
= for Part-Quarterly Filers

Who Must File

You must file Form ST-809 if, in any one of the previous four
quarters:

— you had total taxable receipts (including purchases subject to
use tax), rents and amusement charges totaling $300,000 or
more,

or

— you are a distributor as defined under Article 12-A and you have
sold a total of 100,000 gallons or more of motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel whether taxable or not.

Importers and others registered under Article 12-A as distributors of
motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must also file Form FT-945/1045,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel/Diesel Motor Fuel, to
report the sales tax prepayments due on motor fuel or diesel motor
fuel. These prepayments must not be included in the taxable
receipts reported on Form ST-809 or ST-810, but distributors who
have used these fuels or sold them at retail may take credits on
Form ST-809 (or ST-810) for the prepaid tax already paid on the fuel
used or sold (see line 1b - Credit for prepaid sales tax).

When to File

File Form ST-809 for each of the first two months of every quarterly
reporting period, and Form ST-810 for the third month. Returns are
due 20 days after the month covered.

If you do not receive your return by the first week of the month in
which it is due, request a duplicate by calling the appropriate
telephone number listed under Need Help ? on this page or on the
back of any sales tax return. Late charges will not be reduced
because a preaddressed form was not received.

Other Forms You May Have to File

ST-809.4 - Schedule NJ

If you are registered under the New Jersey/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement, you must attach Schedule NJ to your return. Use
Schedule NJ to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible
personal property into New Jersey or services rendered in New
Jersey. See Schedule NJ for instructions relating to that form.

ST-809.11 - Schedule CT

If you are registered under the Connecticut/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement, you must attach Schedule CT to your return. Use
Schedule CT to report the tax due, if any, on deliveries of tangible
personal property into Connecticut or services rendered in
Connecticut. See Schedule CT for instructions relating to that form.

Need Help?
For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call (518)
438-1073.

For information, call the Business Tax Information Center toll free
(from the continental U.S. only) 1 800 972-1233. You can also call toll
free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829).
From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m.,
Monday through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with
Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting
rooms and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities.
If you have questions about special accommodations for disabled
persons, please call the information and assistance numbers listed
above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a
hearing or speech impairment and have access to a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers
to your New York State tax questions by calling our toll-free hotline 1
800 634-2110 (within New York State). Hours of operation are from
9:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you do not own a
TDD, check with independent living centers or community action
programs to find out where machines are available for public use.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department,
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY
12227.

Privacy Notification

Our authority to require personal information, including identifying
numbers (social security numbers, etc.), is found in sections 1134,
1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 and Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax
Law in general and regulations for sales and use taxes in
subchapter J, Title 20 NYCRR.

We will use this information primarily to determine New York State
and local sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 28 and 29 of
the Tax Law. We will also use it for tax administration purposes and
as necessary under Tax Law sections 1146 and 1250, and for any
other purpose authorized by law.

Your failure to provide the required information may result in civil or
criminal penalties, or both, under sections 1134, 1145, 1250 and 1817
of the Tax Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the regulations for sales
and use taxes.

Our authority to maintain this information is found in sections
1136(d), 1146(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law. This information will be
maintained by the Director Data Management Services Bureau, NYS
Tax Department, Building 8 Room 905, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227; telephone (from New York State only)

1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from outside New York State, call
(518) 438-8581. '

Filing Instructions

Two copies of Form ST-809 are mailed to each person registered as
a part-quarterly sales tax filer with the New York State Department of
Taxation and Finance. File the copy with the preaddressed label
and keep the other copy for your records.

If you did not receive a return with a preaddressed label, please
complete the name and address portion, including your sales tax
vendor identification number.

Enter the exact legal name of the business. For a corporation, use
the name as it appears on the Certificate of Incorporation; for an
unincorporated business, use the name in which the business owns
property or acquires debt; for a partnership, use the partnership
name; for a sole proprietor, use the hame of the individual owner.

Enter the trade name, doing-business-as name, or assumed name if
different from the legal name. For a corporation, it is the name that
appears on the trade name certificate filed with the New York State
Department of State. If the business is not incorporated, use the
name filed with the county clerk’s office pursuant to section 130 of
the General Business Law.

Enter the address of your actual business location, not the mailing
address. Include your business telephone number and a number at
which you can be reached during the day, if different.

Change of business information — If there have been any
changes in your business name, identification number, mailing
address or business address, telephone number or
owner/officer/responsible person information, please complete Form
DTF-95.1, Change of Business Information for Employers/Vendors,
located at the bottom of pages 3 and 4. Send the completed form to:
NYS Tax Department, Account Services Section, Building 8
Room 501, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227-0155. If
there are no changes to the above information, keep Form DTF-95.1
in your files. If a change occurs, complete the form and send it to
the address listed as soon as possible.



Page 2 ST-809-I (3/94)

Type of business — Describe your principal business activity or
type of business in the space provided (e.g., retail grocery,
wholesale furniture, etc.).

Consolidated return — If you have more than one place of
business, and are reporting for all business locations on this return,
check the appropriate box. If you checked this box and your New
York State identification number does not end with a “C”, attach a
list of your business locations. If your identification number ends
with a “C” and you have added or deleted locations since your last
return, attach a list of these and indicate addition or deletion.

Signature — The return must be signed by the vendor or an
authorized officer or employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other
professional preparing the return must also sign it on the line
designated Signature of preparer (if other than vendor).

Keep all records and other supporting documents used in
completing your return for at least three years after filing so that you
can produce them on request by the NYS Tax Department.

Filing Methods

Two methods are available for monthly filing: long and short. If you
have filed returns for each of the four quarters immediately
preceding the month to be covered, you may use the short method.
Otherwise, you must use the long method.

Long method — You must report and pay actual state and local
sales and use taxes due for the month.

Short method — You must report and pay an amount equal to one-
third of the total state and local sales and use taxes that were due
for the comparable quarter of the prior year, adjusted to reflect any
new, increased or decreased local sales and use tax. Local taxes
are reported as part of the total rather than separately.

Long Method

You must report and pay the actual state and local sales and use
taxes due for the month plus the Greenway fee due on hotel
occupancy. You must also maintain complete records so that you are
able to prepare and file a quarterly return (Form ST-810) showing the
three months’ business activities by locality. You must show the
distribution to each locality on the quarterly return (Form ST-810) and
on Schedules A, B, FR, N and U as necessary. You must also
complete Schedule NJ and Schedule CT monthly, if applicable.

Do not report on the ST-809 part-quarterly return the 10¢ per quart
tax on lubricating oil, the special additional 5% taxes on hotel
occupancies, passenger car rentals and, effective September 1,
1993, information and entertainment services furnished by way
of telephony and telegraphy. You must maintain records of and
report and pay these taxes on Form ST-810.

Summary of Business Activities

Box A — Gross sales and services

Enter the total dollar value of sales made by the business, including
those exempt from sales tax (other than motor fuel or diesel motor
fuel sales). Do not include in this figure the amount of sales tax
collected. Include all sales made within New York State (even if for
delivery outside New York State) and sales made at business
locations outside New York State for delivery into New York State.
Do not include sales made at business locations outside New York
State that do not involve deliveries into New York State.

Box B — Taxable sales and services
Enter the total dollar amount of the sales reported in Box A that are
subject to New York State and local sales taxes.

Box C — Purchases subject to use tax

Enter the total dollar amount of purchases (except for motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel) subject to use tax, including personal property
purchased at retail on which no tax or insufficient tax was paid at
the time of purchase.

Line 1a — Sales and use taxes

Enter the total of the state and local sales taxes due on taxable
sales and services, including sales of motor fuel and diesel motor
fuel and purchases of items and services subject to use tax less
credits that can be identified with a specific locality (other than
economic development zone credit(s)) plus the Greenway fee.

Substantiate credits that can be identified with a specific locality by
attaching a statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed and
any other supporting documentation (for example, credit for tax paid
by a contractor on the purchase of materials that the contractor then
used in performing repairs that are subject to the tax). Your
substantiation must include the taxing jurisdiction, rate of tax paid,
and calculations used to determine the amount of credit claimed.

Do not include on this line any amounts reported on Form ,
FT-945/1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel/Diesel
Motor Fuel.

Do not take any credit on line 1a for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel
or diesel motor fuel that was sold or used during the month (see
line 1b instructions).

Line 1b — Credit for prepaid sales tax

— Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid to your suppliers on
motor fuel or diesel motor fuel sold at retail or used during the
month covered by this return.

— Registered distributors of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel
should also include amounts prepaid with Form FT-945/1045,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel/Diesel Motor
Fuel, on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel sold at retail (whether
taxable or nontaxable*) or used during the month covered by
this return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel that was sold in bulk (i.e., sold through a marketing
location other than a retail service station) to an exempt
purchaser or delivered out of state to your customer shouid
be claimed on Form FT-945/1045.

Line 2a — Credits not identified

Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax other than
the credits taken on line 1a and line 1b.

Report economic development zone credits on this line and file
Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local
Sales or Use Tax, separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and
all substantiating documentation to the address shown on the form.
Be sure to indicate on Form AU-11 the period of the return on which
you are taking the credit.

Enter the total of the economic development zone credits and any
credits that can be substantiated but cannot be identified with a
specific locality. You must substantiate all credits taken on this line.

Line 2b — Advance payments including PrompTax payments

If you paid part of your tax in advance, enter the total amount of
these payments on line 2b. Include PrompTax payments on this line.
Do not report sales tax prepayments due on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel as advance payments. Report these prepayments on
Form FT-945/1045.

Line 4 — Interest and penalties

If you file your return or make payment after the due date, you must
pay a late filing charge which consists of interest and penalty. See
Interest and Penalties on the back of your return.

Line 5 — Amount Due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount reported on line 4.

Notice to filers of Schedule NJ or Schedule CT — If you report
tax due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT (ST-809.11),
send only one check payable to New York State Sales Tax for the
amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and
Connecticut. If you report tax due on both the schedules, include
the total due all three states in one check payable to New York
State Sales Tax. Do not offset an overpayment from one state
against the tax due the other.

Short Method

Line 1a — Comparable quarter of the prior year

Enter the total state and local sales and use taxes that were due
(before deducting credits or advance payments) for the comparable
quarterly reporting period of the preceding year, adjusted to reflect
any new, increased or decreased local sales and use taxes (see
Short Method Adjustment on page 4).



Notice to vendors who file Schedule FR — When entering the
total state and local taxes which were due for the comparable
quarter of the previous year, you must include the amount reported
on Line A, col. (e) of the Schedule FR filed for the comparable
quarter. The amount entered on Line A is the amount of taxes
reported on motor fuel and/or diesel fuel before deducting the credit
for prepaid sales tax on either of these fuels.

Return for Use comparable

month ending: quarterly period:

Aot 30 March 1 - May 31

j:lr;eaiio June 1 - August 31
gi?;ﬁ:rb; %0 September 1 - November 30

December 31

January 31 December 1 - February 28 (29)

Adjustments

If this return includes taxable sales or purchases subject to use tax
for any locality that either enacted a local sales and use tax or
increased or decreased its rate after the close of the comparable
quarter, prior year, the amount entered on line 1a must include an
‘adjustment to reflect the new local rates. See Short Method
Adjustment on page 4.

Line 1c — Credit for prepaid sales tax

— Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid to your suppliers on
motor fuel or diesel motor fuel sold or used during the month
covered by this return.

— Registered distributors of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel
should also include amounts prepaid with your Form
FT-94511045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor
Fuel/Diesel Motor Fuel, on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel sold
at retail (whether taxable or nontaxable®) or used during the
month covered by this return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel that was sold in bulk (i.e., sold through a
marketing location other than a retail service station) to an
exempt purchaser or delivered out of state to your customer
should be claimed on Form FT-945/1045.
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Line 2a — Credits

Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax other than
the credit claimed on line 1c.

Report economic development zone credits on this line and file
Form AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local
Sales or Use Tax, separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and
all substantiating documentation to the address shown on the form.
Be sure to indicate on Form AU-11 the period of the return on which
you are taking the credit.

Other credits reported on line 2a must be substantiated by attaching
a statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed and any other
supporting documentation (for example, credit for tax paid by a
contractor who paid tax on the purchase of materials that the
contractor then used in performing repairs that are subject to the
tax). Your substantiation must include the taxing jurisdiction, rate of
tax paid and calculations used to determine the amount of credit
claimed.

Line 2b — Advance payments including PrompTlax payments

If you paid part of your tax in advance, enter the total amount of
these payments on line 2b. Include PrompTlax payments on this line.
Do not report sales tax prepayments due on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel as advance payments. Report these prepayments on
Form FT-945/1045.

Line 4 Interest and Penalties

If you file your return or make payment after the due date, you must
pay a late filing charge which consists of interest and penalty. See
Interest and Penalties on the back of your return.

Line 5 — Amount Due

Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount reported on line 4.

Notice to filers of Schedule NJ or Schedule CT — If you report
tax due on either Schedule NJ (ST-809.4) or Schedule CT (ST-809.11),
send only one check payable to New York State Sales Tax for the
amount due New York and New Jersey or New York and
Connecticut. If you report tax due on both the schedules, include
the total due all three states in one check payable to New York
State Sales Tax. Do not offset an overpayment from one state
against the tax due the other.

Cut Here

Change of Business Information For Employers/Vendors Doc. Loc. number

If there have been any changes in your business name, payroll service name, identification number, mailing or business address, telephone
number, or owner/officer/responsible person information, please complete this form. Mail to: NYS Department of Taxation and Finance,
Account Services Section, Building 8 Room 501, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227-0155.

Old Information:

Identification number:
Name:

New Information: Effective date

Identification number:
Trade name: (DBA, etc.):
Legal name:
Business address:
Mailing or c/o address:
Reason for change:

Phone number:

[J Petroleum Business Tax
Account number

[J Corporation Tax [J Highway Use Tax
(] Other [Taxtype

Business tax records which should be changed:

[J Sales and Use Tax ] Withholding Tax
DTF-95.1 (10/93)
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When a local rate has been increased or decreased, multiply the
total taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax reported for that
locality in the comparable quarter by the difference between the new
and old rates. If a new local tax was enacted since the end of the
prior comparable quarter, use current records to estimate taxable
sales and purchases subject to use tax in that locality for three
months and multiply this amount by the new local tax rate. Total the

return in the lower left corner.

Examples:

adjustments for all such localities and add this amount to or subtract
it from the taxes due for the comparable quarter last year. Enter this
adjusted total on line 1a on the front of the return. List the names
of the localities and the amount of the adjustment (show
negative balances in parentheses) for each on the front of the

The city “Y" increased its local tax and the county “D” decreased its local tax. If a vendor reported taxable sales for city “Y” in the prior year’s
comparable quarter and sales were also made in county “D” during that quarter, the adjustments would be computed as follows:

Current Combined Rate Increase Taxable
Locality* Combined Rate Comparable Quarter (Decrease) X Sales** = Adjustment*
City “Y” 7% 6% 1% $250,000 $2,500
County “D” 5% 7% (2%) 3,000 (60)
Total adjustments to be added to comparable prior year's QUarter. .. .............. ... $2,440
* Enter information in these two columns on the front of the return in the lower left corner (see chart below).
** Includes purchases subject to use tax.
Cut Here

Enter below the new owner/officer/responsible person information if there have been any changes

Owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date

Social security number

Home address (number and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code

Telephone number

()

Owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date

Social security, number

Home address (number and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code

Telephone number

()

Ownerlofficer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date

Social security number

Home address (number and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code

Telephone number

()

Owner/officer/responsible person % Ownership Title Effective date

Social security number

Home address (number and street) City, village, post office State ZIP code

Telephone number

()

DTF-95.1 (10/93) (back)




