New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

& CT-240  Foreign Corporation

~(orea) License Fee Report

Tax Law — Article 9, Section 181

Based on period ended
| 19

Employer "dontilication number T File number If your name, For office use only
| =1 | | | | l l i | | employer
Taxpayer’s business name . identification
° number, address |Date received
£ & Business name at location below (if different from business name above) or ownerlofficer
2 % clo information has
D g [Street or P O Box changed, you
% T must file Form
= 9Ty State ZIF code DTF-95 (see
instructions).
Trade name Business telephone number Business activity code number

(from federal return)

Principal business activity Foreign corporations: date began business in NYS

------- Attach your payment here.

A Payment — pay amount shown on line 12. Make check payable to: New York State Corporation Tax Payment encloesd

Computatlon of License Fee

1 lIssued and outstanding par value stock atface value .. ......... ... .. ... .. ... il 1
2 Par value stock allocated to New York (muiltiply line 1 by line 17, line 20, or line 25} . . . . ............... 2
3 Fee — par value stock (multiply line 2 by 0005) .. ......... ottt 3
4 Number of shares of no par value stock issued and outstanding . . ............. ... ............ 4
5 Number of shares of no par value stock allocated to New York
(multiply line 4 by line 17, in@ 20, 0r liN@ 25) . ... ... ... .\t 5
6 Fee — No par value stock (multiply line 5by 5cents (05)) ... ...t 6
7 Total license fee (line 3 plus line 6, or $10, whichever is greater) . ..................couuuiuiininnuoens 71
8 License fee Previously PAIA . . ... .. ......oo ettt 8
9 License fee due with this report (subtract line 8 from lin@ 7) . . ... ... .o 9
10 INterest (See INSIUCtIONS) . .. . . .. ..ttt e 10
11 Additional charges (see instructions) .. ... ... ... ..o it uun e 1"
12 Balance due (add lines 9, 10 and 11 - enter payment on line Aabove) .. .......... .. ... ... .. vinnn 12
Schedule A — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations (Including S Corporations) Taxable Under Article 9-A, Tax Law
13 Allocated business and investment capital from Form CT-3 (see instructions) ...................... 13
14 Allocated subsidiary capital from Form CT-3. ... ... .. ... .. . ... i 14
15 Total allocated capital (add lines 13 and 14) . . . . . .. ... .. 15
16 Total capital from Form CT-3 ... ... .. 16
17 License fee allocation (divide line 15 by lin@ 16). . . . ... ..ottt i e 17 %
Schedule B — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations Taxable Under Article 9, Tax Law
18 Gross assets, less United States obligations and cash, employed in New York State. .............. 18
19 Gross assets, less United States obligations and cash, wherever employed . .. ................... 19
20 License fee allocation (divide line 18 by line 19). . . . . . . . . ... ... i 20 %
Schedule C — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations Taxable Under Article 32, Tax Law
21 Allocated business capital (see inStructions) . . . ......... ... 21
22 Allocated subsidiary capital ... ........ .. s 22
23 Total allocated business and subsidiary capital (add lines 21 and22) .. ....... ... ... .. ... 23
24 Total capital . ... ... e 24
25 License fee allocation (divide line 23 by line 24) . . ... ....................o.wooioeseeeqeee e s 25 %

Certification. | certify that this return and any attachments are to the best of my knowledge and belief true, correct and complete.

Signature of elected officer or authorized person Official title Date

fg .| Firm's name (or yours if seif-employed) ID number Date

265

% 8 Address Signature of individual preparing this return

CT-240



CT-240 (10/94) (back)

Instructions

A foreign corporation must pay a license fee for the privilege of
exercising its corporate franchise or carrying on its business in New York
State. This fee is in addition to the annual franchise tax and is payable
only once unless the capital share structure changes or the amount of
capital stock employed in New York State increased since the last
license fee report was filed. Some changes in capital share structure are:
— stock split;

— issuance of authorized stock;

— change of par value stock to no par value stock; and

— change of no par value stock to par value stock.

Who Must File — All corporations except banking corporations as
defined in paragraphs 1 - 8 of section 1452(a)) and insurance
corporations doing business in New York State, organized under the laws
of any state or country other than New York State, must file Form CT-240.
This includes foreign corporations that have elected to be New York
State S corporations.

A foreign corporation that is subject to the New York State franchise tax
under Article 32, section 1452(a)(9) or a foreign bank holding company
that is included in a combined return under Article 32, section 1462(f) is
required to file a license fee report. However, a foreign corporation or
bank holding company which would not otherwise be taxabie in New
York State except for its inclusion in a combined return under Article 9-A
or Article 32 of the Tax Law is not required to file a license fee report.

All foreign corporations included in a combined return under Article 9-A
or Article 32 of the Tax Law that wouid be taxable in New York State if
they filed separate returns are required to file the license fee report and
compute the license fee on an individual basis.

When and Where to File — File Form CT-240 with the first franchise tax
return, within 2% months after the end of the fiscal or calendar year,
and whenever a change is made in the capital share structure of the
corporation or whenever the amount of capital stock employed in New
York State has increased since the last license fee report was filed.

Mail to: NYS CORPORATION TAX
PROCESSING UNIT
P O BOX 1909
ALBANY NY 12201-1909

License Fee Rates — The license fee rate is five cents on each share
of no par value stock and 1/20th of 1% of the value of par value stock.

Change of Business Information — If there have been any changes in
your business name, identification number, mailing address, business
address, telephone number or owner/officer information and you have not
previously notified us, complete Form DTF-95, Change of Business
Information. If you don't have a form, call toli free (from New York State
only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call

(518) 438-1073 to request one.

Other Information — When the license fee is recomputed, the amount
of any license fee previously paid may be taken as a credit against the
recomputed license fee.

No credit for license fees previously paid will be allowed for merging
foreign corporations or a foreign corporation which reincorporates in
another state.

Refunds will not be made to a corporation when a recomputed fee is
less than the fee previously paid.

The minimum license fee is $10.

Line A — After completing your report, enter the amount of your
payment. Your payment should be the full amount shown on line 12.

Computation of License Fee
Line 1 — Enter the total face value of issued par value stock. Do not
include treasury stock.

Line 4 — Enter the total number of shares of no par value stock issued.
Do not include treasury stock.

Line 8 — Enter total license fee paid with prior license fee reports. Do
not include interest paid with prior reports.

Line 10 —If you do not pay the license fee on time, you must pay
interest. You may call the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the
current rate or to have the interest computed for you. Call the
Business Tax Information Center toll free (from the Continental
U.S. only) 1-800 972-1233. You can also call toll free (from
New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From
areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Line 11 — Late Filing and Late Payment — Additional Charges

Additional charges for late filing and late payment are computed on the
amount of the fee less any payment made on or before the due date.

a. If you do not file a report when due, add to the fee 5% per month
up to 25% (section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

b. If you do not file a report within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to the fee cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or 100%
of the amount required to be shown (section 1085(a}(1)(B)).

c. If you do not pay the fee shown on a report, add to the fee V2% per
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may not exceed 5%
for any one month, except as provided for in b above (section
1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a
statement to your report explaining the delay in filing and/or payment
(section 1085).

Schedule A — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations
(Including S Corporations) Taxable Under Article 9-A, Tax Law

Determine the license fee percentage by adding the allocated New York
State business capital, allocated New York State investment capital and
the allocated New York State subsidiary capital and dividing the result by
total capital. Get these figures from Form CT-3, Computation of Capital
Base.

Example: Allocated NYS Capital Capital Everywhere
Business Capital $750,000 $1,000,000
Investment Capital 5,000 50,000
Subsidiary Capital 100,000 100,000
$855,000 $1,150,000

License fee allocation percentage — 74%

If you file Form CT-3-S, determine your total capital, business capital and
investment capital as if you were required to file Form CT-3. Allocate
business and investment capital by using the allocation percentages
from Form CT-3-S.

Schedule B — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations
Taxable Under Article 9, Tax Law

If you are taxable under Article 9, you must compute your license fee
aliocation percentage by dividing assets employed in New York State by
total assets. Do not include cash or US obligations as part of assets.

Schedule C — License Fee Allocation — Foreign Corporations
Taxable Under Article 32, Tax Law

Determine the license fee percentage by adding together business
capital and subsidiary capital allocated to New York State and dividing
the result by total capital. Foreign corporations taxable under section
1452(a)(9) and foreign bank holding companies included in a combined
return under section 1462(f) are required to compute the license fea
allocation in the same manner as the issuer's allocation percentage. The
computation of the issuer’s allocation percentage is described in the
instructions for Form CT-32, Banking Corporation Franchise Tax Return.

Need Help?

For forms or publications, call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

For information, call the Business Tax Information Center toll free (from
the continental U.S. only) 1 800 972-1233. You can also call toll free (from
New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas
outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m.,
Monday through Friday.

Persons with Disabilities - In compliance with the Americans with
Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms
and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons with disabilities,
please call the information and assistance numbers listed above.

Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired - If you have a hearing
or speech impairment and have access to a telecommunications device
for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State tax
questions by calling our toll-free hotline 1 800 634-2110 (within New York
State). Hours of operation are from 9:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday
through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, check with independent living
centers or community action programs to find out where machines are
available for public use.

If you need to write, address your letter to: NYS Tax Department,
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.



